Melia Cayo Coco Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Melia Cayo Coco reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Cubanacan Colonial

3.7 based on 76 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 23, 2015

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort

3.1 based on 20 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2017

Melia Cayo Coco  

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey,
(Jardines del Rey)

"2nd visit, won't be the last..."
Posted by: Joseph on Mar 13, 2016
see all reviews

Melia Cayo Coco Reviews
Melia Cayo Coco Pictures and Information
Melia Cayo Coco Cayo Coco Cuba

#5
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 4.2

Based on 50 reviews

Melia Cayo Coco Information


Overlooking the clear blue-green waters of the sea and its coral reefs and close to a beach of fine white sand, the All-Inclusive MeliĆ” Cayo Coco hotel complex enjoys a supremely beautiful setting

For adults only (guests aged 18 and over)

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Melia Cayo Coco Reviews

Melia Cayo Coco Review: 4.2 of 5 50 reviews
Excellent
  22
Very good
  19
Average
  5
Poor
  2
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (45)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (5)
With Spouse/Partner (29)
Solo
1 - 10 of 50

"2nd visit, won't be the last..."

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Joseph  on Mar 13, 2016  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2016 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
152 people found this review helpful

Visited MCC during the last 2 weeks of January. Once again, they were able to fulfill our room request. I see they briefly slipped to #2 spot due to Pullman's glowing early reviews but not surprisingly, they're back at #1.
Our favourite things about this resort are: It's Adult-Only, it's small size, the tranquility, the short ride from the airport, the long continuous picturesque well-groomed beach, the cozy well-manicured garden-of-eden like grounds, the awesome service (special thanks to Omar and Yuny in the buffet restaurant), the large clean comfortable well-appointed rooms, the friendly welcoming feeling the staff extends to their guests, NO BRACELETS, and a management which is obviously on top of their game.
We enjoyed the inexpensive hop-on/hop-off double decker bus tour of the surrounding area and neighbouring resorts. We got day passes on different days so we got to visit the Sol Cayo Coco, Tryp Cayo Coco and the Melia Jardines del Rey.
When we wanted extra long beach walks we would stroll over to the magnificent Playa Larga next door. Awesome!.....(gotta wear off all those pina coladas and all that great food somehow) lol. The smoothies were one of our everyday favourites too. YUMMY.
Unlike several previous visits to Cuba in January we found the weather this time to be quite windy and chilly on most days. But we didn't let that deter us from having a most enjoyable holiday. And we're looking forward to doing it again in the (hopefully) not too distant future.
Thanks to one and all at the Melia Cayo Coco for your great work, welcoming ways and friendly smiles. Nos vemos luego.

Room Number:
21

Room Block:
97

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Paradise!"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michele  on Mar 5, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2016 | Leisure | With friend
157 people found this review helpful

First of all I would like to say to anyone else making a review to please be sure that you are reviewing the CORRECT hotel!! I have seen some bad reviews for this hotel on this site and others and it turns out that the reviewer should have been reviewing the Melia Des Jardins hotel NOT the Melia Cayo Coco. Both hotels are in Cayo Coco so I understand the confusion however not fair to the Melia Cayo Coco to be getting a bad review based on another hotel.
The Melia Cayo Coco is by far the best resort I have been to!! The hotel is compact, beautiful beach, beautiful pool...and everything is an easy walk with beautiful gardens, walkways etc. The staff at this hotel are truly amazing!! So friendly and warm...they make you feel like family. The food was excellent!!! NO FOOD POISONING at this hotel!!! We tried the Cuban and Italian a la carts and enjoyed both! The buffet has lots to offer as well....so many made to order stations and great selection!
This was the most relaxing holiday I have been on...the fact that it is an Adult Only resort helps!
A special thank you to the Animation Team who made our holiday extra special!! Jorge David, Reydel, Aniuska, Emilieade, and Maite deserve a special mention!
The bartenders in all areas were fantastic! A special mention to Aldo, Dago, and Pedro in the lobby bar!
I had such a wonderful time that I am looking forward to going back very soon!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"i will come back here"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  juliet  on Jul 28, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
285 people found this review helpful

I have just had the best holiday ever in Melia Cayo Coco, it was such a nice and new experience for me since it is my first time visiting Cuba, it was all worth the trouble if you ask me. The place is not so far from the airport which makes the location an important criteria to consider before choosing the place and on getting to the hotel, the check in process was really fast and I was happy they didn't keep me at the reception longer than they should and then the staff also made even easier by being so nice and greeted me with smiles. The room I was given or rather the room I requested prior to arrival was what was given to me and it was very clean, air conditioned and tidied. The area is quite calm and there were no noises so I slept well, the area is also safe. The food was of quality type and high standard; I have not eaten a better meal in other hotels than here. I mostly loved the Caribbean and Italian restaurant and the lobby restaurant had nice meal selections that will keep your taste buds happy for a long time. The animation team provided Spanish lessons for the guests in the afternoon and I attended because my Spanish is quite bad, the lessons came in handy. I joined in some of the activities that were planned by the animation team and the one I enjoyed most was the dancing lessons. I had a very good time here and will come back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great food, awesome entertainment, beautiful scenery and the staff are like family, must visit again."

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Arliss Osawamick  on May 7, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | With Group
316 people found this review helpful

Food was amazing! The small burger that packs a punch! Very quite, relaxing and if you wanted the party it was just a walk away. The staff was very friendly which made the stay that more enjoyable, they made us feel welcome. There are absolutely no peddlers like other areas of the islands. It is not like the Varadero area(busy). I've read bad reviews against Melia but I was never to quick judge. Most of the bad reviews were mainly the reviewers errors because they either could not read or follow simple instructions. The two things bad about the vacation was 1. Cancellations of flights in Canada on beautiful days only to wait 5 hrs at the airport because we have to be there at certain times and they are the ones that are always late. 2. Coming back to Canada's dirty restrooms, bad attitudes and lack of freedom(Facts). I love Melia Cayo Coco and I would visit again in a heart beat.

Room Number:
2112

Room Block:
2111 to 2114 Lagoon

Arrival:
10am I believe, I have not slept for 36hrs in Canada....lol We were welcomed with open arms. I will never forget that!

Rooms:
Our room was always clean with towel sculptures every day. Amazing, we have respected the clean towel rule and also had the environment in mind. Reuse our towels whenever possible. The views outside our lagoon balcony was to die for, sun rise and sunset. We were even welcomed by the fish and morning birds....lol

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants had live music and I'm a huge fan of live music. The food was amazing! I was not too fond of the dress code though especially since we are from the north and to be fully clothed has made the heat very uncomfortable. Service was fantastic and the choices on the menu which had the opportunity to indulge ourselves was truly delicious. Had a great time at the music bar, met lots of people. The one thing that I wished they had was the slush drinks. There is just something about a cold drink that stays mixed for a longer period of time. The waitress is very friendly and enjoyable to converse with which kept us going back for more. That interaction is recommended in my books and should not be discouraged. Go Yaneus!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
It was a beach that did not have loud rude crowds but very relaxing. It was one of the most places I have visited frequently during the day. The cool breeze off the ocean is very refreshing and makes for a comfortable nap. :) It was always well maintained and the little crabs are very interesting to watch. Very soothing if you ask me, I'm glad I picked this resort over the others in which I have had the opportunity to visit while on the main land. The fact that there are trees to hide from the sun in another thing that is a must. Other resorts in which I've visited, it appeared the guests were trying hard to get out of the sun because of the lack of trees and they did not seem to be enjoying themselves.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The night shows are very entertaining, I wish I could dance like that! Charlie Chaplin look alike was very funny. Dance lessons which we missed because of excursions, next time. Loved the Moron half day excursion was one of the most beautiful places I have visited. The boat ride with the overhanging trees was fantastic. Holding the crocodiles is another thing off the bucket list. The snorkel gear for the Catamaran could be updated though. The bus ride was long however we were able to see quite a bit of how the people live. 7 days are just not long enough! I would recommend 10 days.

Other Comments:
A must visit or do your homework before choosing elsewhere.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"stay at the melia cayo coco"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  penny  on Oct 30, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
339 people found this review helpful

my husband and I stay her from the 19th-26th and it was a awesome resort the staff were all friendly.felix the bellboy was very helpful the day of arrival took us and our bags to room and show us all around outside and in the room.jovel at snackbar was a very happy and polite man.the staff of the buffet were very nice and Rodney the head was awesome too.only did one speciality restaurant the international and weren't impress,took too long for thr meal-2 hours for everything.the grounds were beautiful and our maid made the room inviting too.this was my 14th time to cuba and 9 times to cayo coco which is my favorite.would go back again.

Room Number:
9312-8422

Arrival:
oct 19 2013.

Rooms:
our room wasn't far from the lagoon rooms and the the lobby and the stores.

Restaurants and Bars:
the bars were nice too and staff was excellent too.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the pool was close while we were there but was to open the day we left,we were already inform that it would be close and we could use the resort sol cayo coco next door,

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
they had several activies going on and especially the day we were leaving it rain so they had some in the lobby.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great holiday"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Audrey  on Sep 15, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
420 people found this review helpful

Upon arrival we were given welcome drinks etc. This time room check in was quicker than before. We hit tropical storm Isaac, our rooms were drenched due to leaking through lights and roof but we were given new rooms without a question.

Grounds, pool and layout are fab, same as always. Small resort and all rooms within easy reach of pool and beach. It was quiet by the pool until volleyball, very relaxing. Beach was quiet most of the time and if you walk to the right of the beach you can walk for ages, truly wonderful.

We only went to two a la cartes due to a member of family being a fussy eater in our group, but the italian and International were both acceptable. In fact the mozzie sheilds on the international made a huge difference on our dining experience compared to five years ago! The food was good too!

The staff - ALL of them are fan bloody tastic! They loved and probably hated a lot of folks when we were there but they did not show any favouritism. Although the barman at the pool bar took a shining to my mum but i think that was just to tease her really, he was a superstar.

I love this resort however some of the rooms on the lagoon are being upgraded. Before the storm we had a fab room but it leaked, well rained in! We then were given a room on the lagoon which quite frankly was nothing short of shabby. But we don't spend much time in our room and we know that most of the other rooms were being renovated, we saw it.

We went to Trinidad for the day. We did this same trip in 2007 and it was not worth it the second time. Four hours to get there, followed by a quick tour and then lunch and free time. We were asked to meet in an outside bar for the return trip but we got there an hour early. Within that hour we were asked to tip no less than 6 times. Now to me that is just begging, tip for service etc so in all we felt that this place were maximising tourist rip off as much as possible, ever the opportunists! Oh and take your own loo roll every where, people do not kid when they say expect to tip for it. This was a completely different experience to the first. we also did Now thats what we call Cuba and the catamaran. First was excellent, speed boats, bikes and steam trains, time in town - very good. Catamaran wasn't as good as i was hoping, we did one in varadero and it was fantastic, this didnt live up to it. And if you are not a strong swimmer beware, the last stop is at Playa Pilar and you swim to shore. The current was extremely strong the day we went,several people stayed on board.

All in all, a great resort, will return! The only reason i am giving this a four star is that as return visitors we can see that its getting a little tired. Fabulous time and I am sure when we go back it will be as special as always.

Room Number:
8122 then 2321

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing Hotel"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Robin  on Jun 10, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
453 people found this review helpful

Hello everyone

I originally was supposed to go to Guillermo and ended up at Melia Cayo Coco, which was ment to be. The hotel staff,food,grounds were awesome.I've been to Cuba four times now and by far this has been the best one. I was amazied that all the staff spoke english and also willing to assist you with learning some spanish. I must say, I will definately return to Melia Cayo coco. Kookos to the staff at the resort for working very hard to make my stay wonderful. I was there for two weeks and didn't want to come home. Thank you Melia Cayo coco!!!!!!

Robin F
PTBO ONT. Canada

Room Number:
7213

Arrival:
may 25 2012 to June 8 2012

Rooms:
found the room very clean. The bed could of been a little softer but thats just because I have a pillow top at home.

Restaurants and Bars:
lobby bar was my favorite. I ate only in the Buffet/dining room.Your gaurantied
awsome meals each day,and the variety, huge. I also ate at the beach restauranat, no complaints,BBQ meat down there.I also had wondeful pizza at by the pool,the main floor of the italian restaurant. Absolutly no compliants with the food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach, of course its beautiful!!
nice size,very clean,flooting mattresses,wonderful for a sand free day.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
there is always something to do on and off the resort.

Other Comments:
I would go bck tomorrow if I could, but I will return to Melia Cayo Coco.

You know the experience is what you make it, if you go anywhere in the world and constanly compare to what ou have at home, just remember that your not doing dishes, making beds,cooking food, cleaning and etc.... So folks please appriciate the people that do it for you.

Oh also if you plan om getting a message which is wonderful,there is a lady there on Sundays(she is a nurse at the hospial in Rehad) All I can say is OOHHHH HEAVEN ladies, includes a face message for $35/Hr plus tip. Enjoy!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fabulous Resort, No complaints"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Darlene  on Mar 26, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
482 people found this review helpful

We have nothing negative to say about this resort,,,the food, staff, accomodations were all outstanding,,This is our 7th time to Cuba and the first time at this resort,,we have travelled to Cayo Coco 4 times. We will definately return to this resort. We upgraded our room to a suite on the lagoon, it was beautiful..Quiet, spacious and clean.
The staff go way beyond their call,,,you wait for nothing,,they are always there waiting to please you..The activity staff were superb,,

Room Number:
1611

Arrival:
On time and efficient..no problems

Rooms:
clean and spacious....

Restaurants and Bars:
good variety of food..one night they served fresh lobster...something to please everyone...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
great pool,,,not very deep ,,have lounge rafts to float around on,,,very relaxing

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
lots of activties,,archery, pellet gun shooting, pool, boche ball, darts, volleyball, water polo, water exercising, dance lessons, tennis

Other Comments:
Overall, this is a quiet resort for 18+, beach is beautiful..it was windy everyday we were there so couldn't swim in the ocean,however,there were a few people that did swim in the ocen, you could walk forever on the beach . Beach bar is great with lots of seating on the beach...I think what makes this resort so superb is the staff, all are friendly and will go out of their way to make your stay excellent. We will definately return to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Adults Only Resort for Peace and Tranquility"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ronnie  on Feb 12, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
502 people found this review helpful

I have been to Cuba numerous times and I was very impressed overall with the resort. It is well kept, the gardens beautiful, the staff helpful and hard working. The food is varied and very good, something for everyone. The pool is well kept and the rooms clean and roomy and clean.

The spa that was offered OFF of the resort which was a car ride away was very disappointing and the steam bath was part of our package and we were never offered a refund. We were told we could pay by credit card or cash when we arrived we were told the system was down and we had to pay cash. That should have been told to us previously and wasnt. The steam bath which was part of the package a group of us paid for was broken. We were NOT offered a refund and we were approached by one of the workers saying IF we wanted to have a steam bath it was NOT part of our package we paid for and If we wanted it we would have to pay him seperately. That was very dishonest. I know Cuba and its people are wonderful but like all countries there are people less than honest and we found it there at this spa. If you want a spa experience perhaps try it at the Melia itself. Stay away from this spa.

Restaurants and Bars:
Italian a la carte was excellent!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We wanted to stay longer"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Brian Phillips  on Dec 27, 2011  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
629 people found this review helpful

Our 2 day stay was shortened to one night due to our missing our flight on the 19th - we wished we were staying longer - a week would have been great!

Room Number:
9411

Arrival:
friendly check-in service and all the staff were well trained and helpful

Rooms:
lovely room and comfortable beds - near the pool and buffet restaurant but with patio and view of gardens in between - loved it
supplies wonderful in bathroom - separate sink and mirror area from toilet and bathroom great - may need some renovating soon

Restaurants and Bars:
buffet restaurant excellent for lunch, supper and breakfast - lots of choices - grills for made to order - omeleetes, fish, etc did not try the specialty restaurants -had sandwich lunch soon after arrival at pool bar

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
lovely pool - nice beach - nice beach bar -mojitos not as good as the Nacional though!
large grounds - well kept - good variety of flora - the gardeners were very friendly and gave my wife a hand - made straw bird!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
this is a 5 star all- inclusive, very popular with canadians, and it is easy to see why
would have liked to explore the rest of Cayo Coco and the nature park if we'd had more time

Other Comments:
i would recommend this resort to others - probaly good for a week's stay

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube