Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.7 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 3, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 21 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 30, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 15 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 2, 2012

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.2 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 5, 2011

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)  

Autopista Sur Km 19Ĺ, Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Mtzas, Cuba

"Great time"
Posted by: Cheryl on Mar 30, 2012
see all reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews
Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Pictures and Information
Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Varadero Cuba

#4
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.4

Based on 50 reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Information


The new Memories Varadero Beach Resort offers you the value of a 5-star resort for the price of a four-star. Features like the longest water slide of Varadero and its closeness to La Habana make this the perfect place for those seeking action and adventure.



We invite you to create and share unforgettable memories that will last a lifetime with us!

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.4 of 5 50 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  25
Average
  10
Poor
  5
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Leisure (45)
Party (2)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (16)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (2)
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (18)
Solo
1 - 10 of 50

"Great time"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cheryl  on Mar 30, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
159 people found this review helpful

We had a great time at this resort. It is very large so expect alot of walking but there are carts that travel back and forth all the time. The food was not great and definately do not go to the Steak house. Breakfast was good but long lines for the toasters (there were only 2). The beach was nice and so were the 2 pools. Our room was kept spotless and the fridge was stocked every day. ( a peso or 2 usually got you more in the fridge) Our maid Milagnos was excellent and even left us little notes each day. Public bathrooms on the resort were always clean and always stocked with toilet paper. We never had a problem with anything.

Room Number:
30317

Arrival:
Arrival was smooth and we wnet through rather quickly. We were given 3 bottles of various rum on check in which was nice to have in your room when you didn't want to go to the bar.

Rooms:
Very clean every day

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We booked 2 excursions and they were well worth the price for each one. I recommend the catamaran tour to see the dolphins. It was worth every penny.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not what we were sold, four star it is NOT"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  ingrid  on Mar 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
194 people found this review helpful

My husband and I and our friends just returned from this resort. We relied on our travel agent to recommend a destination as this was our first "hot" holiday. We were told it was a four star! I checked on wikipedia what constitutes this rating and this resort does not meet it. Our room was not ready when we got there, no toilet paper or stocked fridge. The mattresses were terrible on the beds; our friendís room in another building at the other end of the resort (our request to be close to each other was lost!) actually had a broken box spring.
The waiting in line for everything got old really fast. If youíre not savvy to the beach rules and get out and place your towels, stake your claim early, you will lose out on any hope of shade. The buffet and a la carte meals all tasted the same, hot things were cold, and everything seemed runny, and palm oil permeated everything.
If you left the resort there were people with their hands out everywhere. The poverty of the country is overwhelming. The animals looked so scrawny and underfed compared to what we have come to expect. It is a culture shock to be sure. Tips are expected so don't run out of $1 cuc pesos. On our excursion to Havana I got traveler's flu and the tips to use the bathrooms, pay for toilet paper (most public washrooms have NO toilet paper) and get a taxi back to our resort ended up costing around $200.00 cuc pesos.
Our friend broke her foot the first day and although the hotel states it has a Dr. 9-5, there was only a nurse there. Our friend had to take a taxi to the hospital, and then travel to another location for a cast to be put on, and then back to the hospital. They were gone from 2 to 7:30. Luckily they had a really great multi-lingual driver who stayed with them the whole time and took great care of them. The medical care was great but the facilities very dated.
I was very very happy to return home. For me, the food was a big issue; I ended up eating pringle chips and drinking Tukola (like coke). The customer services people, who are supposed to help, were of no help! The excursions were pricey but enjoyable. What we thought we booked and what we ended up getting was not a four star experience.

Room Number:
28106

Room Block:
28000

Arrival:
15:30, slow check in, needed more clerks

Rooms:
clean and tidy, but old bedding and mattress was very poor quality

Restaurants and Bars:
lots of both, but overwhelmed with patrons, resort was packed

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
really nice, but really big

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
lots of line ups, but a wide variety

Other Comments:
if you appreciate our quality of food, variety and flavors, not the place to go

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very disappointed"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  shellie  on Mar 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
162 people found this review helpful

This was our second trip to veradero and we had a wonderful time before. we travelled with our 2 teenagers(17 & 15). we chose this resort thinking there would be more to entertain them. we were wrong. we knew this was a family resort however we didn't expect very small children ( babies and up). relaxation was out of the question as they were always crying or whiney. you had to be very careful around the pool as they were always underfoot. if you weren't at the pool very early you didn't get a chair. lots with no people but "saved" with towels. sometimes all day long. the resort was beautiful but it was a 10 min walk to the beach. this resort is not good for anyone with any kind of mobility issues. couldn't even get a lift from the buggys as they were not around often. we will return to Cuba but never ever to this resort. if we had never been to Cuba before and had a great experience we would in all honesty we would never go back to Cuba. this was the worst vacation we have had and we were not impressed at all with this resort.

Room Block:
20

Arrival:
very fast check in. That seems to be where the service ended

Rooms:
our room was clean and fairly well kept. maid was there everyday. however one day we asked for more toilet paper and was told they didn't have any.

Restaurants and Bars:
the buffet sucked as did the steakhouse ala carte food was way undercooked. italian was ok. no service that the bars. if you wanted drinks you _Had__ to get them yourself we didn't expect to be waited on hand and foot but we did expect some kind of service and recieved none.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach was nice but a very long walk from our room, pools were ok but no chairs that weren't saved by people who were not even at the pools. very inconsiderate people who did that.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
very little entainment and no activities for teenagers to partipate in it seem like it only catered to families with small childern.

Other Comments:
If you want an enjoyable, relaxing vacation do not go to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bed Bugs - But overall great stay otherwise"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Leanne  on Mar 6, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
228 people found this review helpful

We went for our university reading week. I had never been to Cuba so it was a wonderful experience.

However, though others comments are arguing that people are getting bed bugs mixed up with sand fleas are very wrong. Thats what I though my bites were the first couple days, but it didnt make sense cause I had not been to the beach yet... odd but the other girls I met up with there had them too, exactly the same bites and they said they were sand fleas so I didnt get nervous about them. Than every morning I had more, and they itch so bad. I am very sensative and these are small little bites tha bleed very easily if scratched. I saw 1 mosquito the intire week. I knew the bites were odd but just decided it was some odd bug from cuba. I did not leave my bed for a whole two evenings as I was sun sick and tired... so I was not outside to get any bites either and got tons those nights. now it has been exactly a week since we arrived home and I am covered! My boyfriends legs are covered and his arms and shoulders. My side, my back it is very horrible.

We saw another girls legs that were covered in the same looking bites in the lobby and than one in the airport home, I just assumed this was a sandflea problem. But trust me!!! these are bed bugs, there is no dout about it. I am mad that I spend money to be infested in my house, my parents and now my boyfriends with these pests. This is a horrible result of a overall wonderful relaxing vacation.... I have to go scratch all my bites.... good luck.

Room Number:
3105

Room Block:
31

Arrival:
feb 19th sunday evening

Rooms:
Good, spatious, big comfy king size bed, great pillows. Buttttt bed bugs.

there were no towels at first, the maid did not sweep up the floor untill I started to do it myself haha there was no cord for phone, or the tv. and no lamp shade at first untill the 3rd day something go fixed daily it seemed, i think they do this for more oppurtunities for tips, cant blame them.

Restaurants and Bars:
food was usually pretty gross, but other foods were amazing. The orange joice was fresh and so yummy

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach was beautiful but crowded. , the pools were wonderful, and the grounds were beautiful also.

Other Comments:
Dont let the bed bugs Bite!!!! cause they will

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Serinas La Solinas was a great vacation"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alan  on Mar 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
211 people found this review helpful

We enjoyed a great time here in Cuba. The resort is large but very well kept, the rooms are clean, the staff is friendly, the food is good and the beach/pools beautiful. If I had to have any concerns it would be that the resort is very large and requires a great deal of walking which was fine for me but others may be concerned. Most of the clients were great however I could have done without the arrogant French Canadians who seemed to think they had a lease on the place. The buffet had plenty of choices and as I am somewhat picky in my eating I had LOTS to chose from. The entertainment on the resort was okay but repetitive. The aqua ballet was by far the best. Nolitours, and Veronique in particular, was excellent to help us plan a great time. Beware of the lady in the money exchange as she tends to rip you off a peso or two each transaction and does not give receipts.

Room Number:
35

Room Block:
210

Arrival:
arrival was quick and efficient. We were met at the Air Port by an air conditioned coach, taken to the resort, checked in quickly and transported to our room.

Rooms:
Rooms were clean and comfortable. Ours could have used an update in the painting but no complaints. Bathtub is about 2 feet above the floor so people with mobility issues would be uncomfortable getting in and out of the tub. Linens were very clean and tidy

Restaurants and Bars:
What more could we possibly need?? Too many pina colodas, mojitoes, miami vices and beer--oh sorry that was my choice, not the resorts!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
excellent

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Resort had better food than last year"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gerry  on Jan 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
243 people found this review helpful

Mostly an exceptional time, food was decent. Beach was good, pools were clean etc etc. Place was empty compared to last year! My wife was the first to experience some nasty bites all up her legs one morning at breakfast. Maybe 35 each side. I didn't have more than 3 or so on each leg and the locals said they were mosquitos. I thought this was a little odd because I'm somewhat allergic to them and usually bitten way more than people around me. After looking over at other guests legs noticing many bites and were also saying they had bites, one person in front of me must have had a hundred on one leg! After arriving home my legs, arms etc began to itch unbelievably, slept about two hours after scratching even with anti itch cream on. Found this is commom to have the bites appear days after the bite. Google bite pics and these are exactly what this is. Praying they didn't travel home with us!

Today my wife told me another lady she spoke to had them all up her legs and groin area. After I founds this I researched bed bugs and their bite pictures I'm convinced this is the problem. Killed two mosquitoes in the bathroom over the week, thats it. You notice when skitters are biting and usually kill em before they get away. These bites began to itch days after the fact and never saw anything, which is not right. too many people with a ridiculous number of bites.

Room Number:
36117

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would love to go again."

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  heather  on Dec 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
219 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed for a week things going on all the time danceing on the beach at the pool were took the tour bus in to Varadero went to markets live shows at night it was great for sure we would go again rooms were clean staff was amazing and always a taxi around lol it was the best .

Room Number:
30216

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cave bar=so fun"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sandra  on Nov 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Party | With Group
210 people found this review helpful

I loved this resort, the waterslide and swim up cave bar was really fun. The people were nice, food was moderate. I liked the buffet style. Resort was a little too big, but it was really fun. Beach was nice too

Room Block:
26

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrific family vacation."

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  C  on Sep 15, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
246 people found this review helpful

Anyone who is considering booking this resort and are worried about the poor reviews, fear not! We also had reservations about booking this resort but we followed our travel agent's advice. She had stayed at this resort and recommended it because it is "kid" friendly. Our family of 7, (4 adults, 3 children) had a fabulous time from sept. 3/11 to sept. 10/11. The weather was fantastic and the ocean was like bath water. We booked through nolitours and flew canjet. Because of the tailwinds our flight to cuba was less than 3 hours and our return flight to toronto was also under 3 hours. I wouldn't have any hesitation in recommending this resort to family and friends. Be prepared to do some walking as it is a huge resort. Go and enjoy the people, the weather and the fantastic beach.

Room Block:
32000

Arrival:
OUR ARRIVAL WAS SPEEDY. WE WERE MET WITH NON ALCOHOLIC DRINKS AND SANDWICHES. THE GIRL THAT CHECKED US IN WAS FRIENDLY AND SPOKE SURPRISINGLY GOOD ENGLISH. WE FOUND THE STAFF AT THE FRONT DESK TO BE VERY FRIENDLY AND ABLE TO SPEAK VERY GOOD ENGLISH AS WELL. HAVING BOOKED THROUGH NOLITOURS, WE RECEIVED A FREE BOTTLE OF RUM UPON CHECK IN. BONUS!!! OUR BAGS WERE LOADED ON A TRANSPORTATION CART AND WE WERE TAKEN TO OUR ROOMS WITHIN ONE HALF HOUR OF OUR ARRIVAL.

Rooms:
OUR ROOM WAS CLEAN AND WELL MAINTAINED. CONTRARY TO SOME REPORTS, THERE WAS NO MUSTY SMELL OR MOLD IN OUR ROOM. REMEMBER TO TAKE A ROOM DEODORIZER WITH YOU AND YOU WON'T HAVE ANY PROBLEM. THERE ALSO WAS NO PROBLEM WITH THE LACK OF TOILET PAPER. THE BATHROOM WAS ALWAYS WELL STOCKED. YOU MIGHT WANT TO CONSIDER TAKING FACIAL TISSUE AS THEY DO NOT SUPPLY THAT IN THE WASHROOMS. ALSO, TAKE FACECLOTHS AS THEY DON'T SUPPLY THOSE EITHER. WE STAYED ON THE 3RD FLOOR OF THE 32000 BLOCK. THE ONE DOWNFALL IS THERE IS NO ELEVATOR SO YOU HAVE TO WALK UP 3 FLIGHTS OF STAIRS.

Restaurants and Bars:
THE BUFFET WAS GOOD WITH A WIDE CHOICE OF FOOD. YOU DO NOT NEED TO GO HUNGRY. ONE NIGHT THEY HAD 2 PIGS FULLY COOKED AND ANOTHER NIGHT ROASTED TURKEYS. THEY WERE AWESOME! PASTA WAS AVAILABLE EVERY NIGHT AS WELL. YOU COULD HAVE EGGS, OMELETTES, BACON COOKED FOR YOU IN THE MORNING WHILE YOU WAITED. OUR GRANDAUGHTERS ARE PICKY EATERS AND THEY HAD NO PROBLEM AT ALL. I WAS REALLY SURPRISED. THERE ARE BIRDS IN THIS OPEN AREA BUT THEY HAVE A MAN WHO HAS A TRAINED HAWK THAT CHASES THE LARGER BLACK BIRDS AWAY. THERE ARE FLIES AS IT IS AN OPEN AREA. SIT BENEATH THE CEILING FANS AND YOU WON'T HAVE A PROBLEM. THE LOBBY BAR WAS GREAT. GOOD CAPPUCINO. MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS THE SMOKING BUT YOU HAVE TO ACCEPT THAT THERE ARE NO "NO SMOKING" LAWS IN CUBA. THE SWIM UP BARS IN BOTH THE ACTIVITY POOL AND THE QUIET POOL WERE REALLY GOOD. BORIS AT THE QUIET BAR WAS "THE MAN". GREAT PERSONALITY, FRIENDLY AND HE TOOK GOOD CARE OF US, EVEN OUR LITTLE GRANDAUGHTERS WITH THEIR JUICE DRINKS. OUR FAVOURITE ALA CARTE WAS THE JAPANESE. WE PAID EXTRA FOR A LOBSTER DINNER AT THE CUBAN RESTAURANT. IT WAS GREAT. THE ITALIAN AND THE STEAK HOUSE WERE JUST SO-SO. THE FOOD IS KIND OF BLAND SO A GOOD IDEA IS TO PACK A FEW SPICES AND TAKE THEM WITH YOU.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
THE BEACH IS REALLY NICE. THE OCEAN AT THIS TIME OF YEAR IS LIKE BATH WATER AND MOST DAYS VERY CLEAR. THE GUESTS STAYING AT THE RESORT COULD DO A BETTER JOB OF PICKING UP AFTER THEMSELVES I.E. PLASTIC CUPS, CIGARETTE BUTTS, ETC. I DON'T BLAME THE RESORT OR THE STAFF FOR THIS, I BLAME THE INCONSIDERATE GUESTS. YOU WOULDN'T DO THIS IN YOUR OWN BACKYARD!!! THE POOLS ARE VERY NICE AND THEY WERE REALLY, REALLY WARM. MUCH DIFFERENT THAN IN FEBRUARY. THE GROUNDS ARE GORGEOUS AND VERY WELL MAINTAINED. THE RESORT IS HUGE SO YOU DO HAVE SOME TIME TO ADMIRE THE VEGETATION WHILE YOU ARE WALKING AROUND.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
YOU HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY OF TAKING TOURS TO HAVANA, SWIM WITH THE DOLPHINS, JEEP TOURS, HORSEBACK RIDING, ETC. WE DID NOT TAKE PART IN THESE AS WE HAD 3 SMALL CHILDREN WITH US. WE DID GO OUT ON THE PADDLE BOATS AND MY GRANDAUGHTERS WERE VERY EXCITED WHEN THEIR FATHER DOVE AND GOT THEM 2 STAR FISH.

Other Comments:
REMEMBER THAT YOU ARE IN A TROPICAL CLIMATE. THERE ARE MOSQUITOES SO TAKE SPRAY (ALTHOUGH I THINK THEY LIKE IT). IF YOU CANNOT PUT UP WITH A FEW INCONVENIENCES STAY HOME! ALL IN ALL IT WAS A GREAT RESORT ENJOYED BY ALL MEMBERS OF OUR FAMILY.

GREAT RESORT, GREAT BEACH, GREAT TRIP

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Big Rip off!!"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mary  on Sep 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
234 people found this review helpful

This resort is terrible. No service of any kind. No towels, no toilet paper, Dirty bed sheets, no good drinks or food. No real entertainment. The quality of service (if any at all, was ZERO. Our vacation was hindered by a shortage of towels, clean bed sheets etc, etc., the list goes on...

Room Block:
26

Arrival:
September 1

Rooms:
Dirty, filthy, bath tub infested with mildew, shower curtain ripped. badly design bathroom makes it difficult to even wash your hands without turning the bathroom into a pool. Dirty, filthy bed sheets. Also beware of Bed Bugs!!!!

Restaurants and Bars:
Below average food. no hygiene here either. No food left if you go late.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Actually nice. Big resort so be careful if you want to go there with kids or elderly parents, there is a lot of walking and golf carts were parked in the lot while many people were waiting for them to arrive.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Nothing really interested us that much.

Other Comments:
the maid told us that the laundry was out of order, and that's why we had no clean sheets or towels. REALLY????? We were there for a whole week, and they couldn't fix it all that time?? Seriously???? Unacceptable. also see reviews on tripadviser.com; they are all true, a they were our experience too.

In brief: WE WERE RIPPED OFF!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube