Melia Las Dunas Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Melia Las Dunas reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Santa Maria Hotels with Similar Ranking

Melia Buenavista

5.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 7, 2014

Playa Cayo Santa María

4.5 based on 2 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 5, 2014

Memories Paraíso Beach Resort

4.2 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 5, 2014

Melia Cayo Santa Maria

3.9 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 28, 2013

Memories Azul Beach Resort

3.8 based on 8 reviews
Last reviewed May 1, 2013

Husa Cayo Santa María (Formerly Barceló)

3.3 based on 24 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 1, 2014

Melia Las Dunas  

Cayo Santa María, Jardines del Rey. Caibarién, Villa Clara.

"I will be back"
Posted by: brown on Aug 4, 2014
see all reviews

Melia Las Dunas Reviews
Melia Las Dunas Pictures and Information
Melia Las Dunas Cayo Santa Maria Cuba

#1
of 9 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria

User rating 3.9

Based on 31 reviews

Melia Las Dunas Information


Located in an exotic tropical paradise of white sand beaches and shimmering turquoise sea, hotel Meliá Las Dunas is Cayo Santa Maria offers dazzling Five-Star luxury for families and couples. Designed to respond to even the most discerning tastes, the hotel’s restaurants offers ample choices in fine dining. Enjoy a visit to the ice cream parlor, beer garden and participate in the varied recreational activities for all the members of the family such as nautical sports and animation.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Melia Las Dunas Reviews

Melia Las Dunas Review: 3.9 of 5 31 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  17
Average
  5
Poor
  1
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (16)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
11 - 20 of 31

"Just Okay"

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Deborah  on Mar 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
320 people found this review helpful


Room Number:
23

Room Block:
59

Arrival:
Feb. 25th 2011. This hotel is an hour and a half from Santa Clara airport. We paid extra to travel to the resort by taxi cab - BIG mistake! I swear the taxi driver thought he was in the Indy 500 which left us (in the back seat) holding on for dear life instead of enjoying the scenery.

Rooms:
Standard with fridge and king or two 3/4 beds. Our toilet had problems flushing and the air conditioner was sporadic (power saving I think).
Fridge got stocked every other day with beer, water and soft drinks.
There is no clock in the rooms so bring a travel clock if you need an alarm for when you go home - don't count on a wake up call from the front desk!!

Restaurants and Bars:
Several a la carte restaurants but not much better than the buffets. The ambiance is much nicer though and your meals are served to you.
There's a beer garden near the boulevard heading to the beach. It's open 24 hours and serves hot dogs, hamburgers and fried chicken.
Lobby bar is the place where you can order specialty coffees - cappuccinos are to die for!!!
The lobby is the place to be before and after dinner. There's live entertainment there most evenings and people just sit and mill about and drink.
The food is just okay - nothing great but you won't go hungry.
Ice cream is very good - try some out at the ice cream parlor on the boulevard! You'll love it.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is by far the best part of this resort. It's natural beauty will captivate you in a heart beat. Turquoise waters with white powdery sand. No palm trees though but lots of palapas to give shade.
Be careful in the water on calm days - we saw a 3 foot barracuda in the water as well as several jelly fish. That didn't seem to deter people from swimming though - it did me!!!
The pools are lovely. Lots of chairs and shaded areas for the faint of heart! The only problem is that the washrooms never seem to have toilet paper or soap! Given the problems that could arise as a result of this - nothing was done about it. We went and talked to the manager and told him it was unacceptable to have public washrooms lacking in soap and toilet paper and he just said he'd look into it. We were there 2 weeks and nothing was done. We carried hand sanitizer and toilet paper around with us the entire time.
Grounds are nice but more could be done to pick up garbage!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Not much happening there. We didn't visit the family side of the resort so maybe they had something going on over there but it was pretty quiet on the adult side.
Excursions can be purchased at the tour desk - we stayed put.

Other Comments:
Staff are very friendly but there are too few for the size of this property. I think a lot more could be done (washroom cleanliness for example) if there were more staff employed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Une semaine de rêve !"

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  MICHELINE  on Feb 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Wedding | Family and Kids
356 people found this review helpful

La première chose qui m'a impressionnée fut l'accueil. De l'aéroport jusqu'à l'hôtel, puis à l'hôtel même. Le personnel était tellement accueillant, toujours souriant, prêt à répondre à la moindre demande. Un décor tel que sur les photos du site. Le site est très vaste, mais les petites voitures avec chauffeurs sont toujours à disposition. L'organisation du mariage de mon neveu fut impeccable de A à Z. Les activités proposées, à la hauteur de nos espérances. Les buffets, les restaurants, les bars, les piscines tout était fait pour le confort et la satisfaction des clients. Et bien sûr la mer turquoise, le sable blanc, je vous le dis, comme sur les photos. J'ai surtout apprécié la gentillesse du personnel, j'y reviens, mais pour moi c'est essentiel. Si on a un super hôtel et que le personnel est désagréable, ça gâche tout.
J'ai aimé le principe des chambres regroupées par 16, entourées de verdure, à quelques mètres de la piscine. On n'a jamais été gênés par le bruit ou par les voisins.

Room Number:
16

Room Block:
03

Arrival:
L'arrivée tardive en soirée et le site immense, nous a un peu perturbés. Mais dès que le jour s'est levé ça allait mieux. Il ne faut pas hésiter à demander une voiturette pour se rendre à la chambre avec les bagages. Mais ça, nous ne le savions pas.

Rooms:
La femme de chambre absolument charmante. Propreté impeccable. La bouteille de rhum tous les matins sur la table basse.

Restaurants and Bars:
J'ai préféré les buffets aux restaurants à la carte.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Piscine nettoyée tous les matins.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice stay "

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Merita  on Feb 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
330 people found this review helpful

The resort is very nice. It's huge , but you can find your way around as there are signs everywhere. They can improve the lighting at night, altghough is very safe to walk everywhere.
Entertanimet is very good. We had three days of bad weather, but they kept us entertained with lot's of different activities.
The food is good and lot's of variety.
The rooms in the ground floors are very damp and the smell is too strong. The cleaning is not up to the standards. Bathroom needed lots of attention. Fan doesn't work and all the steam goes into the room. We asked other couples who were in the ground floor and they all had complains about the damp.
The bartendenders are not friendly and nice. If you don't tip them , they complety ignore you and serves others who come after you.
The beach is spectacular. White sandy beach and the water is cristal clear.

Room Number:
3916 and 3911

Room Block:
39

Arrival:
Everything was extremely well organized. no need to wait for check in. The room keys are waiting for you on your arrival.

Rooms:
Need attention

Restaurants and Bars:
very good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
excellent

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The best resort for activities so far

Other Comments:
I am not sure if I will go back. The staff not very friendly and most of vacationers are french speaking from Quebec.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great vacation"

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Louise  on Dec 31, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
337 people found this review helpful

We had a great stay at this hotel. For us it was our seventh times over there. Always a pleasure to go back home and to see our friend. For us we are visiting our Cuban family over there. The hotel is nice, the staff over there is always smiling and trying to help you make the most of your stay over there. The restaurants a la carte are good. Specially the Italian one who is our favorite. The entertainment at the central place is a must for real Cuban music and for dancing . The beach is great for long walk.. Because we have found a place were we are well treated and we've never been deceived. We would really recommend this place to all of our friend and family. In fact we are planning to get married over there next year for our 25th anniversary.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Muy lindo el hotel melia las dunas"

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sra. Noelia Cao  on Dec 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: Dec, 2010
285 people found this review helpful

Hola hace un mes volvimos de Cuba, nos encanto este hotel, hermosa la playa, la arena blanca, el paraiso realmente, se los aconsejo para que vayan a visitarlo no se van a arrepentir, a nosotros nos encanto siempre la buena predisposicion de la gente se desviven por atenderte, no existe un no, volveremos porque nos encanto.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointing weather but fabulous resort!"

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Micheline  on Mar 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
258 people found this review helpful

My husband and I visited the Melia las Dunas in Cayo Santa Maria, Cuba from February 16th to 23rd 2010. Weather was quite cool, windy and overcast for our stay. We had one and half day of warm, sunny weather. Apparently it was like this over most of Cuba for this week.

Your Arrival:
We finally flew with Transat on a airbus 310, although from the time we booked our trip in October to the time we left in February, they changed flight times and airlines four times and added a stop in Varadero. We had paid for specific seats with more leg room and ended up not getting these seats because of the changes. I am still waiting to be reimbursed by Canjet for the seat reservations. Arrival at Santa Clara airport went well, we went through immigration/customs quickly and only waited a few minutes for our bags. The ride to the resort was 90 minutes in an air-conditionned bus and was interesting although it was dark. The ride back upon return was much more interesting as it was daylight.

Rooms:
We had an upper level room in building 49 with a garden view and near one of the beach boardwalks. The room was lovely, clean, well decorated. The king sized bed was very comfortable and the maid did a great job every day. The only negative aspect was lack of soundproofing. You can hear everything. And I mention this mainly because I was coughing (had a cold) for the first few days and was worried about bothering my neighbors (who slammed their doors constantly, spoke loudly all the time and did not seem to care what time it was...makes you wonder why I even cared about bothering them). You can hear people coming and going and conversations very clearly as well. If you have civilized and consciencious neighbors, this is not an issue. But when travelling, some people are just completely obtuse I guess.

Restaurants and Bars:
Both buffets were great. Lots of choice, variety, plenty of fresh fruit, different meats and vegetables, custom pizzas made to your liking as well as pasta, marinated and grilled meats, shrimp, sushi, desserts, salads! You can always find something good to eat. We loved the fresh orange juice, croissants and the coffee in the morning. Amazing staff. Kudos to Alain (buffet and pool snack bar) and Lester (Seafood restaurant).

We only tried two à la carte restaurants because we wanted to spend more time with our waiter Alain at the buffet. The Seafood restaurant was excellent and we were treated like royalty. The Los Siboneyes Grill was not very good, but this is mainly due to our selections because we heard that the red snapper was excellent. Service was not very good at the Grill for some reason. It must have been an "off" night for them? We wanted to buy a better bottle of wine but they had NOTHING left but the regular Spanish wine that they serve everywhere and is bottled in Cuba. It was fine. Service was fantastic everywhere else we tried.

Sandwiches at the pool snack bar and Beer Garden were always delicious and hit the spot.

The beach grill was amazing. Whole grilled fish, creole chicken and a great buffet where you can build your own hamburger.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Two large pools that are lovely but we aren't pool people when we travel to the ocean. Still a nice relaxing spot for the end of the day. One pool is for families and has entertainment and a kiddie area, the other is for adults and is more quiet and relaxing.

The beach is gorgeous. White sand, not a rock or a pebble in sight. Turquoise water. It was very windy for most of our stay but we had one afternoon and one day of sunny warm weather with calm water. An entire week of this would have been heaven! You can walk up and down the beach for a long time, there are some more deserted sections to see. Bathrooms are far from the beach area so when you have to go you have to give yourself the time to walk to the beach snack bar (that is not on the beach at all) or back to your room, depending on where you are located. We had a good 10 minute walk (to and back) to our room to go to the bathroom when on the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Many activities are offered although we only visited the nearby villages. You can take a tour of Santa Clara and Trinidad, among other places. You can even arrange to have dinner with a Cuban family through your guide. There are catamaran excursions, deep sea fishing, jeep excursions, etc.

You can't rent scooters, too dangerous, apparently. We usually rent scooters at other resorts in Cuba and explore. Never had any problems. You can rent jeeps or cars and bicycles. There is a sort of mini village with shops about 8 km away, easy bike ride.

Other Comments:
This is a fabulous resort. It is relatively new (2006) and so in good shape. It is a bit large for our taste (nearly 1000 rooms), we prefer smaller resorts but if you love to walk and explore, it is great! We would walk over to a new section that is under construction and give baseball caps, money and other gifts to the construction workers who don't get as much attention as the hotel staff. They were quite happy.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"OOOOO la la"

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rhonda  on Feb 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
191 people found this review helpful

My husband and I traveled for one week with 16 year old son .We have previously been to varadero- paradisus , costa rica- fiesta premier(now the hilton) Dominican republic -at the grande palladium punta cana and although there are many places yet to see this resort is one to return to soon .

Your Arrival:
The air port was well organized, they had us up on buses in no time at all and well on our way. The bus ride was like a tour if you can make sure your trip on the bus is in the light it is very informative. It took about 90 minutes but sure didn't feel like that as there was a running commentary about that part of Cuba and Cuban culture, It took you thru nice farmland also plenty of old cars on the way and while going thru the towns they took you right thru the streets and slowed right down to look in the houses and shops. Very interesting. On the bus room keys and bracelets and check in info was passed out.

Rooms:
Upon arrival we went to our assigned room ours, was in the 72 building with as asked for a room next door for our son. Our room was fine we didn't get the king size bed but 2 singles pushed together would have been OK. My sons room was extremely stale smelling (although this is expected in a humid climate) upon investigating the air conditioner did not work. Called the front desk and went to eat, and did stop at the desk where they told us that was being looked into. After eating went back to the room to investigate and discovered the air conditioner still did not work. Called the desk and they were expecting our call. They apologized and said it was impossible to fix and that they were very sorry but they needed to move us both ......so sorry but we have a very nice room for you on the beach we were moved quickly to the 46 building which is probably the best building of the resort.

Restaurants and Bars:
Always could find plenty of great food, remember Cuba cooks with lots of olive oil our systems aren't really used to for some an adjustment time is needed. Take pepto-bismol or Imodium. Definitely try the calamari at the beer garden. OOO the beach barbecue had lobster for like 4 hours straight never ran out my son said that the chicken was great too. We did the romantico restaurant and the steak house also great

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beautiful beaches and yes you need to get a chair I did always see chairs at the pool but never did have time to sit there.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
went on the catamaran tour son went scuba diving, both were wonderful We saw the jet ski tour it looked really good. but we just didn't have time.

Other Comments:
This is a great resort always plenty to do. The bands under the stars after supper were so nice, there they also tried to get you to dance which many did. The only down points were there is no bathroom by the beach. closest were at the pools or for us our room but we were lucky. The staff spoke English very well along with their Spanish and french so language was never a barrier.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Large Resort"

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  A  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
186 people found this review helpful

This was my third trip to Cuba, having stayed in Cayo Coco and Varadero previously. I have also stayed at resorts in Dominican Republic, Jamaica, St Lucia and the Cayman Islands.

We booked through Signature Vacations – they made a last minute change to our original flight that was supposed to be direct to Santa Clara from Ottawa. Signature did make things right very quickly, and changed our flight, at no charge, to direct from Montreal.

Your Arrival:
DEPARTURE FLIGHT
Anyone who has travelled out of Montreal Airport will surely know how busy that airport can be. You must get to the airport at least three hours prior to your flight. I would actually recommend four to avoid some of the lines.

We flew Air Transat – they had three flights leaving for the Caribbean the morning we left. If the option is available, spend the $80 to upgrade to first class. Well worth the money, as there is no wait for check-in, your bags get priority; there is a separate line for security, first on and off the plane, and more spacious seats and better meals.

Air Transat crew were great. Not complaints about the flights.

ARRIVAL - SANTA CLARA AIRPORT
We went through the Cuban customs and security check quickly, grabbed our bags (which were the first off the plane due to the upgrade to first class) and we were greeted by a Signature Vacations rep who told which bus to board. We were then greeted at the bus and given our welcome package which included our hotel passport (room number and map), some other papers and our room key cards.

I must admit, this is the most brilliant thing ever! As soon as you arrive at the hotel, you can proceed directly to your room – no long dysfunctional line-up for check-in. Our bags had arrived before we made it to our rooms.

TRANSIT - AIRPORT TO RESORT - 90 MINUTES
Very comfortable ride in an air-conditioned bus. The 90 minutes passed very quickly.

ARRIVAL - MELIA LAS DUNAS
We were greeted by the entertainment team and given a cocktail right off the bus. Since we had received our welcome package before boarding the bus, we were able to immediately proceed to our rooms.

Rooms:
ROOM
I would say that the room is your average Caribbean resort room. Nothing spectacular, but adequate enough for the week. Room was clean, plenty of hot water. We did have to ask for a change of towels.

There is a small fridge in the room, where staff replenishes bottled water, canned pop, and beer daily.

The maid cleaned daily, however she did not go over and above as we have seen in other resorts (Cuba, Dominican, and Jamaica).

Restaurants and Bars:
BUFFET
Most people who visit Cuba know that you don’t go to Cuba for the food. The Buffet had some decent stuff, and some less than decent stuff. We did not starve however.

If you can get your hands on the little sugar doughnuts at the breakfast buffet, they are fantastic!

LOBBY BAR
We found ourselves relaxing at the lobby bar most evenings after dinner. Drinks were good, and the waitresses worked very hard.

RESTAURANTS
Beer Garden – we had lunch there one day, food was ok, and hamburgers were a little undercooked for our taste.

Pool Snack Bars – flatbread pizzas were great.

Ice Cream Bar – as stated in other reviews, the ice cream is really good.

À LA CARTE RESTAURANTS
Romantico – Was very good. I had the beef and others had the chicken. No complaints. Service was extraordinary – international wines were available for a modest additional cost (i.e. Australian Shiraz for $9 CUC).

Pizzeria – The calzones were amazing! Service was great.

Italian – Italian was ok. We felt that there was a rush to get us out.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
POOLS
Were much too cold.

BEACH
Cuba beach – no need to say anymore.

Other Comments:
DEPARTURE
Departure was fairly painless. 90-minute bus ride back to the airport.

We purchased the VIP package from our rep at the hotel and enjoyed it thoroughly. It costs $20 CUC per person but gave you a special check-in, special waiting room with couches and full all-inclusive bar and restaurant and first on the plane. This was a great option as it made the wait go by very fast. Highly recommended.

Once again, we also upgraded to first class for $80 Cdn. If you choose this option at the airport, be sure to have Canadian cash – they do not take credit or CUC.

NEGATIVES
1 – For us, the resort was too large (950 rooms, potentially up to 2500 people on the resort at any one time). We are used to smaller resorts where there is more focus on customer service.

While we felt that the resort was too large for our liking, it is very spread out and does not necessarily feel as large as it actually is. Prepare yourself for lots of walking however.

2 – I hate to say this, but many of the Quebeckers at this resort made Americans look good! They were loud, obnoxious, rude to both the staff and other patrons, did not respect others that are also on holidays nor did they have respect for the children that may be around (i.e. women taking off their tops at the family pool, swearing, lewd behaviour and smoking around the kids).

3 – While they tell you that the water (tap, ice, drinks) has been filtered – which I do not doubt one bit, the water is transported by truck to the resorts. I suspect that somewhere during the transport process, it becomes contaminated. As such, every one of us got the tropical trots on more than one occasion. I did also see quite a few people taking Imodium near the end of the week. Having been to Cuba twice before, I never encountered this problem.

OVERALL
This resort is more like a 4-star, even by Cuba standards. If you don’t mind large resorts, this is a pretty good bang for the buck. This is just not the resort for me.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great New Years"

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melissa  on Jan 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
180 people found this review helpful

We travel through Montreal from Fredericton and arrived on Dec 27th in the early afternoon. The 1 1/2 hr ride was great you really get to see Cuba through the country and the cities that you travel through. Check was a breeze, once we arrived we all went to a conference room area and got envelopes with our room keys and information about the resort and map.

Rooms:
We were in a superior room with a partial ocean view on the second floor of building 52. It had a king size bed with a sitting area and walk in closet. There was a room safe with was free to use and you put in your own combination so no one else new it. The room always had a musty smell to it and the bed was horribly uncomfortable (hard). I like my bed with a little give to it, which this did not. The buildings were the room was loud, you could hear people coming and going all night and we could hear the people in the room beside us (snoring and fighting).

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet food was awful. This was not our first time to Cuba, but was the worst food we have encountered. We tried not to eat at the buffet for supper, we had 4 a la carts booked which were OK. The Romantic was the best and then the steakhouse, but make sure you specify how you want your steak cooked. My husbands was still mooing. we ate at the beer garden or the pool snack bars for lunch and tried the sandwiches on the beach a couple of times (much better than eating at the buffet IMO). You could get sandwiches, fries, and even poutine (pool snack place).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds at this resort are beautiful and well taken care of. The pool got cleaned everyday and was very nice to sit around and cool off in when it was windy on the beach. The beach was absolutely beautiful, great white sand that went for miles both ways. The water was warm and crystal clear, just like in a pool. There were fish that was swim around your ankles, we think they were eating stuff out of the sand that you would kick up.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
For New Year's Eve the resort had a big party for everyone in the Theater (up by the lounge bar) and then had a party down on the beach over midnight, which a band and then a music video dance thing. It was a great time. We also did the Catamaran trip. We went snorkling twice and saw the dolphins which you get to touch and they do some tricks. We had a lunch which was OK, the Lobster was over cooked. All in all an absolute great day.

Other Comments:
Since we went during the winter (Dec 27th to Jan 3rd) there were jelly fish in the water, not to many, but we saw some some days and other days we didn't see any. You don't necessarily have to tip, we did to the bartenders and cleaning staff and a couple times to the waiters, but either way we found we go the same service no matter what and all the staff was nice, the grounds men, lifeguard (who gave us some shells he cleaned), bartenders, waiters and waitresses. Everyone we passed always said "olla" to us and talk to us. All the staff work really hard. One note about this resort is that over 90% of the people who go there are French, so if you don't speak french I actually don't recommend going here. We do not speak french and felt left out of things because of it. Especially on the excursion, everyone was french but us and we had no idea what anyone was saying the entire time, expect for one gentleman who tried his best to talk to us.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This is a beautiful hotel and beautiful people look after it."

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marlene Maile from Whitby Ontario  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009
235 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Nov 7/09 to Nov14/09
This is a beautiful hotel and beautiful people look after it. The Cuban people are very gracious to their guest, and act with great dignity toward others. I enjoyed myself so much, and would suggest to any single person to consider this hotel as their destination.

Rooms:
The rooms were spacious and nicely furnished.

Restaurants and Bars:v I do not drink but from what I experienced I would say that they catered to every ones taste.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beaches were very pristine the pure white sand was so easy to walk on. I ran about 2miles on the beach each day and loved every minute of it.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I took the excursion to Santa Clara on the Thursday and enjoyed the trip very much.We boarded a steam engine and went for a ride through the country side. And then we saw the culture of the city, We aw one of the oldest churches in Cuba. Inside the alter was made of gold it was magnificent. Would recommend this trip to others.

Other Comments:
The Cuban people may appear not to have much of material value, But they lack for nothing. They have riches inside there hearts and that is what they express.
I would go back to this hotel in a heart beat and would encourage other to do so.

Love
Marlene Maile

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube