Melia Cayo Coco Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Melia Cayo Coco reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Cubanacan Colonial

3.7 based on 76 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 23, 2015

Memories Flamenco Beach Resort

3.1 based on 20 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 11, 2017

Melia Cayo Coco  

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey,
(Jardines del Rey)

"2nd visit, won't be the last..."
Posted by: Joseph on Mar 13, 2016
see all reviews

Melia Cayo Coco Reviews
Melia Cayo Coco Pictures and Information
Melia Cayo Coco Cayo Coco Cuba

#5
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 4.2

Based on 50 reviews

Melia Cayo Coco Information


Overlooking the clear blue-green waters of the sea and its coral reefs and close to a beach of fine white sand, the All-Inclusive Meliá Cayo Coco hotel complex enjoys a supremely beautiful setting

For adults only (guests aged 18 and over)

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Melia Cayo Coco Reviews

Melia Cayo Coco Review: 4.2 of 5 50 reviews
Excellent
  22
Very good
  19
Average
  5
Poor
  2
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (45)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (5)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (5)
With Spouse/Partner (29)
Solo
21 - 30 of 50

"Counting the days until we return there !!!"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Gina from Montreal  on Mar 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008 | Leisure | Family and Kids
303 people found this review helpful

Just came back today the 22nd of March from the resort .
I , along with my 2 sisters went for a much needed vacation away from the crazy winter and lets say that we are looking into returning in November !
People / staff were friendly and catered your every need always with a smile , food was AWESOME , and the accomodations were great .
We went crazy in the eveing with the live dancing shows that were at the hotel then ending the night with the DISCO and then a walk on the beach after 2:00 am .
IT WAS JUST A WONDERFUL EXPIERIENCE FOR US . This was our 1st time and do not regret the choice we made.
I recommend this hotel to everyone who would like some relaxing time away from noise and would give it a 5***** .
Counting the days until we return there !!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We love Cuba so much"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alison and Robert from England  on Feb 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Feb, 2008 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
222 people found this review helpful

We’ve just returned from another wonderful holiday at the Melia (our 6th) and again have no complaints other than the time went so fast. We flew with First Choice from Gatwick on 28th of Jan and landed at Cayo Coco just in time for Orlando and Joseph opening the bar, it was so nice to see them again. After an early night we were up early the next morning and carried on where we left off last year and enjoyed every minute of our two weeks. There have been lots of changes to the hotel over the years but the Cuban people are just as nice and friendly and always ready to help in any way they can.

Like most people, we took lots of presents, clothes, Mach 3 blades, sunglasses, pens, paper, toothbrushes, and so many other things which don’t cost a fortune and we take them for granted but are greatly appreciated in Cuba.

We love Cuba so much we have booked our 2009 winter break, again at the Melia Cayo Coco and are counting the days ‘till then.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff were the best I have ever seen!"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Marie  on Nov 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Nov, 2007 | Leisure | With Group
219 people found this review helpful

A group of 12 of us went there for the second week in November. We chose this resort based on the idea that they have no kids there. What a good choice. We were able to walk the beach of cayo coco and went to visit every hotel there. The melia was the nicest of them all! By Far! If you are going there you made a great choice! One thing though...if you go remeber to bring some sort of clock. there were no clocks in the room which made it hard to know the time. We were able to try all three resturaunts there. They were all good but remeber that it is a different culture than what we are use to and some people tend to forget that. You will have a great time. The staff were the best I have ever seen!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Taca Taca"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dionne Macpherson  on Oct 5, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Oct, 2007
4706 people found this review helpful

Myself and my partner have not long returned from Melia where we had a superb 2 weeks there.

The staff were definetly the highlight of our holiday all were very cheerful and courtious, Gracias again.

We visited all restaurants and found only the Cafe Bar (24 hour) very dirty and smelly but again staff were polite and good fun hola to Lozano.

I myself had a massage and was appauled at what the gent done, he is not qualified to massage (torture), went to day spa and got proper massage.

The beach was breathtaking same as the pool.

All in all I will return to Melia fab holiday! Animation team were the best!

Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Cubans are proud of their country"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Canada07  on Jul 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2007 | Leisure | With friend
214 people found this review helpful

I returned a week ago from a weeks visits to paradise known as the Melia Cayo Coco!. I traveled with two friends and we couldn't have been happier.
I had e-mailed the Melia prior to going to ask about traveler's cheques as several reports had said they could be a problem in Cuba. I was quickly responded to by Eduardo, head of reception, an assured that traveler's cheques were of no problem provided they were not in US funds, and currency could be exchange 24/7. We made a point of seeking Eduardo out and thanking him for responding to our requests and inquiries prior to our arrival.
We too had read many reports mostly positive but several negative as well. At first we found negative reports disheartening, but we decided our holiday would be what we made of it, so we went with a positive frame of mind. All i can think is that the negative reporters could NOT have stayed at the same resort as us!!

Arrival:
Everything was perfect. From being greeted upon arrival by the friendly reception staffers Alexis and Lester and the welcoming glass of champagne. Check in, and currency exchange were quickly and efficiently taken care of. We had a brief wait in the Lobby bar (Los Flamencos). Not a hardship at all, as we were treated to more champagne by the cheery Archimedes, who also gave me my first lessons in Spanish.

We were delivered safely with bags in tow, by a golf cart driven by Yoel, who also gave us a speedy tour of the resort, pointing out many of the locations we would soon come to frequent such as the Corumbola Bar (a must)

The resort:
The resort itself is beautiful. Well maintained, spotless, and well designed. Though there are 50+ building with accommodations, the way they are spread out, you never feel crowded out by other travelers. In fact usually the only time you might encounter "crowds" would be at the pool. The beach is narrow, by many standards, but we found it a plus, we didn't have to go far from our beach lounges to the water. It was also cleaned and maintained daily. More people tended to gather in the vicinity of the beach bar area, but we traveled farther down the beach, for a little more elbow room and quiet, just the sound of the ocean instead of the beat of the music. We only spent one day by the pool and found it to be more crowded and a much hotter spot to be. The beach area always had a breeze and some days an actual wind, but it was a warm wind, this aided in keeping the beach area cool and refreshing, where as the pool area was more closed in so you felt the heat there more.

Food:
We never found eating to be a problem. There is something for everyone at every meal. Picky eaters should also be able to come away satisfied....I know we never starved!! Nor did we die of thirst!! We could pick up bottled water from the Lobby bar as well as having it delivered to our room. Water became the drink of choice for us on the beach, just a little more refreshing than the beverages offered up at the Beach Bar. Spirits, wine, beer, champagne were in abundance and not watered down. Try the Mojitos!! Orlando in the Corumbola bar does make the best ones, they became "my drink".

Staff:
The staff are exceptional. Never did we pass staff with out a cheery HOLA! from them. We too were served by the twin brothers and were greeted warmly each morning by them as they served our mimosas. We had read a report or two that stated staff were rude. We did not find this to be the case at all, in fact the only rude people we encountered were other guests.

Beach & Pool:
Beach/pool towel service is great. We were given a chit at check in for three towels, one a piece, and we could exchange them as often as we liked at the towel hut with Yanney or Raphael, two very friendly and helpful young men. The towels are super sized and thick, and are even well suited for the larger traveller, so leave yours at home. We could also borrow books and games from the towel hut, so no need to pack those either. Any books we had brought with us in our luggage when we finished them, we just donated them to the "library". Several activities could also be booked at the towel hut, and a daily schedule of events is posted there. Take advantage of some dance lessons, worth the giggle, and a bit of a workout in a short period of time. Enjoy a massage for a few extra pesos, well worth it.

Weather:
We had wonderful weather. Rain only one evening while were asleep. We didn't find the mosquitoes too bad, as they fog twice a day, but I imagine the breeze also helped to keep them down,. Take some repellent though just to be sure.

Room:
Our room was well situated. Very clean and air conditioned. Our day maid Dayanna and turn down maids Olivia and Carla all took good care of us. Towels and bed coverings were twice daily turned into magical designs, from swans and elephants to boats and roses. We too were tidied up after, but then we tended to leave the odd bits strewn about, after all we are women and all had a least three pair of shoes!!

Excursions:
Two of us took advantage of one of the many excursions. Not wanting to come to Cuba and see nothing other than the resort. We elected to take the Colourful Cuba tour. We ended up in a small group in a mini van, which we found to be very suitable. It was, as our tour guide said, like being with a family...and it was. Any questions we asked were answered.

Corumbola bar:
Be sure to visit the Corumbola Bar, we had such fun there, and do tell Orlando and Jose that the three Canadians say "Hola" and miss them. Enjoy the Grill bar and it's pizza. French fries are good too but if you are a Heinz ketchup person I suggest you take little packets of your own as Cuban ketchup, isn't what we call Ketchup, but salt and vinegar did the trick for me.

Conclusion:
The Cubans are proud of their country and are eager to share it with all visitors. They are kind and have a lovely spirit.
All in all the only complaint I have is that it went to quickly. I will return to this island paradise.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would strongly advise you to think again"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kate and Matthew from Spain  on Mar 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Mar, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
203 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Melia Cayo Coco from the 26th March 2007 for two weeks. We booked with First Choice and having had a fantastic holidy with them last year to Mexico, we were really looking forward to our trip to Cuba. We were unbelievably disappointed!

We had money stolen from our hotel safe and the management were incredibly rude and unhelpful at sorting the problem out. We couldn't believe the way they treated us and handled the situation, it was very upsetting. Another guest also had money taken so keep an eye on all your valuables.

The resort is more 3 star than 4 star plus. The rooms and bathrooms are dated and we have heard it is due for refurbishment later this year which says it all - it is now looking tired and is in need of an overhaul. We had to upgrade to a lagoon room when we arrived as our garden room was dark and gloomy with one dirty white chair on a concrete block as the outside space. The lagoon room was better but still not very modern or attractive.

The food was basic and dull. As a vegetarian, I had to survive on tomato pasta and salad for a fortnight - not what you'd expect from a large 4 star plus resort. When I asked for a vegetarian meal in the Cuban a la carte restaurant, even some vegetables, I was told no, the chef will not prepare you anything, so we had to leave! Very disappointing. My partner is a meat eater and he found all the meat and fish options to be very average. The food at the pool bar is greasy and basic.

The phone calls from the lobby are astronomical - we made a 10 minute call and a 14 minute call and it came to over £60!

The mini bar was hardly ever re-stocked, even though we kept phoning reception and asking for it to be re-filled. The room upgrade entitled us to sparkling wine, flowers, guaranteed dinner reservations, VIP mini bar etc. which we had to ask for and still never received.

There were many more problems we encountered, including a disastrous excursion to Havana with no coach booked for the trip and then no seats booked for us on the return flight to the resort so we were stranded in Havana airport for hours!

Overall, we were whole-heartedly disappointed in the resort and I would not recommend it in any way. In all honesty, by the end of the fortnight I could not wait to get home! If you are thinking of booking this hotel, based on our experience, I would strongly advise you to think again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good vacation"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Don Lyster  on Feb 28, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2007
5163 people found this review helpful

Dear Mélia hotel,

My wife and I stayed at you're hotel for 1 week, from the 18th to the 25th of february. We want to congratulate you first on the first class service all the employees gave us.

Every one, from the waiters to the freont desk clerks, were professionnal and courteous. The animation team was also great to have fun with. The site is beautiful and the beach is tremendous.

We want to mention a special thanks to employees that made our stay even more joyfull. The maid of our room, Maria Esther; two nice chefs of the buffet Joerge Luis and Fernando and the waitress Ainaldys...Bravo!

We travelled with Sunwing from Montréal, Québec and were very pleased with the service to. Some points at the hotel could be worked on. There are not enough chairs on the beach and not trashcans big and miising a few on the site.

The equipments of the gym are not secure enough. The massage service is vey poor.

And only one restaurant la la carte you are able to go to during your stay, is not enough. The Melia hotel is a good hotel were to relax, to be well served and attend to and for the great beach.

Thanks to the team

Dominique and Barbara

Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A1 first class"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Terry & Ursula from North Wales, UK  on Feb 1, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Feb, 2007 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
201 people found this review helpful

we took off from manchester on time with thomas cook,we arrived at hotel very soon after the airport.check in at hotel was great with plenty of champagne to great you we where allowcated our room s/cases followed on buggie 10 minuts after,our room very specious with a very large balcony.we where just behind the rooms on stilts had good views on the sunsets.

we started getting friendly with the staff on day two the main buffet in mornings was the best we have ever had for choice,food was good lunch&dinner,for that extra touch at night try the continental restaurant&italian but book them asap, on day two,

yes well olando&jose in the pool bar what a laugh we had with them there is 2pool tables in the bar i even got taught pool by mick from canada he was a laugh!.

the entertainments staff very good&very friendy,the beach was very clean also beach towel servise spot on,try the snorkling just down the beach great, nothing was to much trouble for any of the staff, even cabin crew &pilots stayed at the hotel that says a lot in our eyes,we also had a laugh with them.

well we have been back nearly 3weeks cant wait maybe to go back soon,i had tears in my eyes when bus arrived to take us to airport, very good holiday& hotel go for it thats what we say a1 first class.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A solid 4-Star resort in Cuba"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Wally & Carolyn from Canada  on Dec 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
216 people found this review helpful

Just got back from Melia Cayo Coco and had a great vacation, largely because we don't sweat the small stuff. This was our 8th trip to Cuba, our 3rd to Cayo Coco, and found this hotel to be a good value.

Food: Breakfast had everything we needed: Fresh OJ, Fruit shakes, Omelletes and eggs made-to-order and lotsa fruit and breads. We did lunches by the pool: Pizzas, burgers and sandwiches did the trick. There was a pig roast down by the beach each day as well. The Dinner buffet had a somewhat limited selection, with pretty much the same thing each day. We're more a-la-carte people, and they were very enjoyable. Try and wangle as many a-la-carte reservations as possible.

Rooms: We got upgraded to a lagoon room, which was great (Thanks to Violeta !) The room was a little tired: paint peeling, cracked tile, etc., but it was clean, and the upgrade more than made up for it.

Grounds: Very lush, tons of little gardens and shrubberies. I think the gardeners are the hardest workers at the resort.

Beach: Very narrow beach by the end of the day. This forced them to build a "sand" volleyball court off the beach by the activity center, which was disappointing (about 2" of gravel/sand, I wouldn't recommend diving). But who's kidding who, the sand...the sun...the ocean...it's the beach, that's why we went (oh, and add cold beer...the beach bar was handy as well).

Pool: Afternoon naps by the pool...it's all good. Washrooms by the pool were a little stinky, and service at the bar a little slow. Plan B - Just use the lobby washrooms and bar. No wait for either.

Nightlife: We're not really into the shows or the disco, so the Pub Bar with it's 2-Pool Tables was a great alternative. Plus we got to hang-out with all those crazy Brits, and listen to retro 80's tunes.

Staff: The activity staff were a lot of fun, they did a great job trying to motivate a pretty lazy bunch of vacationers. Lotsa fun playing volleyball, both on the sand court, and in the pool. And lotsa laughs around the pool. All the staff were pleasant, and did all that they could to ensure that you had a great vacation.

In summary, a solid 4-Star resort in Cuba, which is in need of a little refresh, but more than made-up for by the Staff and Service.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by the dancers"

Melia Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Melia Cayo Coco Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Emma 31 & 32 from Manchester, UK  on Oct 1, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Oct, 2006 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
199 people found this review helpful

Well, we have just returned from 2 wonderful weeks at Melia Cayo Coco. Here is the review of our holiday, I hope it doesn’t get too long.

Flight:
We flew out of Manchester UK with Thomas Cook Airlines. We had paid extra for the Premier Class seats (always worth it). The flight was good, excellent service from the crew, good meals and a reasonable choice of films to watch. We enjoyed Champagne about 6 hours into the flight to celebrate my husband’s birthday. We arrived safely at Jardines Del Rey at approx 4.30pm local time. Collected our baggage without any problems, changed our money at the exchange booth in the baggage collection hall and got straight onto the air conditioned coach.

On the coach we were given a slip to fill in to speed up check in at the hotel, along with our welcome letter etc. We made the short journey to the hotel – only about 10 mins away.

Check in:
On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by the dancers and a glass of champagne, along with a cool flannel to freshen up. Check in was painless and prompt. The reception area is lovely and very well kept. Our first impression of the hotel was very good.

Room:
We were lucky enough to get a free upgrade to a Lagoon Room, we were in room 3311 which is a ground floor room. The room was extremely clean and spacious with all the facilities you could need. CD player, minibar, TV, Iron & Board, Umbrella, Cosmetic pack, Safe, coffee maker etc. It was a lovely quiet room with a large balcony with table, chairs and sunloungers. We saw some beautiful sunrises from our room and we were popular with the fish in the lagoon as we could feed them from our balcony. Our lovely maid Dayami did a great job of making up the room, and we always had swans, flowers etc.. She even wrote a Happy Birthday message for my husband, as she had seen all his birthday cards in the room. The resort appears to be quite large, but from our room it was only a 2 minute walk to anywhere on the complex. We were thrilled with the location of our room.

Beach:
This is were we spent most of our time… The beach is quite narrow, but beautifully clean. The staff are out there every morning collecting any seaweed etc.. and they get the sunloungers out for you and clean them up. There are plenty of palapas, and we never had a problem finding shade. The sea was gorgeous… crystal clear in the first week and it was so warm it was like getting into a bath. There are lots of fish to see just 1metre from the shore, and they often ate bananas straight from our hand. There is a beach bar and a diving centre with watersports equipment all included of course. There are showers located on the edge of the beach for cleaning off sand etc. There was a nice breeze at the beach which was definitely needed as the temp in the first week was 35 degrees. The gardeners would bring coconuts down to the beach and serve them with a bit of rum (of course), they didn’t expect a tip for this but we did always give them a couple of pesos.

Pool:
About 3 weeks before travelling to cuba we received a letter stating that the pool would be closed for the first 3 days of our holiday. We were initially quite disappointed about this, but decided that we would still have the gorgeous beach. However, on the night of our arrival we were thrilled to see that the work was complete and the pool was already being refilled. So it did not affect us at all. We spent most morning on the beach, and afternoons by the pool. The pool is very clean, and the surrounding areas are constantly being tidied up. It isn’t a very deep pool, so swimming and diving isn’t really possible. This didn’t bother us as we only casually drift around to cool down, whilst sipping a cocktail.

There are plenty of sunbeds, but only a few areas of shade by the pool. There was absolutely no sunbed reserving going on, so finding a bed at any time of day was not a problem. This may be because the hotel was only about ½ full, but it was nice to not have to rush around to get a bed. Some days one of the staff would come round and hand out cool flannels, ice-cream or champagne. Which we thought was a lovely touch.

Food:
There were 3 restaurants open during our stay. The Buffet, The Italian, and The International overlooking the lagoon.

We ate at all of them and can honestly say we always had great food. There was lots to choose from and the staff in the restaurants are very efficient. In the main buffet restaurant located next to the lobby, you could choose from prepared dishes, or pasta & meats/fish cooked to your liking in front of you. We never had a bad meal at this hotel.

The Italian was also good, particularly the Tomato Soup… delicious. The pizzas and pasta dishes were also very good.

We only ate in the International once, but again we could not fault the food or service we received.

There is also a snack bar located next to the pool, which serves sandwiches, pizza, fries etc. I think this is open 24 hours, but we only used it late afternoon for a snack.

There is also a beach grill, located just off the beach. We thoroughly enjoyed having our lunch here every day. You could choose from chicken, fish, pork, burgers, squid, tuna or just a salad. They were cooked fresh and brought to you by the chef. The waiters were excellent and there is a group of musicians who walk around and play/sing songs to everybody.

So all-in-all we thought the food was excellent, and always had plenty to choose from. I can’t believe anyone could find fault with it. Ok, so you probably won’t find a fillet steak like at home…. But you won’t find better fish dishes anywhere!

Bars:
We had exceptional service at all the bars at the Hotel. But we spent a lot of time in the billiard bar. Hello to Orlando, the best cocktail maker. Lots of drinks to choose from. The wine was nice, as was the champagne, and Orlando made us different cocktails all the time. He is a lovely man, so pleasant and really takes pride in his job. There were some international brands included, but you had to pay extra for the likes of Jack Daniels etc.

Animation team:
Now then, the Animation team. FABULOUS! We had such fun with them all, they are so talented and are great fun. We enjoyed the Archery, Volleyball, Dancing Lessons etc. The shows performed by the dancers were really good, they are the best dancers I’ve seen anywhere. They put so much time and effort into the performances. We had a great evening at the beach party, where they tried to teach my husband & I to dance, bless them they have so much patience, we’ve both got two left feet. But we had a great night, joining in the games. This team are a credit to the Hotel, and we came away feeling like had made friends for life with many of them. They came see to see us off when it was time to go home, and they genuinely wanted us to come back again. Thanks guys!

General stuff:
Mozzies were about during our stay, the Hotel did fumigate the grounds morning and night but it was necessary to wear repellent. I suffered a few bites in the first couple of days, but after ditching my perfume for Deet – I didn’t suffer much after that.

The Thomas Cook rep Maria was lovely, we didn’t really need her at all during our stay but if we had she was always close at hand.

We feel that the best part of the holiday and the success of this hotel, is the staff. Everybody, and I mean everybody are so lovely and helpful. Always got a Happy smile, and nothing is too much trouble. The management are always wandering around the hotel, speaking to guests and generally mucking in. You can tell that this hotel is very well managed. The waiters are quick to clear tables and top up your drink, the gardeners are lovely and will make hats and birds for you. They keep the Gardens spotless and never stop working to keep the hotel so beautiful. The Reception staff are pleasant and helpful… I could go on and on… They are all absolute stars, every single one of them!

Would we return to this hotel…. Absolutely! It’s probably going to be a few years away though, because we need to make massive improvements to the house now. But I would recommend it to anyone!

Excursions:
Speedboats –Via Thomas Cook Fabulous trip, only half a day. Situated just at the edge of Guillermo, we boarded the boats and went for a leisurely ride through the mangroves and then onto the location of the snorkelling. Here we saw many species of tropical fish, and spent about ½ hour feeding them. Then on the way back we let the boys drive, and thing got a little more speedy. Great Fun and good value for money. Just don’t drink too much the night before!!!

Pilar Beach – (On our own) We caught the local bus to Cayo Guillermo (5 pesos each return) and spent the morning at Melia Cayo Guillermo. We also popped up the beach to look at the Sol and then went back to MCG to have lunch in the beach grill. We had a lovely meal overlooking the beach. We then went back to reception and asked for a taxi to Pilar Beach (again 5 pesos each return). The driver took us the 10 minute ride to Pilar Beach and agreed a time to collect us. We walked over the sand dunes and through the little bar onto the breathtaking beach. WOW, what a gorgeous place this is. We went 100yards to the right and the beach was deserted apart from us. It was so idyllic, we spent a couple of hours on the beach and swimming in the crystal clear sea. The beach is true powder white sand, just like a picture postcard, unspoilt perfection. We had a drink in the bar before returning to meet the taxi who was already waiting for us 5 mins early.

So we then just spent ½ hour in the pool at MCG until the last bus arrived to take us back to Cayo Coco. It was a perfect day for very little cost. The Catamaran trip goes to Pilar Beach, but costs 89 pesos, and since my husband gets seasick doing it this way was ideal for us.

Dolphin Deluxe – We were picked up at 7.40am by great air conditioned coach. We travelled across the Causeway to Moron/Ciego De Avila where we stopped for breakfast (included). Then we travelled across country to Sancti Spiritus (hope that is spelt right) where we got 15 mins to have a look around the town and see the Colonial Buildings in the square, and have a quick look on the market. Then we went onto Trinidad, where we stopped to look at a local pottery then onto a restaurant for lunch (included). After this we travelled about 1 hour to Cienfuego where we went for a sail around the bay before going to the Hotel for the night. The Hotel is a 3 star, not the luxury of the Melia but clean and comfortable for one night.

The next day we were up for 7am to have breakfast and get to the Dolphinarium which is literally next door. Swimming with the Dolphins was an amazing experience that we will never forget. It made the long journey worthwhile. They are such gentle, intelligent creatures that clearly love the attention. We have some excellent pictures of us with the Dolphins, and they also did a show with 2 of them aswell as two sealions. It was very entertaining and we had a great time.

After a short return to the Hotel for lunch and shower, we were back on the coach to visit the Ernesto Che Guevara memorial and Musuem in Santa Clara. This was very interesting, and our guide taught us an awful lot about the history of cuba, the revolution, and the way of life for cubans living on the main island. We got back to the hotel at about 7pm, it was a long two days but well worth it.

More excursions:
Train Excursion – This is organised by the animation team at the hotel. It is 10 pesos each and the train takes you to the Wild Boar Caves, which is also a nightclub one night a week. Then we went to see the sand dunes over looking the “Forbidden Beach”, then we walked across the bay of “Flamenco Beach” to the bar at the other side. Here we had a drink and a sandwich (included) and the animation team sang us songs. Unfortunately by the time we got to the bar there was a big Storm so we didn’t get chance to spend time on the beach. We then got back on the train and back to the hotel for lunchtime. It is a nice little trip to spend half a day seeing the immediate surroundings of Cayo Coco.

Sunset – well this isn’t so much an excursion than a stroll down the beach, but each weds we went down to the rock to the left of the Sol Cayo Coco with a couple of the animation team. They took a couple of bottles of champagne which we drank whilst we watched the sunset. Very romantic, and costs absolutely nothing!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube