Royal Hicacos Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Royal Hicacos reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.5 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 22, 2012

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.4 based on 26 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 18, 2014

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel

4.3 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 25, 2014

Royal Hicacos  

Carretera Las Morlas, Km. 15, Varadero, Cuba

"good customer satisfaction"
Posted by: shontelle on Jul 15, 2014
see all reviews

Royal Hicacos Reviews
Royal Hicacos Pictures and Information
Royal Hicacos Varadero Cuba

#7
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.1

Based on 44 reviews

Royal Hicacos Information


Set on one of the finest locations on Varadero Beach in the province of Matanzas, Cuba, Royal Hicacos Resort & Spa brings its Ultra All-Inclusive concept to Cuba. It'll be love at first sight the moment you enter your guest room in Sandals Royal Hicacos where an island décor, sophisticated amenities and comfortable beds create a seductively inviting ambiance.

For Adult Couples only (guests aged 18 and over)

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Royal Hicacos Reviews

Royal Hicacos Review: 4.1 of 5 44 reviews
Excellent
  17
Very good
  16
Average
  6
Poor
  2
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (22)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (16)
Solo
1 - 10 of 44

"Disappointed Honeymoon"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kerri  on Apr 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
364 people found this review helpful

This was our second trip to Cuba, first time at Sandals. Very disappointing stay. We travelled with 2 other couples ( one was family), and met up with 2 other family members later the day we arrived. When we arrived at the resort, our rooms were not ready, and we had to wait 6 hours before they were ready! This was very unacceptable, and set the tone for the rest of the trip. We were not provided any of the upgrades promised as part of the Honeymoon package. Resort was not the cleanest we have seen, and either was the beach.
Food was OK, very bland and by the end of the week, we were getting tired of eating the same thing over and over again. The a la'carte restaurants basically serve what is in the buffet restaurant-they just pretty it up a bit. Front desk staff were rude and unfriendly. Service at the resort left something to be desired! You had to continually as for things, they would not just provide even the basics to you. There was always a smell of sulphar from the septic daily. The mote that they have around the resort is dirty, lots of algae in it.
We would recommend not doing ANY of the free water sports that they offer on the beach such as water skiing, the banana boat, etc. Too many people get hurt on the banana boat. One girl had all of her ligaments torn in her shoulder from the driver of the motor boat dumping all the passengers off the banana boat. And the life jackets......you may as well not wear one as they are so old and broken and half of them don't fit!
Servcie at the Beach Front a la'carte restuarant (BBQ) on the Thursday night was horrible! The one waitress was so rude and ignorant, we are amazed how she is even employed there!
The resort says that they cater to honeymooners, but they really don't. In fact, it seems that they don't cater to anyone!!!
We have never been to a Sandals resort before, but needless to say, this resort gave a very bad impression of the chain of Sandals resorts.
We would not recommend going to this resort. We certainly will NEVER go back!!
We don't expect a lot when we go to all incusive resorts, specially in Cuba, but WOW! We were very disappointed!!
So any of you looking to go somewhere for your honeymoon, or for a pleasant, relaxing holiday, please don't go here. You will be sadly disappointed.

Discouraged Honeymooners from Fergus, Ontario.

Room Number:
604

Arrival:
April 9, 2011

Rooms:
Need updated

Restaurants and Bars:
Poor service at the a la'carte restaurants. Better service at the buffet restaurant, but still not the greatest.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools dirty, beach dirty, grounds OK-some garbage laying around. Sulphar smell daily from resort.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lacking and those that they did provide were not worth it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sandals Varadero NOT More tahn a 3 Star"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marl  on Sep 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
300 people found this review helpful

SANDALS Varadero NOT More than a 3 STAR !!”

Think 2 Twice as we were just there Recently and Only after 12 hrs changed Hotel, This Sandals is far From Being a 5 Star Hotel at Most a 3 Star and than Some.

Don't Get Fouled with the Name Sandals!!!!

Here are Only a Few Reasons for our Deception,

1- Bed Room bed Sheets full of Stains, and Yes Lift your Bed Sheets to See what’s Underneath, you will be sick when you see what’s underneath!!

2- Take a look at the Washroom, Toilet Seat ( Stains )

3- Shower full of Moulds and window as Dirty as Can be.

4- AC very Poor, it’s as if there is NO AC!!

5- The Buffet Rest very ordinary, very few choices...

6- THE MOSQUITOS there EVERY where and if what to Smell like Insect repelant all week weal it’s the Perfect Place To Go.

7- The Smell ALL those little Rivers around the Resort, with the yellow water and Stagnant Smell.

8- The Service They Just don't Care, about your Complaints.

And Yes I Can go ON and ON,

So for all of those thinking of Going To Sandals Think Twice and Don't make the Mistake we Made!!! Thinking this is Sandals and a 5 Star.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overrated"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Unhappy  on Feb 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
226 people found this review helpful

Rooms were nice, that's about all that was good at this resort, forget getting a lounge, all the overweight women had them. As far as food went, bland and the seafood was horrible, anyone wanting lobster better go elsewhere as this is horrific. I didn't know you could destroy a lobster so bad. After seafood night count on lots of leftovers for the following days.
Be careful, the good reviews must have been paid for. Never again at this hole.

Arrival:
good

Rooms:
ok

Restaurants and Bars:
horrible

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
grounds were nice, beach was rough and no lounges

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
ok

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not so good the second time around"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Scott  on Jul 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | With Group
363 people found this review helpful

I have seen some postings that say they were taken by taxi to the hotel from the airport(airport was under construction when we arrived, no air con, but the worst and i mean the worst was that they had no washrooms available. our wives had to go badly, and when we pressed someone he directed us to an area outside the airport which when we got there was locked. we got no further with the "authorities" and looked for our transportation.Forget the taxi that we got the last time, they crammed us into a small bus with no aircon and windows that didnt open(obviously no washroom).
when we arrived at the hotel around 8pm even after we told the desk several times that we were return guests and that we had also brought another couple to visit we were given a second floor room on the very west side that overlooked what looked like a wasteland.We had asked when booking and paid for a third floor room with a garden view.After much complaining on our part backpedaling from the front desk we were moved to another room that had poor aircon,but at that point gave up. Needless to say that the trip went downhill from there the food was as we remembered not great but not bad, but they keep running out of things like pepperoni for the pepperoni pizza, beef for the bbq beef sanwiches,ect ect,but the strangest is when they ran out of beach towels for about 8 hours. Good points--the flights with Sunwing, the beach as lovely as ever,the scuba excursion with Eugene,the piano bar, and the great service in the buffet by Leonardo, who actually recognized us from the year before, and the staff at the main bar.After my wife and I raving about this place to our friends who came with us,I had a lot of egg on my face.Oh yeah, when my friend asked for a fried egg 20 minutes before the breakfast buffet closed he was rudly told that "the oven was broken". I realize that this place isnt a real Sandals,and Cuba is still a developing country but come on.Anyway i think that a five star in Cuba should really mean 3 and one half. One recomendation I have is to spend some money and clean the place up.There a cigarette butts everywhere, the canals surrounding the resort are empty or have stagnant water in them where a lot of the mosquitos are coming from and the place literaly needs a fresh coat of paint. I am writing this the day after our return so im sorry if it sound harsh, but we wont be going back a third time.

Room Number:
2408

Room Block:
sunset

Arrival:
not great

Rooms:
good exept for aircon

Restaurants and Bars:
they try, but run out of food and drinks

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beutiful beach and service

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
great scuba

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This resort is far from the Sandals standards"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 2.5 of 5

Posted by:  Robin from Ottawa  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
84 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 4 - 11, 2009
My arrival was excellent, no big tour bus just a small van with 3 other people. The check in was very quick and smooth. It took about 30 minutes for the bags to get to the room, but other than that it was great

Rooms:
The rooms are a little older. It clearly isn't a new resort but they were clean and the bathroom had a great bathub.

Restaurants and Bars:
HORRIBLE !!!! I am a very seasoned traveller. I have been all over the Carribean. This was my third trip to Varedaro so I was fully aware that the standard of food in Cuba is lesser than most other countries. Even taking that into consideration the food was terrible all over the resort with the exception of one a la carte restaurant. This resort is far from the Sandals standards and those who have stayed at another Sandals resort will be disappointed. Do yourself a favour and stay at the Barcelo Marina Palace down the street, I was there last year and it blows this resort out of the water for less money. A side note, the resort is advertised as a 5 star but the staff there are very free to tell you that it is actually only a 4 star.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very nice. The pool is clean and nice. The beaches are great. The workers on the resort are great.

Other Comments:
AVOID THIS RESORT.

This resort is far from the Sandals standards and those who have stayed at another Sandals resort will be disappointed. Do yourself a favour and stay at the Barcelo Marina Palace down the street, I was there last year and it blows this resort out of the water for less money. A side note, the resort is advertised as a 5 star but the staff there are very free to tell you that it is actually only a 4 star.

If they could bring the quality of food up to the standards of their competitors it would be a wonderful resort, but as it is, stay away.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good time"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  antoine  on Jul 8, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
230 people found this review helpful

Sandals Hicacos is a nice resort located in what is probably the best piece of beach in the area. It is a small resort compared to others that we have been to in other parts of the Caribbean. It is definitely nicer than some of the other resorts in the area.

Room Number:
3018

Room Block:
30

Arrival:
Arrived at 0100 in the morning. They were somewhat quick in taking care of us. We were given our room keys as well as safe keys and soap. The first room that was given to us was sort of flooded with about 2 cm of water on the floor near the door. We were given another room on a different floor fairly quickly.

Rooms:
Our room was nice but nothing that you would expect from a 5 star hotel. But we were in Cuba after all. The room had a seating area, a great king size bed and a big tub/shower. The air conditioning worked extremely well and no smells were present in the room.

Restaurants and Bars:
The hotel being only at 30% occupation, there was little waiting time for drinks at the various bars. The buffet was good with some sections better than others. No use discussing taste because everyone has different taste. Our preferred restaurant was the el Caribe. The service at all the restaurants was good and staff was very friendly.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
As mentioned above, the hotel has the nicest beach around. No matter the effects of the tide, there is always a beach area as opposed to other resorts. Very little in the form of sea life in the immediate area of the beach. The water temperature was great and could easily stay in the water for a very long time. There was a sufficient amount of sun beds for the occupation level of the hotel.
Pool was good and temperature was warm.

Some smells were present during the first two days of our stay. The smell seemed to go away after the first two days. The smell may have been due to the huge amount of rain that the area received prior to our arrival. The grounds are not as well kept as other places that we have been to. More specifically, they tend to leave the composte bags (garbage bags) and yard waste in piles a little every where.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was some activities at the resort including shows at night. It seemed like that entertainment staff were more worried about finding someone to accompany to the next meal or to get them beer. We did manage to win a couple of rum bottles during the few activities that did take place.
The disco was not a happening place and never had more than 12 people. This is surely due to the low number of guests at the time of our visit.
We only attended the Rock show that was presented at night. It was good considering being in Cuba.

Other Comments:
I did have some concerns prior to going due to previous experience in Cuba and great results in Mexico. Overall, the trip was better than expected and would return to this resort if the occasion arose again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"3 Things I wish I knew..."

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Grace  on Mar 31, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
264 people found this review helpful

#1 If your luggage should not arrive, there is a wonderful shopping plaza just 8km down the road from the resort. If someone at the resort would have told me, I would not have purchased the only bathing suit I could find at their gift shop--a real crotch cutter and very ugly! I had to wear it for two days! The shopping plaza had many to choose from!
#2 Carry CUCs! We went into Havana with a taxi driver, and told him we needed to stop at a bank for more cash. He only brought us to ABM machines which rejected all of our cards. Then he took us on a wild goose chase to all the resorts to see if we could use our credit card to get cash and they all say NO. The next morning, he took us to the shopping plaza, where the Bank promptly gave us the money we needed to pay him. I gave him a generous tip, for all his trouble, but now I think I was conned...All we needed to do was to go into the bank at Havana (we had our passports with us) and it would have saved us a lot of stress for nothing!!!!)
#3 At the Varadero airport, check in first. Then pay your 25CUC airport tax (each person), and then exchange your money back into Canadian money. Fortunately we had enough cash, after the bank fiasco but I couldn't believe the airport checkin people! After we checked in, I asked the airport guy where to exchange our money, and he said, oh I have a twenty dollar tip in Canadian currency, I can do it for you. So I fell for it, and as well as two of his colleagues (I was just being nice!)And then found out we needed the Cuban currency to pay the airport tax. Of course $20 Canadian, is only 19 CUCs, and we had to switch all around again. I was very angry at their hospitality. I would never do that to someone...for a stupid dollar. I was just happy we had cash, I heard of some people who get totally screwed because they don`t have the cash. Hope this helps!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Might have been a Sandals - but now it's Cubanacan!!"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Itch  on Jan 1, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2009 | Leisure | Family and Kids
378 people found this review helpful

Might have been a Sandals - but now it's Cubanacan!!

Your Arrival:
Arrival by Air Canada Vacations left on time and arrived a couple of minutes early, met at airport and Shuttle Van was waiting. Arrived at the hotel with 2 other couples from the same flight. They got welcoming champagne and we didn't!! If we wanted one it was available at the bar - good job Marcelo!!

Rooms:
Easy registration and help to the room. It was located in the front of the Hotel. Room was in order and everything worked, but obvious signs of deterioration - blinds don't adjust, grout in bath/shower falling out for a while, tub very scratched and while i'm sure it was clean, didn't look like it. Rooms were kept clean with fresh linen every day and the room staff were very friendly. Just remember the floors aren't that clean - same mops in your room that clean the hallways and i don't believe they change the mop rags from room to room.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was pretty good but repetitive with pretty large selections and efficient service. Tippers got preferred seating and immediate direction to their preferred seats. A la Carte restaurants were a slight step up on food quality and had excellent service. I really enjoyed the beef tenderloin at Don Pasquales. I must say that the Christmas Eve Buffet was spectacular in the Buffet restaurant. The Beef Tenderloin, Lobster(and I'm not crazy about Lobster), Turkey, Oysters, and Prawns were very, very good. The Beef Tenderloin was cooked exactly the way I like it and as much as you could eat. Buffet selections were a big step up over the rest of the week. Bars - well it's Cubanacan, sometimes they come with liquor - sometimes they don't, regardless if you tip. Service in the bars was lacking, beach bar supplied the beer in those irritating 6 oz plastic glasses - you need a refill by the time you got back to your palapa!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was excellent, although not quite as nice as the spectacular beaches at Cayo Coco, and kept very clean, and the water was warm, although we didn't get as much use as we were hoping because we only had 3.5 sunny days out of the week. Pools were cold and hardly any body was making use of them. Grounds were well maintained. 3 evenings there was a pretty heavy sulphur smell from the swamp/lagoon across the road.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We are early risers and didn't stay up for the shows although a couple of people mentioned they thought they were pretty good. We took the double decker bus to Plaza Las Americas and into Varedero and enjoyed the walking around on the first couple of cloudy, cool, and breezy days. Cost 5 pesos each for the day with as many stops as you wanted, so it may for a cheap timely tour of Varadero.

Other Comments:
The cuban peso now costs $1.25 (approx) Canadian, so you kind of choke at $2.50 for a can of coke or beer for your room at the hotel. Snacks are even more expensive - half tube of Pringles converted to $6. Take your own snacks if you think you might need them. Price for cigars was determined by the clerk and varied greatly between them. I think that now Cubanacan operates this facility there is some attitude that the level of service by male staff is lower than that of the female staff. With the exception of the Bars, and there male and female patrons are equally invisible to all the staff. For the price there is much better value in Varedero, and my experience after 4 stays in Cuba is that you don't stay at Cubanacan resorts.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointing"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Monica  on Feb 24, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
256 people found this review helpful

We were quite disappointed with the concierge service after paying the extra we did not get what we expected.

The biggest problem was the front desk and how rude the one "gentleman" was so obnoxious, our plane was delayed on the way out of Cuba. As we had already checked out of our room, the Sunwing rep. went to the front desk to see if we could have our room for another 2 hours.
After getting the key from the front desk attendant, we returned to the room to wait for out flight out. Upon check out time for the 2nd time around my husband approached the front desk to return the key only to have the person behind the counter make my husband feel like a common thief...the attendant asked him where he had gotten the key from since we had checked out earlier. I had gone to check with the sunwing rep while he returned the key. While standing and talking with the rep. I could hear my husband becoming agitated by someone loudly saying where did you get the room key sir several times. I went to the front desk to find out what the problem was, by then my husband was livid being shouted at. We finally got that straighten out after an embarrassing shouting match. No apology from the "gentleman" behind the counter...but a would you like the room for another 2 hours....I just looked at Jamie and said do you really think we want to be humiliated again and said no thanks once was enough. Thank goodness this was at the end of our trip and not the beginning. Sandals was suggested as the perfect place to go for our first vacation....however after being there for one week I really don't see a return visit there.

Room Number:
1903

Arrival:
Feb 14, 2012

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good food very gracious hosts"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 3.5 of 5

Posted by:  Wayne from West of Red Deer Alberta  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
95 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 18-Febuary 2
Arrived January 19, very nice flight with Air Transat. We were picked up by a Sandals bus, and registration went very well(no champagne).

Rooms:
Very nice,large suites,bar fridge stocked with water only. Maids very nice, and did a great job. No converter in our room, requested, but never recieved one. Fan did not work in the bathroom.

Restaurants and Bars:
Very nice, good food very gracious hosts(little under staffed).Snacks were few and far between. Piano bar was my favoite great pianist,and bar staff.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pools were clean shallow and cold. Beach is beutiful. Grounds not too lush, but clean. Hot tubs were also cold.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went on one private tour and paid way to many CUC's. Went on anouther bus tour, snd much better.

Other Comments:
This is a nice resort, but It's only a 4*. We paid $6278 inc taxes Canadian per couple.If you can get it for #5000 per couple(or less)inc tax for two weeks, you would get your money's worth. Cuba is way too expensive because CUC is $1.39 Canadian.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube