Club Puntarena Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Club Puntarena reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 22 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 21, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 16 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 43 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 20, 2013

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 34 reviews
Last reviewed Jan 6, 2014

Club Puntarena  

Ave. Kawama y Final, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"Inexpensive Vacation - Patience a Must!"
Posted by: charlene  on Mar 24, 2013
see all reviews

Club Puntarena Reviews
Club Puntarena Pictures and Information
Club Puntarena Varadero Cuba

#9
of 50 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.9

Based on 39 reviews

Club Puntarena Information


The nine-storey Puntarena Hotel offers guests an excellent panoramic view of Varadero, its beautiful beach and fabulous sunsets.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Puntarena Reviews

Club Puntarena Review: 3.9 of 5 39 reviews
Excellent
  12
Very good
  17
Average
  5
Poor
  4
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (10)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (6)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 39

"Inexpensive Vacation - Patience a Must!"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  charlene  on Mar 24, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
104 people found this review helpful

In April 2012 my spouse and I spent 15 days at this resort. We got different stories about this resort being in the process of being sold. Things seems to get better after a few days. This was our 4th trip to Cuba; we knew what to expect.

We give a 5 star for cleanliness - it was amazing - the cleaning in the lobby was constant, the rooms were spotless. We had ocean view and it's worth the few extra bucks - the smell of petrol on the opposite side was so strong - friends of ours couldn't leave their patio door open.

But if you are patient and don't let those little things bother you - make your own fun. For 2 weeks for both of us it was 1850$ total from Halifax. Can't complain much for that price. I do suggest brining some peanut butter and/or preserves from home if you usually use these at home. Sometimes a little PB&J is all you need to get you through.

Enjoy!!

Room Number:
1217?

Arrival:
Quick to register - showed to are room.

Rooms:
Clean - exactly what we expected. Sheets and towels were changed every 2nd day - all you have to do is ask.

Restaurants and Bars:
One problem would be the food; like I said we knew what to expect but we don't normally leave the resort - this time we went out to eat 3 evenings at a little pizza place no to far from the resort. I recommend the pizza YUMMY! We gave a good tip at the "A La Carte" so they let us in there pretty much any time we wanted. I think we had dinner there 8 or 9 times. Perhaps it's custom to eat potatoes and left over spaghetti from the previous evening and serve this for breakfast but?? Also one evening they had a type of fish - heads on - next day for breakfast heads off.

Also the bar would run out of certain items, no rum, or certain drinks were only at the inside bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is not suitable for a small child or if you are not a good swimmer. The pull when the waves go out is unreal - and the lifeguard is about 300 feet away from the water and with the higher tides it pushed the sand up so much they wouldn't have notice if someone was in trouble or not. Of course this isn't something that can be altered but just FYI.

First day the water in the pool was greenish but they drained it next day and cleaned it - was great after.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
To go to the markets and stores - for 5 pesos each you can get the complete tour of Varadero on a 2 tier bus - it was long b/c they stop at almost every resort going and coming but you can get on and off all day as you wish; we had lots of laughs and got to see the town for an inexpensive price.

Other Comments:
For 60$ you get 3 massages so you can share with spouse or all for yourself - I think it was 40 minutes each. It's nice especially the day you are leaving if leaving later in the day - helps relax before flying.

Of course there are lots of native Cubans in need of clothing etc. One father told us that shoes, sandals, sneakers, etc are very expensive for them to buy - so if you have some that you don't wear and want to give 'em away - it's a nice gester. The people are so appreciative of anything you can give - some items that are really expensive to buy are: sunglasses, sun tan lotion/oil, so bring lots so you don't run out. You could pay up to 40 - 50 $ for suntan lotion.

I have a reaction to the sun and had to see the nurse at the resort. She had the doctor come in same day to see me and had meds delivered all within 4 hours. She and the nurse were very professional. One tourist brought in band-aids as a gift and I thought the nurse was going to cry; some things we take for granted.

Photos: http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/841/image0077a.jpg/

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Price is right"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 3.0 of 5

Posted by:  Lawrence  on Feb 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
161 people found this review helpful

Go the extra few dollars and get the Ocean View side, floors 5, 6, and 7. These are the recently renovated rooms and they are very nice rooms.
Staff is adequate, not exceptional. The tidy up process in the pool area (and generally) is not great. They are not particularily helpful, and everywhere you go, it is hard to get information.
There is a smell in the air (depending where you are) that is reported to be a sulphur by-product from some facilty close by. My money is on a sewer venting issue because it is localized, a process smell would be everywhere.
No one stacks and stores the beach chairs so the beach never gets raked and cleaned as well as it should. The little machine comes by, but just does a pass or two. The beach is good except for that.
The place does not sparkle. The building dates from the 90s and they left it too long before the first round of painting got done, so the metal is painted but lumpy.
The building has 3 elevators and they work well. They take a little getting used to, as they are not exactly like the ones here.
The snack bar is not 24 hour and usually has ham and cheese, no lavish sea food spreads.
The bar on the second floor is well staffed and very good, and it looks like a 24 hour operation.
The buffet food is adequate, but you don't find yourself looking foreward to the next meal. There are stations where food is cooked in front of you, but the Cuban way is to cook for each person individually, so it takes a long time. There are plenty of drink facilities and there is no issue filling up your own water bottle in the cafeteria.

Room Number:
1615

Arrival:
Sunday night

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No es un hotel de 4 estrellas"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  ivonne  on Sep 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Mexico
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
191 people found this review helpful

El servicio muy bueno, y la gente muy amable, sin embargo, la habitación estaba muy sucia y la segunda noche encontré una cucaracha, lo reporte a la recepción y dijeron que me mandarían a la camarera para hacerse cargo y nunca llegó nadie; volví a marcar a recepción y ya no me contestaron el teléfono.

El inodoro estaba lleno de tierra, la regadera muy descuidada y sucia, la puerta del balcón no se podía abrir; el closet viejo, sin mantenimiento y con telarañas.

No me volvería a hospedar ahí

Room Number:
1324

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful Vacation!!!!"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Kristine  on Apr 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
248 people found this review helpful

Great resort for relaxing and meeting people.

Room Number:
1532/1534

Arrival:
Arrival was great. We were late arriving due to bad weather from departing city.
Once we arrived at the hotel, the check-in took only a few minutes. Front desk staff were great.

Rooms:
The rooms were fine, clean and no bugs! The decor was bright.
I don't go to a resort for a fancy room as i only shower and sleep there.
We had adjoing rooms as our 2 children were traveeling with us.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was great. There was enough of a selection for all, however a bit more would have been nice.
Breakfast was always good. A fresh omelette made for you if you wanted, toast, cereal, fruit, waffles.....

The International a La Carte was very good. Everyone cleaned their plate!

The bars and bar staff were great. Always somewhere to sit and enjoy a drink! The bartenders were wonderful (Louis(Stephen Segal as he called himself), Jose, Angel at the Lobby bar were fantastic, Pablo at the beach bar is a must see. He is hillarious and a kind person. Alberto at the Disco is a charmer. Get him to smile for you!!!!
All of the bartenders were willing to make what you wanted. At times they might be out of something but that happens no matter where you go.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was great, sand was a bit rough.
There could be a few more shade shelters built.

The pool was large, clean and warm. There were activities happening in the morning, lots of music, dance lessons, games. It was fun!

The grounds were well kept. It's difficult to keep up to guests throwing their cups on the ground (I guess they could not wait to find a garbage can!). That bothers me in general that people do that.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No Complaints - always a great holiday"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Jerry Lewis  on Apr 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
293 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
1715

Arrival:
We have stayed at this resort 5 out of six times and thought we should try a different hotel this trip and picked Sunbeach as it was closer to downtown and all of the great restaurants that Varadero has to offer. We lasted at Sunbeach for 9 days out of a 17 day trip. Switching back to the Puntarena was the best decision we could have made. Thanks to Myelin at the front desk for spending her afternoon with us switching from one hotel to this one. Way above and beyond. Needless to say, check in was a breeze. The staff are top notch at this hotel and make every effort to make your stay enjoyable. When we tried to tip various servers, they kept saying no, you are a friend. Our first trip to Cuba, we were told, first year you are a tourist, after that you are a friend and it is true. We received many hugs on our return.

Rooms:
We stayed on the 7th floor in a newly renovated room, there were no problems at all with hot water and we had an amazing view of the ocean. We may have been the first ones to stay in the newly finished room as there were no hangers and no patio furniture. A simple request and it was done immediately, the next day we came back to our room to find a complimentary bottle of rum thanking us for returning to the hotel.

Restaurants and Bars:
There have been a lot of changes at this hotel, some for the better. The food is the same at a five star hotel as it is at this one, just more of the same food. Breakfast was omelettes, waffles or fried eggs.
The Italian a la carte was under renovation so there was only one available but they switched every night from Chinese to Italian. Food was great there and if you go, Ricco, Ariadne and Swani will make sure you have a great time. There are three bars and the disco, we did not go to the disco as it usually is pretty quiet unless there are a lot of young people staying at the hotel. The bartenders range from very outgoing to some quite shy, not one of them are rude.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds are well kept, the beach is clean. Recommend a room with an ocean view. The pool is fairly new and the only draw back is that the public washrooms are in need of repair. We visited other hotels on this trip and it was the same at other hotels.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great days"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 5.0 of 5

Posted by:  Andreas Hoenig  on Feb 18, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) GERMANY
Visited on: Feb, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
326 people found this review helpful

A nice hotel, with very friendly personal and perfect service.

Room Number:
1727/1723

Arrival:
quick and friendly reception

Rooms:
clean and nice with great oceanview

Restaurants and Bars:
friendly service

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
clean and nice

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Be careful!!"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  Martin  on Jan 23, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
306 people found this review helpful

My GF and I booked this hotel for January 11, 2011. We met here in January 2009 so we knew what to expect and it's still one of the cheapest resorts in Cuba. We booked through Sears Travel with NoliTours. Well, this week we got a call from Sears Travel saying that NoliTours has blacklisted this resort because of so many negative reviews! Oh boy.....................

We were offered the following options;

1. A full refund

2. Re-schedule at another resort at a later date

3. A free upgrade to Sirenis la Salina!!

Whoohooooooo! We took the upgrade of course. Needless to say we have a new found respect for NoliTours and Sears Travel

Martin and Laura

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had a great time"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  Michael  on Nov 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Solo
303 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
I arrived at 9:00am and was in my room by 9:30am even though check in was not until 11:00am. Had a king size bed, lots of covers and comfortable. The room was very clean but showing it's age. The balcony doors were hard to open but otherwise I was very happy with the room, 1619 if I remember correctly.

Rooms:
See above

Restaurants and Bars:
The food in all of the restaurants is much different than what we are used to. It is rather bland but I found breakfast excellent. the girls actually brought it to me every morning. Fresh orange juice,2 waffles with syrup, an omelette and a plate of fresh fruit and 3 hugs. They make their own bread which is excellent and the ice cream is amazing. They have a lot of chicken and fish and salads but as I said the food is bland but very edible. Many people complain about the food but I have stayed at 5 star hotels in Cuba and the is basically the same. We have to remember that this is a third world country and much different than what we are used to.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Varadero beach is beautiful but at this area the water drops off quickly but the sand is great for kids to collect small shells on and just a short walk up the water gets much shallower. There were lots of cots and umbrellas to lie on, but as on any beach anywhere don't leave valuables lying around although I would suspect a tourist of stealing before a Cuban worker on the beach. Cubans are genually friendly and honest people.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was always something going on at the hotel day and night. during the day there is tennis,pool,bingo etc and a show and the disco every night. In town there are a few shopping centers with the main one being Plaza America, lots of flea markets and some small restaurants. At Ranchero restaurant you could get surf and turf for 15 CUC. There are lots of taxis and horse drawn taxis and 3 wheeled taxix but the best deal is the double decker open top buses. For 5 CUC you could ride all day. I took the full route one day and saw a lot of cool things. The stop for the Puntarena is in front of Playa Caleta next door. There are lots of disco places and nightlife downtown as well. If you buy from a flea market or private enterprise, please tip the vendor, people in Cuba make an average salary of 20 pesos a month and are very poor.

Other Comments:
The Cuban people are very diverse and very friendly. Don't be surprised to get hugs and kisses from them. I even had 6 gifts given to me when I left including a package of 25 peso cigars from a flea market vendor which tourists can't buy. Cubans are also very honest people. I could have left and sometimes did leave valuables out in my room, but my maid Madai would never touch anything and she always gave extra towels and soap to me. Please tip the people and take gifts for them. They appreciate everything but things like clothes, sewing kits,batteries, crayons, books for kids, shampoo or anything. Medical supplies like band aids, antiseptic aspirin etc and english dictionaries are really appreciated. Please remember how poor these people are and treat them the way you would would like to be treated. One warning>> Do not buy cigars from street vendors. They will be fake and possibly confiscated at the border. Most fakes are made from the shavings off the floor of real cigar factories with sawdust or something else added.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"avoid this hotel at all "costs""

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 2.0 of 5

Posted by:  paul  on Sep 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
340 people found this review helpful

stayed at this hotel twice:: last year with also a bad review "but" gave it another try this fall ;it as a matter of fact has got worse esp in the food areas that includes the a la carte restaurants too who ever in their right mind put mixed canned vegtables on a pizza how uncivilized:: other reviews about sum up this hotel :: the hotel next door the caleta beats in all areas hands down trips through sun wing i sure will be there next year at the caleta been there twice ; the only thing good about this hotel is three brand new elevators ; on the negative side to many cubans staying there ;when they get in an a.i. hotel its like letting the fox loose in the hen house they cant handle it and they are very wastefull with food who in the world had unmitigated gaul to rate this hotel as three star plus i wouldnt hardly give it a lower two at most there are many more issues with this property stay away take it from me I have been going to varadero for thirty two years things are begining to be in the toilet

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"very nice staff"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.0 of 5

Posted by:  eddie  on Sep 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
366 people found this review helpful

Restaurants and Bars:
food u pay what u get

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube