Royal Hicacos Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Royal Hicacos reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.5 based on 28 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 14, 2014

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 27, 2014

Blau Privilege Cayo Libertad Hotel

4.3 based on 7 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 25, 2014

Royal Hicacos  

Carretera Las Morlas, Km. 15, Varadero, Cuba

"good customer satisfaction"
Posted by: shontelle on Jul 15, 2014
see all reviews

Royal Hicacos Reviews
Royal Hicacos Pictures and Information
Royal Hicacos Varadero Cuba

#7
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.1

Based on 44 reviews

Royal Hicacos Information


Set on one of the finest locations on Varadero Beach in the province of Matanzas, Cuba, Royal Hicacos Resort & Spa brings its Ultra All-Inclusive concept to Cuba. It'll be love at first sight the moment you enter your guest room in Sandals Royal Hicacos where an island décor, sophisticated amenities and comfortable beds create a seductively inviting ambiance.

For Adult Couples only (guests aged 18 and over)

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Royal Hicacos Reviews

Royal Hicacos Review: 4.1 of 5 44 reviews
Excellent
  17
Very good
  16
Average
  6
Poor
  2
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (22)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (16)
Solo
11 - 20 of 44

"Gorgeous Beach!"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Emma  on Feb 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
416 people found this review helpful

Because it is a Sandals resort, you get picked up from the airport by a taxi, not the usual cramped hot bus that makes many stops along the way, that was a nice unexpected ride. Grab 2 cervezas for $5 pesos while your there for the ride to your resort! :)

Really nice resort, the best part is the beautiful & wide beach. The water is crystal clear, warm, calm and so shallow you can walk way out before it gets deep.

The rooms were nice large, with a separate sitting area, balcony, and nice large bathroom with separate toilet area, and big 2-person tub.

Food was good, if you complain about the food here you are just way too picky!! I am a vegetarian and even I found plenty to eat at the buffet, & the ala Carts restaurants were great, book them all when you get there!

Lobby bar is really nice, good drinks & service.

Free wifi in the lobby if you bring your laptop or Ipod with you, but it's slow and doesn't work all the time, it only worked twice for us & the staff had no idea why.

Nightly entertainment was ok, not great I've seen better shows at less star resorts. After the shows were over the DJ would spin music until about 3:00am, although the disco was pretty dead everynight as there was mostly older people staying at this resort.

Nice main pool with jacuzzi, also two other 'quiet pools' with jacuzzi if you want to go to one where nobody else is at really, but there is no bars over there.

Overall I would recommend this resort, maybe not if you are looking to party with alot of nightlife, for that you would have to leave the resort, but great beach, food, staff & service.

Room Number:
2119

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Overrated"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Unhappy  on Feb 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
227 people found this review helpful

Rooms were nice, that's about all that was good at this resort, forget getting a lounge, all the overweight women had them. As far as food went, bland and the seafood was horrible, anyone wanting lobster better go elsewhere as this is horrific. I didn't know you could destroy a lobster so bad. After seafood night count on lots of leftovers for the following days.
Be careful, the good reviews must have been paid for. Never again at this hole.

Arrival:
good

Rooms:
ok

Restaurants and Bars:
horrible

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
grounds were nice, beach was rough and no lounges

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
ok

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful again!"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Susan  on Jan 24, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
215 people found this review helpful

We returned to Sandals again this year since we enjoyed our stay so much last year. We certainly were not disappointed this year. The very friendly professional staff at this resort makes your stay most enjoyable. The food was great and I am a very fussy eater. The only negative comment I have to make is that the waiter or waitress offering drinks around the pool was not around too much. However the bar was not too far away so you could go get your own.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great time!"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Myrna  on Jan 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
202 people found this review helpful

we stayed at Sandals for only 7days everything was great-from pickup at the airport to departure. Our room was very nice, bed comfortable, bathroom large with 2 nice bathrobes. We did have to ask for coffeemaker & we received one. The food was the best I've ever had at an all inclusive! We ate at all the alacarts, the seafood was not very good, but the rest were excellent, the buffet was also really good-lobster on Tues nite. The staff were really the best of anywhere we have travelled, especially the entertainment staff!! Wait staff were also superb, you never had to wait for anything, by day 2 they knew what you wanted to drink without even being asked. Also the crepe girl was fantastic-best crepes anywhere!! all in all it was a really nice holiday.

Arrival:
January 10,2011

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
excellent

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good... not mind-blowing great... IMHO"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Laura  on Sep 21, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
271 people found this review helpful

LONG REVIEW... but totally honest!!
Back to my review...

Arrival:
Stayed Sept 10 - 17th, 2010. Flew Sunwing... early flight... on time, no issues... food was actually good on the flight. Arrived at the airport, was greeted on our exit by a Sunwing rep who gathered a taxi for us while we exchanged some $$ in the departures lounge. (Side note, don't worry about changing your money at the airport.. exact same exchange at the front desk at Sandals).

Taxi driver didn't say a peep except when we arrived at the resort... I guess it wasn't a big deal, as we don't speak Spanish.

We were welcomed after a few mins at the front desk.. then had to wait while a Conceirge rep was called to come and get us. We left our luggage in the lobby, and she walked us through the resort to the Conceirge office, where we were poured a glass of champagne and offered chocolates, and welcomed "home". She explained things about the resort, the ala cartes, the pools and some excursions, then took us to our room. We were told our luggage would show up shortly... so we went to the grill for lunch.. an hour later our luggage still hadn't arrived, so we walked back up to the lobby, and yeppers, there it was still sitting in the open... the lady at the front desk said "oh, they said you were going to call for the bellboy to bring it..." well, whether we were or weren't supposed to call, I don't know.. maybe a miscommunication, but by this point we were sweltering and needed to change from our pants to shorts ASAP... tip, bring shorts in your carryon!

Rooms:
All rooms at this resort are the same.... split level room.. seating area with a wicker couch and chair, then step down to your king size, very tall.. and very firm bed. The conceirge room has a fully stocked bar including wine, both white and red.. a bottle of Chivas Regal, a bottle of rum, a bottle of vodka, 4 beers, 2 huge bottles of water and 4 cans of pop. This was refreshed daily... in the afternoon. We did leave peso's for the person refreshing the fridge for us.
Nice size bathroom... huge tub, built for two.. water stays REALLY warm so you can soak for a while if you want. Separate room with toilet..
We were in 2801, ground floor.. huge balcony.. overlooked the conceirge pool. We had gardeners outside our room daily, which we gave gifts and drinks to.. but they seemed to expect it from us when they saw us... didn't like that by the end of the week.
Had room service breakfast almost every morning.. just hang your card on the door the night before, and you can enjoy fresh fruit, hot coffee and croisants w/jam when you wake up (tip: you can order whatever you want by writing it on the back of the card).... a nice touch for conceirge as well.
Maid service was good... cleaned mid morning, then again for turn down service at night before bed. We left gifts and trinkets everyday as well as a peso or 2...Do yourself a favour, read the link about GIFTS TO CUBA... I'm sure some people still like the little things we tend to bring, but to be totally honest.. THEY WANT CASH... they don't want the school supplies, the make up, the jewellery etc... so don't fool yourself with thinking you're doing something good for them.... They've got cellphones, ipods, designer clothes.. if you want to give to anyone, send it to a remote village somewhere to people that will and can actually use the stuff!!

Restaurants and Bars:
FOOD:
Ala cartes were great... first 2 nights we went out.. first to the El Caribe, which was very good, both food and atmosphere.. and the second night we went to the Seafood restaurant.. again, very good... which surprised us. We had less pleasant ala carte experiences past trips to Cuba. 3rd night we did the buffet.... mistake.
The food at this resort was pretty good compared to other resorts, in our opinion.. EXCEPT for the buffet. We both had pork this first night in the buffet, and for 3 days following I was happy that I had brought my immodium with us.. nevermind the fact we did an excursion that first day of my issue... *ugh* More than likely because it was low season when we were there, but there wasn't a big enough selection of food... IMHO. And the smell of the buffet was nauseating after a couple of days.. ventilation isn't up to snuff, so lots of smoke and grease when they're cooking at the stations. We ate lunch at the grill, which was not bad.. but it's burgers, fries, hot dogs and mystery sandwiches... we don't eat fries as a rule at home, but they were safe there!! When we couldn't get into an ala carte, we went straight for the pasta station and had spaghetti.. why? because it was a safe bet. Tuesday nights they have a gala management dinner... Lobster.. and lots of it... we again had spaghetti. Desserts were great... not alot of veggies, but lots of breads and the parmesan wheel was there as well.. Just watch what you eat.. make sure they REALLY cook your meat.. don't be afraid to ask them to keep it on the grill a little longer than you would usally have it.... you don't want to spend days that you should be at the beach, on the can!!!
Italian was very good as well, we only ate there once. Grill at night for sunset is very nice.. but pack your bug spray... you'll need it once the sun goes down!
All restaurants were very clean... the odd fly.. but hey, you're in the tropics. Not over abundance of them like people had previously noted.
Tip for Newbies: they present you with a wine list at every ala carte... you have to pay for these wines!!.. if you just order white or red wine, its Santa Carolina, Chilean wine.. not bad, not great... but its the house wine. We noticed some people getting pressured to buy off the menu... the servers must get commission on wine sales.. don't do it!!
Staff were very good, and in the buffet, Carlos and his team were great! Always refilling your drinks.. asking how your day was... try to get in his section.. he's great!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Main Pool was terrific.. not too much excitement to disturb your relaxation, but enough to keep you somewhat entertained or interested on what was happening in and around. They did aqua-fit in the mornings around 11am, volleyball in the afternoon.. they didn't pressure anyone to do anything... Pool bar was good, although you had to get out of the main pool and get into the pool that housed the pool bar... Pools were very clean, grotto was nice... water was a nice temperature... shallow areas to just lay in and catch some rays... built in seats around some of the outter walls... nice.

Beach was AMAZING!!! Beach at Sandals is by far the best on the strip... nice and wide... clean, and not alot of rocks, shells or coral when getting in.... water was so warm... sand so soft... JUST SIMPLY AMAZING. They had water sports for free, including water-skiing, and banana tubing... but those were offered in the mornings only.

Weather was awesome as well!!

Sand fleas were very much present... we usually went to the beach for swim, then headed back to the pool or room.. one day we stayed down there for about a half hour, and I got about 10 bites on my legs... Mosquitos were bad as well.. saw some people with huge welts on their arms and legs.. one woman said her arm had swollen up so bad they had to go to the Dr.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We did do the day trip to Havana... an organized tour. Its not a bad way to get a taste of Havana, but in hindsight, we should have done the private taxi tour with a guide, but to be honest, when we were first told about the price of 200CUC, not including lunch or tip.. seemed a little pricey... also watch who you book your tour with. We made the mistake of NOT booking with Sunwing, and after talking to other guests, we took the wrong tour.. they got to do and see so much more than what we did... again, hindsight is 20/20. Oh, one other thing.. don't bring stuff to hand out to people in Havana.. we were told before hand not to, but there were people on our trip that did, and they literally got swarmed and people kept on them for stuff and pesos!!

Other Comments:
Used the Spa one afternoon when it was raining.. I had a reflexology treatment, and my DH had massage... would we do it again? No, probably not.. but it was a nice break while it rained.

Was the conceirge with the extra $$$$... NO. Particularily in low-season, I don't think its worth the extra $$$.. If you want the booze in your room, for what you save in rates on your room, just go to the little shop and buy your cans of beer to keep in the fridge..
Oh, one more thing.. I had emailed them before we left to request 2 things.. 1, that we had an upper floor... we didn't get that. Probably was a good thing, because we enjoyed our balcony... 2, was that it was my DH's birthday the day we were arriving, and asked if they would put a little sign in the room or something.. well, while on our walk to the conceirge office, 2 people stopped to wish him a happy birthday.. then there was a sign on the door and a birthday cake waiting for us in the room!!! Very nice touch!!

I'm sure there's other things I've neglected to mention.. but all in all the resort was GOOD, NOT MIND BLOWING GREAT. Will we be back? Hmmm.. doubt it... there are too many other countries to visit... and we think we might try a cruise next. We've been to Cuba 3 times now.. time for a break...

Entertainment / Bars:
Lobby bar was awesome.. great entertainment in the evenings, people tended to gather there before and after dinner..before the main nightly entertainment as well... Juan Carlos and Maggie were greatl! Juan Carlos is like an old friend you haven't seen in years... treats you like he's known you forever... nice guy, and great service!

Entertainment was pretty good.. for what we saw. Low season, so not alot of people out and about, but they did have the 1st annual Cuban Film Festival... we didn't make it to any of the movies unfortunately...they were the nights I wasn't feeling so hot.

Conceirge party on Wednesday around the Conceirge pool... nice, HUGE bar, all brand name alcohol... although we got rained out after a few mins, they had a short aquatic show with 4 people, and a few draws for coffee, rum and other assorted stuff. All ladies got a nice red rose, and you had your picture taken by the resident photographer.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A week of relaxation"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tanya  on Aug 29, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
201 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
Easy...picked up at Varadero airport by private taxi. Half hour ride to the resort. Though no welcoming drinks, check in was simple. Bags were delivered to the rooms by the bell boy.

Rooms:
Premium gardenview room. Very nice and comfortable to stay in. Bar fridge was topped up daily with pop, water, beer. Large bathroom. Air conditioning worked well. Bed comfort was okay.

Restaurants and Bars:
The biggest surprise was the breads and pastries - they rivaled what we haven eaten in Paris...fresh & tasty. Crepes at the buffet were masterpiece. Osvany was extremely talented in making these tasty treats.

Buffet - okay...it's Cuba!
A la cartes - very good Chilean house wines. No need to buy other brands. Food was good. Big improvements on quality of beef over previous visits to Cuba. Vegetable selection was limited...canned or pickled vegetables for the most part.

Coffee quality was inconsistent depending on the bartender and the espresso machine. Beach and pool bars were good. No lack of drink variety.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful beach at this resort. Other adjacent resorts were not so lucky with their span of beach. Restoration work was being done on the shoreline at other resorts. Beats the beach at Santa Maria and Holguin.

Main pool was nice.

Grounds were well maintained and pretty though not spectacular. Insects keep to a minimum due to overhead ariel spraying twice per day. Bring bug repellent anyways.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
It was great to have scuba diving included. Highly recommended for beginner divers. This is not a place for snorkelling off of the beach. Nothing to see as there is no reef.

Water sports - operated by Marlin not by Sandals. If you are an avid windsurfer, bring your own equipment. Sports centre will shut down if winds are greater than 25 km per hour. Winds pick up late afternoon once the centre is shut down. Lots of beach space for kiting.

Waterskiing, banana boat were included though runs were very short in length.

Tennis courts were in good condition.

Other Comments:
A very enjoyable vacation. Do not buy alcohol or cigars at the resort as souvenirs. Much cheaper at Varadero airport.

If you are a beach loving person, this is the resort for you.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"good times at The Sandals Royal Hicacos in Varadero Cuba."

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  leonardito  on Jun 15, 2010  >  18 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
204 people found this review helpful

The Sandals Royal Hicacos Resort is truly a beautiful complex.
It is located between the Blau and Iberostar Varadero Hotels.
The buildings have suites that are quite large,
comfortable with great air condition to cool you down.
.
The beach has soft powder sand
and swimming is one of the best you can find in Cuba.
Lots of palapas were also always available at any time.
Pool lovers will be pleased to find a huge pool with swim up bar
and 2 smaller ones if you prefer a more quiet area.

The food at Sandals was excellent with a large variety in the buffet.
There was no limit for reserving the a la carte restaurants.
We did enjoy the most the El Caribe,
where we found the menu to be extensive
and varied with lots of fresh meat,
fish and vegetables plus delicious desserts.
The Chilien red Cabernet Sauvignon wine "Vina Maipo"
was also quite acceptable.
.
We must mention that the best part of our trip was the staff.
They went out of their way to make sure that we were happy
and well taken care of.
Idalmis, Public Relations Manager is a great asset to the Sandals.
She was very helpful to our needs and made our stay comfortable in every way.
Ramel, the Manager of the Hotel is always seen around
and ready to listen to any suggestions you may have.

Staff members just to mention a few .....
Marlene, Juan Carlos, Tule, Diane, Tamara, Evian, Cachita
and many many others ..... were really our "Amigos".

All in all, we had a wonderful time and would recommend
the Sandals Royal Hicacos to anyone
who wishes to have a lovely quiet vacation in Varadero.
*
hot.......... hot .......... hot ! ! !
and the water ..........woooooooooow !
.
June in Varadero is a paradise !
... even at the begining of the hurricane season ...
* * * How come no Photos from Sandals * * *
*
Well, well ... sorry we lost our camera on the way home,

see more on :
http://leonardito.com/sandalsvar1005n/sandalsvar1005.php

Photos: http://leonardito.com/sandalsvar1005n/sandalsvar1005.php

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perfect Wedding"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Janis  on May 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
211 people found this review helpful

I absolutely loved it.

Your Arrival:
We arrived late and it was a quick, and I mean quick drive to the rooms. I would have liked it if the guy that drove us to the room was friendly. However we did get there late.

Rooms:
Our room was beautiful and spacious! The maides kept them extremely clean and always had cool towel art on the bed with nice notes. Our beach towels were always exchanged in the night as well.

Restaurants and Bars:
The restaurants were great, because it's a couples resorts there weren't any exciting clubs. There was the disco lounge with the best bartendar, Rodney!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very clean, the beach was like heaven!!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on 3 trips off the resort. The catamaran, the speed boats, and Varadero. The boats were fun and definately recommended.

Other Comments:
We went with a group of 14 to get married. It was a stress free, perfect wedding. We were given a letter at check with a time to meet with the wedding specialist. We met the next day at 10:30 for about 20 min, long enough to pick flowers, location, cake, restaurant, book spa and hair etc. Then I didnt hear anything else until the day of the wedding. A phone call to say she'd be there with the flowers, and then after she arrived with the flowers she said "wait for my call". Once I got her call I, along with all of the girls, walked to the gazibo and everything was set up perfect!!! We didnt have to do a thing, I would definately recomment getting married or renewing vows there.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perfect"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Laura  on Apr 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
182 people found this review helpful

April 11 to April 18/10 - beautiful resort, excellent service, great and friendly staff, all restaurants and buffet were excellent, cannot complain. Bars were quick and excellent. Travelled by Taxi to Havana one day - shared with another couple, worth every penny $220.00 Pesos. Arranged by Sunwing rep Manuella who was excellent. Also had a hour drive around Varadero in 1949 Convertible Cadillac - awesome! $32.00 Pesos also arranged by Manuella - Went to see the Bueno Vista Social Club (arranged by Manuella)
play at a concert hall 5 km. down the road, they play once a year and we struck it lucky, awesome and very very enjoyable and saw 2 of the original band members.
Loved Cuba, absolutely loved it, well worth the money. Beautiful beach and you can walk for miles, rooms were spacious, clean and kept orderly. Balcony on mostly every room, we over looked the green area towards the ocean. Ocean view was blocked by vegetation, but you can hear the waves. We stayed in a Premium suite, stocked fridge and bar daily :)
take a converter for your curl iron and battery charger etc. and a wash cloth, they don't supply this. Shampoo and bath gel and cream supplied. Hair dryer in bathroom along with magnifying mirror and iron and ironing board. Beds were very very comfortable.

Your Arrival:
quick and greeted with champagne.

Rooms:
spacious and clean and everything working

Restaurants and Bars:
fabulous - you won't be disappointed at any of them. We were not.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Pool a busy place, but 3 on site, we tended to stay down at our quieter end. Ocean was rough, red flag everyday, but lovely, sand was clean.

Other Comments:
Use your rep to book your trips off site, they are there to guide you and get you the right guide, it is well worth to ask questions if you want to go places.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Another fabulous vacation"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sue  on Mar 30, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
204 people found this review helpful

We just returned from our third stay at this resort. The service is excellent and the beach is the best we have seen in our travels. The rooms are clean and spacious. The staff cannot do enough to make you feel special. There are several restaurants to chose from and a great buffet. We will continue to return to this resort because of the service that we receive.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube