Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.7 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 3, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 21 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 30, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 15 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 2, 2012

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.2 based on 10 reviews
Last reviewed Dec 5, 2011

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)  

Autopista Sur Km 19, Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Mtzas, Cuba

"Great time"
Posted by: Cheryl on Mar 30, 2012
see all reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews
Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Pictures and Information
Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Varadero Cuba

#4
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.4

Based on 50 reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Information


The new Memories Varadero Beach Resort offers you the value of a 5-star resort for the price of a four-star. Features like the longest water slide of Varadero and its closeness to La Habana make this the perfect place for those seeking action and adventure.



We invite you to create and share unforgettable memories that will last a lifetime with us!

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.4 of 5 50 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  25
Average
  10
Poor
  5
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Leisure (45)
Party (2)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (16)
Solo Traveller (1)
With friend (2)
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (18)
Solo
11 - 20 of 50

"Do not get married at this resort!"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jayde  on Jul 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
256 people found this review helpful

This resort lost my wedding dress up until a hour or two before my wedding. There response was " I know it was stressful but was not a big deal because i had it for the wedding" Also the photographer/video were late. I had 50 guests for the wedding and 49 of them had problems. There was no service at the wedding just people standing around. My dress was switched with someone elses for two days! I was looking for it instead of having a good time. We didnt even get our breakfast in bed. Please no one get married at this resort. I asked for a manager all week and no one would let me talk to him.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Family Vacation"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lisa  on Jul 4, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
263 people found this review helpful

We just returned from a 1 week vacation there. We had a great time, our room was right across from the big pool with the water slide and a short walk to the beach. Our family had a great time swimming all day. Beautiful beaches and the kids loved the pizza and drinks from the buttler on the beach. The pool was great, the kids loved the waterslide and cave to get drinks.
The food was just ok, not a lot of flavour but we didn't starve. All in all, we would go back to this resort. Everyone has to remember that it is Cuba and not Canaday.

Lisa

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't do any activities. The kids show was geared mainly to very young children and girls. Saw one adult show at night and didn't really like it, I have seen better.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The most amazing people"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michelle  on Jul 2, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
264 people found this review helpful

Yes the food was very tasteless and the coffee was not Timmies, but the experience was amazing. What really made this vacation was the staff and towns people we had the pleasure of meeting. What a lovely group of people. They would go above and beyond to help you. Yes! we tipped lots of paso's (mind the spelling)and brought lots of stuff for our staff, but seeing their appreciation and smiles made my trip so worth while. The Beach was breath taking. I would be sitting there with the tanning sun and the cool breeze and a waiter would come up to me and offer me a nice cold beverage or food. Just loved it. Our room was very pleasent, cool, clean and the bar fridge was always full. Big Bathroom and nice view of the stunning ocean from our balcony. Bring sweetner if you are a diabetic. They do not have any there. Bring coffee mate, they only use milk for their coffee, unless you get a late (amazing). Bring peanut butter or your own syrup if breakfast really matters to you. Totally come for a visit. Great tan and good entertainment.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"A Little Too Big For Me"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sarah  on Apr 24, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
173 people found this review helpful

This resort is very, very large. You better bring some walking shoes and don't expect the trolley to come by on a regular basis. We had no problem with walking, but even at check-out the trolley took over 45 minutes to pick us up with our luggage so we ended up just walking from the 30 block. The resort grounds were very nice though and the resort was in great condition.
The biggest downfall of the trip was on the second last day when we both got attacked by either sand fleas, bed bugs or some kind of bug from the pool. I ended up having to go to the resort doctor and get antibiotics, steroid injections for the reaction and creams for the bug bites. My husband got the same type of reaction when we got home so he too is on antibiotics and our family from across the country had to seek medical treatment too. All I could get the resort doctor to say was that we shouldn't go in the pools because they are dirty! YUCK!

The trip was a success all in all though, the weather was over 30 every day. Bring your walking shoes though because the resort is huge. If you don't like to stand in lines for drinks, food, beach chairs etc, consider one of the resorts in town instead. I definitely will never stay at a resort this huge again. 200 or less rooms is good enough for me.

Room Number:
30301

Room Block:
30

Arrival:
We stayed at Sirenis La Salina from the 10th of April until the 17th. We arrived in the middle of the night so the check-in was a bit strange. They herded us into a hot room and we felt like cattle. The only good thing is it took only about 15 or so minutes to be handed an envelope with our room key and a bottle of rum. We took the trolley to our room because it was apparently 1 km from the lobby. I'm not sure if it was that far, but it would have been difficult to find in the middle of the night.

Rooms:
The room itself was quite nice and new. We were in 30301, which was near the beach on the top floor corner. Views of the loud pool and the ocean in the distance. This was our third visit to Cuba, and the room was by far the nicest we've had (twice to Varadero and once to Holguin). We actually didn't choose this resort, our family did. We decided fairly last minute to meet them down there and found an awesome deal with this resort.

Restaurants and Bars:
As far as food goes it was really quite good for Cuba. The buffet had a variety of items to choose from and I was very happy with the cheese selection. Some nights they even had a brie type cheese - my fave. Service varied but we did end up having the same server in the buffet four nights in a row named Janet. She was awesome. Other than her, no one really went out of their way to serve us. It was definitely a three-star resort, not a four-star... but we already knew it would be like that when we booked. We never used any of our restaurant reservations either because you had to book so far in advance and the ones available were either too early or too late. I heard we didn't miss much though.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pools were huge and every time I looked at them I just thought to myself "what a cesspool." They weren't really cleaned and on one occasion, they closed the big pool. I didn't want to know why, but I can only imagine. I guess they dump a ton of chemicals in them every night, but one night we looked in it and it was covered with a disgusting sludge. We only went in about two times before we decided the ocean was a much better option because at least there is a current!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The beach was beautiful. The water is like a huge bath tub and you can see fish swimming in it. I love Cuba for its beaches and this one didn't disappoint. However, the resort was at full capacity when we went, so with over 1,000 rooms there were about 2,500 people staying at the resort. Getting a beach umbrella was almost impossible if you went after 9am. Some people would reserve spots around 6:30am! I found the beach way to crowded and if you don't speak French, you won't be able to talk to anyone since about 90% of the people are from Quebec. Our favourite beach days were when we left the resort and went into Varadero to a public beach with a bar and bought our own drinks. We also ate at several restaurants in town and they were delicious! Last time we were in Varadero we went to Havana and did the jeep tour, and this time we went on the jeep tour again with our family. It was actually really fun. You got to do some snorkelling, have lunch at a ranch, drive a jeep and go boating. I'd recommend this one.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Well appointed hotel, overcrowded, moderate food ."

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Arnold  on Apr 17, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
174 people found this review helpful

Checked in quickly, and transit (eight passenger electric "jitney"). with baggage to room 24108 efficient and friendly. Good location, close to the "peaceful pool", and in line buffet and beach.
All transport baggage, beach supplies, room linen etc electric, efficient and noiseless smll vehicles. Admirable
Main buffet: large choice should satisfy most tastes and needs, most of the time. Good broccoli, baby carrots,salads but potatoes tended to be oily Surprised by lavish supplies of Danish Blue and occasionally excellent salmon. A la carte French and Steakhouse disappointing. Coffee poor
Theatre 9.30 (late for us) and very high amplitude sound, but Cuban night looked like skilful high energy acrobatic dancing fun

Management has an essential practice of room-card as key, and same card re-entered within room immediately to ensure power. Appears wise management, where guests may exit with lights even air-conditioning (widow open)on.
Some well intentioned mis-guided person had substituted key card with a plain card which unfairly by-passed management policy. We found air-conditioning rarely (and then only briefly) available. We both encountered heat rash problems (I added eye-infections) after our tenth of fourteen days.
Pools and beach great.
Do Not Miss the double-decker (sixty metres South of exiting main gate, at road side), 5 pesos All-Day either for stay-aboard (two hours round trip) or alight/board off-and-on, e.g. at Varadero main street, for real Cubans. Why do they appear so much happier greeting each other than my fellow citizens in Ottawa Centre? 32C helps.
Airport scam at Duty-free. One Duty free quoted 98, another 95 $C to the peso.
I chose 98. Selected 25 Guantanamera cigars at 50 pesos.Clerk interrogated calculator: announced "65 $Cdn ". I (mathematician http://maths1951.wordpress.com) remonstrated. "Surely $C51, more or less" She insisted. I borrowed calculator, and confirmed $5 about $C51. She insisted. I left the cigars. At a non-duty free kiosk six metres away: same box. 50 pesos. I asked "How much in $C?". answer "To you, amigo: same price $50 C". I purchased, delighted. Cdn. customs allow 50 cigars.

Room Number:
24108

Room Block:
24

Arrival:
2011 March 26

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fun in the sun"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  vicki  on Mar 19, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
168 people found this review helpful

I went to this resort because we got a good price,I traveled with my husband and our 2 adult children, this was out 3rd trip to cuba, 2nd to varadero.The beach was fantastic, the weather was great. We found the staff helpful, and the rooms were clean and well stocked daily. It is true there is a lot of walking, but this was not a poblem for us. We found the food boring, the buffet had little variety, and often had long line ups and on several occasions there were not enough plates for the guests. The Vino was great, the coffee was good.
The check in, on arival was odd in that it was in a seperate room, from the main lobby, and there were piles of luggage sitting in a hot un airconditioned room. It was stiffling hot, however, within 10 minutes of our arrival we had been processed and were being driven to our rooms, which although were on the main floor, ( we wanted to be on the 2nd, or 3rd floor) were well decorated, we didn't have a TV remote, but otherwise all was well, dispite asking for the remote daily, it arrived the day before we left.
We went on a jeep safari which was well worth the money, we went snorkly, in a fresh water cave, horse back riding and on a river boat tour, it was great, and a nice break from the resort.
The grounds were fantastic, the beach awesome, our only complaint was boring buffet, but it is Cuba, and this is typical. If you want good food, go to Mexico.
all in all, we got value for the money we paid, and we lucked in with about 1 hour of rain in the seven days we were there.

Room Number:
20106

Room Block:
20

Arrival:
unimpressive, but quick, room was ready on our arrival

Rooms:
clean and well decorated

Restaurants and Bars:
good OK, we certainly didn't starve. but were bored with the same food daily

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
beautiful white sandy beach, paddle boats and sailboats free to use, there was not a long wait to use the equipment

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
jeep safari, good value for the money

Other Comments:
always amazed at the gluttony of some of the guests, we would see people at the buffet carrying heaping plates of food, and esp bacon at breakfast, I know it is vacation, but let's not be pigs people!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Generally enjoyable"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mavis  on Mar 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
195 people found this review helpful

The staff was excellent..most helpful. The rooms where okay...the maid service was hit and miss. The buffet had a lot of variety, some foods where better then others..meat was rather questionable at times. Spent an hour an half making reservations for the special restaurants..and what a joke. The Mediterranean dinner was a buffet, and everyone arrived at the same time, and where all herded through at once...it turned out to be exactly the same food as they serve at lunch with not reservation. The french restaurant was a sit down ..order your food setting. Lovely, but the food was horrible..very poor meat..very tough. Seemed to be stooding in long line ups alot ..No provisions for handicapped people.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tony  on Feb 26, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
169 people found this review helpful

sirenis la salina was a great resort.

Room Number:
57767

Room Block:
Ocean veiw

Arrival:
great!

Rooms:
great!

Restaurants and Bars:
great!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
great!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
great!

Other Comments:
great!

Photos: http://media-cdn.tripadvisor.com/media/photo-s/01/2a/3d/05/varadero.jpg

Videos: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQLFVFwp7Q4

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Loved Cuba"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Tara  on Feb 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Party | With Group
194 people found this review helpful

This was a great resort, lot's of walking! The staff were friendly and work hard, so tip well. Pretty good variety in the buffet, a la Carts....soooo good! One piece of advice....carry toilet paper and hand sanitizer with you always. Remeber people you are going to a third world country,so try not to have super high expectations, they do the best they can with what they have. I will most definately go back to this resort!!! Love, love, love Cuba!!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Excellent time."

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  mark & sue  on Feb 5, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
168 people found this review helpful

A beautiful place to stay.. friendly, lots of food,drinks, and fun...lots of walking...(but thats ok) nice beach too...


Returning next year !! Cheers

Room Number:
111

Room Block:
33

Rooms:
nice,,big,,

Restaurants and Bars:
good...
good...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
nice...
nice...
clean....but...the carts that take people to and from are making the grass and stone roads a **mess**

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
shopping...
jeep safari...
visit havana...

Other Comments:
needs more stores..for gifts...

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube