Sol Club Cayo Largo Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Cayo Largo > Cayo Largo Hotel Index > Sol Club Cayo Largo reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Cayo Largo Hotels with Similar Ranking

Sol Pelícano

4.2 based on 6 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 1, 2014

Ole Playa Blanca (ex GC Playa Blanca and Barcelo Cayo Largo)

4.0 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 17, 2015

Sol Club Cayo Largo  

Cayo Largo del Sur, Archipielago de los Cannareos
(Cayo Largo Maps)

"Relaxing Hotel."
Posted by: Louis  on Jun 25, 2017
see all reviews

Sol Club Cayo Largo Reviews
Sol Club Cayo Largo Pictures and Information
Sol Club Cayo Largo Cayo Largo Cuba

#1
of 5 Hotels in Cayo Largo

User rating 5.0

Based on 96 reviews

Sol Club Cayo Largo Information


This hotel is ideal for an unforgettable holiday in the largest island of the Antilles.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sol Club Cayo Largo Reviews

Sol Club Cayo Largo Review: 5.0 of 5 96 reviews
Excellent
  96
Very good
  2
Average
  0
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (15)
Leisure (59)
Party (13)
Wedding (3)
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (45)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (16)
With Group (1)
With Spouse/Partner (26)
Solo
91 - 98 of 96

"Astonishing beaches!"

Sol Club Cayo Largo
User Rating:  Sol Club Cayo Largo Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mr. Andre Legault  on Jun 26, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2010
810 people found this review helpful

Cayo largo is well kept secret. Frequent flyer to the caribbean islands for diving, I went 3 times to this place as it is perfect for quiet people running away from the crowd. Diving experience: Some sites are great for beginners, others are more advanced... Perhaps not the best but somehow unique and very worth the affordable price. In April-May excellent water visibility, but January was also good. The Sol Club is the top of the line in Cayo Largo because of the beautiful surroundings and beach (Restaurant & bar on the beach!). First trip was in Villa Capricho (lovely single huts)but it has been wiped out by a hurricane. Long life to this paradise and make sure you plant a tree, ask the locals.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We have made many friends in Cayo Largo"

Sol Club Cayo Largo
User Rating:  Sol Club Cayo Largo Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Shirleyujest  on Apr 1, 2009  >  7 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
554 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 16 - 23
Leaving Montreal, the Air Transat flight was great. Well, as great as it can be. We know we are going to be in paradise in a few short hours so we can put up with a non-eventful flight down. Arrrival at the airport was pretty quick and efficient. It's a small airport and we were a full plane. There were quite a few Customs booths open and going through Customs was "painless". Through the door (once past the Customs agent in the booth) we went through the "scanner". Easy. There is no money exchange booth here - it's on the other side where the departures are so we decided to wait til we got to the resort. Our luggage was waiting for us once through Customs, easy to find, and we walked through the door to find our Rep. Kim pointed us in the direction of our bus. We got on and waited for everyone else to get on. There were plenty of seats but last few "stragglers" on the bus didn't / couldn't sit down. The bus driver was getting a little impatient waiting for these tourists to get on - those that needed one more cigarette after their flight - so, as soon as they got on he closed the door and took off. The stragglers had to hang on for dear life. Although there were plenty of seats, some folks thought they would use the seats for their "carry on" luggage, therefore taking a seat away from a passenger.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We have made many friends in Cayo Largo"

Sol Club Cayo Largo
User Rating:  Sol Club Cayo Largo Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Shirleyujest  on Apr 1, 2009  >  7 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
554 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 16 - 23
Leaving Montreal, the Air Transat flight was great. Well, as great as it can be. We know we are going to be in paradise in a few short hours so we can put up with a non-eventful flight down. Arrrival at the airport was pretty quick and efficient. It's a small airport and we were a full plane. There were quite a few Customs booths open and going through Customs was "painless". Through the door (once past the Customs agent in the booth) we went through the "scanner". Easy. There is no money exchange booth here - it's on the other side where the departures are so we decided to wait til we got to the resort. Our luggage was waiting for us once through Customs, easy to find, and we walked through the door to find our Rep. Kim pointed us in the direction of our bus. We got on and waited for everyone else to get on. There were plenty of seats but last few "stragglers" on the bus didn't / couldn't sit down. The bus driver was getting a little impatient waiting for these tourists to get on - those that needed one more cigarette after their flight - so, as soon as they got on he closed the door and took off. The stragglers had to hang on for dear life. Although there were plenty of seats, some folks thought they would use the seats for their "carry on" luggage, therefore taking a seat away from a passenger.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cayo Largo is for lovers"

Sol Club Cayo Largo
User Rating:  Sol Club Cayo Largo Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Verycoldcanadian  on Apr 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2009
561 people found this review helpful

Arrival: April 16 to 23
Very speedy arrival , a welcome drink at the hotel, and music in the breeze, we felt we were home in paradise. The rooms were not ready so it was off to the beach. It was our first time here, but we stayed at the Barcelo last time and wanted to try a different hotel.

Rooms:
The rooms were nice but they all are anytime you go to the tropics. The bed was a little on the hard and bumpy side but I do believe that I can sleep on a rock if I desired.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bars were stocked and service was good as can be expected with a fair amont of the hotel in use. I do not die of dehydration or hunger. The food is decent and there were a few not-so-great meals and a bunch of good ones. We only went to the one al a carte on the beachfront and it was a little less than great but there is always the buffet so it was all good !

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was in great shape and the waves began on day two. Two sections of beach actually washed out on one day but were returned the next day. This was an amazing sight. They have a huge pool and I went in it once for a dip just to say that I did. I am not a pool person at all so I found it to have a strange odour and I guess that is because of the chemicals that they must put in.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
No tours this time but they main activity we do is beach walk and there were only a couple of spots that it was a little rocky. We are active people so this was not problem.

Other Comments:
All in all, a good resort. I would not want to bring children here because there is nothing for them to do. I would also not bring older kids here because of the nudity that they WILL encounter. Cayo Largo is for lovers, and this is a live and let live atmosphere they cater to all kinds of couples. If you are not accepting or approving of this then please go somewhere else. The food is not great, it is good enough for us, and this is Cuba so it is the beach that is our main goal. If you are lucky sometimes you can meet the nicest people,..wearing a smile !

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"All workers were helpful and friendly."

Sol Club Cayo Largo
User Rating:  Sol Club Cayo Largo Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jennifer from Uxbridge, Ontario  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
574 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 20 - 27
We recently had another great week at Sol Cayo Largo. This was a return visit and we were not disappointed. We flew Skyservice from Toronto and had the best flight experience with them than ever before. We took medical supplies from Not Just Tourists and had been sent a waiver form Skyservice for 15kg to cover the two bags. Check in was smooth and efficient. On arrival at the airport, Cuban officials asked for one of the med bags to be opened. We complied, showed the paperwork and all was well. We took a "taxi bus" to the hotel, 2 pesos each, and arrived before the busload of other guests. Although we did not get the room we had requested months ago, we were settled into another oceanview room within 30 minutes. (More on this at the end).

Resort comments
All workers were helpful and friendly. They were appreciative of the gifts we handed out. The room was very comfortable, with clean towels supplied daily. Oceanview rooms have coffee makers and we took a glass of milk from the dining room at breakfast and kept it in the mini fridge. The food was plentiful and varied, and we had no complaints. At home, we eat carefully prepared, healthy food and take great pleasure in eating well - we have never been hungry on Cayo Largo. We did not eat at the a la carte restaurant as we were happy with buffet choices. Drinks were good, with lots of options. We used small Bubba mugs so were able to cut down a bit on waste. The beach to the bottom of the boardwalk was often almost washed away at times, but there was still enough for one chair. To the west, the beach widened and people were able to group chairs, rather than placing side by each. Umbrellas were handed out with the first beach towel and were ours until check out. There were lots of chairs all week long.

We took the NJT bags to the physician on site and he accepted them on behalf of the clinic and filled in the required paperwork. We would do this again and urge others to consider being not just tourists.

Back to the room change. When we spoke to the "front desk" people and explained that we had requested a specific room, and we did pursue this politely and respectfully, we were told that we could next day be moved to a room beside the one we had wanted. This was fine, since the first one had a very obstructed ocean view. I am really not sure if the MAS number helped. It did allow us a later check out as apparently it guarantees one based on availability. To sum up, a week at Sol was relaxing and we look forward to our next visit. I hope this review is helpful and addresses some questions that readers may have.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Another great trip"

Sol Club Cayo Largo
User Rating:  Sol Club Cayo Largo Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rob from Toronto  on Jan 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
582 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 30th - Feb 6th
A group of nine of us departed Pearson via Skyservice Friday Jan 30th. Flight was delayed as they had some systems issue come up after we pushed back from the gate. Back to the gate we went holding our collective breath hoping that we would actually leave that night. The captain came on the intercom explaining the situation and that we would be departing shortly. We did.

Now, I am not a complainer by nature and, hey, I am going on vacation, but the legroom on Skyservice is atrocious. I am not a big guy by any stretch but for the first time ever I felt truly uncomfortable on a plane, and I travel alot for work--in hospitality too! How I wish that WestJet was still servicing this route.

That said, we arrived after a very interesting landing--pouring rain, low clouds and windy--and were kept on the plane until the downpour abated. After about 10-15 minutes we finally were granted our freedom and were quickly through customs, grabbed our bags and off to the Sol Club we headed. Check-in was quick and efficient.

Rooms:
We had room 1024 for our stay. Close to the pool bar and steps from the eastern boardwalk to the beach. This is the first trip in five that we did not have an oceanview room. Never missed it and would put the extra cash in my pocket if I could have 1024 every stay going forward. You get a semi ocean view (if you are on the upper floor) and the block of units is in a quiet area. Very sweet! Rooms were bright and clean. The beds could use a makeover though. Interestingly, they were delivering new TV's while we were there for what looked like a Bell Satellite system. Personally, I wish they just spent the money on new beds.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Sol has one main buffet for breakfast and dinner. There is a beach restaurant (the Ranchon) that is open for lunch and also doubles as an a la carte in the evenings. There is also a more upscale international a la carte called Las Trinas open for dinner only. Reservations are required for the a la carte dinner options so make sure to get your plans in place soon after your arrival. There is a pool bar/restaurant open from lunch through late afternoon as well as a lobby bar openseemingly from dawn until the last one leaves at night. We ate--and drank--at all of them during our stay.

Now, all of us Cuba-philes know that the food can be somewhat bland at times. The food this year was without question the best I have ever had in Cuba. The buffet food in particular was very good and the choices were varied. The service we received at all outlets was exceptional and everyone commented on how things seemed to have been improved since our last visit in 2007.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Another great trip"

Sol Club Cayo Largo
User Rating:  Sol Club Cayo Largo Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rob from Toronto  on Jan 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
582 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Jan 30th - Feb 6th
A group of nine of us departed Pearson via Skyservice Friday Jan 30th. Flight was delayed as they had some systems issue come up after we pushed back from the gate. Back to the gate we went holding our collective breath hoping that we would actually leave that night. The captain came on the intercom explaining the situation and that we would be departing shortly. We did.

Now, I am not a complainer by nature and, hey, I am going on vacation, but the legroom on Skyservice is atrocious. I am not a big guy by any stretch but for the first time ever I felt truly uncomfortable on a plane, and I travel alot for work--in hospitality too! How I wish that WestJet was still servicing this route.

That said, we arrived after a very interesting landing--pouring rain, low clouds and windy--and were kept on the plane until the downpour abated. After about 10-15 minutes we finally were granted our freedom and were quickly through customs, grabbed our bags and off to the Sol Club we headed. Check-in was quick and efficient.

Rooms:
We had room 1024 for our stay. Close to the pool bar and steps from the eastern boardwalk to the beach. This is the first trip in five that we did not have an oceanview room. Never missed it and would put the extra cash in my pocket if I could have 1024 every stay going forward. You get a semi ocean view (if you are on the upper floor) and the block of units is in a quiet area. Very sweet! Rooms were bright and clean. The beds could use a makeover though. Interestingly, they were delivering new TV's while we were there for what looked like a Bell Satellite system. Personally, I wish they just spent the money on new beds.

Restaurants and Bars:
The Sol has one main buffet for breakfast and dinner. There is a beach restaurant (the Ranchon) that is open for lunch and also doubles as an a la carte in the evenings. There is also a more upscale international a la carte called Las Trinas open for dinner only. Reservations are required for the a la carte dinner options so make sure to get your plans in place soon after your arrival. There is a pool bar/restaurant open from lunch through late afternoon as well as a lobby bar openseemingly from dawn until the last one leaves at night. We ate--and drank--at all of them during our stay.

Now, all of us Cuba-philes know that the food can be somewhat bland at times. The food this year was without question the best I have ever had in Cuba. The buffet food in particular was very good and the choices were varied. The service we received at all outlets was exceptional and everyone commented on how things seemed to have been improved since our last visit in 2007.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"un verdadero paraiso"

Sol Club Cayo Largo
User Rating:  Sol Club Cayo Largo Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  veronica araujo  on Oct 31, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) URUGUAY
Visited on: Oct, 2006
974 people found this review helpful

Realmente he conocido muchos lugares, pero sin duda cayo largo y este hotel es al que volveria. La gente de lo mas calida, el equipo de animacion estupendo, las comidas y sin duda el entorno es un verdadero paraiso. Totalmente recomendable

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cayo Largo, excellent place to do nothing !!"

Sol Club Cayo Largo
User Rating:  Sol Club Cayo Largo Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  pof74  on Sep 7, 2005  >  4 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Sep, 2005
2626 people found this review helpful

Very nice hotel in a wonderfull island. If you want quite place, it's Cayo Largo ! Long desert beach, good food, great sea, great wimmingpool ! wonderfull

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"CAYO LARGO IS A FANTASTIC ISLAND"

Sol Club Cayo Largo
User Rating:  Sol Club Cayo Largo Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Ingrid Calvelo  on Aug 22, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Spain
Visited on: Aug, 2005
2923 people found this review helpful

It was March. Only four days in Cayo Largo, but excellent. My husband and me stayed for the first time in the island, it was in 2002, three years ago, but we remember perfectly and we recomend absolutely everything. Big rooms, comfortable, sunny and funny becouse of their lighty colours, pleasent people working in rooms, restaurants bars and entertainment. Great sea views, the beach at one step... The cocktel of "piña colada" and "mojitos" are unforgetable on the beach. We reccomend to every one who wants to rest peacefully under the sun, but, but, but have some sun lotion to protect, because in a couple of hours you will be... RED and hurt. From Spain, Ingrid C. & Juanjo B.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube