Breezes Jibacoa Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Jibacoa > Jibacoa Hotel Index > Breezes Jibacoa reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Breezes Jibacoa  

Arroyo Bermejo Beach, Cuba.

"Third Time a Charm"
Posted by: Lorne  on Jan 22, 2015
see all reviews

Breezes Jibacoa Reviews
Breezes Jibacoa Pictures and Information
Breezes Jibacoa Jibacoa Cuba

#1
of 2 Hotels in Jibacoa

User rating 4.2

Based on 41 reviews

Breezes Jibacoa Information


The SuperClubs Breezes Jibacoa, with a four-star category, is the company's newest hotel in the country.
The unspoiled setting and a clean and calm sea turn this hotel into a natural option with the conveniences our guests need.
Since it is very close to Havana, Matanzas City, and Varadero Beach, you can easily visit these places of tourist, historic, and cultural interest

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Breezes Jibacoa Reviews

Breezes Jibacoa Review: 4.2 of 5 41 reviews
Excellent
  12
Very good
  24
Average
  5
Poor
  0
Terrible
  0
By Occasion...
Business (1)
Leisure (32)
Wedding (1)
Party
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (4)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (3)
With Group (5)
With Spouse/Partner (20)
Solo
11 - 20 of 41

"Best in Cuba"

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  sharon  on Apr 3, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | Family and Kids
310 people found this review helpful

This is my favorite resort so far,out of three that i have stayed at in cuba,very clean and friendly.Lot's of relaxing time,all so entertainment.Food was very good.

Room Number:
08

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Our 6th time to Breezes Jibacoa"

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Gabriela  on Oct 10, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
337 people found this review helpful

Many people to not realize that Cuba is not as fancy as other places, it is a “back to nature” place, so a four star in Cuba many not be the same as a four star in Bahamas on Jamaica. No marble castles here. However, the food is good, the beds are clean, and the local people are very kind and happy to please if you ask. Breezes Jibacoa is a very quiet resort, away from everything. Vivian, the Guest Relations Manager was great, she was always checking that everything was “just right” with all the clientele during the week we stayed. Meals were tasty, thank you Chef Oreville for the wonderful menu. Several nights had a theme night. One night was a Mexican theme and they had the best guacamole I have ever tasted. They make their own tortillas, and the fajitas were delicious. Tuesday had a roasted pig on the beach during lunch, Wednesday, night they served grilled lobster. Friday night was Gala Night, an excellent roast beef carving table. The “al a Carte” dinner at Martino’s was also wonderful – I recommend the filet minion, and tiramisu for dessert. After dinner go up to the piano bar for a Spanish coffee. We are scuba divers – unfortunately due to the daily bit of rain each day, the dives were “so so”. I recommend the deep dive at 8:30 AM. There is no Internet in the room, but there is a small “cyber cafe” upstairs. Mornings were hot and sunny until about 2 PM, then a few hours of rain, which would stop before dinner time. I was told by the staff that it will dry up again over the next few weeks, but pack an umbrella just in case. We took a day trip to Havana which was great fun as usual. For the first timers...Cuba is a safe place...here are my tips: bring a travel cup for the beach, tips: one peso is enough to tip for meals, or drinks, (a bit more for the a la Carte dinners). Bring wet wipes as toilet paper off the resort seems to be scarce, every public washroom has a lady inside looking for some spare coins. In Havana there are many people looking for money, even to take your picture (just say no). If you stay in a lower floor room, put a towel in front of the door each (inside) night before bed, so “nature” does not come in, uninvited. The staff (Gardeners, Housekeepers) always appreciate a little gift, something from the Dollar Store...chocolate, pens, colouring books, toothpaste/toothbrushes, shoes, gently used clothing, etc. Also things like headache and cold pills are much appreciated. For anyone reading this that has access to computer parts....Juan, and his band are the local evening musicians on site there a few times a week. Juan is a music teacher, and would love if someone brought a few items for the school he works at - he needs a USB External Hard Drive, as well as an HP22 Colour Cartridge. They appreciate old computer parts, cables, video cards, as they use them to re-build the school computers. Also, he appreciates American Country music CD’s. Great time, we are looking forward to our next trip in April.

Room Number:
1109

Room Block:
2

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Love this resort"

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Marg.  on Oct 3, 2011  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2010 | Leisure | Family and Kids
325 people found this review helpful

Our 3rd time to this resort. Love it.. Great staff and nice smaller resort. We had a lot of rain but still had a great holiday. Allacartes are amazing . Read relax and enjoy .. Fantastic week... Returning this October for a week for our 50th wedding anniversary.

Rooms:
Clean and pleasant

Restaurants and Bars:
very good

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
enjoyed

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Will go back, no doubt about it."

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  j  on Jun 22, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Wedding | With Group
358 people found this review helpful

Super super excellent, okay maybe i haven't been to that many places, but this was so great, in fact we will go back, and maybe catch up to the 50 times another couple have been going back there. the place is smaller, but that what we liked, the rooms are just rooms and did the trick, again you hear about the ac and how it is not the best, but we did get through the nights best kind, it's not like it boiling in the rooms or anything, just leave it all all the time and close the doors and patio door too keep cold in. food was so great, but we eat most time at the buffet, breakfast was usually always the same, but not complaining, loved the fried pineapple, try it. the pool was great the beach was so excellent for snorkeling, just find the right, and don't be afraid to go out a ways, just take life jacket, but the beach was not as clean, again, just wear sandles. people get so picky with stuff and don't stop to really appreciate where they are and how to really smell the roses. the entertainment was better then other resorts, but you got to love it all, especially when you get away from the wear and tear of life. i hope this was helpful, ps do the tour to matanzes and the caves, and snorkeling, it was great, next time i will bring some dog treats haha.
ps don't book your room in buildiing number one, or two it was a little smelly,because of the (honey truck business) if you know what i mean, sewage. block 6 and 9 looked super great.

Room Block:
1

Arrival:
april 11 to 18

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Very fine indeed :))"

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jo  on Jun 16, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Business | With friend
380 people found this review helpful

As a travel agent I do visit many hotels in different countries.
This is a great spot for couples, nice, smaller size, quiet, clean resort.
Being isolated, this hotel is interestingly situated half way between Varadero and Havana and makes it perfect for visiting.
Do not expect parties as this is a quiet and "older" clientele resort.
Quality of food excellent and staff very helpful and knowledgeable.
Tks Viv and all the staff
MRS Josée

Room Block:
14

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Just go....!"

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Yves  on May 8, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: May, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
370 people found this review helpful

Great value for money...nice,comfortable,quiet place with lots of free activities should you want to keep busy morning to night....great tasting food in large variety and quantity available almost 24 hours a day...good varied themed shows every night...treated like king by staff,that you tip them or not....120 CUC (1$cdn=1$cuc) will get you a great guided-or not- visit to Havana from 9am to 11:30pm (or 70 CUC for 9am to 5pm) with great knowledgeable local guy with nice private car---just ask lady servers at lobby bar for a `reservation`...one of them will set you up (not affiliated with resort). He will accomodate your every wish(safely)... he will take you by the hand to visit Havana if that is want you want or let you loose with directives and meet you at the other end of town if you want!---We took guided tour in morning them took him for lunch for a nice "informative discussion about the real Cuba". He then let us loose for the afternoon, then picked us up for a drive to a "real cuban restaurant" for nice dinner,then let us loose again, then found us a "real Cuban bar" with live music...most memorable day for all! We also rented a small motorcycle for a day to visit area and small towns on our own without a guide..great fun...The coral bed right at beach..just walk in with your snorkel,mask and fins(best to bring your own for a no waiting experience at dive center)---overall, if you are reasonable with your expectations..this is Cuba after all..not the land of plenty...you will be pleased with your vacation at this resort..and like us..look forward to another visit to the same place again...a little paradise when compared to a lot of the resorts located on the tourist strip in Varadero!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"RICCO"

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  sandra  on Apr 27, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
346 people found this review helpful

The friendlyness apond arrival was great, the staff very helpful,,,

Room Number:
1812

Room Block:
3

Arrival:
very well , the staff always happy and helpful

Rooms:
the rooms are clean and bright,, all though on the net says that in ocean rooms you get beer and wine in fridge,, the only thing you get is water, pop but there are places close by to get all the drinks you would want,, only one little bottle of shampoo,, and if you dont fill out daily replacment supply you dont get until you fill out form.

Restaurants and Bars:
the service is great,, cubian food little plain,, take your spices, alot of differant dishes,, to choice from,, always a friendly smile .

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the grounds are beautful very clean,, the many ashtrays on grounds,, never dirty, the grounds keepers do a very good job,,,

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
nightly shows at 9pm always intersting and good,,, we went to Havana for the 2 day outing to the city and tropicana show very well orgaized trip

Other Comments:
do the Havana city tour ,, orrent a scooter and go a tour of your own we did both it is alot of fun

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Undecided if will return"

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Brian  on Apr 21, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
323 people found this review helpful

1st time to Cuba stayed one week at Breezes with 2 excursions. We chose this resort for quieter location and snorkling. Quiet location much as we expected - went to Disco one night.... not much going on.Snorkling somewhat disapointing - guess we may of been spoiled with snorkling we have done in the past. Some fish to see and maybe we missed the right spot for coral but did have a couple good swims around where we were told coral was. Nice to snorkle and see what was there. Still not sure about the tipping thing in Cuba we took school supplies and some toiletries but many seem to want the money - others happy with what you do have .... it's the expected that you '
"should" tip when in Cuba rather than if you want - just my take.
Havana was an interesting contrast of old, new and seemingly forgotten. A city slowing rebuilding from years of revelution. A day of course does not do justice and if we do go back likely would do the Casa Particular thing and explore Cuba away from the all inclusives. But all inclusive has its charms - do we hang out at the pool or the beach and which cocktail to try next.

Arrival:
Early morning arrival after overnight mostly sleepless flight. No real issues

Rooms:
We had a pool view room which we found to be a good location, closer to beach would of been nice but nothing is a real far walk on resort.Room was fine, spacious - bed not too hard as have had others reported. Good size bathroom and balcony was good size as well

Restaurants and Bars:
Enjoyed the Itailian meal but at the Cuban restaurant neither of us finished our meal. Lunch mostly at beach but menu is very limited - The main buffet was ok, found fish was most consistantly good item.... but come end of the week was finding meals repetative and harder to satify. As many say Cuba is not about the food. It says 24 hour food but they only have meal at set times - we did an excursion that left at 7am buffet not till 7:30 and room service did not start till 7 .... they have small plates of fruit and pastries at the lobby bar when we finally got to eat at cayo Blanca our boat host sat us at the 1st table ... which ended up being the last to get food which they had run out of and had to wait extra time to cook more. They had a little fish fry set up down the beach so got a couple appitisers while waited

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Nice pool, never crowded sometimes hard to get a shady chair but mostly did not have issue. Beach was much the same lots of room always a chair but finding shade only a minor issue. As mentioned earlier little disapointed in the snorkling, the litle coral that we founf was not very colorful or much variety. We only had 1 day of red flag - was day we went into Havana. This the day after we had our intense tropical storm that lasted for about 3 hours that included lighting coming into the resort and rain doing its sideway thing

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
The hike up the hill is worth the view back down over the resort. They take you through the farms along the road for souveniers. This maybe is the " 15 mile market " that had been mentioned in another site that no one knows about... Never did see an organized volleyball game in the pool ( on list of activities) - but did at the beach. Had a very hot ball hockey game in the tennis court one afternoon. The evening shows we good .... well 4 of the 5 we watched.Took the the day boat trip to caya Blanca - says 10 min with the caged dolphins seemed like more than 1 1/2 hrs there and only 20 mins to snorkle ( which again was not too exciting )

Other Comments:
So if we do return likely to see Cuba in a different way- guess the Asian backpackers life from the 80's still lurks in us. We've been talking maybe back to Bali next time we go overseas ....

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful resort - Paradise!"

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Clara  on Apr 6, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
311 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
2124

Room Block:
4

Arrival:
Arrival at Varadero airport was quick. After gathering our bags we were lead to a small mini van, where my boyfriend and I and two other couples were driven to the resort. Just under a hour to get there, but it seemed a lot quicker. Tons of great scenery to view during the drive and you also go through the city of Matanza (I believe thats how you spell it). Check in at the hotel was again quick and effortless. We had a sweet man help us with our bags and show us to our room.

Rooms:
We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite during our stay! The room was gorgeous - two bathrooms, kitchen, dining room, living room. And then in our actual bedroom we had a king size bed, desk, chest of drawers and a couch/TV sitting area. It was very clean, and kept that way by our maid. We had a huge balcony that extended from the living room to our bedroom. No complaints about the room whatsoever!

Restaurants and Bars:
The main buffet restaurant was lovely and always had great food available. Breakfast was particularly delicious with fresh eggs being made the way you want them, fresh bread, yummy jams, fresh fruit, yogurt, cereal - whatever you could possibly want! Lunch and supper were pretty similar - but tons of choices to meet anyones needs. My only complaint about the buffet is that it is open air, which is lovely in the evenings, but during the day when you want to escape the heat while eating, it won't happen (no AC).

The grill (Ranchon) is on the beach and serves up fantastic lunches too. Its a bit cooler there as you get the breeze off the ocean.

The Italian restaurant was fantastic. We ended up getting to go twice during our week. The first time we both had steak, which was pretty good. The second time we had the cheese stuffed pasta and it was delicious. Service was great, no complaints. Lovely red wine.

The Cuban restaurant was great too. Good chicken with veggies, and the steak wasn't bad either. Dessert was delicious, and like the Italian, fantastic red wine!

Overall the food at this resort was fantastic, and anyone who complains about it... well... I don't know what they are expecting!

The bars make lovely drinks... slushy drinks, cocktails, fun girly drinks, beer, whiskey... whatever you desire...

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach was nice, albeit somewhat small. We only spent 1 day on the beach as we are more pool people and sand fleas seem to love me.

The pool was fantastic! There are definitely 'towel wars' at this resort and you have to play the game if you want to reserve chairs under the cabanas. Luckily we are morning people and had no trouble keeping up with the game. Its unfortunate that this happens, but its happened at every resort I've been to, so I've come to expect it.

The grounds are kept in pristine condition, and the gardeners are constantly working on them (remember to tip them too! they work so hard)

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
We didn't participate in any activities on the resort - but there was always something going on. The entertainment team are fantastic at getting people involved, but don't pressure those who just rather watch from the sidelines.

Other Comments:
Overall this resort met all my needs. The weather was scorching hot everyday, the room was kept clean and tidy, the food was great, the drinks were always flowing, the pool was cool, and the people - as always - were beyond lovely! I think we have finally found our 'repeat' resort and look forward to heading back here next year :)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"This was a much needed break and, once again, Breezes Jibacoa did not disappoint."

Breezes Jibacoa
User Rating:  Breezes Jibacoa Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Stephanie  on Mar 12, 2011  >  4 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
335 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
Oceanview Suite 2177

Room Block:
Building 11

Arrival:
Our package was booked through Nolitours and we flew Club Class with Air Transat. We departed Vancouver at 21:30 Jan. 30, 2011 and arrived in Varadero at 6:20 Jan. 31, 2011. Flying Club Class results in a stress free trip due to short check in lines, lots of baggage allowance (we haven't been able to max out, yet, priority boarding and, of course, the big seats in a cabin dedicated to a small number of people. I have only one complaint about the flight down; the Club Class cabin crew sucked big time, especially the attendant who was working our side of the cabin. Fortunately for this lazy so and so (can't use the word I'd like to but you can use your imagination), it was an overnight flight so, after dinner (excellent meal) everyone hunkered down to sleep or watch a movie so the attendants didn't have much to do.
Upon arrival in Varadero, we passed quickly through Customs and into the baggage arrival area. The priority tags on our bags worked as our bags were amongst the first off and we were out to the bus within 30 minutes of getting off the plane. The sun was coming up on a beautiful, clear, sunny day and the weather would not disappoint over the next two weeks.
We arrived at Breezes Jibacoa around 8am and check in was quick. Happily, our room was ready. In the past, morning check ins have resulted in having to wait until the afternoon to get into our room and we were prepared for this eventuality. Getting to the resort had been a long and tiring day and night so it was great to get into our room early.

Rooms:
We were very excited to discover we were given a different suite to our previous stays and found ourselves in building #11, suite 2177. This is one of the more private, set back suites and faces west and is the 2nd building over from the Ranchon. We loved it and decided we preferred it to our previous suite 2130 in building #4. The suites are made up of a large bedroom with a full bath ensuite, open concept living room, dining room and small kitchnette, large powder room off the entry hall and a double balcony with 2 padded loungers and table at one end and 2 wooden chairs and table at the other end. The suites are all located on the second floor at the end of the ocean view buildings. Although there are 6 oceanview buildings, I believe there are only a total of 10 suites at the resort. A couple of the buildings only have one suite. We always book our vacation quite early because we know when we want to travel, want a suite and travel Club Class. Because of this tight criteria, we don't take the chance of being disappointed by putting off booking waiting for some elusive "deal".

Restaurants and Bars:
We noticed a much tighter run buffet restaurant this time around and this was a change for the better. There is a new manager who wanders around checking to see that the buffet trays are being restocked, helping guests find a table to sit at (especially at dinner). The waitstaff is being rotated quite a bit so that none of them are at one dining area for more than a few days. As in the past, we found all the servers and workers in the buffet restaurant, bars and ala cartes to be very pleasant, polite, helpful and cheerful. Special mention to Andy and Hector, Yaniol, Yoel, Tony and Aislin, Nelson and, of course, Clark!
Buffet meal schedule:
Breakfast 7:30am - 10:30am
Lunch 12:30pm - 2:30pm
Dinner 7:00pm - 10:30pm
Exceptions: Wednesday = Seafood night dinner starts at 6:30 pm
Friday = Gala night dinner starts at 6:30 pm
ALA CARTES...book as soon after checking in as possible. The resort was full the 3 weeks we were there and booking the ala cartes was difficult. Tip: if you aren't able to book when you want, try going down to the ala carte after it opens and see if there have been any cancellations or no shows. We got in for dinner by doing just that.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
I took my first dip in the pool this trip (we are not pool people so rarely spend time there). It was so very hot the first 12 days of our stay and late one afternoon, after a day at the beach, we just wanted to cool off so we hopped into the pool. Even though there were a lot of people lounging around the pool, only a few were in the water and it was an enjoyable experience. It really is a quite beautiful area of the resort. The hot tubs were always occupied but we've never understood why people would go to the tropics to sit in a hot tub when it's up in the 80's...huh??? The hot tubs are drained around 10pm to keep any unruly guests from disturbing people in the pool view rooms with late night antics. Smart move!
We spend our time at the beach and were blessed with fantastic weather for 12 straight days...hot, hot, hot and calm so we made sure we got in snorkeling every day. You just never know when the weather will change and it did, big time at the beginning of our third week. The weekend was cool and cloudy but Monday returned to clear skies but very windy. It stayed this way for the rest of the week and the beach was red flagged due to rough waters and so many man o' wars washing in it became the talk of the resort. No one, including the locals, had ever seen it so bad. They were strung like a necklace along the whole length of the beach. What a sight.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
Many activities are offered at the resort but we are not participators so I can't give a view on any of them. The only thing we want to do is relax, read, snorkel, take walks and do some socializing with other guests. We enjoy going off resort and spent two separate days visiting friends and one day visiting Varadero to check out where we were back in 1978. Two days were devoted to Havana, both overnighters. One trip was made by my husband, by himself, to spend time with some cigar buddies from Canada. He stayed at a beautiful Casa, with them, and they had a great time shopping for cigars in various parts of Havana. The next week, we went in and stayed at the same Casa. A couple of highlights were a visit to the Debbie's office to meet the staff running the site, a horse and buggy ride from Habana Vieja to the Hotel National and lunch in the courtyard at Hostel Conde de Villanueva.

Other Comments:
An often asked question is why do we keep returning to the same resort. The answer is simple: Breezes Jibacoa has never disappointed and we always return home looking forward to returning. We can't say this about any other resort we stayed in past travels.
The resort is well maintained, grounds are beautiful, the staff pleasant, helpful and make you feel welcome. Everyone of them will greet you as you pass by, be it inside or walking around the grounds. Although remote, those who enjoy walking will love the opportunities offered in the area surrounding this resort. Personally, we love walking up the farm road towards the main highway or, in the other direction, towards the campgrounds strung along the ocean. Once again, the Cubans you pass by will all greet you with smiles or waves.
Because of it's remote location, this resort will not appeal to everyone. For those with kids who meet the age criteria of 14 and over, just because they can stay there does not mean it would be the best choice for this age bracket. While we were there, a father and son were in the building next door and the boy was around 14 or 15. There were no other kids that age or even close so he would wander around like a little lost soul. We felt quite sorry for him. He would have been much better off at a resort in Varadero that catered to families. We've spent a total of 13 weeks at this resort, all during the months of January and February, and it has been very rare to see teens at the resort during this high season period. The ones we have seen have been in pairs and were able to keep each other company and appeared to be having a good time.
I can not close off without mentioning Vivian and Sarah in Public Relations. Two very special ladies who make every stay enjoyable. Thank you and everyone else at the resort for a most enjoyable stay. See you next winter!

Photos: http://s103.photobucket.com/albums/m157/cigarbreak/Breezes%20Jibacoa%202011/

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube