Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)  

Autopista Sur Km 19½, Punta Hicacos, Varadero, Mtzas, Cuba

"Bad Memories"
Posted by: T  on Feb 5, 2017
see all reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews
Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Pictures and Information
Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Varadero Cuba

#4
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.3

Based on 56 reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Information


The new Memories Varadero Beach Resort offers you the value of a 5-star resort for the price of a four-star. Features like the longest water slide of Varadero and its closeness to La Habana make this the perfect place for those seeking action and adventure.



We invite you to create and share unforgettable memories that will last a lifetime with us!

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Reviews

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.3 of 5 56 reviews
Excellent
  5
Very good
  27
Average
  12
Poor
  6
Terrible
  6
By Occasion...
Leisure (51)
Party (2)
Wedding (1)
Business
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (17)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (11)
With Spouse/Partner (21)
Solo
51 - 56 of 56

"Sirenas La Salina Feb-Mar 2010"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Doc  on Mar 7, 2010  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
245 people found this review helpful

I read all the reports, dismissing the bad as recommended by several people and went with an open mind, knowing the resort was large. We were to be there for two weeks. Well it was so bad, we literally had to move. Ran out of red wine, then white wine, Amaratto was missing when we arrived (will be there tomorrow) never did arrive! Vodka ran out, grenadine ran out so your red banama mum's were now blue.

Your Arrival:
Staff did not have any personal info on arriving guests. Had to fill in name, address etc before we got checked in. They were friendly however.

Rooms:
Large and neat, well maintained although the toilets required several flushes to operate properly. There were some unsightly discoveries in the public washrooms when the previous occupant failed to be observant.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food in the buffet was cool as the head chef who sat at our table to explane, "I don't have enough electricity to keep all my tables hot"! Three of the places for a-la-carts were outside but the chairs were splattered with bird droppings and they did not seem to understand why we were repelled. The mexican and french a-la-carts were very very good.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was very nice with lots of palpalas to hide under. The carts which circled the resort to pick up people were hit and miss. My wife put her hand on the rail to help herself aboard at one point, the driver which had just let people off saw her but sped away anyway.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We booked the Havana day trip but by the time the day arrived my wife was not well due to the stress of the food problems and 20 to 30 bug bites. We lost have our approx 140 CUC deposit.

Other Comments:
Ther were a lot of people on the resort with terrible masses of bites on their legs. My wife never was affected but was attacked at Salinas. My several repellents failed to deter whatever was biting us from our necks to our ankles. And not one did I see. Special thanks to our Air Canada rep we were able to exit this resort for a far superior one which we had to pay for but in a few days our bites started to heal and no new ones appeared. So many people we talked to were so discouraged and would never return to this place or any other. I feel sorry for writing this review but it had to be said. We are fairly easy going people who roll with some punches but enough is enough.
We believe this resort is too large for the number of staff. They are overworked to the point that they don't seem to care what kind of impression they put forward.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful Resort"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mary Lou  on Feb 17, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
222 people found this review helpful


Your Arrival:
We arrived late in the evening. They escorted us to a common area where they gave us a complimentary arrival drink and a bottle of rum. They gave us our braclets, room numbers and then we were shuttled to our room. The young bell boy was very friendly and made sure we were comfortable before he left.

Rooms:
Rooms are very clean & spacious. The only downfall is the showers dont work properly. You have to be careful otherwise you will have a flood in your bathroom. There are also signs of the problem with the showere on the walls. If this isnt looked after soon the rooms will be destroyed in no time.
Other then that you have everything you will need in your room. Including an iron, ironing board, an umbrella and a blow dryer.

Restaurants and Bars:
People in these places are extremely friendly and will go out of their to make sure that your stay is pleasant. As far as food goes there is a vast variety of food. People that complain that there wasnt enough food or that the food is horrible are just looking for something to complain about. I am a very picky eater and I never went hungry.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very clean. The grounds people do an excellent job of maintaining these areas. It is not their fault when you get the ruid, drunken tourist that have no respect and litter all over the place.

Other Comments:
We are heading back on March 22nd of this year and we will be staying at the La Salina Sirenis. We cant wait!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I want to go back!"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tola  on Feb 16, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
220 people found this review helpful

Although this was our first time in Cuba, it has certainly been a memorable one... and I would definitely go back to this resort.

Your Arrival:
Feb 2010--- check in was smooth... got our room right away although it clearly states check in time is at 3 (this was around noon)

Rooms:
Nice spacious rooms and cleaned daily

Restaurants and Bars:
All was good.... you are staying at an all inclusive so if you go there with high expectations, you may be disappointed but we thought it was all wonderful... we were not the only guests there

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
All was beautifully manicured and very well tended. Loved the beach

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Did three excursions... all of which were excellent and learning experiences

Other Comments:
Cuba is a beautiful country... the people are so friendly. It may be a poor country but it is educated. I definitely want to go back!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Place"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Donald Macpherson  on Jan 12, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 1998
524 people found this review helpful

I Stayed there in October and i had one of the best vactions there.I will be booking my vaction in Feb just after my birthday for and nother week cant wait loved it.Staff great, place clean and i found the food ok. Just tip and you will be treated like a king.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Group of 8, All Enjoyed the Trip"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  adamrides  on Jan 3, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
238 people found this review helpful

Realizing that experiences at all-inclusives are entirely subjective and can be affected by zillions of factors, here are my thoughts. I got back two hours ago, spent Dec. 26 - Jan. 2 inclusive there with a group of eight (five adults, three teenagers). This was my fourth stay at an all-inclusive, second in Varadero.

- If you book Nolitours, check-in is private and a breeze.
- The resort is far away from town. You cannot walk there. You will need to take a bus or taxi. I didn't expect this going there (but I suppose I could have figured that out by looking at a map!).
- I expected the worst when it came to food (my last experience sucked) but it actually turned out to be pretty good. I don't eat pork but still found plenty of options. Problems: next to impossible to get a la carte bookings (Cuban was surprisingly good, Italian excellent) and the "Nolitours-only" dinners were a gong show (huge crowds, bad food),
- We did the Nolitours Havana excursion and the catamaran excursion. Both were excellent. If booking the catamaran excursion be prepared for lots of drinking in the sun on a boat, followed by a beach visit. Lots of fun. But not great for kids.
- The resort is huge. It's the biggest in Varadero. As a result, be prepared to walk. A lot.
- I like to run, and this was not an option at the gym (eliptical and stair equipment only). All the joggers ran around the outskirts of the resort, dodging pedestrians. Not the best arrangement.
- Staff was always nice and friendly. Entertainment activities do NOT vary too much though.
- I'm generally not fan of shows at resorts but the one they put on with gymnasts and such was simply superb IMO.
- Disco is nonexistent. You'll want to head offsite for late-night entertainment.
- Kids LOVED the waterslide.

Anyway, not the most in-depth review but I suppose I just wanted to say it was a good time, the food was decent and everyone had fun. And isn't that what you generally want in a vacation? :)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"windy,cool but enjoyable"

Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina)
User Rating:  Memories Varadero Beach Resort (ex Sirenis La Salina) Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. dave doherty  on Dec 30, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 1997
627 people found this review helpful

the overall stay was enjoyable, as always we were in the hands of mother nature whom for some reason bore strong cool winds that prevented the family from frolicing in either the ocean or the pools the first 3 days. the rooms were comfortable clean and decorated beyond belief by the courteous house keepers. their artistic talents with the towels was a treat. the grounds were continously kept clean and unobscured of debris. check in was professional, organized, simple and accommodating, as we required our 2 rooms closer than the initail setup. food overall was good but much too much grease if it is not part of your regular diet. a-la-cartes were interesting with credit to the cuban chefs attempts to copy the original nationality (italian, french etc....) if, you are in the search for a vacation away from crowds not the place to visit room for 2300 people. when the sun was out great beach to relax and enjoy the fun. there are 2 pools one an active with water slides, volleyball, bars and restaurant the other a quite lay around, read a book, or bring the young children to and enjoy the day. did not leave the resort but was told that the jeep safari was worth the expense. great family spot would do it again but would contact mother nature first and book warmer weather.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube