Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)  

Autopista Sur Km 19Ĺ, Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Mtzas, Cuba

"Bad Memories"
Posted by: T  on Feb 5, 2017
see all reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews
Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Pictures and Information
Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Varadero Cuba

#4
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.3

Based on 56 reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Information


The new Memories Varadero Beach Resort offers you the value of a 5-star resort for the price of a four-star. Features like the longest water slide of Varadero and its closeness to La Habana make this the perfect place for those seeking action and adventure.



We invite you to create and share unforgettable memories that will last a lifetime with us!

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.3 of 5 56 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  27
Average
  12
Poor
  6
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Leisure (51)
Party (2)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (17)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (21)
Solo
1 - 10 of 56

"Too much $$ for what you get. Not worth the value"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Eva  on Jul 11, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
247 people found this review helpful

The service was very poor. Starting from reception right to the bartenders. No variety of food at the buffet. They basically served the same food every day. A La Carte restaurants were only open certain days of the week. Only allowed to book 2 A La Carte. The drinks were awlful. The pool bar always ran out before it's closing time. Entertainment Staff almost non existent. If you just looking to lie on the beach and have the odd drink and meal then this is fine for you but if you are planning to eat, drink and be entertain then look for another resort.

Rooms:
Could use queen beds instead of double beds.

Restaurants and Bars:
Terrible. No varity of food or drinks. Always waiting for clean plates unless you are the first one at the buffet. Once the food or drinks run out they do not replish them. A La carte restaurants are only open certain days of the week.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach and grounds was beautifull. As for the pools they were dirty

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Almost non existent.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Resort had better food than last year"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Gerry  on Jan 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
390 people found this review helpful

Mostly an exceptional time, food was decent. Beach was good, pools were clean etc etc. Place was empty compared to last year! My wife was the first to experience some nasty bites all up her legs one morning at breakfast. Maybe 35 each side. I didn't have more than 3 or so on each leg and the locals said they were mosquitos. I thought this was a little odd because I'm somewhat allergic to them and usually bitten way more than people around me. After looking over at other guests legs noticing many bites and were also saying they had bites, one person in front of me must have had a hundred on one leg! After arriving home my legs, arms etc began to itch unbelievably, slept about two hours after scratching even with anti itch cream on. Found this is commom to have the bites appear days after the bite. Google bite pics and these are exactly what this is. Praying they didn't travel home with us!

Today my wife told me another lady she spoke to had them all up her legs and groin area. After I founds this I researched bed bugs and their bite pictures I'm convinced this is the problem. Killed two mosquitoes in the bathroom over the week, thats it. You notice when skitters are biting and usually kill em before they get away. These bites began to itch days after the fact and never saw anything, which is not right. too many people with a ridiculous number of bites.

Room Number:
36117

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not what we were sold, four star it is NOT"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  ingrid  on Mar 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
437 people found this review helpful

My husband and I and our friends just returned from this resort. We relied on our travel agent to recommend a destination as this was our first "hot" holiday. We were told it was a four star! I checked on wikipedia what constitutes this rating and this resort does not meet it. Our room was not ready when we got there, no toilet paper or stocked fridge. The mattresses were terrible on the beds; our friendís room in another building at the other end of the resort (our request to be close to each other was lost!) actually had a broken box spring.
The waiting in line for everything got old really fast. If youíre not savvy to the beach rules and get out and place your towels, stake your claim early, you will lose out on any hope of shade. The buffet and a la carte meals all tasted the same, hot things were cold, and everything seemed runny, and palm oil permeated everything.
If you left the resort there were people with their hands out everywhere. The poverty of the country is overwhelming. The animals looked so scrawny and underfed compared to what we have come to expect. It is a culture shock to be sure. Tips are expected so don't run out of $1 cuc pesos. On our excursion to Havana I got traveler's flu and the tips to use the bathrooms, pay for toilet paper (most public washrooms have NO toilet paper) and get a taxi back to our resort ended up costing around $200.00 cuc pesos.
Our friend broke her foot the first day and although the hotel states it has a Dr. 9-5, there was only a nurse there. Our friend had to take a taxi to the hospital, and then travel to another location for a cast to be put on, and then back to the hospital. They were gone from 2 to 7:30. Luckily they had a really great multi-lingual driver who stayed with them the whole time and took great care of them. The medical care was great but the facilities very dated.
I was very very happy to return home. For me, the food was a big issue; I ended up eating pringle chips and drinking Tukola (like coke). The customer services people, who are supposed to help, were of no help! The excursions were pricey but enjoyable. What we thought we booked and what we ended up getting was not a four star experience.

Room Number:
28106

Room Block:
28000

Arrival:
15:30, slow check in, needed more clerks

Rooms:
clean and tidy, but old bedding and mattress was very poor quality

Restaurants and Bars:
lots of both, but overwhelmed with patrons, resort was packed

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
really nice, but really big

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
lots of line ups, but a wide variety

Other Comments:
if you appreciate our quality of food, variety and flavors, not the place to go

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Do not get married at this resort!"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jayde  on Jul 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
326 people found this review helpful

This resort lost my wedding dress up until a hour or two before my wedding. There response was " I know it was stressful but was not a big deal because i had it for the wedding" Also the photographer/video were late. I had 50 guests for the wedding and 49 of them had problems. There was no service at the wedding just people standing around. My dress was switched with someone elses for two days! I was looking for it instead of having a good time. We didnt even get our breakfast in bed. Please no one get married at this resort. I asked for a manager all week and no one would let me talk to him.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Big Rip off!!"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mary  on Sep 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
338 people found this review helpful

This resort is terrible. No service of any kind. No towels, no toilet paper, Dirty bed sheets, no good drinks or food. No real entertainment. The quality of service (if any at all, was ZERO. Our vacation was hindered by a shortage of towels, clean bed sheets etc, etc., the list goes on...

Room Block:
26

Arrival:
September 1

Rooms:
Dirty, filthy, bath tub infested with mildew, shower curtain ripped. badly design bathroom makes it difficult to even wash your hands without turning the bathroom into a pool. Dirty, filthy bed sheets. Also beware of Bed Bugs!!!!

Restaurants and Bars:
Below average food. no hygiene here either. No food left if you go late.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Actually nice. Big resort so be careful if you want to go there with kids or elderly parents, there is a lot of walking and golf carts were parked in the lot while many people were waiting for them to arrive.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Nothing really interested us that much.

Other Comments:
the maid told us that the laundry was out of order, and that's why we had no clean sheets or towels. REALLY????? We were there for a whole week, and they couldn't fix it all that time?? Seriously???? Unacceptable. also see reviews on tripadviser.com; they are all true, a they were our experience too.

In brief: WE WERE RIPPED OFF!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"awful and disaopointing"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Teresa  on Oct 20, 2015  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2015 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
142 people found this review helpful

Never again, checked into Block 33...A/C flooding the room, phone not working, nothing in mini bar...complainrd, changed rooms to Block 39...phone still NOT working. Wont ever come here again. Food awdul! Waste of money! Rain every single day!

Room Number:
33314 and 3339314

Room Block:
33 and 39

Arrival:
October 14th

Restaurants and Bars:
Food awful everywhere. Breakfast same every day!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Ok

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Ok

Other Comments:
Not impessed

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sirenas La Salina Feb-Mar 2010"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Doc  on Mar 7, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
219 people found this review helpful

I read all the reports, dismissing the bad as recommended by several people and went with an open mind, knowing the resort was large. We were to be there for two weeks. Well it was so bad, we literally had to move. Ran out of red wine, then white wine, Amaratto was missing when we arrived (will be there tomorrow) never did arrive! Vodka ran out, grenadine ran out so your red banama mum's were now blue.

Your Arrival:
Staff did not have any personal info on arriving guests. Had to fill in name, address etc before we got checked in. They were friendly however.

Rooms:
Large and neat, well maintained although the toilets required several flushes to operate properly. There were some unsightly discoveries in the public washrooms when the previous occupant failed to be observant.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food in the buffet was cool as the head chef who sat at our table to explane, "I don't have enough electricity to keep all my tables hot"! Three of the places for a-la-carts were outside but the chairs were splattered with bird droppings and they did not seem to understand why we were repelled. The mexican and french a-la-carts were very very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was very nice with lots of palpalas to hide under. The carts which circled the resort to pick up people were hit and miss. My wife put her hand on the rail to help herself aboard at one point, the driver which had just let people off saw her but sped away anyway.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We booked the Havana day trip but by the time the day arrived my wife was not well due to the stress of the food problems and 20 to 30 bug bites. We lost have our approx 140 CUC deposit.

Other Comments:
Ther were a lot of people on the resort with terrible masses of bites on their legs. My wife never was affected but was attacked at Salinas. My several repellents failed to deter whatever was biting us from our necks to our ankles. And not one did I see. Special thanks to our Air Canada rep we were able to exit this resort for a far superior one which we had to pay for but in a few days our bites started to heal and no new ones appeared. So many people we talked to were so discouraged and would never return to this place or any other. I feel sorry for writing this review but it had to be said. We are fairly easy going people who roll with some punches but enough is enough.
We believe this resort is too large for the number of staff. They are overworked to the point that they don't seem to care what kind of impression they put forward.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"AWFUL! Will never go back."

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer  on Mar 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
206 people found this review helpful

I just left the resort La Salina in Varadero and am completely appalled. My family had spent nearly $80,000 for a lot of us to attend my brother's wedding on the resort only to have it ruined by teenagers.
There apparently was a grad trip staying at the resort through S-Trip. These were Canadian students and I am disgusted with their behaviour and ashamed to say they represented our Youth. These kids banged and kicked on our room doors at all hours in the night, woke and scared my baby twice, threw food and beer at our deck doors of multiple rooms, picked fights with other guests, including some of our party. I personally was harassed in the buffet line at a lunch BBQ, the young man was touching and taking food off my plate and then verbally assaulted my mom and I, it took two other men to help me and then after quite some time security finally removed him, only for him to find us later in the kiddie pool!
Each time we called for security to assist us it took multiple calls. We complained along with many other guests in the resort and a few kids got sent home. The service from the staff was awful and completely unhelpful when trying to get any help to resolve the issue.
This was supposed to be FAMILY vacation on a FAMILY resort. This was my parents 4th trip to Cuba and their second to your resort, we are repeat visitors and not one of will ever return to your resort as a result of this experience.
My holiday was ruined, and it is something that can never be given back, this was my daughter's first big trip and it was frightful for her at night.
Your business needs to decide if it will cater to families or the party crowd, it can not cater to both.
I do hope your organization figures this out before it ruins any more visitors holiday.

Your Arrival:
Arrival was chaotic. After check in we sat and waited for a trolly, we have my grandmother who uses a walker and a three year old. When one finally did arrive, another guest who arrived long after we had been waiting gave the drive a tip before we even had a chance to get loaded and took it so there we were waiting again.

Rooms:
They originally had us on the third floor in which my grandmother couldn't do, so they moved us to the main floor and "forgot" to move the cot for my daughter down so she had no bed the first night (the other two were singles) the bathroom had mold and wall rot, you had to use a large wooden stool to get into the bathtub which is concerning for disabled visitors. The laundry apparently broke so we didn't have clean towels for a couple days and were give bath mats to use instead.

The room service was excellent, had no problems with our room maid.

Restaurants and Bars:
AWFUL!

The food was horrendous! Nearly everyone in our group got violently ill all on the same night. They continuously ran out of food, wine, ketchup.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was always clean and the pools were very nice.

The grounds are still very young and need some time to grow, but will be very pretty once the plants mature.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
the tours were great and the bus service was fantastic.

The trolly on the resort was a joke. It was 40mins late picking up the bride for the wedding!!! Which we had booked for specific time

Other Comments:
The location of the wedding looks nothing like the photos they show, those are photoshop'd.

I will never return to this resort nor will I ever suggest anyone try it.

Awful experience.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very disappointed"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  shellie  on Mar 11, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
391 people found this review helpful

This was our second trip to veradero and we had a wonderful time before. we travelled with our 2 teenagers(17 & 15). we chose this resort thinking there would be more to entertain them. we were wrong. we knew this was a family resort however we didn't expect very small children ( babies and up). relaxation was out of the question as they were always crying or whiney. you had to be very careful around the pool as they were always underfoot. if you weren't at the pool very early you didn't get a chair. lots with no people but "saved" with towels. sometimes all day long. the resort was beautiful but it was a 10 min walk to the beach. this resort is not good for anyone with any kind of mobility issues. couldn't even get a lift from the buggys as they were not around often. we will return to Cuba but never ever to this resort. if we had never been to Cuba before and had a great experience we would in all honesty we would never go back to Cuba. this was the worst vacation we have had and we were not impressed at all with this resort.

Room Block:
20

Arrival:
very fast check in. That seems to be where the service ended

Rooms:
our room was clean and fairly well kept. maid was there everyday. however one day we asked for more toilet paper and was told they didn't have any.

Restaurants and Bars:
the buffet sucked as did the steakhouse ala carte food was way undercooked. italian was ok. no service that the bars. if you wanted drinks you _Had__ to get them yourself we didn't expect to be waited on hand and foot but we did expect some kind of service and recieved none.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beach was nice but a very long walk from our room, pools were ok but no chairs that weren't saved by people who were not even at the pools. very inconsiderate people who did that.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
very little entainment and no activities for teenagers to partipate in it seem like it only catered to families with small childern.

Other Comments:
If you want an enjoyable, relaxing vacation do not go to this resort.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Bad Memories"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  T  on Feb 5, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2017 | Leisure | With friend
13 people found this review helpful

I love Cuba and this was my 3rd trip to Cuba. However, it was my final. Our resort (Memories) has a plumbing issue and even when we left they still hadn't fixed the problem. They had to shut the water off so if you booked anywhere close to the beach then you had no running water. We had no running water for 5 days. The staff handled this problem very badly which is why I'm writing this review. They were not honest and upfront with us about the situation. If they were, we could have made an informed decision about changing rooms or resorts. There is only 1 customer services representative who handles all problems on the resort and it's a huge resort so with a plumbing issue you can imagine the high volume of complaints. The check in counter would not help you. We went to Havana for the day and when we came back we asked the front desk if there was running water yet and they would not answer the question. They told us to go to customer service and you can clearly see that there was nobody there at customer service. We stood waiting for someone to come for about 20 minutes but no one ever did come. All we wanted was to be able to shower and we knew that there was a room available close to the lobby to shower in. We did not want to have to trek back to our room to see if there was running water and then have to come back to the lobby to get a key to shower. We finally changed rooms on our 2nd last day. The customer service rep gave us a room close to the lobby and she told us we didn't have to check out at the regular time. Our flight was at 6:30 pm so this was nice to be able to keep our room for longer. However, on the day we were leaving, our cards were deactivated so we couldn't get back in the room. We went to the check out counter and they wanted to charge us for the extension. We told them our situation. They made a call, handed the key cards back to us and said it will work. However, when we came back a few hours later it was not working. Fortunately the cleaning staff was nice enough to let us back in.
There were so many upset people on the resort that were fed up and angry. It was hard to stay positive and try to enjoy the holiday despite the problems.

Room Number:
316

Room Block:
34

Arrival:
Typical pickup by bus. No better than a greyhound bus except they expected you to tip the driver.

Rooms:
We had no running water for 5 days!!!! We had no AC for 2 days. We booked online to get a sunset view with 2 beds but didn't receive either. The room had no working phone, hairdryer, or cd player. It was a long trek back to the lobby to get anything fixed!

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet had lots of choices but I found most of the food overcooked and cold and very bland.
Snack bars offer hamburgers, hot dogs, ham and cheese sandwiches and fries

Italian restaurant was disgusting.

Japanese was fabulous

You are only allowed to choose 2 a la cart restaurants

The bbq by the beach had good food that was hot and not overcooked. However, when they ran out of cutlery they just wiped them down with a napkin and gave them out to us

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful lots of palm trees and very well kept. Beach is clean and beautiful

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
I can't comment because it is not a big interest for me. I just wanted to be at the beach

Other Comments:

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube