Playa Caleta Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Playa Caleta reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 44 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Playa Caleta  

Avenida Kawama y Final, Varadero, Matanzas, CUBA

"One of the best time ever."
Posted by: Patricia  on Jun 20, 2012
see all reviews

Playa Caleta Reviews
Playa Caleta Pictures and Information
Playa Caleta Varadero Cuba

#33
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.5

Based on 17 reviews

Playa Caleta Information


Playa Caleta was renewed in its totality in 2005, in the neighborhoods you will be able to discover exotic corners of the most genuine Cuban flavor and it
is surrounded by exuberates tropical gardens of palms, coconut palms and grapes creek, also it counts on a spectacular swimming pool to relax.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Playa Caleta Reviews

Playa Caleta Review: 3.5 of 5 17 reviews
Excellent
  3
Very good
  10
Average
  2
Poor
  3
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (13)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (4)
With friend (1)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
1 - 9 of 17

"One of the best time ever."

Playa Caleta
User Rating:  Playa Caleta Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Patricia  on Jun 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
229 people found this review helpful

First time in Playa Caleta. Staff was great they spoilt me im 74 and alone.
Front desk was always good and helpful The food was better than any place i
have been to.the Guest were great youngest 15months oldest 90 met both.
Dance you feet off at night with the dancers entertament was great, beautiful girls handsome guys ( wish i was a lot younger lol).
Went on the big catermerang lobster seafood for lunch was a great day.
You can walk to Varadero.or take a free shuttle bus from the hotel .he will drop you off anyplace you want Go to the park beautiful.
Go to Habana .
The only bad thing was leaving my Cuban family.
P Cotter wpg

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not impressed,dirty,will not return to same hotel"

Playa Caleta
User Rating:  Playa Caleta Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Wolfgang  on Apr 28, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
216 people found this review helpful

Was looking forward to a nice 1 week holiday,(we ended up making the best of it,for what little the resort had to offer)
1st off,flight was long enuff so apon arrival stepping into resort(caleta)we got told resort was fully booked and could not get into our room(2hrs later up to our room)got changed an looked for food(inclusive) they jus put the food away. Walkin the grounds wanting to eat,(looking) pool quiet,dirty,swim up bar(closed all week)music around the pool"very little".Activities round the pool(none)saw one water aerobics class. We found food(hot dogs&hamburgers) "plain", no nothing on bugers(not impressed).

Arrival:
April 15th am until April 23 pm(1week)

Rooms:
I wood say average rooms,beds clean,faucets loose in bathroom and shower,wet floor along wall(leak somewhere)?

Restaurants and Bars:
Food plain and simple,eggs scrambled with no flavor,patatoes warmed up with no seasoning,chicken didn't look like it,hot dogs plain ,hamburgers plain. And no food all night long like should be. (all inclusive)?
The bar ran out of beer three nights out of the week we were there. People not impressed.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beaches cleaned in the morning,pool deck dirty,empty cups all over no one cleaning deck til the end of the day when they close the pool,cups end up In the pool making the pool look dirty.
Grounds were kept clean all branches an garbage were cleaned up regularly.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
No activities all week long,only one class water exercises in the pool
30min long maybe?

Other Comments:
Like I said we made the best of it: with all the freinds we made,the extra beer we had to purchase and greattttttt sunshine!!!
One more note: all the staff were very friendly and helpful as best as they could understand your language!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Hate Playa Caleta"

Playa Caleta
User Rating:  Playa Caleta Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  LEELA  on Apr 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
210 people found this review helpful

Well where do I start...

I have been to Varadero Cuba about 7 times over the years, and I always had a great time but again I always stayed at 5 star resorts..

I booked Playa Caleta with my daughter and her best friend who is both 19 years old. I have never stayed any 3 and half stars hotels in Cuba before, so I taught how bad can it be...

Well if you booking resorts in Cuba, spend the extra few hundred dollars and book 5stars it's the only way to go in Cuba.. Any other places like Mexico or Dom Rep you can get away with booking 4 stars..

Well we got there people at the front desk very rude, the lobby horrible the washroom horrible the beach was very bad, It was like going into a hole, we hated every moment of it..The rooms not nice at all and it was dark and gloomy looking, the elevator made horrible sounds and very old....

We found our Sunwing Rep and we talk to her and told her we hated this hotel and we can't stay here or 1 week, we told her she has to find us something else.. It took her a few hours and found a another resort, it cost us a bit more money but much better than Playa Caleta..

The resort was called Las Morlas, it was a 4 star resort, but very nice people and great service.. We spend the week at that resort and loved it, the beach was awesome and food was ok, but you don't go to Cuba for the the food, it was a great resort,close to all the disco's if you want to party a bit.

Please if you're considering going to Cuba for a vacation, please spend the extra $200 - $300 and book 5 star resorts in Cuba you will have a great time, food, drinks entertainment, over all a way better vacation..

We was there the last week in March of 2012.. Varadero was very busy,but thank to Janet our Sunwing Rep she got us a very nice resort for the rest of our vacation, it was a bit harder to find us a place because there was 3 of us sharing 1 room and lots of resorts don't do tripple accupancy.

I hope this helps you out with your travel to Cuba which is very beautiful Island with lots of nice people...

I LOVE CUBA

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends

Room Number:
712

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lots of fun, great staff"

Playa Caleta
User Rating:  Playa Caleta Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  charles  on Apr 15, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
262 people found this review helpful

Had a great time at this resort, better than i expected, very friendly staff in lobby bar and in buffet, have been in varadero 8 times, never at the same resort but would return to caleta again as i really enjoyed the hotel

Rooms:
ocean view, clean room, maids were great

Restaurants and Bars:
lobby bar was a riot, food was not that bad

Other Comments:
would recommend this hotel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Lots of fun, great staff"

Playa Caleta
User Rating:  Playa Caleta Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  charles  on Apr 15, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
226 people found this review helpful

Had a great time at this resort, better than i expected, very friendly staff in lobby bar and in buffet, have been in varadero 8 times, never at the same resort but would return to caleta again as i really enjoyed the hotel

Rooms:
ocean view, clean room, maids were great

Restaurants and Bars:
lobby bar was a riot, food was not that bad

Other Comments:
would recommend this hotel

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Just as expected and not as bad as other reviews"

Playa Caleta
User Rating:  Playa Caleta Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Shaun  on Feb 4, 2012  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
268 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
202

Arrival:
check in was quick and easy waited an hour for room to be ready, just went for lunch and came back and it was ready. bell hop helped with luggage and emenities of the room. i liked this as he explained in good english how everything worked before he left.

Rooms:
king size bed, tv, hair dryer. balcony, couple chairs to sit on and lights that worked. AC worked quietly and efficient. spacious and clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
pool bar, beach bar and main bar. this was probably the bad point of the hotel as there is not too many options if you like to drink. pool bar and beach bar closed early and main bar was really busy. bring a big bubba and fill once so you can enjoy your drink and evening. buffet restaurant was good. if you are a picky eater you will not survive, so take this into consideration when booking as most resorts in cuba are not the best in the world but you can do fine if you keep an open mind. snack bar near pool was ok and late night sandwiches at the cafe bar were good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach was ok with alot of shell pieces in the sand and not your typical white sand, pool looked clean but could use a bit more care. all in all it was good. grounds are well kept

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
jeep safari and havana day trip i recommend both of these. jeep safari has snorkeling and you actually drive the jeep. you also go on a boat ride in the canimar river.

Other Comments:
overall i felt this resort was adequate for me. as i have been to cuba and stayed at 2* resorts and i cant say too many bad things here. i would go back to this resort. staff are pleasant if you treat them with respect and attempt their language. i think they appreciate it just like we do when they speak english.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Honeymoon!"

Playa Caleta
User Rating:  Playa Caleta Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  David  on Oct 1, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
307 people found this review helpful

Would like to say that they have one of the cleanest hotels i have ever stayed in. Second the food was ok, i could find something to eat at every meal. But by spending a little less on the hotel it allowed us to go out and eat in Varadero a couple of nights. Great staff always ready to help and answer question.

Room Number:
225

Arrival:
Sept 18/11

Rooms:
one room

Restaurants and Bars:
ok food,

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful Beach, clean pool

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Activities on the resort were hard to find during the day, Great shows at night. Off the resort the list is to long and great prices, just talk to the staff for were to go.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had an awesome week at this hotel !!"

Playa Caleta
User Rating:  Playa Caleta Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  julia  on May 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
347 people found this review helpful

From the first time that we stepped into the hotel, we were greeted by a friendly desk clerk who processed us quickly and efficiently. My room shared with a friend was comfortable for the time that we spent in it. The staff was very friendly and made our seven day stay very enjoyable. The nightly shows were enjoyable and I looked forward to them. We were made to feel like we were at home and I definitely am going back.

Room Number:
633

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool and beach were beautiful. Staff at both locations were great and we got to know at lot of the staff during our stay.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"You Get What You Pay For. First time to Cuba (5 times Dominican). Save up for Punta Cana"

Playa Caleta
User Rating:  Playa Caleta Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Georgia  on Mar 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
316 people found this review helpful

Room Block:
2nd Floor

Arrival:
Fast check in - only 6 or 7 couples. Most desk staff friendly. No map of resort areas at front desk or in the rooms.

Rooms:
Clean and comfortable except the air conditiong didn't work very well. Don't leave the patio doors open - big bugs!!

Restaurants and Bars:
The worst part was the food. People say 'this is Cuba so be prepared to eat Cuban food'. I'm OK with that. However, this food was barely edible. If the majority of your clientel are Canadians make an effort to have something Canadian (fries maybe) Only the grill food was hot and just looking at some of the dishes would turn you off. Had one good evening meal after that it was bread and meat. Tipping dishes everywhere, even for orange juice & eggs. I don't mind tipping for good service but I've already paid for an all inclusive that included FOOD so I resent tipping for the basics of breakfast. The coffee dispenser only worked one day. After that the coffee was served in thermos like pitchers put out early & never replenished, so if you didn't get there early you got cold coffee that even if hot was not good. Pool snack bar is a joke. Under cooked (ham) burgers and subs.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is not great. Sand is very coarse consisting of tiny broken shells. Drops off quickly so no walking at the water's edge and you cannot walk along the beach as you sink quickly into the sand up to your ankles. Pool area nice. Most of the staff friendly. The grounds are very nice and well kept.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Our vacation was for rest and relaxation. Did not participate in activities but could tell they were limited.

Other Comments:
This is a 7 story building and the elevators make funny noises and the electricity goes off often. The weather was just OK. Hot in the sun, cool in the shade. Very windy 5 days out of 7. When calm then you are smelling garbage burning until a breeze comes up. There is nowhere to go to get away from people smoking, even the guard at the beach. Drinks are weak, no drink menu posted so you have no idea what to ask for. Coffee/espresso served at main bar so staff is busy making coffee instead of drinks which didn't matter much as I didn't drink much. Male bartenders at the pool try to ignore females unless you flash a tip or something that sounds like that!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A very disappointing experience, save your money and go somewhere else"

Playa Caleta
User Rating:  Playa Caleta Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  bogi  on Mar 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
386 people found this review helpful

After reading all reviews we thought why not give it a shot as there is always dissatisfied people. boy were does bad reviews dead on.

#1 Not a 4 star hotel at all (maybe 2 if they are lucky)
#2 Not a family hotel at all (KIDS club that is advertised is a few books + a giant 4 in line game)
#3 FOOD is the worst I have ever had in Cuba and this is my 8th time
#4 24hr grill/cafeteria worked 1 out of 7 days of our trip
#5 Drinks were horrible - mixed alcoholic ones were a disaster and the non-alcoholic ones were just from concentrate and were like pure sugar with some coloration and a hint of the taste of real fruit.
#6 Bars were opened and closed at odd times (Except for the lobby bar)
#7 Beach even though is nice it is very odd as well- no shallow water with a combination of the sand dune that is a few meters before the point of entry into the water make it virtually impossible to keep an eye on the kids or anyone else (in case of the lifeguard that is sitting all the way back trying to sell you cigars instead of doing his job)
#8 Entertainment was horrible - the best thing was the band that played cuban music but they were just showed aside and played as a introduction
#9 Good luck in case of bad weather if you are high up as the elevators loose power and the only way up is emergency stairs outside. yes outside where the bad weather is. And I mean 75+ km winds and rain
...
...
...
I can go on and on the point is save your money and go somewhere else.. even Kawama looks like its a better hotel then this one. Barlovento, Aguas Azulis,... pick one - all better then Playa Caleta.

Will not return or recommend this to anyone. SAVE YOUR CASH!

Room Number:
505

Arrival:
Horrible . Arrived at 01:00am wiht a group of about 20 ppl in the bus. Got into the room at around 03:00am. Thah's how slow the checkin was!

Rooms:
Average. nice view if ocean side.

Restaurants and Bars:
Horrible. Bad food, bad drinks, half of them were not open most of the time, especially at the same time including the 24hr advertised snack cafeteria.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Not bad. Only decent thing about this place.

Other Comments:
DO NOT GO HERE!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube