Barcelo Solymar Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Barcelo Solymar reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 27, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.3 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 19, 2017

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 40 reviews
Last reviewed May 21, 2015

Barcelo Solymar  

Carretera Las Américas km. 3, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba.
(Varadero Maps)

"Take Immodium and your own food and a flashlight. Its a one star hotel at best"
Posted by: valerie  on Feb 21, 2016
see all reviews

Barcelo Solymar Reviews

#21
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.5

Based on 28 reviews

Barcelo Solymar Information


Only 2 hours from Havana and 25 minutes from Varadero Airport ¨Juan Gualberto Gómez¨, Varadero offers an exotic beach, the perfect place to combine leisure and sport activities. The hotel is conveniently located at a short distance from downtown Varadero and directly on the beach side area.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Solymar Reviews

Barcelo Solymar Review: 3.5 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  6
Average
  7
Poor
  3
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (9)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (2)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
With Group
11 - 20 of 28

"Disappointing because of past reviews and problems mentioned"

Barcelo Solymar
User Rating:  Barcelo Solymar Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tom  on Feb 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
582 people found this review helpful

Review of Barcelo Solymar Cuba

Staff

All of the staff were very friendly helpful and courteous.

Your Arrival:
Very early in the morning. staff were pleasant and friendly.

Rooms:
Rooms

We had room(s) in the hotel. It is an older complex and the rooms are kept very clean (remember to tip the maid). The reason I mentioned rooms is that we started out in a room 1114. We were told that we were very lucky as this was a room people paid extra for as it had an ocean view. When we got there we found that the room was very clean but the hotel has not been maintained very well. My wife could not open the sliding door to the balcony as the rollers had not been maintained and they were now down to metal on metal. The blackout curtains were too short for the width of the window so no blackout. We next found that the towel hangers were almost falling off the wall. The hose for the shower was damaged and the soap dish was falling off of the wall. As I mentioned this is an older complex so we figured we could just call in the morning and get the maintenance person to tighten some screws and that would be fine. Unfortunately that night we found out that the room is situated right above the show lounge and dancing area. You got it, we didn’t get much sleep. The next morning we contacted the Signature representative and he assisted us in getting another room. We were given a key to another room, and looked at it to find out that there were similar problems there and asked for another. This room was 1246 in the elbow of the (L) just above the desk area. This time the Representative came with me and we found similar problems
to the other rooms. Since this seemed far enough away from the entertainment room the Representative contacted maintenance and cleaning so that all problems were fixed before we moved into the room. That night we found out that this room is situated just above the one bar that stays open until midnight so we didn’t get much rest there either but we put up with it. If I were going there again I would go into a Bungalow or into the right section of the (L) after I had inspected the room. This probably was a four or five star complex at one time but it is now older and Barcelo has not kept up the maintenance so I would classify it as a three star maximum because of the maintenance. Talking with others that booked different locations seemed to agree that the star system was a bit off a bit high for most Varadero all inclusive Hotels.

Restaurants and Bars:
Food

Depending on what you booked for your vacation you eat at a buffet style dining room for all of your meals or for the evening meals you may reserve at one of the a la carte dining areas. The food was plentiful and you had many choices. We found out that you have to be careful as some of the food was not consistently cooked well enough. We found at different times the beef was very rare (Not wanted that way in Cuba) as were turkey legs and some fish. If you watch for these you will do ok as they do have some nice dishes. In the buffet style there was always a good variety so you will not go hungry.
If you have the opportunity to reserve at the a la carte areas prepare to do so almost immediately upon arrival between 900 and 1200 or you may not get what you want. We chose the Seafood one because the wife likes lobster and thought that nothing could go wrong. I chose Filet Mignon and was very pleased as it was cooked just right, although they forgot the Broccoli. My wife had the lobster. Unfortunately it was grilled and it was partly uncooked and partly overcooked. A real disappointment! Since we could not reserve another we talked to other guests about the other venues. We found out that the best of the three was the Italian one. We also found out that most of the lobster in the complex was not cooked well.

Bars

Very Good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Complex

The complex consists of an older large L shaped hotel and a number of newer Bungalows situated right next to the beach. The grounds are well treed and landscaping is very nicely kept. There are two pools and a spa (although it was not heated while we were there). The whole area is kept very neat and clean.

Other Comments:
Other

We were told that the currency exchange CADECA charges the same as the bank in town so we waited and got our money exchanged there. I had looked the rate up on the internet before leaving and it fluctuated in the vicinity of 92 cents for a Canadian dollar. When we arrived in the hotel we were charged and received 82 cents on the dollar at the CADECA. Big difference from what we were told. If you can I would exchange my money at a Canadian bank before going to Cuba. Visa is accepted at a rate of 11 percent extra, Mastercard is not accepted. You can not use your debit card. I would advise taking $200 for tips and getting out of the country per couple. If you are doing any touring outside of Varadero I would take extra cash.

Which comes to another point. It cost you 25 Cuba Convertible Pesos per person to leave Cuba at the airport. This is not covered in the price that you paid for your ticket.

If you plan to take things down for the orphanages try to get a contact so you can provide the outside of your complex. This will ensure that the people that really need it get it. I went to The Thrift shop and bought an inexpensive bag that I left there with the gifts. It was used as a school bag as I heard later. The people in and around the Varadero area that work for the hotels get quite a bit so I made sure that I gave them personal gifts outside of went to the orphanages . The people outside of those areas are very poor and get little in the way of niceties like toothbrushes, toothpaste, soap, shoes for kids, clothes for children. Things like chalk, extra pencils and notebooks are a treat that very few see.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Congratulations"

Barcelo Solymar
User Rating:  Barcelo Solymar Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sra. yesenia meléndez  on Feb 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) PERU
Visited on: Jan, 1998
1127 people found this review helpful

COngratulations to the Hotel Barcelo Solymar, I stayed here with my wife during our honeymoon and we had a great time, we received first rate service and we cant wait to come back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful Place had a Blast with my Sisters."

Barcelo Solymar
User Rating:  Barcelo Solymar Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Geraldine Keating  on Mar 23, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
1449 people found this review helpful

Hello.. Jan 30th2009 till Feb 6,2009 my 3 sisters and I stayed at Solymar in Varadero, the Resort was great ..and had very friendly staff,and they were very helpfull, The Activities were great and they always ask if we would love to join in.. The bartenders always had good drinks for us. OUr rooms were spaceous and very clean and tidy. The Resturants had very good food.and the Buffet was unbelievable alot to choose from. I can't believe some of the negative reviews i have heard about his place .. all 4 sister had a great time and have told alot of our friend's about your Hotel. and we would love to come back again. With the white beach,beautiful sunrises and sunsets and great staff who wouldn't want to go there tks again for a great and unforgetable sister's get away.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"holiday"

Barcelo Solymar
User Rating:  Barcelo Solymar Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  c wellings  on Jan 10, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Jan, 2008
750 people found this review helpful

we have just come back from cuba. we had to stay at this hotel,for one night due to our flight been cancelled. this hotel was far better then the hotel we stopped at, palma real. the food was great service was good the rooms could do with doing up,our room was over the bar so it was a bit noice's. we won't be returning back to cuba. we have been to better place's then this!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perception of Barcelo's Hotels"

Barcelo Solymar
User Rating:  Barcelo Solymar Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  DORFMAN jay  on Aug 3, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2007
3850 people found this review helpful

I received an excellent service, and equally the instalations. Congratulations!!

This review has been submited originally in spanish. Our editorial team have translated it to english, to offer better service to our clients."

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"L'equipe de Catamaran La compagnie de Danilo"

Barcelo Solymar
User Rating:  Barcelo Solymar Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  DEFOSSE LILIANE  on Jul 23, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) FRANCE
Visited on: Jul, 2007
879 people found this review helpful

Pour avoir un Catamaran il faut se lever de bonne heure bien que'il y en aie qui attendent sur la plage.Je pense qu'il faut plonger dans son porte-monnaie,ce que je refuse. Les spectacles le soir sont merveilleux.Toute mon admiration pour Danilo le choregraphe et ces dancers et baillerinas. J'espère lors de mon prochain séjours je pourrai faire un peu de catamaran.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Simply the best"

Barcelo Solymar
User Rating:  Barcelo Solymar Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  E.L.E.P. Gerritsen  on Jun 16, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Jun, 2007
4315 people found this review helpful

My daughter got married out of hotel. The package was first class staff, the best hotel, the best food, the best rooms, the best location, the best what else can I say simply the best def be back

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This is the one! Dont hesitate!"

Barcelo Solymar
User Rating:  Barcelo Solymar Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  carl adey  on Feb 26, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Feb, 2007
4544 people found this review helpful

I have travelled to many places in my life and have NEVER experienced the wonderful service, food and hospitality that I had until Barcelo Solymar.

I plan to visit Cuba again and I will definately stay at the Solymar. This hotel is clean, large and is always up to the excellent standards that any Canadian would expect in a hotel situated in another country.

Forget the Hilton, trust me you would be soooo happy at the Barcelo Solymar. Take this advice from a picky Italian!

Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I am recommending to everyone this hotel"

Barcelo Solymar
User Rating:  Barcelo Solymar Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  ciprian  on Sep 14, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) ROMANIA
Visited on: Sep, 2006
3180 people found this review helpful

We just have visited this beautiful hotel and country in the early September 2006.

The hotel, services, staff, all inclusive system and all infrastructure were excellent.

We were like in a honeymoon and we were very impressed by the offered conditions in this hotel.

I could recommend to anyone this hotel! You will not regret! It is worthing every Euro paid for this holiday!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I am going back this Friday"

Barcelo Solymar
User Rating:  Barcelo Solymar Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Annie Amirault  on Mar 6, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2006
3284 people found this review helpful

This was a very beautiful hotel, the beach was of course the best part, the pool(s) were very nice as was every single member of there staff. There are several bars spread out nicely through the facility so where ever you are you can get a drink. I am going back On the 10th of March and am very excited to do so. Ignore the bad reviews i have been to Cuba about ten times and this is my favorite hotel yet!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube