Melia Varadero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Melia Varadero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.5 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 22, 2012

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.4 based on 26 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 18, 2014

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel

4.3 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 25, 2014

Melia Varadero  

Ctra de Las Morlas, Varadero
(Varadero Maps)

"traditional and great"
Posted by: rosemary on Jul 17, 2014
see all reviews

Melia Varadero Reviews
Melia Varadero Pictures and Information
Melia Varadero Varadero Cuba

#31
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.1

Based on 17 reviews

Melia Varadero Information


Excellent choice for the all-inclusive holiday of a lifetime! This five star resort offers something for everyone, from golf through watersports to secluded beach spots.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Melia Varadero Reviews

Melia Varadero Review: 4.1 of 5 17 reviews
Excellent
  8
Very good
  4
Average
  3
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (10)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 17

"traditional and great"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  rosemary  on Jul 17, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
17 people found this review helpful

The best holiday I have had and the best accommodation I have stayed in Varadero because it is not my first time in this city, I have been here once but this is my first time in Melia Varadero and it is worth the hype. Everything in this resort is beautiful, well maintained and I think pristine is the word I am using to describe the resort. The environment of the hotel is breathtaking and I was fortunate enough to pik this hotel. The rooms had this Cuban feel, it wasn’t modern but not in a bad way, it was clean and had everything that you could possibly need during your stay so that was what I wanted. I wanted a traditional and Cuban feel and that was what I got. My room had an ocean view that was mind blowing and I stayed on the fourth floor. The view from my room was just amazing; I can’t begin to describe how I felt when I first saw the view, the palm trees, the pool and ocean view were all amazing. The food was excellent just what you would expect from such a 5 star hotel, the buffet was something else and they had varieties, it was getting better by the minute and I loved it. The animation staff was energizing and very active, had activities in line for us to partake in. They had shows in the evening and night to complete the day, it was a great experience for me. I recommend this hotel, it is worth visiting.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Another disappointing holiday"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Elaine  on May 23, 2012  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2012 | Wedding | With Group
165 people found this review helpful

We were at the Melia Varadero from May 12th to the 19th. I will NOT be going back. I have been four other times to Cuba. The first 3 were outstanding and the people exceptionally friendly and treated us well. Not so at the Melia. We were ignored by the staff at the buffet and you had to ask for service because the staff was busy "socializing". The food was terrible at the buffet. The A la Carte restaurants were okay, but not the quality we are used to. The food at the 24 hour "Cafeteria" was worse than terrible. We each ordered a different pizza and we each got the same. I could not eat it. Tasted like cardboard with I don’t know what on it. Gross. The one A la Carte we did enjoy was the Trinidad both at lunch and dinner and the waiter who took care of us at that restaurant was fantastic.

Check-in was a nightmare. We had a busload arrive and one person to check you in and that person did not seem to know what she was doing. Each check-in was a huge issue and discussion. I booked an upgraded room with a King bed. They had me in a regular with twin beds. Only because I insisted did they rectify that situation. It took them 2 hours to book in the group we were travelling with.

The pool was fantastic and the service at all the bars was great also. I found the beach to be too far a walk to get to where you could get into the water without rocks and to get to the chairs, you had to climb a wall of sand so I preferred to stay at the pool. Also, no bathroom. You had to go back to the Resort.

We were at Iberostar Ensenachos in January, February this year and although the place was beautiful, and the people wonderful, again, the food was terrible. If you want to go to Cuba I suggest Playa Costa Verde. Best food in all my travels and the people also. The same can be said for Iberostar Daiquiri.

Room Number:
5303

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good for foreigners.."

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  yoandry martinez  on Apr 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
192 people found this review helpful

On arrival at the Melia Varadero hotel we were told we only had one room booked which was not the case..we had two...then after confirming that (they need to learn the customer is always right)we go up to our room and find that the room second room had people still staying in it...so I went downstairs and told them so...they gave us another two rooms...when we got to the second set of rooms they were both a total mess..this was an insult! how could they give me a room that was still flipped upside down n not ready...i would not have minded if i had to wait until 3 p.m. when it was check-in time but give me a room that is good-to-go! so i went back downstairs and had to get bitchy....turns out our third set of rooms was the lucky one! the room was nice ((warning: you have to place your room key in a slot by the door for the a.c. & lights to work)) ....overall...even though the first day was a mess with the rooms not being ready , the property was nice..the food was good ((the restaurant "las reses" was awesome, GREAT service)) if you give a nice little tip service is even better....when they clean your room they don't do a very good job though...they practically just strecth the sheets n thats all..the beach was nice but did have a bit of rocks, the other side on the right side of the property is better...I was born in the U.S. but my parents are Cuban...my sole purpose for this trip was to meet my father in law and take him places..the staff there treats Cubans that still live on the island like CRAP...i had to get snappy...i paid for that vacation and paid it well, they have no right to give me or my family attitude for no reason....at the end of our vacation we had to turn in the towel papers and they also gave attitude over that...I had to set them straight once again...my best deal was to speak solely in english with the staff, its the only way they wouldn't get snappy..its good for foreigners..not so much for Cubans....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a 5 star hotel - max. 2 star"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ivo  on Jul 13, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) CZECH REPUBLIC
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
259 people found this review helpful

Very old hotel, necessary reconstuction. Spa and haircut is very dirty. Never again

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome beach"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Vanessa Moreno  on Jun 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
318 people found this review helpful

The rooms are nice and our view had water view even I had an estandar room. The TV volume didn't work. I called 2 times and went once to front desk. A tecnic check it once and told us he'd be back. He didn't. We went on a wendsday to make reservation for a la carte restaurant. the lady was I guess in a bad day and she said there was nothing available until sat at 9.30 pm.because the work regarding occupation. The restaurants were almost empty every time he passed by. The buffet: the food is not replace often. it closes at 10.30 for breakfast but I guess if you arrive at 10 the server is rashing and told us, not mimosa, you have to come earlier. Dinner food wasn't great but We had Ismael as a server and he made susch a great job that we didn't care about food. He was Great and very proud of his job. The ice-cream was great too. Another tome we experienced great service was with the guys in the paella restaurant, next to the pool, the guys were awasome. The entreteiment group are great as well and the caribean show was fantastic. Our housekeeper did a great job, I think she was Elena.
Overoll the Hotel is very nice, have a great beach, and the food is like a 3 stars hotel. If you are a traveller that stays in 5 stars hotel in other countries is not a hotel for you. But if you only travel in Cuba maybe is a 5 Stars there.

Room Number:
1413

Rooms:
Very nice

Restaurants and Bars:
See above

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beach

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
See above

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"El mejor hotel de varadero"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  ileana  on May 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: May, 2011 | Party | Solo
277 people found this review helpful

Me ha encantado es la mejor experiencia que he tenido a pesar de ser uno de los hoteles mas antiguos saben aprovechar muy bien la experiencia me han encantado los restaurantes especializados en especial trinidad cena fue estupenda la comida y los espectaculos estubieron a la altura de broadway muy profesional!!! felicitaciones

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worth every penny: clean, friendly, varied, comfortable, good food"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Hans Dekkers  on Mar 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
288 people found this review helpful

First night in Varadero I stayed in the International Varadero Hotel. That didn't really do it for me. I was very happy with the choice to move to Melio Varadero. Wonderful service, very relaxed, very clean. Food was tremendous. Lot of choices in food and entertainment. Nice evening shows. Bit oriented at families, but even for a solo traveler quite worth staying. I really relaxed and gladly would have stayed longer.

Room Number:
1713

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best!"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  LIENA  on Feb 11, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
310 people found this review helpful

It is the best place I have been at. My husband loved it and I loved it too. I would like to go back to stay longer and enjoy this hotel until the last minute. I encourage people to stay at this hotel. The best attention to the guest and gently staff. The best !

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel is great, food was good, but I think ONCE is plenty for a visit to Cuba"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  nimi  on Jan 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
306 people found this review helpful

In general, I think the hotel, the people and the food were all good. This hotel is old and it shows. We took a full day tour of Havana from Sun wing agent. In this tour, it was a unique experience of having your first stop at a massive grave site. Personally, I found Cuba boring --- I think next time I want to see a communist country then China is going to be my first choice. I don't think I would visit Cuba again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice Hotel, Gorgeous beach Would go back again "

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michael  on Apr 3, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
351 people found this review helpful

We traveled from February 13 to the 27th. The weather was not the best and as we found out in conversation with most of the locals we met, it was unusually cool and rainy for the season. It may have been the effect of El Nino on the Caribbean as most of our friends that traveled the same time to other countries experienced the same. Although this is our first review we are seasoned travelers having been to Cuba, The Dominican Republic, Mexico, Trinidad Tobago numerous times and have always enjoyed our travels and experiences.

If you are a picky eater or are expecting to eat MacDonald's or other fast foods, stay home. Most of the reviews we have read always seem to complain about the food, guess what... you are not in Canada anymore. Most of the Caribbean countries have different tasting vegetables, fruits and meat because of the conditions they are grown in. The best part of traveling is experiencing the different cuisines of the world.

So if you want to share our experience read on

Your Arrival:
Arrival was very smooth with an informative and entertaining 45 minute transfer from the airport with a few stops along they way at other resorts. Check in was quick with the bellman taking our bags up to the room. The hotel does have an earthy odor about it due to the atrium and the hanging vines that go from the top floor to the ground, most city people mistake this for musty moldy smell.

Rooms:
We stayed on the 4th floor 4500 wing and had a northeasterly partial Ocean view. The room as stated in other reviews is not large, but is very nice. The king size bed was as Caribbean usual - 2 twin beds put together. It was quite firm but after a couple of nights we never noticed it. The bathroom was small but laid out nicely with a very deep tub/shower. Lots of hot water all the time! Maid service was excellent with towel art everyday. We made sure to tip her in person and she was always most appreciating of the tip. We were above the Disco but the noise never kept us from falling asleep.

Restaurants and Bars:
There were 3 A La Carte restaurants - the Fuerteventura (International), the Las Reses (Steakhouse), The Oshin (Sundays Only)and the Trinidad (Seafood) and the main buffet- Las Habanas. we tried all 3 of the A la Cartes and found the Trinidad and the Fuerteventura to be the best, neither of us cared for the steakhouse. The Oshin, Chinese restaurant was a very pleasant surprise! The Trinidad was also available to dine for Lunch as well as a Paella restaurant that was open during good weather. There is also a snack bar on the beach that serves some basic foods, hamburger, hot dogs chicken. We ate there for most of our lunches when we were on the beach. The Las Habanas buffet was okay. There was always something on the buffet that was good as well as something not so good and as with most of the buffets we have ate at the food tended to be lukewarm. Such is the joy of eating at a buffet in a foreign country. The Guantanamera was the 24 hour snack bar the cappuccinos were a joke, they just used coffee from a 40 cup urn and added hot milk and foam, this was not what we came to expect of the fine Cuban Coffee. The food was typical snack bar fare and quality.

The pool bar was always fast with the drinks as was the beach bar, but the highlight of our trip was enjoying drinks before and after dinner at the Las Palmas Piano bar, Orfilio makes the best Mojitos ever.

The shows at the Showbar were first rate excellent real live singers and the dance troupe were better than at the Tropicana in Havana. After the shows the Tennerif bar opened as the Disco and ran till 2:00AM, We went one night and found it catering more towards the European crowd that was there, long lineups for drinks, and mostly European Techno music.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools and Grounds were always kept clean by the maintenance staff that were always out very early in the morning. I was amazed at the lack of respect the travelers from other countries had in regards to their garbage, most would leave the plastic cups, empty coconuts and whatever laying under and around their loungers attracting ants and other bugs, then complaining about getting bitten.

The beach was gorgeous, lots of sand to walk out on in the water, very little ocean growth (I wouldn't call it weeds). As with the other areas on the north coast of Cuba when a cold front comes in so do the Jellyfish, they ranged in size from 2cm to 15 cm with very long stinger strings 0.25m to 2m long. They were a blueish color and were fairly easy to spot on the beach and in the water. We did enjoy a number of mornings on the beach before the heavy clouds moved in.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took the Taxi to Vardero a couple of times for shopping and site seeing. We also took in the Havana/Tropicana tour, we really enjoyed the tour of Havana but were very disappointed with the Tropicana Show, we had t site at the very back with our backs to the stage with not enough room to move - definitely a waste of our time and money, all the shows at the resort rated much better.

We also did the Catamaran trip. This was also a waste of money, left the dock around 9:30am and cruised out to the Dolphin compound to "swim" with the dolphins. This was a laugh, all you do is put on a life jacket and stand on a platform as a dolphin is floated past you, and pecks you on the check. Then we were off to enjoy snorkeling after a 30 minute trip we stopped and were allowed to snorkel for all of 30 minutes, then we went to have lunch at Cayo Blanco. Lunch was good but after we just stayed there for around 2 hours on their beach, uh... we had one of those at our hotel. The crew was very entertaining, the catamaran was immaculately kept, lots of drinks, they just need to allow more time for snorkeling and cut back on the beach time.

Other Comments:
The maintenance guys gather coconuts and work the booth serving them to guests and are deserving of any tips given. We tipped generously (10 to 15 CUC a day) and found the personnel very welcoming of the money and we genuinely received a higher level of service as a result. This amount spread over the buffet servers, the maids, the A La Carte servers, the bartenders. This did not amount to a lot of money at the end of the trip but was an investment to our happiness traveling, think about it... when you go to a bar or out to dinner in Canada do you tip? So why not at an all inclusive resort?

In conclusion we did really enjoy our stay in spite of the disappointing excursions and the cool cloudy weather.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube