Iberostar Ensenachos Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Iberostar Ensenachos reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Iberostar Ensenachos  

Cayo Ensenachos, Caibarien, Villa Clara, Cuba

"good manager"
Posted by: rocky on Aug 4, 2014
see all reviews

Iberostar Ensenachos Reviews
Iberostar Ensenachos Pictures and Information
Iberostar Ensenachos Cayo Ensenachos Cuba

#1
of 1 Hotels in Cayo Ensenachos

User rating 4.3

Based on 22 reviews

Iberostar Ensenachos Information


Iberostar Ensenachos offers a choice of accommodation under a Deluxe All-Inclusive plan, featuring the highest standard of quality and personalized service also offers 506 comfortable rooms distributed in 3 areas:

Family Area, with 270 rooms, including 5 disabled rooms

Villas area, with 46 superior rooms only for adults over 14 years

SPA area with 190 rooms , only for adults over 18 years

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Iberostar Ensenachos Reviews

Iberostar Ensenachos Review: 4.3 of 5 22 reviews
Excellent
  14
Very good
  5
Average
  1
Poor
  2
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (16)
Business
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (12)
Solo
With friend
1 - 10 of 22

"Excellent"

Iberostar Ensenachos
User Rating:  Iberostar Ensenachos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  daniel juarez  on Jan 14, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Mexico
Visited on: Jan, 2008
3221 people found this review helpful

I visited this place a few days after the inauguration, we enjoy it quite a lot. With my wife we are planning to come back, I suggest to enjoy the wonderful view from the Terraplen of 50 km. We are living during some seasons in Cuba and we like the cays at the north of Villa Clara. The services in this hotel are superb, food wonderful I was surprised with the amount of dishes at the buffet.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Impressive"

Iberostar Ensenachos
User Rating:  Iberostar Ensenachos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marie-Claude Sabourin  on Jan 29, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2008
1013 people found this review helpful

If you need a rest, the Royal Hideaway is the perfect place. Tranquility rules here. Everything is perfectly organized: the hotel, the reservation system for the different restaurants. The beach is beautiful, the food excellent and varied, and more than anything the service is impeccable. The staff is very nice and very attentive. I highly recommend this hotel; it was real therapy for me!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Extremly Comfort"

Iberostar Ensenachos
User Rating:  Iberostar Ensenachos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  eveline & kamila  on Feb 13, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2008
2887 people found this review helpful

Me and My Best Friend Kamila Visited Cuba we stayed in villa at Royal hideaway hotel. We enjoyed it very much beatifull view of the beach, and the differnet healthy type pf spa.

Wenjoyed the food and the sun shine .

Excellent service. I recommond this hotel very much.

I like the management .I thank their general manager miss Agnes Yousif..

Hopefully we will be there soon.

Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"EXCELLENT RESORT"

Iberostar Ensenachos
User Rating:  Iberostar Ensenachos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  edward  on Mar 22, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008
2662 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the RHD. last September 2007 and all have to say about this resort is a plus 10.The beach is amazing/the pool as well. Beautiful a la cart restaurants, great service and food. Beautiful rooms/ If want to relax/read/meditate/walk on the beach and look at the horizon and get inspired...this is the resort to go. I have been in many places in the caribean, but nothing to compare with this one. We were planning to go to Melia las Dunas, but we decided to go again to the RHD. By the way...you cannot on the beach to Melia LAs Dunas from this resort from here, there is canal that divides the two beaches. I know I have been there. To all your folks that are undecided where to go either Melia Las Dunas or The RHD. Go to the RHD. Good luck and have a good vacation....
Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Déception pour un 5 étolies..."

Iberostar Ensenachos
User Rating:  Iberostar Ensenachos Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Daniel Dancause  on Apr 29, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2008
215 people found this review helpful

Bonjour, D'un retour d'une semaine ( 19 au 26 avril 2008) nous avons été très décu de la qualité du service, de la servitude du personnel et de la qualité de la nourriture et ce même si nous savions que Cuba n'sst pas le Mexique. La plage toutefois était parfaite sauf pour le service sur la plage ( délai, nourriture froide, breuvage chaud etc). Désolé mais pour un 5 étoiles ce n'est pas acceptable. Nous avions hâte de terminer nos vacances et nous n'étions pas seul dans cet esprit...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"WOW, What a place!!"

Iberostar Ensenachos
User Rating:  Iberostar Ensenachos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Melanie and James  on Jun 2, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2008
2107 people found this review helpful

Do you know the definition of PERFECTION? Well, this is it! What a beautiful resort! What we really fell in Love with were the amazing people who work there. They are just wonderful. We were there 1 week ago and can't get over our trip... we are planning our next trip out there soon! We were extremely lucky to be upgraded to the Royal Suites/Villas, which are considered a 6*. We had a butler at our service, a private restaurant, a private beach etc.... but we did take in the original area where we were supposed to be and anyone thinking of coming to this hotel will NOT ever be dissapointed. Everyone told us to beware of the food in Cuba, well, we have only amazing things to say about this place and the food too. Excellent food. A true PARADISE! I have already recommended this resort to tons of people and will not stop now.
To all my new Cuban friends...keep up the great work that you do at this resort and we'll keep coming back for more!
I cannot wait to get back there!
So now, stop looking for a place to go, just go to the Royal Hideaway! You are guaranteed total relaxation and please say hi to Alexis (bellboy) and Johnny from the discoteque for us!!! There are so many others we could mention, but you'll meet them soon enough and you will enjoy them as much as we did! Cheers!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"One Island - One Resort - True Paradise"

Iberostar Ensenachos
User Rating:  Iberostar Ensenachos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rafal  on Nov 25, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2008
1305 people found this review helpful

This was a great vacation holiday I ever had, we went to Santa Clara twice and plan on coming back again this January for two weeks. This hotel was beyond my expectations. One Island - One Resort - True Paradise, the name says it all "Royal Hideaway" There's a great review on this resort at royalhideawayensenachos.ca, love the pics, the map, all the review comments.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The best resort in Cuba!"

Iberostar Ensenachos
User Rating:  Iberostar Ensenachos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Adriana  on Mar 18, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
271 people found this review helpful

We stayed for two weeks because we stayed here once before and were sorry we had only booked for a week at such a gorgeous place. I could not call it a 4 star but it may not be quite a 5 star because it was not perfect.

Your Arrival:
Even our arrival at refurbished Santa Clara Airport was great and efficient.
Our arrival at Ensenachos was greeted with a lovely cocktail. We left all our luggage at where we got off the bus and the bellboy brought it up after we had gone to our room. We had the snack that was left there but we could have called room service.

Rooms:
Our room was spacious and clean with a separate bathroom of course, with a tub and shower, that always had enough hot water, toilet paper, and towels. Our shower door leaked some but hey, that wasn't our problem. The maids always did their jobs and usually left us with a towel display. We in turn left the usual gifts on the pillow with some money as well. Our only complaint with the rooms was that the "turn down" service which is also in charge of changing our beach towels sometimes did not do their job and folded our wet ones instead of giving clean ones. Tell your concierge and he will help you. The fridge was always stocked with beer, water and pop.

Restaurants and Bars:
We always prefer a-la-carte meals and we were satisfied with the wide selection of restaurants that were available. We ate at the these restaurants 11 days of our stay. We loved the seafood restaurant,Punta Del Pirata, because Cubans know how to cook it and it was delicious. The Azia served and Asian mix and although the sushi was not quite right we loved eating there. My husband who does not particularely enjoy Italian enjoyed our meal at the Palazzo. The two snack bar a-la-cartes changed to a Grill for the evening meal and a Cuban restaurant respectively. We enjoyed all our meals there. We usually ate our lunches here as well. Service was always good,and the "friholes negros" were the best. To add to our food enjoyment,we ate twice at the Gourmet restaurant at the Villas at the far side of Ensenachos, free of charge. We were given the first meal because we were returning guests and then when we went to the manager's cocktail party for returning guests we won another seating. It was really quiet and intimate there and the food was heavenly. Even the way they served the Spanish Coffee was special. We even enjoyed the Buffet, but we only used it for breakfast and a couple of meals. The omelettes and crepes were great and the "cook" deserves special credit.(She always had her name tag covered so I don't know her name.)
Naturally we spent wine was available for dinner and there were plenty of bars. 2 at each beach and of course the Lobby piano bar. The bartenders reminded us a little of the Keystone cops, but we enjoyed our time there before the shows started.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds were always blooming with flowers and and well taken care of. We spent very little time at the pools but they looked clean and interesting with lots of shade and cushy loungers. The beaches however were the greatest. Every morning we got up, put on sunscreen, etc. and walked for an hour on the Magano beach so we could enjoy our breakfast guilt-free. The water is so clear and even if you did not snorkel you could see fish swimming. If you brought some bread from breakfast you could feed them. We would swim, take a Hobie-Cat ride, walk or just lie in the sun.(The hard plastic beach loungers of our previous visit have been replaced with very comfortable netted ones and there are always palapas.) If we did not go to the a-la-carte snack bars for lunch we had a very nice sandwich at Bohoi-a-la-Plage, a grill on the beach. Nothing fancy but there was a choice of burgers, hot dogs, grilled chicken and individual pizza. If you wanted a quieter beach you went to the Ensenachos Beach. You could also take long walks on the beach there, watch the pelicans dive for meals, etc. At the head of this beach you got to meet the bartender Joel. Joel's Mohitos are resort famous and now world famous I guess. If you need further refreshment there is a little temporary bar set up halfway down the beach.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did not take in a lot of outside activities except for the visit to Santa Clara/Remedios. It was an interesting but a bit long. We were exhausted by the time we got back to the resort. Friends reported having a great time seeing the Dolphins on their catamaran outing and there was even an outing to the "Cuban World Series of Baseball" that was amazing.
We went to all the evening shows and really enjoyed them. (Not so much the intro act.)The Spanish Flamenco night was just beautiful and of the highest standard we have seen in Cuba on this our 6th visit.

Other Comments:
This year we were encouraged to tip and we did everywhere. Our concierge was not quite up to the standards of the concierge of our first visit. Whereas the concierge of our first visit worked hard to get us all our a-la-cartes set up in the beginning of our stay, this time, even after giving him a substantial tip our concierge always acted as if it was difficult for him to find something even though it was apparent to us that the restaurants were never filled to capacity.
Would we recommend this resort? Yes!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Try Somewhere Else - But Great Beach"

Iberostar Ensenachos
User Rating:  Iberostar Ensenachos Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  steve  on Apr 5, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
247 people found this review helpful

This was our last stop on our family tour of Cuba. We drove with a Cuban guide in a minibus for over a week from Havana to the Bay of Pigs, through Cienfuegos, to Trinidad, up through Santa Clara and to the Hotel. Our daughters and their friends wanted to end their vacation on a beautiful Caribbean beach and we had heard that Ensenachos was it.

The Good:
- The beach was outstanding. There are actually two beaches: Megano (next to the Hidaway and Spa) and Ensenachos (next to the suites.) Both are beautiful but Ensenachos is less crowded and if possible even prettier.

The Good/Bad
- While I understand it's a no kids under 14 resort, its more like a no one under 50 resort. Our girls were fine with this as they just wanted to hang on the beach but we saw a few 20-30-year olds looking a bit lost.
- Some of the shows were good. (The brass band and singers.) Some were worse than bad.
- 80% of guests are Canadian on packaged tours. We love Canadians but their expectations of what a 5 star hotel should be is a bit humorous ("hey it's warm, has a beach.") Most of them fly into Santa Clara get bussed to the hotel then flown out. That's their "I've been to Cuba" experience. The problem is that their tolerance for a mediocre experience will mean the Spanish owner of this resort has no incentive to fix the problems.

The Bad
- Don't look to closely at your sheets, towels or bathrobes. It's not clear the laundry uses soap.
- The food is at best abysmal - in all the restaurants. Having spent the week traveling across Cuba we realized it was as bad as everywhere else - or if possible worse. It makes you realize how bad the local populace has it if this is as good as they can do at a hard currency resort.
- The staff feels like they are just going through the motions. Its probably because it's really hard to fire a Cuban employee and there is zero service culture for commerce in the country. Don't expect too much from anyone.

Restaurants and Bars:
The bad news is that the food was horrific. The only consolation is that in traveling around Cuba we realize it is not much worse than anywhere else in the country.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beaches were outstanding. There are actually two: Megano (next to the Hidaway and Spa) and Ensenachos (next to the suites.) Both are beautiful but Ensenachos is less crowded and if possible even prettier.

Only problem is that on Megano the umbrellas are packed cheek to jowl. On Ensenachos they are clustered together near the Spa end.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First visit, but not the last."

Iberostar Ensenachos
User Rating:  Iberostar Ensenachos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  D  on Apr 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
260 people found this review helpful

My wife and another couple visited this resort recently and it met all our expectations. The resort was beautiful and very friendly. We are going to book again for next year.

Rooms:
The rooms were very spacious and clean. Maids visited twice a day and even left poems and notes.

Restaurants and Bars:
There are 4 restaurants and we tried three of them. We very quickly made friends with several waiters/waitresses and had excellant service. They couldn't do enough for you. I been to Cuba in the past and I wasn't expecting much in the way of food, however the food was excellant. And the bars were fully stocked.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
There are two beach areas that were amazing and both were great for snokeling. One has a sunken barge to explore and the other has a reef to explore. we spent several hours at both seeing many species of beautiful fish.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The spa was great too. My wife has a massage and pedicure and said it was the best she had had.

Other Comments:
Believe it or not, we had no complaints at all about the resort. It was everything we were looking for. On a side note the only complaint was the French-Canadians that were there. Everyone there was so friendly and would say hi except them unless you spoke french to them. It wasn't just us, others made this observation too.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube