Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 44 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)  

Autopista Sur Km 19, Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Mtzas, Cuba

"best destination"
Posted by: roman on Jul 12, 2014
see all reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews
Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Pictures and Information
Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Varadero Cuba

#4
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.4

Based on 51 reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Information


The new Memories Varadero Beach Resort offers you the value of a 5-star resort for the price of a four-star. Features like the longest water slide of Varadero and its closeness to La Habana make this the perfect place for those seeking action and adventure.



We invite you to create and share unforgettable memories that will last a lifetime with us!

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.4 of 5 51 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  26
Average
  10
Poor
  5
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Leisure (46)
Party (2)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (16)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (2)
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (18)
Solo
1 - 10 of 51

"windy,cool but enjoyable"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. dave doherty  on Dec 30, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 1997
526 people found this review helpful

the overall stay was enjoyable, as always we were in the hands of mother nature whom for some reason bore strong cool winds that prevented the family from frolicing in either the ocean or the pools the first 3 days. the rooms were comfortable clean and decorated beyond belief by the courteous house keepers. their artistic talents with the towels was a treat. the grounds were continously kept clean and unobscured of debris. check in was professional, organized, simple and accommodating, as we required our 2 rooms closer than the initail setup. food overall was good but much too much grease if it is not part of your regular diet. a-la-cartes were interesting with credit to the cuban chefs attempts to copy the original nationality (italian, french etc....) if, you are in the search for a vacation away from crowds not the place to visit room for 2300 people. when the sun was out great beach to relax and enjoy the fun. there are 2 pools one an active with water slides, volleyball, bars and restaurant the other a quite lay around, read a book, or bring the young children to and enjoy the day. did not leave the resort but was told that the jeep safari was worth the expense. great family spot would do it again but would contact mother nature first and book warmer weather.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Place"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Donald Macpherson  on Jan 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 1998
420 people found this review helpful

I Stayed there in October and i had one of the best vactions there.I will be booking my vaction in Feb just after my birthday for and nother week cant wait loved it.Staff great, place clean and i found the food ok. Just tip and you will be treated like a king.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful Resort"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mary Lou  on Feb 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
127 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
We arrived late in the evening. They escorted us to a common area where they gave us a complimentary arrival drink and a bottle of rum. They gave us our braclets, room numbers and then we were shuttled to our room. The young bell boy was very friendly and made sure we were comfortable before he left.

Rooms:
Rooms are very clean & spacious. The only downfall is the showers dont work properly. You have to be careful otherwise you will have a flood in your bathroom. There are also signs of the problem with the showere on the walls. If this isnt looked after soon the rooms will be destroyed in no time.
Other then that you have everything you will need in your room. Including an iron, ironing board, an umbrella and a blow dryer.

Restaurants and Bars:
People in these places are extremely friendly and will go out of their to make sure that your stay is pleasant. As far as food goes there is a vast variety of food. People that complain that there wasnt enough food or that the food is horrible are just looking for something to complain about. I am a very picky eater and I never went hungry.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very clean. The grounds people do an excellent job of maintaining these areas. It is not their fault when you get the ruid, drunken tourist that have no respect and litter all over the place.

Other Comments:
We are heading back on March 22nd of this year and we will be staying at the La Salina Sirenis. We cant wait!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Most amazing pools!"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lynn  on Aug 31, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
145 people found this review helpful

This resort had the greatest pools and bars of any resort we've been to. (And we've been to much more expensive 5 star resorts all over) They have this really unique "cave bar" inside the main pool that allows you to get out of the heat for a refreshing cold drink. We were absolutely never hounded for tips and when they were given were appreciated beyond belief. One evening at the lobby bar they ran out of my sister's preferred wine and one of the waiters (although tremendously busy)ran up to the buffet restaurant and replenished the supply even leaving us a freshly opened bottle at our table. We almost had to beg him to accept a tip for this service. The waiters at the pool bars were also very sweet and accomadating as were all the restaurant staff. We found everyone frienly including our maids! One day we went out to the pools for an entire 8 hours accidently leaving a rather large sum of cash on our dresser. Not only was it all still there but I think the maid actually dusted around it! The food at the a la cartes was fabulous and the buffets so-so. Hey - it's Cuba! We found the service and friendliness of the staff made up for it. It is a large resort so be prepared to walk. At least the grounds are beautiful with alot of interesting sculptures to keep you amused. There are constantly shuttles offering yuo a ride anyway. We loved it and for the price we payed ($800 can. per person) we'd go back in a flash!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Group of 8, All Enjoyed the Trip"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  adamrides  on Jan 3, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
136 people found this review helpful

Realizing that experiences at all-inclusives are entirely subjective and can be affected by zillions of factors, here are my thoughts. I got back two hours ago, spent Dec. 26 - Jan. 2 inclusive there with a group of eight (five adults, three teenagers). This was my fourth stay at an all-inclusive, second in Varadero.

- If you book Nolitours, check-in is private and a breeze.
- The resort is far away from town. You cannot walk there. You will need to take a bus or taxi. I didn't expect this going there (but I suppose I could have figured that out by looking at a map!).
- I expected the worst when it came to food (my last experience sucked) but it actually turned out to be pretty good. I don't eat pork but still found plenty of options. Problems: next to impossible to get a la carte bookings (Cuban was surprisingly good, Italian excellent) and the "Nolitours-only" dinners were a gong show (huge crowds, bad food),
- We did the Nolitours Havana excursion and the catamaran excursion. Both were excellent. If booking the catamaran excursion be prepared for lots of drinking in the sun on a boat, followed by a beach visit. Lots of fun. But not great for kids.
- The resort is huge. It's the biggest in Varadero. As a result, be prepared to walk. A lot.
- I like to run, and this was not an option at the gym (eliptical and stair equipment only). All the joggers ran around the outskirts of the resort, dodging pedestrians. Not the best arrangement.
- Staff was always nice and friendly. Entertainment activities do NOT vary too much though.
- I'm generally not fan of shows at resorts but the one they put on with gymnasts and such was simply superb IMO.
- Disco is nonexistent. You'll want to head offsite for late-night entertainment.
- Kids LOVED the waterslide.

Anyway, not the most in-depth review but I suppose I just wanted to say it was a good time, the food was decent and everyone had fun. And isn't that what you generally want in a vacation? :)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sirenis La Salina is the prefect example of a very low end 4 star resort."

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Brian  on Mar 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
136 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
My wife and I have now checked into 10 different resort's in Cuba and the DR. Checking into Sirenis would be about average. If I include the job that the Bellboys did that would fall to a 2 out of 10. They put our bags on their shuttle, then went back to the Lobby to have a talk with the other Bagboys.

Rooms:
The room was a good size. The maid did a good job everyday making up the bed,etc. One problem was that she took it upon herself to use some of my wife's things to dress up the towels on the bed. We let that go as we had decided by that time to move to a different resort.

Restaurants and Bars:
The LA Carte Restaurants are excellent. They are first class.

I'm sorry to say that the Buffet leaves a lot to be desired.If you were not there when they put the food into the serving trays. You had cold food. It is by far the poorest restaurant I have encounter on all my trips. The coffee is really not fit to drink.I just can't believe how bad it is.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
We are beach people and don't use the pools, so will not comment on them.

If a resort in Cuba has a beach, you know its good.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went on a bus tour of Havana. It cost #81.00 per person. It was worth all of that and more. Don't pass it up.

Other Comments:


1. Very poor lighting. My first night I fell and skinned my knee.I just could not see the step.
2. Bird droppings are everywhere. Tables, chairs, you name it its covered with crap.
3. For those people who think the grounds are well looked after, well all I can say is, don't say to much until you go to a few more resorts.
4. I found most of the staff were not very friendly It's easy to see why. They are just over worked. It's clear that they are very short staffed.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"AWESOME RESORT! AWESOME STAFF!"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Roxane  on Apr 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
130 people found this review helpful

Overall, We had a great time in Cuba. I went from feb 25th to march 4th and I am returning in July with daugther and unlike all the others that commented bad reviews on this resort, this is the BEST Resort that I've been to and CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK. All of the staff we're very nice and friendly made a lot of friends with a lot of them and I can't wait to go back and see them again. All I can say is that I really cannot wait to show my daughter this place. See you in julio baby.

Your Arrival:
When I arrived it was around 9:30pm at the resort and I was waiting for my mother and sister's flight to come in, we we're not on the same flight.So I headed out to check out what was going on at the resort to kill time, so went to see a bit of the entertainment while waiting, it was all good but a little boring by yourself so didn't stay and it was kind'da late. Check-in was quick no complaints, then they took me to my room. The service with the shuttle buses was good. But hey, I'd rather walk anyway, lost almost 20lbs just being there for 1 week so who's complaining NOT ME!

Rooms:
The rooms we're very clean, I do admit though, that we did have to complain about getting the fridge stocked with water but other than that it was all good. Maids came in everyday to clean and when we would ask we would receive so ALL GOOD.

Restaurants and Bars:
We had the MEXICAN and Italian la cartes and We weren't too crazy about the Italian but Mexican was awesome, one I don't eat that kind of food so. And ate everything in my plate it was very good. BBQ night was amazing never had such good food oh! and I forgot to mention that I'm a very picky eater too. The buffet was ok by the end of the week, yes they did run out of condiments and stuff but hey what can you expect. For those who are complaining BRING your own next time. And the Staff at the Buffet we're so very nice too.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beaches we're nice and very clean, never seen such beautiful water and the pools well they speak for themselves. JUST AWESOME.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Nightly Entertainment was great, loved everynight just magnifico. Very fun pool activities staff we're great. Everyday was amazing by the pool.
The excursions we're very interesting very fun we we're with NOLITOURS so we had the best from my point of view. Nolitours staff we're amazing. Raphael and Emma. Thumbs up to them.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I want to go back!"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tola  on Feb 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
124 people found this review helpful

Although this was our first time in Cuba, it has certainly been a memorable one... and I would definitely go back to this resort.

Your Arrival:
Feb 2010--- check in was smooth... got our room right away although it clearly states check in time is at 3 (this was around noon)

Rooms:
Nice spacious rooms and cleaned daily

Restaurants and Bars:
All was good.... you are staying at an all inclusive so if you go there with high expectations, you may be disappointed but we thought it was all wonderful... we were not the only guests there

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
All was beautifully manicured and very well tended. Loved the beach

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did three excursions... all of which were excellent and learning experiences

Other Comments:
Cuba is a beautiful country... the people are so friendly. It may be a poor country but it is educated. I definitely want to go back!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"fairly good"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Bradley  on Mar 13, 2010  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
131 people found this review helpful


Rooms:
not too bad... had bug bites but that was due to construction next door.Nothing fancybut overall good...maid service was nice...

Restaurants and Bars:
restrurants were nice... bars the drinks were good BUT some bartenders were a bit over friendly with the females.....

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach was great....pools were good as well.....overall a clean resort.... only issue... it was very big and a lot of walking can be exspected.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
they are what they are....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"AWFUL! Will never go back."

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer  on Mar 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Group
135 people found this review helpful

I just left the resort La Salina in Varadero and am completely appalled. My family had spent nearly $80,000 for a lot of us to attend my brother's wedding on the resort only to have it ruined by teenagers.
There apparently was a grad trip staying at the resort through S-Trip. These were Canadian students and I am disgusted with their behaviour and ashamed to say they represented our Youth. These kids banged and kicked on our room doors at all hours in the night, woke and scared my baby twice, threw food and beer at our deck doors of multiple rooms, picked fights with other guests, including some of our party. I personally was harassed in the buffet line at a lunch BBQ, the young man was touching and taking food off my plate and then verbally assaulted my mom and I, it took two other men to help me and then after quite some time security finally removed him, only for him to find us later in the kiddie pool!
Each time we called for security to assist us it took multiple calls. We complained along with many other guests in the resort and a few kids got sent home. The service from the staff was awful and completely unhelpful when trying to get any help to resolve the issue.
This was supposed to be FAMILY vacation on a FAMILY resort. This was my parents 4th trip to Cuba and their second to your resort, we are repeat visitors and not one of will ever return to your resort as a result of this experience.
My holiday was ruined, and it is something that can never be given back, this was my daughter's first big trip and it was frightful for her at night.
Your business needs to decide if it will cater to families or the party crowd, it can not cater to both.
I do hope your organization figures this out before it ruins any more visitors holiday.

Your Arrival:
Arrival was chaotic. After check in we sat and waited for a trolly, we have my grandmother who uses a walker and a three year old. When one finally did arrive, another guest who arrived long after we had been waiting gave the drive a tip before we even had a chance to get loaded and took it so there we were waiting again.

Rooms:
They originally had us on the third floor in which my grandmother couldn't do, so they moved us to the main floor and "forgot" to move the cot for my daughter down so she had no bed the first night (the other two were singles) the bathroom had mold and wall rot, you had to use a large wooden stool to get into the bathtub which is concerning for disabled visitors. The laundry apparently broke so we didn't have clean towels for a couple days and were give bath mats to use instead.

The room service was excellent, had no problems with our room maid.

Restaurants and Bars:
AWFUL!

The food was horrendous! Nearly everyone in our group got violently ill all on the same night. They continuously ran out of food, wine, ketchup.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was always clean and the pools were very nice.

The grounds are still very young and need some time to grow, but will be very pretty once the plants mature.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
the tours were great and the bus service was fantastic.

The trolly on the resort was a joke. It was 40mins late picking up the bride for the wedding!!! Which we had booked for specific time

Other Comments:
The location of the wedding looks nothing like the photos they show, those are photoshop'd.

I will never return to this resort nor will I ever suggest anyone try it.

Awful experience.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube