Melia Cayo Guillermo Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Melia Cayo Guillermo reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Melia Cayo Guillermo  

Cayo Guillermo, Jardines del Rey, Moron
(Jardines del Rey)

"A very enjoyable vacation!"
Posted by: Anne on Nov 29, 2014
see all reviews

Melia  Cayo Guillermo Reviews
Melia  Cayo Guillermo Pictures and Information
Melia  Cayo Guillermo Cayo Guillermo Cuba

#4
of 4 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo

User rating 4.6

Based on 13 reviews

Melia Cayo Guillermo Information





Cayo Guillermoís first five-star hotel, the MeliŠ Cayo Guillermo is an extraordinary tourist destination offering first-rate services in Cubaís Sabana Camaguey archipelago.



Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Melia Cayo Guillermo Reviews

Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 4.6 of 5 13 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  3
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (7)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (4)
Solo
1 - 10 of 13

"A very enjoyable vacation!"

Melia Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Anne  on Nov 29, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
7 people found this review helpful

I was at the MCG for a week, arriving on November 16, 2014. My previous visit there was in June 2002. This time, I was with my 9-year old son. It was my 25th trip to Cuba.

Room Number:
1306

Room Block:
Building 1, 3rd Floor

Arrival:
Check-in was quick, but that was because we had taken a cab from the airport (30 CUC). Maikel the bellhop showed us to our room. Before my trip, I had sent an email requesting a 3rd floor room in a quiet area, near the kids club if possible. The wonderful Marily told me theyíd accommodate my request, and thatís exactly what happened. Coincidentally, I was assigned the same room as 12 years ago (#1306). When we entered, there was a puddle of water on the floor in front of the door and the sink, likely because of the air conditioner that had been fixed. Maikel made a phone call to ask for maid service, and two camareras arrived within 2 minutes. We went to grab a dessert at the buffet before it closed and when we got back, the mess had been cleaned up.

Rooms:
The room is spacious and was kept very clean by the wonderful Tamara. The room faced an inner courtyard near the kids club and dive center. A very quiet area, we slept like logs all week. The AC was very effective. Lots of storage throughout the room.

Restaurants and Bars:
FOOD & DRINKS:
The food was plentiful and of a great variety. Honestly, I donít understand how anyone can complain about the food there. There were only 200 clients when during our stay, because half the resort was closed due to the fact that the air conditioning was broken in the right wing. Each meal, the buffet was set out as if the resort was full. Dinner included pasta made to order and two grill stations. The lobby bar is open 24-hours (drinks and coffee), as is the pool restaurant (drinks and snacks, no coffee). For lunch, you have four options: the buffet, the pool restaurant, the Ranchon and the beach grill. I only went to the Italian ŗ la carte and I was disappointed with the pasta arrabiata, but my son loved his cheese pizza! The ambiance there was nice, but the service wasnít the most attentive, and we opted to go to the buffet for dessert. To my sonís delight, ice cream was always available at the buffet and also at the pool restaurant (until 5:00 p.m.). A beer garden is being built near the beach bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
POOL
The pool isnít very big, but one area is fairly deep (1m40, in front of the pool bar). The liner bunches up in places, but the pool is clean. The place is pretty packed as of mid-afternoon. It must be difficult to find a lounger there during high season. Itís a lovely area, there is a great atmosphere, and I love the fact that you can see the ocean from the pool area!

BEACH
Lots and lots of seaweed, likely because of high winds during the week. During our stay, the seaweed was not raked every day: no clean up on Friday and Saturday, then the noisy and smelly tractor set to work at mid-day on Sunday. I would expect better maintenance from a Melia.

At low tide, beautiful sandbars form, and people take their loungers there. Unfortunately, most clients are not responsible or considerate enough to put the loungers back on the beach when they are done, resulting in loungers floating in the water and covered with seaweed when the tide rises again. On Saturday night, we counted 22 loungers left in the water Ė and thatís just what we could see from the pier! On Sunday morning, other guests were pulling the chairs out of the water and clearing them of seaweed. Also, many guests leave their plastic cups on the beach even though there are lots of garbage bins all along the beach. Perhaps this doesnít happen all the time, but if itís a regular occurrence, the Melia should assign a beach attendant to make up for the inconsiderate behaviour of guests.

The beach area is lovely, but it must get very crowded when the resort is full.

There was also lots of grass in the water, and unfortunately, there was garbage too Ė Iíve never seen so many plastic bags and plastic debris on any other beach in Cuba... You canít fault the resort for that though.

KITE SURFERS
Lots of them, mostly near the Cojimar resort. Almost all stayed away from the beach in front of the Melia. They are told they cannot come inside the area delimited by the length of the pier, but one of them did, he came very close to the beach and he was actually laughing as he swerved at the last minute to avoid swimmers and the pier...! He did this several times. The regular lifeguard (the excellent Sammy) was at lunch and the second lifeguard was chatting away with the guys at the catamaran hut, it took him a while to react. Only one other came close a couple of days later, he was closer to the Sol CG. Several kite surfers arrived at the MCG on Friday night and as they were setting up their equipment on the beach on Saturday, the security guard came out and clearly explained to them that they couldn't surf near the beach.

Apparently, kite surfers are told they will have to pay a fine if they hit a swimmer, but that's no consolation to anyone who gets hit by that board!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
WI-FI: Available in the lobby at the cost of 4.50 CUC per hour. It was a bit tricky to log on the first time (one of the reception employees assisted me), but after that, it was very easy. Make sure to sign out of the session, there are instructions on how to do this taped to the reception desk. Loading and ready email was very quick (I use Gmail), as was Facebook. I tried Facetime, the connection was just too slow.

KIDS CLUB: Conveniently located near the beach. The attendant, Noelkis, is just awesome and she speaks English well. She was there as of 10:30 a.m., an activity was organized between 11:00 and 12:30, she was back at the kids club from 2:00 to 4:00 p.m., then there was a final activity (game) at the pool at 4:00 p.m. There is no play structure outside the kids club, I believe the resort is in the process of replacing it.

ANIMATION:
There was animation at the beach and around the pool in the morning. Nothing intrusive. I never went to a show at night, so I canít comment on that.

Resort employees:
EMPLOYEES
The resortís staff was truly great Ė and you can imagine my surprise when two of them remembered me from 12 years ago! In fact, I found the staff to be one of the resortís best assets. I couldnít possibly name everyone, but among the standouts were Barbara and her colleagues at the pool restaurant Ė they were just awesome! But honestly, all the employees were great.

Only one employee solicited me to sell me jewellery as I was heading to my room one time. I didnít appreciate being hassled, but I chose not to report him, as he wasnít impolite, just a bit persistent. I'm glad it only happened once though!

The reception staff is probably the best Iíve seen in all my trips. Each and every one of them was courteous and professional. Kudos to the entire team. It was very easy to change money whenever I wanted, there was always change, and it was very easy to arrange for late check-out. I paid to keep our room until 5:00 p.m., as we were scheduled to leave for the airport just after 6:00 p.m. We took a cab again. If you want to do that too, it is highly recommended to reserve a cab ahead of time. I arranged this with the customer service department.

Shout out to Sammy the lifeguard, he speaks excellent English and he is the most professional lifeguard I have met in Cuba.

I also had the pleasure of meeting Carmen Yamely who manages the hotelís Facebook page, she was very friendly.

CONS:
CONS: The room I had definitely needs to be renovated, it was not worthy of a Melia. Our room was kept very clean by our wonderful camarera, but the mattresses were very soft; the blankets I found in the closet gave me the impression they hadnít been washed in a while; the fridge was dirty and dented on the outside and one of the racks was broken inside; the bathroom was in sorry shape (stained and chipped tub, rods falling off the towel rack, very poor shower head, fan on its last legs, very low pressure and no hot water in the sink, toilet needed to be flushed for a long time to be totally emptied...). Small irritants if you are prepared for them, but if I had paid top dollar for the trip (as many people do in high season), I would have been upset.

The garden ponds are beautiful, but they are a prime spot for mosquitoes and jejenes (ďno see-umsĒ). I havenít been this bitten in years, and I saw many people with lots of mosquito bites during the week. It's worse near the lobby at daybreak and at dusk (including the lobby barís outdoors sitting area), but I got bitten at the pool at midday as well.

The washrooms in the lobby were clean, but the toilets often didnít work well (leaking, clogged).

CONCLUSION:
Would I return again? Maybe, it would depend on the price. Iím not sure I would go in high season though, as space is limited at the beach and the pool, and some areas would probably feel a bit crowded for my taste. If I were to return though, one of the top reasons would be the employees Ė I enjoy receiving good service during my vacation, and the MCG certainly delivers in that regard.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Beach Vacation"

Melia Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Art  on Oct 14, 2014  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
14 people found this review helpful

This was our 1st time at the Melia Cayo Guillermo and Iím sure if the opportunity comes up again, weíll return. The weather was mostly sunny and hot, with only 10 minutes of rain once at lunch. The resort itself felt very pleasant with everything nearby without feeling crowded. For context we are retired empty nesters, in our early 60ís and have enjoyed many trips to Cuba, all at various AIís. This trip was from Sept 26th to Oct 3rd 2014. Sept tends to be quieter than most months and so the resort was only about 30% to 40% full. As we donít really like crowds or lots of partying this was not a problem for us.

Room Number:
2212

Arrival:
Check in was a bit time consuming and probably felt worse than it really was due to how late we arrived (around 11pm) however the front staff took the time needed to go through everything. As this resort is compact we were able to find our room quite easily without needing a bellboy. The pool bar was available for a late snack where we met some really nice people.

Rooms:
We requested a king bed on an upper level and the room we got was perfect. Nice comfortable room with quiet air conditioning, very hot water and good water pressure and centrally located. While the room is a bit dated, the maid kept it tidy and the towel art was always a treat to see. We did unfortunately have to change our room the last night as the air conditioning failed during the day and while it was repaired it was just too hot to remain. Recommend keeping customer service informed if you have any issues brewing. We did and when it became obvious we had to move customer service advised the front desk and we were in our new room within an hour. Both the front desk staff and customer service were great.

Restaurants and Bars:
We are not fussy eaters and did not go hungry. The food was decent with good variety but a bit light on the fresh fruit. There were cook stations for pasta, meat, fish and desert, however I mostly ate from the buffet and had more than enough. I did have the sea bass cooked for me one night and it was great. My wife loved the shrimp cooked for her one night and on a few nights she enjoyed the pasta. For lunches we tended to eat at the Ranchon where I had fish every day and loved it. Tasty chicken and pork was also available. There were two a la carts available while we were there, The Italian and The International. We enjoyed both but would recommend the beef filet at the International. It was the best I ever had in Cuba and it would rival any restaurant back home. In all areas, the staff was pleasant and provided friendly service whether you tipped or not. However we do know tipping was appreciated.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is the crowning jewel; powder soft white sand, no rocks and an amazing turquoise blue-green and the water in Sept is warm. You can (and we did) spend hours in the water. If you like to snorkel, under the pier is a great place to start. We also paid the Hobby Cat guys to take us further out to the reef (15 CUC each) and got to see some interesting fish there as well.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We also took the bus to Pilar Beach (5 CUC all day ride each). There were two days when the water was like glass and one of those days was when we went to Pilar Beach. Itís definitely a gem and worth the visit. You do have to pay for everything while there (loungers 2cuc, Lunch) but we had a great day and enjoy a very good lunch. The lobster was 15cuc and the fish lunch 6.50; both were tasty. The snorkeling was good on the left hand side, near the headland (like a fish nursery). You could have also paid to go snorkeling out to the nearby island for an hour but at 25 CUC each I thought it was a bit much.

Other Comments:
Every evening we enjoyed local entertainment outside the main lobby bar, usually from 8:30 to 9:30 (prior to the evening show). Of the evening shows we did get a chance to see one (weíre not late night people) and found it quite entertaining. On another note, even though the resort sprayed for mosquitoes twice daily I would still recommend bringing your mosquitoes spray as we still needed that little extra.

One of the other perks you get when you stay at this Melia is the ability to visit the other Meliaís or Sol for a day. While the weather was too nice to do lots of exploring we did visit the Sol next door for a day and had an enjoyable visit and a great lunch at their buffet. This was easily arranged at the front desk. Also donít forget to visit Serguey in the new Cigar Lounge. Itís a nice air condition spot to enjoy a great cigar and a top shelf drink. Lastly, if you look up my channel on YouTube (MrJarArt) Iíll be posting a few videos of this resort soon and add to my collection of other Cuban resorts weíve been to.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent except for one thing"

Melia Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Mar 28, 2014  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
58 people found this review helpful

We stayed at this resort from March 21 to 28 and have to say that we were more than pleased with almost everything about this resort. We have stayed in many resorts in Cuba as well as Dominican Republic, Mexico, San Andres Island and Columbia so we are well travelled and know what to expect when visiting these countries. It's not like home BUT one thing we never expected was to be subjected to toxic chemicals while walking about the resort! Every night at about 6:30 in the evening when people were walking to the buffets and restaurants a worker would come around with a fogger and blast the area with a thick blanket of black smoke. It was unbelievable. No mask for the worker and no warning for the guests. We even experienced it on the morning that we left at about 8:00am. Many guests were complaining and totally appalled at the complete disregard for the health of the guests. The funny thing is that I have not seen one review mentioning this. Did they just start this practice this week? I did see many people complain about the mosquitos so maybe this is their solution. Other than that the resort was perfect- rooms are spacious, resort is well laid out, food was excellent, the beach is awesome. We absolutely loved everything about this place but will not be returning unless we are assured they are not spraying.

Room Number:
2324

Arrival:
We arrived just before noon but couldn't get into our room until 5:00 pm. After such an early flight we were very tired as we had to get up at 2:30 am to get to the airport and this of course made us a little cranky. The excuse was that they had run out of pillow cases. Not sure why we couldn't get into the room because of that but in the end it was not a big deal once we started enjoying ourselves.

Rooms:
Very spacious and updated. Good lay out. Only problem was weak pressure in the shower.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was good in both the buffet and a la cartes. Best we have had in Cuba and many other places for that matter.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nicely kept. Pool was warm.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"EXCELLENT TIME AS ALWAYS!!!!!!"

Melia Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on Mar 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2014 | Leisure | With friend
61 people found this review helpful

Travelled with 6 other friends Sept 20-27th, 2013 and once again had an excellent vacation. Once our vacation was booked we e-mailed the resort for our request of rooms and location, as we have done before. The reservation desk Urimary, Mary and Michael did an excellent job as all of our requests were met, which I am sure is a hard task as many people send in requests for particular rooms and areas of the resort, and they do their best to accommodate . Thank you so much!!!!!!. Our flight with Canjet was smooth, and arrived within 3 hours. Once at the resort we were welcomed with a fruit punch drink, at which time we had a seat in the lobby to complete our paperwork for checking. To our surprise a staff member came over and placed our wrist bands on and checked us in once our paper work was completed. Talk about fast and efficient ďexcellent serviceĒ Our luggage was quickly taken to our rooms, at which time we spent at the outside lobby bar.. ďBeautifulĒ

Rooms were spacious, bright and clean. Our maid always had our room cleaned before noon, and our fridge was restocked daily with pop, beer and water.

The food was excellent and never went hungry. There was a special dinner for the return guests which consist of soup, salad, lobster, shrimp, and rice. If you do not like sea food your other choice was beef.
Breakfast always had, pancakes and toast but there were also so many other choices to choose from. Lunch we at either the rancho restaurant on the beach (large lunch), the pool bar where you will also find ice cream, or the beach grill which served up hotdogs hamburgers and ribs, as well as pizza at the Italian restaurant. For dinner you could book the Italian restaurant the international restaurant or just each at the buffet which had an excellent variety of food.

The pool was very large with an excellent swim up bar, and the water a lot cooler than the ocean, but due to the breeze it was always cooler on the beach. The beach is out of this world turquoise water and always crystal clear. You always see small fish while swimming in the ocean. There is also the pier which is excellent place to take pictures, with the beautiful ocean in the background, as well if you like to fish you could fish off the pier.

The staff are amazing always smiling and willing to help out with anything you need, which is another reason why we always go back. Special thanks to Rocky, Mary, Tiger, Michael, Urimary, Alfredo, Sergay for one of the best vacations we have had, and everything you all have done for us. Hats off to you all!!!!! We miss you all already...
See you in May 2014....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Another great holiday"

Melia Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mike and Sue  on Sep 30, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
209 people found this review helpful

We just returned Sept 22 from another great holiday at MCG.
As many of you know the hotel was scheduled to close from May to November but reopened after only a few weeks which throw a lot of confusion into the booking system consequently there was a reduction in the clients when we were there.
The buffet restaurant was only open for breakfast and the Rancho and pool bar for lunch but as the client numbers increase that will change.
Having said the above it was all very positive for our stay, no waiting in line or looking for sun beds.
Every thing else is still in place and getting better, Jesus the new manager is making changes for the better to make your stay even more memorable.
The beach is one of the best I have been to, gorgeous when the tide is out.
The grounds are just beautiful and well kept by the team of grounds keepers.
The restaurants and bars are all very good with great service.
The entertainment is second to none; they all put well over 100% into their craft.
All of the staff are very friendly and make the holiday the best you will find in Cuba.
The customer service are very efficient and will address any concerns you may have quickly, we had no hot water when we arrived and within the time it took to return to our room from customer service they had fixed it and then followed up with a phone call to make sure every thing was OK.
We will return soon.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Mose amazing place ever !!!!"

Melia Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sylvie  on Aug 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
486 people found this review helpful

My husband and I were at Melia Cayo Guillermo for our honeymoon last year. I am a Cuba lover, and I have visited many hotels in Cuba in the past 6-7 years and I can honestly say that this was my best stay ever. We had 2 or 3 little problems arriving at the hotel (we had a room with seperate beds and had asked for a king size upgraded room for honeymoon) . The staff were unable to do anything that same night due to too many people ariving at once, but asked us to see Maria the coordinator the next morning and everything was fixed up for us. Maria was amazing. We also had an AC problem, but they quickly changed our room because they could not fix it. The staff is very nice, the beach is stunning, the food was good, plenty of choice (but keep in mind that this is Cuba, so you cannot eat like at home...people sometimes think this is a 5 star at home where we can eat anything we want. We enjoyed mostly staying at night at the tip of the long pier , just relaxing in our chairs, looking at the zillion stars in the sky and enjoying each other`s company with the nice breeze and the sound of the waves. Like other poeple have said, if people would pick up after themselves (cups , straws and other garbage that they leave lying around the pool, it would make it much more pleasurable..It takes two seconds to pick yourselves up and put your stuff in the trash cans. The rooms are very clean and fridge stocked regularly. I would definately go back to this hotel..and with the renovations being done, it will be even better. Hope to be back there in october of 2011.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful and serene"

Melia Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Me  on Mar 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
552 people found this review helpful

We have been to this special place a couple of times and each time was perfect. I am so tired of people who go there coming back with such negative reviews, where the heck were they staying on the resort, or maybe too much to drink. I also know people who have gone to this resort numerous times and never a bad report. You can't compare this resort to any of the other Islands because it would not be fair. Remember the resort has limited supply and it is hard to get certain items because of the embargo. If people weren't so greedy in their use of certain items like toilet paper and Flushing things that shouldn't be flushed down the toilets, making more work for the employees I might add. It would be easier for the resort to replace what was used and more time to spend on you, but for the most part, people are wasteful and not just with that, they are also lazy, pick up after yourself (I know, I know your on vacation) but you don't have to be a pig about it. So wake up do you part and enjoy what the resort can really offer, great service, good food, and great beaches. What more could you want?

Your Arrival:
Check in was a breeze if you know how to wait your turn.

Rooms:
Very clean, probably cleaner than your room at home.

Restaurants and Bars:
Friendly employees, and great service when you give great treatment to them, or anyone for that matter.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
always kept clean till lazy people arrive and start messing it up. Do your part, its not that hard.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
No pressure to do, but if you want its there for you.

Other Comments:
Enjoy

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would never go back"

Melia Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer  on Mar 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Business | With Group
539 people found this review helpful

No hot water for 2 days.No water pressure to flush toilets.No toilet paper in most washrooms in the resort..or toilet seats for that matter. Toilets in main lobby opened the last 3 days of our trip. Good drinks and food not bad.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"excellent"

Melia Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Danielle  on Apr 23, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
760 people found this review helpful

cela fait plus de 6 ans que nous allons a cette endroit,et on rÍve d'y retournť encore.La bouffe est excellente, les gens sont acceuillant, la plage est superbe et trŤs propre et que dire du restaurant ŗ la carte Don Guillermo, un souper en tÍte ŗ tÍte et l'atmosphŤre est superbe.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"stupendo per viaggio di nozze"

Melia Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  miccoli ivano  on Dec 29, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Dec, 2008
650 people found this review helpful

struttura bellissima. Oasi di pace in un mare cristallino.Spiaggie bianchissime, giardino e palmeti molto curati.Siamo stati in viaggio di nozze a luglio 2008.Buoni i servizi, la cucina molto soddisfacente, abbiamo mangiato molto bene. i cubani sono molto ospitali, quindi oltre a questo cajo meraviglioso, vi consiglio di visitare anche l'avana

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube