Melia Varadero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Melia Varadero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 27, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.3 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 19, 2017

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 40 reviews
Last reviewed May 21, 2015

Melia Varadero  

Ctra de Las Morlas, Varadero
(Varadero Maps)

"Relaxing Beach vacation"
Posted by: Mark  on Feb 28, 2016
see all reviews

Melia Varadero Reviews
Melia Varadero Pictures and Information
Melia Varadero Varadero Cuba

#27
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.1

Based on 18 reviews

Melia Varadero Information


Excellent choice for the all-inclusive holiday of a lifetime! This five star resort offers something for everyone, from golf through watersports to secluded beach spots.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Melia Varadero Reviews

Melia Varadero Review: 4.1 of 5 18 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  4
Average
  3
Poor
  2
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (11)
Party (1)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
11 - 18 of 18

"Nice Hotel, Gorgeous beach Would go back again "

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michael  on Apr 3, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
531 people found this review helpful

We traveled from February 13 to the 27th. The weather was not the best and as we found out in conversation with most of the locals we met, it was unusually cool and rainy for the season. It may have been the effect of El Nino on the Caribbean as most of our friends that traveled the same time to other countries experienced the same. Although this is our first review we are seasoned travelers having been to Cuba, The Dominican Republic, Mexico, Trinidad Tobago numerous times and have always enjoyed our travels and experiences.

If you are a picky eater or are expecting to eat MacDonald's or other fast foods, stay home. Most of the reviews we have read always seem to complain about the food, guess what... you are not in Canada anymore. Most of the Caribbean countries have different tasting vegetables, fruits and meat because of the conditions they are grown in. The best part of traveling is experiencing the different cuisines of the world.

So if you want to share our experience read on

Your Arrival:
Arrival was very smooth with an informative and entertaining 45 minute transfer from the airport with a few stops along they way at other resorts. Check in was quick with the bellman taking our bags up to the room. The hotel does have an earthy odor about it due to the atrium and the hanging vines that go from the top floor to the ground, most city people mistake this for musty moldy smell.

Rooms:
We stayed on the 4th floor 4500 wing and had a northeasterly partial Ocean view. The room as stated in other reviews is not large, but is very nice. The king size bed was as Caribbean usual - 2 twin beds put together. It was quite firm but after a couple of nights we never noticed it. The bathroom was small but laid out nicely with a very deep tub/shower. Lots of hot water all the time! Maid service was excellent with towel art everyday. We made sure to tip her in person and she was always most appreciating of the tip. We were above the Disco but the noise never kept us from falling asleep.

Restaurants and Bars:
There were 3 A La Carte restaurants - the Fuerteventura (International), the Las Reses (Steakhouse), The Oshin (Sundays Only)and the Trinidad (Seafood) and the main buffet- Las Habanas. we tried all 3 of the A la Cartes and found the Trinidad and the Fuerteventura to be the best, neither of us cared for the steakhouse. The Oshin, Chinese restaurant was a very pleasant surprise! The Trinidad was also available to dine for Lunch as well as a Paella restaurant that was open during good weather. There is also a snack bar on the beach that serves some basic foods, hamburger, hot dogs chicken. We ate there for most of our lunches when we were on the beach. The Las Habanas buffet was okay. There was always something on the buffet that was good as well as something not so good and as with most of the buffets we have ate at the food tended to be lukewarm. Such is the joy of eating at a buffet in a foreign country. The Guantanamera was the 24 hour snack bar the cappuccinos were a joke, they just used coffee from a 40 cup urn and added hot milk and foam, this was not what we came to expect of the fine Cuban Coffee. The food was typical snack bar fare and quality.

The pool bar was always fast with the drinks as was the beach bar, but the highlight of our trip was enjoying drinks before and after dinner at the Las Palmas Piano bar, Orfilio makes the best Mojitos ever.

The shows at the Showbar were first rate excellent real live singers and the dance troupe were better than at the Tropicana in Havana. After the shows the Tennerif bar opened as the Disco and ran till 2:00AM, We went one night and found it catering more towards the European crowd that was there, long lineups for drinks, and mostly European Techno music.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools and Grounds were always kept clean by the maintenance staff that were always out very early in the morning. I was amazed at the lack of respect the travelers from other countries had in regards to their garbage, most would leave the plastic cups, empty coconuts and whatever laying under and around their loungers attracting ants and other bugs, then complaining about getting bitten.

The beach was gorgeous, lots of sand to walk out on in the water, very little ocean growth (I wouldn't call it weeds). As with the other areas on the north coast of Cuba when a cold front comes in so do the Jellyfish, they ranged in size from 2cm to 15 cm with very long stinger strings 0.25m to 2m long. They were a blueish color and were fairly easy to spot on the beach and in the water. We did enjoy a number of mornings on the beach before the heavy clouds moved in.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took the Taxi to Vardero a couple of times for shopping and site seeing. We also took in the Havana/Tropicana tour, we really enjoyed the tour of Havana but were very disappointed with the Tropicana Show, we had t site at the very back with our backs to the stage with not enough room to move - definitely a waste of our time and money, all the shows at the resort rated much better.

We also did the Catamaran trip. This was also a waste of money, left the dock around 9:30am and cruised out to the Dolphin compound to "swim" with the dolphins. This was a laugh, all you do is put on a life jacket and stand on a platform as a dolphin is floated past you, and pecks you on the check. Then we were off to enjoy snorkeling after a 30 minute trip we stopped and were allowed to snorkel for all of 30 minutes, then we went to have lunch at Cayo Blanco. Lunch was good but after we just stayed there for around 2 hours on their beach, uh... we had one of those at our hotel. The crew was very entertaining, the catamaran was immaculately kept, lots of drinks, they just need to allow more time for snorkeling and cut back on the beach time.

Other Comments:
The maintenance guys gather coconuts and work the booth serving them to guests and are deserving of any tips given. We tipped generously (10 to 15 CUC a day) and found the personnel very welcoming of the money and we genuinely received a higher level of service as a result. This amount spread over the buffet servers, the maids, the A La Carte servers, the bartenders. This did not amount to a lot of money at the end of the trip but was an investment to our happiness traveling, think about it... when you go to a bar or out to dinner in Canada do you tip? So why not at an all inclusive resort?

In conclusion we did really enjoy our stay in spite of the disappointing excursions and the cool cloudy weather.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Resort"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Doc  on Mar 8, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
456 people found this review helpful

We initially wer to stay at Sirenis la salins for 2 weeks but were driven out bu the poor service, cold food,and lack of everything a 4 star should be. Our Air canada rep, after extensive phone calls got us into Melia Varadaro for our last week and of what a change.

Your Arrival:
Smooth, no questions asked, porter removed our luggage(for 4 persons) and delivered to our respective rooms after being issued key to safe(free) and towel vouchers.

Rooms:
Fairly small but quite comfortable. No screens on patio door but no bugs so not an issue. Out maid was really attentive and spoke perfect english greeting us the following morning with a welcome card.

Restaurants and Bars:
Main buffet was awsome. This is an 18 year old resort that looks in all respects to a full 5 star(actually 4.5) We guessed at 5 years old. Food was plentiful, hot and had variety. Attentive staff who welcomed you to every meal.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Excellent beach but due to heavy winds and surf we couldn't enjoy to its fullest

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't do

Other Comments:
Would recommend this resort in a New York minuet. 5 Floors served by 5 elevators,inside ponds with fish and a large turtle,in the central court with an abundance of greenery.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Couldn't have stayed at a better resort"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kim  on Feb 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
325 people found this review helpful

We have exclusively traveled the Caribbean but this is only our second time to Cuba, must stay it was a nice step up from where we had stayed before. Once again we flew with SunWing out of Sault Ste. Marie, ON had to make a diversion to Toronto on the way down only because the plumbing in the lavatory was plugged (guess they were the only ones could do the job right) we had a night time arrival so the hold up really wasn't that bad, besides for our inconvenience we were offered an alcoholic beverage free ( it's more then what most airlines would do) also they always offer up their standard meal and snacks ...so in no time we arrived at our destination

Your Arrival:
Very smooth arrival, we did notice however upon entering Cuba this time as opposed to our trip 3 years ago, they have something that monitors your temperature just before you go through customs and if it is elevated they will pull you aside and take you somewhere else away from the public, I'm not sure what happens after that, but they obviously aren't taking any chances the the H1N1 flu. Sunwing rep was there to put you on the appropriate bus. Check in was easy breezy, very professional and informative. Spoke english at check in very well.

Rooms:
Room was neat tidy and clean, of course beds were hard as usual, but doing the activities that we did during the day pretty much knocked you out anyway. Our maid Miyelina was a breath of fresh air and had a good grasp of the english language, so much so that one day when I was feeling under the weather for unknown reasons (definitely not food poisoning) she suggested I take a sprite from the minibar and add some salt to it. In a couple of hours I was actually able to smell food without wanting to vomit.

Restaurants and Bars:
No complaints whatsoever only that the main restaurant was to open at 7:30am the day of our departure and our bus was scheduled at the same time. Well of course in Cuba I knew the bus wasn't gonna be on time but we had counted on the restaurant opening at 7:30 so that while my husband waited with the luggage I could go and get us a plate of food to eat in the lobby while we waited. Well the bus wasn't on time (no surprise) but the restaurant didn't open at 7:30 either. So when I came back to the lobby for the 3rd time and announced to my husband that they still weren't opened at 7:45am, I could see the front desk manager pick up the phone and heard him say people were waiting the next thing you know the doors were open.

No problem booking our a la carte restaurant in fact the Seafood Trinidad Restaurant we had such a good time there that Carlos on of the head waiters that has been there 16 years personally invited us back every night if we wanted. I don't know if higher up management knows it or not but people like Carlos are invaluable and a tribute to the people of Cuba, because in the end that's the true Cuban spirit of this country. Another couple from Orillia were at the next table and they said it was their first time to Cuba and that they throughly were enjoying the country but especially the Cuban people like Carlos aka George Clooney (his wife doesn't think so though) so when staying at the Melia you definitely have to go pay Carlos a visit. He definitely knows how to capture the female audience that's for sure

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds were clean as were the pools and beaches. Did some snorkeling for 15 pesos right off the resort, that was pretty decent. Only about 3 different kind of fish though and some coral there. If we ever go back to Cuba they tell me Coral Beach is the place to snorkel, unfortunately we didn't find this out until the day before we were leaving and we had already booked for the Catamaran excursion (a must for first timers)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Definitely have to go to Havanna first time around, this was our second so we didn't, but tonnes of stuff to do on and around the resort itself, took the Cat excursion second time, can't get enough of snorkeling or Cayo Blanco. We asked if there was any good snorkeling on Cayo beach but the guy said there was no corals, so no fish, wish we hadn't of listened, as we made our way back beachcombing I spotted these neat long skinny fish,(later learned they call them needle fish) they were absolutely beautiful. As you may have guessed we live for snorkeling now, so Cozumel will be my next trip and of course back to the Mayan....specifcally Akumal Beach. If anyone knows of a resort on Cozumel where you can snorkel right off the beach or where the best place to go for snorkeling on Comzumel is, please contact me, I would be happy to hear from any fellow snorkelers and their finds

Other Comments:
Over all if there were any problems at this resort, all it took was a phone call and within minutes things were taken care of. My husband reminded me of one of his favourite things. Everyday before he would hit the beach he stopped into the "coconut hut" as he calls it, to get a fresh coconut opened up for him. The guy has a matchetti and just opens the topped of the coconut up to reveal a hole in the top, he hands you a straw and voila, fresh coconut milk. My honey is still missing them.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this resort to anyone, the entertainment team works very hard and does a good job...the workers are always smiling and hey don't forget to visit the well hidden restaurant by the pool for your own personally cooked Paella and some sangrias and watch out for the gecko who likes to run over your feet and make you scream !!! asta luego

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"FANTASTIC"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  DONNIE AND CHRISSIE  on Jun 28, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jun, 2008
1528 people found this review helpful

STAYED AT THE MELIA VARADERO IN DEC 2007 AND WHAT CAN I SAY, IT WAS FABULOUS. GREAT CHOICE OF FOOD ALL DAY AND THE SERVICE WAS VERY GOOD. WOULD DEFINATELY GO BACK TO THIS HOTEL AGAIN.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Trina Crowe  on May 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2008
2460 people found this review helpful

Stayed at the Melia Varadero hotel on April 10 - 17, 2008. Food was great, (especially the french fries), entertainment staff was fantastic, and the pool and beach were pleasing. Lots to do, if you like to be active, volleyball, basketball, dance lessons and lots of local bars nearby if you like nightime entertainment. Will definatley be back :)
Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Hotel"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  E. Elderkin  on Feb 5, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2008
2675 people found this review helpful

We just got back from a January 2008 trip to Cuba and stayed at the Melia Varadero Hotel....we loved it, excellent staff throughout the hotel, great food and service. Very clean rooms. Can't say enough good things about this hotel. Loved it....will go back to this hotel the next trip back to Cuba. This was our second trip.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"agradecida"

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Patricia Castillo Solis  on Sep 8, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) CHILE
Visited on: Sep, 2006
744 people found this review helpful

He expresado otras veces lo agradecida de Varadero y del Melia. Estuve en Varadero en Abril y fue maravilloso, hermosa tierra y lindaa su gente, muy rica la comida del hotel. Pienso volver de nuevo. Gracias y los felicito. Patricia

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"overpriced "

Melia Varadero
User Rating:  Melia Varadero Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tom  on Aug 24, 2005  >  2 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2005
2561 people found this review helpful

Melia Varadero is a nice hotel but not 5 star, who rates cuban hotels? Friendlly staff, but way to expensive for Cuba

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube