Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)  

Autopista Sur Km 19½, Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Mtzas, Cuba

"Bad Memories"
Posted by: T  on Feb 5, 2017
see all reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews
Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Pictures and Information
Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Varadero Cuba

#4
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.3

Based on 56 reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Information


The new Memories Varadero Beach Resort offers you the value of a 5-star resort for the price of a four-star. Features like the longest water slide of Varadero and its closeness to La Habana make this the perfect place for those seeking action and adventure.



We invite you to create and share unforgettable memories that will last a lifetime with us!

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.3 of 5 56 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  27
Average
  12
Poor
  6
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Leisure (51)
Party (2)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (17)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (21)
Solo
1 - 10 of 56

"Bad Memories"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  T  on Feb 5, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2017 | Leisure | With friend
52 people found this review helpful

I love Cuba and this was my 3rd trip to Cuba. However, it was my final. Our resort (Memories) has a plumbing issue and even when we left they still hadn't fixed the problem. They had to shut the water off so if you booked anywhere close to the beach then you had no running water. We had no running water for 5 days. The staff handled this problem very badly which is why I'm writing this review. They were not honest and upfront with us about the situation. If they were, we could have made an informed decision about changing rooms or resorts. There is only 1 customer services representative who handles all problems on the resort and it's a huge resort so with a plumbing issue you can imagine the high volume of complaints. The check in counter would not help you. We went to Havana for the day and when we came back we asked the front desk if there was running water yet and they would not answer the question. They told us to go to customer service and you can clearly see that there was nobody there at customer service. We stood waiting for someone to come for about 20 minutes but no one ever did come. All we wanted was to be able to shower and we knew that there was a room available close to the lobby to shower in. We did not want to have to trek back to our room to see if there was running water and then have to come back to the lobby to get a key to shower. We finally changed rooms on our 2nd last day. The customer service rep gave us a room close to the lobby and she told us we didn't have to check out at the regular time. Our flight was at 6:30 pm so this was nice to be able to keep our room for longer. However, on the day we were leaving, our cards were deactivated so we couldn't get back in the room. We went to the check out counter and they wanted to charge us for the extension. We told them our situation. They made a call, handed the key cards back to us and said it will work. However, when we came back a few hours later it was not working. Fortunately the cleaning staff was nice enough to let us back in.
There were so many upset people on the resort that were fed up and angry. It was hard to stay positive and try to enjoy the holiday despite the problems.

Room Number:
316

Room Block:
34

Arrival:
Typical pickup by bus. No better than a greyhound bus except they expected you to tip the driver.

Rooms:
We had no running water for 5 days!!!! We had no AC for 2 days. We booked online to get a sunset view with 2 beds but didn't receive either. The room had no working phone, hairdryer, or cd player. It was a long trek back to the lobby to get anything fixed!

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet had lots of choices but I found most of the food overcooked and cold and very bland.
Snack bars offer hamburgers, hot dogs, ham and cheese sandwiches and fries

Italian restaurant was disgusting.

Japanese was fabulous

You are only allowed to choose 2 a la cart restaurants

The bbq by the beach had good food that was hot and not overcooked. However, when they ran out of cutlery they just wiped them down with a napkin and gave them out to us

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful lots of palm trees and very well kept. Beach is clean and beautiful

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I can't comment because it is not a big interest for me. I just wanted to be at the beach

Other Comments:

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Never again"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  herbert  on Oct 25, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2015 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
182 people found this review helpful

It is advertised as a 4* maybe the grounds and the beach are but not the hotel and food that's for sure. A drop from the old Sirenis La Salinas. I know because I was there in 2011 four years ago and I thought I would have the same standards as than. Was I ever wrong.

Room Number:
24106

Room Block:
24

Arrival:
I arrived at the hotel with 40 other people some friends and there families. Some of us have been to this place 9 times and more. As we arrived at the hotel we where told that the rooms where not ready. I was the last one to receive a room after having to wait for more than 4 hours and still my room was not ready. It took the chief porter to finally tell the front desk staff that he will place me in a room even though it was not ready. This never happened at Serenis.

Rooms:
The room and bed where ok. The room was clean and my bed was made every day. The bathroom was ok. At Serenis I had every day flowers and my fridge was stocked with water,beer and pop not so at Memories.

Restaurants and Bars:
This is where Memories has dropped from a 4* to a 3* in my opinion. No where close to what Serenis offered and served and even the locals said so. The selection sucked and so the food. It was cold and over cooked most of the time. There where flies everywhere on the food on your table,birds would steal food of your plate as it did with mine. The bar was good and the staff was friendly and hard working.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach what makes this place,beautiful white sand and big compared to other hotels around Memories. The staff at the beach was very helpful and friendly.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There where a lot of activities offered each and every day.

Other Comments:
I left the bad to the very end. I and many of my friends became ill to the stomach. I never had that issue before and so did the others. I am still sick after fife days being at home. I suspect that I picked up a parasite of some sort from the food that I ate. I used to work in the food industry and what I saw how they handled the food made me cringe. They would use the same throng that handle the red meet and used it on the cooked one a no no.
I also had my jacked stolen from my room and had to face a rainy and cold day coming home. This,the stomach problems,stolen jacked and lousy booking in.
Can you guess where I will go next?

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"awful and disaopointing"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Teresa  on Oct 20, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2015 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
179 people found this review helpful

Never again, checked into Block 33...A/C flooding the room, phone not working, nothing in mini bar...complainrd, changed rooms to Block 39...phone still NOT working. Wont ever come here again. Food awdul! Waste of money! Rain every single day!

Room Number:
33314 and 3339314

Room Block:
33 and 39

Arrival:
October 14th

Restaurants and Bars:
Food awful everywhere. Breakfast same every day!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Ok

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Ok

Other Comments:
Not impessed

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It was a very enjoyable vacation."

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sharon  on Mar 13, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2015 | Leisure | Family and Kids
239 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
30103

Room Block:
30

Arrival:
February 26, 2015 depart March 5, 2015

Rooms:
Rooms were fine the usual the maid goes in and sweeps, makes the bed and cleans the bathroom. I find giving the bathroom walls a wipe down every now and then would help with cleanliness. We always had hot water no matter what time we showered and there was no bed bugs. There was a safe in your room at no charge. Your mini fridge consisted of water in it. In order to get beer or colas you had to be in the Diamond club which you had to pay extra for. I think that if it is an all inclusive you should have beer and colas and water in your fridge at no charge.

Restaurants and Bars:
I am not a picky eater but the Japanese restaurant was the best and the others I found were fine. The buffet is like any other buffet some good some bad but a good variety.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was one of the most beautiful beaches that I have seen. The resort was big and there can be a lot of walking involved but you could always hop the trolley that goes around every 20 minutes. The resort was clean and fun I would recommend it to anyone with kids.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I travelled with my 15 year old son and 14 year old daughter and some friends with kids and they had a ball going down the water slide. The activities were fun volleyball, water polo and aqua exercises. There was also yoga at the beach. We took the Cuban double decker bus which cost 5 cuc and was worth it. It takes you into the shops and is like a little tour at the same time. We went to saturno caves by taxi which cost me 50 cuc for three of us. The kids enjoyed cruising up to the caves listen to the Cuban music. The driver Rolando had lunch while we took our time and swam in the caves, it was well worth it.

Other Comments:
People were great, friendly and nice, over all a great vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disappointing visit"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  ROGER  on Feb 14, 2015  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2015 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
232 people found this review helpful

Although rated at 4-star this resort comes across as a 3-star. It is tired and needs some TLC to restore it's 4-star rating. All the staff were pleasant and friendly and did the best they could with the neglected rooms and gardens. The resort is spread over a huge lot involving plenty of walking to and from the beach and restaurants. There are electric carts to ferry guests around but be prepared to wait for one to arrive. These carts are very quiet and can suddenly approach from behind with no warning.

Room Number:
212

Room Block:
38

Arrival:
Excellent transfer from Airport to Resort. Tour guide gave us the basics of a vacation in Cuba. Quick check-in and transport to room by noon. On the beach by 1.30pm !

Rooms:
Our room needed a paint job - and other guests reported the same. Some bathroom fixtures were damaged and not fixed during our 2 week stay. However there was always hot water for showers and the maid was excellent in cleaning the room and ensuring that our towels were always clean and fresh - even without asking.

Restaurants and Bars:
Usual Cuban selection at the cafeteria. Food quality was average but food tended to get cold quickly with the constant winds that we had all the time. Disappointed with the a-la-carte restaurants where the food did not truly reflect the designated country but was merely a Cuban version.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Excellent beach for going for long walks - 15 km if you want to.
We did not get involved in the beach entertainment so cannot comment. The activity pool was very active all day long and appeared to accommodate ages from 10 - 50. The quiet pool was not always so which was a shame, especially on those windy days when the beach was not friendly. Landscaping was OK but more varieties of tress and shrubs would be welcome.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on the Sugar Cane factory tour. Very informative and the "free" bottles of rum were appreciated. Different shows were available at the Theatre each evening, the Michal Jackson tribute was especially good, and various activities occurred in the lobby each evening. These latter events were very welcome during the occasional wet and windy evenings.

Other Comments:
We will not return. We have experienced other Cuban resorts which have lived-up to their 4-star rating, unfortunately this resort does not.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"best destination"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  roman  on Jul 12, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Jun, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
256 people found this review helpful

First of all, the first thing that got me to make up my mind about choosing this place as my destination spot is the fact that it has a beach front location which was just awesome coupled with other nice features. Check in wasn’t slow in fact it was pretty fast and before I could say jack I was already shown to my room, I was really happy about that because I was tired from all the travel and needed a warm bath and a nice comfortable bed which the rooms provided because the beds were very comfortable and clean, the sheets were clean the entire room had a nice smell. My room was far from the buffet restaurant but I didn’t mind because it had an ocean view and I wouldn’t give it up even for a nice buffet restaurant so I walked a bit but that was okay. The a la carte restaurants offered very tasty meals and the staff tried their best to serve you well. I feel like the buffet runs out of options or varieties during the weekend because of crowd so I think they should work it out so it’s okay. The beach is beautiful; I loved it and spent most of my time at the beach. When I have nothing doing, I just chill at the sports bar that has air condition by the way and just relax with other tourists while the day passes by. The location is perfect and the rooms are clean, that’s enough for me.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great time"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Cheryl  on Mar 30, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
438 people found this review helpful

We had a great time at this resort. It is very large so expect alot of walking but there are carts that travel back and forth all the time. The food was not great and definately do not go to the Steak house. Breakfast was good but long lines for the toasters (there were only 2). The beach was nice and so were the 2 pools. Our room was kept spotless and the fridge was stocked every day. ( a peso or 2 usually got you more in the fridge) Our maid Milagnos was excellent and even left us little notes each day. Public bathrooms on the resort were always clean and always stocked with toilet paper. We never had a problem with anything.

Room Number:
30317

Arrival:
Arrival was smooth and we wnet through rather quickly. We were given 3 bottles of various rum on check in which was nice to have in your room when you didn't want to go to the bar.

Rooms:
Very clean every day

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We booked 2 excursions and they were well worth the price for each one. I recommend the catamaran tour to see the dolphins. It was worth every penny.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not what we were sold, four star it is NOT"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  ingrid  on Mar 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
482 people found this review helpful

My husband and I and our friends just returned from this resort. We relied on our travel agent to recommend a destination as this was our first "hot" holiday. We were told it was a four star! I checked on wikipedia what constitutes this rating and this resort does not meet it. Our room was not ready when we got there, no toilet paper or stocked fridge. The mattresses were terrible on the beds; our friend’s room in another building at the other end of the resort (our request to be close to each other was lost!) actually had a broken box spring.
The waiting in line for everything got old really fast. If you’re not savvy to the beach rules and get out and place your towels, stake your claim early, you will lose out on any hope of shade. The buffet and a la carte meals all tasted the same, hot things were cold, and everything seemed runny, and palm oil permeated everything.
If you left the resort there were people with their hands out everywhere. The poverty of the country is overwhelming. The animals looked so scrawny and underfed compared to what we have come to expect. It is a culture shock to be sure. Tips are expected so don't run out of $1 cuc pesos. On our excursion to Havana I got traveler's flu and the tips to use the bathrooms, pay for toilet paper (most public washrooms have NO toilet paper) and get a taxi back to our resort ended up costing around $200.00 cuc pesos.
Our friend broke her foot the first day and although the hotel states it has a Dr. 9-5, there was only a nurse there. Our friend had to take a taxi to the hospital, and then travel to another location for a cast to be put on, and then back to the hospital. They were gone from 2 to 7:30. Luckily they had a really great multi-lingual driver who stayed with them the whole time and took great care of them. The medical care was great but the facilities very dated.
I was very very happy to return home. For me, the food was a big issue; I ended up eating pringle chips and drinking Tukola (like coke). The customer services people, who are supposed to help, were of no help! The excursions were pricey but enjoyable. What we thought we booked and what we ended up getting was not a four star experience.

Room Number:
28106

Room Block:
28000

Arrival:
15:30, slow check in, needed more clerks

Rooms:
clean and tidy, but old bedding and mattress was very poor quality

Restaurants and Bars:
lots of both, but overwhelmed with patrons, resort was packed

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
really nice, but really big

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
lots of line ups, but a wide variety

Other Comments:
if you appreciate our quality of food, variety and flavors, not the place to go

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very disappointed"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  shellie  on Mar 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
433 people found this review helpful

This was our second trip to veradero and we had a wonderful time before. we travelled with our 2 teenagers(17 & 15). we chose this resort thinking there would be more to entertain them. we were wrong. we knew this was a family resort however we didn't expect very small children ( babies and up). relaxation was out of the question as they were always crying or whiney. you had to be very careful around the pool as they were always underfoot. if you weren't at the pool very early you didn't get a chair. lots with no people but "saved" with towels. sometimes all day long. the resort was beautiful but it was a 10 min walk to the beach. this resort is not good for anyone with any kind of mobility issues. couldn't even get a lift from the buggys as they were not around often. we will return to Cuba but never ever to this resort. if we had never been to Cuba before and had a great experience we would in all honesty we would never go back to Cuba. this was the worst vacation we have had and we were not impressed at all with this resort.

Room Block:
20

Arrival:
very fast check in. That seems to be where the service ended

Rooms:
our room was clean and fairly well kept. maid was there everyday. however one day we asked for more toilet paper and was told they didn't have any.

Restaurants and Bars:
the buffet sucked as did the steakhouse ala carte food was way undercooked. italian was ok. no service that the bars. if you wanted drinks you _Had__ to get them yourself we didn't expect to be waited on hand and foot but we did expect some kind of service and recieved none.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach was nice but a very long walk from our room, pools were ok but no chairs that weren't saved by people who were not even at the pools. very inconsiderate people who did that.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
very little entainment and no activities for teenagers to partipate in it seem like it only catered to families with small childern.

Other Comments:
If you want an enjoyable, relaxing vacation do not go to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bed Bugs - But overall great stay otherwise"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Leanne  on Mar 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
509 people found this review helpful

We went for our university reading week. I had never been to Cuba so it was a wonderful experience.

However, though others comments are arguing that people are getting bed bugs mixed up with sand fleas are very wrong. Thats what I though my bites were the first couple days, but it didnt make sense cause I had not been to the beach yet... odd but the other girls I met up with there had them too, exactly the same bites and they said they were sand fleas so I didnt get nervous about them. Than every morning I had more, and they itch so bad. I am very sensative and these are small little bites tha bleed very easily if scratched. I saw 1 mosquito the intire week. I knew the bites were odd but just decided it was some odd bug from cuba. I did not leave my bed for a whole two evenings as I was sun sick and tired... so I was not outside to get any bites either and got tons those nights. now it has been exactly a week since we arrived home and I am covered! My boyfriends legs are covered and his arms and shoulders. My side, my back it is very horrible.

We saw another girls legs that were covered in the same looking bites in the lobby and than one in the airport home, I just assumed this was a sandflea problem. But trust me!!! these are bed bugs, there is no dout about it. I am mad that I spend money to be infested in my house, my parents and now my boyfriends with these pests. This is a horrible result of a overall wonderful relaxing vacation.... I have to go scratch all my bites.... good luck.

Room Number:
3105

Room Block:
31

Arrival:
feb 19th sunday evening

Rooms:
Good, spatious, big comfy king size bed, great pillows. Buttttt bed bugs.

there were no towels at first, the maid did not sweep up the floor untill I started to do it myself haha there was no cord for phone, or the tv. and no lamp shade at first untill the 3rd day something go fixed daily it seemed, i think they do this for more oppurtunities for tips, cant blame them.

Restaurants and Bars:
food was usually pretty gross, but other foods were amazing. The orange joice was fresh and so yummy

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach was beautiful but crowded. , the pools were wonderful, and the grounds were beautiful also.

Other Comments:
Dont let the bed bugs Bite!!!! cause they will

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube