Gaviota Playa Pesquero Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Holguin Province > Holguin Province Hotel index > Gaviota Playa Pesquero reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Gaviota Playa Pesquero  

Playa Pesquero, Rafael Freyre, Holguin, Cuba
(Holguin Maps)

"Excellant Expeirance"
Posted by: Andy on Mar 25, 2016
see all reviews

Gaviota Playa Pesquero Reviews
Gaviota Playa Pesquero Pictures and Information
Gaviota Playa Pesquero Playa Pesquero Cuba

#1
of 3 Hotels in Playa Pesquero

User rating 4.5

Based on 59 reviews

Gaviota Playa Pesquero Information


All-inclusive eco-village next to Bahia de Naranjo National, with crystal clear blue waters and white sand of Pesquero beach.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Gaviota Playa Pesquero Reviews

Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 4.5 of 5 59 reviews
Excellent
  38
Very good
  18
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (16)
Party (2)
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (7)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (2)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With Group
21 - 30 of 59

"Playa Pesquero Resort in Holguin"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  James  on Feb 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
316 people found this review helpful

This was our 3rd vacation at Playa Pesquero since it opened.The trips have been alternated with many other destinations in Cuba-always to 4Plus or 5 star resorts. I thinks we have normal expectations for our vacation and value for our money spent is always important to us.

Your Arrival:
We always go to the hotel lobby bar and wait for the desk staff to allocate room registration to all the other guests-seems less stress full than dealing with another line up.

Rooms:
As repeat guests we enjoyed a free upgrade to a superior room which was very nice-it never hurts to ask

Restaurants and Bars:
We were on vacation for 2 weeks.The hotel occupancy was near full and the service at bars and a la cartes was varied. Some evenings the table service in the lobby bar was slow and 2 days later it was excellent. Dinner at one a la carte was high lighted by a hissy fit between two waitresses-just shows that we are all human.
We like adventures in food choices and we found the food was all great-even the Asian which is not "Chinese food" was delicious .

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beaches were clean and well taken care of- lots of shade and more Palapas being built on site.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The bicycles were in poor condition-50% had flat tires and the fleet of mopeds were on their last legs-not worth the risk of being stranded miles from the hotel with no method of rescue.

Other Comments:
A real problem with the woman in our group was the condition of most restrooms around the resort. The smell of sewage was so bad at the beach banyo and some restaurants that they walked back to the room rather than be grossed out by the smell. A complaint in the hotel suggestion box was responded to by having them cleaned more often but the smell was still bad.

Tips and turn offs:
Tip: As a repeat guest you can be invited to a special dinner- ask
Turn offs: Man with out a shirt in the evening Lobby bar,fist fight outside the disco, shoving and pushing past others at the buffet, topless at the pool-Cubans and children need their modesty respected... come on people have some respect!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The basics were right and we enjoyed being there"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Bob from Montreal  on Nov 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009
270 people found this review helpful

Arrival:

PROS: The beach/pool was large and clean. The water quality is much better IMO than DR or Mexico. Good thing that this resort is large, because there were many families with young children and we had to move a few times. The room (more of a studio actually) was the best layout we ever had and very comfortable. The 15ft jacuzzi beside the pool was "violent" (I loved it!). The November climate in Holguin is almost ideal, night and day.

CONS: For some details, it is less luxurious in real that it pretends to be. Cubans cut occasionally corners (maintenance) in a way we don't see in more luxurious resorts, but not in an offending manner. Except the public toilets beside the reception were a shame, rather 2 stars level (the other ones we discovered a few days later on the theater side was ok). The food was generally good, but there were a few times that something was missing at the buffet (glasses, dishes, butter...). The table service was ordinary. The TV reception in the room was often mediocre. No village around, not much to visit.

All in all, it was a very good value, the basics were right and we enjoyed being there.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The only excursion we took was to visit Santiago de Cuba.
I preferred La Habana we saw years ago. I would pass on that excursion.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This place is not recommended for people with a disability"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Denise from Montreal  on Oct 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2009
267 people found this review helpful

Arrival: OCT/18/2009 TO NOV 1, 2009

Rooms:
Clean

Restaurants and Bars:
The Asiatic & Sea food are great. Buffet is good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Since it was low season the garden were not all done

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did 3 the Holguin Tour, the Jeep & Catamaran good but not worth the money

Other Comments:
The only thing that made us not wanting to return is that it is a very big site we were told that there was caro that would take us where we wanted to go because my husban as an handicap well you would call for one & the would arrive half an hour later. We also went to get a whell chair 10 cuc a day & they are rusted * they squick. This place is not recommended for people with a disability

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Loved every moment"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Leigh from Luton  on Sep 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Sep, 2009
287 people found this review helpful

Arrival: 21st September 2009 for 2 weeks
Arrived very hot and tired after long flight but were quickly ushered into a cool air conditioned room and given a nice cocktail. All forms were completed on the bus so we quickly got our room key etc and the train took us and our cases to our room. Very well done and very quick considering how many people booked in at the same time.

Rooms:
We stayed in a standard room and it was more than big enough for the 2 of us. Loads of storage. King size bed, tea/coffee maker, mini bar with 2 beers, 2 cokes and 1.5l water every day. Clean towels and clean linen on beds every day too whether we asked for it or not. TV with separate seating area was nice too. TV has a number of English channels. Bathroom was big and bright with plugs in bath, basin. (this can be missing in some hotels in Cuba) Cleaned well every day with towel art most days.

Restaurants and Bars:
Cannot fault the food at all. Breakfast in the buffet had all you could want, fresh fruit, cereals, full cooked inc chips and peas randomly. Scrambled eggs are to die for as are the smoothies. Even have champagne to go with your OJ. All free. Evening meal in the buffet was again great. We used to go quite late but they were still putting out fresh food 10 mins before closing. Red Snapper fish is lovely. You could use any of the al a carte restaurants once a week each. Romantico was the best. Try the veal. Best I've ever had. Also did seafood (lobster included), grill and the venetian (italian). Also is an asian and vegetarian restaurant but we didn't go to these but heard nothing but good things by people who had. All superb food and service. Even roses for the ladies given at the end of your meal. Nice touch. Top tip, please book these up on your first day, you may have to wait a bit but it means you can get booked when at what time you want. Dont forget the ice cream parl! our too.

Drinks
Great service at all the bars. Beer, coke, cocktails really whatever you want. The coffee coach is superb too. Latte's are lovely

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
This place is huge but easy to find your way around. Golf buggies and the train run all the time so no need to walk if you're feeling lazy. Very flat with no steps too. Good for pushchairs/wheelchairs. Grounds are all nicely landscaped and very clean. The toilets by the pool were cleaned on the hour every hour. Although it is a huge hotel, you always feel like you have loads of space. Lobby is gorgous with all the ponds and statues. Mind the frogs and crabs.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stupendo"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dario  on May 3, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: May, 2009
343 people found this review helpful

Ci sono stato 3 volte, nel 2004, nel 2007 e nel 2008, devo dire che è a dir poco fantastico. Sinceramente l'ultimo anno forse anche perchè lo conoscevo già mi è sembrato leggermente in calo di personale e di qualità alimentare, i buffet e il bar 24 ore è da invidiare davvero. Il bar sulla spiagga eccezionale, e ottima animazione. Lo consiglio vivamente

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent. Spacious and Clean"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jo-Ann from Kepmtville, Ontario  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
230 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 17, 2009 - May 24
Pretty standard.

Rooms:
Excellent. Spacious and Clean. Air conditioned. Beautiful colours - painted murals on the walls - no detail left untouched.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent. Buffet was always good - pasta, meat and egg stations for every meal. Plenty of fresh fruit and veggies. A la Cartes were plentiful and very good. Lots to choose from. We really enjoyed the Asiatic. The Gondola was booked solid so we couldn't get in but we were there last trip and it was excellent. The drinks were superb - no watered down booze here - and TRY THE STRAWBERRY DAQUIRI!!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool is sprawling, clean and warm. Very nice layout and tons of shaded areas and loungers. The beach was amazing. Very good snorkeling. Shell collecting at the delta to the west of the resort is excellent. Also good for shelling is the far east end of the beach. Powder white sand and turquoise water - that's what Cuba is known for and you'll love it here.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Always something to do at the resort. We played tennis, ping-pong, bacci ball, air hockey at the games room. Didn't visit the gym but it was well equipped. Got our exercise jogging around the resort on all the walkways. Caught a couple of shows - very nice. Played cards and yatzee in the lobby lounge in the evenings. Very relaxing

Other Comments:
This is our second time to the Playa Pasquero. However we did not book the Pasquero for this trip. We booked the Brisas Guardalavaca. We stayed there for exactly one hour until a taxi could pick us up and take us to the Pesquero!! It only cost around $300.00 Canadian to upgrade 2 adults and a child. Money well spent I say - the Brisas Guardalava made me itchy!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I can not understand the negative comments"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Pauline from Ontario  on Apr 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
233 people found this review helpful

I have been twice to this resort and believe me I can not understand the negative comments about the place. We were treated so nicely. They remembered us from 4 yrs prior. I went there with my family of five. 3 Teens. They loved it and would love to go back soon. I guess it all has to do with appreciation of what we have and what we do with it. You are in a poor country in some ways(socialist with free education, medical and dental) but the cubans are happy people, polite and respectful. Yes, they would love more because they see it with their own eyes the material things we have. We are a spoiled generation and we are lucky to experience travel. So just make the best of it and remember they have to work 12 hour shifts and go home which takes another hour for some. I read a recent review about huricane Ike in Holguin. I also have a friend that was affect by it 45 minutes away in land. Her roof was damaged and now has to live with her parents in limited space. I have been to their home and it breaks my heart that 7 of them has to share a small home. Is anyone going there from northern Ontario? Please feel free to e-mail me @ pas_lynn@msn.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We found the resort a very secure place"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lynda from St. Catharines, ON  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
395 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 13 - 20
The airport is very small so finding your way around is easy. After we were processed through customs we were directed to our awaiting coach for transport to Playa Pesquero. We arrived at night so we did not see much of the scenery. The roads were not that great but the bus was comfortable and the tour guide was very nice. She spoke well and was easy to understand. She did point out many interesting spots which we did see on our way back to the airport.

Rooms
The lobby of the hotel is huge. Check-in was a breeze. The only confusion we had was directions to our rooms. Once we realised that the "buggies" (golf carts) would take you anywhere, getting to our room was easy. They just see the "caught in the headlights" look on your faces and they just stop and are glad to help out. The rooms are very clean and very spacious. The cleaning staff was great. A few CUC's (Cuban convertible pesos) and you are guaranteed clean each day. Water, beer and pop are replenished daily. Although we had some confusion the first day. Just asked at the front desk how to get them replenished and they were right on it. Somehow we got missed in the shuffle. No problem though.

Restaurants and Bars
The coffee is addicting!!!! The Cappucino bar in the main lobby will be a favourite stop for all. Remember to bring a thermos (ie: timmies mug) for the drink of the day. They will fill it up otherwise you are getting a small plastic cup. Food is great. We heard that the food in Cuba was less than desirable. Not the case here. You just have to realize that our version of the way to prepare something might differ from theirs. If you like black pepper bring your own, I don't recommend the white pepper. Also, if you like hot sauce on your eggs pack some. The Romantico restaurant was our last stop on Thursday, and I do believe we saved the best for last. Here you get Caribbean Lobster. To die for. Their lobster is of a stringy variety but still good. The meat is a bit different tasting, but still good. The buffets are great. Try the chicken restaurant in the pool area where there are a few shops. It is the best. Took us 3 days to get in, we were always missing the time. It closes at 3:00 and we spent too much time at the beach. The seafood restaurant on the beach is a great place to eat for lunch. You need reservations for dinner. If you arrive at night and the buffet is just about closing, do not fear, the all night Beer Gardens serves great appetizers. Was a nightly ritual. The buffet by the pool is not so crowded and you get great food there, both cold and hot.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Surprised to see how many trees did survive the hurricane"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Deb from Ottawa  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
232 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 12-26
We thoroughly enjoyed this resort 2 years ago and could hardly wait to go back again, we went for 2 weeks Feb 12-26th Check in was super quick, we were in our room in under 20 min and unpacking!

Rooms
We had a standard room with a king bed that was more than adequate with excellent maid service, fridge stocked with pop, beer and water.

Restaurants and Bars
We enjoyed the Buffet for breakfast, excellent service, nothing lacking food wise, I often had the fresh fruit (especially the bananas and grapefruit), while my husband would get his eggs made to order, the little croissants are to die for!! they also serve breakfast at the Beer Garden, we tried it once, but we preferred the buffet where they were always filling your cup with fresh coffee

Restaurants:
As stated in other reviews there are many. We went to the Romantico,(fabulous), Grill and Seafood twice and the Italian once, all quite good While we were there the Beach Grill,(which is usually the Seafood at night) was still being repaired due to hurricane damage but it was due to open in a few days, but not before we left!! so the Seafood restaurant was still relocated at the Trattoria at night, during the day they served a variety of dishes, the pizzas are a little strange, one even had a fried egg on it

We were really looking forward to going to the Beer Garden again, however we were very surprised with the very reluctant service, the first time I was there for at least 15 min, and no one came to the table even though the place was half empty! I went to the bar to order a drink and when I ordered the food the waiter even rolled his eyes!! I have never encountered this before, anyway the food we did try was dry and very greasy, although I must say the pickled lobster was still quite good, we did try going back a few times to see if things changed, but they had not, but who knows maybe we just went on bad days? Although other return guests we spoke to had the same comment. On the other hand, everywhere else the service was excellent, especially at the Grill by the pool, your glass refilled before you could even ask, excellent choice from the hot and cold buffet, one day they even had oysters on the half shell!! Wine pretty decent, they serve Spanish at the buffets, and even have Rose, and at the restaurants they have good selection of Chilean as well.

Photos: http://travel.webshots.com/album/570323918nvQQYf

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff is awsome!"

Gaviota Playa Pesquero
User Rating:  Gaviota Playa Pesquero Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  User name ald1 from Ottawa  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
219 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Feb 8 - 15
Sunwing airline, we were to have a direct flight Ottawa - Holguin, however 1 week before departure we were advised that we would be making a quick stop to Montreal to pick some passengers. No big deal, for us. some passengers were pretty upset! On arrival at Holguin airport, customs was very quick and we were through with our lugguage in less than 1/2 hour. We boarded our bus with beer in hand. They have some vendors who sell Cristal (very cold) cans for 1.15 CUC. We arrived to our hotel in less than 1 hour. Reception was quick and efficient, we had reserved the Superior room. Not sure if that made a difference at check in time!

Rooms
As mentioned earlier we booked the superior room. The price was 60.00 each for the week. It included a bottle of dark rum (26oz), robes(house coats), incense sticks, and ocean front. We were on the main floor in block Naranjo Agrio bldg room 3404. Rooms were very clean air conditioned and very large. We had a King size bed. the bathroom had all the little extras;Body wash, shampoo, toothbrush and paste with floss, bubble bath, nail files. it included a hair dryer. there was also a bidet located next to the tub and toilet. The sink is separate from the bath area. the closet had a safe were you create your own PIN. (no charge!) It had a fridge that was stocked daily with 2 beer coke and water. we had a coffee maker but did not use it!

Restaurants and Bars
our superior room included a pre reserved spot to one of the restaurants. they had reserved the seafood for us. we tried the Italian, and the Asian. in our opinion they were good to average. the rest of the week we ate at the buffet or at the beer garden for dinner. for lunch we ate at the chicken restaurant( I forget the name) the breaded chicken is awsome! there is also a great coffee bar in the lobby!

Beach/Pools/Grounds
the grounds definietely need a a little Tender love and care as the resort is showing it's age. A little paint job and cleaning would definatly make it some good!

POOL: it's HUGE! we elected to stay near the pool bar as we like to watch people go crazy about 4 pm from sitting there from noon to closing. Some pretty good "action" one late afternoon after the dj put on some ACDC. we had a great laugh!

BEACH: Spectacular. by far the PP end of the beach is the best from all the 3 resorts located on the beach. Because of Huricane IKE they had a temporary bar set up away from the main blg. the building and facilities , I was told is schedualed to reopen in a couple of weeks.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube