Barcelo Solymar Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Barcelo Solymar reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Varadero

4.8 based on 25 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 10, 2014

Melia Las Américas

4.4 based on 9 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Paradisus Varadero

4.4 based on 13 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 15, 2014

Iberostar Playa Alameda

4.4 based on 29 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 27, 2014

Meliá Península Varadero

4.3 based on 32 reviews
Last reviewed Feb 19, 2017

Iberostar Laguna Azul

4.2 based on 40 reviews
Last reviewed May 21, 2015

Barcelo Solymar  

Carretera Las Américas km. 3, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba.
(Varadero Maps)

"Take Immodium and your own food and a flashlight. Its a one star hotel at best"
Posted by: valerie  on Feb 21, 2016
see all reviews

Barcelo Solymar Reviews

#21
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.5

Based on 28 reviews

Barcelo Solymar Information


Only 2 hours from Havana and 25 minutes from Varadero Airport ¨Juan Gualberto Gómez¨, Varadero offers an exotic beach, the perfect place to combine leisure and sport activities. The hotel is conveniently located at a short distance from downtown Varadero and directly on the beach side area.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Barcelo Solymar Reviews

Barcelo Solymar Review: 3.5 of 5 28 reviews
Excellent
  9
Very good
  6
Average
  7
Poor
  3
Terrible
  3
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (9)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (2)
Solo Traveller (2)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With friend
With Group
21 - 28 of 28

"I am going back this Friday"

Barcelo Solymar
User Rating:  Barcelo Solymar Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Annie Amirault  on Mar 6, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2006
3390 people found this review helpful

This was a very beautiful hotel, the beach was of course the best part, the pool(s) were very nice as was every single member of there staff. There are several bars spread out nicely through the facility so where ever you are you can get a drink. I am going back On the 10th of March and am very excited to do so. Ignore the bad reviews i have been to Cuba about ten times and this is my favorite hotel yet!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This is the one! Dont hesitate!"

Barcelo Solymar
User Rating:  Barcelo Solymar Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  carl adey  on Feb 26, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Feb, 2007
4643 people found this review helpful

I have travelled to many places in my life and have NEVER experienced the wonderful service, food and hospitality that I had until Barcelo Solymar.

I plan to visit Cuba again and I will definately stay at the Solymar. This hotel is clean, large and is always up to the excellent standards that any Canadian would expect in a hotel situated in another country.

Forget the Hilton, trust me you would be soooo happy at the Barcelo Solymar. Take this advice from a picky Italian!

Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"I am recommending to everyone this hotel"

Barcelo Solymar
User Rating:  Barcelo Solymar Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  ciprian  on Sep 14, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) ROMANIA
Visited on: Sep, 2006
3271 people found this review helpful

We just have visited this beautiful hotel and country in the early September 2006.

The hotel, services, staff, all inclusive system and all infrastructure were excellent.

We were like in a honeymoon and we were very impressed by the offered conditions in this hotel.

I could recommend to anyone this hotel! You will not regret! It is worthing every Euro paid for this holiday!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Perception of Barcelo's Hotels"

Barcelo Solymar
User Rating:  Barcelo Solymar Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  DORFMAN jay  on Aug 3, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United States of America
Visited on: Aug, 2007
3952 people found this review helpful

I received an excellent service, and equally the instalations. Congratulations!!

This review has been submited originally in spanish. Our editorial team have translated it to english, to offer better service to our clients."

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Simply the best"

Barcelo Solymar
User Rating:  Barcelo Solymar Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  E.L.E.P. Gerritsen  on Jun 16, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) The Netherlands
Visited on: Jun, 2007
4417 people found this review helpful

My daughter got married out of hotel. The package was first class staff, the best hotel, the best food, the best rooms, the best location, the best what else can I say simply the best def be back

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful Place had a Blast with my Sisters."

Barcelo Solymar
User Rating:  Barcelo Solymar Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Geraldine Keating  on Mar 23, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
1547 people found this review helpful

Hello.. Jan 30th2009 till Feb 6,2009 my 3 sisters and I stayed at Solymar in Varadero, the Resort was great ..and had very friendly staff,and they were very helpfull, The Activities were great and they always ask if we would love to join in.. The bartenders always had good drinks for us. OUr rooms were spaceous and very clean and tidy. The Resturants had very good food.and the Buffet was unbelievable alot to choose from. I can't believe some of the negative reviews i have heard about his place .. all 4 sister had a great time and have told alot of our friend's about your Hotel. and we would love to come back again. With the white beach,beautiful sunrises and sunsets and great staff who wouldn't want to go there tks again for a great and unforgetable sister's get away.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Congratulations"

Barcelo Solymar
User Rating:  Barcelo Solymar Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Sra. yesenia meléndez  on Feb 10, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) PERU
Visited on: Jan, 1998
1213 people found this review helpful

COngratulations to the Hotel Barcelo Solymar, I stayed here with my wife during our honeymoon and we had a great time, we received first rate service and we cant wait to come back again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Second enjoyable trip to the Solymar"

Barcelo Solymar
User Rating:  Barcelo Solymar Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tom Hanklings  on Jun 8, 2005  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2005
3097 people found this review helpful

Spent 2 weeks at the Solymar from April 29-May 13th. There were 11 of us travelling together, 4 couples & 3 singles. We went Air Canada Vacations which is good as there is leg room, better than Air Transat sitting. Check in went smooth. My girlfriend and her husband (her 2nd trip) and myself & a gal I roomed with got oceanview rooms which were available immmediately. When we got our room, it was a room with King Size Bed which was beautiful, but they were accomodating me & they didn't realize I had a roommate, so we went back to reception & received a room with 2 beds. I can't say enough about the treatment I received at the Solymar. They went above & beyond with any requests I may have had. Nothing was an effort for them. As far as the Air Conditioning going out when you took your key out, we got a special card to keep in the slot at all times so never lost air conditioning. I went to Punta Cana last year, but to me there was no comparison. Beach at Solymar is just awesome. Had no problem with the food. We did the Italian al a carte one night & I had the Filet Mignon, which was delicious. But the rest of the 2 weeks, stayed at the Buffet, as you can always find something to eat & never go hungry. Lunch time was spent at the pool bar by the resort. Their fries were so nice & crispy. And the hamburgers & german sausages were excellent. I did the catamaran trip this time and that was the highlight of my trip. We had a great time. Two years ago when I was at the Solymar, I met the bartender (Julio at the pool bar) & his wife, Yanita, who happened to be visiting him. We struck up a friendship that night and have continued corresponding over the 2 years. I spent 3 afternoons off the resort visiting with Julio & Yanita & met their families. I treated them to supper on Saturday, Julio's day off. I had also met another friend of the family who is in Public Relations at the Playa de Varadero 1920. We went on a tour of that resort & it was a beautiful resort, although I find it is really spread out. My nights were spent at the pool bar, where I received Top Notch service from all the bartenders. When I'd get up to get a drink, they would tell me to sit down & they would serve me. After 11 each night, I always had german sausage & fries which always hit the spot. I was very sad leaving and will be returning for another 2 weeks next years to spend time with my second family. On the downside, which we knew 2 weeks before we left, Air Canada Vacations cancelled their flight out of Varadero, due to lack of tourists. It was a bad time of year to go, end of April. I would go first 2 weeks of April next year. WE had a 2 hour bus trip into Havana to catch an Air Canada flight at 3:25 p.m. We had to stay in Toronto overnight, catch a flight to Halifax next day, then onto Sydney. So it was a long tiring 2 days. I am now counting down the months until I go next year & will definitely be returning to the Solymar.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube