Meliá Península Varadero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Meliá Península Varadero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.5 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 22, 2012

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 37 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel

4.2 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero  

Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Matanzas
(Varadero Maps)

"Nice place."
Posted by: Donald on Aug 23, 2014
see all reviews

Meliá Península Varadero Reviews
Meliá Península Varadero Pictures and Information
Meliá Península Varadero Varadero Cuba

#32
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.0

Based on 16 reviews

Meliá Península Varadero Information


Five star luxury resort in Caribbean-style bungalows. Ideal for kids, couples and honeymooners. Enjoy great food and attentive staff service.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Meliá Península Varadero Reviews

Meliá Península Varadero Review: 4.0 of 5 16 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  3
Average
  0
Poor
  3
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (12)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (9)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
With friend
With Group
1 - 10 of 16

"Nice place."

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Donald  on Aug 23, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
6 people found this review helpful

Back from a week stay in Varadero, Cuba at the Melia Peninsula Hotel. The beach was really beautiful. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. The food was good with lots of variety and different choices every day. Our boys loved, of course, the hamburgers and hot dogs available throughout the day. I enjoyed the cafe espresso's and cafe americano. My wife and my daughter enjoyed the mojitos, rum and beer. We all loved staying in a 2 bedroom family room, ideal for a family. The evening entertainment was very good. We especially enjoyed the live music. The service and attention we received from the staff was really top notch. I would love to come back soon, this is a great place I highly recommend it. The accommodations were very good and the staff was so friendly, we would definitely go back! The service and attention we received from the staff was really top notch. I would love to come back soon, this is a great place I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent holiday."

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tom  on Aug 17, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
6 people found this review helpful

We stayed here in July 2014, me and my girlfriend have never being abroad and we decided to go to Cuba. I discovered at Melia Peninsula a group of people that make us spent an unforgettable days, very nice, friendly and funny... the evenings at the mojito are wonderful... to enjoy alone, with friends or with your family.
We stayed here in July 2014. The hotel is quite large but there were so many people that it seemed smaller. All restaurants are good, there is lots of variety; the beach is simply spectacular, night and day. The staff in general, the entertainment staff especially, are incredible, super friendly and nice. There are tourists from all over the world here and it is the ideal place to meet people, and enjoy the landscape and the Cuban flavor.
Deleb at the front desk was super as was the others girls.The staff in the dinning room was excellent, entertainment could not be any better, we were there a week and did not see the same show twice. This was our first visit to Varadero, we will be back!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"¡Todos muy buenos!"

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Peter  on Aug 10, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
14 people found this review helpful

La ubicación del hotel es magnífica, es un hotel bastante grande con muchas plantas y unos bonitos jardines y nos gustó mucho la instalación. Tuvimos una habitación en el bloque 26, sin vista al mar pero muy cerca de la playa y de la piscina principal, la playa es realmente una maravilla, arena blanca y agua trasparente, como es de esperan en el Caribe... El personal en todo el hotel es amigable y servicial, limpiaban bien la habitación y el equipo de animaciones era muy entusiasta, es genial de verdad! Nunca antes había visto un equipo tan profesional y dedicado. ¡Shows de baile por la noches excelentes y por supuesto también shows con la participación del público! La comida es súper, 4 restaurantes a la carta, un gran restaurante de buffet, un poco caluroso, y un snack-bar que queda abierto las 24 horas y sirve comida rápida.

Room Number:
2612

Room Block:
26

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Buen servicio, instalaciones muy confortables!"

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ochoa  on Aug 3, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Aug, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
20 people found this review helpful


El servicio amigable de la gente de la limpieza a los mozos y recepcionistas, todo el mundo es alegre y servicial. Mi pareja y yo junto a nuestra niña escogimos este hotel por la segunda vez y volvería a repetir sin duda. Acabamos de volver de este complejo y en mi opinión todo estaba bien organizado. Todo está muy cuidado, los jardines preciosos, el complejo tiene un diseño muy bonito y acogedor, es bastante grande pero fácilmente comunicado a través de los carritos de golf, limpio, el servicio es muy bueno, la comida bastante variada y de calidad, pero podría mejor un poco y eliminar las colas para servirse que en ocasiones on largas, cenamos en el restaurante japonés y estaba muy bueno y vale muchísimo la pena. La playa es bonita con suficiente lugares en la sombra y las piscinas son perfectas, en especial la de los niños. Lo que cambiaría sería que hubiera más meseros y personas de servicio, ya que prácticamente te tienes que parar a servirte tu las bebidas, snacks, etc, lo cual no es muy bueno, pero fuera este detalle todo estuvo muy bien.

Room Number:
1307

Room Block:
13

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a good time"

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Frank  on Jul 27, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
22 people found this review helpful

I have been travelling around Cuba quite a lot, especially in the cayos and Guardalavaca, this time I decided with my family to spend a week in July (15-22) at the Melia Peninsula in Varadero, mostly due to the excellent price I found with Transat. Maybe it is not a real five stars according western standards, but still the place is very nice with gorgeous gardens and an incredible beach, main pool is ok but not too big and a bit dated, child pool is excellent and newly renovated.

Restaurants in general are ok, with many different option, French, Italian, Cuban and Asiatic. Staff helpful and friendly almost everywhere and service was quick and good. Buffet is a little repetitive as in many other place in Cuba, but the food tasted good.

Lot of sunchairs at the beach and pools so you don’t need to rush to reserve them. The beach is beautiful and water during our week was calm and transparent.

Room Number:
1107

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good vacation!"

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Burhan  on Jul 22, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
22 people found this review helpful

It was our first time in Cuba and travelling as a family we could not have picked a better hotel. Our room was on the 2nd floor, we found it very quiet and a clean comfortable room. Front desk staff was professional and helpful, check in was fast and bellboy service quick. The a la carte restaurants were excellent our favorites were the Oriental and French, although we did try all of them. There was a good variety of choices for buffet breakfast and lunch - more than enough for a picky eater like me anyway. Although repetitive as all buffets are, the taste of the food was good. I was in a different country and I was not looking for gourmet meals.The beach is beautiful and well maintained and cleans, in spite of some guests not using the garbage cans to dispose of their litter and you will have no problem finding a palapa and beach chair. The beach bar is small but was adequately manned and we did not wait long for our drinks. At the end we had a good time.

Room Number:
2712

Room Block:
27

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic service and people"

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jean  on Jun 27, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
45 people found this review helpful

We stayed at Melia Peninsula from May 30 to June 7th but our experience began 6 weeks before we left home. Our family enjoys a beach vacation every year and traveling to the tropics with a son who has a few allergies is not as easy as you may think. Before we book a resort we always contact the resort to see if they can accommodate us. So I narrowed my choices down to 3 hotels in Varadero that I thought my family would enjoy and e-mailed all 3 asking if they could accommodate my son’s food allergies. The first and only response came from the hotel within 2 hours of me sending out my e-mail. This is our 3rd year traveling with my son and no hotel has responded within 2 hours. The average response time if I get any response at all has been less than 1 day. I was impressed! The response came from David Salgado (Resident Manager) who assured me that they are a family resort and were fully capable of accommodating us. A few e-mails later and all my questions were answered so we booked our trip to Melia Peninsula and felt good about it. Over the next few weeks David & I exchanged a few more e-mails and I requested to meet with the Food & Beverage manager when we arrived. So on May 30 we were on our way. I must say I was a little apprehensive after ready almost every review in the 8 weeks prior to going. Once we got to the hotel we only had to wait a few minutes for the couple ahead of us to check in. Once it was our turn the desk clerk noticed there was a notice to call the F&B manager for us so he did. A few minutes later David came out to greet us and introduced us to Angel the F&B Manager who took over from here. He took us to directly to the Palma Real (Buffet Dining room) and assured us that they do not use peanut oil in the fryer and the staff was aware of high allergy foods. At this point Angel could see that we were hungry from our journey so he found us a table and invited us to eat. He got us all drinks (I got a Mojito) and he said he would be back in a few minutes. When he came back I was at the buffet with my son waiting for my order at the grill station and I could here him in Spanish telling the grill chef that these are special guests. He then handed me my ala carte reservations and his card and told me that if I could not find something for my son to eat I could pick up the phone and call him. We never had to take him up on his offer. Now this is a large buffet serving several food items. We never felt the repetition of food because we are sensible eaters and chose 3 to 6 items of food per meal and are open to trying some new things or new spins on food we know however I can see how if you go to a buffet and load your plate up with a mass of 10 to 15 items.

Bottom line we would go back to this resort in a few years. This resort was a great value and my family had a great time there. I recommend it.

Rooms:
Clean and cool. Legaudra did a great job cleaning up after us and when we met her near the end of our trip she thanked us for the gift we left her.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Over the last 11 years we have been to St. Maarten, Mexico, St Barths, Costa del Sole Spain & Jamiaca. This was one of the nicest family beaches we have been to. The water was warm, the sand was great for castles, plenty of chairs & Shade. We loved it.

The grounds are beautiful. They are constantly being maintained and there are labels on many of the plant species if you are interested. The pathways are lined with majestic palm trees and there are plenty of beautiful things to see as you walk around. My son loved the pirate themed playground however it could stand a little maintenance. This is a large resort and our hotel room was at the far end f the resort near the kids pool were usually ended our day. Our room was a 2 minute walk to the main restaurant & bar, 3 minutes to the sports center, 4 minutes to the main pool or ala carte restaurants and 5 minutes to the beach. As for the insects on the resort, Only found a little bug in the room all week, Never saw any spiders or other larger insects and for the mosquitoes, yes if you happen to be out at dusk or early evening I can see that you may be bothered but we brought bug spray and had very little issue with them at all. I think we had it worse in some of the other locations mentioned above. The resort did do things to handle the mosquitoes such as place insecticide pucks in the lagoons and every evening at around 7pm they fogged the resort, which I had mixed feelings about.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The kids staff was pretty good and they have a schedule of things for the kids to do. My son did enjoy the mini disco. I only stayed up 2 times to enjoy the entertainment after the mini disco but both times I was impressed. The first evening I enjoyed a show with a band & Cuban dancers similar to the entertainment you would expect to find at the Flamingo & the other evening was a traditional Cuban band playing similar music to The Buena Vista Social Club.

Other Comments:
People = of all the places we have been to the Cuban people rank as one of my favorites. They are hard working, kind, and humble yet proud people. I can only say this to the people that rank the service or people unfavorable; you will get with people what you put in. When you treat someone with kindness & respect they will likely treat you in a similar fashion. That is not to say that this will always happen but it did for us at this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Muy buen hotel pero lo mejor la calidad del personal"

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Estherillas  on Jun 23, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Oct, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
35 people found this review helpful

Nosotros nos alojamos a finales de Octubre hasta el día 2 de Noviembre.
Es un muy buen hotel para ser Cuba, tiene unas instalaciones muy bonitas y muy bien cuidadas, las habitaciones son como dicen ser en las fotos que te ofrecen cuando elijes el hotel, no hay sorpresas desagradables como en otras fotos de otros hoteles. Todo el complejo está muy bien cuidado, limpio y constantemente pendientes que todo esté bien con unas instalaciones en la piscinas y alrededores muy confortables, con una playa cuidada con hamacas y posibilidad de hacer catamarán, piragua, etc.
La comida del buffet con gran variedad y con cocina en vivo tanto de carnes como de pescados, además tiene restaurantes a la carta, nosotros cenamos en el Shakura y hay que decir que se cena muy bien y el cocinero hace un show mientras te prepara la cena (muy recomendable)
Aunque para nosotros lo mejor de todo de la estancia allí fue el trato personal de algunas de las personas del hotel que te hacen sentir como en casa y que sean unas buenas vacaciones.
En concreto tenemos que dar las gracias a Adriana Rodríguez (atención al cliente) por el trato que nos dio en todo momento, Isamary que estaba en el lobby con las bebidas para que no nos faltase de nada (en general los camareros del lobby espectacular trato), Rosita de centralita, Alexeis y Yurisnel los jardineros que a veces están repartiendo cocos para tomar, la chica del buffet que para desayunar te prepara zumos naturales, los camareros del servicio 24 horas de la piscina..... En general lo mejor de todo el trato de las personas que nos hicieron una estancia más que agradable en nuestras vacaciones.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I would go there again in a heart beat."

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  nancy  on Oct 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
279 people found this review helpful

Our stay there was beautiful. The staff were always happy. Ready to serve you in their best. Always a hello in the morning and though out the day. The entertainment was over the top. Our room was awesome. The weather was just what i needed. A vacation long over due. The food was very great. No complaints from me or my man. We left our town in a snow blizzard. Bye bye everyone who had to battle out the storm. Once again our stay was beautiful.!!!

Room Number:
forgot

Arrival:
March

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The worst experience ever!"

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kira Whitlock  on Apr 7, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
327 people found this review helpful

Please note I gave this one star because I could not choose ZERO. I traveled with my family of 4. Our children are 16 & 14. We booked them their own room. We arrived at 10 am. Our taxi had broken down so we were a bit behind our 8am arrival at the airport. $40 CUC taxi ride to hotel. One room was ready, we were happy because check in was at 1pm. We went to our room. 2 twin beds, just what we wanted for the kids. Room was on the ground floor. There are only 3 floors. Simple things like the plug in sink not working and shower head needed to be replaced, whatever, we were in paradise right....We headed to the beach, gorgeous. Then it just went down hill. We tipped $10 CUC to the receptionist and $10 CUC to the bell man. Also tipped taxi, and door man. The same amounts. So we have dropped $80 so far. Second room ready at 5pm. Got in it at 6:30 when they got the swipe cards figured out. I walked to the front reception twice. We were fairly exhausted as our flight was an overnighter. Finally someone came to our room and got them working. I did not tip them. Two more twin beds. Not what we wanted. Dirty diaper behind the tv. Poop streak down the outside of the toilet. Shower head barely spraying. One twin bed hit the floor when my 6 foot 4 240 lb husband got in it. They don't care. Hotel is full. NO more rooms. No bigger beds. Dinner. OMG cook it till its dead. Dry. Tough. Grose. My son lost 4 lbs. He didn't have 4 to lose. So we went out for dinner. $100 CUC terrible. Over cooked everything. No fresh fruit or vegetables. Drinks at the hotel served in tiny plastic cups. Solution bring your own. Big line ups. Tipping did not help this. Huge line ups to exchange your money. No small coins $1 CUC for tipping. So $5 tips. Our money is appx. equal to theirs so now I am tipping $5 for a drink worth .50 cents. Terrible entertainment. Not even worth watching. Brutal snorkeling. Drove to Havana. Drove to Bay of Pigs. Car rental at hotel is double what it is downtown Varadero. No iguanas to see. They hide in the forest because Cubans eat them. Pool blah. No design. No one ever serves at the swim up bar. Always out of beer or served warm. Oh yum. Can't get into the spa. Why I wanted to I have no idea. Way over priced. Got a great massage on the beach in downtown. One toilet in the ladies washroom in the lobby looks like someone smashed it with a sledgehammer....why I don't know. Our shower door didn't close so the floor got soaked every time you showered. Out of beach towels constantly. One change a day. Okay so I take it to the beach then I am to use it all sandy at the pool. Nice. Tip him, why not, it won't help you get a change of towels because he has none to give you. What a waste of time and money. Don't go!!!

Room Number:
1723

Room Block:
1700

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube