Gaviota Playa Pesquero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Gaviota Playa Pesquero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Gaviota Playa Pesquero  

Playa Pesquero, Rafael Freyre, Holguin, Cuba
(Holguin Maps)

"friendly staff at the entrance"
Posted by: tia on Aug 18, 2014
see all reviews

Gaviota Playa Pesquero Reviews
Gaviota Playa Pesquero Pictures and Information
Gaviota Playa Pesquero Playa Pesquero Cuba

#1
of 3 Hotels in Playa Pesquero

User rating 4.5

Based on 58 reviews

Gaviota Playa Pesquero Information


All-inclusive eco-village next to Bahia de Naranjo National, with crystal clear blue waters and white sand of Pesquero beach.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Gaviota Playa Pesquero Reviews

Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 4.5 of 5 58 reviews
Excellent
  37
Very good
  18
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (15)
Party (2)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (2)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 58

"friendly staff at the entrance"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  tia  on Aug 18, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Mar, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
14 people found this review helpful

Right from we entered we were greeted by very friendly staff that had all smiles on their faces. They had a very beautiful pool that I didnít know they had, I enjoyed swimming in it most of the time. The rooms had air condition that worked well and made me have good night sleeps throughout my stay at the resort. The pool area and beach area had lots of sun beds and lots of beach activities for your entertainment. The buffet restaurant was really nice; they have good food selection here as well. A la carte restaurants were better off, they had more staff and more options than the buffet so in my opinion, the buffet can be better. I prefer the Italian food than others; I took it like every day that it was opened. You should try the coffee at the lobby bar area, you will always go back for more, it tastes nice and smells nice. They have a particular lady that is job is to sort out whatever problems you are having with the staff or the hotel itself. The gardens surrounding the rooms are beautiful; it gives it this homely feeling. I met so many Cuban people on my visit to this hotel, they were such lovely people to hang around and I had so much fun with them. The lobby bar staff together with other staff at the hotel all tried to make us comfortable, thank you guys for the effort. I will be back here for more.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"queja acerca del servicio al chequear"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  genobeba reyes  on Oct 3, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Oct, 2013 | Party | Family and Kids
99 people found this review helpful

El hotel muy lindo con instalaciones muy majestuosas pero el servicio en mi caso particular no fue bueno, al entrar segun me informaron me darian habitaciones superiors, por lo que supuse el servicio se corresponderia con la habitacion superior,el Segundo dia me empezaron a llamar la atencion ciertas cosas en cuanto a ese servicio y commence a preguntar, segun me dijo la persona que me recibio en el Loby que la vi por segunda vez el Segundo dia me imformo que me habian dado habitacion superior pero con servicio standard cosa que no asimile ni mucho menos pude entender, y en este momento dudo mucho que a pesar de que pague por un servicio superior segun me dijeron en el buro de manzanillo donde reserve me dieron otro servicio distinto.
Le informe a la agente que me recibio en Holguin que llevaba un cumpleanero para el dia 21 o sea sabado dia siguiente, cuyo cumpleano paso inadvertido , pero viendo que a los turistas extranjeros si les ofertaban kake , ron etc etc [pues me dirigi al loby y pedi hablar con la persona de relaciones publicas y nunca pudo ser, bueno fianlamente no se le dio ningun tipo de atencion al cumpleanero, creo dedeb ser mas cuidadosos en la atencion al cliente porque en algunos no todos se observa la diferencia de trato entre extranjero y cubano yo yo a pesar de que soy cubana, vivo en el exterior por lo que se me debio haber tratado de la misma manera que al turista extranjero creo que el unico pais del mundo donde le dan mucha importancia al turista que no es cubano es en Cuba desafortunadamente porque en el resto del mundo no es asi lo digo por experiencia propia que lo observo diariamente
Me parece que fui enganada en el Hotel cuando me entregaron las habitaciones , que dudo mucho que sean superiors , pues estuve chequeando por internet y nada que ver con lo que me ofertaron alli.
Por otra parte llevaba una persona que estaba imposibilitada de usar esas banaderas tan altas en las habitaciones que me dieron, que hasta se cayo en el bano, incluso la silla que pusieron a nuestra disposicion para colmo de males cobraron 10 Cuc por dia eso ya fue el colmo.
Siento mucho expresarme asi porque aunque vivo fuera hace 15 anos aun soy cubana y la verdad no hay respeto para el cubano esa es la realidad desafortundamente, no soy muy dada a hablar del pais que me vio nacer y crecer pero la verdad que las cosas pasan asi.
gracias anticipadas

Room Number:
4901,4909,4912,5011,5012

Room Block:
49

Arrival:
septiembre 20 2013

Rooms:
4901,4909,4912,5011,5012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful Place !!!"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  robert  on Dec 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Party | Solo
353 people found this review helpful

i had a wonderful time here at playa pesquero.it was my first time to cuba and i was solo.i met alot of wonderful people.the grounds were nice and clean.i noticed the grounds keeps where cleaning and cutting away the dead branches everyday.and they aways said ohla !! my room maid was wonderful !! i left her a big tip.room was stocked well and always had bottled water.security was wonderful i fell aleep with doors open and the security guy woke me to make sure i was ok.food was good im not a picky eater i enjoyed everything.the beach was nice and clean no complaints from me about anything please visit you will enjoy this large resort very much a must to return to.well worth every cent.

Room Number:
1418

Room Block:
14

Arrival:
arrivasl was at midnight got through fast at the desk and got taken away to my room right away

Rooms:
very clean and well stocked.took me a bit to figure out how to keep the electricity on just keep your card in the slot ! dumb me

Restaurants and Bars:
food was wonderful i was at the bestro had my t-bone cooked just the way i asked.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
nice clean beach and water.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"R&R... just what the doctor ordered"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Claire  on Dec 4, 2011  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
375 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
1611

Room Block:
16

Arrival:
Night flight, arrival around 7 p.m., quick through customs, one hour busride and quick 3-min check-in. The Nolitours rep gave us all of the relevant info on the bus so no need to attend the lecture the next morning. Good thinking!

Rooms:
Spotless, well stocked, lots of hot water and working air conditioning. Our building was close to the beach, but since we did not ask for sea-view, from our balcony we saw the sunset and tops of palm trees which was just as nice!
The bedding was a little fraggled. Our room lady was Mireilis.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food was not a top priority for us and we are NOT fussy eaters (especially in 30C heat!) That said... Gaviota (state)-run hotels offer the least variety in their menus, imho, compared to, say, the large chains like Iberostar, for example.

The huge central buffet was open morning and night with quite a large variety for everyone. At noon, you had the choice of lunch at the Beer Garden (mostly sandwiches and tapas, limited menu), the Mojito Bar (3 kinds of delicious chicken, and the usual sandwiches), an Italian restaurant (pizza etc.), the Seafood restaurant on the beach (fresh pescado) or the Yareyal (pronounced DJA-ray-djal), a limited menu as well.
The best a-la-carte was the Romantico: good atmosphere, service, champagne and food, overall. There's often a pianist (which we missed on our night). Next was the Italian "Gondola", beautiful setting, but food rather ho-hum, both the salmon and the meat were overcooked and two of the desserts had different names but were the same, go figure! Then we tried the Seafood ŗ la carte (the same one on the beach but with different menu): nice atmosphere, wonderful staff, fish and langouste was good. The last one we tried was the Yareyal (or Grill in the evenings) which was the least liked of all of our a-la-carte experiences, bad (or perhaps inexperienced?) unsmiling blasť service and totally forgettable food. The buffet was much better all in all.
Coffee is great but only at the Lobby Coffee Bar (try the Cortado, small espresso with whipped topping, yummy)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We did not use the pool during our entire stay, but I can honestly say it's the most beautiful pool I've ever seen! Wow! So big it does not fit in one picture! Lots of chairs, vegetation, just beautiful.

Beach: Our #1 priority as we spend all of our vacation on it! We knew it was not a long beach, but... anyhoo the water was hot and cristal clear. Yes, there is a bit of coral on our beach, but you really don't need water shoes, just one step over the coral and you're in! There is, however, a huge coral section on the Playa Costa Verde beach to our right, poor them! On the up side, we spent less time walking up and down the small stretch of beach and actually more time in the water swimming, soaking, and snorkeling. Lots of fish to go around, as the coral and reefs are close, so it's a real treat for young and old snorklers alike.

There were always lots of chairs, under the supervision of senor Carlos, service with a smile, and many palapas as well. The beach bar is a ways off at the Seafood restaurant, but there were waiters on the beach for the lazy bones lol

The hotels grounds are truly amazing. The hotel was built in a forest, so the vegetation is both mature and marvelous. Very clean grounds and very clean hotel in general.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Tons of excursions, yes. But we're beach bums, so all we did were the daily catamaran outings which we really liked because we got to chat alot with the two fellas (Alejandro P and Claudio), great conversations and exchange.
Some tourist friends went to Holguin by taxi with a guide (the driver) but were a little underwhelmed about the visit, as the city does not have the architectural and historical clout as Santiago or Havana. Others went to Santiago and enjoyed it altho tiring (3hr trip so 3h return in non air-conditioned car at 35C, ouf...). Our digestion was a bit iffy the first couple of days so we opted to stay put and try the ronron regime lol
Snorkelers have several excursions to choose from.

The gym is centrally located and also has 4 small jacuzzis for a late-afternoon dip. The massage center is also in the gym but we were unable to get a reservation, too booked.

Other Comments:
No bugs to speak of, 2-3 muskies, a couple of crabs after dark on the stone pathways leading to the beach, 3 peacocks, 2 cats, chickens, cute salamanders on the trees by the beach and oh yeah, one very impressive hairy spider that was more afraid of us than us of it!
Local merchants set up their stands, with new ones every day with similar merchandise. One small cigar shop in the lobby, one ciggy shop off of the Mojito Bar and one small gift shop.
Don't miss the evening synchronized swimming spectacle in the Volley Pool, great party!

Thanks to Mireilis, our room lady, building 16.
Thanks to senor Carlos, 17 years of loyal service, and counting... all with a smile. He took his job very seriously and watched those chairs like a hawk lol
Thanks to the gentlemen in blue, the compound guards, who always smiled and said hello, standing there all day in that blistering heat... Our cokas, Watkins creme and little chats were always welcomed and much appreciated.
Thanks to Alejandro P and Claudio for the catamaran rides, and sharing their stories with us.
Thanks to Wilmer and Liliana at the Seafood restaurant a-la-carte for their warmth and wonderful service. Such a cute couple!
Thanks to Michel at the Mojito Bar for the WORLD'S BEST MOJITOS, bar none! Gracias!
Thanks to "little" Alexander and Leonel at the Lobby Bar for their excellent service and joviality.
And last but not least, Senora E, mi amiga jardiniera, lover of words, your warm welcome, your generosity, and your thoughtfulness have touched my heart forever! Viaje con Dio y hasta luego!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful two weeks in holiday paradise"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Maureen  on Nov 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Nov, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
340 people found this review helpful

Every aspect of Playa Pesquero was worthy of 5* rating. Whole area/beach very clean, food and choice excellent, Varied entertainment for all ages and a very warm and friendly staff. I've definitely found my little bit of paradise - can't wait to return.

Room Number:
1514

Room Block:
15

Arrival:
Given lots of local info on taxi journey from airport to hotel where staff waiting to provide smooth chech in and refreshments

Rooms:
Very clean and comfortable. Different characters/animals made with towels and flowers greeted us every day (made by our maid) giving it a warm welcoming touch.

Restaurants and Bars:
Lots of diffent types of restaurants and cuisine to try - delicious fruit drinks and cocktails to try

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Again, very clean and safe

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Miss the friendly smiles"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  kenneth  on Nov 12, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
358 people found this review helpful

Back again at Pesquero for the nth time, September and October, pristine beach and looking out at the different blues towards the horizon. This is always "My Place". I visit every year since the opening but still suprised and pleased with the warmth of the welcome for returning clients.(There is a gala dinner at the beach resto every week , and champagne cocktail party where a lucky longtime client is invited to plant a tree!!!)
No hotel is perfect but the Public Relations staff are available at all hours to smooth away the frustrations.
The hotel is especially well organised for small children, (and weddings).
In the evening the principal bar at the reception has many different musical groups during the week from classic to popular.
I love swimming off the beach in transparent water, I spent my week diving for sand dollars,(sea urchins).
One can pedalo, sail with the beach staff,etc.
Food is always great, a gala dinner at the buffet evry week, sometimes with whole roast pork,or smoked salmon, imported cheeses etc, and desserts.A salad bar with individual service for salad lovers!!!!
A la Carte restos are good , my favourite is the Romantico and the Sea Food on the beach!!!!
Always meet old friends, this time Brian and Margaret from Worcester, England.
If you don't like the summer heat, Oct and Sept are perfect!!!!!
Kenneth, (Quebec).


Room Number:
10

Room Block:
59

Arrival:
October 1

Rooms:
excellent

Restaurants and Bars:
very good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
excellent, (beach line a bit rocky but can choose a path)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"SImply Amazing!"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  K  on Oct 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Business | With friend
360 people found this review helpful

This being the first time that I have been to Cuba and we were there on business for 2 weeks. I was absolutely blown away by this all inclusive. Very clean, minimal to non-existent construction, greeted at every corner what more can you ask for.

Room Number:
5504

Room Block:
55

Arrival:
Upon arrival from the approach you can see that this is a huge hotel. The entrance has an asian theme with the architecture and many fish ponds in the surrounding area. We checked-in, in the evening so there really was no line-up. We were both greeted with local juice beverages and a cold face cloth. Face clothes are always a win in my book

Rooms:
Our room wasn't too far from the check-in area. They have 2 golf carts operating throughout the day and night. Good thing too, we each had 4 bags so you could imagine how difficult it would be to have to manually wheel them to our room. Rooms were clean, nicely decorated, and had a very comfortable bed. The only thing I didn't like in the room was that the A/C vent was directly over the bed aimed at you while you were sleeping. I ended up turning off the A/C in the middle of the night a few times.

Restaurants and Bars:
We dined at the buffet for breakfast and dinner. It was setup wall to wall, so there were minimal line-ups and a wide assortment of food to choose from. They also had a seperate stand for desserts and a salad bar. On the sides they had a few tables that appeared to be floating on water, for more intimate dining with your significant other. very nice touch! To eat at the specialty restaurants you are required to make reservations, no a big issue. We ate at the Seafood Restaurant and the Italian Restaurant. Wonderful meals. I highly recommend the seafood bisque, it definately was the best I've had in a long time.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools were clean and very bright. Lots of room on both sides to entertain singles, families and couples. They had a very good Swim-up bar. I recommend the Purple Rain, very good drink. You could swim end to end on the pool. They also have sections for babies, kids and infants.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Could not have asked for a better honeymoon destination!"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sue  on Sep 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
421 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
25

Room Block:
63

Arrival:
We booked our trip with Nolitours, flew in with Canjet. Flight was on time and went well. One hour bus ride to the hotel with a tour guide explaining what we needed to know about our stay in Cuba (bus trip drops off at several different hotels, Playa Pesquero was the third stop...and from first impressions the nicest).

Rooms:
We were upgraded to a superior room for our honeymoon. The fridge had a bottle of champagne & two champagne flutes chilling plus bottled water, cola & beer. The room was spacious & the king-size bed divine. Good firm mattress. Small safe in the closet was put to good use as well. The room was kept clean & Maritza (our chambermaid) was friendly & nice. We enjoyed returning to our room to find towel swans or hearts and a bouquet of roses one day. We were also treated to breakfast in bed on morning with our choice of breakfast food.

Restaurants and Bars:
Enjoyed excellent service and good food. Got to know some of the people working there. Very friendly staff. Ludmila (Carabeno & Yareyal) is a sweetheart, Robert (also Carabeno & Yareyal) very attentive, as was Hugo (Latino buffet, supper). Solema (Latino buffet, breakfast) makes wonderful eggs over easy and brightens your morning with a big smile. Lťo is my bartender of choice. Always made sure we had our drinks & even got us to try new ones (you must try a Crazy Canadian...great drink!). I was a bit disappointed with the Seafood resto on the beach but it was likely the fatique of being awake for too long from wedding day directly onto the plane & getting to Cuba. I heard from other guests that some restos were not good as well but we enjoyed them a lot other than the one experience at the seafood resto.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
My first time snorkelling was at Playa Pesquero. It was so amazing to see fish I had only seen in aquariums in their own habitat. And we did it right from the beach. I was thrilled. The pool is quite impressive. Very clean & very large. We spent most of our time near the swim-up bar and near the animacion station. My husband played water polo often & the games are fun. We won a bottle of rum to bring home. The animacion crew are nice people. We spent a lot of time with Mike. Their jobs look like fun, swimming & playing games & doing shows at night. But they work 16 hour days quite often for very little pay & no job security.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the Catamaran/Snorkelling/Dolphin swim excursion. Beautiful catamaran ride to the snorkelling site. Open bar & snacks on board. The first mate on the boat chummed the water & had hundreds of fish around us. Truly breathtaking. We each held an urchin in our hands and the smaller fish came in droves to eat. Back in the catamaran and a short ride to the dolphin marina where we got to swim with them. Beautiful experience. Had lunch at the marina then a nice long ride back to the bus and a short ride back to the hotel. An all day excursion (8:30am to 4pm) and well worth every cent (cost was 120CUC).

Other Comments:
We will definitely go back. It was a wonderful trip & we enjoyed meeting so many people there. We will be keeping in touch with several & letting them know when we are going to be there again!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Good, Bad and Ugly..."

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Theresa Kiefer  on Jul 1, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
512 people found this review helpful

We visited Playa Pesquero June 21-28, 2011 for the first time. We had been to Guardalavaca before, but not to this area near Holguin. We picked the resort from among several that Sunwing had on sale based largely on the fact that it was a 5 star and it is HOT in June. After our tour of 6 Cuban destinations last June, we wanted to be sure we could count on air conditioning in our room at night ;) and since we knew the snorkeling to be good in the area, we assumed the diving would be good as well. We were wrong on both counts. This was our 15th trip to Cuba together since 2001, and my 18th since 1988. We have stayed in private homes, boutique city hotels, resorts from 2 to 5 stars and our expectations are reasonable. When we read negative reviews about Cuba we sometimes want to tell people who expect Florida to just stay home, so it saddens me to have to write one. Donít get me wrong; Playa Pesquero has a lot to offer, but enjoying it all just isnít as easy as it could be.

Room Number:
1407

Room Block:
14

Arrival:
The Good: The food here was pretty much the best we have encountered at all-inclusive resorts anywhere in Cuba. We were lucky enough to be able to book a different a la carte restaurant every night, including the Bistro, where for $10 CUC you can have a steak cooked properly, a rarity in Cuba to be sure! We also enjoyed the beach lobster extravaganza, where for $18 CUC you can sit under the mangrove trees strung with fairy lights and eat lobster trimmed with shrimp and bacon; talk about gilding the lily. We also enjoyed the food at the Italian, Romantico, Seafood and Caribbean restaurants. Beware though, when you reserve these places the concierge only warns you that men must wear long pants to the Italian and Romantico restaurants, but we were hassled at the Caribbean because my partner had on long shorts. The only disappointment with the restaurants was that except for the Romantico, there is absolutely NO air-conditioning anywhere you are likely to eat at this resort, and during a heat wave it is not pleasant to linger over the postprandial cappuccino with sweat dripping down your back. The food was marvelous though, and the wine was actually pretty decent.
The buffet for breakfast was also good and you could get fish and calamari at the beach/seafood restaurant for lunch. The pizzas at the beach snack bar were not the usual crappy offering; you could pick your own ingredients and they used tomato paste, not watery ketchup. No cappuccino could be found outside the lobby during the day however, and no Mojitos outside of the Mojito bar, which was only open from 10am to 5pm. Which takes us to Ö

Rooms:
The Bad: There was nowhere to sit in the evenings to enjoy music (which there wasnít much of) or each otherís company that wasnít completely sweltering. Including our room. We have dive computers that pretty accurately measure temperature, and our room averaged 2 degrees Celsius cooler than outside of it. Which meant that it was usually around 25-28 C in the room, although once it got to 32 C inside. We called maintenance every day for the first 3 days and they kept telling us that it was working. The fan did work, but it only moved the warm air around. Thankfully, the heat wave broke a little after 3 days and we were able to rest a bit at night, but during the day the only retreat from the heat was in the water.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Ugly: Getting to the water was a challenge though. We were in building 14, which is at the edge of the property in the corner closest to both the beach and the Playa Costa Verde resort. You couldnít get directly to the beach from there however because of the wire fence running along the property. This place is simply huge; the workers all proudly told us it is the largest in Cuba and can accommodate more than 2,000 guests. There are little carts that are meant to drive around picking you up and dropping you off and you can call the front desk for them. Unfortunately, if you have heavy bags of snorkeling gear, you canít even contemplate the 20 minute walk to the beach carrying your burden in the heat (the humidity most days was over 40 C), so you actually need to rely on them to get you to the beach. The wait for a cart was usually 20 minutes or so, but often at mid-day it was closer to an hour. Several times after waiting 45 minutes for a cart, we just walked and I have the heat rash on my legs to show for it. Once in the evening we waited over an hour for a cart though and were late for our dinner reservation as a result. You couldnít book the carts in advance and even bribery was not reliable as a way to ensure they would show up. One driver also continually harassed me for my scuba diving knife every time he saw us. I have arthritis, and my partner and I were in a minor car accident 10 days before our trip. Neither one of us could manage long walks and in the dark, at night, the paths were confusing and there was no way you could find some of the a la carte restaurants without benefit of the carts, so we were pretty much dependent on them and this was a real pain. We found out later that a couple of them broke one day, but the real frustration was that the staff wouldnít tell you the truth about how long your wait would be, so you couldnít plan your time and activities.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
On the subject of activities, we hauled our full kits of scuba gear to this resort in anticipation of diving 4 or 5 days. There is no dive centre for this resort, so you need to transfer by bus in the morning to the Blau hotel, at the other end of the beach. We have been diving at 8 other Cuban destinations since 2005 and I have logged nearly 100 dives in Cuba. Hands down, the worst diving experience I have ever had in Cuba was last week at the Blue World Diving centre in the Blau Costa Verde resort. Firstly, it was a bit of a cattle boat; we had between 15 - 21 divers on the boat any given trip, and there often werenít enough places for everyone to sit on the boat. The dive staff were indifferent to the point of not bothering to learn our names or telling us theirs. The briefings were sometimes non-existent and there was no effort expended to find out if divers had any special needs. I have arthritis in my knee and fusing in my spine, and although I am fine once in the water, they didn't listen to me when I asked for help getting my tank to the boat and the procedure is much more awkward than anywhere else I have been diving. You are meant to ready your gear and don it, including your steel tank, at the shop, walk about half a city block over a rickety wooden boardwalk to a slippery ladder that you descend into the water, then wade some distance to the boat and ascend another ladder to board the boat, with all the weight strapped to your back. The first day, my partner attempted this and he wrenched his back so badly he couldnít dive at all for the rest of the trip and was in agony for days. I insisted someone get me to the slippery ladder, and then asked the Sunwing rep the next day to call and make sure they understood that I couldnít dive without this help. They agreed to take my tank, but then put me at the far end of the boat and put my gear together for me at the other end so that I didn't discover that they had short filled my tank one day (1,700 psi) until I was about to enter the water. I still had to pay for the dive. They also fed the fish smaller fish, bread, crackers and bananas (a poor practice ecologically), congratulated an asshat diver who took a small barrel sponge from the reef to use as an enhancement for his manhood by shaking his hand at the display, and discouraged me from collecting discarded beer cans and other debris while diving and returning it to the boat. Despite the fact that I tipped generously and brought gifts, they continued to be resentful that I needed any help with the lifting and treated me with condescension by refusing to buddy me with anybody and putting me in the beginner diver group. If you are young and fit, you may be fine with this outfit, but I will never dive with them again.

Other Comments:
Conclusion: There were other minor irritations, like the fact that there was a coffee maker in the room, but only a packet of coffee on the first day and no information anywhere about how to get more if you wanted it. Staff at the front desk were not always helpful providing information about the resort and the Sunwing rep just didnít bother to tell us about the 4pm Wednesday pig roasts, or much of anything unless we directly asked. There were other good things too. The pool was lovely despite the Reggaeton and bad American pop music they blasted all day, and the massage guy, George, was pretty good Ė giving more of a therapeutic massage than just a straight relaxation based treatment. The snorkelling at the north/west end of the beach was great as well, the reef was in good condition overall, and we never had a problem getting a lounge chair or a bit of shade under a palapa on the beach. Overall, our trip wasnít terrible, but we wonít go back. We would prefer a smaller, more manageable place where you can get to know the staff.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrible"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  trudy  on Jun 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ESTONIA
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
449 people found this review helpful

We have been to playa pesquero four times before but would not go back, the hotel gone down hill the cleaniness is not good, the food in the restrant is bad unless you like eggs, there were birds eating the food plus everytime my husband and i eat in there we ended up with bad tummys, he lived on fruit it said it was a 24 hrs all inclusive but you had to pay for some of the restrants plus when they washed the floors they took the water out of the fish ponds which cant be hyegine, they never put signs up to say floor was wet, it was not up to stantards.

Room Number:
5810

Arrival:
30th may 2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube