Melia Cayo Coco Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Melia Cayo Coco reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Cubanacan Colonial

3.7 based on 76 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 23, 2015

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort

3.1 based on 20 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2017

Melia Cayo Coco  

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey,
(Jardines del Rey)

"2nd visit, won't be the last..."
Posted by: Joseph on Mar 13, 2016
see all reviews

Melia Cayo Coco Reviews
Melia Cayo Coco Pictures and Information
Melia Cayo Coco Cayo Coco Cuba

#5
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 4.2

Based on 50 reviews

Melia Cayo Coco Information


Overlooking the clear blue-green waters of the sea and its coral reefs and close to a beach of fine white sand, the All-Inclusive Meliá Cayo Coco hotel complex enjoys a supremely beautiful setting

For adults only (guests aged 18 and over)

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Melia Cayo Coco Reviews

Melia Cayo Coco Review: 4.2 of 5 50 reviews
Excellent
  22
Very good
  19
Average
  5
Poor
  2
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (45)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (5)
With Spouse/Partner (29)
Solo
1 - 10 of 50

"They are soo slow!!!"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jim05  on Nov 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2005 | Leisure | Family and Kids
198 people found this review helpful

Well I will start at the beginning, on arriving at the airport all I can say is it is a good job there was only one flight in otherwise we would have been there all day. They are soo slow!!! Then on arriving at the Melia 5 star ( well that's a laugh) There was no champagne left although my parents did get some. When it comes to finding your room you are left on your own wandering round it was other guests that told us where to go! The rooms in fairness where very clean but very tired. My parents had a couple of complaints ie the toilet did not flush, the air con did not work,they did nothing so next day they requested a move, which they got but had to do it themselves bearing in mind they are in their 70's. in the brochure it says all rooms have garden, pool or lagoon views, well not ours it was of the back of a restaurant which stank of fish and what I can only describe as burning flesh. The beach was ok although a lot of seaweed but in fairness I think was due to hurricane. I must point out that the staff on the beach ie Luis and Victor and some others whos names I can't remember where definitely 5 star. (such very pleasant people) The food well there is not one meal that we actually enjoyed. It was not even worthy of 3 stars it was dreadful, nothing was ever hot infact everything was cold!!! The breakfast was ok but then there is not much they can do to toast. We had cheese and biscuits a lot (when there was any) and the bread in fairness was good. I think this hotel if it wants to keep its 5 star rating needs to do some research into what British people expect for 5 star. But I must stress that the only thing that was 5 star about this hotel is the staff. Especially Yamil and Junior in the restaurant. Holiday from hell 6th Nov- 21st

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would strongly advise you to think again"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kate and Matthew from Spain  on Mar 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Mar, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
203 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Melia Cayo Coco from the 26th March 2007 for two weeks. We booked with First Choice and having had a fantastic holidy with them last year to Mexico, we were really looking forward to our trip to Cuba. We were unbelievably disappointed!

We had money stolen from our hotel safe and the management were incredibly rude and unhelpful at sorting the problem out. We couldn't believe the way they treated us and handled the situation, it was very upsetting. Another guest also had money taken so keep an eye on all your valuables.

The resort is more 3 star than 4 star plus. The rooms and bathrooms are dated and we have heard it is due for refurbishment later this year which says it all - it is now looking tired and is in need of an overhaul. We had to upgrade to a lagoon room when we arrived as our garden room was dark and gloomy with one dirty white chair on a concrete block as the outside space. The lagoon room was better but still not very modern or attractive.

The food was basic and dull. As a vegetarian, I had to survive on tomato pasta and salad for a fortnight - not what you'd expect from a large 4 star plus resort. When I asked for a vegetarian meal in the Cuban a la carte restaurant, even some vegetables, I was told no, the chef will not prepare you anything, so we had to leave! Very disappointing. My partner is a meat eater and he found all the meat and fish options to be very average. The food at the pool bar is greasy and basic.

The phone calls from the lobby are astronomical - we made a 10 minute call and a 14 minute call and it came to over £60!

The mini bar was hardly ever re-stocked, even though we kept phoning reception and asking for it to be re-filled. The room upgrade entitled us to sparkling wine, flowers, guaranteed dinner reservations, VIP mini bar etc. which we had to ask for and still never received.

There were many more problems we encountered, including a disastrous excursion to Havana with no coach booked for the trip and then no seats booked for us on the return flight to the resort so we were stranded in Havana airport for hours!

Overall, we were whole-heartedly disappointed in the resort and I would not recommend it in any way. In all honesty, by the end of the fortnight I could not wait to get home! If you are thinking of booking this hotel, based on our experience, I would strongly advise you to think again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our views of our honeymoon at the hotel"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jude05  on Nov 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
198 people found this review helpful

Hi there, thought I would let others know before they book a holiday at the Melia of our views of our honeymoon at the hotel.

Check in:
Firstly we checked in and showed the reception staff our wedding certificate as told to by our travel company so that we could get room upgrade and special offers for honeymoon couples - well the receptionist muttered we had got a nice room anyway and shrugged his shoulders ( we had paid for a lagoon room, but if available could have been offered a suite). The hotel was very under occupied when we arrived, so I could not see any reason for not having the upgrade. We did not have a fruit basket or flowers in our room or the rum that is offered, but we did get a meal by the pool, which was the buffet served to us by a waiter... more about the food later.

Room:
The room was nice, but no point getting a room on the lagoon as you get bitten to death by nats when the light falls and they empty bath water into the lagoon that starts to smell somewhat. We waited 3 days to get a plug for our bath and to get our shower working properly.............. good honeymoon suite not.

Restaurant:
The weather was good the first week and we were unfortunate the second due to hurricane Wilma, but that wasn't anything compared with the food poisoning my husband got on the 2nd week of our honeymoon. We hadn't ventured anywhere other than the hotel as we wanted a restful holiday and the trips on offer took days to travel to and we wanted to spend it in the luxury of the 4* plus hotel we had paid for (!!!!) We ate in the Italian which was nice and simple, the Cuban restaurant was very minimalist and you get eaten to death by nats, but the worst thing was that we walked by this restaurant the next day and they were cleaning out the kitchen, well it smelt like a sewer..... we stayed away from that. Most evening meals were in the buffet restaurant, best bit was where the fresh pasta and meat were cooked, but flies were always lingering around the food. The buffet was the same most nights and I was not appetising or very warm, the soup was cold, the ice cream was melted most nights and if you didn't get there early there was no choice.The International restaurant was closed for the 2 weeks we were there and opened two days before we left, everyone we spoke to said that the food was appalling.

Apparently Melia is awaiting a new chef........... my god they need one desperately.

Anyway to get back to the food poisoning, my husband went to the on site doctor and told him of his problems ie cramps sickness and diaorreah and he was asked if he had gone off site to eat, when the answer was no the doctor pulled a face and then gave him medication and injections for food poisoning and a £50 pasos bill. Husband still bad on arrival back home and GP confirmed food poisoning............... he has lost around one and a half stone.

Thomas Cook rep.:
And to top it all James the Thomas Cook rep was awful, he has a doesn't care attitude towards his guests and didn't help us at all until the Thomas Cook flight crew went and saw him ( they were brilliant). James was only worried about the hotels reputation and not my husbands well being.

Conclusion:
We had the worst holiday we have ever had and it was our honeymoon, we had saved up good and hard for this holiday.The Melia is no way a 4* plus Hotel, the staff are rude - the motto was tip and you get a service, the food is diabolical.
The beach was nice and clean.
Good luck to anyone going there, do check that they have new chefs please.
Do contact me if you like and I will answer any questions you have frostyjude@ntlworld.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"HIGHLIGHTS OF CUBA"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Matt05  on Dec 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Dec, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
201 people found this review helpful

Not in any particular order though

1)The one day trip to Cuba (£117.82 each - about $238 CAD?) Booked via credit card (hence strange price), slightly dearer, but built in insurance if I booked via my credit card! - a fantastic, but tiring long day, whistle stop tour of the real Cuba. Heard nothing but bad reports about the two & three day Cuba trips so glad I did this one day one.

Room:
2) Being moved to a room on stilts in the lagoon - Room 3412 - but only for the last four days sadly, a lovely room with it's own sun beds etc - we moved the night before my wife's 30th birthday & so it was a real treat.

Thomas Cook rep.:
3) Our rep (Thomas Cook) called Fran (he was Cuban & had never been out of Cuba, which meant he'd never stayed in a quality hotel, but he really did his best to remedy the complaints of the Brits & seek improvement in the quality of the hotel - & we arrived in his first week at this hotel) - can't help thinking if Thomas Cook have a local rep purely because they would have to pay him a pittance compared to a UK one - what do you think?

Employee of the yea:
4) Employee of the year goes to Eddie in the Italian restaurant at night & various bars during the day. The most fantastically hard working member of staff who really looks after his customers (if you go & want a picture of him to look out for him please email me).

WORST THINGS:
Not in any particular order though
1) The weather
Couldn't be helped obviously, but the back end of a hurricane resulted in no water sports (better than the week before when they spent four days 'grounded' in the lobby bar though!).

2) Not being able to find Serquey the water sports bloke - who we had been told is a great guy (but maybe due to the lack of water sports)
3) Poor service unless tipping
This is an English thing where we seek out the best members of staff at the end of the holiday & give them a healthy tip, rather than a little tip for each thing that is good. You couldn't do this here - if you didn't tip as you went along you were ignored in preference to Canadians who's custom is clearly to tip as they go along.

4) Cuban Service/Standards
Whilst we couldn't fault the actual food (Italian being the best, International middle & Cuban the poorest speciality restaurant & the buffet being very good) the service was very slow & not of the standard expected. I believe this part of Cuba has only had tourism for about eight years or so & so they need to learn from elsewhere in the Caribbean, especially the Dominican Republic which is cheaper but far superior in terms of quality & service. Examples include: consistently running out of towels, no wrist bands for sister hotels (ran out again) & therefore, despite assurances otherwise, being refused service when we got there, lobby bar in general (wet seats, plastic cups, slow service, never getting the order right), mini bar never stocked up, buffet breakfast (had to set own table on all but 3 days, never received coffee or orange juice), buffet restaurant (very slow service e.g. queue 20 minutes to have fresh pasta & beer served in very small wine glasses), Our 1st Room (Room 9221) (Bath had very large holes in it - though not right through obviously!!! & stuff was constantly breaking down & too near to 24 hour very noisy bar), Huge hole in ceiling near the lobby, Bars general (served drinks in glasses for the pool area during the day, but then in plastic in the lobby at night - because they had ran out of glasses - where is the logic?)

5) Very poor beach area - loads of seaweed & no chance of snorkelling (though probably largely due to the weather - so no fault of the hotel)

6) Airport Arrival
At the airport & the inquisition through customs is a nightmare as is spot checks on luggage & passports & spot check interviews once you've escaped customs. You are made to feel a criminal throughout!!! Internal flights e.g. from Cayo Coco to Havana are fine though

SIMPLE SUGGESTIONS TO IMPROVE THINGS:
1) Open the bar near the entertainment all day (not just at 10 pm) & use as the pool bar with plastic cups (sensible idea around the pool)
2) Ban beach wear in lobby bar i.e. during the day (as you'd have a pool bar therefore wet seats & running out of glasses wouldn't be an issue)
3) Use machines for coffee in the morning (which would allow more of a selection of type of coffee e.g. latte, espresso etc as well as filter), hot water & orange juice etc which guests self serve & concentrate staff on ensuring tables are cleared & reset promptly.
4) Have it on the maids list of to do things to check & order re stocking of the mini bar & to check everything works ok - especially the flushing of the toilet!
5) Have more than one chef on the freshly cooked area of the buffet restaurant

OVERALL CONCLUSION:
Though it was worth visiting Cuba (especially Havana) before it becomes spoilt, we wouldn't rush back. This is partly because there is so much more of the world to see, but also because the quality is so poor compared to other areas of the Caribbean (especially Dominican Republic & Antigua - the former being far cheaper than Cuba also). Having looked around most of the hotels along the Cayo Coco 'strip' during our stay, all hotels appeared to be of a similar poor standard, with ours being slightly better than the rest i.e. ours would be a 3 star in Dom Rep or UK & the rest 2 stars not 5 star & 4 star respectively.

If you stay chilled out (as we were determined to throughout the stay) & not get stressed about the standard of service) then you'll be fine & will have a good time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It is a pretty good value for money"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  BarrieMarleneCanada  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
386 people found this review helpful

Just returned from melia cayo coco in jardines del rey Cuba.most reports on this wonderful web site are very accurate and most helpful,I rely on them before every trip.
every thing has pretty much been said before,the staff are marvellous and the beach is fantastic. I try to be realistic in my expectations and also try not to complain but whoever rated this resort a 4.5 must have made a huge typo,it will have to struggle to be a 3.0
we are a late fifties cou[ple who were on our honeymoon, we wanted a super resort,this was not it.we have travelled a lot and this is the only time in over 25 years i have been disapointed in a resort rating.some 3.0 rated resorts have out done this one. it is a pretty good value for money spent but if you want a 4+ resort you may want to look elsewhere do contact us if you want more info,sorry if i sound negative but the reports i read did not match the resort i was expecting. contact me at willis4@sympatico.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were offered a private dinner for two!!"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Karen05  on Sep 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Sep, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
192 people found this review helpful

hi, we are writing about our honeymoon trip taken from sept 25th to oct 2nd from toronto to the melia cayo coco cuba. well, upon doing tons of research on sites like this one which was a great help, we decided that for the money , this was definately the better one. i had been to cayo coco, 8 years ago, and remembered it was nice. ok, so , considering that my husband and i's last trp was to the GRAND ST LUCIAN in st lucia ( amazing!!!!!!!!!!, but very very expensive...) , we were only set up for disappointment. our flight on Cubana, was surprisingly pleasant! when we arrived, customs was a breeze, and the ride to the resort is very short. upon check in, ( no champagne ) we were told we DID get our lagoon room, but on the second floor. we weren't happy because we wanted a ground level one. oh well, so the porter escorts us to our room, and we ask him if there are any gorund levels availible, and he then stops a maid and asks her, and she points to one, and he sets us up in there! easy as that! this was not the last time we would be proven that the reception desk is a little slack and actually very non chalant to say the least. so we were pretty impressed with the room, as the lagoon view makes you feel as if you were by a lake, with a perfect view of the sunsetting.( rm 2212) once you get passed the swampy smell of the water, it is quite pleasant. tons of jellyfish, oh, and mosquitos! BRING REPELLANT!! We received a bottle of sparkling wine and some fruit as a honeymoon gift, but only realized on our last day that we were offered a private dinner for two!!! so remember, read all your info !!! we missed out on that one...!

Beach:
we were expecting a FABULOUS beach... well, it was great i guess, but tons of seaweed, etc was in the water and washed ashore because we had arrived basically after a storm. there was only one or two days when the ocean was clear and calm. the other days, there was a lot of sea debris floating around. it rained like clockwork around noon, after watching the black clouds rolling in for about an hour, and continued to rain or drizzle for a little while. at night it rained all the time. some nghts there were fabulous lightning storms, which were great to watch from our deck.

Food:
now the food...... the buffet was soooo disappointing, but we were prepared for it as we had read many reviews stating this. about half way through the week you learn HOW to eat at the buffet. like, for breakfast, go immediatly to the guys making crepes , and eggs, any style. get some cheese and toast from the buffet and make an egg sandwich with some crepes on the side! the other 3 restaurants were actually good. the service was great, and the food was pretty good considering...! the pool tapas bar was our savior for the first few days, as we went for pizzas every lunch because the buffet was quite bad. i did have fun stealing sardines every lunch to bring to the little resident kittens just up from the buffet under their bush. they were soooo cute!

we hung out at the beach all the time and loved that it was quiet, and topless bathing is abundant, which suits me fine, as i hate tan lines!! hee hee. it was mostly british people there, and only a few canadians. we are anitisocial so we didint participate in any activities or even watch any entertainment. as it was cancelled often due to rain.

Gifts:
we brought a lot of candies and crayons and hair ties to give out to the staff, and would take our mini bar sof drinks and distribute them to the gardeners on our way to the beach every day. they really appreciated it. our maid made our bed up quite amusingly making swans out of our sheets and one time putting my sunglasses on the "eyes" of the swan. sometimes we tipped , and at the buffet we realized ( or coincidence??) that because we didnt tip often with money we wouldnt get any coffee, or drink service at our table!!!! (can you tell we werent happy with the buffet restaurant...?) But the staff were quite happy to recieve candies and stuff every day , and we realized that most people tip all the time, and that they must do pretty well, considering.... I just dont usually go to places where tipping is allowed or encouraged and i like that better, as the serice is more consistant that way, and you dont feel cheap because you dont have any change on you!!

Water sports:
the water sports were dissappointing. we werent aloud to take a hoby cat out on our own, and they were actually quite rude there we found. we took out a kayak for a few minutes.

Souvenirs:
lastly, DONT BUY SOUVENIRS AT THE RESORT!! we didnt know, and didnt want to risk it, so we bought all our cigars and booze and coffee at the shop, only to get to the airport to find the cigars and coffee much cheaper!!!!!

Conclusion:
so, overall i know this sounds like a negative review, and i guess it isnt one of the best places i have been, and actually quite forgettable. but here are the things we did like: small resort, quiet, clean ( unlike the club med in turks and caicos where there were cocaroaches in our room!! but, the beach was AMAZING, so....), lagoon room worth it, the lagoon bar(pool tables) great service and the best pina coladas.., and the overall resort is nice, no luxury, but is well kept and romanitcally lit at night.

hope this helps, .. for the money, it is fine. i guess i am a bit of a vacation snob! happy vacationing!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort has a relaxing and quiet atmosphere and is small"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  PaulCanada  on Jan 1, 2006  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
214 people found this review helpful

Just arrived back from a 1 week stay at the Melia Cayo Coco resort in Cuba. Before choosing resorts for our holidays we read the past reviews in this website which we feel are very helpful. This is a case where I wish I would've heeded the advice I read about. I thought that people were maybe too picky but I will actually agree with some of the previous complaints I read before booking our trip.

Rooms:
We felt that the rooms were basic, nice, well kept, clean and with no bugs in sight.

Service:
We found that tipping was almost essential at this resort compared to other places we have visited in Cuba. Whether the service was good or bad a tip was expected. Overall the staff was accommodating but there were a few times where we felt the staff couldn't be bothered or were not interested.

Food:
The food was definitely a disappointment. The breakfast was good, especially the omelettes and pancakes. The buffet at lunch and dinner lacked variety. They have a good selection of fresh grilled meat but nothing to go with it. For example they had cold rice and plain pasta as a side dish everyday. Even mashed potatoes or french fries would've been good. The meal we had on New Year's Eve was amazing! It was the complete opposite of the days leading up to New Year's Eve. Lot's of variety, everything was hot and displayed wonderfully. If they would have put even 20% of the effort they did on New Year's Eve for the everyday buffet lunch and dinner we would have been satisfied with the buffet. We went to one a la carte restaurant - The Italian and it was good. The service here was excellent.

Beach:
We had great weather but there were a lot of jellyfish in the water and washed up on the beach. No fault of the resort but something to think about if considering this resort at this time of the year. Snorkeling was good, maybe 30 feet from the water's edge, not far to go. We saw lots of colourful fish and wildlife. Unfortunately we could only go snorkeling for one day because the jellyfish were plentiful for the rest of our days. They have a great beach bar with chilled glasses for your beer which was refreshing.

Nightlife:
The shows were entertaining but very basic. The lagoon bar was good and the bartender was very friendly. The lobby bar was boring just everyone sitting around and chatting with a piano playing in the background. They need to have a bar with a bit of atmosphere in it. It felt like the nightlife was missing something. The sister hotel next door has a disco but this did not get started until late at night.

Conclusion:
Overall the trip was enjoyable and relaxing. We will not return to this resort again because we were disappointed with the overall service and food at this resort. We do not feel the Melia Cayo Coco resort compares to other Cuban 4 - 5 star resorts we have visited in the past.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I will always fondly remember Carlos"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 3.50 of 5

Posted by:  GloriaAlberta  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
376 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Melia Feb 19 -March 5, our first visit to Cuba and it was a mixed experience. 14 days is too long for a relatively isolated location like this, especially if the weather is less favorable as it was for us at times. I'd give an overall rating of 7 out of 10 for our vacation.

Staff:
The highest points go to the staff who are outstanding in service, personality and talent. They so appreciate the 1 or 2 peso tips given and on the last day, a little extra. We heard varying reports of their paltry wages and know they work very long hours and live 1-2 hours away by bus, so they practically live at and for the resort. The Activities Team are fabulous rehearsing early in the am , working to entertain the guests all day and performing at the shows from 9:30 - 10:30+ as well as well as mingling with the guests before and after the shows. They dance, sing, act, do comedy with incredible energy even when sick or injured. Take ibuprophen or over the counter medications etc. to give them and they will be very appreciative as medicines are very scarce in Cuba.

Havana:
I wanted desperately to go to Havana, but tour guides I read were very negative about flying Cuban airlines, so I wasn't sure I would be able to go. Well, thank goodness they are wrong as the planes are very modern and safe {French jets] and the best day was the 14 hr trip to Havana. I would highly recommend signing up for this as soon as you arrive and realizing that it may be the best $179US that you will spend on your vacation. I learned so much from the tourguide, the flight was amazingly beautiful over the north coast of Cuba, 1 hr , though there was a bit of a delay leaving from the airport in Havana, which is common I hear. It was a quick bus tour through part of the city with several tourist stops and a very good lunch with live band, and then a bit of a walking tour of old Havana and 1-2 hrs of free time which was great. We even got a quick stop at the Floridita Bar, Hemingways favorite place and had a daquiri before heading to the airport. Bring snacks for the trip home as it can be a long time till dinner.

Trinidad:
My husband and I also took the bus tour to Trinidad, an old colonial city and though it was a very long time on the bus, almost 4 hrs each way it was well worth it also [$70US] and you really get to see the country this way and feel like you are back in time 100 years or so. Horse and wagon and bicycles are common on the main highway through Cuba! The tourguide will give you a great education as you travel and the city is fascinating with lots to explore on your free time after lunch. Do consider this tour!

The resort:
Most of the rest of our opinions have been mentioned in other reviews; again we feel the rating is not 4 or 5 stars by comparison to other countries, but it may be for Cuba. The main area I feel they need to remedy is the public restrooms plumbing. Most toilets were not working and an unpleasant atmosphere. Also the lobby for all the use it gets especially during poor weather, is short on seating and needs to be upgraded. The Melia Cayo Guillermo has much more spacious grounds and beach and we enjoyed it very much on our 1 day visit there by bus. If the weather had been better we would have gone back there again to go to Pilar beach which is supposedly the best on Cayo Coco.

Bone-fishing:
We chose this place because my husband was keen to go bone-fishing which he did for 3 days with a pre-arranged guide, but again due to weather and cold water conditions, results were very disappointing for him. He says he will go back again though, but April would be better. By the way we are in our 50's and travel every Feb to a warm destination, but this was one of the coolest, though I hear reports of many places that were the same this year....

More staff:
I will always fondly remember Carlos at the salad bar for his friendly sweetness, Florencia, the banana lady who even gave us a souveneir on the last night, Fernando at the grill, and the lovely smoothie man at breakfast. I may go back for 7 days another time and hope they are still there! I know they love Canadians there and our generosity which makes such a difference for their impoverished and difficult lives. We need to remember how fortunate we are and give every chance we get, as they are very deserving. Go and visit and it will be worth it I'm sure.

Music:
How could I have forgotten to mention the MUSIC? That was one of the most memorable parts of this vacation. There was great live music playing often and my favorites were one of the groups at the pool bar who were really in the groove in the afternoon and The House Band who performed almost every night at the show and were fabulous especially the singers, a male and a female who danced, acted out character roles and are very talented. I bought their cd and it is so great to listen to again at home, bringing back the memories. I think if they played more Cuban music on the sound systen by the pool rather that oldies or lounge music all the time it would be enjoyed by most guests.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The laid back Caribbean lifestyle..."

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 3.50 of 5

Posted by:  PatrickUK  on Jul 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jul, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
215 people found this review helpful

My girlfriend and I have just returned from two weeks at this hotel in Cayo Coco, Cuba and have mixed feelings about the resort. I'll give you a little breakdown of the aspects we feel were important to our holiday:

Rooms:
We booked a standard room and was relatively pleased when we walked in - all looked very nice and comfortable. However, it soon came to our attention that the shower didn't work and the balcony hadn't been cleaned (allot of cigarette ash and what appeared to be nail clippings all over the floor!). Coupled with some problems we had on our flight, we felt justified in complaining to our Thomas Cook Rep. We were upgraded to a 'lagoon' room almost straight away (although I suspect this was only because they had no-where else to put us!). The rep made us aware that the difference in price between the standard and lagoon rooms was over £200 - this was not really justified at all. The only difference was obviously that the room over-looked the lagoon (which was very nice) and that you got a sun lounger on your balcony as opposed to just chairs. Was better, but difference in price not justified in our opinion. Room was cleaned daily to a good standard, but sometimes done a bit late in the day for our liking. Overall, we were quite pleased with our room.

Food:
This was a disappointment to be honest. We had read some reviews about the food before and therefore didn't expect too much. The buffet was ok at breakfast, plenty of choice and delicious fresh fruit juices available, panacakes also nice. Lunch was ok but was the same everyday. Dinner wasn't very nice at all, both in terms of quality and selection. The grill was the saving grace for the buffet where you could your meats freshly cooked. Overall the buffet was average. The 3 a la carte restaurants were quite nice but not fantastic: 1) International - Very nice, picture-esque setting and food nice, not great but nice enough. Open setting and we got bitten by mosquitoes non-stop in there. 2) Cuban - Nice, barbecued meats although choice very limited - a choice of two evening meals everynight! Lunch better than dinner. 3) Italian - Our favourite of the three. Romantic little restaurant and food quite nice. Indoors and air conditioned which made it even more appealing.

If you had these meals at a restaurant at home you would probably think it was average, but for the resort, the food was nicer in the a la carte restaurants. You eventually discover what you like and stick to it. Service good, waiters friendly. Very slow in buffet and in Cuban at times.

Bars:
Not many and quite small - ok though.

Beaches:
Absolutely beautiful, stunning. Pool area is very pleasing on the eye aswell.

Grounds:
Pretty and well laid out, gardens very nice but a little bare (this may just be the time of year though). Gardeners very nice and friendly, they always acknowledge you and say hello.

Room Service:
Very poor. A charge for the service of 10 pesos, food took over an hour to come and was stone cold when it arrived - looked horrible aswell to be perfectly honest. May have been an isolated incident... who knows.

Conclusion:
Overall, we had a very nice holiday and were generally pleased, but there is definitely room for improvement in this hotel. Cuba is under-developed and a communist state so they are still catching up so you have to be prepared for that. If you want something done in 10 mins it will get done in 30. The laid back Caribbean lifestyle...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"By far the nicest one in Cayo Coco"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  PaulErinNovaScotiaCanada  on Apr 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
230 people found this review helpful

We just returned last week from a beautiful week at the Melia Cayo Coco in Cuba. What a great time we had. I used this site to get information on the resort before we left to get an idea of what to expect down there and the postings we pretty accurate of this resort. The resort was very nice overall and I though by far the nicest one in Cayo Coco. This was my first trip down south and I was very pleased. My girlfriend has been to Mexico once before and thought the resorts there were nicer and found the food in Mexico a lot better as well but overall she had a great time in Cuba.

Service:
The staff at the resort were great. They were always so happy and willing to help you out with anything you needed and very friendly warm people. We had brought down lots of stuff with us to give to the staff (crayons, pencils, soap, hats, key chains, etc.) they were very grateful for anything you give them. They work so hard for so little but always with a smile on their face.

Food:
I never had a problem with the food. I am not a picky eater and found that there was more than enough variety to satisfy me. Obviously the food does taste a little different considering it is another culture and country but overall I though the food was good. Erin did not enjoy the food too much there was a few things that she liked that kept her going but overall she did not like it. Breakfast was her best meal. The eggs were great! She is a fussy eater too so that is mostly why she had trouble. So just keep in mind for those picky eaters, bring some snacks and some stuff from home if you think you may have a problem with the food in Cuba. Book for your restaurants the day you arrive so you will get to them all.

Rooms:
I thought the rooms were nice. They had everything you needed. We stayed in a standard room on the second floor with a balcony. The only problem we had is our toilet broke on a couple occasions but just called the front desk and had it fixed and it worked the rest of our stay. The maids did the room up everyday and the fridge was always stocked on request. If you leave something for the maids they usually left something cool on your bed designed with towels or sheets.

Beach and Pool:
The beach was great. The water was warm but not too warm. It was refreshing to get in and the white sand goes on and on. It was even better then I expected. Some days Pelicans would be flying above and dive down for food, that was pretty neat to see. You can also walk down and check out the other resorts along the beach. The resort next door had venders to shop at each days and we found none came to our resort. So we did our shopping there mostly. The pool was great. Nice and big and always very clean. The best thing to do with either the pool or the beach is too get up early and save some loungers under a hut for when you go down or they will be all gone. Mostly at the pool do this because at the beach you can sit pretty much anywhere. We usually did the pool in the morning and the beach in the afternoon.

Excursions:
We did two excursions when we were down there. We did the half day trip to Moron which includes a farm and mangrove boat tour. This was very interesting to see how the Cuban people really live as apposed to the resort. Was very safe and we had an hour of free time in the city to explore and shop. We also did the Jungle Tour. We drove to a boat shop and each couple had a two seat speed boat to drive. You drive them for about 30 minutes through the open water and mangroves then you get to a snorkeling spot...it was awesome. Lots of cool fish and we brought bread and bananas to feed the fish. I recommend this excursion. We were going to do the Catamaran snorkeling one at the big reef but was too windy so this one was a great alternative.

Conclusion:
Overall we had a great trip to Cayo Coco and enjoyed our trip to Cuba very much. Whoever is going down I think they will have a great time. I miss it already.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube