Sol Pelícano Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Largo > Cayo Largo Hotel Index > Sol Pelícano reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Largo Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Club Cayo Largo

4.8 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 1, 2014

Playa Blanca (Formerly Barceló Cayo Largo)

4.3 based on 21 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 1, 2014

Sol Pelícano  

Cayo Largo, Archipiélago de los Canarreos, Cuba

"very clean resort"
Posted by: fauka on Aug 1, 2014
see all reviews

Sol Pelícano Reviews
Sol Pelícano Pictures and Information
Sol Pelícano Cayo Largo Cuba

#3
of 5 Hotels in Cayo Largo

User rating 4.2

Based on 6 reviews

Sol Pelícano Information


Hotel will be closed from 1st June to 31st October 2013

Located on the beach, 15 minutes from the marina and downtown Cayo Largo and 10 minutes from the airport.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sol Pelícano Reviews

Sol Pelícano Review: 4.2 of 5 6 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  5
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Leisure (4)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Solo Traveller (2)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Family and Kids
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 6 of 6

"Sol Pelicano"

Sol Pelícano
User Rating:  Sol Pelícano Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rik Vernack  on Apr 9, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) BELGIUM
Visited on: Apr, 2006
1996 people found this review helpful

Very nice and clean place to stay if one desires a beach and/or watersports holiday. Spacious rooms and plenty of food choice. Excellent system of little public buses to get to the marina for diving (+60m of clear sight), boat excusions,... White coral sand with pelicans comming over for a visit twice a day. One of the only two places in Cuba where one can enjoy the benefits of being a naturist (left side of beach, and only there, so no clothing optional in the resort itself). A recommandable place.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Shimmering Turquoise Seas Fringed With White Sand Beach"

Sol Pelícano
User Rating:  Sol Pelícano Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joe and Karen  on Feb 6, 2010  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
333 people found this review helpful

OUR FLIGHT: We booked our holiday with Hola Sun holidays and the flight was with Cubana Airlines out of YYZ to CYO, the flight which was on time was 3 hour 15 minutes long . There was lots of leg room on the A320 aircraft, this roominess, made for a very comfortable flight. They served the usual airline snack food of ham and cheese on a bagel, packaged desert, coffee, they even threw in a complimentary Bucanero beer.
On arriving in Cayo Largo we were quickly deplaned and made our way through customs rather quickly as well. Although the hotel is just 10 minutes away, we were kept waiting on the bus for 50 minutes. We still can't figure out why. That aside, as we sit on the bus waiting, we are now in holiday mode and are ready for a very cold Cristal or an equally cold Mojito even though, every, and I mean every single Cuban at the airport, is wearing, their hooded winter coat, their winter boots, their winter gloves, and of course, their blue surgical masks. For them I guess 15°C is a bone chiller. They all looked so traumatized by the cold snap. We would have offered them all hot chocolates spiked with rum if we could have.

Your Arrival:
There wasn't too many guests for the Sol Pelicano, maybe 20 people or less. As repeat guests we were looking for a separate check-in but that didn't happen on this occasion. Too bad. I guess they've abandoned that idea. That said however, we were one of the first in line at the reception and we had our keys to the room (in the area that we had wanted) and we had our bracelets, all I might add in short order. Check-in was quick and easy for everyone.
With our keys in hand, we made a quick dash to our room, and with our luggage arriving within 10 minutes, we were, in short order, on our way to the lobby bar for that first Mojito. I have to admit though that the weather was cold enough that I kept on wearing my jeans and a longsleeved sweater. That was the first time that has ever happened in Cayo Largo. I am usually peeling off the layers of clothes by the time I hit the hotel lobby.
The staff at the lobby bar looked beyond traumatized. They were wearing the same kind of winter clothing as I had been wearing hours before in Toronto. If there was any silver lining to this cold snap, it would be that there was was no mosquitoes anywhere in sight. The mosquitoes had gone to ground, hopefully for the rest of the week. After a couple or so Mojito's, the temperature seemed a lot better,we were now ready for a good night's sleep. We did need our blankets the first night though. Another first. Brrr!!

Rooms:
Our room was more than spacious enough for us. It was simply furnished with two three-quarter beds, two night tables, a television (about 10 viewable stations), fridge, chest of drawers, writing table, blanket box. The closet was quite big enough for any of our needs, there was ample space in the closet for clothing for two people. The closet also housed the safety deposit box (opened with your room key) .The electrical current in our room was both 220 V and 110 V. The bathroom had a nice shower stall, toilet, bidet, marble vanity with sink, hairdryer, 110 V plug. The bathroom facilities more than met our needs. We had no problem with hot water all week. Lots of towels, lots of shampoo and soap. Excellent housekeeping all week long.
A very nice feature of our room was a really nice pair of French doors that opened on to an equally nice tiled balcony. The balcony was facing west, and in the afternoon that warm Caribbean sun shone into our room. The balcony was a front-row seat to the main walkway to the beach, it also was a great place in the late afternoon to sun oneself, whilst at the same time enjoying a refreshing cold one. It was peaceful sitting there on the balcony watching the world go by.

Restaurants and Bars:
We made good use of all of these facilities all week long. For our meals, with lunches being exception, we chose the buffet. We had lunch every day at the Ranchon by the beach. We usually had a midafternoon snack at the pizza bar. We did have french fries on a couple of occasions at the Zun Zun poolbar-snackbar.
ENTRÉ MÁRES BUFFET. It had a good variety of food for breakfast, a limited selection of items for lunch, dinner was excellent with (in our opinion) a very good selection of food items and dessert items.
RANCHON LUNCH:. We love being there at the Ranchon looking out over that shimmering turquoise sea fringed with a pristine white sand beach. Every day we had a front seat to this beautiful panoramic view of the beach and ocean. Lunch there was quite a simple fixed menu meal with a choice of fish, chicken, pork, burger, all served with french fries and usually garnished with a cabbage salad. There was also a central table set up with a simple variety of cold salad items (tomatoes, lettuce, peas, beans, beets etc.). Lots of nice bread and rolls. There was a nice selection of desserts as well. Excellent service at this Ranchon.
PIZZA BAR:. Our midafternoon snack here. We enjoyed the pizza here. You can order beer or wine or even a simple cocktail to accompany your pizza. Excellent fast friendly service here.
ZUN ZUN:. You could have burgers and fries, pork on a bun, chicken on a bun, french fries, etc., these from a set menu. This was also the pool bar. We found it hard to get anybody's attention if you were sitting and waiting for lunch. Of course you could go and order your own lunch if you wanted. The Zun Zun was though, a nice place to have a cold one and maybe a burger, and then to sit and watch the afternoon entertainment at the pool.
LOBBY BAR:. If we wanted to have a quiet drink during the day this is where we went. During the day, service was excellent here. Immediately before and after dinner, this bar got quite busy and it was difficult for the staff to keep up. It's a very small lobby bar. However, we always managed to get our after dinner drinks in a timely manner. For us this bar, when the music started at about 8:30 p.m. got a bit too loud.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
THE BEACH this year, in front of the hotel, was nice and wide and in excellent shape, as well there seemed to be lots of new palapas for shade and lots of lounges too. Of course all of the rest of the hotel beaches on Cayo Largo were in excellent shape also. Playa Sirena and Playa Paraiso, as usual, were quite beautiful and in great shape. There was three train trips to Playa Sirena every morning from the hotel lobby. You could walk to Playa Sirena if you wanted. However it does take about two hours to do that. We do it quite often and it's not as taxing as it would seem. Of course the weather, although sunny, was cooler this week, that made it easy going for us.
THE POOL at the hotel is a saltwater pool. There is a fair amount of shade around the pool and the Zun Zun pool bar is close by if you are in need of some refreshments. Very nice place to spend the afternoon if it's too windy on the beach..
THE GROUNDS are well-kept and there is a nice amount of vegetation and flowers in the hotel gardens. Because this is really a desert island it is not as lush as hotel properties on mainland Cuba.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The animation team at this hotel try their best to keep you active with pool activities, beach activities etc.. We don't really take part too much in the activities, we usually do our own thing. As this is a very small island there is not a lot to do outside of the hotels other than walking the beach, visiting the other hotels etc.. We do quite a lot of walking to the different beaches and hotels. Really this is strictly a place for rest and relaxation and enjoying the beautiful beaches. There are some catamaran trips available etc.. There is also a free shuttle to the village about three times a week where you are accompanied by one of the animation staff from the hotel. You can visit the small museum, the Marina, the sea turtle farm. There is a 1 CUC admission fee to the museum and the turtle farm.

Other Comments:
WHAT SHOULD IMPROVE:.They need a bigger lobby bar for the evening crowd, or better still, a nice bar somewhere in the front lobby area. Definitely they need need a better system at the Zun Zun for serving the tables, maybe putting a couple more waiters on those tables would help.
WHAT WE LIKED. Apart from the couple of comments above, we thought the Sol Pelicano was great. We certainly loved walking the wonderful beaches, having a simple but tasty lunch at the Ranchon, our room, the attentive and always genuinely friendly smiling staff. The great service at the buffet and at the Ranchon. We have in the past few years always found this hotel to be a very comfortable and relaxing place for a vacation, this year was no exception. The hotel is an excellent three-star plus property. We had a very good time despite having a fairly cool week. Actually for us the cooler 22°C daytime temperatures were really great. It was quite sunny all week. We would certainly come back here again at the same time next year, especially for the price we paid for our week's vacation this year. For us though, one week is enough as there is a limited amount of things to do outside of the hotels. Anyway, we do like to break up our winter with holidays to several different locations within Cuba. Below are some links to photos and videos of Sol Pelicano and Cayo Largo Cuba.

Photos: http://joeandkarentravelphotos.ca/pelnew/index.html

Videos: http://joeandkarentravelphotos.ca/pelnew/web11/index.html

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"EDEN"

Sol Pelícano
User Rating:  Sol Pelícano Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  orlando  on May 20, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: May, 2010
735 people found this review helpful

CI SONO STATO NEL AGOSTO DEL 2000,POSTO STREPITOSO,ACQUE PARADISIACHE,AD AGOSTO FA MOLTO CALDO,DA VISITARE ISLA PARADISO ISOLOTTO VICINO SEMBRA L'EDEN.ATTENZIONE AI CAPI CON MARCHE USA O DI MARCA SE LI METTETE AD ASCIUGARE SE LE RUBANO,E C'E' DA CAPIRLI,ANIMAZIONE BELLA,MANGIARE BUONO,TANTE ARAGOSTE.VALE LA PENA ANDARCI

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing place"

Sol Pelícano
User Rating:  Sol Pelícano Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Don  on Jun 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) ALGERIA
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
183 people found this review helpful

What a great resort to visit and what amazing people

Food: awesome

Resort: Greta very clean amazing

Staff: Very Nice

Pool: Very Clean

Beach:.....Amazing..Very Clean. Also we respect the other visitors who did not complain or make rude comments for the people who were nude in there own area. We will return to the resort. The week we went there was about 30 people who were nude. Thank you again for us to be able to express our freedom.

Room Number:
2112

Room Block:
b

Arrival:
good

Rooms:
clean

Restaurants and Bars:
good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
amazing

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great atmosphere and nice people"

Sol Pelícano
User Rating:  Sol Pelícano Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  liam  on Jun 22, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
22 people found this review helpful

The place is an island so first of all, that was the most beautiful feature of the place for me. The food here was in between, it wasn’t fantastic but it wasn’t horrible at the same time so I would say it is good. I loved the homemade pasta every dinner here; it is the most delicious meal they gave. They have exceptional beaches here that would cheer you up when you are feeling bored during your vacation. The location is great because it is just about 6 minutes away from the airport. For those who love beaches, this is the place for you. You have to be flexible with what you drink or eat because there is always shortage of items here which was one of the cons of staying at this hotel. You can entertain yourself at the beach with activities or just relax and watch other people partake in the activities, Cayo Largo is a great place to meet people because you will always meet guests coming and going. This hotel has a great atmosphere with a very nice and clean pool. The lobby area is cool with great bar service at the pool. The rooms are clean, spacious and every item worked perfectly. I loved that the housekeeping at this hotel was top notch as they made sure your room was spotless before they are done. The staff was great, extremely helpful and tried to make sure that all the guests were comfortable. I will be back here again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"very clean resort"

Sol Pelícano
User Rating:  Sol Pelícano Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  fauka  on Aug 1, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
8 people found this review helpful

The first thing you will notice about the hotel is the fact that it is very clean, cleanliness is the selling point and it is good. My room at this hotel had the swimming pool view, the room was basic but adequate when it comes to size and had all the things I will probably need. The room was very clean and it was cleaned out daily by the maid service. The bed was comfortable and soft even the pillows, although they were not as solid or soft as some hotels I have been to. The location of this place is fantastic, it is close to the beach and there are shops close by for when you need to get something. The nightlife was amazing, I can’t really describe the feeling of completeness I felt when I found out the city has a good nightlife. I would give anything to stay in a hotel near the beach where all the rules are upheld. The staff paid extra attention to the guests and knew when to attend to you or not especially the towel staff that made sure everyone had clean towels at every point in time. My floor was the ground floor but it had a pool view all the same. The pool is amazing by the way, you will enjoy staying in it, I usually do and for sometimes over an hour, it’s amazing. I heard of the thefts going on here so I was extra careful when I arrived.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube