Meliá Península Varadero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Meliá Península Varadero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 27, 2014

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel

4.3 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 25, 2014

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 37 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero  

Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Matanzas
(Varadero Maps)

"Nice spot!"
Posted by: Marcus  on Dec 14, 2014
see all reviews

Meliá Península Varadero Reviews
Meliá Península Varadero Pictures and Information
Meliá Península Varadero Varadero Cuba

#19
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.5

Based on 28 reviews

Meliá Península Varadero Information


Five star luxury resort in Caribbean-style bungalows. Ideal for kids, couples and honeymooners. Enjoy great food and attentive staff service.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Meliá Península Varadero Reviews

Meliá Península Varadero Review: 4.5 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  21
Very good
  3
Average
  0
Poor
  3
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (5)
Leisure (19)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (17)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With Group
11 - 20 of 28

"Hotel simpático."

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pedro  on Sep 3, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Sep, 2014 | Business | Family and Kids
36 people found this review helpful

Desde el entrada la primera impresión es muy bonita y en verdad el hotel es un pequeño oasis, con muchas plantas y flores, el personal es muy profesional y inmediatamente se encarga de todas nuestras solicitudes y te agradecen realmente si les das algo de propina. Muy buena relación precio/calidad pero no esperes lujos. La animación nocturna excelente, y son muy buenos los show para niños que se presentan casi todo los días. ¡La habitación era enorme y muy limpia, la comida era variada y siempre hay algo para todos los gustos y sobre todo hay un snacks bar abierto las 24 horas! Los cócteles eran muy sabrosos especialmente en el bar del lobby principal y la playa era también fantástica y hay suficiente espacio para todos. No se puede hacer nada más que recomendar este hotel!



Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Très agréable!"

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Francesca  on Sep 1, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
36 people found this review helpful

En arrivant, première impression, wow le hall est magnifique et tout l'hotel est très beau également. En vacances du 14 au 21 août, avons passé un séjour en famille (2 adultes + 2 enfants 12-5 ans) très agréable.En août, c'est tres chaud!!! Toute la semaime gros soleil et chaleur intense. Probablement 35C et plus avec facteur humidex. Un peu veillot mais charmant. Jardins somptueux, tres bien entretenus. Personnel aux petits soins, restauration variée, services dignes de certains grands restaurants Européens, plage idyllique. Il y a beaucoup de cubaines. Ils peuvent être très bruyants. Petit bémol pour les chambres un peu veillottes, douche fatiguée mais literie en très bon état. a plage est magnifique. Le personnel est à l'image de ce beau pays rayonnant et sympathique et cuba est un pays merveilleux ou il faut aller absolument. Électricité 220. J'ai utilisé un transformateur pour charger mon cell régulièrement. Il y a une plug 110 mais ça n'a pas fonctionné pour moi. La Safe fonctionne et est gratuite. Tv satellite dans la chambre, tVA du Québec et plein d'autres en toutes sortes de langue.Wifi dans le hall: 4.50 $cuc pour une heure. Ça fonctionne bien. Mais attention de bien vous déconnecter sinon ça continue de rouler et vous perdrez vos minutes.

Tout est mis en place pour que les vacanciers se sentent bien dans cet hôtel du matin jusqu'au milieu de la nuit. Les enfants sont pris en charge par le mini club.

Si vous souhaitez participer aux animations vous êtes les bienvenu mais personne ne vous forcera la main. Merci particulièrement à l'équipe d'animation de Puma, Yamila, Indira et les autres. Soleil a profusion.

Le Melia Peninsula est un excellent choix pour Varadero!!!

Room Number:
1312

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice place."

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Donald  on Aug 23, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
35 people found this review helpful

Back from a week stay in Varadero, Cuba at the Melia Peninsula Hotel. The beach was really beautiful. The staff was always very friendly and helpful. The food was good with lots of variety and different choices every day. Our boys loved, of course, the hamburgers and hot dogs available throughout the day. I enjoyed the cafe espresso's and cafe americano. My wife and my daughter enjoyed the mojitos, rum and beer. We all loved staying in a 2 bedroom family room, ideal for a family. The evening entertainment was very good. We especially enjoyed the live music. The service and attention we received from the staff was really top notch. I would love to come back soon, this is a great place I highly recommend it. The accommodations were very good and the staff was so friendly, we would definitely go back! The service and attention we received from the staff was really top notch. I would love to come back soon, this is a great place I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent holiday."

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tom  on Aug 17, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
31 people found this review helpful

We stayed here in July 2014, me and my girlfriend have never being abroad and we decided to go to Cuba. I discovered at Melia Peninsula a group of people that make us spent an unforgettable days, very nice, friendly and funny... the evenings at the mojito are wonderful... to enjoy alone, with friends or with your family.
We stayed here in July 2014. The hotel is quite large but there were so many people that it seemed smaller. All restaurants are good, there is lots of variety; the beach is simply spectacular, night and day. The staff in general, the entertainment staff especially, are incredible, super friendly and nice. There are tourists from all over the world here and it is the ideal place to meet people, and enjoy the landscape and the Cuban flavor.
Deleb at the front desk was super as was the others girls.The staff in the dinning room was excellent, entertainment could not be any better, we were there a week and did not see the same show twice. This was our first visit to Varadero, we will be back!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"¡Todos muy buenos!"

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Peter  on Aug 10, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
38 people found this review helpful

La ubicación del hotel es magnífica, es un hotel bastante grande con muchas plantas y unos bonitos jardines y nos gustó mucho la instalación. Tuvimos una habitación en el bloque 26, sin vista al mar pero muy cerca de la playa y de la piscina principal, la playa es realmente una maravilla, arena blanca y agua trasparente, como es de esperan en el Caribe... El personal en todo el hotel es amigable y servicial, limpiaban bien la habitación y el equipo de animaciones era muy entusiasta, es genial de verdad! Nunca antes había visto un equipo tan profesional y dedicado. ¡Shows de baile por la noches excelentes y por supuesto también shows con la participación del público! La comida es súper, 4 restaurantes a la carta, un gran restaurante de buffet, un poco caluroso, y un snack-bar que queda abierto las 24 horas y sirve comida rápida.

Room Number:
2612

Room Block:
26

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Buen servicio, instalaciones muy confortables!"

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Ochoa  on Aug 3, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Aug, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
48 people found this review helpful


El servicio amigable de la gente de la limpieza a los mozos y recepcionistas, todo el mundo es alegre y servicial. Mi pareja y yo junto a nuestra niña escogimos este hotel por la segunda vez y volvería a repetir sin duda. Acabamos de volver de este complejo y en mi opinión todo estaba bien organizado. Todo está muy cuidado, los jardines preciosos, el complejo tiene un diseño muy bonito y acogedor, es bastante grande pero fácilmente comunicado a través de los carritos de golf, limpio, el servicio es muy bueno, la comida bastante variada y de calidad, pero podría mejor un poco y eliminar las colas para servirse que en ocasiones on largas, cenamos en el restaurante japonés y estaba muy bueno y vale muchísimo la pena. La playa es bonita con suficiente lugares en la sombra y las piscinas son perfectas, en especial la de los niños. Lo que cambiaría sería que hubiera más meseros y personas de servicio, ya que prácticamente te tienes que parar a servirte tu las bebidas, snacks, etc, lo cual no es muy bueno, pero fuera este detalle todo estuvo muy bien.

Room Number:
1307

Room Block:
13

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We had a good time"

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Frank  on Jul 27, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
49 people found this review helpful

I have been travelling around Cuba quite a lot, especially in the cayos and Guardalavaca, this time I decided with my family to spend a week in July (15-22) at the Melia Peninsula in Varadero, mostly due to the excellent price I found with Transat. Maybe it is not a real five stars according western standards, but still the place is very nice with gorgeous gardens and an incredible beach, main pool is ok but not too big and a bit dated, child pool is excellent and newly renovated.

Restaurants in general are ok, with many different option, French, Italian, Cuban and Asiatic. Staff helpful and friendly almost everywhere and service was quick and good. Buffet is a little repetitive as in many other place in Cuba, but the food tasted good.

Lot of sunchairs at the beach and pools so you don’t need to rush to reserve them. The beach is beautiful and water during our week was calm and transparent.

Room Number:
1107

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good vacation!"

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Burhan  on Jul 22, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
45 people found this review helpful

It was our first time in Cuba and travelling as a family we could not have picked a better hotel. Our room was on the 2nd floor, we found it very quiet and a clean comfortable room. Front desk staff was professional and helpful, check in was fast and bellboy service quick. The a la carte restaurants were excellent our favorites were the Oriental and French, although we did try all of them. There was a good variety of choices for buffet breakfast and lunch - more than enough for a picky eater like me anyway. Although repetitive as all buffets are, the taste of the food was good. I was in a different country and I was not looking for gourmet meals.The beach is beautiful and well maintained and cleans, in spite of some guests not using the garbage cans to dispose of their litter and you will have no problem finding a palapa and beach chair. The beach bar is small but was adequately manned and we did not wait long for our drinks. At the end we had a good time.

Room Number:
2712

Room Block:
27

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic service and people"

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jean  on Jun 27, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Family and Kids
69 people found this review helpful

We stayed at Melia Peninsula from May 30 to June 7th but our experience began 6 weeks before we left home. Our family enjoys a beach vacation every year and traveling to the tropics with a son who has a few allergies is not as easy as you may think. Before we book a resort we always contact the resort to see if they can accommodate us. So I narrowed my choices down to 3 hotels in Varadero that I thought my family would enjoy and e-mailed all 3 asking if they could accommodate my son’s food allergies. The first and only response came from the hotel within 2 hours of me sending out my e-mail. This is our 3rd year traveling with my son and no hotel has responded within 2 hours. The average response time if I get any response at all has been less than 1 day. I was impressed! The response came from David Salgado (Resident Manager) who assured me that they are a family resort and were fully capable of accommodating us. A few e-mails later and all my questions were answered so we booked our trip to Melia Peninsula and felt good about it. Over the next few weeks David & I exchanged a few more e-mails and I requested to meet with the Food & Beverage manager when we arrived. So on May 30 we were on our way. I must say I was a little apprehensive after ready almost every review in the 8 weeks prior to going. Once we got to the hotel we only had to wait a few minutes for the couple ahead of us to check in. Once it was our turn the desk clerk noticed there was a notice to call the F&B manager for us so he did. A few minutes later David came out to greet us and introduced us to Angel the F&B Manager who took over from here. He took us to directly to the Palma Real (Buffet Dining room) and assured us that they do not use peanut oil in the fryer and the staff was aware of high allergy foods. At this point Angel could see that we were hungry from our journey so he found us a table and invited us to eat. He got us all drinks (I got a Mojito) and he said he would be back in a few minutes. When he came back I was at the buffet with my son waiting for my order at the grill station and I could here him in Spanish telling the grill chef that these are special guests. He then handed me my ala carte reservations and his card and told me that if I could not find something for my son to eat I could pick up the phone and call him. We never had to take him up on his offer. Now this is a large buffet serving several food items. We never felt the repetition of food because we are sensible eaters and chose 3 to 6 items of food per meal and are open to trying some new things or new spins on food we know however I can see how if you go to a buffet and load your plate up with a mass of 10 to 15 items.

Bottom line we would go back to this resort in a few years. This resort was a great value and my family had a great time there. I recommend it.

Rooms:
Clean and cool. Legaudra did a great job cleaning up after us and when we met her near the end of our trip she thanked us for the gift we left her.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Over the last 11 years we have been to St. Maarten, Mexico, St Barths, Costa del Sole Spain & Jamiaca. This was one of the nicest family beaches we have been to. The water was warm, the sand was great for castles, plenty of chairs & Shade. We loved it.

The grounds are beautiful. They are constantly being maintained and there are labels on many of the plant species if you are interested. The pathways are lined with majestic palm trees and there are plenty of beautiful things to see as you walk around. My son loved the pirate themed playground however it could stand a little maintenance. This is a large resort and our hotel room was at the far end f the resort near the kids pool were usually ended our day. Our room was a 2 minute walk to the main restaurant & bar, 3 minutes to the sports center, 4 minutes to the main pool or ala carte restaurants and 5 minutes to the beach. As for the insects on the resort, Only found a little bug in the room all week, Never saw any spiders or other larger insects and for the mosquitoes, yes if you happen to be out at dusk or early evening I can see that you may be bothered but we brought bug spray and had very little issue with them at all. I think we had it worse in some of the other locations mentioned above. The resort did do things to handle the mosquitoes such as place insecticide pucks in the lagoons and every evening at around 7pm they fogged the resort, which I had mixed feelings about.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The kids staff was pretty good and they have a schedule of things for the kids to do. My son did enjoy the mini disco. I only stayed up 2 times to enjoy the entertainment after the mini disco but both times I was impressed. The first evening I enjoyed a show with a band & Cuban dancers similar to the entertainment you would expect to find at the Flamingo & the other evening was a traditional Cuban band playing similar music to The Buena Vista Social Club.

Other Comments:
People = of all the places we have been to the Cuban people rank as one of my favorites. They are hard working, kind, and humble yet proud people. I can only say this to the people that rank the service or people unfavorable; you will get with people what you put in. When you treat someone with kindness & respect they will likely treat you in a similar fashion. That is not to say that this will always happen but it did for us at this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Muy buen hotel pero lo mejor la calidad del personal"

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Estherillas  on Jun 23, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Oct, 2013 | Leisure | Family and Kids
55 people found this review helpful

Nosotros nos alojamos a finales de Octubre hasta el día 2 de Noviembre.
Es un muy buen hotel para ser Cuba, tiene unas instalaciones muy bonitas y muy bien cuidadas, las habitaciones son como dicen ser en las fotos que te ofrecen cuando elijes el hotel, no hay sorpresas desagradables como en otras fotos de otros hoteles. Todo el complejo está muy bien cuidado, limpio y constantemente pendientes que todo esté bien con unas instalaciones en la piscinas y alrededores muy confortables, con una playa cuidada con hamacas y posibilidad de hacer catamarán, piragua, etc.
La comida del buffet con gran variedad y con cocina en vivo tanto de carnes como de pescados, además tiene restaurantes a la carta, nosotros cenamos en el Shakura y hay que decir que se cena muy bien y el cocinero hace un show mientras te prepara la cena (muy recomendable)
Aunque para nosotros lo mejor de todo de la estancia allí fue el trato personal de algunas de las personas del hotel que te hacen sentir como en casa y que sean unas buenas vacaciones.
En concreto tenemos que dar las gracias a Adriana Rodríguez (atención al cliente) por el trato que nos dio en todo momento, Isamary que estaba en el lobby con las bebidas para que no nos faltase de nada (en general los camareros del lobby espectacular trato), Rosita de centralita, Alexeis y Yurisnel los jardineros que a veces están repartiendo cocos para tomar, la chica del buffet que para desayunar te prepara zumos naturales, los camareros del servicio 24 horas de la piscina..... En general lo mejor de todo el trato de las personas que nos hicieron una estancia más que agradable en nuestras vacaciones.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube