Melia Varadero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Melia Varadero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 27, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.4 based on 31 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2016

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 40 reviews
Last reviewed May 21, 2015

Melia Varadero  

Ctra de Las Morlas, Varadero
(Varadero Maps)

"Relaxing Beach vacation"
Posted by: Mark  on Feb 28, 2016
see all reviews

Melia Varadero Reviews
Melia Varadero Pictures and Information
Melia Varadero Varadero Cuba

#27
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.1

Based on 18 reviews

Melia Varadero Information


Excellent choice for the all-inclusive holiday of a lifetime! This five star resort offers something for everyone, from golf through watersports to secluded beach spots.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Melia Varadero Reviews

Melia Varadero Review: 4.1 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  4
Average
  3
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (11)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 18

"Relaxing Beach vacation"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mark  on Feb 28, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2016 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
82 people found this review helpful

We both really enjoyed our stay at the Melia Varadero.
The upgrade to the Level was worth the extra money as we had a great ocean view and the room was nicely decorated. The resort it self was amazing, nicely landscaped, great freeform pool with plenty of trees for shade yet lots of space to get sun as well. We did take advantage of some of the Level perks, room service, lunch at the Las Reses, snacks and drinks from the lounge and the WIFI (although that seemed limited), and the minibar in the room, which was restocked daily.
The beach area for the Level should just be eliminated as it is on a section of ‘beach’ not even usable, but the main beach is amazing.
I would highly recommend the Melia Varadero to anyone looking for a relaxing vacation and would not hesitate to return.
Thanks for a great vacation.

Room Number:
5309

Rooms:
We up graded to the level and had a nicely remodeled room with an awesome ocean view.

Restaurants and Bars:
We found the buffet to have a really good selection of food and the service was great.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Amazing beach, great pool lots of loungers on multiple levels of patio with a good mix of sun and shade. Even had a waitress come around from time to time if you didn't want to walk the 20m to the pool bar.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"traditional and great"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  rosemary  on Jul 17, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
214 people found this review helpful

The best holiday I have had and the best accommodation I have stayed in Varadero because it is not my first time in this city, I have been here once but this is my first time in Melia Varadero and it is worth the hype. Everything in this resort is beautiful, well maintained and I think pristine is the word I am using to describe the resort. The environment of the hotel is breathtaking and I was fortunate enough to pik this hotel. The rooms had this Cuban feel, it wasn’t modern but not in a bad way, it was clean and had everything that you could possibly need during your stay so that was what I wanted. I wanted a traditional and Cuban feel and that was what I got. My room had an ocean view that was mind blowing and I stayed on the fourth floor. The view from my room was just amazing; I can’t begin to describe how I felt when I first saw the view, the palm trees, the pool and ocean view were all amazing. The food was excellent just what you would expect from such a 5 star hotel, the buffet was something else and they had varieties, it was getting better by the minute and I loved it. The animation staff was energizing and very active, had activities in line for us to partake in. They had shows in the evening and night to complete the day, it was a great experience for me. I recommend this hotel, it is worth visiting.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Another disappointing holiday"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Elaine  on May 23, 2012  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2012 | Wedding | With Group
359 people found this review helpful

We were at the Melia Varadero from May 12th to the 19th. I will NOT be going back. I have been four other times to Cuba. The first 3 were outstanding and the people exceptionally friendly and treated us well. Not so at the Melia. We were ignored by the staff at the buffet and you had to ask for service because the staff was busy "socializing". The food was terrible at the buffet. The A la Carte restaurants were okay, but not the quality we are used to. The food at the 24 hour "Cafeteria" was worse than terrible. We each ordered a different pizza and we each got the same. I could not eat it. Tasted like cardboard with I don’t know what on it. Gross. The one A la Carte we did enjoy was the Trinidad both at lunch and dinner and the waiter who took care of us at that restaurant was fantastic.

Check-in was a nightmare. We had a busload arrive and one person to check you in and that person did not seem to know what she was doing. Each check-in was a huge issue and discussion. I booked an upgraded room with a King bed. They had me in a regular with twin beds. Only because I insisted did they rectify that situation. It took them 2 hours to book in the group we were travelling with.

The pool was fantastic and the service at all the bars was great also. I found the beach to be too far a walk to get to where you could get into the water without rocks and to get to the chairs, you had to climb a wall of sand so I preferred to stay at the pool. Also, no bathroom. You had to go back to the Resort.

We were at Iberostar Ensenachos in January, February this year and although the place was beautiful, and the people wonderful, again, the food was terrible. If you want to go to Cuba I suggest Playa Costa Verde. Best food in all my travels and the people also. The same can be said for Iberostar Daiquiri.

Room Number:
5303

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good for foreigners.."

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  yoandry martinez  on Apr 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
393 people found this review helpful

On arrival at the Melia Varadero hotel we were told we only had one room booked which was not the case..we had two...then after confirming that (they need to learn the customer is always right)we go up to our room and find that the room second room had people still staying in it...so I went downstairs and told them so...they gave us another two rooms...when we got to the second set of rooms they were both a total mess..this was an insult! how could they give me a room that was still flipped upside down n not ready...i would not have minded if i had to wait until 3 p.m. when it was check-in time but give me a room that is good-to-go! so i went back downstairs and had to get bitchy....turns out our third set of rooms was the lucky one! the room was nice ((warning: you have to place your room key in a slot by the door for the a.c. & lights to work)) ....overall...even though the first day was a mess with the rooms not being ready , the property was nice..the food was good ((the restaurant "las reses" was awesome, GREAT service)) if you give a nice little tip service is even better....when they clean your room they don't do a very good job though...they practically just strecth the sheets n thats all..the beach was nice but did have a bit of rocks, the other side on the right side of the property is better...I was born in the U.S. but my parents are Cuban...my sole purpose for this trip was to meet my father in law and take him places..the staff there treats Cubans that still live on the island like CRAP...i had to get snappy...i paid for that vacation and paid it well, they have no right to give me or my family attitude for no reason....at the end of our vacation we had to turn in the towel papers and they also gave attitude over that...I had to set them straight once again...my best deal was to speak solely in english with the staff, its the only way they wouldn't get snappy..its good for foreigners..not so much for Cubans....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a 5 star hotel - max. 2 star"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ivo  on Jul 13, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) CZECH REPUBLIC
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
450 people found this review helpful

Very old hotel, necessary reconstuction. Spa and haircut is very dirty. Never again

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome beach"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Vanessa Moreno  on Jun 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
515 people found this review helpful

The rooms are nice and our view had water view even I had an estandar room. The TV volume didn't work. I called 2 times and went once to front desk. A tecnic check it once and told us he'd be back. He didn't. We went on a wendsday to make reservation for a la carte restaurant. the lady was I guess in a bad day and she said there was nothing available until sat at 9.30 pm.because the work regarding occupation. The restaurants were almost empty every time he passed by. The buffet: the food is not replace often. it closes at 10.30 for breakfast but I guess if you arrive at 10 the server is rashing and told us, not mimosa, you have to come earlier. Dinner food wasn't great but We had Ismael as a server and he made susch a great job that we didn't care about food. He was Great and very proud of his job. The ice-cream was great too. Another tome we experienced great service was with the guys in the paella restaurant, next to the pool, the guys were awasome. The entreteiment group are great as well and the caribean show was fantastic. Our housekeeper did a great job, I think she was Elena.
Overoll the Hotel is very nice, have a great beach, and the food is like a 3 stars hotel. If you are a traveller that stays in 5 stars hotel in other countries is not a hotel for you. But if you only travel in Cuba maybe is a 5 Stars there.

Room Number:
1413

Rooms:
Very nice

Restaurants and Bars:
See above

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beach

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
See above

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"El mejor hotel de varadero"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  ileana  on May 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: May, 2011 | Party | Solo
513 people found this review helpful

Me ha encantado es la mejor experiencia que he tenido a pesar de ser uno de los hoteles mas antiguos saben aprovechar muy bien la experiencia me han encantado los restaurantes especializados en especial trinidad cena fue estupenda la comida y los espectaculos estubieron a la altura de broadway muy profesional!!! felicitaciones

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worth every penny: clean, friendly, varied, comfortable, good food"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Hans Dekkers  on Mar 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
483 people found this review helpful

First night in Varadero I stayed in the International Varadero Hotel. That didn't really do it for me. I was very happy with the choice to move to Melio Varadero. Wonderful service, very relaxed, very clean. Food was tremendous. Lot of choices in food and entertainment. Nice evening shows. Bit oriented at families, but even for a solo traveler quite worth staying. I really relaxed and gladly would have stayed longer.

Room Number:
1713

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best!"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  LIENA  on Feb 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
502 people found this review helpful

It is the best place I have been at. My husband loved it and I loved it too. I would like to go back to stay longer and enjoy this hotel until the last minute. I encourage people to stay at this hotel. The best attention to the guest and gently staff. The best !

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel is great, food was good, but I think ONCE is plenty for a visit to Cuba"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  nimi  on Jan 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
501 people found this review helpful

In general, I think the hotel, the people and the food were all good. This hotel is old and it shows. We took a full day tour of Havana from Sun wing agent. In this tour, it was a unique experience of having your first stop at a massive grave site. Personally, I found Cuba boring --- I think next time I want to see a communist country then China is going to be my first choice. I don't think I would visit Cuba again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube