BelleVue Palma Real Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > BelleVue Palma Real reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Barcelo Arenas Blancas

4.1 based on 65 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 17, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real  

Ave. 2da y Calle 64, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba.
(Varadero Maps)

"Good enough"
Posted by: Raphael on Oct 20, 2014
see all reviews

BelleVue Palma Real Reviews
BelleVue Palma Real Pictures and Information
BelleVue Palma Real Varadero Cuba

#6
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.3

Based on 44 reviews

BelleVue Palma Real Information


At the heart of the popular Varadero Beach destination, at about 300 meters from the beach. Excellent pool and all inclusive hotel facilities, all competitively priced.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

BelleVue Palma Real Reviews

BelleVue Palma Real Review: 4.3 of 5 44 reviews
Excellent
  22
Very good
  15
Average
  4
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (17)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (5)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 44

"Good enough"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Raphael  on Oct 20, 2014  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
4 people found this review helpful

The hotel is very nice and clean. This year for the first time I was traveling to Cuba and I have decided to come together with my wife. I must admit that the whole idea for this vacation was inspired from her, but it seems that she was absolutely right that we can have a great time and spend a reasonable amount of money. At the beginning I thought that something like that is not possible, but after we have arrived in Cuba and we saw the hotel I knew right away that this is going to be one of the most interesting holidays that we will have.
Huge thanks for this holiday to the employees of this hotel because they were wonderful all the time. They were there for us at any time of the day and the night. Some of them were so nice that i had feeling that Im leaving some friends behind , when it was time to go home again. The rooms are very nice and clean. As well as comfortable. The balcony and the toilet were also comfortable and big enough so that was also a positive thing. Air conditioning is working perfectly fine, unlike the other hotels in Cuba, and I was glad to see that.
They could work a little bit on the foreign food because the meals are good but they have a strange taste, like some of the ingredients is missing or it is not prepared as it should be. Me and my wife both had a great time on the beach that was really close to the hotel and it was not issued to get there and have a great time. This hotel surprised me by its performance and the price, to be honest.
So all in all I would recommend this hotel to everyone, no matter if you decide to travel with family or friends, the city and the hotel have a lot to offer for all the categories of people. If you have a chance to be in this city, then you should definitely stay at this place.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Totalement décévant"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Norma  on Aug 20, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE, METROPOLITAN
Visited on: Jul, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
84 people found this review helpful

En principe, l'hôtel est vendu comme un 4 étoiles; on peut bien comprendre que ce soit aux normes locales, cependant, cet hôtel est très vétuste, il y a même des moisissures bien visibles dans les salles de bain, ce qui n'est justifié d'aucune manière par le caractère local des normes; il est tout simplement délabré! En outre, le service d'accueil laisse à désirer aussi bien pour la forme que pour le fond; des visages fermés et des consignes strictes et absurdes sur l'enregistrement en tant que client de l'hôtel; à savoir, on m'a exigé en tant que cubaine de présenter obligatoirement et sans aucune excuse le passeport cubain sous peine d'être expulsée de l'hôtel alors que je suis citoyenne française depuis 20 ans; résultat, comme je n'avais que le passeport français sur moi, j'ai dû envoyer chercher mon passeport cubain à La Havane où réside ma famille et arroser le chauffeur de Via Azul qui me l'avait apporté, sans compter tous les désagréments que cela m'a causé alors que je venais pour me reposer, enfin, une histoire à dormir débout orchestrée par l'immigration qui veut contrôler non seulement les cubains qui résident sur l'île mais aussi les allé-retours de ceux qui viennent de l'extérieur à voir leur famille...sans commentaires... Quant à la nourriture, absolument dégoûtante, il n'y avait que quelques fruits que l'on pouvait manger. Le honneur de l'hôtel a toutefois été sauvé par quelques employés bien sympas lesquels malgré leurs conditions de travail essaient de montrer le véritable visage avenant des cubains.

Room Number:
1105/1103

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic week"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bonnie  on Nov 15, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
157 people found this review helpful

Myself and seven other family members stayed here for the week of Sept 27-Oct 4, 2012 and had a great time. The staff were terrific, very attentive and anxious to please. We had four rooms in Building 1 and when we first checked in, there was a strong mildew odor, but once the air conditioning had been running for several hours, it seemed to dissipate. Otherwise the rooms were very clean and really cute. We were all on the third floor and the elevator was very temperamental: it worked intermittently, so if you have any type of health issues, make sure to get a ground floor room. At least we didn't have to deal with dragging our luggage upstairs: we had a very friendly bellman who delivered it to our doors! This resort is positioned perfectly; beach within five minutes with the beautiful beach bar serving snacks and drinks, gratis; two minutes to the 5CUC bus ride to the town markets and restaurants. This resort seems to cater quite a bit to local Cubans so just don't expect to be treated like royalty. Our main complaint was the lack of bacon of any kind at the buffet and the monotony of the food choices. Always lots to eat, just little variety, even by usual Cuban standards. The disco was...a disco! Free entrance to resort guests, buy your own drinks. The street disco, Calle 62, was a treat because of the novelty of it, and my 12-yr-old grandson was thrilled to be able to check it out too. All in all, I would recommend this place if you want a reasonably-priced fun vacation!

Room Number:
2104

Room Block:
Building 1

Arrival:
Slow but efficient check-in

Rooms:
Mildew smell that dissipated after air conditioning was running for several hours.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lobby bar and pool bar were well-run and well-stocked

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean and well maintained

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
So typical dancing and Cuban lobby entertainment

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great place to stay"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  richard  on Oct 14, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
160 people found this review helpful

This was our 3rd trip hear & all the employees go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable & the Cuban people are wonderful. The place is very clean. Breakfast is exceptional, & the buffet at suppertime is good. We stayed 2wks last time & we will be back. Love Cuba

Rooms:
very clean

Restaurants and Bars:
good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very beautiful

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
very good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Palma Real "

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  VICKY PANAGIOTOU  on Mar 30, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Australia
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
219 people found this review helpful

We stayed in the first block and had a partial view of the ocean. The beach was about five minutes across the road with beach chairs and umbrellas. It was first in best dressed as there wasn't enough for everyone. It was clean a spacious, the room we had anyway. The pools were great and a seat was available at all times with good music playing. The food was terrible. I think they could really do with improvements here. If you enjoy your alcohol very sweet tasting then the all inclusive is for you. It would get a little rowdy at nights and you would get woken up with people stumbling home drunk. In the mornings all you heard were people dry retching as they would drink from 10:00am when the bars opened till closed. The beach was very beautiful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worth spending more money for somewhere better"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sarah Naismith  on Mar 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
248 people found this review helpful

This hotel was motel standard and was perfectly serviceable but was short of comfortable. The weather was unfortunately quite bad so needed somewhere to chill out other than the beach or pool and that did not exist. Most of the staff were really nice but I would not return to this hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Typical 3 Star"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  mary Jo slivinski  on Feb 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
234 people found this review helpful

There were no overwhelming issues to address with this hotel - as the saying goes "it is what it is" - a 3 star locale where you essentially get what you pay for. You book realizing it is not 'on' the beach - thus you will need to walk to the beach which just a few blocks crossing a not busy couple of roadways. The drinks are not top notch - neither are the choices. Sometimes you got ice, sometimes they were out of vino, sometimes they had vodka - consistency is not a strength. Found the service overall to be fine in most restaurant settings. Felt sorry for the bartenders who had to endure the rowdy crews that you will find at resorts such as this. The cleaning staff were top notch both in common areas and the rooms. The rooms are in need in upkeep maintenance all round - from noisy AC to chipped walls and minimal standards for furnishings. The common areas ditto. Food is monotonous and basic with line ups for the fresh grill (1 station) - after visiting a local grocery store one can understand the limitations placed on the Cuban food selections. Bring peanut butter or Nutella if that is your thing. The staff were generally friendly - the reception is in dire need of more staffing as lineups were common most times of the day with only one person at the desk. Accessing money can be difficult - very, very few ATM's and at that they are particular with which cards accepted (Visa CC being successful in the end) - so bring the cash you will likely need and convert at the cashier across the road (next to Arena Blanca) The beach is beautiful - access to chairs is good including hitting the hotel next door for a $1/chair. All your shopping can be done at the beach (except maybe the rum).

Room Number:
4130

Room Block:
4

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great value and close to everything"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Susan  on Feb 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
245 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the Palma Real from February 2-16/12 and had a great time. It was nice to be so close to town and the beach.
The buffet had something good for everyone. The breads and pastas were always fresh and deliscous.
The staff were friendly and helpful.
Special thanks to Mabel from entertainment and Lois the singing Chef.,Carlos the waiter and Milagro the waitress.
They helped to make our stay a pleasant one.

Room Number:
1420

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
February 2-16/12

Rooms:
1420 Beautiful view of pools and ocean

Restaurants and Bars:
Alacarte Cuban and Chinese.
Chinese meals needs some work too much Soya Sauce but they're trying.
Buffet was always good.
Even had roast turkey twice.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools were alway clean clear and refreshing!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Dance lessons and entertainment poolside.
Synchronize swimming show absolutely fantastic!!

Other Comments:
Great value for those who want to enjoy Varadero Cuba

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great hospitability"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kurt Klingberg  on Jan 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) SWEDEN
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
261 people found this review helpful

We think that Palma Real in Cuba is really a place to be recommended. Me and my partner was so well recieved by your wonderful staff in the reception, reception and all the way to our cleaning staff Cecilia.
Thanks a million for making our stay so pleasurable:-)

Room Number:
4523

Arrival:
Great service at reception

Rooms:
wonderful with a great view

Restaurants and Bars:
great food thanks to the help of your wonderful staff

Other Comments:
Too small towels in the room and too few beachbeds

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice hotel"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Esteban Restrepo  on Dec 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Colombia
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
359 people found this review helpful

The food it's excellent in the buffet, very clean rooms, and friendly service, the all inclusive is with cuban drinks only, I don't wanna see again a cuban soda, haha. You have to cross the streeth to go to the beach but there is a good beach house.

Room Number:
1212

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube