BelleVue Palma Real Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > BelleVue Palma Real reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Barcelo Arenas Blancas

4.1 based on 66 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 3, 2015

BelleVue Palma Real  

Ave. 2da y Calle 64, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba.
(Varadero Maps)

"Happy with Customer Service"
Posted by: Dee-Anna  on Nov 16, 2015
see all reviews

BelleVue Palma Real Reviews
BelleVue Palma Real Pictures and Information
BelleVue Palma Real Varadero Cuba

#6
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.3

Based on 46 reviews

BelleVue Palma Real Information


At the heart of the popular Varadero Beach destination, at about 300 meters from the beach. Excellent pool and all inclusive hotel facilities, all competitively priced.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

BelleVue Palma Real Reviews

BelleVue Palma Real Review: 4.3 of 5 46 reviews
Excellent
  23
Very good
  16
Average
  4
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (17)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (5)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 46

"Totalement décévant"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Norma  on Aug 20, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE, METROPOLITAN
Visited on: Jul, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
400 people found this review helpful

En principe, l'hôtel est vendu comme un 4 étoiles; on peut bien comprendre que ce soit aux normes locales, cependant, cet hôtel est très vétuste, il y a même des moisissures bien visibles dans les salles de bain, ce qui n'est justifié d'aucune manière par le caractère local des normes; il est tout simplement délabré! En outre, le service d'accueil laisse à désirer aussi bien pour la forme que pour le fond; des visages fermés et des consignes strictes et absurdes sur l'enregistrement en tant que client de l'hôtel; à savoir, on m'a exigé en tant que cubaine de présenter obligatoirement et sans aucune excuse le passeport cubain sous peine d'être expulsée de l'hôtel alors que je suis citoyenne française depuis 20 ans; résultat, comme je n'avais que le passeport français sur moi, j'ai dû envoyer chercher mon passeport cubain à La Havane où réside ma famille et arroser le chauffeur de Via Azul qui me l'avait apporté, sans compter tous les désagréments que cela m'a causé alors que je venais pour me reposer, enfin, une histoire à dormir débout orchestrée par l'immigration qui veut contrôler non seulement les cubains qui résident sur l'île mais aussi les allé-retours de ceux qui viennent de l'extérieur à voir leur famille...sans commentaires... Quant à la nourriture, absolument dégoûtante, il n'y avait que quelques fruits que l'on pouvait manger. Le honneur de l'hôtel a toutefois été sauvé par quelques employés bien sympas lesquels malgré leurs conditions de travail essaient de montrer le véritable visage avenant des cubains.

Room Number:
1105/1103

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will not return to the Palma!!"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marie  on Jan 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
331 people found this review helpful

This is my 5th trip to Cuba. My first time to Varadero as we wanted to be closer for our trip to Havana on our own. I've stayed in 3* & 4* in Cuba so I am fully aware of what to expect with regard to food. I feel this hotel is grossly overrated 3.5 or 4 is way out of line(just my opinion) 2* only.

Your Arrival:
Arrival smooth bus/airport/immigration.

Rooms:
Quickly rec'd room key unfortunately it was on the main floor of the 1st 5 story building. Gross smell & window facing street would not lock. 10 pesos later a room that didn't exist as the hotel was full appeared. This new room was on the 5th floor facing canal side & pool it had a nice view. The room itself was small yet very clean. Our maid was very efficient & did a nice job with the towel art. Absolutely no complaints about the maid service. The exterior halls & elevator were filthy. The elevator which I didn't find out until going back to my room at 7PM had zero lights working out of the 6. I didn't like the idea of getting on a pitch dark elevator at night with complete strangers & was told that people at the hotel had been complaining for 5 days that there were no lights in the elevator. On the 6th day of our trip the lights were finally changed.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food - forget it. This was the worst I've ever experience in Cuba. Long line ups for anything cooked in front of you. For the most part just different versions of left overs disguised as some kind of salad. Fish was usually available but the inconsistency was insane. I would get to the front of the line & a small piece of over cooked bony fish would be thrown on my plate & then as we are leaving a new batch of entirely different fish would appear at the cooking station. Sometimes it looked quite good. I think they have limited amounts of half decent food which occasionly appears so that some people end up thinking it's not half bad here. Cabbage raw is OK for awhile but I can't stomach it every day for each meal. Chicken scarce, rice and beans which is fine for I love rice and beans. Not one banana seen the entire time. Beautiful bread the first nite then never seen again. Zero cheese with exception to occasionally a tray of extremely thin sliced cheese that you couldn't pick up without mushing it into a ball. Oh well enough about the food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is beautiful. If you arrive after 10am forget getting a chair & note if you need shade you'll be a sardine. Beach Staff absoulutely terrible they would rather sit on their butts and whistle telling 2 fifty something ladies where to put the paddle boat onto the beach. Thank you to the tourist guys who got out of their chairs and helped us as we were having such a hard time moving the boat onto the sand. My last day on the beach was entirely different- seemed that the boss had showed up and a few different workers who were fabulous. So I guess the beach staff are hit & miss as well.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did the Cat as well as an overnight in Havana on our own. I'm glad I experienced Havana. Varadero is bar after bar and restaurant after restaurant & shops. Some people like it and others hate it, it all depends on what you are looking for.

Other Comments:
THE RECEPTION AT THIS HOTEL:

Be on guard when it comes to fake telephone bills. A gentlement & his daughter as we were checking out was told he had a 75.00 CUC phone bill. He told them (the blonde receptionist) that No he didn't make any phone calls. She proceeds to tell him he did then calls security. He request the manager but he is not at the hotel at the moment. A print out sheet appears and she shows him the print out. See she states right there on Jan 21 all these calls. He finally gives up because he knows that they have his Credit Card # anyway. He pays it & then shows us the print out and I see a separate line where in Spanish it means date of call. All the calls were made on the 16th & 17th of January. He did not arrive in Cuba until the 18th on the same plane as us. He is now very furious and marches back to reception where a new load of 50 people are arriving. He goes directly to the front puts the paper down & asks for the manager. The manager arrives does not speak to him directly only to the blonde. The blonde looks at the sheet and he points out I wasn't here on the 16th & 17th. She looks at the manager says something and voila a credit is given the man. No apology for the attemted rip-off nothing. So folks if you do go to this hotel do not give your credit card # to the front desk it is not necessary. Your passport is sufficient.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"DONT GO TO THAT HOTEL."

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  teresa  on Dec 1, 2007  >  2 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Dec, 2007
233 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Christmas 2007
we stade at the palma real over christmas & new year 2007 do not go to that hotel in 2007 the rep told us it was to be puld dowe in 2005 . it is alive with things that BITE YOU all of the time no one customer was happy in that hotel DONT GO TO THAT HOTEL

Rooms dirty

Restaurants and Bars
food bad

Beach/Pools/Grounds
ok

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
not

trishkelly@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great trip"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  joy mccutcheon  on Sep 16, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2005
3809 people found this review helpful

The staff were fablous....The beach was a short walk....and totally safe. The only problem was the food was alittle bland. Next trip I take my own spice. and I will go back. great holiday!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Typical 3 Star"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  mary Jo slivinski  on Feb 26, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
553 people found this review helpful

There were no overwhelming issues to address with this hotel - as the saying goes "it is what it is" - a 3 star locale where you essentially get what you pay for. You book realizing it is not 'on' the beach - thus you will need to walk to the beach which just a few blocks crossing a not busy couple of roadways. The drinks are not top notch - neither are the choices. Sometimes you got ice, sometimes they were out of vino, sometimes they had vodka - consistency is not a strength. Found the service overall to be fine in most restaurant settings. Felt sorry for the bartenders who had to endure the rowdy crews that you will find at resorts such as this. The cleaning staff were top notch both in common areas and the rooms. The rooms are in need in upkeep maintenance all round - from noisy AC to chipped walls and minimal standards for furnishings. The common areas ditto. Food is monotonous and basic with line ups for the fresh grill (1 station) - after visiting a local grocery store one can understand the limitations placed on the Cuban food selections. Bring peanut butter or Nutella if that is your thing. The staff were generally friendly - the reception is in dire need of more staffing as lineups were common most times of the day with only one person at the desk. Accessing money can be difficult - very, very few ATM's and at that they are particular with which cards accepted (Visa CC being successful in the end) - so bring the cash you will likely need and convert at the cashier across the road (next to Arena Blanca) The beach is beautiful - access to chairs is good including hitting the hotel next door for a $1/chair. All your shopping can be done at the beach (except maybe the rum).

Room Number:
4130

Room Block:
4

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Worth spending more money for somewhere better"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sarah Naismith  on Mar 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
587 people found this review helpful

This hotel was motel standard and was perfectly serviceable but was short of comfortable. The weather was unfortunately quite bad so needed somewhere to chill out other than the beach or pool and that did not exist. Most of the staff were really nice but I would not return to this hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Palma Real "

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  VICKY PANAGIOTOU  on Mar 30, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Australia
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
525 people found this review helpful

We stayed in the first block and had a partial view of the ocean. The beach was about five minutes across the road with beach chairs and umbrellas. It was first in best dressed as there wasn't enough for everyone. It was clean a spacious, the room we had anyway. The pools were great and a seat was available at all times with good music playing. The food was terrible. I think they could really do with improvements here. If you enjoy your alcohol very sweet tasting then the all inclusive is for you. It would get a little rowdy at nights and you would get woken up with people stumbling home drunk. In the mornings all you heard were people dry retching as they would drink from 10:00am when the bars opened till closed. The beach was very beautiful.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic week"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bonnie  on Nov 15, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
470 people found this review helpful

Myself and seven other family members stayed here for the week of Sept 27-Oct 4, 2012 and had a great time. The staff were terrific, very attentive and anxious to please. We had four rooms in Building 1 and when we first checked in, there was a strong mildew odor, but once the air conditioning had been running for several hours, it seemed to dissipate. Otherwise the rooms were very clean and really cute. We were all on the third floor and the elevator was very temperamental: it worked intermittently, so if you have any type of health issues, make sure to get a ground floor room. At least we didn't have to deal with dragging our luggage upstairs: we had a very friendly bellman who delivered it to our doors! This resort is positioned perfectly; beach within five minutes with the beautiful beach bar serving snacks and drinks, gratis; two minutes to the 5CUC bus ride to the town markets and restaurants. This resort seems to cater quite a bit to local Cubans so just don't expect to be treated like royalty. Our main complaint was the lack of bacon of any kind at the buffet and the monotony of the food choices. Always lots to eat, just little variety, even by usual Cuban standards. The disco was...a disco! Free entrance to resort guests, buy your own drinks. The street disco, Calle 62, was a treat because of the novelty of it, and my 12-yr-old grandson was thrilled to be able to check it out too. All in all, I would recommend this place if you want a reasonably-priced fun vacation!

Room Number:
2104

Room Block:
Building 1

Arrival:
Slow but efficient check-in

Rooms:
Mildew smell that dissipated after air conditioning was running for several hours.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lobby bar and pool bar were well-run and well-stocked

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Clean and well maintained

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
So typical dancing and Cuban lobby entertainment

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good enough"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Raphael  on Oct 20, 2014  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
340 people found this review helpful

The hotel is very nice and clean. This year for the first time I was traveling to Cuba and I have decided to come together with my wife. I must admit that the whole idea for this vacation was inspired from her, but it seems that she was absolutely right that we can have a great time and spend a reasonable amount of money. At the beginning I thought that something like that is not possible, but after we have arrived in Cuba and we saw the hotel I knew right away that this is going to be one of the most interesting holidays that we will have.
Huge thanks for this holiday to the employees of this hotel because they were wonderful all the time. They were there for us at any time of the day and the night. Some of them were so nice that i had feeling that Im leaving some friends behind , when it was time to go home again. The rooms are very nice and clean. As well as comfortable. The balcony and the toilet were also comfortable and big enough so that was also a positive thing. Air conditioning is working perfectly fine, unlike the other hotels in Cuba, and I was glad to see that.
They could work a little bit on the foreign food because the meals are good but they have a strange taste, like some of the ingredients is missing or it is not prepared as it should be. Me and my wife both had a great time on the beach that was really close to the hotel and it was not issued to get there and have a great time. This hotel surprised me by its performance and the price, to be honest.
So all in all I would recommend this hotel to everyone, no matter if you decide to travel with family or friends, the city and the hotel have a lot to offer for all the categories of people. If you have a chance to be in this city, then you should definitely stay at this place.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great place to stay"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  richard  on Oct 14, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
581 people found this review helpful

This was our 3rd trip hear & all the employees go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable & the Cuban people are wonderful. The place is very clean. Breakfast is exceptional, & the buffet at suppertime is good. We stayed 2wks last time & we will be back. Love Cuba

Rooms:
very clean

Restaurants and Bars:
good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very beautiful

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
very good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube