Melia Varadero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Melia Varadero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 27, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.3 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 19, 2017

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 40 reviews
Last reviewed May 21, 2015

Melia Varadero  

Ctra de Las Morlas, Varadero
(Varadero Maps)

"Relaxing Beach vacation"
Posted by: Mark  on Feb 28, 2016
see all reviews

Melia Varadero Reviews
Melia Varadero Pictures and Information
Melia Varadero Varadero Cuba

#27
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.1

Based on 18 reviews

Melia Varadero Information


Excellent choice for the all-inclusive holiday of a lifetime! This five star resort offers something for everyone, from golf through watersports to secluded beach spots.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Melia Varadero Reviews

Melia Varadero Review: 4.1 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  4
Average
  3
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (11)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 18

"Another disappointing holiday"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Elaine  on May 23, 2012  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2012 | Wedding | With Group
434 people found this review helpful

We were at the Melia Varadero from May 12th to the 19th. I will NOT be going back. I have been four other times to Cuba. The first 3 were outstanding and the people exceptionally friendly and treated us well. Not so at the Melia. We were ignored by the staff at the buffet and you had to ask for service because the staff was busy "socializing". The food was terrible at the buffet. The A la Carte restaurants were okay, but not the quality we are used to. The food at the 24 hour "Cafeteria" was worse than terrible. We each ordered a different pizza and we each got the same. I could not eat it. Tasted like cardboard with I don’t know what on it. Gross. The one A la Carte we did enjoy was the Trinidad both at lunch and dinner and the waiter who took care of us at that restaurant was fantastic.

Check-in was a nightmare. We had a busload arrive and one person to check you in and that person did not seem to know what she was doing. Each check-in was a huge issue and discussion. I booked an upgraded room with a King bed. They had me in a regular with twin beds. Only because I insisted did they rectify that situation. It took them 2 hours to book in the group we were travelling with.

The pool was fantastic and the service at all the bars was great also. I found the beach to be too far a walk to get to where you could get into the water without rocks and to get to the chairs, you had to climb a wall of sand so I preferred to stay at the pool. Also, no bathroom. You had to go back to the Resort.

We were at Iberostar Ensenachos in January, February this year and although the place was beautiful, and the people wonderful, again, the food was terrible. If you want to go to Cuba I suggest Playa Costa Verde. Best food in all my travels and the people also. The same can be said for Iberostar Daiquiri.

Room Number:
5303

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not a 5 star hotel - max. 2 star"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ivo  on Jul 13, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) CZECH REPUBLIC
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
522 people found this review helpful

Very old hotel, necessary reconstuction. Spa and haircut is very dirty. Never again

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hotel is great, food was good, but I think ONCE is plenty for a visit to Cuba"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  nimi  on Jan 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
578 people found this review helpful

In general, I think the hotel, the people and the food were all good. This hotel is old and it shows. We took a full day tour of Havana from Sun wing agent. In this tour, it was a unique experience of having your first stop at a massive grave site. Personally, I found Cuba boring --- I think next time I want to see a communist country then China is going to be my first choice. I don't think I would visit Cuba again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"overpriced "

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tom  on Aug 24, 2005  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2005
2561 people found this review helpful

Melia Varadero is a nice hotel but not 5 star, who rates cuban hotels? Friendlly staff, but way to expensive for Cuba

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Awesome beach"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Vanessa Moreno  on Jun 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ARGENTINA
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
586 people found this review helpful

The rooms are nice and our view had water view even I had an estandar room. The TV volume didn't work. I called 2 times and went once to front desk. A tecnic check it once and told us he'd be back. He didn't. We went on a wendsday to make reservation for a la carte restaurant. the lady was I guess in a bad day and she said there was nothing available until sat at 9.30 pm.because the work regarding occupation. The restaurants were almost empty every time he passed by. The buffet: the food is not replace often. it closes at 10.30 for breakfast but I guess if you arrive at 10 the server is rashing and told us, not mimosa, you have to come earlier. Dinner food wasn't great but We had Ismael as a server and he made susch a great job that we didn't care about food. He was Great and very proud of his job. The ice-cream was great too. Another tome we experienced great service was with the guys in the paella restaurant, next to the pool, the guys were awasome. The entreteiment group are great as well and the caribean show was fantastic. Our housekeeper did a great job, I think she was Elena.
Overoll the Hotel is very nice, have a great beach, and the food is like a 3 stars hotel. If you are a traveller that stays in 5 stars hotel in other countries is not a hotel for you. But if you only travel in Cuba maybe is a 5 Stars there.

Room Number:
1413

Rooms:
Very nice

Restaurants and Bars:
See above

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beach

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
See above

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"agradecida"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Patricia Castillo Solis  on Sep 8, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) CHILE
Visited on: Sep, 2006
744 people found this review helpful

He expresado otras veces lo agradecida de Varadero y del Melia. Estuve en Varadero en Abril y fue maravilloso, hermosa tierra y lindaa su gente, muy rica la comida del hotel. Pienso volver de nuevo. Gracias y los felicito. Patricia

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Couldn't have stayed at a better resort"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kim  on Feb 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
325 people found this review helpful

We have exclusively traveled the Caribbean but this is only our second time to Cuba, must stay it was a nice step up from where we had stayed before. Once again we flew with SunWing out of Sault Ste. Marie, ON had to make a diversion to Toronto on the way down only because the plumbing in the lavatory was plugged (guess they were the only ones could do the job right) we had a night time arrival so the hold up really wasn't that bad, besides for our inconvenience we were offered an alcoholic beverage free ( it's more then what most airlines would do) also they always offer up their standard meal and snacks ...so in no time we arrived at our destination

Your Arrival:
Very smooth arrival, we did notice however upon entering Cuba this time as opposed to our trip 3 years ago, they have something that monitors your temperature just before you go through customs and if it is elevated they will pull you aside and take you somewhere else away from the public, I'm not sure what happens after that, but they obviously aren't taking any chances the the H1N1 flu. Sunwing rep was there to put you on the appropriate bus. Check in was easy breezy, very professional and informative. Spoke english at check in very well.

Rooms:
Room was neat tidy and clean, of course beds were hard as usual, but doing the activities that we did during the day pretty much knocked you out anyway. Our maid Miyelina was a breath of fresh air and had a good grasp of the english language, so much so that one day when I was feeling under the weather for unknown reasons (definitely not food poisoning) she suggested I take a sprite from the minibar and add some salt to it. In a couple of hours I was actually able to smell food without wanting to vomit.

Restaurants and Bars:
No complaints whatsoever only that the main restaurant was to open at 7:30am the day of our departure and our bus was scheduled at the same time. Well of course in Cuba I knew the bus wasn't gonna be on time but we had counted on the restaurant opening at 7:30 so that while my husband waited with the luggage I could go and get us a plate of food to eat in the lobby while we waited. Well the bus wasn't on time (no surprise) but the restaurant didn't open at 7:30 either. So when I came back to the lobby for the 3rd time and announced to my husband that they still weren't opened at 7:45am, I could see the front desk manager pick up the phone and heard him say people were waiting the next thing you know the doors were open.

No problem booking our a la carte restaurant in fact the Seafood Trinidad Restaurant we had such a good time there that Carlos on of the head waiters that has been there 16 years personally invited us back every night if we wanted. I don't know if higher up management knows it or not but people like Carlos are invaluable and a tribute to the people of Cuba, because in the end that's the true Cuban spirit of this country. Another couple from Orillia were at the next table and they said it was their first time to Cuba and that they throughly were enjoying the country but especially the Cuban people like Carlos aka George Clooney (his wife doesn't think so though) so when staying at the Melia you definitely have to go pay Carlos a visit. He definitely knows how to capture the female audience that's for sure

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds were clean as were the pools and beaches. Did some snorkeling for 15 pesos right off the resort, that was pretty decent. Only about 3 different kind of fish though and some coral there. If we ever go back to Cuba they tell me Coral Beach is the place to snorkel, unfortunately we didn't find this out until the day before we were leaving and we had already booked for the Catamaran excursion (a must for first timers)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Definitely have to go to Havanna first time around, this was our second so we didn't, but tonnes of stuff to do on and around the resort itself, took the Cat excursion second time, can't get enough of snorkeling or Cayo Blanco. We asked if there was any good snorkeling on Cayo beach but the guy said there was no corals, so no fish, wish we hadn't of listened, as we made our way back beachcombing I spotted these neat long skinny fish,(later learned they call them needle fish) they were absolutely beautiful. As you may have guessed we live for snorkeling now, so Cozumel will be my next trip and of course back to the Mayan....specifcally Akumal Beach. If anyone knows of a resort on Cozumel where you can snorkel right off the beach or where the best place to go for snorkeling on Comzumel is, please contact me, I would be happy to hear from any fellow snorkelers and their finds

Other Comments:
Over all if there were any problems at this resort, all it took was a phone call and within minutes things were taken care of. My husband reminded me of one of his favourite things. Everyday before he would hit the beach he stopped into the "coconut hut" as he calls it, to get a fresh coconut opened up for him. The guy has a matchetti and just opens the topped of the coconut up to reveal a hole in the top, he hands you a straw and voila, fresh coconut milk. My honey is still missing them.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this resort to anyone, the entertainment team works very hard and does a good job...the workers are always smiling and hey don't forget to visit the well hidden restaurant by the pool for your own personally cooked Paella and some sangrias and watch out for the gecko who likes to run over your feet and make you scream !!! asta luego

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"traditional and great"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  rosemary  on Jul 17, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
295 people found this review helpful

The best holiday I have had and the best accommodation I have stayed in Varadero because it is not my first time in this city, I have been here once but this is my first time in Melia Varadero and it is worth the hype. Everything in this resort is beautiful, well maintained and I think pristine is the word I am using to describe the resort. The environment of the hotel is breathtaking and I was fortunate enough to pik this hotel. The rooms had this Cuban feel, it wasn’t modern but not in a bad way, it was clean and had everything that you could possibly need during your stay so that was what I wanted. I wanted a traditional and Cuban feel and that was what I got. My room had an ocean view that was mind blowing and I stayed on the fourth floor. The view from my room was just amazing; I can’t begin to describe how I felt when I first saw the view, the palm trees, the pool and ocean view were all amazing. The food was excellent just what you would expect from such a 5 star hotel, the buffet was something else and they had varieties, it was getting better by the minute and I loved it. The animation staff was energizing and very active, had activities in line for us to partake in. They had shows in the evening and night to complete the day, it was a great experience for me. I recommend this hotel, it is worth visiting.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good for foreigners.."

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  yoandry martinez  on Apr 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
474 people found this review helpful

On arrival at the Melia Varadero hotel we were told we only had one room booked which was not the case..we had two...then after confirming that (they need to learn the customer is always right)we go up to our room and find that the room second room had people still staying in it...so I went downstairs and told them so...they gave us another two rooms...when we got to the second set of rooms they were both a total mess..this was an insult! how could they give me a room that was still flipped upside down n not ready...i would not have minded if i had to wait until 3 p.m. when it was check-in time but give me a room that is good-to-go! so i went back downstairs and had to get bitchy....turns out our third set of rooms was the lucky one! the room was nice ((warning: you have to place your room key in a slot by the door for the a.c. & lights to work)) ....overall...even though the first day was a mess with the rooms not being ready , the property was nice..the food was good ((the restaurant "las reses" was awesome, GREAT service)) if you give a nice little tip service is even better....when they clean your room they don't do a very good job though...they practically just strecth the sheets n thats all..the beach was nice but did have a bit of rocks, the other side on the right side of the property is better...I was born in the U.S. but my parents are Cuban...my sole purpose for this trip was to meet my father in law and take him places..the staff there treats Cubans that still live on the island like CRAP...i had to get snappy...i paid for that vacation and paid it well, they have no right to give me or my family attitude for no reason....at the end of our vacation we had to turn in the towel papers and they also gave attitude over that...I had to set them straight once again...my best deal was to speak solely in english with the staff, its the only way they wouldn't get snappy..its good for foreigners..not so much for Cubans....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Resort"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Doc  on Mar 8, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
456 people found this review helpful

We initially wer to stay at Sirenis la salins for 2 weeks but were driven out bu the poor service, cold food,and lack of everything a 4 star should be. Our Air canada rep, after extensive phone calls got us into Melia Varadaro for our last week and of what a change.

Your Arrival:
Smooth, no questions asked, porter removed our luggage(for 4 persons) and delivered to our respective rooms after being issued key to safe(free) and towel vouchers.

Rooms:
Fairly small but quite comfortable. No screens on patio door but no bugs so not an issue. Out maid was really attentive and spoke perfect english greeting us the following morning with a welcome card.

Restaurants and Bars:
Main buffet was awsome. This is an 18 year old resort that looks in all respects to a full 5 star(actually 4.5) We guessed at 5 years old. Food was plentiful, hot and had variety. Attentive staff who welcomed you to every meal.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Excellent beach but due to heavy winds and surf we couldn't enjoy to its fullest

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't do

Other Comments:
Would recommend this resort in a New York minuet. 5 Floors served by 5 elevators,inside ponds with fish and a large turtle,in the central court with an abundance of greenery.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube