Sol Cayo Guillermo Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cuba Hotel Index > Sol Cayo Guillermo reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Guillermo Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Daiquiri

4.3 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 29, 2014

Sol Cayo Guillermo  

Cayo Guillermo, Jardines del Rey, Ciego de Avila
(Jardines del Rey)

"paradise"
Posted by: delia on Mar 27, 2015
see all reviews

Sol Cayo Guillermo Reviews
Sol Cayo Guillermo Pictures and Information
Sol Cayo Guillermo Cayo Guillermo Cuba

#3
of 4 Hotels in Cayo Guillermo

User rating 4.3

Based on 22 reviews

Sol Cayo Guillermo Information


The Cayo Guillermo All-Inclusive hotel complex is situated on one of the most beautiful beaches of Cayo Guillermo.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sol Cayo Guillermo Reviews

Sol Cayo Guillermo Review: 4.3 of 5 22 reviews
Excellent
  13
Very good
  5
Average
  2
Poor
  1
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (9)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
With friend (1)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
11 - 20 of 22

"Second time visitors! Great value and a wonderful staff!"

Sol Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Sol Cayo Guillermo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jen  on Mar 15, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
423 people found this review helpful

Had a great time at Sol Cayo Guillermo. This was our 2nd trip to the Sol, the first one was 2.5 years ago with the whole family at Christmastime. We enjoyed it then and had an even better stay this time. Highly recommend this resort if you like a calm yet fun atmsophere on a beautiful beach. Don't be put off by the 3.5 star rating- this resort offers 5 star service and surroundings.

Your Arrival:
A quick trip from the airport- we were on the bus and on our way within 15 minutes of landing! The Sol Cayo Guillermo is furthest away from the Cayo Coco airport, but even with stops at other hotels, we were checked in and in our room an hour later. Being returning guests, and SOL MELIA Awards members, our room was ready for us, even though it was not yet noon when we arrived.

Rooms:
Very nice, oceanfront, bungalow room- # 508. It was apparently a renovated room- not fancy but clean and everything worked. Lots of hot water and of course a great view. A good location, not too far to the pool, restaurants, etc. A small fridge, working safe and television ( with CTV and TSN) are really all you need!

Restaurants and Bars:
The Buffet- El Eden, is terrific-best food we have had in Cuba. Breakfast offers a full selection. Lots of fresh fruit, yogurt and cereals, meats and cheeses as well as made to order omlettes, eggs, bacon, french toast and crepes. Plenty of fresh squeezed orange juice too. Coffee and tea are the only things that are 3 star- from a machine. But if you want a good ( great!) coffee, espresso or capucinno, just head to the bar where excellent coffees are to be had. Tea? Well- that's something to look forward to when you have to go home!

Lunch - we always had at the Ranchon. Excellent grilled fish (snapper usually), chicken or pork chop served with fries and coleslaw. Ice cream for dessert. There is also a small grill set up near the beach bar for a quick hamburger, beef or chicken on a bun. Also a panini grill for sandwiches near the main bar.

Dinner at the buffet was always great. Lots of variety and delicious bananas-fruit flambe for dessert. A La Cartes were excellent too. Really, the food is very good!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The grounds are very well kept. Gardeners are working all the time and it shows! The pool is clean and beautiful. Lots of loungers, though they did tend to get "saved" early in the day. We spent most of our time at the beach where it was always easy to find lounge chairs and a palapa for shade. It was a bit breezy during our stay, but on the calmer days there was never a long wait to get a kayak or paddle boat. The beach is beautiful and perfect for long walks in either direction. Snorkelling is good too- best on the calmer days of course.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't do any of the trips this time, though people we met seemed happy with their experiences. We did use the bikes almost every day ( free for the first hour and 1 CUC per hour after that). Fun to ride around - down to the bridge where the fisherfolk are busy and pelicans swoop in to be fed a snack!
We also took a taxi to Pilar Beach one day. Taking the bus, little train or a taxi will cost you 5 CUCs each- so really a taxi is the way to go as you can choose your own schedule that way. Pilar Beach is beautiful- about 5 kms away(good destination for runners). There is a restaurant there and bathrooms. Costs 1 CUC to rent a lounge chair but definately worth it! We were there from 10 a.m til 3 p.m. - a great beach to walk, swim and just take in the beauty.

Other Comments:
Sol Cayo Guillermo is a great resort for anyone looking for a relaxing holiday on a beautiful beach. The resort seems to cater to middle aged and older couples and very young families. Even with the start of March Break we did not notice an influx of highschool students. We heard at the airport from other travellers that they were happy to be leaving the NH Krystal and Tryp Cayo Coco as those places had been inundated with many high school students the day before.

The staff are friendly, the food is great and the beach is beautiful. What more could anyone ask for?

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"tarpontastic"

Sol Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Sol Cayo Guillermo Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  notty marsh  on Jul 22, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jul, 2009
1229 people found this review helpful

hello me and sandra stayed in april 09 and we have already booked for may 10 cant wait people very nice pleasant and helpfull hope they have finished the pier just of the sol enjoyed very much xxx

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our holiday at the Sol Cayo Guillermo"

Sol Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Sol Cayo Guillermo Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mrs Mellor  on May 2, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: May, 2009
1172 people found this review helpful

This Hotel could be better....rooms could be better furnished , beach is fantastic but lacks things like...new sun loungers with mattress's , wind breaks , beach bar , etc...Staff are very friendly !..Food was good , but very repetative!..Bathroom was very badly lit , with lighting only above the wash basin...quite dark in the actual shower , which we thought was quite bad...The seating in the evening watching the entertainment was very uncomfortable and every evening our drinks were more often than not , served in thin plastic cups !..apparantly short of glasses ? We did enjoy our holiday , but as it was our 6th visit to the Carribean..we were quite dissapointed with this years choice.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"It is breathtaking"

Sol Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Sol Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Johanne & Claude from St Hubert  on May 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2009
394 people found this review helpful

Arrival: May 3th to May 10
Check-in was quick we where only 2 that arrived...

Rooms:
Beautiful spacious room (305),2e floor with part wiew of the sea Very quiet

Restaurants and Bars:
The 2 restaurants are very good....the buffet also but not much variety but we always found something to eat....and the most important we where not sick...The service is fantastic!!!!....I have never seen a hotel in Cuba with such fantastic service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool is great and the beach is wonderful.....Lots of papalas on the beach...so you dont have to get up early and reserve your chairs. The same goes for the pool....

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went to Moron, to an alligator farm and did a boat drive in a laguna...was very pleasant. We did not do any activities at the hotel...

Other Comments:
The grounds are magnificent, a lot of beautiful palm trees...it is breathtaking..We went 9 times to Cuba and this is the most beautiful of all....We cant wait to return.....so do not hesitate to go!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best place on earth?"

Sol Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Sol Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Sandra Taylor  on Jul 22, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jul, 2008
1683 people found this review helpful

My husband and I have holidayed at the Sol twice and are booked to go again Jan 09 - can't wait! The staff are so helpful and pleasant, the place is so peaceful and I have never seen such a beautiful coloured ocean. Just the ideal place for a relaxing holiday, just chill out and enjoy the peace. No shops, arcades, night clubs - what bliss! Roll on January 09 so we can see all our old friends again, especially Nelson, Dany, Adianes, Jose etc.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wedding Anniversary"

Sol Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Sol Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  David Mantle  on Feb 8, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Feb, 2008
2784 people found this review helpful

For our 25th anniversary we decided to visit Cuba for the first time and choose this hotel. It was a wise choice. The food and service are very good. There are quite a few excursions available , both local and more distant, which enabled us to see this wonderful country. The hotel may not be the most perfect but it does represent very good value for money.The food is first rate and the staff can not do enough for you. The beach is cleaned every morning and is shallow and safe . The waters are some of the clearest I have seen anywhere in the world. We both enjoyed our stay and hope to return in the not to distant future (funds permitting).

Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Relaxing and Amazing"

Sol Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Sol Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Mr & Mrs Jones  on Nov 8, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Nov, 2007
3833 people found this review helpful

Went on hols in Dec 06 to get married in the Cayo's what an amzing and exilarating experience, you have never experienced customer service like it always on hand to help and make your time as enjoyable as possible. The food is great and the entertainment is second to none. Got married on the Beach in the Blazing sunshine well organised (just had to turn up) it feels like there is no expense spared in this tropical bliss they even made us a 3 tier wedding cake what more can you ask. Just thought to add on the end have booked for March 08 already !! Can't Wait to return !!!!!

Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Best Holiday Ever"

Sol Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Sol Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Joanna  on Oct 28, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Oct, 2007
3817 people found this review helpful

The Sol offers excellent value for money in a real friendly Cuban Style. Friendly staff, always happy and helpful. Quiet area , no shops suits us fine ....Already booked for Easter 08. Looking forward to seeing all our freinds. Remember to take little gifts - life's tough in Cuba

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Superb"

Sol Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Sol Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  april fleur  on Jun 13, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Jun, 2007
3851 people found this review helpful

We went to the Cayo Guillermo after having our hotel changed last minute and I am sooo glad.

This was our honeymoon and was made very special by all of the staff.

The reception staff and restaurant staff went out of thier way to be helpful.

The whole place is very clean and the rooms are large.

I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a very special holiday.

Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"2ND HONEYMOON"

Sol Cayo Guillermo
User Rating:  Sol Cayo Guillermo Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  vania seevaramen  on Jan 4, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Cuba
Visited on: Jan, 2007
4559 people found this review helpful

This was our second vist to the sol cayo guillermo, we went for our 2nd honeymoon the hotel staff is fantastic and always make you feel very special as do the reception staff.

The food is excellent, the rooms are clean and the maids are friendly always leaving you flowers and presents, we will be returning in july for the 3rd time and we can't wait it is like comming home.

A tip for you is to take some small gifts for the staff we like to take a cheap cd player, medicine for children and perfume testers and pens. We hope that you enjoy you stay at this fantastic hotel as much as we do.

Susan Moore.

Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube