Gaviota Playa Pesquero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Gaviota Playa Pesquero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Gaviota Playa Pesquero  

Playa Pesquero, Rafael Freyre, Holguin, Cuba
(Holguin Maps)

"Excellant Expeirance"
Posted by: Andy on Mar 25, 2016
see all reviews

Gaviota Playa Pesquero Reviews
Gaviota Playa Pesquero Pictures and Information
Gaviota Playa Pesquero Playa Pesquero Cuba

#1
of 3 Hotels in Playa Pesquero

User rating 4.5

Based on 59 reviews

Gaviota Playa Pesquero Information


All-inclusive eco-village next to Bahia de Naranjo National, with crystal clear blue waters and white sand of Pesquero beach.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Gaviota Playa Pesquero Reviews

Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 4.5 of 5 59 reviews
Excellent
  38
Very good
  18
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (16)
Party (2)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (2)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With Group
11 - 20 of 59

"Terrible"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  trudy  on Jun 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) ESTONIA
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
644 people found this review helpful

We have been to playa pesquero four times before but would not go back, the hotel gone down hill the cleaniness is not good, the food in the restrant is bad unless you like eggs, there were birds eating the food plus everytime my husband and i eat in there we ended up with bad tummys, he lived on fruit it said it was a 24 hrs all inclusive but you had to pay for some of the restrants plus when they washed the floors they took the water out of the fish ponds which cant be hyegine, they never put signs up to say floor was wet, it was not up to stantards.

Room Number:
5810

Arrival:
30th may 2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"4 Star Hotel"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  GM  on May 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
630 people found this review helpful

This was my first time to Cuba, I had heard good and bad things about it as a vacation spot. We booked our travel with Air Canada Vacation. The whole trip went fine. Flights we good, bus to resort was fine and check in easy. We were traveling with a 5 year old. The Kids Club was one of the reason I picked this resort and was very disappointed with the service.

Room Number:
1511

Room Block:
1500

Arrival:
Arrived in HOG at 7:20, waited a few minutes for baggage and loading the bus. Bus ride to resort is approx 1 hr. 4 Stars

Rooms:
Rooms are functional. We had a problem with our air conditioning the first 2 nights. When we mentioned it to Guest Services, mtce were at the door within 5 minutes to fix it.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food was one of my main concerns with Cuba. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of food. Not a large selection of vegetables or fruit. Plenty of fish/sea food, chicken, pork and beef. Would rate 4 stars

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool at this resort is amazing. Very large. Good spots for younger children to play. Beach was clean and about a 5 min walk from out room. I would rate the pool as a 5 Star.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Kid Club was poor, would only rate as a 1 Star. There was no communication about activities and hard to find anyone who could provide the information.

Other Comments:
We did the Swimming with Dolphin excursion, I would highly recommend this to anyone. It was $108 (CCP) per adult and $54 (CCP) for child. You have a sea lion show first, open bar for the adults, 20 minute swim with the dolphins and then a dolphin show. You can also purchase extra activities with the dolphins while there. A dolphin ride, were 2 dolphins swim you around under your arms or a dolphin push, 2 dolphins lift you out of the water by the bottom of your feet. A very cool experience. My 5 year was too small to do either and disappointed he could not do them, but the trainers gave him a swim on the belly of a dolphin while he held onto the fins. I would say this is a MUST DO if you are in the area.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Second time....not disappointed!"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Susan  on Apr 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
521 people found this review helpful

This being My 2nd trip to P.Pes. in 4 yrs. Always hoped to return there and did just that...with family meeting us there from all over Canada. We were situated on blocks 15-18..with a family in each building. Lovely rooms and some have been completely redone-beautifully!...some still in progress. Food was great!..Terra Antiqua was great....pool was awesome and refreshing...grounds were immaculately kept....NO BUGS WHATSOEVER...never had to apply repellent once!(they did FOG one evening)...Staff were great...(although CIRO in the buffet could use a smile or two)...Cappucino bar fantastic..and wait staff friendly!Towel guy at the pool was very pleasant and happy...Entertainment great and varied...something for everyone!..Snacks were very good as well as ice cream and beer garden appetizers.Can't say enough good about this place...very pleased with the cleanliness...and constant show of it. Maids were friendly and sweet...appreciated small gifts tremendously.
THINGS we Didn't have control over..the weather...which THANK god was an amazing sunny and 30+c everyday and a comfortable mid 20's at night...thank you mother nature.....
THE BEACH..has gone through some transformation since last time I was there..due to hurricanes...alot of coral was exposed..but still very swimmable...many trees were gone from buffetting the beach area...but we so enjoyed the snorkelling!.. This place is great..and wouldn't hesitate to return..PS. the GIBARA excursion is incredible....best one we were ever on..Marcel was guide...fab job!

Room Number:
06

Room Block:
16

Arrival:
Late evening..only 6 to check in...speedy and taken to our rooms...

Rooms:
clean and cool.....fridge stocked with beer...water and soda....very comfy beds!

Restaurants and Bars:
Clean and efficient...great selection...!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
hugs pool...spotless grounds....beach nice...but weather torn...I'm sure things will only improve with time and mother nature

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
whatever you desire...scooter rentals cheap and new scooters..
Many excursiobs to choose from...recommend..Gibara..

Other Comments:
Will retuen I am sure...wonderful Cuban people indeed...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Playa Pesquero was great"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  wayne  on Mar 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
288 people found this review helpful

The hotel property is huge, clean and very safe. You can easily miss the presence of numerous security guards because they tend to blend into the scenery in a very friendly and comfortable way. It has all the amenities you could possibly desire for a vacation. There are many restaurants, bars, pools, and the beach although a bit rocky is clear beautiful water. We travelled 2 adults and three kids 11, 9 and 7 years old. The kids had plenty to do, beach sports, kids club, teen club, table tennis, volley bally, archery, air hockey, snorkeling, and good shows at nights. Communication in English will not be a problem as most of the staff are fairly fluent.

You will never be hungry, thirsty or bored. Try Yareyal by the pool for lunch. The manager Manuel and the pasta chef Milano are awesome. Simply put, there is a lot of food. Most of the resturants will not have cooked vegetables so if you are a vegetarian (as I am) please plan ahead (I did not).

Buy your cigars at the hotel, it is about 25% cheaper than the airport. They have a small crafts market on the property. If you see something you like, buy it because the vendors rotate to this hotel about 7 to 9 days so you may end up missing them.

Definitely highly recommended. Enjoy.

Room Number:
4615

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Too Much Fun"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ken & Bev  on Feb 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
322 people found this review helpful

This was our sixth time at Playa Pesquero. The reason for for that is simple, we love it there. We have made many friends both on-and-off the resort, so we spend a fair amount of time looking up, and spending time catching up since our last visit.

The people are always very friendly, warm, and helpfull.

We have made friends with one of the horse & buggy drivers, which takes us down the road to visit some local friends. He becomes our translator - otherwise, communicatoin would be tough after the initial Hola!

Room Number:
1021

Room Block:
1000

Arrival:
We have been there enought times to know that everyone rushes like they're still in southern Ontario to get checked in. We simply take a seat in one of the nice large sofas, request a cold cevasa, and wait for the line to leave, and then we check in. It's like guests think they will be get a better room location - but rooms are assigned long before you get there.

One needs to learn the term "In a Cuban Minute". Things happen at a slower pace, and is that not why we're there?? Just relax and enjoy the sights and sounds, and when the line settles, then we check in.

Rooms:
This time, we cannot say that the service in the room was up to their standards. We had our bedspresd taken to the "laundry" two days before checkout, and never got it back. There was coffee in the room each day, but no milk after mid-week. Otherwise, the room and bed was clean and fresh every day.

Restaurants and Bars:
To be brief - the best Mojito and Pena Colada maker in the resot is Antonio Michel at the Mojoto Bar. Once again, relax, because he takes a while to make one, but it is clearly worth the wait. Michel is seimply the best!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We don;t spend much time at the beech, but we always take a few walks down to the beech bar to have a visit with Alfred at the beed bar.

Other Comments:
We can't wait until our next visit!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"When do we go back?"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  H  on Feb 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
318 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
08

Room Block:
25

Arrival:
Arrived late in the evening, just remember this is Cuba and you are now working with Cuban minutes, relax

Rooms:
Clean and comfortable, the staff does a good job keeping everything neat and tidy

Restaurants and Bars:
The al acarte restaurants were very good, Cabenero, La Gondola,Yareyal, Caletones, breakfast buffets were adequate, Beer Garden and Trattoria excellent for lunch. Plenty of opportunity for refreshments, Lobby,Swim Up and the Beer Garden. Staff always willing to provide a surprise concoction.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is on the smaller size. It is a bit rocky at the shoreline, but absolutely beautiful 10 feet in. The pool is hugh. It appears to be very clean also. The grounds crew are constantly working around keeping everything clean and fresh looking.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Not a lot of night life, but what there was, quite enjoyable. The Sun Wing tours were also quite good, "catamarans saefari" very good. Pay for the tours with cash if you can, they charge you an american exchange rate 25% if you use credit cards

Other Comments:
Tips are not required for good service. Tips and gifts are well received by the staff. Also if you can take medicine, school supplies, etc, it is very helpful for the locals. Take a cab into a local village and the driver will help you make contact with those that can use or distribute the gifts.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"PLAYA PESQUERO HOTEL"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mrs. KAREN HERBERT  on Nov 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Nov, 2010
490 people found this review helpful

Just booked PLAYA PESQUERO Hotel for the fifth consecutive year, something I would never have dreamed I would ever do with ANY hotel. Having visited many wonderful destinations all over the world I find this is the only one I just cannot stop returning to. I have always had a 'rule' that there are far too many places I haven't seen to ever go back to anywhere twice, no matter how good it was, but I cannot stay away from Cuba! The people are so warm and welcoming. The hotel offers the option of lively or quiet, whatever you prefer. The entertainment is good, and the hotel and beach are well maintained, the rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The grounds are well maintained. There is always something to do if thats what you want with lots of activities, or if you just want to chill out there is plenty of space to find a quiet spot. The food is good and I cannot fault the service. I always have a wonderful time. Looking forward to seeing you all again at the Playa Pesquero.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I had such a bad time at Palaya Pesquero"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  A.  on Sep 24, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
307 people found this review helpful

Overal I haven't had good time in Palaya Pesquero hotel.
That was my first time and I never go back again.

Arrival:
I arrived at 10:45pm. Just because of short staff,it took me about 25 minute to check in.
The person whome sepouse to thake me to my room left me at the driveway and
gone. I was looking for my room for 1 1/2 hour in meddele of night.

Rooms:
My bed hasn't been changed for 2 days. I request to chenge the sheets.
Also I havent had water in my room for 2 days.

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurant wasn't good. Ther wasn't any breackfast veriety. It was all eggs
Everyday. For 5 days I had only bread and butter.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was reqular nothing special.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Very poor.

Other Comments:
As I saide that was my first time at Pesquero.I had such a bad experince.
In many places they haven't have enough employees. Staff I find them un friendly.However I never go back again and I don't sugest to anybody.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"beautiful swimming beach/well maintained restaurants/lovely staff"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  kenneth  on Aug 11, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Business | Solo
324 people found this review helpful

I have been returning to this hotel every year since it opened in 2004,it is almost my home away from home, the staff are lovely people, respectful and pleasant, always willing to satisfy. Especially beautiful is the swimming beach with almost no wave action, almost a lagoon with transparent water 100 ft off the surf line 10 to 15 ft deep. (There is also a small sheltered bay near the river, but sand flies can sometimes be a problem there.Don't lie on bare sand!!!!).

Arrival:
There is usually a cocktail reception on arrival, but as the bar is also in the very large and beautiful reception area, there are many varieties of cocktail that the barmen will be happy to make for you!!!!

Rooms:
The rooms are large and spacious with a well equipped bathroom, (bidet and hair dryer and 110v plug-in). Repeat clients also receive an upgrade from a standard to a superior room. There is a TV, a dial-in security box and a small refrigerator in the room, plus coffee machine and ironing board with iron. The bar is refreshed every day with bottled water, beer and soft drinks at no charge.

Restaurants and Bars:
Very good variety in the restaurants, for the ladies who like to dress-up at least once for a special night the Romantica restaurant is a favourite. The buffet resto is very good too, as is also the pool resto for lunch which is very clean.Five "a la carte" restos are on the grounds with wine service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beatiful large pool with swim-up bar, comfortable lounge chairs and sun shelters. An exercise gym also contains a jacouzi pool.Lots of pool activities.
The vegetation is beautiful once again,(3 yrs after the hurricane Ike passed through),many palms have been replanted.

Other Comments:
The hotel is especially popular for marriage ceremonys, and welcoming parents with small children with open arms.There are organised baby-sitting/playing to give the parents a rest!!!!, and private baby sitting can be obtaines too I believe.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great vacation at a beautiful resort"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Francois  on Apr 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
330 people found this review helpful

I traveled with my wife and 2 year old son from March 21st to March 28th 2010. This was my first trip to Cuba but my 3rd all-inclusive vacation in the Caribbean’s. The weather was just great, mostly sunny and 30ish every day, and the resort was excellent. Here are some thoughts on my personal experience and impressions of the PP.

Your Arrival:
The flight was with Sunwing and it was great. Nice friendly service, free earphones, hot breakfast, gift bag for my son and a glass of champagne. Plane was on time for departure and arrived on time at the Holguin airport. Bus transfer was with a comfortable air-conditioned bus, but without a working toilet. It took around 1h to get to the resort, with one stop along the way. We arrived at the Pesquero around 11h45 am, and they had welcoming drinks waiting for us. Since we had book a superior room, we even had a choice of having a glass of champagne instead of the usual drink. The room was ready, and it took 20 minutes to get all our stuff and be carried over to our room.

Rooms:
We had a second floor Superior room, in building 46, which is not the best location, but not the worse either. The room was quite large which was great with our son. At our arrival, the maid was waiting for us and as soon as she saw the kid, asked us if we wanted a crib in the room (it wasn’t in the room even if we had requested it in our reservation and by email prior to our arrival), but within 5 minutes they brought one in. The small fridge was already filled up with 2 colas – 2 beers (Bucanero) and a big bottle of water. A few minutes later a guy came in and brought us another bottle of water and two more beers (Mayabe). He also had a 700ml bottle of white rum (Ron Cubay) for us, which I believe we received because it was a superior room. I saw the rum selling for 4.50CUC’s at the airport. It’s not an expensive one, but still pretty good with cola. Inside the room there is a small TV, with around 20 channels. I really didn’t pay much attention to the TV stations; most of them were Spanish, with a few English ones and one or two French. There is also a small portable cd / radio / tape deck player in the room, it’s very basic, so there’s no Ipod connexion on it (I had an Ipod FMtuner that worked great). The bathroom was big, with a full bathtub with shower, a toilet and a bidet. We had more than enough closet space and there is a good size balcony with two chairs and a small round table. We also had a small hair dryer, iron and ironing board in the room. The in-room safe was big enough to fit my portable DVD players and all the stuff we wanted to put in it. The air-conditioning in the room was not great, but it was good enough to keep the room at a decent temperature. You do have to have a key in a slot for the air-conditioning to work. One of the first things I did was to get another key for the room (as they only give you one at check-in), so the air-conditioning could be running all day. The kind size bed mattress is somewhat hard, but it didn’t bother either of us, as we found it quite comfortable. The maid did a great job of keeping it clean and overall it was a great room. We did see some small ants in the room, they are everywhere outside the room, in the stairs and outside the building, so obviously some were in the room also. We really didn’t notice them until we left some food on a table; not a good idea. Make sure any food you have in the room is sealed.

Restaurants and Bars:
The food is not great, but it’s pretty good. I’m not a fuzzy eater, but they had plenty of selections at the buffets and you also had other options to eat during the day. It is a bit confusing at first, as there are a lot of different places to eat at different time of the day and some places have different names during the day and at night. They could certainly do a better job of giving you a good document (at the front desk checking-in) with all the different options you have for breakfast / lunch / dinner. The paper they give you, doesn’t have half of the options on them, it should definitely be updated. But, if you want to eat, there is always a place you can find food 24hours a day, same for drinks. And, unless you don’t like fish, pork, chicken and pasta, you should not have any problems finding something you like. The fruit selection wasn’t great, as it was pretty much bananas, pineapples and goyaves for most of the week. The last two days, we started to see some apples, cantaloupe and honey melon also. There is also a very good ice cream bar that is open until 10pm. The buffets and all the restaurant (except the Romantico) are open air style places. So, yeah, like any other open air buffets I’ve been before, you do see some birds flying and the odd fly, but it’s was not worse than other all-inclusives I’ve been too. Neither of us had any stomach issues whatsoever and I didn’t heard of anyone having issues either during my stay.

You won’t have any problems getting a drink at the resort; there are bars pretty much everywhere. They have Crystal, Buccaneros and Mayabe for beers and even some Beck’s at the beer garden. The higher-end alcohol is at the lobby bar, the best dark rum they have is the Havana Club 7 years. The Mojito’s at the Mojito bar were excellent! Most of the bars are closing at 5pm, except for the beer garden and the lobby bar that are open 24 hours I believe. At night, they have the usual entertainment shows at the theater, some nights were pretty good when they had Cuban musician playing. Some other night it was pretty lame, but that’s where the action is at night. It’s was always full of people, the same for the lobby bar. They had musician playing at the lobby bar the nights they were not playing on stage, which was kind of cool. There is a nightclub beside the theater, I just took a peak inside, it’s not really big and it was pretty dark, but it had a decent amount of people dancing. There are also always people hanging around at the beer garden. I’ve always had great service from the bar staff and I’ve never felt like they were expecting a tip, or that tipping was making a difference in the service. I believe, that a: Holà, por favor, gracias and a smile goes a long way on the kind of service you get. I did tip here and there, and they were always grateful for it, but they do put it in a pot and split it amongst all the staff.


Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I thought that the beach was great. It is kind of split up into two portions by some rocks/corals. The portion to the right where is the longer beach area where you can walk to other resorts, and a smaller beach area on the left side of it. We tend to spend our time on the smaller part of the beach, since it was closer to our room and felt less crowed. The kid had a blast at the beach and the water was very calm all week, even thought some days were quite windy. Yes, some portions are a bit rocky, mostly on the smaller portion of the beach and it is not the smoothest sand I’ve seen, but it is still a great beach with the water having beautiful different shades of blue/turquoise. As I’ve read in a lot of reviews, it’s probably not like the Varadero beaches, I’ve even overheard that comment a few time on the beach from other guests. So, my suggestion on this is: If you want the beach to be like the ones in Varadero, then you probably should go there. There are a lot of free activities available and you can have some decent snorkeling not very far off the beach. There is no problem getting loungers, as some guys will even bring it out for you anywhere you want. As for a spot under the palapas, like I’ve mention before, unless you go later in the afternoon, you will have to wake up pretty early to get one.

Pool:This is one huge pool and it’s beautiful. It’s the warmest pool I’ve been in at an all-inclusive. The main bar is the pool bar, which was really busy, but there are smaller bars around the pool. It was great with the kid, since a lot of the sections are very shallow. It’s not the cleanest pool I’ve seen, but I did see some staff trying to clean it a few times during the week. There no problem to get a lounger, but if you want one under a palapas, then I guess you will have to wake up early, as the towel game (which I’ve never understood) is played intensively on the beach and at the pool. We would usually go to the beach in the morning and at the pool in the afternoon, after the kid nap, around 3h30 – 4h, it was not a problem to get a good spot at that time.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We took a cab to the Guardalavaca market one morning. It’s about a 15 to 20 minutes ride and it cost 12CUC each way (for the cab, not by person). The cab driver was great and he waited for us to bring us back to the resort. The market itself is not really big and was pretty crowed, we didn’t stay there long, there is a beautiful beach just a short walk from it and the kid played there for about an hour and we walked around a bit and then we got back to the resort. There are a few small bars around the area also. There are other options to get to the market, there is a train( which is not really a train, it’s the same sort of train that runs around the resort all day ) and it leaves around 9h30 to come back around 1h30, it is 5 CUC’s each way. There is also a double Decker bus, that you can hope one, I believe it’s the same price as the train and it goes by the resort around 9h10 and stays at the market for 2 hours. You can also take one of the horses-trolley to get there, if I remember well, it’s around 35 CUC’s if you go by horse.
We did take a horse ride, for an hour, it was 15CUC’s and we rode to the small village of Melia, where most of the resort workers live. It was an interesting ride, too bad the driver wasn’t very chatty, but we did see the living conditions of some of the locals’ which are pretty basic. There is also a small school in Melia, if we have known that before, we might have brought some school gears with us to give to the school.
We also went to the dolphin aquarium, and I did swim with the dolphins, and it was a great experience. It was 79CUC’s for swimming, 35CUC’s if you were not swimming and it was free for the kids under 4. It’s only a short bus ride from the resort, around 10-12 minutes and then a 5 minutes boat ride to the aquarium. We left the resort at 8h45 and we were back at 1h30. It was really hot over there and a bit too long with the kid, the sea lions and dolphins show were nice to watch, but they were pretty short and there was a lot of down time with nothing much to do.

Other Comments:
Yes, it’s a big resort and you will have to walk quite a bit during your stay, it’s not a problem for us, but if it’s not your thing, then it might not be the best place for you. A stroller is definitely a must with a young kid.

A Bubba Keg, or something similar, is also a must if you want to have drinks. Because at the beach/pool bars, they will only give you small plastic cup, that holds maybe half a beer.

Before leaving, I had read a lot of reviews about the different bathroom on the resorts being disgusting. I’ve visited, at one point or another, pretty much every bathroom on the resorts and my only problem with them was that most of them don’t even have a window. So, it’s like a sauna in there and obviously it will not smell like roses, but they were all kept clean and it was a non-issue.

There are some Internet workstations in the Lobby, you have to buy card at the Lobby desk with an access code on it. It sells by the hour and it cost 8CUC/hour. The Internet connection is quite slow, but it’s good enough to check and send e-mails.

There are a few shops on-site, where you can buy cigars, alcohol and some souvenirs and stuff like solar cream, chips and pops. There are also some vendors around the pool everyday selling stuff. They rotate each day, so if you see something you like, you might not see it again if you are only staying for one week. As for the alcohol, the best rum were : Havana Club 15 years : 150CUC, Havana Club 7 years 11.90CUC, Havana Club bullet proof 29.50CUC and Ron Santiago 11 years 40 CUC. The prices were pretty much the same at the airport and the bullet proof was even more expensive as it was selling for 35CUC. So, unless you are worried about your luggage weight allowance, I don’t see any benefits of buying it at the airport.

Bugs:
We didn’t see any mosquitoes are got bitten until the last night at the resort when we went to eat the Italian restaurant La Gondola. I don’t know if it’s because it’s at the far end of the resort or because it has ponds of water around it, but we did got a few bites that night. Me and the kid didn’t got much and they didn’t bother us, but my wife started to have a bunch of bites coming out, mostly on her legs as soon as we were back home. Seems new ones were coming up for at least 2 days. Fortunately, by Thursday it was getting a lot better. Make sure to bring Benadryl with you if you are a mosquito magnet and usually react to bites.

À la carte:
Reservation was a breeze; I didn’t bother on the Sunday, but when to the reservation desk around 10h00 on Monday morning. There were three people taking the reservation and only two were busy. It took five minutes and I had four reservations for 6h30. We booked the Vegetarian, Seafood, Italian and Caribbean. They were all very good, if I had to choose a favorite, I would say the Seafood one. The service was good at all of them and they have some decent wines also. They give you the bottle of wine, which is nice; they had a selection of Chilean and Spanish wine. It’s a lot better then the “house wine” they are serving at the buffet for dinner, which taste like what my father makes in his basement(not very good). I did book a fifth reservation on a day we didn’t have any. I just went to the reservation desk and asked nicely if there was a spot available somewhere for 6h30. The lady was very nice, as I didn’t realized it was already 3h15(the reservation desk closes at three), so she couldn’t enter us in the system and she had to make a few phone calls. It took her five minutes, but she did get us another reservation at the Vegetarian for that night, which was great as we preferred the à-la-carte to the buffet. Beware of one thing, when they serves you a plate and they tell you it’s really hot, you better believe them: my wife and at least 2 other people got a burn after lightly touching the side of the plate that was just served to them at the veggie – it seems like they cook the dish in the plate itself! At the Italian, they have a separate kids menu and at the Seafood and Carri bean, they offered to cook something for my son that was not on the menu, like burgers and fries.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube