Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Sol Sirenas Coral Resort reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort  

Avenido de las Americas y Calle K, Reparto La Torre, Varadero, Matanzas
(Varadero Maps)

"Terrible Service, Rude Staff, No Entertainment"
Posted by: Kim  on May 1, 2017
see all reviews

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Reviews
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Pictures and Information
Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Varadero Cuba

#36
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 2.7

Based on 15 reviews

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Information


A favourite place for families, this all inclusive hotel offers a wide range of entertainment and activities.


Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Reviews

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 2.7 of 5 15 reviews
Excellent
  1
Very good
  6
Average
  1
Poor
  2
Terrible
  5
By Occasion...
Leisure (12)
Party (2)
Business
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (2)
With Group (2)
With Spouse/Partner (5)
Solo
1 - 10 of 15

"Terrible Service, Rude Staff, No Entertainment"

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
User Rating:  Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kim  on May 1, 2017  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2017 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
40 people found this review helpful

Don't trust the pictures or the inviting lobby. Upon our arrival to the hotel, our driver was unclear as to which of the two Sol Sirenas Coral resorts we were staying at. Who knew that there were two of them... We arrived at the first of the two, who stated we were not on their list. We then proceeded to the second of the two, who also stated the same, sending us back to the first hotel. When we got there, our names were on the list. Check in time is at 4:00pm, and we arrived at 10:00am, which is frustrating, but what can you do? We decided to get a drink and some food, and this is where the poor service was first noted. It took nearly 30 minutes for one of the bartenders to acknowledge us, and let's not forget, this was roughly 11:00am (very quiet). The buffet staff are unlike any other; they don't even come to your table unless you demand something of them. They look at you as if you are a piece of dirt on the floor, they are slow, rude, and overall uncaring people. Perhaps it was due to the fact that the hotel was going to be shut down at the end of the week for a month long of renovations, and I'm guessing, the staff would be out of a job for a while. Nobody goes on a vacation to be stressed or feel like a burden. The entire staff at this hotel make you feel bad for asking for service. They clearly don't want to make tips, and when they offer such poor service, HOW can they expect anything? Each day, we expected our room to be cleaned, and each day we received a different result. We slept in the same bed sheets for 6 days, not a single time did they change them. If we didn't hide our toilet paper, we wouldn't receive any. If we didn't throw our towels on the floor, again, they wouldn't replace them. Also, never did we get a bottle of water. One day, the staff didn't even enter our room - completely disregarded. We made a complaint to the manager. The cleaning staff merely came to our room and dropped off new towels. She left all the dirty towels where they were, didn't make our bed, nor provide water or a simple apology. There is NO daily entertainment at this hotel. The resort "club" is never open, the only nightly entertainment on the resort was 30 minute show of dancers (the same ones every night). After the show, you can proceed to the bar in the lobby where everyone congregates, and wait 2 hours for a drink, or simply leave the resort. Or, you could go to the other 24 hour bar where they serve snack food, but the staff at this bar are incomparable to the others. The women here treat you with the most disrespect, through their comments, and disgraceful looks; so much so, that my boyfriend was crying. Cutting it short, don't waste your time booking your next trip to Sol Sirenas, because you will assuredly be disappointed. And on top of that, NEVER fly Cubana Airlines. Spending extra money is well worth it going elsewhere, where you will receive service, kindness, entertainment, and enjoy your vacation.

Room Number:
1270

Room Block:
12

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Sol Sirenas Review"

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
User Rating:  Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Serina  on Jun 1, 2016  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2016 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
169 people found this review helpful

My bf and I stayed at Sol Sirenas for 7 days. The name always intrigued me but it was always more expensive than other resorts however this year it was a good price... We did like the grounds and foliage however walking paths were quite uneven. The food was good we have no complaints. Our room was average with a king bed. The maid was always wonderful. The beach was beautiful! The drinks varied from bar to bar. The coffee bar was great! Would I return? No.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very nice resort Sol Sirenas Coral"

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
User Rating:  Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alex  on Oct 8, 2014  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
264 people found this review helpful

This is my review of Sol Serenas Coral resort in Varadero. I spent 7 fabulous days and made many friends. Many travelers form Canada and Europe as well some from South America while I was there. Entertainment is nice and guys from entertainment always willing to take you out at night to go dancing and make you company. Usually we would go as a group and have fun at some clubs in Varadero. Rooms are not the best but food is very nice. Beach is amazing!

Arrival:
Check in was very fast without any issues.

Rooms:
Clean but bit outdated for my taste. They could renovate rooms to make it more appealing!

Restaurants and Bars:
Restaurants and bars are nice. They make nice drinks at the bars!

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beautiful! What to say more than gorgeous beach!

Other Comments:
Loved it and I will definitely go again to this resort!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"great view from my room"

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
User Rating:  Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  mendy  on Jul 25, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2014 | Leisure | Solo
275 people found this review helpful

It is my second time visiting Varadero and I enjoyed the city like I never wanted to go back, my holiday was the best coupled with the fact that the hotel made it a lot easier for me to enjoy myself and have a nice time in the city. I had the room on the second floor and the view was great as well. There were lots of options when it comes to food as I found out that they even had more options especially for vegetarians and it’s nice to know that vegetarians are looked after and things provided for their consumption. The lobby bar was pretty awesome as I thought it was way cooler than some I have been to. It is practically home away from home for me, I was well taken care of, the service was awesome, the staff was great and the food was tasty like meal cooked at home. I loved the Italian and Mexican restaurants way better, the buffet restaurant was great and had lots of options. I needed a place to rest during my vacation and this was the perfect spot for me, it is quite peaceful and everything in the hotel was working well. The rooms are clean so was the hotel grounds and nothing required them repairing. The garden view and pool view was pretty amazing; I will be back here again when my next vacation comes. The gorgeous white sand crystal clear beach was a bonus and I loved it.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"cuba, a beautiful but annoying country"

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
User Rating:  Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  sam  on May 17, 2014  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
286 people found this review helpful

first of all, we all know that Cuba is a poor country, we go there for a vacation because its safe and the bonus part is that it helps them out when we do. we tip when we want and we allow ourselves to get ripped off because we know they're poor so f*** it right?.. but god damn! it gets to be so annoying that no body will do a thing without expecting a peso in return. I went to a store to buy a case of 5 cigars they charged me 18 pesos, the next day I went to the same store for another box and it was 15...wow. another time I went into a taxi and told him where I wanted to go to eat, he offers to take me here and there instead and I said no thanks, then he brings me to this house where they make food I said no no no, he says ok ok. and takes me where I had originally asked to be taken, that shit could be scary like wth! its like everyone wants to make a dollar, they're f***ed!! as for sol sirenas coral resort, this is suppose to be 2 resorts in one and you can use the facilities at both...nope!! I went there and the coral side was closed and its the nicer side too, and they didn't even notify me of it either. they use the entertainment stage at the coral side though because the sirenas side doesn't have one. the sirenas rooms I have no complaints, it was clean and I tipped the maid so I was okay there, I had clean towels everyday and so forth. the hallways are full of roaches and other flying insects. and not often swept after being stepped on. they have hardly any entertainment throughout the day and their evening entertainment seemed to be the same throughout the entire week. it began to get very boring. Oh ya, a big FYI is that most all people at this resort are old. I'm talking older like 50-70 years old. very few young people. the beaches are extremely nice. I loved the beach. they have a bar near the beach which was a good thing, and snacks too. the swimming pool on the sirenas side seemed to be green and dirty most of the week so we walked over to the coral side which was inconvenient because they have no bars open no washrooms working because the side was not open. so we pretty much didn't go into a swimming pool our entire stay. the food was okay some of it was actually very good but the only problem was they served the EXACT same food the entire week, same things for breakfast same things for lunch. same same same. Also their coffee isn't that great neither is the milk. maybe its just because of what I'm use to though. other than that the people are pretty nice and the resort is well maintained. they do work hard, that I can see but I guess I just was expecting more from what I saw in the pictures before I purchased my vacation. thanks

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very Nice week"

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
User Rating:  Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alec  on Dec 15, 2012  >  6 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
402 people found this review helpful

I booked with Hola Sun direct using their web site. Great price and an agent phoned within 20-30 mins to make sure everything was correct. Flight was with Can Jet, smooth check in and great flight. Hola Sun on the ground wasn’t at the airport in Varadero so things didn’t go well, no package, no briefing time or place and wasn’t helpful at the resort.

We arrived at Sol Sirenas Coral at approx 11:00 AM, check in was fast and our room was ready. Ocean View 4th floor, just what we requested. Everything worked in the room and it was OK.

RESORT: Show’s some age, however, clean and the grounds are well kept. We had one small problem and it was fixed within 30 mins after it was reported.

FOOD: Not the greatest at both Buffets, however, we did find enough to eat. Breakfast was the worst, not enough coffee, most food was cool, very little bacon, didn’t see a sausage all week, omelette was the best. Lots of bread and cheese. The beach buffet on the Coral side was the best food, however, the guy on the outside grill could do only one thing at a time that caused a long line and upset people.

STAFF: The service staff and the bar staff were great. It seamed the higher you got the worst it was. One woman walked by me four times near the front desk and not once asked if I needed help or was I helped. Changing money, two were chatting between themselves and didn’t look at me, another lady got in line, the third lady walked up to the counter and waved her money, spoke Spanish, they looked up changed her money before looking at us. RUDE

ENTERTAINMENT: Both the evening & on the beach, very good.

THANK YOU: Patricia on the front desk; Maydel at the breakfast & lunch buffet Coral side; Annelys at the dinner buffet Sirenas side; John at the Coral Lobby bar and Mercenes & Bruno at the beach bar Coral. Outstanding job, thanks.

WOULD I RETURN: Yes

Room Number:
1416

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Value maybe, but not great"

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
User Rating:  Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  paul  on Apr 18, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With friend
485 people found this review helpful

Not great but perhaps good value at the price. Food is just OK. Place is not well maintained and is getting to be a little run down. Pool and beach bar closes too early. Would not go back but rather spend a little more $s and look for better.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"My family and I loved it!"

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
User Rating:  Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Orlando Rosales  on Jan 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Dec, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
531 people found this review helpful

Highly recommended to everyone! It is very family oriented. Great to bring kids. They have something for everyone. My husband, my son and I spent a week at this resort and absolutely loved it! The beach is great, the service is perfect. The staff was really nice and attentive all the time. The entertaimentteam is phenomenal. They have activities for all ages throu out the day. The gym is small but clean and well equipped. They offer high-quality shows every night. My son came to every show with us.

We would go back to the same resort anytime!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"At times good"

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
User Rating:  Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  stew  on Jul 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2011 | Party | With Group
588 people found this review helpful

My stay ay the resort was average. Food was never good no matter where you went and my stomach and body reacted to this the first night there. The 24 hour bar is where most of our group ended up going for meals which is burgers, hot dogs, or fries. Eating that meal gets kind of boring every day and you cant even get real ketchup as they fill the ketchup bottles with bbq sauce when they run out... Drinks were good but thats a given you cant really mess that up, as well as the beach. Rooms are okay, but the AC is VERY POOR. We ran it the whole time on the coldest setting with the room sealed up and it didnt make a difference so not much sleep was had tossing and turning all night long. Overall the resort could be way better. If you dont mind eating crappy food, sleeping bad with no AC and just want a vacation on the beach getting drunk its perfect but I suggest you look into others. Our trip was 1800 a person for 6 nights and i gladly would have paid 2500 for any other which was better.

Room Number:
2135

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Are people crazy?"

Sol Sirenas Coral Resort
User Rating:  Sol Sirenas Coral Resort Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  john  on Mar 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With friend
676 people found this review helpful

The place was clean, the food not to bad.. The staff was good. was not to far from anything... Rent a scooter well worth it..... Hey for a cheap vacation you could much worse!!! I would go again...

Arrival:
january 28 2011

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube