Melia Cayo Guillermo Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Melia Cayo Guillermo reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Melia Cayo Guillermo  

Cayo Guillermo, Jardines del Rey, Moron
(Jardines del Rey)

"Excellent except for one thing"
Posted by: Linda on Mar 28, 2014
see all reviews

Melia  Cayo Guillermo Reviews
Melia  Cayo Guillermo Pictures and Information
Melia  Cayo Guillermo Cayo Guillermo Cuba

#4
of 4 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo

User rating 4.7

Based on 11 reviews

Melia Cayo Guillermo Information





Cayo Guillermo’s first five-star hotel, the Meliá Cayo Guillermo is an extraordinary tourist destination offering first-rate services in Cuba’s Sabana Camaguey archipelago.



Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Melia Cayo Guillermo Reviews

Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 4.7 of 5 11 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  1
Average
  1
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (5)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
1 - 10 of 11

"Excellent except for one thing"

Melia Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Linda  on Mar 28, 2014  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
46 people found this review helpful

We stayed at this resort from March 21 to 28 and have to say that we were more than pleased with almost everything about this resort. We have stayed in many resorts in Cuba as well as Dominican Republic, Mexico, San Andres Island and Columbia so we are well travelled and know what to expect when visiting these countries. It's not like home BUT one thing we never expected was to be subjected to toxic chemicals while walking about the resort! Every night at about 6:30 in the evening when people were walking to the buffets and restaurants a worker would come around with a fogger and blast the area with a thick blanket of black smoke. It was unbelievable. No mask for the worker and no warning for the guests. We even experienced it on the morning that we left at about 8:00am. Many guests were complaining and totally appalled at the complete disregard for the health of the guests. The funny thing is that I have not seen one review mentioning this. Did they just start this practice this week? I did see many people complain about the mosquitos so maybe this is their solution. Other than that the resort was perfect- rooms are spacious, resort is well laid out, food was excellent, the beach is awesome. We absolutely loved everything about this place but will not be returning unless we are assured they are not spraying.

Room Number:
2324

Arrival:
We arrived just before noon but couldn't get into our room until 5:00 pm. After such an early flight we were very tired as we had to get up at 2:30 am to get to the airport and this of course made us a little cranky. The excuse was that they had run out of pillow cases. Not sure why we couldn't get into the room because of that but in the end it was not a big deal once we started enjoying ourselves.

Rooms:
Very spacious and updated. Good lay out. Only problem was weak pressure in the shower.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was good in both the buffet and a la cartes. Best we have had in Cuba and many other places for that matter.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nicely kept. Pool was warm.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"EXCELLENT TIME AS ALWAYS!!!!!!"

Melia Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cindy  on Mar 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2014 | Leisure | With friend
52 people found this review helpful

Travelled with 6 other friends Sept 20-27th, 2013 and once again had an excellent vacation. Once our vacation was booked we e-mailed the resort for our request of rooms and location, as we have done before. The reservation desk Urimary, Mary and Michael did an excellent job as all of our requests were met, which I am sure is a hard task as many people send in requests for particular rooms and areas of the resort, and they do their best to accommodate . Thank you so much!!!!!!. Our flight with Canjet was smooth, and arrived within 3 hours. Once at the resort we were welcomed with a fruit punch drink, at which time we had a seat in the lobby to complete our paperwork for checking. To our surprise a staff member came over and placed our wrist bands on and checked us in once our paper work was completed. Talk about fast and efficient “excellent service” Our luggage was quickly taken to our rooms, at which time we spent at the outside lobby bar.. “Beautiful”

Rooms were spacious, bright and clean. Our maid always had our room cleaned before noon, and our fridge was restocked daily with pop, beer and water.

The food was excellent and never went hungry. There was a special dinner for the return guests which consist of soup, salad, lobster, shrimp, and rice. If you do not like sea food your other choice was beef.
Breakfast always had, pancakes and toast but there were also so many other choices to choose from. Lunch we at either the rancho restaurant on the beach (large lunch), the pool bar where you will also find ice cream, or the beach grill which served up hotdogs hamburgers and ribs, as well as pizza at the Italian restaurant. For dinner you could book the Italian restaurant the international restaurant or just each at the buffet which had an excellent variety of food.

The pool was very large with an excellent swim up bar, and the water a lot cooler than the ocean, but due to the breeze it was always cooler on the beach. The beach is out of this world turquoise water and always crystal clear. You always see small fish while swimming in the ocean. There is also the pier which is excellent place to take pictures, with the beautiful ocean in the background, as well if you like to fish you could fish off the pier.

The staff are amazing always smiling and willing to help out with anything you need, which is another reason why we always go back. Special thanks to Rocky, Mary, Tiger, Michael, Urimary, Alfredo, Sergay for one of the best vacations we have had, and everything you all have done for us. Hats off to you all!!!!! We miss you all already...
See you in May 2014....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Another great holiday"

Melia Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mike and Sue  on Sep 30, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
195 people found this review helpful

We just returned Sept 22 from another great holiday at MCG.
As many of you know the hotel was scheduled to close from May to November but reopened after only a few weeks which throw a lot of confusion into the booking system consequently there was a reduction in the clients when we were there.
The buffet restaurant was only open for breakfast and the Rancho and pool bar for lunch but as the client numbers increase that will change.
Having said the above it was all very positive for our stay, no waiting in line or looking for sun beds.
Every thing else is still in place and getting better, Jesus the new manager is making changes for the better to make your stay even more memorable.
The beach is one of the best I have been to, gorgeous when the tide is out.
The grounds are just beautiful and well kept by the team of grounds keepers.
The restaurants and bars are all very good with great service.
The entertainment is second to none; they all put well over 100% into their craft.
All of the staff are very friendly and make the holiday the best you will find in Cuba.
The customer service are very efficient and will address any concerns you may have quickly, we had no hot water when we arrived and within the time it took to return to our room from customer service they had fixed it and then followed up with a phone call to make sure every thing was OK.
We will return soon.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Mose amazing place ever !!!!"

Melia Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sylvie  on Aug 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
470 people found this review helpful

My husband and I were at Melia Cayo Guillermo for our honeymoon last year. I am a Cuba lover, and I have visited many hotels in Cuba in the past 6-7 years and I can honestly say that this was my best stay ever. We had 2 or 3 little problems arriving at the hotel (we had a room with seperate beds and had asked for a king size upgraded room for honeymoon) . The staff were unable to do anything that same night due to too many people ariving at once, but asked us to see Maria the coordinator the next morning and everything was fixed up for us. Maria was amazing. We also had an AC problem, but they quickly changed our room because they could not fix it. The staff is very nice, the beach is stunning, the food was good, plenty of choice (but keep in mind that this is Cuba, so you cannot eat like at home...people sometimes think this is a 5 star at home where we can eat anything we want. We enjoyed mostly staying at night at the tip of the long pier , just relaxing in our chairs, looking at the zillion stars in the sky and enjoying each other`s company with the nice breeze and the sound of the waves. Like other poeple have said, if people would pick up after themselves (cups , straws and other garbage that they leave lying around the pool, it would make it much more pleasurable..It takes two seconds to pick yourselves up and put your stuff in the trash cans. The rooms are very clean and fridge stocked regularly. I would definately go back to this hotel..and with the renovations being done, it will be even better. Hope to be back there in october of 2011.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful and serene"

Melia Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Me  on Mar 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
535 people found this review helpful

We have been to this special place a couple of times and each time was perfect. I am so tired of people who go there coming back with such negative reviews, where the heck were they staying on the resort, or maybe too much to drink. I also know people who have gone to this resort numerous times and never a bad report. You can't compare this resort to any of the other Islands because it would not be fair. Remember the resort has limited supply and it is hard to get certain items because of the embargo. If people weren't so greedy in their use of certain items like toilet paper and Flushing things that shouldn't be flushed down the toilets, making more work for the employees I might add. It would be easier for the resort to replace what was used and more time to spend on you, but for the most part, people are wasteful and not just with that, they are also lazy, pick up after yourself (I know, I know your on vacation) but you don't have to be a pig about it. So wake up do you part and enjoy what the resort can really offer, great service, good food, and great beaches. What more could you want?

Your Arrival:
Check in was a breeze if you know how to wait your turn.

Rooms:
Very clean, probably cleaner than your room at home.

Restaurants and Bars:
Friendly employees, and great service when you give great treatment to them, or anyone for that matter.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
always kept clean till lazy people arrive and start messing it up. Do your part, its not that hard.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
No pressure to do, but if you want its there for you.

Other Comments:
Enjoy

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would never go back"

Melia Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer  on Mar 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Business | With Group
525 people found this review helpful

No hot water for 2 days.No water pressure to flush toilets.No toilet paper in most washrooms in the resort..or toilet seats for that matter. Toilets in main lobby opened the last 3 days of our trip. Good drinks and food not bad.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"excellent"

Melia Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Danielle  on Apr 23, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
749 people found this review helpful

cela fait plus de 6 ans que nous allons a cette endroit,et on rêve d'y retourné encore.La bouffe est excellente, les gens sont acceuillant, la plage est superbe et très propre et que dire du restaurant à la carte Don Guillermo, un souper en tête à tête et l'atmosphère est superbe.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"stupendo per viaggio di nozze"

Melia Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  miccoli ivano  on Dec 29, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Dec, 2008
636 people found this review helpful

struttura bellissima. Oasi di pace in un mare cristallino.Spiaggie bianchissime, giardino e palmeti molto curati.Siamo stati in viaggio di nozze a luglio 2008.Buoni i servizi, la cucina molto soddisfacente, abbiamo mangiato molto bene. i cubani sono molto ospitali, quindi oltre a questo cajo meraviglioso, vi consiglio di visitare anche l'avana

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My Favorite Vacation"

Melia Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  David Wright  on May 18, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2007
3401 people found this review helpful

I went to Cuba 2 years ago in May and stayed at the Melia Cayo Guillermo Resort. It was a time i will never forget.

The staff is always fun and entertaining,they always keep you smiling. My mother and I never missed one of there night shows which were absolutely amazing. Jimmy was the best!

They were entertaining and overall a blast to watch. There A la Carte restaurants were delicious and well decorated. I was especially fond of the Italien Restaurant. My mother and I found the beach to be breathtaking and spent most of our time there, and if you do not like beaches they have a brilliant pool that can cool you off.

Overall, this hotel is spectacular, the rooms, the service, everything. I will never forget it and have already made plans to revisit this hotel over New Years, I suggest you do the same, and i promise, you will not be dissapointed.

Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Paradise"

Melia Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Melia  Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patrick Michielsen  on Jan 6, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) BELGIUM
Visited on: Jan, 2007
4173 people found this review helpful

We read reveiws about this hotel before we went, and like all the review pages there is always someone who has something to complain about.

We were getting married there and I now had doubts. when we arrived we realised there was nothing to worry about if the thought of lying on a pure white beach with clear water lapping at your feet eating whatever you fancy and being brought ice cool drinks of your choice is not what your after in a relaxing holiday don't go, we also travelled with our 8 month daughter and the staff could not do enough for her they even made her food special for her (liquidized no salt ect) and brought it to her.

The wedding was amazing, and they did everything possible to make it special, THIS PLACE REALLY IS PARADISE............and yes we have booked to go back.

Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube