Be Live Turquesa Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Be Live Turquesa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 21, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Be Live Turquesa  

Carretera las Morlas Km 12 1/2, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba

"just right"
Posted by: clemence on Jul 13, 2014
see all reviews

Be Live Turquesa Reviews
Be Live Turquesa Pictures and Information
Be Live Turquesa Varadero Cuba

#23
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.8

Based on 22 reviews

Be Live Turquesa Information


Hotel Oasis Turquesa is located on the seafront of the marvelous Varadero beach, it is an all-inclusive beach hotel, surrounded by a coconut plantation and exuberant tropical vegetation.

Be Live Turquesa official website
http://www.hotelturquesa-cuba.com

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Be Live Turquesa Reviews

Be Live Turquesa Review: 3.8 of 5 22 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  5
Average
  4
Poor
  3
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (11)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 22

"Poor"

Be Live Turquesa
User Rating:  Be Live Turquesa Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jade  on Apr 7, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Group
149 people found this review helpful

I felt I was ignored by staff, and everything offered in the brochure was not at the resort. The bar on the beach was only opened once the entire seven days I was there. The food was beyond horrible. I know the food is generally bland but I ate outside the resort, and it was fine. If you like spam, and water down tomato sauce, you will love the food. I lived off bread the entire week. There is no swim up bar, no hot tub, and nothing for kids to do. No one was every there for massages, even though it was posted all over the resort. If exchanging money, do so at the airport. The hotel rips you off. And every time there is a line for money exchange, the person will finish with the person he/she serving and put a note in the window, on break. The horses are abused, I refuse to pay to ride them. You will see the condition they live in. They are skinny and constantly getting whipped. If you want to have a good time, bring lots of money, because the only fun you will have is on the tours. There are bed bugs in some of the hotel rooms. All-inclusive is far from what this resort is. Do not go, if this is what a four star is, spend the extra hundred and go to Havana and go five star.

Arrival:
Mar.27-April.3

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet- smells like fish everyday
Italian restaurant- had bugs in the food
Cuban restaurant- just as gross as the buffet

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach doesn't have enough seats
Life guards just lay in the back sleeping
The beach bar is never open
Pool has too much chlorine
Bed Bugs in the hotel rooms

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Just the abused horses, everything else no one was there for.

Other Comments:
Don't waste your money or time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Oasis Turquesa"

Be Live Turquesa
User Rating:  Be Live Turquesa Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  B. Ahuaud  on Jan 27, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
1086 people found this review helpful

The food was not great; almost everything was cooked on a grill. Food consisted of pork, chicken breasts, beef, some lamb, and fish. All of these were in 1/4 inch slices, usually overcooked. You had to tell the chef to stop cooking before it turned to shoe leather. They had good pasta, and grilled fried whole shrimp (head, shell and veins) about six times a week. Showers in the rooms had next to no water pressure. Toilets hardly flushed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"BED BUGS"

Be Live Turquesa
User Rating:  Be Live Turquesa Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Glen  on Feb 4, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
408 people found this review helpful

We came back from our vacation with bed bug bites all over our bodies. I have never in my life experienced bed bugs, but don't won't to ever again. The thought of them crawling all over you while you are sleeping is enough to turn me off this resort for ever!

Rooms:
Our room was average by any standard, in any country.
The promised Queen bed was two singles instead. We are a couple. Mattresses were hard and uncomfortable.
The bathroom was the best part, and faily modern, but the shower drain was partly plugged and the toilet totally plugged.
The lights didn't work by the beds.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool was pretty to look at, but the temperature water was cold. I really enjoy swimming, but only went in once. I thought it was poor for a 4 star hotel. They could have hooked up solar heating.
The grounds although generally tidy, was dated and aging.
The Beach while awesome, was hard to get to because of deep sand path. The 3 1/2 star next door, built a wooden boardwalk to the beach. The Turqueusa should have as well.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
What activities they did have, were also poor. The ping pong table was in a bad location. Children's activity centre was always closed, and person running it had a bad attitude.
We didn't go on any of the excursions this time.

Other Comments:
Lots of Bed Bugs. I don't care how many stars they say they have. A hotel with bed bugs to me have no stars.
I read the bed bug comments from other guests before booking, but dismissed it thinking they must have been mosquitos. They were right.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Regular"

Be Live Turquesa
User Rating:  Be Live Turquesa Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  sibaja  on Aug 21, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Costa Rica
Visited on: Aug, 2012 | Business | Family and Kids
132 people found this review helpful

Entorno fisico hermoso, personal agradable.

Room Number:
432

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
La recepcion es fria e indiferente.

Rooms:
limpieza e higiene aceptable

Restaurants and Bars:
El servicio de restaurante es pésimo. Los trabajadores hacen un gran esfuerzo por dar de si lo mejor.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
playa maravillosa

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
grupo de danza excelente.

Other Comments:
deben mejorar inmediatamente el servicio de alimentacion. Es su punto debil.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Vacation spot"

Be Live Turquesa
User Rating:  Be Live Turquesa Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  David Knecht  on Jan 10, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
1035 people found this review helpful

Oasis Turquesa was fantastic(4 Star). It was our first visit to Cuba. Our arrival and check-in went super fast. The resort is nice and small, very clean, the beach fantastic, and the staff and General Manager, Alois, were exceptionally friendly. They have recently renovated all the rooms which are on 2 floors. They were just finishing building an Italian specialty restaurant, which we did not get to try. As well, there is now a new Mini-Club for the kids. The beach was fantastic. They have the most shaded huts on the beach. The sand and water were great and sailing, kyacking, paddle boats were all included. They had all kinds of daily activities and the entertainment at night was pretty good. I have seen a lot worse. The aquatic performance at night in the pool was exceptionally done. The costumes during this 45 minute show were like a Los Vegas show. Now about the food. It's all buffet. The food is prepared fresh and displayed very nicely. Fresh fish all the time and pasta any way you want it, pizza always available and desserts were ok but almost always the same. I would have prefered staying for 10 days instead of only 7 day. Maybe on our next visit. I would recommend staying here if it's a nice quiet vacation you are looking for.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Honest review"

Be Live Turquesa
User Rating:  Be Live Turquesa Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. marvin hyatt  on Dec 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2010
530 people found this review helpful

We stayed Nov.21 - 28,2010 To begin with fellow Canadians this is not a 4 star hotel to Canadian standards at best its a 3 star. Good Points Staff: The best that i've come across in Cuba always a freindly smile and a flower for the ladies. Gounds: Well kept and neat with no garbage in sight. Beach: Has to one of the best in Cuba by far always a chair available to laze in the sun water warm and inviting Accomadations: Basic neat and clean forget a bath, water supply is at most good for a shower. Food: This is the only negative part of any trip, food is basic but you will never starve, food is repeatative but they do try their hardest,the cooks are great always have a smile. TIpping: Always try and tip a little a few dollars here and there wont hurt if you can't afford just give a big smile and say " thank you" Entertainment: Simple and basic but its nice to see at night they do try their hardest to please you. Trips: The best seems to be the catameran and swimming with dolphins, the jeep tour will bounce you back to canada after about 3 mins. (need springs) Money: check the offical exhange rate and trade in you money at the bank on the resort and not at the counter. All in all thats about it folks, We have been going to cuba since 1981 and always have enjoyed ourselves as we perfer peach and quiet and i can't wait to book again at Be Live Turquesa well done staff and management.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice and clean hotel with friendly staff."

Be Live Turquesa
User Rating:  Be Live Turquesa Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Müller Nadja  on Jun 28, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) SWITZERLAND
Visited on: Jun, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
368 people found this review helpful

Nice and clean hotel. The room was big and clean. Staff is very friendly but sometimes the cleaning staff was really loud out of our room early in the morning.
Food is not so good.
The beach is fantastic.

Room Number:
582

Arrival:
Good staff at the reception.

Rooms:
Big and clean.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bars were good. But the food in the buffet restaurant was not so good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was fantastic.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
None

Other Comments:
One

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This is a good resort small very quiet"

Be Live Turquesa
User Rating:  Be Live Turquesa Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Mike from Victoria B.C.  on Jan 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
332 people found this review helpful

My wife and I went with Sunwing out of Vancouver < flight was late 1hr but was great (has transat beat 10fold) Arrived at 1230 AM at the turquesa check in was smooth ,got our bags in the room changed and ran to the beach ,looked great in the dark

Rooms::
Our room was 424 large king bed 2nd floor with a small patio some rooms had very large ones but it didnt matter had room for 2 chairs and someplace to dry towles nice clean with a fridge (not / never stocked )we never did get our bottle of water or a door on our safe they just gave us the runarroung everytime we asked and no mattress pad so you could see the floral print under the bottom thin sheet ,overall room 7/10

Restaurants and Bars::
three bars and 1 rest and 2 alacarts ,main rest good lots of food but never changed for the 2 weeks we were there never went hungery staff very nice.
Italian very good must book in the morn,Aisan was also good very friendly staff and good food . Now bars the lobby bar is far the best !!! and the beach bar !! the big bar is very bad dirty and not very helpful at all !!! hated waiting there

Beach/Pools/Grounds::
Beach 100% great,pool very nice there is a really nice guy that cleans the pool everyday hes there from sun up till down ,grounds very nice small but nice clean every morn but lots of dirty people staying there and have no understanding that others are there to.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel::
not much to do but that was good was there to relax not play vollyball haha We have been to Cuba 3times so have done lots of the tours ,we went deep sea fishing this time got nothing but was a great 5hrs out it was around 340 for 5 hrs we split it 4 ways so was a great deal.

Other Comments::
This is a good resort small very quiet really like the room buildings , Would i stay here again .... sorry but No just didnt do it for me ,noones fault just not my thing ,if this had been where I had stayed the first time or the second I dont think I would have returned to varadero ever again ,but we will be back next year going to a diffrent resort one that we have stayed at before and know its great (bella costa) hope this helps have a great trip!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fantastic Holiday value for the money"

Be Live Turquesa
User Rating:  Be Live Turquesa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Derek  on Sep 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
209 people found this review helpful

We recently were invited to join family on a holiday, so we took our first holiday to Cuba and stayed at the Oasis (Be Live) Turquesa.

As it was our first trip to Cuba, we, like others, went with open minds but were soon pleasantly surprised.

We found all the staff, from the front desk, towel hut girls, restaurant staff and cooks, ground maintenance, bartenders (Jose in particular), and Raphael on the beach, most accommodating to us all. They all made us feel like we were part of their families

Arrival:
Upon arrival, we had an incident (not with the hotel), at the airport, and the front desk staff worked their phones for nearly and hour and a half to finally help us resolve the problem. Thank Goodness!!! And thanks again for the help

We found the front counter very helpful. The rooms were not quit ready when we arrived, but once they were, all the luggage was taken to our rooms. The money exchange girls were accommodating, bar staff were all excellent, ground crews kept the place clean and like others, my wife and daughter also received their morning flowers from the older gentleman (Will have to get his name). The beach staff always helpful, and activities personal (Raphael) was a riot. Always trying to get people involved. He would always take a minute or two, sit and chat and answer any questions we had.

Rooms:
Clean and simple. I did however; find it strange to have a frosted door to the bathroom … so much for privacy…Stay away from the windows when having a shower, bring extra toilet paper, they are not fast in replenishing what you have, but all in all, nothing major to complain about.

Restaurants and Bars:
The staff always pleasant. Always there to greet us at the door. With the amount of people that were there, sometimes the service could be slow, but not enough to complain about. We found there was a decent variety of food to pick from. Elvis (the cook) always made sure things were correct and if not, made it again. Good selection of deserts, salads etc.
The Japanese restaurant was satisfactory. The others that were there with us, enjoyed it immensely, but as I am not a fan of sushi … for me … it was ok.
The Italian restaurant was very good. Food was fresh and prepared well. Dave, the manager, always made it a point to stop and say hello to us, when he seen us.

I did however, meet a couple from Mississauga, but did nothing but complain about the cuisine. I did not understand what the issue was. What did they expect??? We all enjoyed our food, fresh and good variety.

The bars were always busy. But we never seemed to wait to long before somebody would walk buy and ask if we wanted anything. We did have a barkeep befriend us (Jose), and he made sure we were always taken care off. A good variety to pick from… Great Cappuccino and espresso served here.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We spent the majority of the day at the beach. We enjoyed it immensely. Beaches were cleaned every morning, no problems getting an umbrella, drinks always available at the beach, although limited, the staff was courteous, and the view was spectacular. What else could you want?

I did not have an opportunity to get in the pool, as we were in the ocean most of the day. It looked well maintained, and seating looked to be available every time I walked by.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First time to Cuba. Will be back"

Be Live Turquesa
User Rating:  Be Live Turquesa Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Don  on Jan 22, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
370 people found this review helpful

This was the first vacation that my wife and I have had in over 24 years. We have always wanted to visit Cuba. We were not disappointed.

Your Arrival:
We flew from Ottawa, Canada, leaving on a Wednesday. Arriving at the Varadero Airport, we had no difficulty in entering the country. The airport personnel were very friendly and to my surprise, even had a translator on site. Our hotel bus was waiting for us and clearly identified as such. No baggage hassle, no waiting lines, and no feeling of being "rushed".

Rooms:
Our room was in perfect condition. Throughout our entire stay, we never encountered any infestation of Cuban insects; not in our room nor in any other section of our resort. The two twin-beds were extremely comfortable, the washroom facilities were impeccable, (shower, bath tub, bidet, hair dryer) and all walls were painted in lovely pastel colours. The floor was tiled and always swept. A colour TV and phone were at our disposal. Clean towels each day, soap, shampoo, hygene paper were all standard procedures. Our balcony overlooked a beautiful walkway surrounded by palm trees and groomed lawns. Outside noise was extremely uncommon. No loud screaming, fighting or ugliness. Security people always visible and ready to "assist".

Restaurants and Bars:
The three bars offered a great selection of drinks, all beginning with a rum base. Bartenders, male and female, were polite, amiable, professional and well dressed. The ice for the drinks was made from bottled water and was not a cause for concern.
Food was very good and available 24/7. I was not expecting Canadian style cooking but I was definitely unprepared for the choice and array of dishes offered. Fish, chicken, eggs, ham, salads, soup, cakes, ice cream, Pizza, hamburgers, fries, etc. The eating areas were clean and well managed. Drinking glasses, dishware, eating utensils, all were 100% satisfactory.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Magnificent stretches of sand and sea. The beach was amazing and graded every morning. Clean, soft and granular. Ideal for the feet. Cabana huts for sun shade every three meters. The use of Kayaks and Catamarans was on request. Sand, sand and sand. Beach chairs were always clean and available. Never a line up.
The pool was in excellent condition. I personally did not use the pool as I was always on the beach.
The grounds were manicured to perfection. Any litter was immediately noticed and "it" disappeared very rapidly. No broken glass, no strewn papers, etc.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The guided tour into Havana was an eye-opener. For a historian, a walk into the past. For car lovers, plenty of 1957 Chevys and Fords along with a few Opels. I spotted one Nash. Swimming with the dolphins. A most joyous activity. There were many other oportunities to leave the resort but time was not on our side.

Other Comments:
For the price, this is by far the best deal. We were able to meet other tourists from other resorts and when comparing "notes", we scored a perfect 10.
My wife and I both felt extremely safe and well taken care of in Cuba. As I said in the title, first time to Cuba, will be back. To the same resort. YES!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube