Meliá Península Varadero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Meliá Península Varadero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 27, 2014

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 40 reviews
Last reviewed May 21, 2015

Melia Varadero

4.1 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 28, 2016

Meliá Península Varadero  

Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Matanzas
(Varadero Maps)

"bad management hotel"
Posted by: Fernando on Feb 19, 2017
see all reviews

Meliá Península Varadero Reviews
Meliá Península Varadero Pictures and Information
Meliá Península Varadero Varadero Cuba

#15
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.3

Based on 32 reviews

Meliá Península Varadero Information


Five star luxury resort in Caribbean-style bungalows. Ideal for kids, couples and honeymooners. Enjoy great food and attentive staff service.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Meliá Península Varadero Reviews

Meliá Península Varadero Review: 4.3 of 5 32 reviews
Excellent
  23
Very good
  3
Average
  0
Poor
  4
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (6)
Leisure (21)
Party (1)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (19)
With friend (2)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With Group
31 - 32 of 32

"Excellent service at all."

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Andrew & Janice from Granville Ferry, Nova Scotia  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
459 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 24 - Jan 31
We arrived around 1:30pm after a short lay over at Cancun. Check in was easy, and we were delivered promtly to our rooms. There was 6 in our party.

Rooms
Rooms were good for the most part. Had trouble with the tv a couple nights, but it was fixed as soon as we asked. One night there was a terrible stink of some sorts, and the beds were as hard as rocks.

Restaurants and Bars
Excellent service at all.

Beach/Pools/Grounds
Excellent. Water in January is cold.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel
Speed boat tour, and a catamaran tour. Took a taxi to the market.

Other Comments
This is a decent resort, not a 4 1/2 star, but we enjoyed it. The food was excellent, service was great, and the beaches are beautiful. Would I recomend this to a friend? Yes. Would we go there again? Not in January.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The grounds very very lovely"

Meliá Península Varadero
User Rating:  Meliá Península Varadero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tara from Saskatoon  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
463 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 2 - 9
WestJet flights, doesn't get any better than that! On time, excellant service.

Rooms:
We requested a high floor room near the beach and that is exactly what we received, clean, & comfortable. My only complaint was a toilet that constantly ran, but we never asked to have it fixed and just got used to it. Left peso tips for the maid and and she always left more beer & water in our fridge.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet restaurant was good, always found something to eat. Learned to have the meat & eggs cooked longer at the made to order grills. Bread is awesome! Delicious icecream every night. Fruit was a bit scarce. Tried two a la carte restaurants and thoroughly enjoyed the food & the experience. You must book the a la cartes early, very limited availability.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds very very lovely, never did swim at the pool, we enjoyed the beach much more. Didn't seem to be must shade at the pool and alway found shade at the beach. Plenty of beach loungers available, staff would position it wherever you wanted. Beach bar nearby for drinks. Only a couple of vendors on the beach and they let you come to them, they don't bother you.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did the day trip to Havana, which was a great experience, however I don't think I would do it again if I returned to Cuba. Also did the jeep adventure tour and had a great time, you have your own 4-man jeep to drive on some pretty rough roads through the countryside near Varadero. I wish I had been better prepared with treats and toys for the many kids that rush out to meet the jeeps as they drive by! Evenings at the hotel were quiet, the show wasn't until 10pm and was usually mediocre. Wished I had taken a deck of cards along.

Other Comments:
This was my first trip to Cuba and I would definately return. I felt completely safe, the people are wonderful, and the beaches are beautiful. My only caution is to watch the money exchange, make sure you receive the correct amounts. At the Tryp the woman working at the exchange was the same person every day and she liked to skim a bit off for herself. It became quite the topic of conversation in the lineup, and everyone got a good laugh! Also very expensive to call home, 2.10 pesos per minute, we were charged double, although I believe it was an honest mistake. I would recommend this resort, it was a solid 4*.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube