Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Sol Sirenas Coral Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 21, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort  

Avenido de las Americas y Calle K, Reparto La Torre, Varadero, Matanzas
(Varadero Maps)

"Very nice resort Sol Sirenas Coral"
Posted by: Alex on Oct 8, 2014
see all reviews

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Reviews
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Pictures and Information
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Varadero Cuba

#38
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 2.9

Based on 13 reviews

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Information


A favourite place for families, this all inclusive hotel offers a wide range of entertainment and activities.


Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Reviews

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 2.9 of 5 13 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  6
Average
  1
Poor
  1
Terrible
  4
By Occasion...
Leisure (10)
Party (2)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (3)
Solo
1 - 10 of 13

"Very nice resort Sol Sirenas Coral"

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
User Rating:  Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alex  on Oct 8, 2014  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
5 people found this review helpful

This is my review of Sol Serenas Coral resort in Varadero. I spent 7 fabulous days and made many friends. Many travelers form Canada and Europe as well some from South America while I was there. Entertainment is nice and guys from entertainment always willing to take you out at night to go dancing and make you company. Usually we would go as a group and have fun at some clubs in Varadero. Rooms are not the best but food is very nice. Beach is amazing!

Arrival:
Check in was very fast without any issues.

Rooms:
Clean but bit outdated for my taste. They could renovate rooms to make it more appealing!

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants and bars are nice. They make nice drinks at the bars!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful! What to say more than gorgeous beach!

Other Comments:
Loved it and I will definitely go again to this resort!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great view from my room"

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
User Rating:  Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  mendy  on Jul 25, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
14 people found this review helpful

It is my second time visiting Varadero and I enjoyed the city like I never wanted to go back, my holiday was the best coupled with the fact that the hotel made it a lot easier for me to enjoy myself and have a nice time in the city. I had the room on the second floor and the view was great as well. There were lots of options when it comes to food as I found out that they even had more options especially for vegetarians and itís nice to know that vegetarians are looked after and things provided for their consumption. The lobby bar was pretty awesome as I thought it was way cooler than some I have been to. It is practically home away from home for me, I was well taken care of, the service was awesome, the staff was great and the food was tasty like meal cooked at home. I loved the Italian and Mexican restaurants way better, the buffet restaurant was great and had lots of options. I needed a place to rest during my vacation and this was the perfect spot for me, it is quite peaceful and everything in the hotel was working well. The rooms are clean so was the hotel grounds and nothing required them repairing. The garden view and pool view was pretty amazing; I will be back here again when my next vacation comes. The gorgeous white sand crystal clear beach was a bonus and I loved it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"cuba, a beautiful but annoying country"

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
User Rating:  Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  sam  on May 17, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
26 people found this review helpful

first of all, we all know that Cuba is a poor country, we go there for a vacation because its safe and the bonus part is that it helps them out when we do. we tip when we want and we allow ourselves to get ripped off because we know they're poor so f*** it right?.. but god damn! it gets to be so annoying that no body will do a thing without expecting a peso in return. I went to a store to buy a case of 5 cigars they charged me 18 pesos, the next day I went to the same store for another box and it was 15...wow. another time I went into a taxi and told him where I wanted to go to eat, he offers to take me here and there instead and I said no thanks, then he brings me to this house where they make food I said no no no, he says ok ok. and takes me where I had originally asked to be taken, that shit could be scary like wth! its like everyone wants to make a dollar, they're f***ed!! as for sol sirenas coral resort, this is suppose to be 2 resorts in one and you can use the facilities at both...nope!! I went there and the coral side was closed and its the nicer side too, and they didn't even notify me of it either. they use the entertainment stage at the coral side though because the sirenas side doesn't have one. the sirenas rooms I have no complaints, it was clean and I tipped the maid so I was okay there, I had clean towels everyday and so forth. the hallways are full of roaches and other flying insects. and not often swept after being stepped on. they have hardly any entertainment throughout the day and their evening entertainment seemed to be the same throughout the entire week. it began to get very boring. Oh ya, a big FYI is that most all people at this resort are old. I'm talking older like 50-70 years old. very few young people. the beaches are extremely nice. I loved the beach. they have a bar near the beach which was a good thing, and snacks too. the swimming pool on the sirenas side seemed to be green and dirty most of the week so we walked over to the coral side which was inconvenient because they have no bars open no washrooms working because the side was not open. so we pretty much didn't go into a swimming pool our entire stay. the food was okay some of it was actually very good but the only problem was they served the EXACT same food the entire week, same things for breakfast same things for lunch. same same same. Also their coffee isn't that great neither is the milk. maybe its just because of what I'm use to though. other than that the people are pretty nice and the resort is well maintained. they do work hard, that I can see but I guess I just was expecting more from what I saw in the pictures before I purchased my vacation. thanks

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Nice week"

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
User Rating:  Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Alec  on Dec 15, 2012  >  5 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
137 people found this review helpful

I booked with Hola Sun direct using their web site. Great price and an agent phoned within 20-30 mins to make sure everything was correct. Flight was with Can Jet, smooth check in and great flight. Hola Sun on the ground wasnít at the airport in Varadero so things didnít go well, no package, no briefing time or place and wasnít helpful at the resort.

We arrived at Sol Sirenas Coral at approx 11:00 AM, check in was fast and our room was ready. Ocean View 4th floor, just what we requested. Everything worked in the room and it was OK.

RESORT: Showís some age, however, clean and the grounds are well kept. We had one small problem and it was fixed within 30 mins after it was reported.

FOOD: Not the greatest at both Buffets, however, we did find enough to eat. Breakfast was the worst, not enough coffee, most food was cool, very little bacon, didnít see a sausage all week, omelette was the best. Lots of bread and cheese. The beach buffet on the Coral side was the best food, however, the guy on the outside grill could do only one thing at a time that caused a long line and upset people.

STAFF: The service staff and the bar staff were great. It seamed the higher you got the worst it was. One woman walked by me four times near the front desk and not once asked if I needed help or was I helped. Changing money, two were chatting between themselves and didnít look at me, another lady got in line, the third lady walked up to the counter and waved her money, spoke Spanish, they looked up changed her money before looking at us. RUDE

ENTERTAINMENT: Both the evening & on the beach, very good.

THANK YOU: Patricia on the front desk; Maydel at the breakfast & lunch buffet Coral side; Annelys at the dinner buffet Sirenas side; John at the Coral Lobby bar and Mercenes & Bruno at the beach bar Coral. Outstanding job, thanks.

WOULD I RETURN: Yes

Room Number:
1416

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Value maybe, but not great"

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
User Rating:  Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  paul  on Apr 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
208 people found this review helpful

Not great but perhaps good value at the price. Food is just OK. Place is not well maintained and is getting to be a little run down. Pool and beach bar closes too early. Would not go back but rather spend a little more $s and look for better.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My family and I loved it!"

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
User Rating:  Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Orlando Rosales  on Jan 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
265 people found this review helpful

Highly recommended to everyone! It is very family oriented. Great to bring kids. They have something for everyone. My husband, my son and I spent a week at this resort and absolutely loved it! The beach is great, the service is perfect. The staff was really nice and attentive all the time. The entertaimentteam is phenomenal. They have activities for all ages throu out the day. The gym is small but clean and well equipped. They offer high-quality shows every night. My son came to every show with us.

We would go back to the same resort anytime!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"At times good"

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
User Rating:  Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  stew  on Jul 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Party | With Group
316 people found this review helpful

My stay ay the resort was average. Food was never good no matter where you went and my stomach and body reacted to this the first night there. The 24 hour bar is where most of our group ended up going for meals which is burgers, hot dogs, or fries. Eating that meal gets kind of boring every day and you cant even get real ketchup as they fill the ketchup bottles with bbq sauce when they run out... Drinks were good but thats a given you cant really mess that up, as well as the beach. Rooms are okay, but the AC is VERY POOR. We ran it the whole time on the coldest setting with the room sealed up and it didnt make a difference so not much sleep was had tossing and turning all night long. Overall the resort could be way better. If you dont mind eating crappy food, sleeping bad with no AC and just want a vacation on the beach getting drunk its perfect but I suggest you look into others. Our trip was 1800 a person for 6 nights and i gladly would have paid 2500 for any other which was better.

Room Number:
2135

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Are people crazy?"

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
User Rating:  Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  john  on Mar 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
364 people found this review helpful

The place was clean, the food not to bad.. The staff was good. was not to far from anything... Rent a scooter well worth it..... Hey for a cheap vacation you could much worse!!! I would go again...

Arrival:
january 28 2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Would not stay here again"

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
User Rating:  Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 1.0 of 5

Posted by:  Beverley  on Feb 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
353 people found this review helpful

We were upgraded to this Hotel = service very very poor = had to ask for toilet paper, mini bar was not stocked - had to ask for the water and pop in mini bar - children every where and cigarette smoke everywhere also - need non smoking areas for non smokers and children. Health hazzard!!!! Too far from the town of Varadero - Much too big - would not stay here again

Room Number:
32117

Room Block:
3200

Arrival:
Jan 9, 2011

Rooms:
Okay, I guess - service wasn't the greatest - had to keep asking for toilet paper, shampoo and soap.

Restaurants and Bars:
Mini bar was never stocked properly. Always short pop or beer

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Okay - need some upkeeping on statues etc.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Unreal!"

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
User Rating:  Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Cory  on Oct 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2010 | Party | With Group
387 people found this review helpful

I don't know what this Brad guy below me is talking about. You're spending around 700$ to go to a 4 star resort in a 3rd world country... what do you expect? Yes the food is awful, that's because they don't spice anything.

Besides that, everything was pretty good. I met a lot of very nice people from many different places of Canada (Montreal, Sherbroke, Toronto, Calgary, Quebec City) which I still speak with daily. Anytime of day you can find something going on on the resort. People who complain that there "arent any activites" going on just didn't look hard enough. For example, one day yes they were setting up a pool activity, and it started raining pretty heavily. Because of this, they shut down the pool activity for the day. However, about 20-25 of us started having a dance party in a elevated section of the pool, which is still one of my most fondest memories.

The beaches were beautiful. I mean how can you go wrong? It's exactly how you picture it, perfect sand and a nice blue water.

Two things I will say however, is bars did tend to run out of certain alcohols at times. However, they were usually quick act in getting a new bottle to that bar.. not to mention there is a bar every 40 feet, are you THAT lazy? And secondly, although the disco looks like it could be a lot of fun (big dance floor, big stage, lots of surrounding area, big bar, lots of couches) there was litearlly 5 people there every time we went.

Overall, you get what you paid for. People expecting to go down there for 700$ and stay in upperclass 5 star resorts and eat the best food possible just have to high of expectations on what to expect on a trip like this.

I would recommend this resort for Groups of young 20, early 30s.. Honeymooners, family's with older children (14+) and single travelers looking to meet new people and have a great time.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube