Rancho Luna Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Rancho Luna reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cienfuegos Hotels with Similar Ranking

Faro Luna

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 10, 2014

Palacio Azul

3.8 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Mar 29, 2012

Rancho Luna  

Carr. Rancho Luna, Km. 18, Cienfuegos, Cuba

"Adequate."
Posted by: John  on May 30, 2014
see all reviews

Rancho Luna Reviews
Rancho Luna Pictures and Information
Rancho Luna Cienfuegos Cuba

#4
of 6 Hotels in Cienfuegos

User rating 2.2

Based on 6 reviews

Rancho Luna Information


Located 18 kilometers from the city of Cienfuegos – known also as the "southern pearl" because of its charm and the overwhelming beauty of its bay - the Rancho Luna Hotel offers the ideal spot for a sun and sand vacation – a place for scuba diving and ecotourism that combines the charms of the city’s history and architecture with the cultural appeal of its inhabitants.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Rancho Luna Reviews

Rancho Luna Review: 2.2 of 5 6 reviews
Excellent
  0
Very good
  1
Average
  1
Poor
  2
Terrible
  2
By Occasion...
Leisure (6)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (1)
Solo Traveller (3)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (1)
Solo
With friend
1 - 6 of 6

"Adequate."

Rancho Luna
User Rating:  Rancho Luna Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  John  on May 30, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
33 people found this review helpful

Rancho Luna. May 18 – 25, 2014.
Cubana flight from Toronto to Santa Clara. - Heads UP!! - You must get your tourist card at the Cubana, (Air Transat), counter before lining up to check in.
Luggage allowance of 23kg x 2 suitcases. Wow!
Drinks on the plane = $5 CDN or US $5
The flight landed at Santa Clara airport. Customs were fast and efficient. The bus was ready but some passengers were changing money and we had to wait. There was no beer at the café or on the carts. Rum instead so I was OK but a Buccanero would have been nicer.
After a 2 hour bus ride through the countryside, we arrived in the dark at Rancho Luna. Check-in was quick, but the receptionist just said ‘your room is in the second block’ and a vague point over her shoulder. The buffet was still open for a bite, but it had been open since 6:30 and the food was…
There were no porters and not enough signs. I found my room, the A/C was on and the card worked for the safe. It was a small, clean room and no balcony. But, big enough for my needs.
Rancho Luna has a ‘reputation’ and since I was a mid - 50’s male traveling alone, I was considered to be part of the ‘reputation’. Companionship was offered daily. Not aggressively, but always overtly.
The Good – The place was clean, the food was adequate, the beach had sand, the bars had rum, the room had a bed and TV, the shower had warmish water and the free shuttle service to Cienfuegos was on time and efficient.
Excursion: The trip to El Nicho waterfall was worth the 35 CUC. On the shuttle it is 1.5 hours away. Good birding there too. I saw some of the national birds, Cuban trogon,( Tocoloro), and hummingbirds.
Resort areas that were slightly lacking – On weekends, some 3-day guests would load up with food to take out to their relatives and friends outside the resort. Room was small – no balcony. Snorkelling was over a grassy area for 300m, then adequate, not great. Hey – it is the low season and the shows are expensive, but to have Bingo on 3 nights and call it ‘Our entertainment for you’, is stretching it a lot. One night there was a good local band, another night was ‘Name That Tune’, en espanol. One night there was ‘A Selection of Cuban Music for you’. It was someone’s ipod tunes.
Entrepreneurs on the beach were offering everything from hats, honey, cigars, companionship, homemade crafts, offers to be a guide and requests for all clothes and pretty much anything I brought to Cuba.
In short, it was an adequate trip. I met some very nice people.
Rancho Luna- No big complaints, just niggling little things that can be overlooked but you should be aware of if you go. If I got a killer of a deal, I would return, but there are so many other places to see.
PM me if you want specifics.
John.

Room Number:
270

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Brian @12 nights in July 2013"

Rancho Luna
User Rating:  Rancho Luna Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brian  on Jul 11, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2013 | Leisure | Solo
106 people found this review helpful

I have been to "The Ranch" over a dozen times and have found it to have deteriorated to unacceptable levels. Every day no water. Sometimes 10 minutes sometimes 4 hours and on the last day for 12hours (read no shower for the flight) Not a 3 star hotel by any stretch. Other pet pives included them switching beer availability from the poolbar to the lobby bar . Not that they ran out, just stopped serving on a whim
No food at the pool bar until 3pm and no food at the beach bar.
I once counted 32 flies (and stopped counting) at the lunch table on a rather bad and hot day.
The only consolation is with this 'service', even the Cuban are staying away
On a postive note the room was clean and a/c worked like a charm.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"should be a 3 to 3.5 star."

Rancho Luna
User Rating:  Rancho Luna Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  heinz saufferer  on Apr 29, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2013 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
117 people found this review helpful

Clean place Friendly staff Will go there again on the 16 of june.
Visit the Delfinario,el nicho waterfalls and Cienfuegos.Trinidad,

Heinz Saufferer
sauffererh@yahoo.com.

Room Number:
122

Room Block:
1

Rooms:
Clean,big.

Restaurants and Bars:
Better than average.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
good.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Could be better.

Other Comments:
Surprice yourselve

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fine for me, not perfect for everyone"

Rancho Luna
User Rating:  Rancho Luna Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Pat  on Dec 20, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2012 | Leisure | Solo
147 people found this review helpful

This is a place for a CHEAP get-away, NOT a luxury vacation. If someone can over-looked minor irritants & is the type of person that always sees their 'glass as half-full, not half empty', when remembering it is half the cost of many other packages in Cuba, they'll feel safe & satisfied here.

Room Number:
257

Arrival:
The hour-or-so ride from the Santa Clara airport was in a comfortable modern bus but, to the extreme discomfort of several passengers who bought beer for the ride, the bathroom was not functional. Be warned - this happens a lot!

Hotel check in was efficient. I didn't wait for a bell-hop as i had rolling luggage,but a gardener saw me having trouble on the walkway stairs & offered help.

Rooms:
My 2nd floor ocean-facing room was dated & simple, but it was comfortable and everything worked. I had declined a similar ground floor room with a cute patio because the sliding door could not be secured. Friends in rooms closer to the main hotel & facing it (334,368,365) had similar but acceptable facilities, with the occasional shabby item. Hot water was a problem for a friend one day.

Restaurants and Bars:
The main buffet included lots of fresh fruit & quantities of wonderful ice-cream. All of the baked deserts have the same taste (or lack thereof) even if they look different. At every meal there was a few choices of meat & vegetables, so there was always something to eat unless you're quite picky. The eggs/omelettes cooked to order, and 'while-you-wait' fruit smoothies were very good, IMHO. That said, no one will leave the country raving about the food at this hotel - except for that incredible ice-cream, which is as good as I've had anywhere in Cuba.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The hotel grounds were pleasant, the bars had friendly & efficient staff, the food was certainly acceptable. The pool looked good & was conveniently located.

This Caribbean beach is warmer than at those fancier places on the Atlantic side of the country, but smaller & less isolated from 'local business people'.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The entertainment was of varying quality. There was an excellent & authentic musical group performance Monday Dec 26. A dance troupe on the Thursday night was also technically strong.

It costs at least $10 each way for a taxi to the classical nearby city of Cienfuegos (approx 15 minute ride). It's well worth a visit. The central area has been improved, with more commercial activity for locals & tourists. Although it's fun & safe thing to do, if you aren't adventurous about going independently by taxi, the (Monday??) guided tour from the hotel is reasonably priced.

On another visit I went on an eco-tour to 'El Nicho', a cascading river viewed in refreshing mountain air. If you like nature w/o gimmicks, I highly recommend this totally-off-the-beaten-track spot. The hills are so steep that few cars can get you there safely, so the excursion (full day-trip) from Rancho Luna is not unreasonable at about $50 or 75. You walk a steep well-tended trail so some fitness & sensible shoes are important. We enjoyed an option of swimming in the fresh pools of the waterfall, a unique & exhilarating experience. PREPARE: I don't recall any changing rooms at the natural pool on the trail itself, although there are 'facilities' at the base-restaurant.

Other Comments:
The guests were a generally informal friendly sort, interested in low-budget fun, not so much culture. Significant numbers where from Europe, and some Cubans, as well as lots of Canadians. I didn't see much to keep a child entertained. There were an unusual percentage of older men.


Two things I noticed at Rancho Luna:
- the two public internet terminals actually worked, this week had no line-ups & were cheaper than in Cayo Santa Maria
- Iagna, the Hola Sun tour rep was reliable about attending was scheduled, informative about options & diligent in advancing my question when I had a request of hotel management.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Stay away"

Rancho Luna
User Rating:  Rancho Luna Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  allan  on Sep 29, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
179 people found this review helpful

For 15 years I have been going to rancho luna and it has never been so dirty . after a few days I was thinking about going into town to a rental house . I went to the front desk to complain about no hot water for the fifth day and the manager just looked at me and walked away . No a/c in the cafateria , mold on the walls in there was really bad . Gran Caribe has distroyed Rancho Luna .

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very pleasant hotel, friendly staff, clean rooms,"

Rancho Luna
User Rating:  Rancho Luna Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Grisel Pujala Soto  on Feb 24, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Barbados
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
246 people found this review helpful

We were very pleased with our stay at Rancho,Luna. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the rooms were clean with hot water, mattress could be better thou. It is a pleasant hotel in beautiful surroundings with everything included, (even horse and boat rides if guests wish to do so)
Food was good.
We will definetely go back.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube