BelleVue Palma Real Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > BelleVue Palma Real reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Barcelo Arenas Blancas

4.1 based on 66 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 3, 2015

BelleVue Palma Real  

Ave. 2da y Calle 64, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba.
(Varadero Maps)

"Happy with Customer Service"
Posted by: Dee-Anna  on Nov 16, 2015
see all reviews

BelleVue Palma Real Reviews
BelleVue Palma Real Pictures and Information
BelleVue Palma Real Varadero Cuba

#6
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.3

Based on 46 reviews

BelleVue Palma Real Information


At the heart of the popular Varadero Beach destination, at about 300 meters from the beach. Excellent pool and all inclusive hotel facilities, all competitively priced.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

BelleVue Palma Real Reviews

BelleVue Palma Real Review: 4.3 of 5 46 reviews
Excellent
  23
Very good
  16
Average
  4
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (17)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (5)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With Group
21 - 30 of 46

"Home away from Home"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Georgia Salminen  on Dec 7, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 1997
979 people found this review helpful

We have stayed at the Palma Real for the last 2 years. We are looking forward to our next 2 weeks in Feb. 2010. The staff throughout the resort are friendly and hospitiple. They make you feel as if you were at home and sometimes better than home. The resort is nicely laid out. The rooms are kept very clean. The staff here do a wonderful job at making your vacation memorable. I would recommend this resort to persons of all ages. I can't wait until we go back to see all the friends we have met over the years.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"There is lots to see in Varadero"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Mary-Anne from Kamloops  on Oct 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Oct, 2009
283 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Oct 26 - Nov 2
We booked this trip at the last minute because of the deal found on the web - Searstravel.ca, $457 per person from Vancouver. Before booking, did read reviews on Trip Advisor and most were complimentary. First time in Cuba.

Rooms:
We were first given a room on the ground floor in Building #2 facing the highway. Since we like to have windows open at night, we requested a change and were given a room on Floor 5 in Building #4. Still facing the highway but very quiet with balcony door closed and air conditioning on. As it turns out, we never left the door open because of the heat - needed a/c. But the bonus was we spent a couple of hours each day on the balcony, having a drink and cigar, and watching Cuba go by. Fascinating!! Also watched the local fishermen catch what was in the buffet the next day. The room was large, the bed extremely comfortable (it is two 3/4 beds pushed together), very large bathroom and lots of hot water. Nothing to complain about the room at all. Surprisingly, we got CTV on the channels, as well as ESPN (ball playoffs), several Russian and Chinese channels, and of course Spanish. I say surprisingly because normally when we cross the border from Canada to the US, even 10 minutes ! across, you won't find Canadian news.

Restaurants and Bars:
There are bars in each building as well as the main lobby area. Drinks are small but if you pass a peso, they will pour more alcohol than mix. Bring your own thermal mug, it keeps the ice longer and you can get a bigger drink. The drinks are all very sweet, if you are a wine drinker be prepared to be majorly disappointed. Mojitoes are available only in the lobby bar but they may run out of the "mint", plus they don't make a good mojito. Vodka slush worked, a crushed lemon mix with vodka or gin. Main restaurant is roomy and colourful, you will really get a kick out of the head chef, he likes to sing at the drop of a hat and is very willing to talk to guests after dinner, and each night there was a different roving Cuban music group - all very good. The food is what everyone says - Cuban - don't expect great things. But BRING YOUR OWN SEASONINGS. The food was cooked with no spices or herbs, not even garlic. Next time I will be bringing: tabasco, garlic powder, onion powder an!
d any kind of hot and spicy mix. The sound most frequently heard was the tap tap tap of the salt shakers - the humidity caused it to swell and they did not have rice to keep the grains separated. The cafeteria by the pools is a great place for breakfast - we ate our morning meal there most often. A good omelette, ham, cheese, green peppers and onions with the eggs. Cuban bread tastes like it came out of your own kitchen, in that it has no preservatives so is not soft, and makes great toast. The butter is unsalted to will taste very different from Canadian butter.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"FUN IN THE SUN"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cynthia Meek  on Sep 23, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2009
1016 people found this review helpful

I HAD THE MOST AMAZING TRIP, EVEN THOUGH I WAS ALONE, SO MUCH SO I WENT BACK AGAIN TWICE MORE IN 6 WEEKS. THE ROOM WAS CLEAN, FOOD GREAT, ENTERTAINMENT WAS AMAZING AND THE BAR DOWN THE STREET, CLUB 69-MEMORIES FOREVER, DANCING IN THE STREET. THE STAFF AT THE HOTEL MADE ME FEEL LIKE FAMILY AS I WAS IN GRIEF FOR 2 YEARS AND THEIR FRIENDLINESS WAS SO GREAT IT WAS A HOME AWAY FROM HOME. IT WAS 2008 AND I PLAN TO RETURN THIS YEAR WITH A FRIEND AND HOPE TO SEE SOME OF THE SAME STAFF THERE SMILING AND WILLING TO HELP. THE ACTIVITIES WERE SO MUCH FUN, LEARNING THE CUBAN DANCING WAS A HIGHLIGHT FOR ME. I ALSO ADOPTED A CUBAN FAMILY AND WE WRITE BACK AND FORTH AND I SEND CARE PACKAGES. LOOKING FORWARD TO SEEING U AGAIN IN NOV. OR DEC.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Food was plentiful, lots of choices at the buffet"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tamara  on May 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
239 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 7-17
We hired a cab after a few days in Havana. Lovely drive. Check-in was quick and easy.

Rooms:
Room was small, but clean and everything worked. Lots of hot water, plenty of towels ect. Maid left us some fantastic towel art every day! We used our little balcony alot!

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was plentiful, lots of choices at the buffet. Only meal we didn't enjoy was at the ala carte chinese restaurant. Wouldn't bother with that again! Burgers were great at the beach bar. Never had to wait long for a drink at any of the bars. The best daquari in the place is at the swim-up bar! Staff were friendly and the service was good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Lovely pools, nice and clean. Loved the swim-up bar. Grounds were nicely maintained and clean. There was always gardeners around working on the plants ect. Beach was wonderful. The short walk from the hotel was not an issue. Lots of shady spots, warm clear water. We went on the Hobicat and the peddle boats several times. Rarely had to wait long to use the boats.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Deep sea fishing one day. Didn't catch anything but had a wonderful day on a beautiful boat. Scuba diving with the Barracuda Dive Centre. Highly recommend if you can get Ivan as your dive master! He rocks!!

Other Comments:
We throughly enjoyed our stay and would definately return to the Palma Real.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Pleasant vacation with lots of sun, fun and relaxation."

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle from New Brunswick  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
204 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 2009
We arrived at 10:30 AM and had to wait for our rooms until 1:30 so we stowed our luggage, changed, grabbed a drink and jumped in the pool !

Rooms:
Rooms are adequate, not fancy. No fridge, which I missed. Several good TV channels. No screen on patio door so we kept it closed. Good shower pressure, lots of hot water.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food wasn't great but it wasn't terrible. There are lots of choices. Excellent food at the Barbacoa. No screens on the windows so birds are flying in and out but that is just the way it is...no big deal. We heard the a la cartes were horrible so we didnt' try them. The pizzeria was good. Excellent service in all areas, especially if you tip generously. The drinks are not fresh fruit like in Mexico, they are made from powdered mixes. No bottled water supplied, there is purified water on tap. This was our first trip south where we didn't even open our Pepto Bismol or Immodium !

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools were beautiful. The beach was the most beautiful I have ever seen! Lovely clear, turquoise water and white sand. Unfortunately the resort only has a very small section of the beach and the few palapas available are all crowded together. The beach club was disappointing. I found it very dirty on the grounds and didn't feel like getting any food or anything from it. We received some bites from beach fleas at the time. This was a first for us.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We very much enjoyed the location of the resort because we were able to walk downtown anytime. There is a lovely park nearby and lots of markets. The bank is right across the road, very convenient. We did the jeep safari excursion and really liked it. I'm not sure if any of the jeeps would pass inspection but we didn't break down, thankfully.( Some did )We had taken a suitcase full of stuff to give out and we gave it all out on the excursion. WE took clothing, baseball mitts, candy, school supplies, toys, etc. We got a chance to see lots of countryside and had a great time on the river and swimming in the cenote. Unfortunately the water was too rough for snorkeling so we missed that.

Other Comments:
In general, pleased with our trip. We met lots of nice people and we would go back. I loved the climate....very hot but always a breeze. Actually I wished for a sweater in the evenings. Pleasant vacation with lots of sun, fun and relaxation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"They'll be friendly to you either way, so be friendly back!"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mike from Halifax  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
227 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 17, 2009 - April 25
25 minutes from the airport and quick check in and money conversion at the front desk

Rooms:
We had asked for a upper level room during the booking process, and were happy to find that we ended up with a small but decent room on the top floor. It was on the rear side of the 2nd of two main buildings of the resort. Although directly below the balcony was a main road, it was the only thing that separated us from the ocean. A nice view of the Atlantic, and a great sunrise over the water every morning. The traffic didn't bother us at all, and was almost non-existent through the night. The room showed some wear, and certainly wasn't high end. It could have used a coat of paint if that sort of thing concerns you. Canadian, American, European and Spanish channels on the TV. No fridge in the room, and the A/C was not working, although the ventilation system when turned on, made it more than cool enough.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food: We expected the worst. We had heard of the horror stories of Cuban food, and had read previous negative reviews on the food at Palma Real. We stuck mainly to the buffet, because there was no reason to not eat there. The selection was great. Lots of eggs, bacon, bread, fruit, etc. for breakfast. They'd bring out large turkeys, roast, chickens, hams and carve them up in front of you, for both lunch and supper. For seafood lovers, there was crab, squid, octopus, and many types of fish to choose from. The pizzeria was disappointing. Pita bread for crusts and they skimped on the toppings. 24 hour snacks consisted of your choice of hot dogs, hamburgers, ham & cheese sandwiches and fries. During dinner there was a great Trio who played traditional Cuban music while you ate, and the Chef would even come out to help out with the singing. A great time.

Drinks:
The bars on the resort close promptly at midnight. The service was quick, and you never had to wait too long for a drink. Mojitos were great, and the Pina Coladas were not great in the main lobby bar, but the bar in the entrance of the rear building made great ones with fresh everything. Other than that, the drinks weren't fancy. The bear was all draft. The wine for dinner was very nice. The bar "Calle 62" is just around the corner from the resort (3 minute walk) and has great Cuban music played well after midnight. A good mix of tourists and locals all dancing in the street together. Very safe and everyone was friendly.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Palma Real has two HUGE pools"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lisa  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Mar, 2009
215 people found this review helpful

Just got back March 2 after a week at the Palma Real and we really enjoyed it!

A 5 Pack on Palma Real:

1) Location; we love the downtown location. Close to everything and the fact it's across the street from the beach instead of on the beach makes no difference. The beach was large, lots of chairs if you got there before 10 am, and the beach bar was close by with burgers, fries, available all day long. Also, had a good beach bathroom, which is important to me! It was literally a 5 minute walk; if that. I've heard some that some of the bigger resorts at the tip of the peninsula take longer to get to the beach than that because they are SO huge. Lot's of restaurants off resort to choose from if that's your thing too; very close by; 5-10 minutes walking distance.

2) Staff; WONDERFUL. We dealt with alot of different people throughout the resort and found everyone friendly and accommodating. It basically goes back to 'you'll get treated the way YOU treat people'. The Cubans that work there are on 'Cuban Time', but that's to be expected. We found everyone super friendly and they always seemed happy! We got friendly with one lady at reception right off the hop; made a difference for the entire trip. Also, bartenders and coffee servers; you befriend them off the hop and it makes all the difference. Just treat them how you'd want to be treated!

3) Rooms; Very Clean with good size balconies. The complex we stayed in seemed to have larger balconies than the other two complexes, and it was great! The room was very clean, our view was to the highway, with view of ocean on other side, which was nice in the mornings, and evenings. We ran into an 'electricity' problem one night, but I've read that can be a problem in Cuba and really when your in 25 above Celsius in what looks like paradise; who cares! Take things in stride while on vacation; it makes life easier and the problem was resolved the very next day; turned out to be widespread; wasn't just our room.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"incroyable"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  eric bourget  on Jan 29, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
420 people found this review helpful

Toute es vraiment excellent dans cette hotel,je leur leve mon chapeaux et vraiment tres tres propre elle es digne d'une 5 etoile.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Please, por favor, s'il vous plaît."

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Nathalie Falardeau  on Jan 20, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
968 people found this review helpful

Hello, I don't want to make comments now, because i will go to Varadero at your Hotel (for the first time) the 21 febuary at 8 march 2009 with my big family... my husband (Richard Turgeon) and my childrens (Laury and Étienne Turgeon), my parents (Denis and Odette Falardeau) and my oncle (Serge Falardeau) and friend (Laurette Tremblay). I would like to know if is possible for you, you will give us the room in the building number *1 on the 4 or 5 floor behind the pool. I'm sure you will try the best for us. The last december my friend had be at your hotel and he give me many beautifuls comments about your hotel. Thank you so much and see you soon. Nathalie Falardeau

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Palma Real is very good value for the price"

BelleVue Palma Real
User Rating:  BelleVue Palma Real Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Pat from Nova Scotia  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2008
187 people found this review helpful

We spent a night here in March, and returned for another in December 2008. The buildings are modern, attractive and well kept; guest rooms and their bathrooms, spacious and clean; pools were lovely, the entertainment crew was professional and energetic.

Palma Real is across the street from Varadero´s spectacular beach, but it is a very short walk to it from the main reception area. I did not think this a drawback, because your room would not be much closer to the sand if you were walking from the `other end´ of a large resort, and because Palma Real has a casual bar-restaurant on the beach (and a $20 sea-side massage service too!), you don´t have to be walking back and forth all the time. You can stroll along the beach for a long way in both directions passing many of the hotels on the main streets.

I have stayed at higher priced Cuban resorts and had slightly more elaborate food there, but at Palma Real the buffet was diverse, save and good enough to keep my crowd happy. I also enjoyed the tasty pizza at the a la carte restaurant in the afternoon, and the ice cream everywhere.

As is usually the case in Cuba, remember to head for the bar if you want good coffee! Among others, there is one indoors at the far end of the pool near the buffet - it opened about mid-way through breakfast and had not only great coffee, but also a slick system for producing your own fresh-squeezed orange juice. Filtered water is available from a beverage machine at the lobby bar, cups provided for you to fill. For convenience, you might want to pack a water bottle for refills if you are cautious like me about using the tap water in Cuba.

On a nice night during our March visit, the evening entertainment had been in an outdoor amphitheatre. That space was under repair when we again went in December, so the show was indoors in a more disco-bar setting, which was ok too. The well-done floorshow itself was followed both times by dancing to recorded music, in December for an hour or two afterward, but only for a couple of dance songs on our night in March. I expect it depends on what the crowd wants, but since the entertainers had started work at lunchtime, they probably hope to be done fairly early. I think that hotter night-life would be found at the public disco down the block, but if you´re not after that, the evening show is well-done & fun and then you can get a good rest at night.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube