Sol Cayo Coco Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Coco > Cayo Coco Hotel Index > Sol Cayo Coco reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Coco Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Mojito

4.3 based on 51 reviews
Last reviewed Apr 28, 2012

Iberostar Cayo Coco

4.0 based on 1 reviews
Last reviewed Jun 23, 2014

Playa Coco

3.8 based on 52 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 30, 2014

Tryp Cayo Coco

3.7 based on 72 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 31, 2014

Memories Caribe Beach Resort

3.5 based on 39 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2014

Sol Cayo Coco  

Cayo Coco, Jardines del Rey, Ciego de Avila.
(Jardines del Rey)

"2nd visit after 9 years"
Posted by: josephine  on Mar 11, 2014
see all reviews

Sol Cayo Coco Reviews
Sol Cayo Coco Pictures and Information
Sol Cayo Coco Cayo Coco Cuba

#7
of 10 Hotels in Cayo Coco

User rating 4.6

Based on 11 reviews

Sol Cayo Coco Information


Located amid exuberant vegetation, this All-inclusive hotel is a few steps away from a beach of fine white sand. Its spacious rooms with terraces overlook the blue sea and the hotel's colorful gardens.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sol Cayo Coco Reviews

Sol Cayo Coco Review: 4.6 of 5 11 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  1
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Leisure (5)
Wedding (1)
Business
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (2)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 11

"2nd visit after 9 years"

Sol Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Sol Cayo Coco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  josephine  on Mar 11, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jan, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
30 people found this review helpful

We visited Sol Cayo Coco the 1st time we went to Cuba in 2004 and we loved the hotel then great staff and rooms were large and very clean well we were not disapointed as the hotel has not changed and a few of the staff still worked there hotel manager is one of the best he walk round every day to make sure everyone is happy and have no complaints if so he will do his best to fix it( he even came to see us off on our last day) the Food was Great no complaints at all

We have visited most of Cuba now and this is the only hotel I wanted to return to Yes if able to return would but the Holiday company we use for our local Airport Thomas Cook have pulled out of Gatwick so I am so glade we went back when we did

Room Number:
2321

Room Block:
overlooking pool

Arrival:
Fast check in drink on arrival porter took luggage to room Bottle of rum and water and fruit in room as returning guest even after 9 years////

Rooms:
yes rooms might be a bit dated but they are very clean

Restaurants and Bars:
great service in all the bars plenty of staff

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
there is a main pool and a quite pool that is realy for adults this is just down a few steps from main pool

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
plenty of activities if you want to join in now has a nice gym with a shower in toilet area and a sauna and as this is a Sol hotel you are able to visit all the other Sol hotel on the islands

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Amazing again this year :)"

Sol Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Sol Cayo Coco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  olivia  on May 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Wedding | Family and Kids
178 people found this review helpful

Loved beening there again, its like a 2nd home to me.
Everyone there is so sweet and caring.
Its so nice how its been a whole year since I've been there,
Yet the staff still know my name and what I drink as soon as I get of the coach.

Room Number:
2218

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is beautiful with a little Restaurant near the rock (a big rock where people go fishing.)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Fabulous vacation"

Sol Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Sol Cayo Coco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Christine  on Mar 19, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
197 people found this review helpful

The Staff were exceptional

Yes, rooms were a bit outdated, but you're in Cuba for God's sake. Food was "okay" but fabulous burgers, pizza at the little hut on beach and snack bar.

Spotlessly clean. I don't know what last reviewer was talking about regarding shade on beaches---lots of shade--just have to get there earllier. Lots of shade by the smaller pool.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Number:
1219

Arrival:
arrived around 10:30---fast, efficient booking

Rooms:
spotless

Maid even folded our clothes for us

Always lots of bottled water

a little outdated decor,but who cares? it was clean and neat and no bugs at all!

Restaurants and Bars:
best restaurant for lunch is snack bar and the little hut down by the beach


lots of choice, but food is bland---remember guys, you are IN CUBA!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
absolutely stunning beaches

always a worker there to get you a chair

lots of shade choices at all times of day---you just have to look

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
always something going on

Other Comments:
overall, wonderful place, beautiful grounds, fabulous staff

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Disapointing experience..."

Sol Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Sol Cayo Coco Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Steven  on Aug 15, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
284 people found this review helpful

This is a review from people who actually used to love to go to Cuba. We spent 10 vacations in Cuba all of them in different resorts (3 to 5 stars). As you would expect, some were better than others, but we have never been as disappointed as we were this year or we wouldn’t have gone back. Sol Cayo Coco did it for us. We'll never go back to Cuba.

Sol Cayo Coco is a 2* hotel in my book and here is why:

Arrival:
Reception desk: once we got there, we were given some forms to fill in first, then we were assigned rooms.
The reception staff was ok most of the time with one exception: when we asked about the transportation options available to go to Playa Pilar we were told that the only way to get there is taking a cab. We found out later from other guests that there is a bus that for 5 CUC offers a round trip of the whole island.

Changing money: there is an office where you can change money. Everything about this office is a mistery. The exchange rate or hours of operation are never posted. They give you as many CUC as they feel like it. If you ask for a receipt, you are going to be told that you cannot get one because the printer is broken.

Rooms:
Rooms: clean but outdated. The equipment is very old and defective; the fridge was broken and the TV showed images only in green. Although, there are about 24 channels, only 3 or 4 are English channels anymore.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food: terrible. Again, we have been to Cuba 10 times before so we didn't have any unrealistic expectations. One member of our group was sick with diarrhoea and fever for 4 days, a thing that have never happened before. There is a first time for everything, I guess :)
Breakfast: was ok. Although boiled potatoes and french fries are offered daily there, you can find something else to eat like eggs or pancakes.
Lunch: is the worst meal of the day. The choices are limited and the food doesn't have any taste.
Dinner: is a little better than lunch. Again, no taste whatsoever but a few more choices.

Salad bar choices: boiled eggs (the leftovers from breakfast)
cabbage
cold boiled pasta
green (unripe) tomatoes
green pepper
cold out of a can peas
cold out of a can green beans
cold boiled potatoes
cold boiled white beans
cold boiled white rice

Warm dishes: warm boiled potatoes
warm out of a can peas
warm out of a can green beans
warm boiled white beans
boiled pumpkin
white boiled rice
black boiled rice
white boiled rice with egg
pasta

Service: there are a few people that work really hard and really deserve their tips. There are others that will totally ignore you unless you tip. Same thing happens at bars.

Bars and drinks: Besides the tipping problem, there are not a lot of drinks available. Only cuban rum and cuban vodka, cuban Cola, Fanta or Sprite. No Martini, Baileys, any type of whisky etc.
The juices available (only orange and pineapple) are made out of powder. Only at breakfast real orange juice is offered.
Also, the barmen fill up the glasses with ice to the top so the juice or drink will pour after is in small quantity. If you ask for “no ice” they are very unhappy and sometimes pretend to not hear you.

The beach bar: opens at around 11 a.m and closes somewhere between 3:30 and 4 p.m. after they give out all the drinks they have to locals, family and friends of the resort's staff. Also food from the resort is given out using the same route. I have seen people from the beach leaving with garbage bags with full bottles of drinks and jugs of beer from this bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach: the resort uses 2 beaches. Both are PUBLIC beaches. Cubans are allowed to use both of them, the beach chairs, the pedal boats and kayaks. There were days when there were hundreds of local people on the beach (specially on Saturdays and Sundays).
The nautical centre with pedal boats, hobby cats and kayaks is shared between Sol and the neighbouring resort Melia. Every day, the staff takes out only 2 pedal boats which are usually used by locals, 3 – 4 kayaks, and 2 hobby cats which are usually used by the staff to make under the table money by offering to take tourists for deep see fishing.
There is no shade on the beach before noon. There are only a few palapas and the seats under them go for high prices.
Also, there are not enough beach chairs on the beach. Some of them are also broken.

Pool: nice. There is a small pool for kids also. Again, there is very little shade around the pools.

Gardens: nice but not great. Someone mentioned in a previous review that the gardeners “are providing tourists with coconut drinks and hats”. Please allow me to rephrase that: the gardeners are selling hats for 5 CUC and coconuts with rum and orange juice from the bar(for which we already paid) for 2-3 CUC. Also, for a price, the gardeners as well as the life guards, will reserve beach and pool chairs in the few shaded spots for tourists willing to pay for this luxury.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Day entertainment: happens only around the pool. On the beach nothing happens. They don't even play music. If you are lucky and ask a lot of questions, you might get to play some beach volleyball.

Night entertainment: there is a mini disco starting at 9 p.m every night for kids. They seem to have a lot of fun.
The show starts at 9:30 p.m. During a 2 week stay we got to see 4 or 5 real shows that were decent. The rest of the shows are made with guests (e.g.; dance competition, pool party, beach party)

Out of resort trips: those offered by the tour operators are ridiculously expensive but you can get a tour of the island in 2 other ways. One, is by using the bus (a double deck) who takes you all the way to Playa Pilar (about 40 Km away from the resort) and on its way there stops at every resort on the island to pick up people. It costs 5CUC for a day (unlimited stops). You can get off and on as many times as you want. At the end of the trip with the bus, the ticket lady will take away your tickets (on which the date is never written) so she can sell them again next week and pocket the money ( look at the serial numbers on the tickets and you will understand better).
The second way, is by using a train that offers a 3 hour tour of the island for 12 CUC/adult and 8 CUC/child. The trains leave at 9 a.m. and 2 p.m.

Other Comments:
Management: First of all, this resort is managed by a Cuban company or it is going through a transition stage in order to pass the management to the cuban company Gran Caribe.
Although they are still allowed to use the name Sol for reasons I do not understand, they proudly posted a sign that says in Spanish something along this lines : “ This hotel is a part of the Gran Caribe hotel group”
The present manager, apparently from Spain, doesn't care about what is going on in the resort right under his nose. He is going to leave in October anyway.

Guests: we went to this resort under the impression that it is a family resort. However, there were quite a few guests allowed to tan on the beach or around the pool half naked (topless). I do not believe that guests exposing their breasts should be allowed in a family resort. The neighbouring resort, Melia, is an adult only resort exactly for this reason.

I hope that my review will help some people decide easily if they want to go to this resort. I wrote here everything I would have liked to read before I decided to buy tickets for our vacation.
I wish you all a great vacation anywhere you decide to go!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First time in Cuba!"

Sol Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Sol Cayo Coco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Marlene  on Apr 12, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
302 people found this review helpful

We went to this hotel in April 2011 with our 2 young kids, this was our first time in the Carribean. We had a very pleasant stay at the Sol!

Room Number:
2130

Arrival:
We arrived at night at around 10 p.m. There was no wait at the desk so we could quickly get our room. Everything was quick and people were very nice.

Rooms:
We were in the room 2130 and it was very clean and comfortable. I think this was one of the refurbished room as the bathroom was brand new. I can say the room was above my expectations. Also it was very quiet, we were in front of the mini putt on ground floor (at our request, we wanted to avoid stairs with our yound children). Please note: there is no clock in the rooms, so bring your watch!

Restaurants and Bars:
There is 1 buffet, 1 snack bar and some à-la-carte restaurants. I had read some bad reviews saying that the food was not too good in Cuba so I went there with a low expectation, and I must say I was pleasantly surprised! The food is very good and there is always someting new. At the buffet you can eat what is offered or go to one of the 3 counters where you can have something cooked in front of you (bergers, meat-vegetable rice, pizza, pasta, ...). The snack bar at the buffet is very good too, at one moment of the day there is churros offered. There was always ketchup, mustard, VH, Tabasco (and more) sauces availiable. We did not try any à-la-carte restaurants.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Very nice!! There is 2 beaches, one is absolutely beautifull and perfect to go with yound children (no big waves, no deep water). The other beach is the one in front of the hotel and has been damaged by erosion, but still we found it interesting anyway. The waves are bigger there and water gets deep quickly. Pools are very nice also: the pool for kids is just perfect and very safe. You will always have a place to sit, there is always more chairs than clients!

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
As we were with our kids we did not buy any all-day excursions, but we did go on the glass bottom boat. This was really great, about 2½ hours long, and we had the chance to do scuba diving there. Amazing! There is the option to visit the Cayo Coco island also, or go to the cities of Moron or Ciego de Avila. We did not do any of it this time, but we will certainly go back in Cayo Coco!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great hotel and value for money"

Sol Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Sol Cayo Coco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  diane poole  on Dec 22, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Dec, 2008
1389 people found this review helpful

This was the first time we had visited Cuba so I am no expert but we have done quite a bit of worldwide travel. My husband, myself and our 13 year old son visited this resort on october 2008. We absolutely loved it here. The staff were very friendly esp the entertainments team. Our son loved every minute of it as there was always something to do. The beaches were lovely. My husband and I are vegetarian and I am a very fussy veggie but there was always plenty of choice, the chefs would cook anything for you and they were great with the kids (making mouse shape pancakes)nothing wastoo much trouble. If I am fussy I would say that some of the paintwork on the hotel was a little tired looking. But we were having such a great time it didn't matter as the rooms were spotlessly clean.(apparently is being refurbed in 2009) I am not one for going anywhere twice but I would certainly visit Cuba again and even the same hotel.It was excellent value for money.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We were there for a friends wedding which went off without a hitch!"

Sol Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Sol Cayo Coco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Courtney05  on Dec 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Dec, 2005 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
369 people found this review helpful

Hello All
I read this site a lot before we went so I thought I would add my own opinion!
From the minute we arrived we were surrounded by paradise! People at the airport were pretty friendly and as long as you kept a smile on your face they were more than welcoming! The airport ran smoothly and after about a 45 minutes everyone in our group was checked into the country and had bags in hand boarding the bus. Our tour guide was great on the way to our hotel.

Arrival:
When we arrived our we checked in with ease and our bags were promptly taken to our rooms and we were escorted as well with our hand luggage. Our room was VERY clean, and the designs on the bed out of towels and blankets everyday were fantastic! We did have a minor glitch with or toilet being a little tempermental but I, being a women of the 21st century, fixed it myself and ended the problem (the flushing device was stuck). We requested our bar be stocked the first day we were there and everyday after it full of water, pop and beer!

Pool:
The pool was heaven! We spent hours lounging around in it and playing hours of volleyball with other guests. While lounging by the pool we were greated by staff who came bearing ice water and yummy run drinks served in coconuts! Always lots of free lounge chairs in sunbathing!

Food:
Now about the food, I have never ate so much! Everything was amazing! We loved the buffet restaurant as the selection was awesome! We ate at the Cuban traditional restaurant for their lunch buffet and a dinner and both times it was really good...excellant lobster. The italian restaurant wasn't too great but it was alright. The 24 hour snack and bar was FANTASTIC! They had the most amazing hamburgers and pizzas I have ever had! We ate there in between meals! The gift shop even kept a supply of Pringle chips for snacking on (which we depleted by the end of the week!) Overall I loved the food! the breads, cheese, seafood was to die for!

Excursions:
We went on 2 excursions while we were there. The first was the Cuban spectacular, which took us on a sugar plantation tour and train ride, to Moron, and another city, cuban cigar factory.....the list goes on! You definately got your moneys worth! The second trip was a speed boat for 2 and snorkel trip...AWESOME! water was calm and crystal clear.... excellant for using my under water camera for pics of the cool fish. We also went on the bottomless boat ride and snokelled at the coral reef which was amazing... the water was a little rough so a couple people were seasick but for my first time snokelling i loved it! We rented scooters and took a tour of the island and found a restaurant Playa Prohibita....the biggest lobster I have ever seen....it was the best seafood of the week!

Conclusion:
We were there for a friends wedding which went off without a hitch! They did an amazing job of making their day so special with their great service and little added touches.
Well I can't wait to go back...
PS... I drank the water all week and had zero problems with getting sick

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The Jewel of the caribbean"

Sol Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Sol Cayo Coco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Claire  on Sep 11, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Sep, 2005
2679 people found this review helpful

Before i start i'd like to say we have been to the caribbean a few times so I feel qualified to compare. My husband my daughter (14) and I spent 2 weeks here in May/June 2004. Im due to go back on 15th September 2005 only this year we are going for 3 weeks. And actions speak louder than words. Beaches are to die for the rooms are spacious and clean and Cayo Coco Hotel is bright and breezy. We didnt see our daughter much as she was so well entertained and any parent knows if your kids are happy you have a better time. The food is ok the pool is lovely there is plenty to do if you want to do it and you can find a quiet spot if you just want to relax and chill on your own. The animation team are a good bunch and we had a ball in their company whilst we were there. If this years trip is half as good as last year I know we will have a great time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"a holiday of a lifetime"

Sol Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Sol Cayo Coco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  samantha wallace  on Aug 1, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Aug, 2005
2944 people found this review helpful

food was excellent plenty for all ages to do: volley ball, football, salsa kids clubs staff are top workers and look afta you to the full the entertainment staff do an excellent job shows every night are great--must see an all round holiday of a life time and i hope to go back

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"INCREDIBLE"

Sol Cayo Coco
User Rating:  Sol Cayo Coco Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jen  on Jul 15, 2005  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2005
3052 people found this review helpful

I have travelled to 6 different islands in the caribbean and this resort in Cuba was by far my favourite. In fact I travelled there for a week in April of 2005 and went back again for another week in June of 2005. The resort is beautiful and well maintained...the beach is incredible, white sand and water in the ocean you can see right through with tons of fish swimming around your legs. The food was pretty good, which is impressive even for me to say because I am a picky eater. Most of all I have to say the staff were incredible. Very friendly, always willing to help you out...any of them would bend over backwards for you for nothing. The entertainment team were great...you could see how much work they put into their jobs everyday and just how much they loved it. The nightly entertainment was also fantastic...the shows the entertainment team put on required so much prep time by them and the disco was always a blast, with all the staff going and dancing with the tourists teaching salsa dancing. They are incredible dancers!! I would recommend this place any day and plan on returning again really soon. I can honestly say a lot of the staff there have become family to me.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube