BelleVue Palma Real Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > BelleVue Palma Real reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Barcelo Arenas Blancas

4.1 based on 66 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 3, 2015

BelleVue Palma Real  

Ave. 2da y Calle 64, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba.
(Varadero Maps)

"Happy with Customer Service"
Posted by: Dee-Anna  on Nov 16, 2015
see all reviews

BelleVue Palma Real Reviews
BelleVue Palma Real Pictures and Information
BelleVue Palma Real Varadero Cuba

#6
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.3

Based on 46 reviews

BelleVue Palma Real Information


At the heart of the popular Varadero Beach destination, at about 300 meters from the beach. Excellent pool and all inclusive hotel facilities, all competitively priced.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

BelleVue Palma Real Reviews

BelleVue Palma Real Review: 4.3 of 5 46 reviews
Excellent
  23
Very good
  16
Average
  4
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (17)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (5)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With Group
11 - 20 of 46

"Great hospitability"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kurt Klingberg  on Jan 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) SWEDEN
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
435 people found this review helpful

We think that Palma Real in Cuba is really a place to be recommended. Me and my partner was so well recieved by your wonderful staff in the reception, reception and all the way to our cleaning staff Cecilia.
Thanks a million for making our stay so pleasurable:-)

Room Number:
4523

Arrival:
Great service at reception

Rooms:
wonderful with a great view

Restaurants and Bars:
great food thanks to the help of your wonderful staff

Other Comments:
Too small towels in the room and too few beachbeds

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice hotel"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Esteban Restrepo  on Dec 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Colombia
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
527 people found this review helpful

The food it's excellent in the buffet, very clean rooms, and friendly service, the all inclusive is with cuban drinks only, I don't wanna see again a cuban soda, haha. You have to cross the streeth to go to the beach but there is a good beach house.

Room Number:
1212

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lovely Stay"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Valentina Belokozovska  on May 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Australia
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
466 people found this review helpful

The hotel is lovely, clean and comfortable although some maintenance is required. The beach which is a block down is spectacular and fairly quiet which is a plus. Clientele are of all ages so you can't go wrong.

Rooms:
The rooms need a good paint with a more subtle colour, the update will do wonders.

Restaurants and Bars:
Cuba isn't known for it's cuisine.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The Catamaran tour to Cayo Blanco is well worth the money.

Other Comments:
Great place to relax and enjoy the beach.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I feel at home when I go there.."

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kumps De Cooman  on Apr 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) BELGIUM
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
377 people found this review helpful

Every year when we come back from Cuba, first thing whe do is go to the agencie to reserve our next vacation in Varadero...I went the first time to Cuba in august 2000...since then we go back each year!!! I feel home when I go there...friendly people, honest, nice food, nice hotel, clean, great staff, lots of things to do...sport, animation, cruise, excursions...always finding something to do... even if I try hard, I don't find anything bad to say about this hotel and the people working here...
We are going back on 03/05/2011 !!! can't wait to be there again...

Room Number:
4429

Room Block:
Atabey

Arrival:
perfect, quick check - in

Rooms:
the rooms are great...I just did'nt like the room to be between 2 "blocks"
very clean...

Restaurants and Bars:
whe tryed them all !!! the food at the chinees restaurant whas for us the best

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
big, clean and nice

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bellevue Palma Real in Varadero is a great Hotel."

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Craig Mazur  on Apr 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
355 people found this review helpful

Upon arrival at the Hotel I was greeted with a courteous,"are you Craig Mazur?" I was suprised and then realized that I must have been the last check-in at the Hotel, as the flight made an emergency landing in West Palm Beach,Florida(passenger ill), then on to Cuba. My inclusive package was the same as any other. My room was well maintained and clean with A/C. There were many shows around the Hotel day and night.The Ocean beach area was a four minute walk from the Hotel. There was a small bar area that served food and drink during the day. The Hotel pools were great with one having a swim-up bar.The food was prepared in the same way when I visited Cuba ten years earlier. Remember, every culture prepares food their way. If you ventured off the Hotel property at any time safety was no issue. The Cuban people are extremely friendly and helpful.The night life in downtown Varadero is fantastic. The local restaurants have a different cooking style. I will definately be going back to the Real Palma. If you go to this Hotel say Hello to Hector at the front desk for me.

Respectfully,
Craig

Room Number:
2203

Arrival:
03/26/2011

Rooms:
one

Restaurants and Bars:
buffet and ala carte

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
clean

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
many on and off the grounds

Other Comments:
none

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"WILL COME BACK SOON"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Claudia Meyer  on Mar 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) SWITZERLAND
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
359 people found this review helpful

very clean rooms, friendly staff with good memory, every evening in a instant grilled fish or meat, one pool for action and one for relaxing, in a good area of Varadero
beach not reachable directly from the hotel, evening show should have a refresher

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will not return to the Palma!!"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marie  on Jan 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
331 people found this review helpful

This is my 5th trip to Cuba. My first time to Varadero as we wanted to be closer for our trip to Havana on our own. I've stayed in 3* & 4* in Cuba so I am fully aware of what to expect with regard to food. I feel this hotel is grossly overrated 3.5 or 4 is way out of line(just my opinion) 2* only.

Your Arrival:
Arrival smooth bus/airport/immigration.

Rooms:
Quickly rec'd room key unfortunately it was on the main floor of the 1st 5 story building. Gross smell & window facing street would not lock. 10 pesos later a room that didn't exist as the hotel was full appeared. This new room was on the 5th floor facing canal side & pool it had a nice view. The room itself was small yet very clean. Our maid was very efficient & did a nice job with the towel art. Absolutely no complaints about the maid service. The exterior halls & elevator were filthy. The elevator which I didn't find out until going back to my room at 7PM had zero lights working out of the 6. I didn't like the idea of getting on a pitch dark elevator at night with complete strangers & was told that people at the hotel had been complaining for 5 days that there were no lights in the elevator. On the 6th day of our trip the lights were finally changed.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food - forget it. This was the worst I've ever experience in Cuba. Long line ups for anything cooked in front of you. For the most part just different versions of left overs disguised as some kind of salad. Fish was usually available but the inconsistency was insane. I would get to the front of the line & a small piece of over cooked bony fish would be thrown on my plate & then as we are leaving a new batch of entirely different fish would appear at the cooking station. Sometimes it looked quite good. I think they have limited amounts of half decent food which occasionly appears so that some people end up thinking it's not half bad here. Cabbage raw is OK for awhile but I can't stomach it every day for each meal. Chicken scarce, rice and beans which is fine for I love rice and beans. Not one banana seen the entire time. Beautiful bread the first nite then never seen again. Zero cheese with exception to occasionally a tray of extremely thin sliced cheese that you couldn't pick up without mushing it into a ball. Oh well enough about the food.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is beautiful. If you arrive after 10am forget getting a chair & note if you need shade you'll be a sardine. Beach Staff absoulutely terrible they would rather sit on their butts and whistle telling 2 fifty something ladies where to put the paddle boat onto the beach. Thank you to the tourist guys who got out of their chairs and helped us as we were having such a hard time moving the boat onto the sand. My last day on the beach was entirely different- seemed that the boss had showed up and a few different workers who were fabulous. So I guess the beach staff are hit & miss as well.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did the Cat as well as an overnight in Havana on our own. I'm glad I experienced Havana. Varadero is bar after bar and restaurant after restaurant & shops. Some people like it and others hate it, it all depends on what you are looking for.

Other Comments:
THE RECEPTION AT THIS HOTEL:

Be on guard when it comes to fake telephone bills. A gentlement & his daughter as we were checking out was told he had a 75.00 CUC phone bill. He told them (the blonde receptionist) that No he didn't make any phone calls. She proceeds to tell him he did then calls security. He request the manager but he is not at the hotel at the moment. A print out sheet appears and she shows him the print out. See she states right there on Jan 21 all these calls. He finally gives up because he knows that they have his Credit Card # anyway. He pays it & then shows us the print out and I see a separate line where in Spanish it means date of call. All the calls were made on the 16th & 17th of January. He did not arrive in Cuba until the 18th on the same plane as us. He is now very furious and marches back to reception where a new load of 50 people are arriving. He goes directly to the front puts the paper down & asks for the manager. The manager arrives does not speak to him directly only to the blonde. The blonde looks at the sheet and he points out I wasn't here on the 16th & 17th. She looks at the manager says something and voila a credit is given the man. No apology for the attemted rip-off nothing. So folks if you do go to this hotel do not give your credit card # to the front desk it is not necessary. Your passport is sufficient.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful Beach!"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lynda  on Jan 25, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
344 people found this review helpful

.

Your Arrival:
Arrived on Sunday, January 17th, 2010. Check in was quick. Staff friendly.

Rooms:
Initially was disappointed in the room. Very small compared to others we had stayed in on previous trips to Cuba. But, clean and well maintained. Lots of hot water. Maid service excellent. Room always had clean towels and maid created towel art everyday. We made good use of the balcony, and could see the ocean from our room. Realised that the size of the room wasn't important, because we spent very little time there! Also, important to mention that we felt safe in the rooms. Rooms include two beds, pushed together. Hair dryer. In room safe, but, you pay 2 cuban convertibles/day to use it, plus a deposit (refundable) of 10 CUC for the security lock. There are lots of hangers in the closet. No iron in the room. Air conditioning worked really well.

Restaurants and Bars:
We ate at the main dining room buffet for most meals. Good selection. Lots of fresh fish, vegetables. Staff very friendly. Pick an area with a server you like, and they will take great care of you! Entertainment in the dining room every evening. A very talent group of musicians and singers. Had them perform for a "new friend" Joe for his 77th birthday. He and his wife were thrilled. For "picky" eaters, there are also burgers, hot dogs and fries available at the pool side restaurant. The Pizzaria was good, and the beach bar/restaurant was great for breakfast, eggs prepared per your preference, and great cappacinos. The main lobby bar, is always hopping. Entertainment there nightly. Great and talented group of entertainers. Work hard at making sure you are having a good time. Drinks to try. Mojhitos. Best at the main bar. The Chinese restaurant could use a few improvements in the menu, but, the staff there were very friendly. The bar in our hotel area was popular and a great place to meet and talk to other guests.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was one of the most beautiful beaches I have had the pleasure of enjoying. But, if you want a beach chair, you have to get there early. The idea of the hotel not being on the beach was diappointing at first, but, it is only a short and interesting walk across the stree to the hotel beach area. On your walk, you get to observe local life. Lots of old (restored) cars...20's, 30's, 40's and 50's. People are all friendly. Hotel has washrooms, snack area, hamburgers, hot dogs and fries, bar and cold drinks. Washrooms (take toliet paper from your room with you, just in case, showers and foot rinsing all available. You can also arrange to have a massage at the beach...sounds like a good plan to me.
Grounds are very well maintained, staff always working. Lots of plants and flowers. Pools clean and lots of recliners. Very different for us to stay right in a city, instead of a resort that is set off by itself. Wasn't sure about that at first, but the hotels all restrict hotels to the guests, staff and entertainers only.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Spanish lessons, dance lessons. Big resort located in the centre of town. You can find lots of local restaurants and entainment right in the neighbourhood. Street dancing. Lots of local flavour.

Other Comments:
The hotel was listed as a four star. In comparison to other places we have stayed in Cuba, we would have listed it as a 3 or 3 1/2. But, we also got an amazing deal and so felt very happy the the overall experience. Best entertainment of any resort we have ever stayed at. Maid service excellent. Food average...tended to cater to Europeans, but, there are lots staying there, so it makes sense. Beach excellent. Close to airport. Rooms Good, smaller, but clean and lots of hot water and towels. I might suggest you bring a beach towel, because they charge a deposit of $10 CUC, per towel and if you lose the towel you lose the deposit. Also, bottled water is not included, so consider bringing an insulated cup. It will also keep your drinks cold at the beach! When leaving we paid for the VIP service. $20 CUC and it included ham and cheese sandwiches, unlimited drinks, snacks and a very quiet area to relax for 3 hours before the flight boarded. It was a freat way to not have to wait in long line to check in at the airport. And a much quieter environment. Would pay for this again, well worth it! Would return to this hotel again!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful and quality hotel"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sr. Enrique Lopez lopez  on Jan 12, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Jan, 1998
974 people found this review helpful

In the first place i want to say that this beautiful hotel really surprised me. I am Spanish but my wife is Cuba and we frequently come to Cuba. I was here on July 1 for only 2 day and I like it so much that on the 28th of the same month I came backed and stayed for 5 days. It has everything. Great food and service that makes you feel at home. The Chinese restaurant is superb and the pools (bar included) is the best. I hope to go back soon. Greetings from Spain.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It's a hop, skip & a jump away."

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Leslie II  on Jan 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
349 people found this review helpful

Checkin: Front desk staff very friendly. Room was not ready for about 1 hour enough time to enjoy a few mojitos

Rooms::
building 2 2nd floor facing the ocean. Clean, basic room 2 queen beds pushed together. Towel art already on the bed for a nice welcome. Maid service was great all week. Different towel & blanket art every day . I had an ant trap on the floor just in case & the made picked it up everyday. I thought that was cute.

Restaurants and Bars::
Hotel: Many pools. Lots of loungers. Spread out so never felt crowded. Location is great. Close to all the action which is why I choose this hotel and the very cheap price. Calle 62 is a must right around the corner. Dancing on the streets & live bands.
Bars: Many bars throughout hotel. Lobby bar, pool bar (best pina colada there) & a bar in each of the 5 storey buildings. Entertainment tent had a bar also.

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Beach: Yes it's a hop, skip & a jump away. There is a bar & snack bar for Palma Real guests. They had seafood paella daily. You could order others such as hamburgers & hot dogs. I did see chicken, pork & ham & cheese on the menu but most seem to order the burgers. Bartenders were good. PR has a small section with a few papalas but of course the chair swine are there. I had my own mat and enjoy social distancing so didn't bother me. There are many sections along the Varadero beach that are empty.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
Entertainment: - Great aquatic show 1 night. They also put on a show at the pool one day . Karaoke competition 1st night. Fabulous magic show (they came from outside) There is a disco next door that you get in for free.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube