Melia Las Dunas Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Melia Las Dunas reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Santa Maria Hotels with Similar Ranking

Melia Buenavista

5.0 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 7, 2014

Playa Cayo Santa María

4.3 based on 3 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 25, 2015

Melia Cayo Santa Maria

3.6 based on 15 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 9, 2015

Memories Paraíso Beach Resort

3.6 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Sep 23, 2016

Royalton Cayo Santa Maria

3.4 based on 5 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 20, 2016

Memories Azul Beach Resort

3.4 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed May 15, 2015

Melia Las Dunas  

Cayo Santa María, Jardines del Rey. Caibarién, Villa Clara.

"Wasn't what they advertise. "
Posted by: Mike  on May 6, 2017
see all reviews

Melia Las Dunas Reviews
Melia Las Dunas Pictures and Information
Melia Las Dunas Cayo Santa Maria Cuba

#1
of 11 Hotels in Cayo Santa Maria

User rating 3.7

Based on 34 reviews

Melia Las Dunas Information


Located in an exotic tropical paradise of white sand beaches and shimmering turquoise sea, hotel Meliá Las Dunas is Cayo Santa Maria offers dazzling Five-Star luxury for families and couples. Designed to respond to even the most discerning tastes, the hotel’s restaurants offers ample choices in fine dining. Enjoy a visit to the ice cream parlor, beer garden and participate in the varied recreational activities for all the members of the family such as nautical sports and animation.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Melia Las Dunas Reviews

Melia Las Dunas Review: 3.7 of 5 34 reviews
Excellent
  7
Very good
  17
Average
  5
Poor
  3
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (19)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (8)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (10)
Solo
21 - 30 of 34

"Very Large Resort"

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  A  on Feb 2, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
286 people found this review helpful

This was my third trip to Cuba, having stayed in Cayo Coco and Varadero previously. I have also stayed at resorts in Dominican Republic, Jamaica, St Lucia and the Cayman Islands.

We booked through Signature Vacations – they made a last minute change to our original flight that was supposed to be direct to Santa Clara from Ottawa. Signature did make things right very quickly, and changed our flight, at no charge, to direct from Montreal.

Your Arrival:
DEPARTURE FLIGHT
Anyone who has travelled out of Montreal Airport will surely know how busy that airport can be. You must get to the airport at least three hours prior to your flight. I would actually recommend four to avoid some of the lines.

We flew Air Transat – they had three flights leaving for the Caribbean the morning we left. If the option is available, spend the $80 to upgrade to first class. Well worth the money, as there is no wait for check-in, your bags get priority; there is a separate line for security, first on and off the plane, and more spacious seats and better meals.

Air Transat crew were great. Not complaints about the flights.

ARRIVAL - SANTA CLARA AIRPORT
We went through the Cuban customs and security check quickly, grabbed our bags (which were the first off the plane due to the upgrade to first class) and we were greeted by a Signature Vacations rep who told which bus to board. We were then greeted at the bus and given our welcome package which included our hotel passport (room number and map), some other papers and our room key cards.

I must admit, this is the most brilliant thing ever! As soon as you arrive at the hotel, you can proceed directly to your room – no long dysfunctional line-up for check-in. Our bags had arrived before we made it to our rooms.

TRANSIT - AIRPORT TO RESORT - 90 MINUTES
Very comfortable ride in an air-conditioned bus. The 90 minutes passed very quickly.

ARRIVAL - MELIA LAS DUNAS
We were greeted by the entertainment team and given a cocktail right off the bus. Since we had received our welcome package before boarding the bus, we were able to immediately proceed to our rooms.

Rooms:
ROOM
I would say that the room is your average Caribbean resort room. Nothing spectacular, but adequate enough for the week. Room was clean, plenty of hot water. We did have to ask for a change of towels.

There is a small fridge in the room, where staff replenishes bottled water, canned pop, and beer daily.

The maid cleaned daily, however she did not go over and above as we have seen in other resorts (Cuba, Dominican, and Jamaica).

Restaurants and Bars:
BUFFET
Most people who visit Cuba know that you don’t go to Cuba for the food. The Buffet had some decent stuff, and some less than decent stuff. We did not starve however.

If you can get your hands on the little sugar doughnuts at the breakfast buffet, they are fantastic!

LOBBY BAR
We found ourselves relaxing at the lobby bar most evenings after dinner. Drinks were good, and the waitresses worked very hard.

RESTAURANTS
Beer Garden – we had lunch there one day, food was ok, and hamburgers were a little undercooked for our taste.

Pool Snack Bars – flatbread pizzas were great.

Ice Cream Bar – as stated in other reviews, the ice cream is really good.

À LA CARTE RESTAURANTS
Romantico – Was very good. I had the beef and others had the chicken. No complaints. Service was extraordinary – international wines were available for a modest additional cost (i.e. Australian Shiraz for $9 CUC).

Pizzeria – The calzones were amazing! Service was great.

Italian – Italian was ok. We felt that there was a rush to get us out.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
POOLS
Were much too cold.

BEACH
Cuba beach – no need to say anymore.

Other Comments:
DEPARTURE
Departure was fairly painless. 90-minute bus ride back to the airport.

We purchased the VIP package from our rep at the hotel and enjoyed it thoroughly. It costs $20 CUC per person but gave you a special check-in, special waiting room with couches and full all-inclusive bar and restaurant and first on the plane. This was a great option as it made the wait go by very fast. Highly recommended.

Once again, we also upgraded to first class for $80 Cdn. If you choose this option at the airport, be sure to have Canadian cash – they do not take credit or CUC.

NEGATIVES
1 – For us, the resort was too large (950 rooms, potentially up to 2500 people on the resort at any one time). We are used to smaller resorts where there is more focus on customer service.

While we felt that the resort was too large for our liking, it is very spread out and does not necessarily feel as large as it actually is. Prepare yourself for lots of walking however.

2 – I hate to say this, but many of the Quebeckers at this resort made Americans look good! They were loud, obnoxious, rude to both the staff and other patrons, did not respect others that are also on holidays nor did they have respect for the children that may be around (i.e. women taking off their tops at the family pool, swearing, lewd behaviour and smoking around the kids).

3 – While they tell you that the water (tap, ice, drinks) has been filtered – which I do not doubt one bit, the water is transported by truck to the resorts. I suspect that somewhere during the transport process, it becomes contaminated. As such, every one of us got the tropical trots on more than one occasion. I did also see quite a few people taking Imodium near the end of the week. Having been to Cuba twice before, I never encountered this problem.

OVERALL
This resort is more like a 4-star, even by Cuba standards. If you don’t mind large resorts, this is a pretty good bang for the buck. This is just not the resort for me.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great New Years"

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Melissa  on Jan 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
276 people found this review helpful

We travel through Montreal from Fredericton and arrived on Dec 27th in the early afternoon. The 1 1/2 hr ride was great you really get to see Cuba through the country and the cities that you travel through. Check was a breeze, once we arrived we all went to a conference room area and got envelopes with our room keys and information about the resort and map.

Rooms:
We were in a superior room with a partial ocean view on the second floor of building 52. It had a king size bed with a sitting area and walk in closet. There was a room safe with was free to use and you put in your own combination so no one else new it. The room always had a musty smell to it and the bed was horribly uncomfortable (hard). I like my bed with a little give to it, which this did not. The buildings were the room was loud, you could hear people coming and going all night and we could hear the people in the room beside us (snoring and fighting).

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet food was awful. This was not our first time to Cuba, but was the worst food we have encountered. We tried not to eat at the buffet for supper, we had 4 a la carts booked which were OK. The Romantic was the best and then the steakhouse, but make sure you specify how you want your steak cooked. My husbands was still mooing. we ate at the beer garden or the pool snack bars for lunch and tried the sandwiches on the beach a couple of times (much better than eating at the buffet IMO). You could get sandwiches, fries, and even poutine (pool snack place).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds at this resort are beautiful and well taken care of. The pool got cleaned everyday and was very nice to sit around and cool off in when it was windy on the beach. The beach was absolutely beautiful, great white sand that went for miles both ways. The water was warm and crystal clear, just like in a pool. There were fish that was swim around your ankles, we think they were eating stuff out of the sand that you would kick up.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
For New Year's Eve the resort had a big party for everyone in the Theater (up by the lounge bar) and then had a party down on the beach over midnight, which a band and then a music video dance thing. It was a great time. We also did the Catamaran trip. We went snorkling twice and saw the dolphins which you get to touch and they do some tricks. We had a lunch which was OK, the Lobster was over cooked. All in all an absolute great day.

Other Comments:
Since we went during the winter (Dec 27th to Jan 3rd) there were jelly fish in the water, not to many, but we saw some some days and other days we didn't see any. You don't necessarily have to tip, we did to the bartenders and cleaning staff and a couple times to the waiters, but either way we found we go the same service no matter what and all the staff was nice, the grounds men, lifeguard (who gave us some shells he cleaned), bartenders, waiters and waitresses. Everyone we passed always said "olla" to us and talk to us. All the staff work really hard. One note about this resort is that over 90% of the people who go there are French, so if you don't speak french I actually don't recommend going here. We do not speak french and felt left out of things because of it. Especially on the excursion, everyone was french but us and we had no idea what anyone was saying the entire time, expect for one gentleman who tried his best to talk to us.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All of our experiences were good"

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Brain from Toronto  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009
211 people found this review helpful

Arrival: 13 to 27 November 2009
These are the comments I just sent to the resort ...
My wife and I just left your wonderful resort and I am writing to tell you about our stay there.

For the past 8 years we have stayed at Sol Melia resorts in Cuba.

We stayed at Melia Las Dunas from 13 to 27 November, 2009, and were assigned to a wonderful room which met our needs in every way. Everything was in a good state in the room and any repairs that were needed during our stay were made quickly and in a very friendly manner.

The state of the entire resort is being kept to a very high standard and we congratulate you on how well the buildings and groundskeeping are being maintained and presented each day - always very clean and tidy. The quality of the plants and flowers you have planted made our visit very pleasant indeed.

We much enjoyed the quality and huge variety of food and beverages you have available - including the wine lists your have prepared for the specialty restaurants.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This is a beautiful hotel and beautiful people look after it."

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marlene Maile from Whitby Ontario  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009
343 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Nov 7/09 to Nov14/09
This is a beautiful hotel and beautiful people look after it. The Cuban people are very gracious to their guest, and act with great dignity toward others. I enjoyed myself so much, and would suggest to any single person to consider this hotel as their destination.

Rooms:
The rooms were spacious and nicely furnished.

Restaurants and Bars:v I do not drink but from what I experienced I would say that they catered to every ones taste.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beaches were very pristine the pure white sand was so easy to walk on. I ran about 2miles on the beach each day and loved every minute of it.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I took the excursion to Santa Clara on the Thursday and enjoyed the trip very much.We boarded a steam engine and went for a ride through the country side. And then we saw the culture of the city, We aw one of the oldest churches in Cuba. Inside the alter was made of gold it was magnificent. Would recommend this trip to others.

Other Comments:
The Cuban people may appear not to have much of material value, But they lack for nothing. They have riches inside there hearts and that is what they express.
I would go back to this hotel in a heart beat and would encourage other to do so.

Love
Marlene Maile

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No jellies in the ocean!"

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Nancy from Toronto  on Nov 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009
250 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Nov 2009
Rec'd envelope on shuttle bus at airport to hotel, included room key, hotel info...went directly to our rooms upon arrival! super organized!

Rooms:
Had superior room in block 4100, nice and close to the pool. Housekeeping in room not so great, ie towels left in tub for exchange were simply refolded and put back in counter, bed sheets never changed, floors never cleaned all week. But did not complain, not a big deal...stopped tipping in room after 3rd day though!

Restaurants and Bars:
All restaurants were very good, buffet for breakfast was pretty busy so I suggest you stagger your arrival each morning. A la cartes were very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very clean pool, beach was very nice, however, ocean was very rough in Nov....but still fun! very warm! white powder sand, lots of shade and chairs available all the time! No jellies in the ocean!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Sunset catamaran was very nice with lobster dinner, water bikes (jet skis) super fun, good value @ $60 for 2 people one jetski. Facility offering these activities was reasonably close to hotel....15 mins away. Nice!

Other Comments:
A large resort, ground very clean, staff were attentive, excellent value at $785 incl taxes through Sears Travel. Would recommend this resort!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Level of english among staff was very good"

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 3.50 of 5

Posted by:  Doug from Toronto  on Oct 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2009
214 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Oct 3, 2009
Spent 1 week here in October 2009. We have made many trips to 5 star AI resorts in Punta Cana and Mexico, but first time to Cuba. This was a last minute sell off deal. I knew it was only 4 star but It was so cheap that I figured lets check it out. Airport is a long way (1.5 hours) from hotel which is a bit of a negative. However, interesting to see the little towns on the way.

Rooms:
I was in room 4122 which was a suite. Very large, very clean, everything worked, no bugs or smells. Absolutely no complaints. This is a VERY large property and some rooms are a LONG way from beach/lobby. This was a well positioned room.

Restaurants and Bars:
Overall quality of food was adequate but nowhere near the quality of Mexico/DR. The buffet had decent selection but you really had to be picky. Hard to believe, but there was lettuce only 1 day of 7 (so no salads which is a big thing for a lot of people), absolutely no apples, oranges, grapes, cereals, flavoured yogurt only 2 days. Selection of cheese etc poor. House wine terrible. Much of the food was cold to luke warm. Many, many selections had no description of what it was, so I passed. Beer was good, mixed drinks just did not taste good. Booze either watered down or ??? I normally only eat in a la carte, but here did not do any. Main reason is stupid stupid but common practice of men needing to wear long pants. This place was HOT even at 8 PM and because of the huge walking distances between buildings, you were sweating pretty good. At least buffet allowed dress shorts. Also practice of needing reservations; we have been spolied at Dreams/Excellence properties where no reservations needed.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Overall property very clean, very nice. Need to walk a bridge over the dunes to get to the beach which means no restaurants/washrooms near the beach. Beach was very nice; white sand and beautiful water. Beach in high tide is quite narrow and palapas are built touching each other, so hard to get privacy. But no jetskis, no para sailing or sight seeing helicopters, so really quiet beach experience. Water is shallow, sand bottom, warm and just perfect.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
People who book tours at places like this are idiots. You come for the beach and sun, yet people pay big bucks to spend a day in sweltering heat to see some silly village or whatever. Save your money!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"For a great family vacation go to Las Dunas"

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Greg from Montreal  on Oct 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2009
236 people found this review helpful

Arrival: From October 18th to October 25th
I arrived with my family at Santa Clara Airport at 19h30 in the evening. We were greeted outside the terminal and were given an envelope with our room keys, a map of the resort, bracelets and everything else to complete our checkin. I found this well organized and no doubt it saved quiet a bit of time that we would have spent in line at the resort to checkin. Our bags were put on the bus and marked with the room number so we had no worries once we arrived about dragging bags around as they were delivered directly to our room. All in all very impressed with the organization for our arrival.

Rooms:
We had upgraded to superior rooms and had one for my wife and I and another for the kids, happily we discovered that they were beside each other as requested. The rooms were a good size and well prepared for our arrival, again we were very happy.

Restaurants and Bars:
As this was low season one of the buffets was closed but this did not create any problems due to low bookings for this week. The food was good for resort buffets with lots of selection and enough changes every day to make it interesting. We ate at the Italian and the Romantic restaurants and enjoyed them both, we actually went back to the Italian a second time because we all enjoyed it. The bars were al clean and service was friendly, if there is any negative comment it would be that in all bars that we tried except the lobby bar the drinks were a little weak, not a big deal for us as we were not drinking much but still an issue.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was one of the nicest I have visited, over 16 kms long and the sand was amazing along all of what we saw. The pool was large and the water was clean, there was a "pool boy" working at the pool all day every day. The grounds were kept clean and again it was not difficult to find people working at keeping them that way any day we were there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The breeziness was very pleasant"

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Luke from Toronto  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
211 people found this review helpful

Arrival
The flight with CanJet to Santa Clara was fine, and a local Transat Holidays (multilingual) agent was there to direct us to the correct bus for the hour-and-a-half trip to Melia Las Dunas. The guide on the bus was a student and his English a bit difficult to understand, but frankly he was a bit superfluous anyway as we all just wanted to get there and finish with the journey.

Check in at the hotel was quick and painless, which is just as well as it was nearly midnight by the time we were in our room and ready for bed.

Next morning, after the talk and introduction to the hotel and its facilities, we had to book (up to 4) a la carte dinner restaurants for the week, although we actually just booked one, preferring to use the buffets and snack bars the rest of the time. We also had to book our excursions (again we just booked the one, to Trinidad), and pick up our beach towels for the week from the pool area (they seemed to run out of clean towels for a while the next day, but we had no problem getting ours, and once you have them you can exchange them for clean ones as often as you like). We were there during the last week in March (the week after Toronto March Break). This is technically spring in Cuba, and the weather was hot and sunny, with about half a day of rain the whole week. It was pretty windy the whole week, though, and the waves were quite high until the very last day, so water sports (and some trips) were inadvisable. In the hotel itself, away from the wind on the beach, the breeziness was very pleasant, however. Evenings were of course cooler but still warm, and the nights pleasantly cool for sleeping (but not cold). And no mosquitoes!

Rooms
No complaints about the room - clean, nicely decorated, well-appointed, comfortable enough beds, easy-to-use security safe, minibar fridge stocked with the basics (minibar drinks are included in the package and restocked daily), good shower with plenty of hot water, little balcony, TV with an adequate selection of programs in several languages, even a hairdryer. No dodgy toilets, cockroaches, sewage smells or any of those other things you tend to read about in these reviews.

The rooms are in two-storey blocks with 24 rooms in each block (12 on each floor), with access from both ends. Some of the upper rooms probably have a sea view, I would think, depending on the direction they face and the part of the hotel they are located in. Ours looked out onto jungle and a gravel path.

Like most of these places, however, the walls are paper thin, and it is pot luck whether you get a noisy one or not. We had a party crowd in our block on one night, with lots of late-night drunken shouting and clip-clipping up and down stairs, and then another night with a very loud television. But these seemed to be isolated incidents, and in general it was pretty quiet.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The breeziness was very pleasant"

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Luke from Toronto  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
211 people found this review helpful

Arrival
The flight with CanJet to Santa Clara was fine, and a local Transat Holidays (multilingual) agent was there to direct us to the correct bus for the hour-and-a-half trip to Melia Las Dunas. The guide on the bus was a student and his English a bit difficult to understand, but frankly he was a bit superfluous anyway as we all just wanted to get there and finish with the journey.

Check in at the hotel was quick and painless, which is just as well as it was nearly midnight by the time we were in our room and ready for bed.

Next morning, after the talk and introduction to the hotel and its facilities, we had to book (up to 4) a la carte dinner restaurants for the week, although we actually just booked one, preferring to use the buffets and snack bars the rest of the time. We also had to book our excursions (again we just booked the one, to Trinidad), and pick up our beach towels for the week from the pool area (they seemed to run out of clean towels for a while the next day, but we had no problem getting ours, and once you have them you can exchange them for clean ones as often as you like). We were there during the last week in March (the week after Toronto March Break). This is technically spring in Cuba, and the weather was hot and sunny, with about half a day of rain the whole week. It was pretty windy the whole week, though, and the waves were quite high until the very last day, so water sports (and some trips) were inadvisable. In the hotel itself, away from the wind on the beach, the breeziness was very pleasant, however. Evenings were of course cooler but still warm, and the nights pleasantly cool for sleeping (but not cold). And no mosquitoes!

Rooms
No complaints about the room - clean, nicely decorated, well-appointed, comfortable enough beds, easy-to-use security safe, minibar fridge stocked with the basics (minibar drinks are included in the package and restocked daily), good shower with plenty of hot water, little balcony, TV with an adequate selection of programs in several languages, even a hairdryer. No dodgy toilets, cockroaches, sewage smells or any of those other things you tend to read about in these reviews.

The rooms are in two-storey blocks with 24 rooms in each block (12 on each floor), with access from both ends. Some of the upper rooms probably have a sea view, I would think, depending on the direction they face and the part of the hotel they are located in. Ours looked out onto jungle and a gravel path.

Like most of these places, however, the walls are paper thin, and it is pot luck whether you get a noisy one or not. We had a party crowd in our block on one night, with lots of late-night drunken shouting and clip-clipping up and down stairs, and then another night with a very loud television. But these seemed to be isolated incidents, and in general it was pretty quiet.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach, as you will probably have gathered, is beautiful - clean, white sand, no rocks, beautiful turquoise sea, no jellyfish, no hookers or people pestering you. It is separated from the hotel by a natural area of vegetation crossed by three boardwalks. There are plenty of loungers and some palapas for shade (no natural shade). It was quite windy most of the time we were there and the waves can be a bit scary (but fun), although I am not sure how typical that is. You can walk for several kilometres up and down the beach from the hotel, past the three other hotels on the that part of the cayo and some totally undeveloped parts.

The pools are also nice, a little cold, but not enough to keep you out of them (just enough to keep them from being busy). There were enough sun-loungers and we never really had a problem finding shade when we wanted it. A minor problem with people leaving towels, but not too bad, and not as bad as many other places. There is an activity pool on one side of the hotel and a leisure pool on the other. We were on the quieter leisure pool side (although you can of course use either), which suited us fine. Actually, even the activity pool was not that active or noisy, although I believe they had some water sports events from time to time. It's certainly not a wet t-shirt contest/thumping disco kind of a place. There is a late night disco near the reception for those that need that kind of thing, although I can't comment on it.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The lobby area is pleasant with plenty of seats and a nice place for an evening cocktail/coffee/game of cards. There is an information place, and the Transat Holidays people were also usually there to answer any other questions. The bank in the lobby often had a line-up for changing Canadian dollars to convertible pesos, but not always. It was open quite long hours, so just wait until the line dies down, or try later in the afternoon. Lots of 1 peso notes or coins are useful for tips, and bear in mind that you will need 25 pesos per person for exit tax at the airport when you leave. There are a couple of stores and, of course, an artesania market. Phones and internet are slow and expensive, but at least available.

The activity centre (sports and games area) was well used, but not overused, and you could usually get to play whatever you wanted (table tennis, air hockey, table soccer, pool, board games, etc) when you wanted it. There was always someone there to help, and there were also different activities going on at different times, including basic archery lessons, Spanish lessons, mini-tournaments, etc.

The activity centre also loaned out basketballs, tennis rackets and balls, etc, for use at the tennis courts over the other side of the hotel. the tennis courts were in good condition and one or more was usually available (despite it being shared with the Melia Cayo Santa Maria next door). You can take out bikes for free, and even scooters - there is nothing much to see, but it makes a nice change, and you can get to the other end of the beach or go birding at the causeway.

The gym near the tennis courts was also in good condition and reasonably well appointed (and cool!), with a weights room, treadmills, step machines, a rowing machine, stationary bikes, exercise mats, etc. It was rarely in use when we went there, and we never had a problem in getting onto anything. The spa (also by the tennis courts) seemed relatively expensive, comparable to Toronto prices, and we were not tempted, especially given that everything else was for free. The watersports centre on the beach was not operating for most of our stay due to the wind and high waves, but in theory they have sailboats, windsurfers, kayaks, pedallos, and more - all free.

I'm embarrassed to admit that we didn't bother with the shows (starting at 9.30pm) at all. From what I saw of the practices, it was the usual predictable (and necessarily amateurish) all-singing all-dancing affairs with enforced audience participation. Sorry, but been there, done that. There were various pre-show entertainments in and around the lobby, mainly revolving around salsa, of course (I was pretty sick of salsa by the end of the week, although even on the bus back to the airport some people were still calling for more).

Day trips worked out at around $100 per person, so we only booked one, but I think it's important to get out of the hotel at least once and to see a bit of the real Cuba (because the hotel is very definitely NOT the real Cuba). Bear in mind that there is no town around the hotel that you can walk to or even cycle to. We went off on bikes one morning and there is nothing but scrubby jungle and a handful of hotels on the whole island - no locals live there at all, and construction workers and hotel staff are bused in each day.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The breeziness was very pleasant"

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Luke from Toronto  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
211 people found this review helpful

Arrival
The flight with CanJet to Santa Clara was fine, and a local Transat Holidays (multilingual) agent was there to direct us to the correct bus for the hour-and-a-half trip to Melia Las Dunas. The guide on the bus was a student and his English a bit difficult to understand, but frankly he was a bit superfluous anyway as we all just wanted to get there and finish with the journey.

Check in at the hotel was quick and painless, which is just as well as it was nearly midnight by the time we were in our room and ready for bed.

Next morning, after the talk and introduction to the hotel and its facilities, we had to book (up to 4) a la carte dinner restaurants for the week, although we actually just booked one, preferring to use the buffets and snack bars the rest of the time. We also had to book our excursions (again we just booked the one, to Trinidad), and pick up our beach towels for the week from the pool area (they seemed to run out of clean towels for a while the next day, but we had no problem getting ours, and once you have them you can exchange them for clean ones as often as you like). We were there during the last week in March (the week after Toronto March Break). This is technically spring in Cuba, and the weather was hot and sunny, with about half a day of rain the whole week. It was pretty windy the whole week, though, and the waves were quite high until the very last day, so water sports (and some trips) were inadvisable. In the hotel itself, away from the wind on the beach, the breeziness was very pleasant, however. Evenings were of course cooler but still warm, and the nights pleasantly cool for sleeping (but not cold). And no mosquitoes!

Rooms
No complaints about the room - clean, nicely decorated, well-appointed, comfortable enough beds, easy-to-use security safe, minibar fridge stocked with the basics (minibar drinks are included in the package and restocked daily), good shower with plenty of hot water, little balcony, TV with an adequate selection of programs in several languages, even a hairdryer. No dodgy toilets, cockroaches, sewage smells or any of those other things you tend to read about in these reviews.

The rooms are in two-storey blocks with 24 rooms in each block (12 on each floor), with access from both ends. Some of the upper rooms probably have a sea view, I would think, depending on the direction they face and the part of the hotel they are located in. Ours looked out onto jungle and a gravel path.

Like most of these places, however, the walls are paper thin, and it is pot luck whether you get a noisy one or not. We had a party crowd in our block on one night, with lots of late-night drunken shouting and clip-clipping up and down stairs, and then another night with a very loud television. But these seemed to be isolated incidents, and in general it was pretty quiet.

Other Comments:
Between 90% and 100% of the guest were Canadian, and I would say that at least 70% of those were Quebecois. It was predominantly a middle-aged crowd - very few kids, teens or babies, and very few of the very old, mainly thirties to fifties. Not too many buff bodies, and not too much screaming and shouting.

A lot of the guests were big into drinking, carrying around their own large refillable mugs. However, considering the quantity of alcohol imbibed, they were reasonably well-behaved and there were only really a couple of occasions when I felt a bit embarrassed to be Canadian. Don't get me wrong, I like a drink too, but I just don't see the point in excess.

The staff were pleasant and courteous and attentive to a fault, and even the cooks and gardeners seemed to be trilingual. We tipped most meals and some drinks, but its certainly not mandatory (and I don't really think it makes any difference top the service you receive). We tipped a convertible peso at a time (it just seemed easiest) and it seemed to be well received (a convertible peso goes a long way for the locals).

We were there during the last week in March (the week after Toronto March Break). This is technically spring in Cuba, and the weather was hot and sunny, with about half a day of rain the whole week. It was pretty windy the whole week, though, and the waves were quite high until the very last day, so water sports (and some trips) were inadvisable. In the hotel itself, away from the wind on the beach, the breeziness was very pleasant, however. Evenings were of course cooler but still warm, and the nights pleasantly cool for sleeping (but not cold). And no mosquitoes!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Quel beau voyage"

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  rose vernier  on Feb 26, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
402 people found this review helpful

Nous étions a l'hotel pour une semaine a partir du 15/02/2009. Nous étions en voyage de noce. Très bon service, très bel hotel, bonne nourriture et beaucoups de choix. Nous y reviendrons Rose et Michel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The beach is spectacular"

Melia Las Dunas
User Rating:  Melia Las Dunas Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Jerry & Marilyn  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Feb, 2009
188 people found this review helpful

Our family of four (including teenagers ages 13 & 16) enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Melia Las Dunas from January 25 – February 1, 2009. This was our third trip to Cuba, having previously stayed at the Playa Pesquero, and the Iberostar Daiquiri. The weather was great, except for one day, which was on the chilly side. Evenings can be cool, and a sweater is a good idea.

Check-in was efficient. I had emailed the hotel prior to going, requesting adjoining rooms in a central location. I also included my MAS # with my request. On arrival we were very pleased with our room location (block 37, rooms 3712 & 3713). Although these rooms are not adjoining, they are in a fabulous location – steps from the adult pool, snack bar, activity centre, and perhaps a 2 or 3 minute walk to the buffet and lobby. We also had a complimentary bottle of rum in each room, and all of our a la carte reservations made for us. I believe this was a perk of being a MAS cardholder. The rooms were lovely, very clean and well equipped. Our one complaint was the lack of hot water. Most days it was lukewarm (made for quick showers), however, a couple of days we did have hot water. The room safe is free.

The Las Dunas is divided into two sections – the adult side, and the family side, each having it’s own pool. The adult pool has a quiet relaxing atmosphere, with comfy padded loungers. Unfortunately during our stay, chair saving was in full force. If you were not at the pool by 9 a.m., your chances of getting a seat were slim to none. I found this very frustrating, considering many of these chairs went unused for hours, while others lay on the cement gazing longingly at the unused comfortable chairs. There are probably ¼ the number of chairs at the adult pool, compared to the family pool. The family pool is similar in size. It is of course, much more crowded and noisy. Both pools were kept very clean.

The beach is spectacular. I will echo the previous poster who said “like a picture on a post card”. During our stay all but two days were quite windy, making for some great waves. On the two calm days, the ocean was FULL of jellyfish. I heard this had something to do with the time of year. Staff warned people to stay out of the water, and we certainly heeded that warning.

We did not see much of the animation team during the day. The “teen club” was an empty building. There was a schedule of events posted that were to take place everyday at the activity centre, however, these often did not take place. The activity centre was equipped with air hockey, pool, foos ball, and various other activities. This is also where you borrowed the tennis rackets. However, you should know that the courts are on the other side of the resort, by the spa/gym/doctor’s office.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube