Royal Hicacos Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Royal Hicacos reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 27, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.3 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 19, 2017

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 40 reviews
Last reviewed May 21, 2015

Royal Hicacos  

Carretera Las Morlas, Km. 15, Varadero, Cuba

"good customer satisfaction"
Posted by: shontelle on Jul 15, 2014
see all reviews

Royal Hicacos Reviews
Royal Hicacos Pictures and Information
Royal Hicacos Varadero Cuba

#8
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 4.1

Based on 44 reviews

Royal Hicacos Information


Set on one of the finest locations on Varadero Beach in the province of Matanzas, Cuba, Royal Hicacos Resort & Spa brings its Ultra All-Inclusive concept to Cuba. It'll be love at first sight the moment you enter your guest room in Sandals Royal Hicacos where an island décor, sophisticated amenities and comfortable beds create a seductively inviting ambiance.

For Adult Couples only (guests aged 18 and over)

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Royal Hicacos Reviews

Royal Hicacos Review: 4.1 of 5 44 reviews
Excellent
  17
Very good
  16
Average
  6
Poor
  2
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (22)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (1)
With Group (4)
With Spouse/Partner (16)
Solo
41 - 44 of 44

"The al a carte restaurants were top notch"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tamara from Alberta  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
190 people found this review helpful

This was our third trip to Sandals Royal Hicacos (January 1 – 15, 2009), and once again we were not disappointed. Already planning the trip for next January.

We travelled via Sunwing this time because of their flight times. Good charter company. Enjoyed the flight.

As usual, arrival was swift and efficient. The rooms were clean and well attended too. Looks like all the rooms are equipped with converters now, so you are OK to bring 110V electronics if required. The grounds were clean. The beach was tremendous – best on the whole strip. The restaurants were excellent. The variety of food offered at the buffet was great (pizza, pasta, fresh seafood, chicken, steaks and deserts) all cooked fresh in front of you. With all the hurricanes in 2008, the fruit crops were hit hard, so the fruit selection was a little less than usual at breakfast, but there is nothing we can do about the weather is there?. Once new crop is ready, I’m sure it will be back up to usual standards. As a quick hint, Tuesday’s is Cuba night and they serve lobster in the buffet. Be sure not to miss it.

The al a carte restaurants were top notch too. We did not eat at the Seafood Restaurant. We went with other couples, and this restaurant will not move tables together for groups – it’s intended for “date night” with your significant other – but I did hear positive reviews from other guests.

The bars and drink selection were excellent. Many of the staff are still the same staff from last year, and many of them remembered us. Service was good and top notch liquor is available. Remember to take an insulated travel mug. Less trips to the bar during the day, and your drink stays cool for a much longer time.

If you have been to any other Sandals resort in the past, be sure to go to Sandals website and sign up for their signature program. Returning guests are invited to special extras including a “Signature” supper at El Caribe. An excellent opportunity to hear what’s new at the resort, to mingle with other Sandals returnees and have a special (excellent) meal.

We did find out that there are many changes coming for Sandals Royal Hicacos for 2009. They are doing some major renovations over the summer months. They will be moving all of the stores, including the pharmacy, into the main common area, giving the area a New Orleans theme. The internet café will be enhanced as well. They are also building a new Sushi/Thai restaurant. All of the rooms will be getting new curtains and bedding and the lobby bar is getting all new furniture as well. They figure most of the renovations will be done by fall 2009, except for the restaurant which may take a bit longer.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The rooms were kept very clean and in good shape"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Sean from Edmonton, Alberta  on Dec 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2008
183 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec 15 to 22 2008
We were greeted at the airport by our host who promptly gave us our bus number and tagged our baggage with our hotel room number. Once we arrived at the hotel we skipped right past the lobby and all met in the disco served champagne and a wet face cloth. At this point we were all given our room keys and taken as a group to our rooms, this was supprisingly efficient.

Rooms:
The rooms were kept very clean and in good shape. The rooms are spacious and have a huge bathroom with a double wide soaker tub.

Restaurants and Bars:
Where do I start! We were told that the buffet was wonderful, better then the a la cartes, but to still try the a la cartes. Well we did just that and the 6 of us all agreed the the buffet was better. I have never eaten at a buffet this good. The food was always fresh and plentiful. They have everything from fresh seafood cooked to order, steak cooked to order, pizza made to order, pasta station, crepes, I could keep going but you get the point!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
This was probably the best beach I've been to in Varadero. It is that flour white sand beach that everybody dreams of. The grounds were also very well looked after, with lots of green space.

Other Comments:
I've been to 3 resorts in Varadero and this was by far the best.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very romantic"

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Tracy from Montreal  on Nov 1, 2008  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2008
169 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Nov 29-Dec 7
The arrival to Sandals was smoothes with a private buss to pick us up at the airport, as we arrived they had champagne waiting for us at the hotel,and got our rooms ready quickly.A bell boy brought our luggage to our rooms

Rooms:
Rooms were very clean and big, A little living room area the seprates the beds. Bathrooms are huge with a bath tube for 2!

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was great although towards the end we found it was usualy the same stuff being served(always fresh though)4 al cart restaurants Seafood which I can't comment on because we don't like seafood however a couple we were with said it was amazing,Italian was very good, I had the steak both times,The Grill which is the beach bar/lunch during the day wasn't all that great but eatable.Cuban restaurant was great as well. Be aware they will try to get you to buy a bottle of wine,just ask for the house wine.The lobby bar was very good however I felt they were under staff so the service sometimes was slow, but heck what else do you have to do!Beach bar amazing people, always rememeber what you drink! and the panio bar,is very low key nice relaxing place to sit for a nice drink.Finaly my fav the disco, which is always dead inside dj doesn't have the greatest equipment to play music, but the bar tender are amazing and try to liven up the place when people are there.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach is just Haven,We stayed at the Melia Las Antillas in Marh and I can vouche to say sandals has the best beach(however they are all real nice)Pools are very nice with a swim-up, very clear/clean water

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We spend most of our time at the beach and sadly there weren't very much activites going on.. one day they had a bassball game and another day a vollyball game but that was it.They could of had more things going on for the younger crowd,but the beach is all worth doing nothing all day!We are beach bums so we didn't leave the resort except for one day one when the weather was horrible we went to the little mall in town we took the double decker buss (5 peso there and back)beware that coming back from the mall the buss was packed and skipped our stopp 3 times before we decided to take a taxi back for 10 pesos.We didn't go to any clubs this time around but if it's your firt time,there is the Pirate Cave close by enter for 10 pesos and 1 peso a drink.

Other Comments:
I would recommend couples for this resort, very romantic (you can even ask the bar for a bottle of wine to bring up to your room for a nice bath) Hope this helps, Have fun!!any question please e-mail me
tracyl_@hotmail.com

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Beach was the best, clear clear water."

Royal Hicacos
User Rating:  Royal Hicacos Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Delores from Glace Bay, Nova Scotia  on Mar 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008
179 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 14-21 2008
Air Canada provided us with a wonderful flight, concierge services provided an air conditioned van drive to and from airport, Check in not so good, room not ready for a number of hours, We were given a cold drink and went to lunch, the waitress was new and(very little english) but so sweet. We were tired and so thankful when we got our room. The staff was nice, towels and our luggage brought to our room. We then relaxed, didn't really see too much the first day but things got much better. The concierge's booked reservations and exchanged money for us. All and all things went well. It took only 24 hours to climatize. Lots of air conditioning available.

Rooms:
Clean,King size bed,large bathtub, nice sitting area, safe in room, fridge cold and stocked with beer("crystal beer" almost as good as canadian) pop and water and a stocked bar in room. The concierge were very obliging to stock this bar with a few of our favorites drinks. Our maid (Mae) made our stay so comfortable and fun with her special little surprizes for us. We left small gifts and tips on the pillow for her. She was very appreciative of everything. Fan over bed and air conditioning worked well,(activated withyour room key) When you leave the room (leave your spare key in) so the room will stay cool on your return. The patio door lead to the balgony (don't be surprized if you see a few couples wearing very little on theirs) Just adds to the many memories you will make while vacationing. My Tylenol was disappearing daily from it's bottle (someone must have had a bad headache) That's the only real little problem we experienced so we done good. Check out was uneventful, !

We called the main deck and a bellhop was there immediately to carry our luggage and transport us to the main lobby. Then the airport and VIP room. The service excellent.

Restaurants and Bars:
We both had difficulty with the meals, Take note there was lots and lots of food. We certainly didn't go hungry. The beach grill looked after lunch, The buffet breakfast and a few dinners. The others were all ok. We never got sick, we had a problem with the preparation and the smell of the oils used. Lets just say the poultry, pork & fish was satisfactory, the beef and lobster not quite canadian. The staff were great. We did survive and had a great time.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The Beach was the best, clear clear water, fine white powdered sand, warm, You must get up early to get an umbrella for shade but it's worth it. They are waiters available on the beach(not all day) to get your drinks, Just great. Pools beautiful and cooler, swim up bar fun. Bartenders friendly and attentive. Ground amazing, the grounds keepers work so hard. Don't forget them if you are a tipper. The same goes for the concierge people and door attendents, they all appreciate a tip.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube