Royal Hicacos Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Royal Hicacos reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.5 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 22, 2012

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.4 based on 26 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 18, 2014

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel

4.3 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 25, 2014

Royal Hicacos  

Carretera Las Morlas, Km. 15, Varadero, Cuba

"good customer satisfaction"
Posted by: shontelle on Jul 15, 2014
see all reviews

Royal Hicacos Reviews
Royal Hicacos Pictures and Information
Royal Hicacos Varadero Cuba

#7
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.1

Based on 44 reviews

Royal Hicacos Information


Set on one of the finest locations on Varadero Beach in the province of Matanzas, Cuba, Royal Hicacos Resort & Spa brings its Ultra All-Inclusive concept to Cuba. It'll be love at first sight the moment you enter your guest room in Sandals Royal Hicacos where an island décor, sophisticated amenities and comfortable beds create a seductively inviting ambiance.

For Adult Couples only (guests aged 18 and over)

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Royal Hicacos Reviews

Royal Hicacos Review: 4.1 of 5 44 reviews
Excellent
  17
Very good
  16
Average
  6
Poor
  2
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (22)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (16)
Solo
1 - 10 of 44

"good customer satisfaction"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  shontelle  on Jul 15, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2014 | Business | Solo
28 people found this review helpful

They are undergoing renovations but it didn’t affect the services rendered here in this hotel. This is my second time at the Royal Hicacos hotel; I came here last year on vacation with my daughter but visited this time around alone on a business meeting and had to stay here again. It was such a nice experience for me and to see that there service has improved better than the last time to goes to show how a good hotel is run. The blue turquoise calm and pristine beach was what I loved most about lodging at this hotel, I visited it every day throughout my stay here. The very nice pool and waterfalls were all the amazing features of this hotel that will prompt you to come back for more. They have a swim up bar that is quite effective and nice staff handling the position. The rooms are excellent with air condition working properly and the rooms are always clean. The grounds are super pretty and the hotel is well managed. The entertainment part was great as I enjoyed every bit of it even though my mission here was business, it felt like a vacation. The beach is not so far away from the hotel, just about 3 to 5 minutes walk and you are there. The resort is not that big yet it provides virtually everything you will need to make you comfortable. The staff crew was nice and did their job carefully carrying customer satisfaction as their number one priority.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good time"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  antoine  on Jul 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
230 people found this review helpful

Sandals Hicacos is a nice resort located in what is probably the best piece of beach in the area. It is a small resort compared to others that we have been to in other parts of the Caribbean. It is definitely nicer than some of the other resorts in the area.

Room Number:
3018

Room Block:
30

Arrival:
Arrived at 0100 in the morning. They were somewhat quick in taking care of us. We were given our room keys as well as safe keys and soap. The first room that was given to us was sort of flooded with about 2 cm of water on the floor near the door. We were given another room on a different floor fairly quickly.

Rooms:
Our room was nice but nothing that you would expect from a 5 star hotel. But we were in Cuba after all. The room had a seating area, a great king size bed and a big tub/shower. The air conditioning worked extremely well and no smells were present in the room.

Restaurants and Bars:
The hotel being only at 30% occupation, there was little waiting time for drinks at the various bars. The buffet was good with some sections better than others. No use discussing taste because everyone has different taste. Our preferred restaurant was the el Caribe. The service at all the restaurants was good and staff was very friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
As mentioned above, the hotel has the nicest beach around. No matter the effects of the tide, there is always a beach area as opposed to other resorts. Very little in the form of sea life in the immediate area of the beach. The water temperature was great and could easily stay in the water for a very long time. There was a sufficient amount of sun beds for the occupation level of the hotel.
Pool was good and temperature was warm.

Some smells were present during the first two days of our stay. The smell seemed to go away after the first two days. The smell may have been due to the huge amount of rain that the area received prior to our arrival. The grounds are not as well kept as other places that we have been to. More specifically, they tend to leave the composte bags (garbage bags) and yard waste in piles a little every where.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was some activities at the resort including shows at night. It seemed like that entertainment staff were more worried about finding someone to accompany to the next meal or to get them beer. We did manage to win a couple of rum bottles during the few activities that did take place.
The disco was not a happening place and never had more than 12 people. This is surely due to the low number of guests at the time of our visit.
We only attended the Rock show that was presented at night. It was good considering being in Cuba.

Other Comments:
I did have some concerns prior to going due to previous experience in Cuba and great results in Mexico. Overall, the trip was better than expected and would return to this resort if the occasion arose again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"3 Things I wish I knew..."

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Grace  on Mar 31, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
263 people found this review helpful

#1 If your luggage should not arrive, there is a wonderful shopping plaza just 8km down the road from the resort. If someone at the resort would have told me, I would not have purchased the only bathing suit I could find at their gift shop--a real crotch cutter and very ugly! I had to wear it for two days! The shopping plaza had many to choose from!
#2 Carry CUCs! We went into Havana with a taxi driver, and told him we needed to stop at a bank for more cash. He only brought us to ABM machines which rejected all of our cards. Then he took us on a wild goose chase to all the resorts to see if we could use our credit card to get cash and they all say NO. The next morning, he took us to the shopping plaza, where the Bank promptly gave us the money we needed to pay him. I gave him a generous tip, for all his trouble, but now I think I was conned...All we needed to do was to go into the bank at Havana (we had our passports with us) and it would have saved us a lot of stress for nothing!!!!)
#3 At the Varadero airport, check in first. Then pay your 25CUC airport tax (each person), and then exchange your money back into Canadian money. Fortunately we had enough cash, after the bank fiasco but I couldn't believe the airport checkin people! After we checked in, I asked the airport guy where to exchange our money, and he said, oh I have a twenty dollar tip in Canadian currency, I can do it for you. So I fell for it, and as well as two of his colleagues (I was just being nice!)And then found out we needed the Cuban currency to pay the airport tax. Of course $20 Canadian, is only 19 CUCs, and we had to switch all around again. I was very angry at their hospitality. I would never do that to someone...for a stupid dollar. I was just happy we had cash, I heard of some people who get totally screwed because they don`t have the cash. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointing"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Monica  on Feb 24, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
255 people found this review helpful

We were quite disappointed with the concierge service after paying the extra we did not get what we expected.

The biggest problem was the front desk and how rude the one "gentleman" was so obnoxious, our plane was delayed on the way out of Cuba. As we had already checked out of our room, the Sunwing rep. went to the front desk to see if we could have our room for another 2 hours.
After getting the key from the front desk attendant, we returned to the room to wait for out flight out. Upon check out time for the 2nd time around my husband approached the front desk to return the key only to have the person behind the counter make my husband feel like a common thief...the attendant asked him where he had gotten the key from since we had checked out earlier. I had gone to check with the sunwing rep while he returned the key. While standing and talking with the rep. I could hear my husband becoming agitated by someone loudly saying where did you get the room key sir several times. I went to the front desk to find out what the problem was, by then my husband was livid being shouted at. We finally got that straighten out after an embarrassing shouting match. No apology from the "gentleman" behind the counter...but a would you like the room for another 2 hours....I just looked at Jamie and said do you really think we want to be humiliated again and said no thanks once was enough. Thank goodness this was at the end of our trip and not the beginning. Sandals was suggested as the perfect place to go for our first vacation....however after being there for one week I really don't see a return visit there.

Room Number:
1903

Arrival:
Feb 14, 2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Valóban 5 *-os szálló!"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Judit  on Feb 17, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) HUNGARY
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Wedding | Family and Kids
259 people found this review helpful

Szenzációs környezet, szuper elhelyezés, jó ellátás, megfelelő programok.
Esküvőszervezés megfelelő.

Room Number:
1309

Room Block:
13

Arrival:
Kedves fogadás, gyors elhelyezés.

Rooms:
Tágas, jól berendezett, kényelmes. Hiányossága a minibár, melyet csak plussz pénzért töltöttek volna fel.

Restaurants and Bars:
Gyors, udvarias kiszolgálás, szenzációs választékkal.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Szép környezet, megfelelő elhelyezkedési lehetőség. Talán az egyetlen negatívum, hogy a medencék vize hidegebb volt az óceánnál.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"“18th trip to Sandals - 19 and 20 booked”"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Steward  on Sep 25, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
323 people found this review helpful

I thought I had probably said enough with previous reviews of Sandals, then I thought I would write a new review because the new shops and creperie were added last year. We were at Sandals Hicacos in February 2011 for 2 weeks and in April 2011 for 3 weeks. We have now spent over 225 nights at this resort, and I have booked us in for 16 nights in February 2012 and for 3 weeks in April 2012. In total we have now visited 7 different Sandals resorts.
The new creperie and snack bar are fantastic, with great entertainment during the evening ( a jazz duet) and good food and drinks all day and night. They were adjusting the hours when we were there, but I think they will be open and available most of the day and well into the night, if not 24 hours. The other shops that were added are also a nice touch; a pharmacy, a jewellery shop, and a souvenir shop, as well as the hairdresser. Also new is the cigar bar where you can relax with a Cuban cigar from the store next door and have a drink of wonderful Cuban rum.
There are no bed bugs in this resort; anyone reporting same has mistaken the bites of sand fleas for bed bugs.
The food is very good, great choices at each meal, and of course the service is first class, one of the reasons we keep returning.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sandals Varadero NOT More tahn a 3 Star"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marl  on Sep 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
300 people found this review helpful

SANDALS Varadero NOT More than a 3 STAR !!”

Think 2 Twice as we were just there Recently and Only after 12 hrs changed Hotel, This Sandals is far From Being a 5 Star Hotel at Most a 3 Star and than Some.

Don't Get Fouled with the Name Sandals!!!!

Here are Only a Few Reasons for our Deception,

1- Bed Room bed Sheets full of Stains, and Yes Lift your Bed Sheets to See what’s Underneath, you will be sick when you see what’s underneath!!

2- Take a look at the Washroom, Toilet Seat ( Stains )

3- Shower full of Moulds and window as Dirty as Can be.

4- AC very Poor, it’s as if there is NO AC!!

5- The Buffet Rest very ordinary, very few choices...

6- THE MOSQUITOS there EVERY where and if what to Smell like Insect repelant all week weal it’s the Perfect Place To Go.

7- The Smell ALL those little Rivers around the Resort, with the yellow water and Stagnant Smell.

8- The Service They Just don't Care, about your Complaints.

And Yes I Can go ON and ON,

So for all of those thinking of Going To Sandals Think Twice and Don't make the Mistake we Made!!! Thinking this is Sandals and a 5 Star.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not so good the second time around"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Scott  on Jul 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
362 people found this review helpful

I have seen some postings that say they were taken by taxi to the hotel from the airport(airport was under construction when we arrived, no air con, but the worst and i mean the worst was that they had no washrooms available. our wives had to go badly, and when we pressed someone he directed us to an area outside the airport which when we got there was locked. we got no further with the "authorities" and looked for our transportation.Forget the taxi that we got the last time, they crammed us into a small bus with no aircon and windows that didnt open(obviously no washroom).
when we arrived at the hotel around 8pm even after we told the desk several times that we were return guests and that we had also brought another couple to visit we were given a second floor room on the very west side that overlooked what looked like a wasteland.We had asked when booking and paid for a third floor room with a garden view.After much complaining on our part backpedaling from the front desk we were moved to another room that had poor aircon,but at that point gave up. Needless to say that the trip went downhill from there the food was as we remembered not great but not bad, but they keep running out of things like pepperoni for the pepperoni pizza, beef for the bbq beef sanwiches,ect ect,but the strangest is when they ran out of beach towels for about 8 hours. Good points--the flights with Sunwing, the beach as lovely as ever,the scuba excursion with Eugene,the piano bar, and the great service in the buffet by Leonardo, who actually recognized us from the year before, and the staff at the main bar.After my wife and I raving about this place to our friends who came with us,I had a lot of egg on my face.Oh yeah, when my friend asked for a fried egg 20 minutes before the breakfast buffet closed he was rudly told that "the oven was broken". I realize that this place isnt a real Sandals,and Cuba is still a developing country but come on.Anyway i think that a five star in Cuba should really mean 3 and one half. One recomendation I have is to spend some money and clean the place up.There a cigarette butts everywhere, the canals surrounding the resort are empty or have stagnant water in them where a lot of the mosquitos are coming from and the place literaly needs a fresh coat of paint. I am writing this the day after our return so im sorry if it sound harsh, but we wont be going back a third time.

Room Number:
2408

Room Block:
sunset

Arrival:
not great

Rooms:
good exept for aircon

Restaurants and Bars:
they try, but run out of food and drinks

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beutiful beach and service

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
great scuba

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointed Honeymoon"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kerri  on Apr 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
363 people found this review helpful

This was our second trip to Cuba, first time at Sandals. Very disappointing stay. We travelled with 2 other couples ( one was family), and met up with 2 other family members later the day we arrived. When we arrived at the resort, our rooms were not ready, and we had to wait 6 hours before they were ready! This was very unacceptable, and set the tone for the rest of the trip. We were not provided any of the upgrades promised as part of the Honeymoon package. Resort was not the cleanest we have seen, and either was the beach.
Food was OK, very bland and by the end of the week, we were getting tired of eating the same thing over and over again. The a la'carte restaurants basically serve what is in the buffet restaurant-they just pretty it up a bit. Front desk staff were rude and unfriendly. Service at the resort left something to be desired! You had to continually as for things, they would not just provide even the basics to you. There was always a smell of sulphar from the septic daily. The mote that they have around the resort is dirty, lots of algae in it.
We would recommend not doing ANY of the free water sports that they offer on the beach such as water skiing, the banana boat, etc. Too many people get hurt on the banana boat. One girl had all of her ligaments torn in her shoulder from the driver of the motor boat dumping all the passengers off the banana boat. And the life jackets......you may as well not wear one as they are so old and broken and half of them don't fit!
Servcie at the Beach Front a la'carte restuarant (BBQ) on the Thursday night was horrible! The one waitress was so rude and ignorant, we are amazed how she is even employed there!
The resort says that they cater to honeymooners, but they really don't. In fact, it seems that they don't cater to anyone!!!
We have never been to a Sandals resort before, but needless to say, this resort gave a very bad impression of the chain of Sandals resorts.
We would not recommend going to this resort. We certainly will NEVER go back!!
We don't expect a lot when we go to all incusive resorts, specially in Cuba, but WOW! We were very disappointed!!
So any of you looking to go somewhere for your honeymoon, or for a pleasant, relaxing holiday, please don't go here. You will be sadly disappointed.

Discouraged Honeymooners from Fergus, Ontario.

Room Number:
604

Arrival:
April 9, 2011

Rooms:
Need updated

Restaurants and Bars:
Poor service at the a la'carte restaurants. Better service at the buffet restaurant, but still not the greatest.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools dirty, beach dirty, grounds OK-some garbage laying around. Sulphar smell daily from resort.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lacking and those that they did provide were not worth it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Things Have Changed"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Rick  on Feb 23, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
437 people found this review helpful

We were 4 couples (two first timers, third time for 1 couple and second time for my wife and I).
This resort is getting "dated" after 9 years. The rooms need an update, mainly the bathrooms (and especially the toilets).
Generally, the resort is still good, but little problems, especially with food, kept happening. I almost think the resort is changing ownership, as so many items were unavailable.
Clamato (for us Canadians) was always available here in the past, but was not available for the entire week. Even tomato juice was missing for the first 3 days. After 5 days I discovered that the "mini-mart" store was selling cans of Klemato (Mexican) for 1.95 CUC each, so we had to buy our own mix.
There was no Rye Whiskey anywhere in the resort for the week. the first night, I ordered a Manhattan, which was delivered using Scotch as a substitute!
The buffet used to be better than some of the "a la carte" restaurants, but not anymore.
On the last day (Feb.21), Le Bistro (pizzeria) ran out of pizza!
The resort was not full, and the clients were mainly a mix of Canadian, German and Russian.

They replaced ALL the pool loungers, in one evening, while we were there. The new ones are really nice. The beach loungers are still the same.

The staff are still very friendly and do try to resolve any problems quickly.
They treat returning guests very well. Keeping your room after the 12PM check-out was free for past guests (as long as space was available-which it definitely was). Otherwise, they charge $50CUC for first time guests.

The water at the beach was red or yellow flagged for most of the week, due to many Man-o-War (look like Jellyfish) being washed ashore. They were usually small (4"-6"), but we saw one that was 3 feet long! One employee said this is the worst he's seen it in 10 years. They were even calling people from the water who ignored the flag. They are not usually deadly, but the sting (like a bee) can really hurt. It's treated with urine, although employees said to use vinegar (which actually makes it worse).

The pool water (unheated) was always very cool (due to lower air temperatures this year), but the hot tubs were well used.

The staff work VERY hard, and I was disappointed that many clients never tipped.

The entertainment on Valentine's day was great (Spanish Dance group from Havana). Some people in our group didn't like it, but I thought it was fantastic.
Derek Caine from Halifax still entertains at the resort, and his "Little Derek and The Haemo Blues Band" was the BEST show at the resort. We just wished they played longer and every night! Charlie A'Court (also from Halifax) is ABSOLUTELY awesome on guitar and vocals. Dave on drums was really good, as was Dennis (Cuban bass player who helped out one night). As usual, Derek is still the harmonica king!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube