Paradisus Río de Oro Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Paradisus Río de Oro reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Paradisus Río de Oro  

Playa Esmeralda, Carretera Guardalavaca, Holguin
(Holguin Maps)

"Our piece of Paradise"
Posted by: PAUL  on Jun 21, 2016
see all reviews

Paradisus Río de Oro Reviews
Paradisus Río de Oro Pictures and Information
Paradisus Río de Oro Playa Esmeralda Cuba

#2
of 2 Hotels in Playa Esmeralda

User rating 4.5

Based on 28 reviews

Paradisus Río de Oro Information


The elegant and luxurious Paradisus Río de Oro All Inclusive Resort is located right alongside Playa Esmeralda beach, in the privileged and exotic natural setting of Natural Park of Bahía Naranjo, 5 km from Guardalavaca in the province of Holguin in the north-east of Cuba. Paradisus Río de Oro is an adult only (18 and over) resort. Among its large array of water sports you’ll find scuba diving, which is included in price.

For adults only (guests aged 18 and over)

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Paradisus Río de Oro Reviews

Paradisus Río de Oro Review: 4.5 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  20
Very good
  7
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (18)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (14)
Solo
1 - 10 of 28

"Our piece of Paradise"

Paradisus Río de Oro
User Rating:  Paradisus Río de Oro Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  PAUL  on Jun 21, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: May, 2016 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
19 people found this review helpful

Both my wife and i have traveled in many countrys and have had some good and some bad holidays ,but cuba ,what can i say we have been now 8 times and are planing to go back in 2017 .Ok it says its 5 star but it is cuba and you will not get european hotels there.How ever the hotel has everything you want if you are looking for a relaxing and piecefull holiday with no kids, and no body selling stuff on the beach or any time shares.Have a look on the web site you will be supprised golden sand and good food and 24hr all inclusive.

Room Number:
3622

Room Block:
36

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fabulous hotel with fabulous staff"

Paradisus Río de Oro
User Rating:  Paradisus Río de Oro Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kerry  on Jun 21, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jan, 2016 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
19 people found this review helpful

We have visited 3 times now the first we got married at PRDO, you cannot ask for nicer accommodation, food or staff. Nothing is too much trouble, your glass never empty. We stayed in the upgrade rooms with outside shower which is great, 24/7 drinks, free room service, beautiful spa. Alacarte restaurants especially Japanese is awesome. The Royal service restaurant is beautiful, we've already booked for next year.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"An amazing elopment destination! "

Paradisus Río de Oro
User Rating:  Paradisus Río de Oro Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Iris  on Jun 20, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2015 | Wedding | With Group
21 people found this review helpful

This was our third visit to this beautiful resort and we were fortunate to spend two weeks this time in Royal Service to celebrate our wedding/honeymoon. Could not have asked for a more beautiful ceremony, attentive staff and overall luxury vacation.

Can't wait to spend our first anniversary at this gorgeous property. The food, drinks, inclusive activities and service are top moth have and we absolutely love being spoiled in the Rotal Service section. It's not just heading to a resort, it's going to see our extended family!

Rooms:
Royal service rooms are well appointed and the outdoor showers are amazing!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Paradisus Rio de Oro ~ Wonderful again!"

Paradisus Río de Oro
User Rating:  Paradisus Río de Oro Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Canuks_2  on Jun 20, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2016 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
20 people found this review helpful

This is our 8th trip to Paradisus Rio de Oro and while there are many places to see in the world each trip back makes it harder and harder to even think about looking for another place to vacation.

The resort still seems fresh. There are areas that time seems to show a bit of ware but nothing of note for my review of any major concerns only recommendations for future considerations.

We are again in the Royal Section and the place looks as sparkling clean as the day it opened. The attention to cleaning is so appreciated and the staff are amazing.

Our room is amazing: it is large clean and just fabulous.

The staff once again made every request no matter how big or small a priority (or that is how it felt). As an example we really like a firm mattress and requested if possible a board under the mattress… a few hours later a new mattress arrived….. a whole trip of wonderful sleep followed…

The staff understands customer service: from remembering what we like to drink at a meal, to the name of our pet…….How they remember what they do is beyond my expectations and just adds to the feeling and enjoyment that this vacation destination is exactly what we needed…….a place that pampers us and in every ways makes us feel special.

I would like to thank a few people who went what I would consider above and beyond in their care to ensure our trip was remarkable and also apologise to these worthy but not mentioned. To Jean-Marc Rousseau, the MG I am in such awe of what you have accomplished and your quiet, continuing positive approach to keep Paradisus Rio de Oro the resort a place people want to return to time & again. To Lina Cordovez Lorenzo the Royal Service Manager who’s friendly smile fills a room and seems to be doing a remarkable job in the Royal Section keeping clients happy and operations running smoothly. All the staff at Royal time and again made it all a special trip. But one more group that went above and beyond included Leandro, Jorge (tall Jorge), Taimi & Edgar .There is one other bellboy that I think actually has ‘super powers’ in knowing his clients & that is Carlos. I cannot even count how many times we thought about him and he appeared. At first it was curious, after it was just wonderfully appreciated.

Room Number:
Royal Service

Room Block:
oceanview

Arrival:
easy and fast. We were met with the offer of a fresh towel and a beverage. Luggage taken directly to room by bellboys

Rooms:
Fresh & clean and just wonderful

Restaurants and Bars:
I have big thank you to Elier Fonseca the food and beverage manager.

Food, always a topic of concern but we had amazing meals from breakfast to dinner & snacks all were as good as any we have enjoyed on our travels. There was one of octopus that was not to my taste but considering all the meals and the variety I would rate food quality & quantity at 10 out of 10.

The food was remarkable, the best I think we have experienced. We really loved the increased use of chicken. Oh my, each and every chicken dish we eat was wonderful. The plating was notably professional and added to our culinary experience.

I would also thank LLenma from Royal Service restaurant. She is remarkable. She is professional and is able to read her clients so well. She can be stoic or playful depending on the client she is serving. Her recommendations made all the difference from a good meal to a wonderful culinary experience.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We even were able to last-minute book one of their amazing Massage at the YHI spa.

Thank you Julio for an excellent treatment! The sore hip I had been favouring for months was gone after an hour in your care…… and has not returned a week later (yea!).

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The occupancy was low during the time we were there. This suited us fine. All the activities of interest to us were still available. We had 2 private and very informative Salsa classes and a semi private conversational Spanish class.

Other Comments:
I can go on and on how wonderful this trip was but I would like also to include a few recommendations for management. Nothing marred the trip only suggestions. For the Royal Section: I would love to see a pool table, in the TV games room area. It would be nice to have it for the quiet evenings rather than venturing down to the main resort. The chairs in the bar lobby are too low and deep for any comfortable long time sitting. May I suggest for the area around the piano some café bistro style of tables and chairs? And for the Main Resort…… I will continue to recommend that the theatre area still needs work. The theme in the lane-way to the cigar store if carried out to the theatre, even as faux murals wold make this area so much more inviting. The area around the bank has been reworked and is a notably improved both for air and people flow. While maybe not the resort’s responsibility the craft people area is not in keeping with the rest of the resort and looks quite rundown. Really love having them on the property.


Thank you from the groundskeepers to the senior management for all the seen and unseen work you do. It is remarkable how WONDERFUL you once again made our vacation

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Another excellent vacation."

Paradisus Río de Oro
User Rating:  Paradisus Río de Oro Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Colin  on May 4, 2016  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2016 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
38 people found this review helpful

This was our thirteenth visit to Cub and third time at the PRDO and hopefully not our last. As with our previous visits we really have no complaints. Most of the staff were friendly and efficient. The food quality, presentation and variety was good at the buffet and restaurants. Tried all the a la carte restaurants (my favorites were the Cuban and El Patio). The refurbished pool is gorgeous. The grounds are meticulously maintained; our room was kept spotless and the fridge and coffee supplies were restocked daily. We enjoyed the early evening entertainment at the lobby. Service was good at all of the bars.
We'd like to return next year so we're hoping that the anticipated influx of American tourists won't cause unreasonable price increases.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Another great trip to Paradisus Rio De Oro (PRDO)"

Paradisus Río de Oro
User Rating:  Paradisus Río de Oro Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Canuks  on Jan 1, 2016  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2015 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
78 people found this review helpful

Another great trip to Paradisus Rio De Oro (PRDO) (Holguin) Dec 15 to 22nd 2015. This was a Sunwing vacation and from the start in Toronto until our return all was really nice.

This was our 8th trip to Cuba’s PRDO & 17 years of visiting this Island. So I keep wondering will this trip be as good as the last and might this be our last trip here for a while…..

Well, ...... the staff could not have been nicer; they are professional and welcoming. The summer of 2015 with the pool renovations was very difficult for the working staff. I have experienced at other places where a staff become soured with such adversity of overwork and layoffs. This was not the case here. Wait staff such as Llenma at Royal Service after a season of minimal work was cheery, happy and had an infectious way of making you feel great. Her husband is a farmer and the one day she came in after a rain was doing a modest “Happy Dance” saying with a big smile ear to ear “We are going to have corn”….her passion and attitude brought a smile, despite the grey sky. Intentional or just her nature she had a way of making a good day become better.

There are a lot of people that have added extra value to our vacation. Sometimes it is the staff remembering things such as we enjoy Tonic water in our fridge or ‘agua con-gas’ at our meal and almost like magic for the whole week it is there. I do truly marvel at their ability to remember details and the staff’s professionalism!!! Add to that the ability of the staff just being themselves, saying hello/hola sharing a smile that makes everything so exceptional.


Additional Notes

There are so very many people that made this trip once again amazing and to their credit ....this will not be our last trip back. But a few not already mentioned I want to give our hear-filled thanks as they really made the trip exactly what we needed: Dunieski Sarmiento Mendéz ~ Customer Service, Lina Cordovez Lorenzo ~ Royal Service Manager, Sarah Jeisy Melo, plus Edgar, Jorge & Taimi from the Royal Service.
There are so many places to see and with vacations as important as they are to us it is a difficult decision to either see other places or come back to a place that you know you get great value. We entered this trip wondering if it was our last – only as we have been here so many times. Well, ..... by the end we realized there may be some other destinations in the future but we will be back to PRDO again soon.

Room Number:
Royal Service

Arrival:
The Hotel

It is still well maintained overall. The renovations and refurbishing of the rooms in the main hotel are ongoing but offer minimal disruption to the everyday activities of the hotel and aside from seeing the occasional pile of broken bathroom tiles outside a room under renovations – it would not have even been noticed.
The updated pool & adjoining restaurant “La Laguna” appear complete (shy of a few seats at the pool bar) and it looks great. The removal of the covered beds on the ocean side of the pool allows for great sight lines of the ocean for all around the pool. Really happy they tiled the area that was once a rock waterfall area – wow it really looks good. The renovations aside from being functional refresh the areas look.

The lounge chairs on the north & east side of the main pool are remarkably comfortable. The Royal Section has nice looking loungers but not nearly as comfortable as the white ones with the blue beds. We did see a few ‘orphan towels’....but it was much better on this trip.
The removal of one of the pool tables close to the main Lobby Bar “Palma Real” allows for a lot more space in this area and is a great improvement. They still need to work, in my opinion, on the main stage area and seating...but this small change is commendable. The lighting on the pre-main show area needs to be reviewed as the lights do not focus on the amazing talent they offer. Each and every night we were in this area the talent was something to enjoy. From amazing singers like Dulce Maria Lopez to guitarist Fifo I was totally astonished at the professional quality of these entertainers which in other venues would have warranted a standing ovation.
Hint, hint .....I would love it if the Royal Service would inherit one of the pool tables ... maybe put it in the TV room.

Rooms:
The rooms (Royal)
Clean, spacious, well maintained - all in a word - GREAT

Restaurants and Bars:
Food

The only disappointment on this trip was the food. If we had never been before I think we would have been quite content but we have experienced much better in the past. The main buffet is consistently good to good plus (Rolando your marinated chicken is remarkable)....but the Royal was missing that ‘something’ that made us rave on previous trips. The servers at the Royal were amazing, each and every one; it was the food that was good but not remarkable as on previous trips. We actually had to ask them not to deep fry the bacon

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Grounds

In the Royal area there has been a lot of underbrush cleaning – allows for good breeze to come through areas otherwise a bit warm and sight lines are greatly improved. There seemed to be more butterflies in these area also – bonus. I understand that there is a problem with the Hibiscus and maybe why there is a restructuring of some of the gardens. Both the main hotel and the Royal look postcard worthy everywhere. One small sad point in the Royal Section at the lookout there was always fresh fruit – a nice perk on the walk to the beach ~ none there on this trip and it almost appeared by the path that this route was maybe being phased out as the upkeep was subpar.

There use to be an informal path in at the east end of the ocean walk (main hotel) that allowed someone to join back to the paved path close to the (?) bldg 23/25. It seems to be gone. It is such a nice walk it would be nice if that could groomed so guests could take advantage of the spectacular views along this path, an alternate route between the beach and lobby.
There are cats back at the resort, yea!......We have not seen any since Hurricane Sandy. It is nice to see but management and travel reps really need to impress on the tourists that the cats are nice to look at but important NOT TO FEED. They were not pests at all for us, but feral cats need to do their job and eating human food is not what a good hotel cat should do, but they will if someone offers them free food.
The Botanical Garden area it is quite nice and often missed by many of the guests as it is off the main part of the hotel. Only comment here is the iguana needs a larger enclosure as s/he is much bigger now, but it does look healthy and content.
The craft vendor area by the pool has been improved, still a bit sub-par to the resort, but an improvement.

The path to the cigar store is still one of my favorite looking areas. I wish the hotel would entertain the idea of making the area adjacent to the bank appear like the cigar store path. Currently the space where the reps reside and a couple of vendors seems cluttered and uninviting and if not for using the bank, I would not venture down that area.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Travel Rep

We had a fellow called Angel as our Sunwing rep. He was by far one of the best reps we have ever had while in Cuba. If you travel with Sunwing or not I would seek him out for advice.

The SPA

Normally we would use the spa, but with the Canadian dollar so bad the prices were far too high; a good 30% – 40% higher than here in Canada for a massage.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great first time visit to the Paradisus Rio de Oro"

Paradisus Río de Oro
User Rating:  Paradisus Río de Oro Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Art  on Oct 28, 2015  >  7 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2015 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
95 people found this review helpful

This was our first but not our last visit to the Paradisus de Oro in Holguin. We heard a lot about this adults only resort and wanted to give it a try. The weather was great and the resort itself is well laid out with lots of areas for group or private settings. For context we are retired empty nesters in our early 60’s and have enjoyed many trips to Cuba, all at various AI’s. This trip was from Oct 13th to Oct 20th, 2015.

Room Block:
39

Arrival:
Our check in was a bit slower than expected but when we did make it to the counter you didn’t feel rushed through the process. Just a note if you check in late, there is no snack bar open however room service is available. I can’t comment on it though as we didn’t use it.

Rooms:
We stayed in the regular section and were very happy with our upper corner room. It was comfortable with quiet air conditioning, hot water and decent water pressure for showers. The maid did a good job keeping it clean. The room was centrally located and convenient to either the main lobby where the restaurants and most facilities are located or to the pool and beach area.

Restaurants and Bars:
I understand the resort was only 50% booked so it was never crowded and the service tended to be pretty good throughout the resort with the only exception being the lobby bar. The bar itself was very busy at times but if you went to the bar you didn’t wait that long for your order to be taken. However if you sat in the areas around the bar expecting service, (and there was wait staff) that would be hit or miss. And in our case, usually miss. On one occasion when we just came from dinner we curious to see how long it would take to get served and were ignored for 40 minutes. We did end up getting our drink but that was because I went to the bar myself and was served instantly. Not exactly what I would have expected at a 5 star resort.

The food was great. I found the buffet to be above average with excellent variety and impossible to sample it all. The a la carts were excellent with nice decor and great food. The only place we didn’t visit was the Japanese, but when asked people said it was great too. For us lunch was always at the Ranchon as we usually stay near the beach. Again good food with local entertainment and if you like roast pig, Fridays are Cuban day and for lunch that’s what we had. It was very tasty. On our last day we were at the pool restaurant and found it equally as good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is where we spent most of our time. I understand that normally the Paradisus end of the beach is usually rocky so water shoes are recommended but we were lucky. A recent storm put sand over what used to be coral going into the water. We are big into snorkelling and this resort did not disappoint. If you swim towards the wedding gazebo then out a little bit there were lots of coral outcroppings to see a good variety of fish. We usually snorkel first thing in the morning as we noticed (as with many places we go) the water tends to get a bit rougher as the day wears on.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
In the evening there was entertainment in the main lobby which is not far from the show stage however because we tend to be up early we didn’t see many of the shows as we usually crashed by then. One feature we noted was the proximity of the stage to the lobby bar and sitting areas. Meaning if you wanted to catch some of the show but didn’t really want to leave where you relaxing or chatting, you didn’t have to.

Other Comments:
The resort did spray every evening for mosquitoes but they were still around so I would recommend keeping your mosquitoes spray on hand. Also paid wifi is available in the lobby and close to the bars at the pool and beach and seemed to work well for us.

Would we go back? Definitely! It was certainly one of the nicest resort we’ve been to and our first 5 star but maybe to get the full 5 star effect we would have needed to use the Royal and Spa services, which we did not. What we did get though was exactly the vacation we needed at this time, and there’s not much more you can ask for.

Lastly, if you look up my channel on YouTube (MrJarArt) I’ll be posting a few videos of this resort soon and add to my collection of other Cuban resorts we’ve been to.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Thank you again for another great vacation ~ Dec 2014"

Paradisus Río de Oro
User Rating:  Paradisus Río de Oro Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Canuks  on Jan 10, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2014 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
211 people found this review helpful

We travelled again with AirCanada Rouge out of Toronto, Ontario. On all accounts, other than the weather, all was once again wonderful. We are return guests and this our 7th time to PRDO. But have been visiting this wonderful Island for 16 years.

Overall Review: Once again an excellent vacation and a worthy resort for another trip soon.

With the weather being so-so and with the increasing number of contacts we have made over the years we ventured off property a lot this trip. The hotel is great offering us box lunches and water for off property trips. I offer a big ‘thank you’ to Luis Perez, our taxi driver for excellent service (52 61 41123). In Holguin we tried a new restaurant called El Aldbon – we would not recommend it. Food was acceptable, but the cost (73 CUC for 3 people – lunch) and the ambiance of the place was lacklustre at best. Last trip we very much enjoyed a memorable dining experience at 1910 & for a total bill of (CUC) 20.10 for 4 people we were impressed with the location, food and the overall quality of the experience.

Back to the resort ..... . This trip we did notice a few changes. There was lots of familiar staff, but the turn-over seemed higher than on previous trip – especially with chamber maids. While our room was clean and tidy...the little extras that we had become use to seeing were not there. For example the towel art was boring, just hearts & baskets, often no fresh flowers were not placed in the glasses or vase(s) and the turn-down service was really poor (not taking away used plates or exchanging dirty towels)! There use to be book marks, little notes, flowers or chocolates, and when supplies were low something was done that would make us smile when we returned to our room. These personal touches were not there this visit. Not a complaint as the daytime staff did keep the area clean, just not the ‘extra’s’ that we had been accustom to receiving.

Room Block:
Royal Service

Arrival:
December 6 to 14 2014.

Rooms:
The Rooms We were in The Royal Section....and cannot speak of the renovations at the main resort which is ongoing to modernize the rooms. Our room was large, clean, well maintained and other than the screen door on the balcony that kept falling out, no complaints worthy of mentioning specific to our room. I thank the staff and management for honouring our wishes NOT to use any perfumes or pesticides while we were there in our room. By the end of the week we (yea!) had a small gecko that visited us. (A real plus for me.)

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants:
We did not use many of the al a carte this trip. We quite enjoyed our Royal Service restaurant, Los Helechos. It has superb food & great servers and we used it for many of our meals. We also enjoy the variety and food quality at the PRDO buffet La Ceiba for breakfast and dinner. At lunch we also enjoyed the Santa Maria’s and La Laguna’s food and treats (yummy ice cream). IMHO the best place for an espresso was the Royal Service Bar.

After all the trips we have taken we finally used the room service for a breakfast. It was very nice; the food was a good temperature, generous portion size and tasty.

The Lobby(s):
We really enjoy the openness and view from the Royal Service Lobby. I maintain the chairs are nice in photos but very uncomfortable to use if you are less than 6 feet tall as the seats are too deep and therefore offer no back support. The cushions while clean have very little cushioning. The bar is a nice area to sit but the oversized deep chairs are not comfortable, but are at this time the only choice. It would be nice if they supplemented the area with a few café style tables and chairs. I would also like to see a pool table in the area, maybe in the old cigar room or in the area close to the internet room.

The main PRDO lobby I am repeating myself from previous reviews needs help. They have resurfaced and cleaned up and were painting the ceilings sadly not natural, but white while we were there. A huge job, but the space is still the same. The walkway to the cigar shop is wonderful. Take that theme and modify the stage (maybe even move it to the end of that space and turn it to face the bar) and main lobby bar to represent a street scene. Bring in the vendors, now stuck down by the bank and incorporate them into a shop like area. For me the whole area is unworthy of the rest of the resort and is tired and uninviting. I like the water feature as you come in and the alley to the cigar shop but in between needs some rethinking. To a new visitor it probably would be okay.... and certainly would not leave a bad impression, but it is not representative the quality of the rest of the resort.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The property is maintained well and the groundskeepers have really accomplished a very high standard of care for the property. The nursery area has been spruced up & is a nice touch as it has been modified a bit so now there are more than just plants to see, a mock village area. The only complaint here is the iguana really needs a much larger space to enjoy and at times to hide if needed.

I still think there should be a few more chairs/benches that people can sit en-route to the beach or along the pathways to be able to just pause and soak in all the property. (the seats along the water’s edge pathway to the Royal beach while nice, IMHO should be on the other side of path to be usable ....no one wants to place their feet into the brush (unkempt areas).)

At Meila Cayo Guillermo they made a mock village area for the craft people to sell their wares. It had a unified look and even when no one there it is nice area to view. Maybe something like that could be reviewed for the craft area. The area has been cleaned up since our last trip, but in the future maybe an idea to copy.
We really like the changes made around the main pool, much nicer to the eye to see the open spaces. I am still confused about the hammocks dangling below the Gazebo closest to the main beach. Low or high tide, no idea who, or how they could be used. I guess a mystery or two is good to have while on vacation.

I really like the idea of a pier at the main beach, both for preservation of the coral, and also for ease of getting into the water low or high tide. I think the only way they will ultimately have success with a pier off the beach is if they build a very large crib of stones or vessel filled with concrete at the ultimate end point and build off of that back to shore. The way it appears to be going now I think will have limited, if any success.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Entertainment: The pre dinner entertainment was wonderful. Thank you and please continue with the one or 2 artists pre main show. It is enjoyable the variety and the quality of what we heard were excellent. One comment on the theme one evening of The ‘White Night” – I have no clue WHAT it was all about..... It was creepy at times, way too long and very confusing, for me not entertaining at all. But some people did like it..... Not to take away from the skill of the performers (they were remarkable) it was just odd.

Other Comments:
In Closing
We would like to say “Thank you” to all, including the new manager Jean Marc Rousseau for an excellent vacation. You treat us like good friends and as people like Dunieski, Sarah and others keep saying to us. “You are like family”. The staff at Paradisus Rio de Oro makes us feel very welcome and that they are there to ensure our up-most enjoyment in our vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"What a fantatic place to holiday."

Paradisus Río de Oro
User Rating:  Paradisus Río de Oro Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Doug  on Nov 10, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
171 people found this review helpful

My wife and I returned for our 4th time and are already planning on going back. Remembering that this is Cuba, it is 5 star all the way. But the real reason we are returning is because of the staff. From Roberto at the beach restaurant to Nacy at the pool restaurant, to Arasay, Alex, Rolando, Maria and Lizabett at the Buffet restaurant we were served with friendship and grace. Then there were the bartenders -- Louis and Leo at the beach, Chang and Louis at the pool bar, and Ludmila, Katia, Osmani, William C and the crew at the main lobby bar, they all took time to look after us royally. The girls the activities desk were fantastic. Aya, Anabel, Elizabeth, and Dunia made sure we had scuba bookings, clean towels, great entertainment etc. all with smiles. The total entertainment was wonderful. Our maid Marbelis was the best and Sylvio the gardener is so friendly. We even had chats with Jean Mark the general manager. The food is also fantastic. I am a scuba diver and even this is included.

Room Number:
24 (3424)

Room Block:
34

Arrival:
Arrived on Oct. 21 about 11:30. They even had the buffet open for us. Had champagne and cold face cloths upon arrival and the golf cart driver delivered us right to the room.

Rooms:
Clean, updated and very comfortable.

Restaurants and Bars:
Superb service, food and drinks.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Snorkeling at the beach is great. Scuba included. Hobby cats, paddle boats, kayaks all available. The palapas and lounges readily available through the staff. Great service. Grounds are impeccable.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots of activities. Guided tours of the surroundings are wonderful and very inexpensive. A horse and buggy ride into Guradalavaca or the nearby countryside romantic and fun. We got to meet the locals and see their homes. Take candy, toys, clothes etc to give away and help them out as much as you can.

Other Comments:
Will definitely be returning. The staff remember us by name now when we return and is very much like family.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent resort! Total relaxation and satisfaction!"

Paradisus Río de Oro
User Rating:  Paradisus Río de Oro Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Asya  on Mar 15, 2014  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
253 people found this review helpful

Our stay at Paradisus Rio de Oro was excellent. We really enjoyed the resort and all its amenities. Facilities are excellent, food is superb, and the atmosphere is very relaxing - perfect for a romantic gataway. Highly recommended! Please read my detailed review with pictures at my blog: http://travelmaniacx-mytravels.blogspot.ca/2014/03/paradisus-rio-de-oro-resort-spa-holguin.html

Photos: http://travelmaniacx-mytravels.blogspot.ca/2014/03/paradisus-rio-de-oro-resort-spa-holguin.html

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube