Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 44 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 35 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 30, 2015

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)  

Autopista Sur Km 19, Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Mtzas, Cuba

"It was a very enjoyable vacation."
Posted by: Sharon  on Mar 13, 2015
see all reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews
Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Pictures and Information
Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Varadero Cuba

#4
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.4

Based on 53 reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Information


The new Memories Varadero Beach Resort offers you the value of a 5-star resort for the price of a four-star. Features like the longest water slide of Varadero and its closeness to La Habana make this the perfect place for those seeking action and adventure.



We invite you to create and share unforgettable memories that will last a lifetime with us!

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.4 of 5 53 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  27
Average
  11
Poor
  5
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Leisure (48)
Party (2)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (17)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (2)
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (19)
Solo
11 - 20 of 53

"Cave bar=so fun"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sandra  on Nov 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Party | With Group
262 people found this review helpful

I loved this resort, the waterslide and swim up cave bar was really fun. The people were nice, food was moderate. I liked the buffet style. Resort was a little too big, but it was really fun. Beach was nice too

Room Block:
26

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Terrific family vacation."

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  C  on Sep 15, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
288 people found this review helpful

Anyone who is considering booking this resort and are worried about the poor reviews, fear not! We also had reservations about booking this resort but we followed our travel agent's advice. She had stayed at this resort and recommended it because it is "kid" friendly. Our family of 7, (4 adults, 3 children) had a fabulous time from sept. 3/11 to sept. 10/11. The weather was fantastic and the ocean was like bath water. We booked through nolitours and flew canjet. Because of the tailwinds our flight to cuba was less than 3 hours and our return flight to toronto was also under 3 hours. I wouldn't have any hesitation in recommending this resort to family and friends. Be prepared to do some walking as it is a huge resort. Go and enjoy the people, the weather and the fantastic beach.

Room Block:
32000

Arrival:
OUR ARRIVAL WAS SPEEDY. WE WERE MET WITH NON ALCOHOLIC DRINKS AND SANDWICHES. THE GIRL THAT CHECKED US IN WAS FRIENDLY AND SPOKE SURPRISINGLY GOOD ENGLISH. WE FOUND THE STAFF AT THE FRONT DESK TO BE VERY FRIENDLY AND ABLE TO SPEAK VERY GOOD ENGLISH AS WELL. HAVING BOOKED THROUGH NOLITOURS, WE RECEIVED A FREE BOTTLE OF RUM UPON CHECK IN. BONUS!!! OUR BAGS WERE LOADED ON A TRANSPORTATION CART AND WE WERE TAKEN TO OUR ROOMS WITHIN ONE HALF HOUR OF OUR ARRIVAL.

Rooms:
OUR ROOM WAS CLEAN AND WELL MAINTAINED. CONTRARY TO SOME REPORTS, THERE WAS NO MUSTY SMELL OR MOLD IN OUR ROOM. REMEMBER TO TAKE A ROOM DEODORIZER WITH YOU AND YOU WON'T HAVE ANY PROBLEM. THERE ALSO WAS NO PROBLEM WITH THE LACK OF TOILET PAPER. THE BATHROOM WAS ALWAYS WELL STOCKED. YOU MIGHT WANT TO CONSIDER TAKING FACIAL TISSUE AS THEY DO NOT SUPPLY THAT IN THE WASHROOMS. ALSO, TAKE FACECLOTHS AS THEY DON'T SUPPLY THOSE EITHER. WE STAYED ON THE 3RD FLOOR OF THE 32000 BLOCK. THE ONE DOWNFALL IS THERE IS NO ELEVATOR SO YOU HAVE TO WALK UP 3 FLIGHTS OF STAIRS.

Restaurants and Bars:
THE BUFFET WAS GOOD WITH A WIDE CHOICE OF FOOD. YOU DO NOT NEED TO GO HUNGRY. ONE NIGHT THEY HAD 2 PIGS FULLY COOKED AND ANOTHER NIGHT ROASTED TURKEYS. THEY WERE AWESOME! PASTA WAS AVAILABLE EVERY NIGHT AS WELL. YOU COULD HAVE EGGS, OMELETTES, BACON COOKED FOR YOU IN THE MORNING WHILE YOU WAITED. OUR GRANDAUGHTERS ARE PICKY EATERS AND THEY HAD NO PROBLEM AT ALL. I WAS REALLY SURPRISED. THERE ARE BIRDS IN THIS OPEN AREA BUT THEY HAVE A MAN WHO HAS A TRAINED HAWK THAT CHASES THE LARGER BLACK BIRDS AWAY. THERE ARE FLIES AS IT IS AN OPEN AREA. SIT BENEATH THE CEILING FANS AND YOU WON'T HAVE A PROBLEM. THE LOBBY BAR WAS GREAT. GOOD CAPPUCINO. MY ONLY COMPLAINT IS THE SMOKING BUT YOU HAVE TO ACCEPT THAT THERE ARE NO "NO SMOKING" LAWS IN CUBA. THE SWIM UP BARS IN BOTH THE ACTIVITY POOL AND THE QUIET POOL WERE REALLY GOOD. BORIS AT THE QUIET BAR WAS "THE MAN". GREAT PERSONALITY, FRIENDLY AND HE TOOK GOOD CARE OF US, EVEN OUR LITTLE GRANDAUGHTERS WITH THEIR JUICE DRINKS. OUR FAVOURITE ALA CARTE WAS THE JAPANESE. WE PAID EXTRA FOR A LOBSTER DINNER AT THE CUBAN RESTAURANT. IT WAS GREAT. THE ITALIAN AND THE STEAK HOUSE WERE JUST SO-SO. THE FOOD IS KIND OF BLAND SO A GOOD IDEA IS TO PACK A FEW SPICES AND TAKE THEM WITH YOU.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
THE BEACH IS REALLY NICE. THE OCEAN AT THIS TIME OF YEAR IS LIKE BATH WATER AND MOST DAYS VERY CLEAR. THE GUESTS STAYING AT THE RESORT COULD DO A BETTER JOB OF PICKING UP AFTER THEMSELVES I.E. PLASTIC CUPS, CIGARETTE BUTTS, ETC. I DON'T BLAME THE RESORT OR THE STAFF FOR THIS, I BLAME THE INCONSIDERATE GUESTS. YOU WOULDN'T DO THIS IN YOUR OWN BACKYARD!!! THE POOLS ARE VERY NICE AND THEY WERE REALLY, REALLY WARM. MUCH DIFFERENT THAN IN FEBRUARY. THE GROUNDS ARE GORGEOUS AND VERY WELL MAINTAINED. THE RESORT IS HUGE SO YOU DO HAVE SOME TIME TO ADMIRE THE VEGETATION WHILE YOU ARE WALKING AROUND.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
YOU HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY OF TAKING TOURS TO HAVANA, SWIM WITH THE DOLPHINS, JEEP TOURS, HORSEBACK RIDING, ETC. WE DID NOT TAKE PART IN THESE AS WE HAD 3 SMALL CHILDREN WITH US. WE DID GO OUT ON THE PADDLE BOATS AND MY GRANDAUGHTERS WERE VERY EXCITED WHEN THEIR FATHER DOVE AND GOT THEM 2 STAR FISH.

Other Comments:
REMEMBER THAT YOU ARE IN A TROPICAL CLIMATE. THERE ARE MOSQUITOES SO TAKE SPRAY (ALTHOUGH I THINK THEY LIKE IT). IF YOU CANNOT PUT UP WITH A FEW INCONVENIENCES STAY HOME! ALL IN ALL IT WAS A GREAT RESORT ENJOYED BY ALL MEMBERS OF OUR FAMILY.

GREAT RESORT, GREAT BEACH, GREAT TRIP

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Big Rip off!!"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mary  on Sep 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
267 people found this review helpful

This resort is terrible. No service of any kind. No towels, no toilet paper, Dirty bed sheets, no good drinks or food. No real entertainment. The quality of service (if any at all, was ZERO. Our vacation was hindered by a shortage of towels, clean bed sheets etc, etc., the list goes on...

Room Block:
26

Arrival:
September 1

Rooms:
Dirty, filthy, bath tub infested with mildew, shower curtain ripped. badly design bathroom makes it difficult to even wash your hands without turning the bathroom into a pool. Dirty, filthy bed sheets. Also beware of Bed Bugs!!!!

Restaurants and Bars:
Below average food. no hygiene here either. No food left if you go late.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Actually nice. Big resort so be careful if you want to go there with kids or elderly parents, there is a lot of walking and golf carts were parked in the lot while many people were waiting for them to arrive.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Nothing really interested us that much.

Other Comments:
the maid told us that the laundry was out of order, and that's why we had no clean sheets or towels. REALLY????? We were there for a whole week, and they couldn't fix it all that time?? Seriously???? Unacceptable. also see reviews on tripadviser.com; they are all true, a they were our experience too.

In brief: WE WERE RIPPED OFF!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Do not get married at this resort!"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jayde  on Jul 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
270 people found this review helpful

This resort lost my wedding dress up until a hour or two before my wedding. There response was " I know it was stressful but was not a big deal because i had it for the wedding" Also the photographer/video were late. I had 50 guests for the wedding and 49 of them had problems. There was no service at the wedding just people standing around. My dress was switched with someone elses for two days! I was looking for it instead of having a good time. We didnt even get our breakfast in bed. Please no one get married at this resort. I asked for a manager all week and no one would let me talk to him.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Family Vacation"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lisa  on Jul 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
277 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a 1 week vacation there. We had a great time, our room was right across from the big pool with the water slide and a short walk to the beach. Our family had a great time swimming all day. Beautiful beaches and the kids loved the pizza and drinks from the buttler on the beach. The pool was great, the kids loved the waterslide and cave to get drinks.
The food was just ok, not a lot of flavour but we didn't starve. All in all, we would go back to this resort. Everyone has to remember that it is Cuba and not Canaday.

Lisa

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't do any activities. The kids show was geared mainly to very young children and girls. Saw one adult show at night and didn't really like it, I have seen better.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The most amazing people"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Jul 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
276 people found this review helpful

Yes the food was very tasteless and the coffee was not Timmies, but the experience was amazing. What really made this vacation was the staff and towns people we had the pleasure of meeting. What a lovely group of people. They would go above and beyond to help you. Yes! we tipped lots of paso's (mind the spelling)and brought lots of stuff for our staff, but seeing their appreciation and smiles made my trip so worth while. The Beach was breath taking. I would be sitting there with the tanning sun and the cool breeze and a waiter would come up to me and offer me a nice cold beverage or food. Just loved it. Our room was very pleasent, cool, clean and the bar fridge was always full. Big Bathroom and nice view of the stunning ocean from our balcony. Bring sweetner if you are a diabetic. They do not have any there. Bring coffee mate, they only use milk for their coffee, unless you get a late (amazing). Bring peanut butter or your own syrup if breakfast really matters to you. Totally come for a visit. Great tan and good entertainment.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Little Too Big For Me"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sarah  on Apr 24, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
187 people found this review helpful

This resort is very, very large. You better bring some walking shoes and don't expect the trolley to come by on a regular basis. We had no problem with walking, but even at check-out the trolley took over 45 minutes to pick us up with our luggage so we ended up just walking from the 30 block. The resort grounds were very nice though and the resort was in great condition.
The biggest downfall of the trip was on the second last day when we both got attacked by either sand fleas, bed bugs or some kind of bug from the pool. I ended up having to go to the resort doctor and get antibiotics, steroid injections for the reaction and creams for the bug bites. My husband got the same type of reaction when we got home so he too is on antibiotics and our family from across the country had to seek medical treatment too. All I could get the resort doctor to say was that we shouldn't go in the pools because they are dirty! YUCK!

The trip was a success all in all though, the weather was over 30 every day. Bring your walking shoes though because the resort is huge. If you don't like to stand in lines for drinks, food, beach chairs etc, consider one of the resorts in town instead. I definitely will never stay at a resort this huge again. 200 or less rooms is good enough for me.

Room Number:
30301

Room Block:
30

Arrival:
We stayed at Sirenis La Salina from the 10th of April until the 17th. We arrived in the middle of the night so the check-in was a bit strange. They herded us into a hot room and we felt like cattle. The only good thing is it took only about 15 or so minutes to be handed an envelope with our room key and a bottle of rum. We took the trolley to our room because it was apparently 1 km from the lobby. I'm not sure if it was that far, but it would have been difficult to find in the middle of the night.

Rooms:
The room itself was quite nice and new. We were in 30301, which was near the beach on the top floor corner. Views of the loud pool and the ocean in the distance. This was our third visit to Cuba, and the room was by far the nicest we've had (twice to Varadero and once to Holguin). We actually didn't choose this resort, our family did. We decided fairly last minute to meet them down there and found an awesome deal with this resort.

Restaurants and Bars:
As far as food goes it was really quite good for Cuba. The buffet had a variety of items to choose from and I was very happy with the cheese selection. Some nights they even had a brie type cheese - my fave. Service varied but we did end up having the same server in the buffet four nights in a row named Janet. She was awesome. Other than her, no one really went out of their way to serve us. It was definitely a three-star resort, not a four-star... but we already knew it would be like that when we booked. We never used any of our restaurant reservations either because you had to book so far in advance and the ones available were either too early or too late. I heard we didn't miss much though.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools were huge and every time I looked at them I just thought to myself "what a cesspool." They weren't really cleaned and on one occasion, they closed the big pool. I didn't want to know why, but I can only imagine. I guess they dump a ton of chemicals in them every night, but one night we looked in it and it was covered with a disgusting sludge. We only went in about two times before we decided the ocean was a much better option because at least there is a current!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The beach was beautiful. The water is like a huge bath tub and you can see fish swimming in it. I love Cuba for its beaches and this one didn't disappoint. However, the resort was at full capacity when we went, so with over 1,000 rooms there were about 2,500 people staying at the resort. Getting a beach umbrella was almost impossible if you went after 9am. Some people would reserve spots around 6:30am! I found the beach way to crowded and if you don't speak French, you won't be able to talk to anyone since about 90% of the people are from Quebec. Our favourite beach days were when we left the resort and went into Varadero to a public beach with a bar and bought our own drinks. We also ate at several restaurants in town and they were delicious! Last time we were in Varadero we went to Havana and did the jeep tour, and this time we went on the jeep tour again with our family. It was actually really fun. You got to do some snorkelling, have lunch at a ranch, drive a jeep and go boating. I'd recommend this one.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Well appointed hotel, overcrowded, moderate food ."

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Arnold  on Apr 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
188 people found this review helpful

Checked in quickly, and transit (eight passenger electric "jitney"). with baggage to room 24108 efficient and friendly. Good location, close to the "peaceful pool", and in line buffet and beach.
All transport baggage, beach supplies, room linen etc electric, efficient and noiseless smll vehicles. Admirable
Main buffet: large choice should satisfy most tastes and needs, most of the time. Good broccoli, baby carrots,salads but potatoes tended to be oily Surprised by lavish supplies of Danish Blue and occasionally excellent salmon. A la carte French and Steakhouse disappointing. Coffee poor
Theatre 9.30 (late for us) and very high amplitude sound, but Cuban night looked like skilful high energy acrobatic dancing fun

Management has an essential practice of room-card as key, and same card re-entered within room immediately to ensure power. Appears wise management, where guests may exit with lights even air-conditioning (widow open)on.
Some well intentioned mis-guided person had substituted key card with a plain card which unfairly by-passed management policy. We found air-conditioning rarely (and then only briefly) available. We both encountered heat rash problems (I added eye-infections) after our tenth of fourteen days.
Pools and beach great.
Do Not Miss the double-decker (sixty metres South of exiting main gate, at road side), 5 pesos All-Day either for stay-aboard (two hours round trip) or alight/board off-and-on, e.g. at Varadero main street, for real Cubans. Why do they appear so much happier greeting each other than my fellow citizens in Ottawa Centre? 32C helps.
Airport scam at Duty-free. One Duty free quoted 98, another 95 $C to the peso.
I chose 98. Selected 25 Guantanamera cigars at 50 pesos.Clerk interrogated calculator: announced "65 $Cdn ". I (mathematician http://maths1951.wordpress.com) remonstrated. "Surely $C51, more or less" She insisted. I borrowed calculator, and confirmed $5 about $C51. She insisted. I left the cigars. At a non-duty free kiosk six metres away: same box. 50 pesos. I asked "How much in $C?". answer "To you, amigo: same price $50 C". I purchased, delighted. Cdn. customs allow 50 cigars.

Room Number:
24108

Room Block:
24

Arrival:
2011 March 26

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fun in the sun"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  vicki  on Mar 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
180 people found this review helpful

I went to this resort because we got a good price,I traveled with my husband and our 2 adult children, this was out 3rd trip to cuba, 2nd to varadero.The beach was fantastic, the weather was great. We found the staff helpful, and the rooms were clean and well stocked daily. It is true there is a lot of walking, but this was not a poblem for us. We found the food boring, the buffet had little variety, and often had long line ups and on several occasions there were not enough plates for the guests. The Vino was great, the coffee was good.
The check in, on arival was odd in that it was in a seperate room, from the main lobby, and there were piles of luggage sitting in a hot un airconditioned room. It was stiffling hot, however, within 10 minutes of our arrival we had been processed and were being driven to our rooms, which although were on the main floor, ( we wanted to be on the 2nd, or 3rd floor) were well decorated, we didn't have a TV remote, but otherwise all was well, dispite asking for the remote daily, it arrived the day before we left.
We went on a jeep safari which was well worth the money, we went snorkly, in a fresh water cave, horse back riding and on a river boat tour, it was great, and a nice break from the resort.
The grounds were fantastic, the beach awesome, our only complaint was boring buffet, but it is Cuba, and this is typical. If you want good food, go to Mexico.
all in all, we got value for the money we paid, and we lucked in with about 1 hour of rain in the seven days we were there.

Room Number:
20106

Room Block:
20

Arrival:
unimpressive, but quick, room was ready on our arrival

Rooms:
clean and well decorated

Restaurants and Bars:
good OK, we certainly didn't starve. but were bored with the same food daily

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beautiful white sandy beach, paddle boats and sailboats free to use, there was not a long wait to use the equipment

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
jeep safari, good value for the money

Other Comments:
always amazed at the gluttony of some of the guests, we would see people at the buffet carrying heaping plates of food, and esp bacon at breakfast, I know it is vacation, but let's not be pigs people!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Generally enjoyable"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mavis  on Mar 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
212 people found this review helpful

The staff was excellent..most helpful. The rooms where okay...the maid service was hit and miss. The buffet had a lot of variety, some foods where better then others..meat was rather questionable at times. Spent an hour an half making reservations for the special restaurants..and what a joke. The Mediterranean dinner was a buffet, and everyone arrived at the same time, and where all herded through at once...it turned out to be exactly the same food as they serve at lunch with not reservation. The french restaurant was a sit down ..order your food setting. Lovely, but the food was horrible..very poor meat..very tough. Seemed to be stooding in long line ups alot ..No provisions for handicapped people.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube