Melia Las Américas Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Melia Las Américas reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.5 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 22, 2012

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.3 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 18, 2014

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 37 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel

4.2 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Melia Las Américas  

Carretera de Las Morlas, Varadero
(Varadero Maps)

"excellent and amazing"
Posted by: fredrick on Jul 15, 2014
see all reviews

Melia Las Américas Reviews
Melia Las Américas Pictures and Information
Melia Las Américas Varadero Cuba

#41
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.4

Based on 9 reviews

Melia Las Américas Information


Located next to Cuba's largest golf resort, the Meliá Las Americas overlooks tropical gardens and stunning white sandy beaches lapped by crystal waters.

For adults only (guests aged 18 and over)

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Melia Las Américas Reviews

Melia Las Américas Review: 4.4 of 5 9 reviews
Excellent
  6
Very good
  2
Average
  0
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (5)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With friend (3)
Solo
With Group
With Spouse/Partner
1 - 10 of 9

"You can do much better"

Melia Las Américas
User Rating:  Melia Las Américas Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Dylan  on Feb 14, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
363 people found this review helpful

Changing Canuck bucks into Cuban tourist Monopoly money (called CUC) is a scam so try to change enough just once to get you through the entire stay. This is easily done because there is not much to buy on the beach, in the shops or at the markets.
We stayed at the Melia Las Americas hotel in Varadero, Cuba for one week in January 2010 on a WestJet all-inclusive vacation. It promotes itself as a 5-star hotel but turns out to be a 3-star. Built in the early 1990s, it is clean enough but has low wattage lighting in public areas. Many steps to the lobby, to the beach, to the restaurants, to the golf club – great exercise but not handicap-friendly if that’s important to you. Only two small elevators in the main hotel but, again, you can take the stairs.

Your Arrival:
When we arrived at the Veradero Airport on January 17/10 we were met by maintenance staff, customs and security staff all wearing masks over their mouths and noses. So, the question is: protection from their germs or ours? Or, is this a hold-up? Given the Cuban attitude that tourists are cash cows (tourism is their largest government money maker far ahead of sisal, sugar, rum, cigars and oil), probably the latter. Our photos were taken, we passed thru security scanning on the way INTO the country, our tourist paper handed out on the plane was stamped but, not a mark appeared on our passports. The bus trip from the airport to hotel drop-offs went smoothly narrated by a Tourist Guide who told us how lucky we were to be in Cuba and how tipping vastly improved service. Yea, capitalism lives!

Rooms:
Rooms are basic two single beds pushed together, TV with CNN, CTV, French, German and Spanish channels, views of the golf course or the pools and ocean. Bathroom is all-beige fake marble and you get a packet of soap, shampoo and bath gel that lasts for one week. Bring your own face cloth. Electric power is 220V. The in-room fridge gets four soft drinks and two beers per day. The maid changes the bed linen if you put the reguest card on the bed (a tip helps).

Restaurants and Bars:
Hotel food is acceptable and plentiful. The open-air La Robleza restaurant by the pool is pleasant but opened later every day we were there – 12:00 Noon, became 12:30 PM then 1:00 PM. And stick with the luncheon meals – our paella took an hour to prepare but was a disappointing heap of rice, turmeric, one shrimp, one small chicken chunk and a piece of shellfish. The imported wine and domestic beer are good. The resort musicians all have CDs for sale ($10-$20 equivalent) and there are theatre shows every night.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Varadero Golf Club is wrapped around two sides of the Las Americas Hotel. The beach is small and hemmed in at one end by the expropriated Dupont House (Xanadu) converted into a restaurant and clubhouse on a cliff and the Melia Varadero Hotel at the other end. The anal-retentive Cuban tourist police make sure you do not use any other beach than the one for the hotel where you are staying. Got the wrong colour wrist band? Go back! Forget any long walks along the beaches unless you stay on a property that includes a long beach. This confinement of tourists is not for any safety reason but so the Communist government can keep track of people. The public Las Americas Shopping Mall is a short walk away.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Take the Hop-on, Hop-off bus ($5 equivalent for 9:00AM-9:00PM) to see the tip of the sand spit (but watch those private hotel/beach police!) and back to downtown Veradero and its flea markets to buy junky souvenirs and T-shirts plastered with Che Guevara’s mug shot.
Break up your stay in Varadero by taking a day tour to Havana. Have an over-priced Mojito at the bar frequented by Ernest Hemmingway. The Spanish colonial architecture is crumbling in Havana, the old-style 1950s cars are kept to amuse the tourists (most have replacement Hyundai or Kia motors) and, the government-run cultural tourist gift warehouse is full of white sales cubicles and computer-generated ‘art’ (there are a few, but very few, original artists). This will round out your excursion day.


Other Comments:
On departure, our 11:00 AM hotel bus pick-up to the airport was prompt and contained another Tourist Guide who explained the final tourist tax grab – the $25 CUC per person “Tasa Aeroportuaria” that translates as “Airport Tax”. Can’t get home without paying it. CUC cash only! Two sour-faced Security Department guards in military uniforms stood at the entry to the WestJet plane to collect the boarding card stubs showing each of us had paid our head tax and could depart. We will never return.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bed Bugs"

Melia Las Américas
User Rating:  Melia Las Américas Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marion  on Feb 5, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2013 | Leisure | With friend
108 people found this review helpful

Was bitten repeatedly on last day on upholstered benches in front of hotel. Turns out it was bed bugs and I brought them home. Thanks.

Arrival:
Over Christmas 2012.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great place"

Melia Las Américas
User Rating:  Melia Las Américas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ingo Liebrich  on Apr 16, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) SWITZERLAND
Visited on: Apr, 2007
3525 people found this review helpful

This is a lovely hotel with superb views. It was clean & the staff were friendly. The food was good with lots of choice. The beach was stunning.

We loved this hotel and would definitly return.

Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Enjoyed my stay at Melia Las Americas"

Melia Las Américas
User Rating:  Melia Las Américas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joyce  on Apr 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
352 people found this review helpful

We enjoyed the food very much, especially the International Cafe. The buffets were fabulous. The room was very clean and well appointed with everything needed except an adapter for 110v. The mini bar was stocked with complimentary beer and soft drinks. The one down side of the hotel is that I believe the alcohol is watered and the drinks are weak. I'm an expert on getting a buzz and it just wasn't happening.
The staff was great - they provided good service. The beach is accessible and clean.
I had a haircut and highlights at the salon for $40. Great deal!

Joyce Wensley

Your Arrival:
good service provided

Rooms:
clean and beautiful - lots of marble

Restaurants and Bars:
lots of linen - buffets were plentiful and fresh.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
well kept

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
n/a

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The lost paradise"

Melia Las Américas
User Rating:  Melia Las Américas Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eduardo  on Jul 29, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jul, 2008
2026 people found this review helpful

I never has been in the hotel, but very familiar with the sorrounds, playa las americas, was the favorite spot for me and my wife, we walk all the way from Varadero town to enjoy the ultimate natural paradise on earth, until the hotel was builded and the cubans was forbiden to enjoy the paradise

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"excellent and amazing"

Melia Las Américas
User Rating:  Melia Las Américas Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  fredrick  on Jul 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
17 people found this review helpful

This is a simply amazing and excellent resort to spend time with your family on vacation, it is the best place for me and my family when we visited on our annual vacation and my kids loved it. Our room was top notch clean, I mean it was very clean and spotless, everything was present in the room and it all worked fine. The hotel has a great layout, it is such an amazing place to stay in with beautiful pools, cafes and bars. The place is magnificent, I really do not know how to describe it, and you need to be there yourself to see exactly what I am talking about. I have been to Cuba before to other resorts and none has offered such top notch service to me before and I and my family enjoyed every minute of our stay here. The rooms are quite comfortable with soft beds and clean sheets. The bathroom is exquisite, had all the equipments and hot water worked fine. The customer service is impeccable, you will feel special and if you want to book reservations at the a la carte restaurants, the very nice lady Angela will have the pleasure of doing that for you. The quality of the food at the buffet restaurant was above average compared to buffet restaurants I have eaten out from in other hotels, lots of choices and he chef really did a nice job. Everything was on point here and I and my family enjoyed ourselves here, thanks.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An Oasis"

Melia Las Américas
User Rating:  Melia Las Américas Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Geoffrey Legh  on Feb 23, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 1998
879 people found this review helpful

Beautiful beach, very friendly and helpful staff, very clean and great food!! Never seemed like there were many people around, even on the one day it rained. There are lots of facilities within the main building to occupy time when weather is poor. A fantastic place - voltage in the hotel is 220v, so take your voltage adapter - otherwise...awesome place.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome"

Melia Las Américas
User Rating:  Melia Las Américas Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kim  on Feb 16, 2009  >  11 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
947 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Melia Las Americas the week of Feb5 - 12 2009. I went with my 2 daughters and we had the most awesome stay. The staff was so friendly and attentive. When my daughter hurt herself they acted quickly and appropriately with getting medical help there quickly. We would definately stay there again. Beautiful people and a beautiful place!! The Best in Varadero, hands down!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Absolutely Amazing!"

Melia Las Américas
User Rating:  Melia Las Américas Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Racheal Smith  on Oct 11, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2005
2660 people found this review helpful

Where do I start... First I'll say, Melia Las Americas was hands down the best resort within Veradero. The hotel was stunning, the service was fantastic, we couldn't have asked for anything more. The food was very good. We went to a few of the 'a la carte's' where fresh lobster was served every night. Even the buffet was very good. So many things to choose from and it was different every day. I'm sure I left there weighing an additional 5lbs. The water was very, very warm. Some of the clearest waters you'll ever see with white sands. They always had music on the beach to dance to and many water sports. For those of you interested in entertainment outside of the resort, you have to check out La Rumba, La Meditranio, International, La Mambo and The Cave. Overall, I must say my best trip yet. I will for sure be returning! Racheal

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Hotel"

Melia Las Américas
User Rating:  Melia Las Américas Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Valéria de Paula  on Oct 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) BRAZIL
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
242 people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time at Melia Las Americas !!! Very good services and friendly staff.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube