Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.7 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 3, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 21 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 30, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 15 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 2, 2012

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.2 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 5, 2011

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)  

Autopista Sur Km 19, Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Mtzas, Cuba

"best destination"
Posted by: roman on Jul 12, 2014
see all reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews
Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Pictures and Information
Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Varadero Cuba

#4
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.4

Based on 51 reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Information


The new Memories Varadero Beach Resort offers you the value of a 5-star resort for the price of a four-star. Features like the longest water slide of Varadero and its closeness to La Habana make this the perfect place for those seeking action and adventure.



We invite you to create and share unforgettable memories that will last a lifetime with us!

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.4 of 5 51 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  26
Average
  10
Poor
  5
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Leisure (46)
Party (2)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (16)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (2)
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (18)
Solo
1 - 10 of 51

"windy,cool but enjoyable"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. dave doherty  on Dec 30, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 1997
523 people found this review helpful

the overall stay was enjoyable, as always we were in the hands of mother nature whom for some reason bore strong cool winds that prevented the family from frolicing in either the ocean or the pools the first 3 days. the rooms were comfortable clean and decorated beyond belief by the courteous house keepers. their artistic talents with the towels was a treat. the grounds were continously kept clean and unobscured of debris. check in was professional, organized, simple and accommodating, as we required our 2 rooms closer than the initail setup. food overall was good but much too much grease if it is not part of your regular diet. a-la-cartes were interesting with credit to the cuban chefs attempts to copy the original nationality (italian, french etc....) if, you are in the search for a vacation away from crowds not the place to visit room for 2300 people. when the sun was out great beach to relax and enjoy the fun. there are 2 pools one an active with water slides, volleyball, bars and restaurant the other a quite lay around, read a book, or bring the young children to and enjoy the day. did not leave the resort but was told that the jeep safari was worth the expense. great family spot would do it again but would contact mother nature first and book warmer weather.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Group of 8, All Enjoyed the Trip"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  adamrides  on Jan 3, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
132 people found this review helpful

Realizing that experiences at all-inclusives are entirely subjective and can be affected by zillions of factors, here are my thoughts. I got back two hours ago, spent Dec. 26 - Jan. 2 inclusive there with a group of eight (five adults, three teenagers). This was my fourth stay at an all-inclusive, second in Varadero.

- If you book Nolitours, check-in is private and a breeze.
- The resort is far away from town. You cannot walk there. You will need to take a bus or taxi. I didn't expect this going there (but I suppose I could have figured that out by looking at a map!).
- I expected the worst when it came to food (my last experience sucked) but it actually turned out to be pretty good. I don't eat pork but still found plenty of options. Problems: next to impossible to get a la carte bookings (Cuban was surprisingly good, Italian excellent) and the "Nolitours-only" dinners were a gong show (huge crowds, bad food),
- We did the Nolitours Havana excursion and the catamaran excursion. Both were excellent. If booking the catamaran excursion be prepared for lots of drinking in the sun on a boat, followed by a beach visit. Lots of fun. But not great for kids.
- The resort is huge. It's the biggest in Varadero. As a result, be prepared to walk. A lot.
- I like to run, and this was not an option at the gym (eliptical and stair equipment only). All the joggers ran around the outskirts of the resort, dodging pedestrians. Not the best arrangement.
- Staff was always nice and friendly. Entertainment activities do NOT vary too much though.
- I'm generally not fan of shows at resorts but the one they put on with gymnasts and such was simply superb IMO.
- Disco is nonexistent. You'll want to head offsite for late-night entertainment.
- Kids LOVED the waterslide.

Anyway, not the most in-depth review but I suppose I just wanted to say it was a good time, the food was decent and everyone had fun. And isn't that what you generally want in a vacation? :)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Place"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Donald Macpherson  on Jan 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 1998
417 people found this review helpful

I Stayed there in October and i had one of the best vactions there.I will be booking my vaction in Feb just after my birthday for and nother week cant wait loved it.Staff great, place clean and i found the food ok. Just tip and you will be treated like a king.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I want to go back!"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tola  on Feb 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
121 people found this review helpful

Although this was our first time in Cuba, it has certainly been a memorable one... and I would definitely go back to this resort.

Your Arrival:
Feb 2010--- check in was smooth... got our room right away although it clearly states check in time is at 3 (this was around noon)

Rooms:
Nice spacious rooms and cleaned daily

Restaurants and Bars:
All was good.... you are staying at an all inclusive so if you go there with high expectations, you may be disappointed but we thought it was all wonderful... we were not the only guests there

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
All was beautifully manicured and very well tended. Loved the beach

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did three excursions... all of which were excellent and learning experiences

Other Comments:
Cuba is a beautiful country... the people are so friendly. It may be a poor country but it is educated. I definitely want to go back!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful Resort"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mary Lou  on Feb 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
124 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
We arrived late in the evening. They escorted us to a common area where they gave us a complimentary arrival drink and a bottle of rum. They gave us our braclets, room numbers and then we were shuttled to our room. The young bell boy was very friendly and made sure we were comfortable before he left.

Rooms:
Rooms are very clean & spacious. The only downfall is the showers dont work properly. You have to be careful otherwise you will have a flood in your bathroom. There are also signs of the problem with the showere on the walls. If this isnt looked after soon the rooms will be destroyed in no time.
Other then that you have everything you will need in your room. Including an iron, ironing board, an umbrella and a blow dryer.

Restaurants and Bars:
People in these places are extremely friendly and will go out of their to make sure that your stay is pleasant. As far as food goes there is a vast variety of food. People that complain that there wasnt enough food or that the food is horrible are just looking for something to complain about. I am a very picky eater and I never went hungry.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very clean. The grounds people do an excellent job of maintaining these areas. It is not their fault when you get the ruid, drunken tourist that have no respect and litter all over the place.

Other Comments:
We are heading back on March 22nd of this year and we will be staying at the La Salina Sirenis. We cant wait!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sirenas La Salina Feb-Mar 2010"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Doc  on Mar 7, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
143 people found this review helpful

I read all the reports, dismissing the bad as recommended by several people and went with an open mind, knowing the resort was large. We were to be there for two weeks. Well it was so bad, we literally had to move. Ran out of red wine, then white wine, Amaratto was missing when we arrived (will be there tomorrow) never did arrive! Vodka ran out, grenadine ran out so your red banama mum's were now blue.

Your Arrival:
Staff did not have any personal info on arriving guests. Had to fill in name, address etc before we got checked in. They were friendly however.

Rooms:
Large and neat, well maintained although the toilets required several flushes to operate properly. There were some unsightly discoveries in the public washrooms when the previous occupant failed to be observant.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food in the buffet was cool as the head chef who sat at our table to explane, "I don't have enough electricity to keep all my tables hot"! Three of the places for a-la-carts were outside but the chairs were splattered with bird droppings and they did not seem to understand why we were repelled. The mexican and french a-la-carts were very very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was very nice with lots of palpalas to hide under. The carts which circled the resort to pick up people were hit and miss. My wife put her hand on the rail to help herself aboard at one point, the driver which had just let people off saw her but sped away anyway.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We booked the Havana day trip but by the time the day arrived my wife was not well due to the stress of the food problems and 20 to 30 bug bites. We lost have our approx 140 CUC deposit.

Other Comments:
Ther were a lot of people on the resort with terrible masses of bites on their legs. My wife never was affected but was attacked at Salinas. My several repellents failed to deter whatever was biting us from our necks to our ankles. And not one did I see. Special thanks to our Air Canada rep we were able to exit this resort for a far superior one which we had to pay for but in a few days our bites started to heal and no new ones appeared. So many people we talked to were so discouraged and would never return to this place or any other. I feel sorry for writing this review but it had to be said. We are fairly easy going people who roll with some punches but enough is enough.
We believe this resort is too large for the number of staff. They are overworked to the point that they don't seem to care what kind of impression they put forward.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I have been to better resorts."

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mary  on Mar 8, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
153 people found this review helpful

I travel yearly and try not to go to the same place more then once, however this was my second time to Varadero and will definitely be my last. Cuba beaches are beautiful and the people are friendly, however, this was the first resort that I have been to where tips were asked for.

Your Arrival:
Arrival was fine, checked in was quick. We were located in building 33, third floor. Only complaint is when we were dropped off by the bellboy he didn't bring up our luggages (I guess we didn't give enough of a tip). Prior to arriving we asked for a crib as we were traveling with a small child, instead of a crib we were given a playpen, next next we went to the front desk to see if we could get a mattress for the playpen and were told they didn't have any, we gave her $10.00 and all of a sudden a mattress appeared.

Rooms:
Standard rooms nothing special. WORD OF CAUTION!!! to get into the tub you have a wooden type bench to step on......scary to get out of the tub when you are wet. One of our parties actually fell and thankfully didn't hurt himself.

Restaurants and Bars:
Unlike other resorts I have stayed at this was the first resort where you sat yourself at the buffet restaurants and this did pose problems with us as we were a large group and it was difficult to fine a table large enough for all of us. The first day we arrive we located a table that was not set, we were trying to get a waitress to set it and we ignored as we tried to get them to set the table, after 10 minutes we were rudely told that the section was closed and we couldn't sit there when we asked for another table we were told we have to find one, we then proceeded to put tables together (without any help for the staff). Other issues, we would ask for drinks and the waitress/waiter would forget; another time we went to ask a waitress for a drink and were rudely told that she wasn't our waitress. I also found that you never had the same wait staff as I have had at others resort (so no relation is formed). If you are a tea drinker the water at the buffet is never hot and it takes forever for the tea to steep. A la cartes were okay, disappointed that the Italian and Mexican restaurants did not have any coffee. Traveling with Nolitours you get a BBQ dinner, don't bother going nothing speacial, it is precooked meat thrown back on the BBQ (disappointing).

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Well maintained.

Other Comments:
Overall, I don't think I would recommend this resort. Don't get me wrong,there wasn't anything majorly wrong with this resort, I am basing my decision on other resorts that I have been to and I am looking at the overall experience and I have had better.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sirenis La Salina is the prefect example of a very low end 4 star resort."

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brian  on Mar 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
133 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
My wife and I have now checked into 10 different resort's in Cuba and the DR. Checking into Sirenis would be about average. If I include the job that the Bellboys did that would fall to a 2 out of 10. They put our bags on their shuttle, then went back to the Lobby to have a talk with the other Bagboys.

Rooms:
The room was a good size. The maid did a good job everyday making up the bed,etc. One problem was that she took it upon herself to use some of my wife's things to dress up the towels on the bed. We let that go as we had decided by that time to move to a different resort.

Restaurants and Bars:
The LA Carte Restaurants are excellent. They are first class.

I'm sorry to say that the Buffet leaves a lot to be desired.If you were not there when they put the food into the serving trays. You had cold food. It is by far the poorest restaurant I have encounter on all my trips. The coffee is really not fit to drink.I just can't believe how bad it is.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We are beach people and don't use the pools, so will not comment on them.

If a resort in Cuba has a beach, you know its good.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on a bus tour of Havana. It cost #81.00 per person. It was worth all of that and more. Don't pass it up.

Other Comments:


1. Very poor lighting. My first night I fell and skinned my knee.I just could not see the step.
2. Bird droppings are everywhere. Tables, chairs, you name it its covered with crap.
3. For those people who think the grounds are well looked after, well all I can say is, don't say to much until you go to a few more resorts.
4. I found most of the staff were not very friendly It's easy to see why. They are just over worked. It's clear that they are very short staffed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"AWFUL! Will never go back."

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer  on Mar 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
131 people found this review helpful

I just left the resort La Salina in Varadero and am completely appalled. My family had spent nearly $80,000 for a lot of us to attend my brother's wedding on the resort only to have it ruined by teenagers.
There apparently was a grad trip staying at the resort through S-Trip. These were Canadian students and I am disgusted with their behaviour and ashamed to say they represented our Youth. These kids banged and kicked on our room doors at all hours in the night, woke and scared my baby twice, threw food and beer at our deck doors of multiple rooms, picked fights with other guests, including some of our party. I personally was harassed in the buffet line at a lunch BBQ, the young man was touching and taking food off my plate and then verbally assaulted my mom and I, it took two other men to help me and then after quite some time security finally removed him, only for him to find us later in the kiddie pool!
Each time we called for security to assist us it took multiple calls. We complained along with many other guests in the resort and a few kids got sent home. The service from the staff was awful and completely unhelpful when trying to get any help to resolve the issue.
This was supposed to be FAMILY vacation on a FAMILY resort. This was my parents 4th trip to Cuba and their second to your resort, we are repeat visitors and not one of will ever return to your resort as a result of this experience.
My holiday was ruined, and it is something that can never be given back, this was my daughter's first big trip and it was frightful for her at night.
Your business needs to decide if it will cater to families or the party crowd, it can not cater to both.
I do hope your organization figures this out before it ruins any more visitors holiday.

Your Arrival:
Arrival was chaotic. After check in we sat and waited for a trolly, we have my grandmother who uses a walker and a three year old. When one finally did arrive, another guest who arrived long after we had been waiting gave the drive a tip before we even had a chance to get loaded and took it so there we were waiting again.

Rooms:
They originally had us on the third floor in which my grandmother couldn't do, so they moved us to the main floor and "forgot" to move the cot for my daughter down so she had no bed the first night (the other two were singles) the bathroom had mold and wall rot, you had to use a large wooden stool to get into the bathtub which is concerning for disabled visitors. The laundry apparently broke so we didn't have clean towels for a couple days and were give bath mats to use instead.

The room service was excellent, had no problems with our room maid.

Restaurants and Bars:
AWFUL!

The food was horrendous! Nearly everyone in our group got violently ill all on the same night. They continuously ran out of food, wine, ketchup.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was always clean and the pools were very nice.

The grounds are still very young and need some time to grow, but will be very pretty once the plants mature.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
the tours were great and the bus service was fantastic.

The trolly on the resort was a joke. It was 40mins late picking up the bride for the wedding!!! Which we had booked for specific time

Other Comments:
The location of the wedding looks nothing like the photos they show, those are photoshop'd.

I will never return to this resort nor will I ever suggest anyone try it.

Awful experience.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"fairly good"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bradley  on Mar 13, 2010  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
129 people found this review helpful


Rooms:
not too bad... had bug bites but that was due to construction next door.Nothing fancybut overall good...maid service was nice...

Restaurants and Bars:
restrurants were nice... bars the drinks were good BUT some bartenders were a bit over friendly with the females.....

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach was great....pools were good as well.....overall a clean resort.... only issue... it was very big and a lot of walking can be exspected.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
they are what they are....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube