Breezes Jibacoa Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Jibacoa > Jibacoa Hotel Index > Breezes Jibacoa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Breezes Jibacoa  

Arroyo Bermejo Beach, Cuba.

"Third Time a Charm"
Posted by: Lorne  on Jan 22, 2015
see all reviews

Breezes Jibacoa Reviews
Breezes Jibacoa Pictures and Information
Breezes Jibacoa Jibacoa Cuba

#1
of 2 Hotels in Jibacoa

User rating 4.2

Based on 41 reviews

Breezes Jibacoa Information


The SuperClubs Breezes Jibacoa, with a four-star category, is the company's newest hotel in the country.
The unspoiled setting and a clean and calm sea turn this hotel into a natural option with the conveniences our guests need.
Since it is very close to Havana, Matanzas City, and Varadero Beach, you can easily visit these places of tourist, historic, and cultural interest

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Breezes Jibacoa Reviews

Breezes Jibacoa Review: 4.2 of 5 41 reviews
Excellent
  12
Very good
  24
Average
  5
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (32)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (5)
With Spouse/Partner (20)
Solo
1 - 10 of 41

"Went on the Havana day tour"

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Patti  on Dec 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) 
Visited on: Dec, 2008
170 people found this review helpful

Arrival: Dec - 08
Arrived by Sky service on Dec 13/08 Uneventful flight, on time.

Rooms:
Great large rooms, with everything you will need. Maids were great.

Restaurants and Bars:
Martino's restaurant was great didn't do the Cuban, Buffet, food quality and taste was good but the food was luke warm at best. This is my fourth time at this resort and never had this problem. Bars were great all of them.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I don't do pools, but it was very clean, beach was fantastic expect red flag was up 4 out of 7 days.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Went on the Havana day tour, been on it before but traveling with people that had not been. Tour guide was good, and the restaurant we had lunch at was exceptional.

Other Comments:
As I said been in this resort 4 times, and was disappointed with the food being cold. This resort gives you a free holiday after your fifth time, but I will make sure that they get their hot plates upgraded or fixed before I would go again.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"First class facility, great staff"

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lorne from Toronto  on Jan 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2009
168 people found this review helpful

Arrival: January 2009
Check in was simple and efficient. Even though we arrived at 12:30 pm our rooms were ready and a bellman took our bags to our room aand gave us the customary tour of the facilities.

Rooms:
Bright, airy, well stocked. Booked an ocean view room and the view was spectacular.

Restaurants and Bars:
Buffet was great by Cuban standards. Breakfasts were awesome (great bacon and baked goods). Ate most lunches at the beach bar (great burgers) although pasta bar at the buffet was a nice change. Dinners varied from night to night. The line-ups on seafood night reminded me of Boxing Day at Best Buy....but it was worth it. Always found something to eat.

Martino's is as good as any Italian restaurant in Toronto. Saved it for our last night....a nice way to finish the vacation.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Had only 3 red flag days (jellyfish galore), green the rest of the week. Beach is nice, with lots of shade. Water is crystal clear.

Spent one day at the pool for a change of pace (and a little less sand). Never busy, also lots of shade if you want.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Didn't make any of the shows. My wife did Aquafit and stretching classes a couple of times and really enjoyed them.

The hike up the hill is a must (but be prepared...the first part is a tough climb.

Did the Veradero Colonial Tour (very interesting) and the Jeep Safari (what a hoot). When we go back, want to spend a night in Old Havana....looks fascinating and really didn't/t haave enough time there.

Other Comments:
I now understand why there are so many repeat visitors to this resort. First class facility, great staff. We will definitely be back.

The only sour note was the abundance of smokers at the Veradero airport (despite the no smoking signs). These inconsiderate folks ruin it for everyone else.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The resort is intimate"

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Greg from Toronto  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
187 people found this review helpful

At Breezes Jibacoa first two weeks of February 2009, Couple from Toronto in our early 50’s, 5th time to Cuba, first to Jibacoa

Trip down: booked seat selection with Skyservice which allowed us to be among the first off the plane (and hence, avoid line-ups at immigration, etc). The seats on the Boeing 757 were darned tight – I’m 6ft and my knees were glad to see Varadero airport. Arrival was surprisingly painless with our bags being among the first unloaded. Bus trip to the hotel was about an hour.

Room: We had paid for ocean front which I wouldn’t do again. Not worth the extra cost in my humble. The garden view rooms were probably just as nice for less cost. I had e-mailed in advance to request a 2nd floor room. It worked (if you want the e-mail address, contact me). I had read about towels going missing from the ground floor plus the view is nicer on the second floor. No biggie but I’d recommend it.

Ocean: we were there for two weeks and only had about 6 days we were allowed to swim in the ocean. The beach is a tad rocky, especially on the eastern end. And the seaweed is close to shore. That said, it was great and we hung there every day that the wind allowed us to. Water was warm and calm (no body-surfing here). The snorkeling was great as the reef is close to shore and there are many types of fish to be seen. I came face to face with a barracuda which seemed to scare the dickens out of both of us. The jellyfish can be a problem and we certainly saw lots of them washed up on shore. Apparently one is supposed to urinate on a sting to get rid of the pain so try not to get stung on the face. Lots of loungers available.

Pool: darn that water was brisk. Spacious pool with lots of loungers. The hot tubs were sometimes. People tend to sit around the hot, er, luke, tubs which means one doesn’t get a lot of privacy. Kind of hard to get romantic with one’s spouse with 5 people staring down at you. But, we probably don’t want public romance anyway so maybe it’s for the best.

Restaurants:
In five trips to sunny communism, this is the first time that I thought I’d put on weight (I didn’t but it wasn’t the food’s fault because it was consistently good).

Buffet: The omelets in the morning were great as was the yogurt (very liquid but tasty). Lunch at the buffet was industrial but adequate. Where the buffet shone was at night where there seemed to be a different theme each evening. And each night we ate well. I had brought hot sauce with me and that worked out well. But, even without the sauce, for the most part the food was tasty. As always, there were those famous Cuban mystery meats and concoctions that make one shake their head in wonderment (peas on pizza?).

Beach Bar: like others have said, consistently good. We especially liked the grilled fish and the hamburgers. Very good French fries as well.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The resort is intimate"

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Greg from Toronto  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
187 people found this review helpful

At Breezes Jibacoa first two weeks of February 2009, Couple from Toronto in our early 50’s, 5th time to Cuba, first to Jibacoa

Trip down: booked seat selection with Skyservice which allowed us to be among the first off the plane (and hence, avoid line-ups at immigration, etc). The seats on the Boeing 757 were darned tight – I’m 6ft and my knees were glad to see Varadero airport. Arrival was surprisingly painless with our bags being among the first unloaded. Bus trip to the hotel was about an hour.

Room: We had paid for ocean front which I wouldn’t do again. Not worth the extra cost in my humble. The garden view rooms were probably just as nice for less cost. I had e-mailed in advance to request a 2nd floor room. It worked (if you want the e-mail address, contact me). I had read about towels going missing from the ground floor plus the view is nicer on the second floor. No biggie but I’d recommend it.

Ocean: we were there for two weeks and only had about 6 days we were allowed to swim in the ocean. The beach is a tad rocky, especially on the eastern end. And the seaweed is close to shore. That said, it was great and we hung there every day that the wind allowed us to. Water was warm and calm (no body-surfing here). The snorkeling was great as the reef is close to shore and there are many types of fish to be seen. I came face to face with a barracuda which seemed to scare the dickens out of both of us. The jellyfish can be a problem and we certainly saw lots of them washed up on shore. Apparently one is supposed to urinate on a sting to get rid of the pain so try not to get stung on the face. Lots of loungers available.

Pool: darn that water was brisk. Spacious pool with lots of loungers. The hot tubs were sometimes. People tend to sit around the hot, er, luke, tubs which means one doesn’t get a lot of privacy. Kind of hard to get romantic with one’s spouse with 5 people staring down at you. But, we probably don’t want public romance anyway so maybe it’s for the best.

Restaurants:
In five trips to sunny communism, this is the first time that I thought I’d put on weight (I didn’t but it wasn’t the food’s fault because it was consistently good).

Buffet: The omelets in the morning were great as was the yogurt (very liquid but tasty). Lunch at the buffet was industrial but adequate. Where the buffet shone was at night where there seemed to be a different theme each evening. And each night we ate well. I had brought hot sauce with me and that worked out well. But, even without the sauce, for the most part the food was tasty. As always, there were those famous Cuban mystery meats and concoctions that make one shake their head in wonderment (peas on pizza?).

Beach Bar: like others have said, consistently good. We especially liked the grilled fish and the hamburgers. Very good French fries as well.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The resort is intimate"

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 4.50 of 5

Posted by:  Greg from Toronto  on Feb 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2009
187 people found this review helpful

At Breezes Jibacoa first two weeks of February 2009, Couple from Toronto in our early 50’s, 5th time to Cuba, first to Jibacoa

Trip down: booked seat selection with Skyservice which allowed us to be among the first off the plane (and hence, avoid line-ups at immigration, etc). The seats on the Boeing 757 were darned tight – I’m 6ft and my knees were glad to see Varadero airport. Arrival was surprisingly painless with our bags being among the first unloaded. Bus trip to the hotel was about an hour.

Room: We had paid for ocean front which I wouldn’t do again. Not worth the extra cost in my humble. The garden view rooms were probably just as nice for less cost. I had e-mailed in advance to request a 2nd floor room. It worked (if you want the e-mail address, contact me). I had read about towels going missing from the ground floor plus the view is nicer on the second floor. No biggie but I’d recommend it.

Ocean: we were there for two weeks and only had about 6 days we were allowed to swim in the ocean. The beach is a tad rocky, especially on the eastern end. And the seaweed is close to shore. That said, it was great and we hung there every day that the wind allowed us to. Water was warm and calm (no body-surfing here). The snorkeling was great as the reef is close to shore and there are many types of fish to be seen. I came face to face with a barracuda which seemed to scare the dickens out of both of us. The jellyfish can be a problem and we certainly saw lots of them washed up on shore. Apparently one is supposed to urinate on a sting to get rid of the pain so try not to get stung on the face. Lots of loungers available.

Pool: darn that water was brisk. Spacious pool with lots of loungers. The hot tubs were sometimes. People tend to sit around the hot, er, luke, tubs which means one doesn’t get a lot of privacy. Kind of hard to get romantic with one’s spouse with 5 people staring down at you. But, we probably don’t want public romance anyway so maybe it’s for the best.

Restaurants:
In five trips to sunny communism, this is the first time that I thought I’d put on weight (I didn’t but it wasn’t the food’s fault because it was consistently good).

Buffet: The omelets in the morning were great as was the yogurt (very liquid but tasty). Lunch at the buffet was industrial but adequate. Where the buffet shone was at night where there seemed to be a different theme each evening. And each night we ate well. I had brought hot sauce with me and that worked out well. But, even without the sauce, for the most part the food was tasty. As always, there were those famous Cuban mystery meats and concoctions that make one shake their head in wonderment (peas on pizza?).

Beach Bar: like others have said, consistently good. We especially liked the grilled fish and the hamburgers. Very good French fries as well.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Outstanding grounds."

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alexandra from Toronto  on Mar 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2009
185 people found this review helpful

Arrival: March 2009
Very smooth, even though we were a morning flight, we were all given access to our rooms by about 1:30 p.m. (we arrived to hotel approximately noon). We were all hungry anyways, so had a nice lunch at the buffet, near to the lobby.

Rooms:
Very nice, clean, quiet in good condition overall. I was quite impressed that one day, they even took down my shower curtain and took it away to wash. Hard to get a new roll of toilet paper though until you are down to the last square. I ended up having to hide the ends of a roll so the maid would leave a new roll.

Restaurants and Bars:
Excellent, all of them. Actually I enjoyed the food at this resort more than any other resort I've been at in Cuba. Although the buffet was smaller to match the size of the hotel, the choices were excellent and the food very tasty for all 3 meals. I didn't do the Japenese restaurant, but did try the Cuban and Italian. Both were excellent with excellent service. Just remember a well done steak in Cuba is REALLY well done. So be careful if you're ordering a steak off the menu. *** My ONLY complaint about the specialiaties, is again, the Toilet paper issue, at the womens washrooms out side the Cuban and Italian restaurants. On both of the evening there, there wasn't any toilet paper in any of the stalls. *** Suggest for the ladies carrying kleenex in the purse at all times, in all areas of the resort.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Outstanding grounds. Very well kept, very clean, nice and lush througout The beach was nice too. We hit a bad week as far as being able to snorkel very much, and the jelly fish were bad that week. But that's just the luck of the draw. The weather was very nice, just windy that week which brought in the jelly fish 5 days out of seven. However the groundskeepers did keep up the beach and cleaned them up, so you were at least able to walk to beach. Just not swim in the ocean. Nice size pool for the resort size, and as it's adult only, you only need the one pool. The one complaint AGAIN is the toilet paper issue. Most days, the womens washroom, near the beach bar, was out of toilet paper. You could ask for it, but it just never seemed to arrive. Same for the lobby bar close to the pool area. NO toilet paper.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Lots to do or not do right at the hotel if you choose to be active. I took one scooter tour from the Hotel with the group I was with, and being a single, a rode on the back of the tour guides scooter. His name was Osmond and he was an excellent and very friendly guide.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Actually I enjoyed the food at this resort"

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alan from Vancouver  on Jul 1, 2009  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jul, 2009
168 people found this review helpful

Arrival: July 2009
Very smooth, even though we were a morning flight, we arrived the resort around noon, we were told that the rooms were not ready but were told that we were welcome to use their facilities including lunch, etc...we were all given access to our rooms by 2:30 p.m. We were all hungry anyways, so had a nice lunch at the grill which is located at the beach. The front counter ladies were very friendly and helpful to all questions we had.

Rooms:
Very nice, clean, quiet in good condition overall. The air conditioning was cold at all time. The bottled water were only given to us on the first day. I was quite impressed that one day, they even took down my shower curtain and took it away to wash. Did not have issues with the toilet paper like other reviews.

Restaurants and Bars:
Actually I enjoyed the food at this resort, the service were mostly great. We ate at the buffet most of the time as we were only allowed to eat at the Italian and Cuban restaurants once each; however, the foods at the all you can eat restaurant was also quite good - I loved the omellete in the morning and the papayas and pineapples. The choices were excellent and the food very tasty for all 3 meals. We did not try the Cuban. But we tried the Italian one, the food was excellent with excellent service.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Outstanding grounds. Very well kept, very clean, nice and lush througout The beach was nice too. All week had been great to us and able to snorkel very much, there was no red flag at the beach throughtout our stay. The weather was very nice, windy during the day and thunder and lightning at night. However the groundskeepers did keep up the beach and cleaned them up, so you were at least able to walk to beach. Nice size pool for the resort size, and as it's adult only, you only need the one pool.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We rented the scooters (without taking the tour) and were given a handdrew map and we went all the way to Santa Cruz. Yes, Osmond is the tour guide and he is also the person who is renting out scooters. He is a very friendly fellow.

Other Comments:
Over all I liked the resort very much and it was certainly one of the memorable moments in my traveling advantures. I will sure go back to this resort next time I go to Cuba again. I am planning to go to Cuba at least oncee a year as I like the weather, people, resort...

alanngo@shaw.ca

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Choose this resort if you love snorkeling and a quiet social life"

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alex from Toronto  on Aug 1, 2009  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2009
177 people found this review helpful

Arrival: August 2009
- everything happened on time;
- we took off from the Toronto Airport at 7:05 AM, landed at the Varadero Airport at 10:30 AM and arrived at the resort in time to have lunch;

Rooms:
- air conditioning, toilet, sink, shower -- everything worked well;
- the king-size bed was comfortable and firm;
- the television had 5-6 English language channels, including CNN and HBO.

Restaurants and Bars:
- water was drinkable (the resort has its own water treatment plant);
- food was tasty and plentiful;
- the selection of fruit at the buffet restaurant was surprisingly limited;
- the best part of breakfast was omelets at the buffet restaurant;
- the best part of lunch was hamburgers and pizza at the Beach Bar;
- the best part of dinner was Martino's Italian "a la carte" restaurant;
- the best part of after-hours was socializing and drinking at the Piano Bar;

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
- all facilities were clean and well maintained;
- the beach had some stones in the sand and there were no sea shells at all;
- the bottom of the ocean off the beach is covered in stones and weeds;
- the resort felt safe (there were two armed guards at the front and three on the beach);

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
- Spanish and English are the main languages used at the resort;
- the disco at the resort was always empty at night;
- the overnight trip to Havana for 155 CUC per person was the best deal;
- during the trip we stayed at 5-star Melia Habana hotel;
- the Tropicana show was included in the trip and it was entertaining;

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our room was a beachfront room. We loved it!"

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rose  on Sep 1, 2009  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2009
191 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
When we arrived we were given forms to fill out to be brought back to the desk. A bunch of us showed up at the same time so it took a little while to get fully checked in.

Rooms:
Our room was a beachfront room. We loved it! We enjoyed our balcony a lot as the ocean breeze was so nice. The room was larger than expected and as we were on the second floor...very tall ceiling! We did notice right away that out balcony door did not lock..but the luggage stand fit quite nicely on it side to lock the door, until it was fixed the next day. The fridge is hiding in the tv stand and only had 2 bottles of water in it(no food)...very important...Those are the only 2 bottles you get, the fridge does not get refilled at all. We read the reviews before so we expected this. We brought 3 stainless steel water bottles as well as our insulated coffee mugs(which were quite useful to keep our icy drinks cool when on the beach!).

Restaurants and Bars:
We enjoyed all the restaurants. The food was great and we never went hungry! We were surprised at how some people did not follow dress code. Not cool people! The bar staff were amazing as long as you tipped them. Which we did as we had brought bigger mugs for them to mix our drinks in.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was great! Snorkeling is a must! But you do need to go far to see the best of it! If you just want to swim or wade in the water this beach may not be for you. The pool didn't interest us(we came for the beach) It is shallow...but great for the person who wishes just to float around and relax.
The grounds were beautiful...we took many evening walks. They have many friendly stray kitties and dogs. We didn't mind them at all. They are all tame. They just want food and water.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We visited Mantanzas...we shared a cab it was a total of 60cuc. We were away for about 3hrs and the cab driver stays with you and waits as you sight see. Also stopped at The Bridge of Bacunayagua so we could take pictures from the look out.
We took the Havana day tour. But would not do again as we have found we are not tour people. We would take a cab next time....cheaper as well you can go to the places you want to see and stay as long as you like.

Other Comments:
To Pack
-water bottles...you can get drinking water from any of the bars.
-large insulated coffee mugs for drinks...if not you get tiny plastic cups.
-small gifts and extra money for tips
-very light clothes, fancy clothes for Matinos -walking shoes -sunscreen, hat, umbrella
-Toilet paper (we never ran out in the room but you will need if you go off the resort)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Good TYMES !!"

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Dewy  on Aug 28, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2009 | Leisure | With Group
293 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
My girlfriend and four of my buddies went down for my birthday in Late October. I was anxious to arrive and settle in. This resort is an hour away from the airport and it felt like it took too long to arrive, as well when we arrived on the resort, it took a while to organize the rooms-It was agonizing as all I wanted to do was settle in. They did great us with a nice cold ice fruit punch --this was nice
Eventually we settled in

Rooms:
The room was decent--The AC was on-point. For Cuba, the bathroom was okay--but not as good as the hotel bathrooms in Canada, but ok --but it was ok! Our room was right by the pool (Front) and right by the beach (back)

Restaurants and Bars:
They have a piano Bar upstairs--(although the piano-player was a bit reluctant--we eventually convinced him to play)--we had a blast singing along with the piano They also have a club, beach bar, beach restaurant, buffet restaurant, pool bar an Italian restaurant and Cuban restaurant--NO COMPLAINTS

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The pool was good--
The hot tubs were okay (only two though)
The beach was good as well--the water had a lot of corel in it, not as smooth as i would want --but despite this, i spend most of my time on the beach and it was fun
There were groumd wasp (the dont bite) but they are a bit annoying

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The activities were real good-
Beach volleyball, pool volleyball, rent boats, sailing, tennis, basketball,

as well they have tours you May go on !

Other Comments:
This resort is secluded yet is an hour away from Havana and an hour away from Vera Doro.

You get the best of both worlds

If you’re a female, I would suggest you take toilet paper when you travel off the resort, as they may try to charge you for it
The rum is cheap!


I give this an overall rating of 3.5

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"beautiful, comfortable & great food"

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Joanne  on Apr 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2009 | Leisure | With Group
286 people found this review helpful

We went to this resort last Oct for the first time and we loved it so much we are heading back there this coming Oct. 7 of us went last time and we have 16 already for this year.
Trip to Havana was a bit depressing, you will be approached by many begging for money and clothes, we did visit their market of about 50 stalls selling about 5 stalls worth of different things, to be honest the prices at the hotel store were cheaper or the same and they had a nice variety to choose from. There are a ton of old cars to see in Havana. We tried an authentic cuban meal, although realizing that they were proud of their best food offering, we would not wish to repeat that experience. Many buildings with ornate balustrade. Some buildings have had scaffolding on them for so many years they are now grown over with vegetation making the scaffolding part of the building.
Food at the hotel was wonderful especially lobster night on Wed nights.

Your Arrival:
fast & furious, have your passport #, flight name & number ready, upon receiving your welcome packet, book your restaurants right then.

We travelled at night last time but you wait all day to leave at both ends, this year we will travel in the morning.

Rooms:
We stayed in a gardenview room, no different that a pool view room other than we looked slightly away from the pool. We noticed previous advice on trip advisor to book a 2nd story room as there are less critters. Upon our arrival we had a cookarocha in our bathroom which we killed and never saw another one all week, our friends also had one in their livingroom and after disposing of it they never saw another one all week. Their boys had a room of their own and they never saw one all week. I did take a can of insect repellant which I never needed because their were no mosquitos so I sprayed inside the dressers, closet, under the bed and around the patio door. There are no screens on the patio door which is how I think the bugs must have gotten in. we had a couple of big beautiful palm trees out side our balconies which provided bird song and shade to us.

Restaurants and Bars:
The main restaurant is where we went for all breakfast and some dinners. Chairs are so so for comfort. Food is different than Canada and the salad bar is more of a been and veggie stand, they do not have lettuce or salad dressing. Home made soups were great. Most nights were a themed menue, we loved the lobster on Wed night, and the filet mignon from the Italian restaurant. Did not really care for the cuban restaurant other than my friend liked her shrimp cup & the wine. We ate lunch everyday at the beach restaurant and I ate their spicy chicken leg and fries almost every day. Ummm. Piano bar is upstairs from main lobby and although nice atmosphere there is no piano player for the huge piano. All the bars were accomodating to try to make any drink you wanted. Liquor is very strong. Nice slush drinks at every bar. My friend recommends the spanish coffee, even for breakfast.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was lovely to walk on, you may see the odd crab poking up or skittering along and you may even see a washed up blue jelly fish DO NOT TOUCH A JELLY FISH, lots of shad at the beach with man made umbrellas and natural trees. Snorkelling equipment at end of beach to borrow, in great condition. Pool is huge and water is quite cool but easy to get used to. We enjoyed a couple of impromptu volleyball games that were non competitive and I don't think even had rules. Two smallish hot tubs that fit 4 comfortably, 8 if you're all friends. Lots of shade by the pool with covered cabanas. No floaties there for the pool but many people brought their own. We grabbed a table and chair set from the courtyard area and put it under the cabana with the loungers. The loungers are not the most comfortable and I think dollar store floats would fix that. the grounds are well cared for, a few stray cats and dogs running around. Staff is friendly and accomodating. Many beautiful flowers and coloured folliage.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There is a dedicated group running the social program and we opted to play some games but could have been busy with many activities but opted not to.

We did the day trip to havana on our own with a taxi booked through the front desk. The guided bus tour might be better.

We heard the rented mopeds are fun and the guide rides along with you.

We also heard that there is a jeap tour and that you ride through a river, have lunch out, ride in a boat and reurn in a bus. Sounds good we will check this out.

Other Comments:
The massage hut on the beach is awesome. $35 for an hour.

checked for Dialysis:
A family member wanted to come with us this year but when we tried to get info re dialysis in Havana and we could not get any, we tried many sources for several months.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"The staff here were outstanding"

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Darrell  on Jan 7, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2009 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
235 people found this review helpful

flight down was good but we had a long wait ot pick up luggage,seems my bag was almost last one off of the plane

Rooms:
room that i had was great,it was on the ground floor, atip to all do not leave anything out over night, i had my swim trunks and sandals swiped on thursday night some time after 2am

Restaurants and Bars:
the food was good and the drinks were excellent, the staff here were outstanding

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the snorkeling and scuba was fantastic

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
we stayed on the resort had a ball doing water exercises,and beach vollyball,met a lot of people there. HEY lawrence i" lost" my wallet at the airport along with your email so PLEASE email me

Other Comments:
the staff was great, but the dj would have gotten a big tip if he had played the music we requested

Rooms:
Rooms were modest, clean and comfortable. For the price, we weren't expecting luxurious accommodations. I wouldn't say the rooms were shabby as much as 'dated'. We requested and got a 3rd floor room, with a beach view (although palm trees blocked our view - but that was ok; There was all sorts of interesting little tree frogs and birds living in the trees) The rooms are air-conditioned w/ fridge, which is stocked daily with water, pop and beer (2 cans) Nice little balcony, which was sheltered from the wind. We were on the 3rd floor and our villa was the furthest from the reception/bar/pool area but we were still only a 3-4 minute walk away. Bathroom was fine and came with a bidet! Woo hoo! And lots of toilet paper. Again: woo hoo!

Restaurants and Bars:
Again, for the price, we weren't expecting 5 star dining. We don't eat meat, but do love seafood and enjoyed the buffets of fresh salads, fruit, fish etc. The buffets that are served more or less all day long, at one locale or another have something for everyone and like most people, we were more then satisfied with them. We liked the Mexican restaurant and found it the "fanciest" of the three à la carte restos. Food was nice there. A minor point, but I was a little disappointed in the shrimp served generally, both on the buffet and at the restos. I guess I'm spoiled, living near the ocean and having access to plump, juicy shrimp all year long. These ones were kind of mushy and had an unpleasant taste. The Cuban resto, which is the beach bar/resto by day and converted to an à la carte at night, was a little lack lustre, in terms of service, although my spicy grilled fresh tuna was pretty good. We like spicy food and expected a little more zing in some of the Cuban dishes! , but there was hot sauce etc, available that you could add. We didn't try the Italian. Beach bar/resto was good, as was the general buffet served 3 times a day. That became our favourite and we found the service there really excellent and tons of choices (even for non-meat eaters)

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds were lovely, very tropical, Hibiscus, palm trees, lovely climbing flowering plants on some of the villas. Watch the little prickly thorns near the beach though, if you're bare-footed. Loved the beach. Water is not too cold and lots of sandbars so you have to go out a way, to get to deeper water. Lots of chairs and little thatched shady "trees" to lie under. Even when the beach was really crowded, we always found chairs and shade, at any time of day. Windy in the afternoon but we found sheltered spots and it didn't bother us. Pool was way too noisy for us; Loud music blasting and lots of people and noise - but it is sheltered from the wind - so for some people, that was preferable to the beach. Even when it was very windy (which was always later in the day) there are always hot, sunny spots you can find, if you want to escape it.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We went to Playa Pilar, touted as a beach you "must" visit. It was lovely and the sandy area was bigger then the beach at the resort, but we didn't really think it that much superior to the beach at the resort. We took a Cuban taxi which cost us each 5 convertible pesos. Warning Ladies: If you need to use the restroom there, there are two stalls both with no door (although the washroom itself is reasonably modern) There was also no toilet paper, a common complaint I guess in some of the public areas of Cuba. There is a large restroom near the reception area, which has lots of traffic as the restos don't have their own bathrooms (but are all just a minute away) and this washroom sometimes doesn't have toilet paper either, particularly in the morning. I carried lots of kleenex and purell with me.

We also took the regular guided tour of the city of Moron, the only city on the island. This was one of our favourite days as we were very curious about Cuban life in general, as we had talked to lots of the staff. We knew we'd be shocked by the conditions in Moron and we were but it was still an amazing experience. It's like the clock stopped there around 1959, when the revolution happened. Very, very dilapidated buildings and general chaos on the Main Street. Dogs running everywhere, horse drawn carriages, occasionally someone ON horseback, old American cars from the 50's, bicycles,(with 3 or 4 people on them) rick-shaw type vehicles etc. and no street signs. Lucky it's one-way! In the 45 minutes that you have to wonder around the downtown area, we were hassled a little by beggars and various people trying to sell stuff, but with the exception of one guy who was a little more persistent, they backed off if you said no. Everybody was polite and friendly and while we were ki! nd of stunned by the heat, poverty and craziness of the Main Street traffic, we were also totally charmed by the people. Our group was taken to what would be considered a reasonably upscale bar for some live Cuban music which everybody really enjoyed (again, no toilet paper, soap or toilet seats; And of the two toilets, one didn't flush. eeeee)Then a speed boat ride on a big fresh water lake and a tour of some mangrove swamps, with a crazy guy who had us in stitches. We loved the guide from the resort who accompanied us, and thought she did a wonderful job. We really treasured that day.

I also had a very good 60 minute massage and reflexology session that was certainly comparable with anything that I would have here at home. (Cost about $30 Canadian dollars, I think)

Other Comments:
I guess you're under no obligation to tip, we ended up spending a little more then $200 in Canadian in tips in the week. Perhaps that is excessive (? Not sure) and maybe we're suckas, but we got fantastic service from almost everyone we encountered. Many of the resort workers are professionals (our chambermaid was a history teacher, our guide a translator, one of the bartenders a doctor working a second job)and they're doing this kind of work because they can make a better living working with tourists, then working in their profession, because of the tips so we were happy to oblige, because they made our experience so special.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube