Club Puntarena Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Club Puntarena reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Club Puntarena  

Ave. Kawama y Final, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"little bit old but still good"
Posted by: Joshua on Nov 10, 2014
see all reviews

Club Puntarena Reviews
Club Puntarena Pictures and Information
Club Puntarena Varadero Cuba

#11
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.9

Based on 40 reviews

Club Puntarena Information


The nine-storey Puntarena Hotel offers guests an excellent panoramic view of Varadero, its beautiful beach and fabulous sunsets.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Puntarena Reviews

Club Puntarena Review: 3.9 of 5 40 reviews
Excellent
  12
Very good
  18
Average
  5
Poor
  4
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (11)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With Group
1 - 10 of 40

"i would rather stay at a trailer park motel picking scraps out of the dumpster"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 1.00 of 5

Posted by:  Raymond  on Feb 19, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
323 people found this review helpful

overall this place sucked there were allot of things that were advertised that were in fact not availible so i am saying flat out if you are looking to experience aswell as witness poverty then this is the place for you the food was grose the people were rude and the 24- hour snack bar isnot 24hrs

Your Arrival:
arriving was good the bell boy took our baggs but we beat him too the room when we got to the room it wasnt what we paid for so we complained and with that said they made us pay an extra 70$ canadian for ocean view wich we had already paid for and were assured by nolitours we were getting so after getting this outrageously up priced room we went to it and were very dissappointed they dont stock your mini fridge by the way so we went back down the rickety elevator to the front desk and asked for another roomand ii demanded my money back and they gave it back so on to our third roomm it was at the end of the hall on the fifth floor it still looked pretty shady at this point we didnt care though we were tired and fed up so wee settled un happilly

Rooms:
were not like the picture water damage everywere i never had a hot or even remotely close to a luke warm shower thewhole time i was there i had to lay a towel down in the bath tub be cause there were scales on the floor and peopl i am not over exxagerating im sayin it as it was the balcony door was hard to open when you call the front desk they would either not answer or be rude and start yelling at you in another language oh the safe is my favorite part of the room not only do you use your door key to access it but there is another key slot that you dont get a key to and all themaids look cracked out we never let them clean our room once oh you had to slam the door to close it the bed was like sleeping on a bed of coconuts and they dont even give you a blanket that green one you see in the picture is acctually a sheet oh yeah when it Rains outside it rains INSIDE because there are holes in the roof

Restaurants and Bars:
the food was shit my girlfriend got food poiioning the third day wee were there thus ruining our whole trip i never ate there again returning to canada hungary as a hell ps it has been eight days already we are really scared because no one knows whats wrong with her and the drugs the cuban docters gave her made it worse this place is a death trap if you want to commit suicide come here you wont be dissappointed oh the rice was not bad a little salty tho oh the bars are bad to you could go get a pina colada and ten minz later go and try and get another one and they would say they couldnt make it then i would send my girlfriend to go get one from the same bartender and he would make them rite away

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
the beach was nasty pieces of wood everywhere WATCH your steps to i found many pieces of glass everywere and when you go into the water it was shallow for about two steps then it dropped off to my neck and im like six feet tall this is not a good spot for your kids to play even i felt unsafe the ground is very rocky too

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
off the resort was amazing on the resort was awfull everything that they said they offered was unheardof including spanish lessons and scuba diving in pools i am not lying please dont even consider this place it was my first time travelling and i was definately feeling like i was totally mislead

Other Comments:
noli tour is a horrible company and should have all there touring privelages revoked simply for sending people to this resort i felt marooned abandoned and helpless the whole time i was there i was more excited to get home than i was to get there i am really glad that i am canadian after visiting a place like this vacation is supposed to be a relaxing time i felt like you had to be looking over your shoulder the whole time or someone would take advantage of you im glad i never got drunk other wise i fear i woldn't be here today informing you people of this truly life altering experience

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No es un hotel de 4 estrellas"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  ivonne  on Sep 20, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Mexico
Visited on: Sep, 2011 | Leisure | Solo
435 people found this review helpful

El servicio muy bueno, y la gente muy amable, sin embargo, la habitación estaba muy sucia y la segunda noche encontré una cucaracha, lo reporte a la recepción y dijeron que me mandarían a la camarera para hacerse cargo y nunca llegó nadie; volví a marcar a recepción y ya no me contestaron el teléfono.

El inodoro estaba lleno de tierra, la regadera muy descuidada y sucia, la puerta del balcón no se podía abrir; el closet viejo, sin mantenimiento y con telarañas.

No me volvería a hospedar ahí

Room Number:
1324

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Be careful!!"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Martin  on Jan 23, 2011  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2011 | Business | Family and Kids
565 people found this review helpful

My GF and I booked this hotel for January 11, 2011. We met here in January 2009 so we knew what to expect and it's still one of the cheapest resorts in Cuba. We booked through Sears Travel with NoliTours. Well, this week we got a call from Sears Travel saying that NoliTours has blacklisted this resort because of so many negative reviews! Oh boy.....................

We were offered the following options;

1. A full refund

2. Re-schedule at another resort at a later date

3. A free upgrade to Sirenis la Salina!!

Whoohooooooo! We took the upgrade of course. Needless to say we have a new found respect for NoliTours and Sears Travel

Martin and Laura

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"avoid this hotel at all "costs""

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  paul  on Sep 20, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
594 people found this review helpful

stayed at this hotel twice:: last year with also a bad review "but" gave it another try this fall ;it as a matter of fact has got worse esp in the food areas that includes the a la carte restaurants too who ever in their right mind put mixed canned vegtables on a pizza how uncivilized:: other reviews about sum up this hotel :: the hotel next door the caleta beats in all areas hands down trips through sun wing i sure will be there next year at the caleta been there twice ; the only thing good about this hotel is three brand new elevators ; on the negative side to many cubans staying there ;when they get in an a.i. hotel its like letting the fox loose in the hen house they cant handle it and they are very wastefull with food who in the world had unmitigated gaul to rate this hotel as three star plus i wouldnt hardly give it a lower two at most there are many more issues with this property stay away take it from me I have been going to varadero for thirty two years things are begining to be in the toilet

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Not what was expected"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 2.00 of 5

Posted by:  Rebecca Procaccini  on Feb 18, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2006
2856 people found this review helpful

I was disappointed by the wrong advertisement that this hotel is a twin tower resort with a latge pool. Upon arrival I quickly dicovered that it has now been split into 2 seperate resorts and you are unable to use the other half. The staff (except for my room maid how was wonderful) were not very friendly and definitly not helpful. Weather was on and off. Overall it was nice enough but I would not return nor recommend this hotel to freinds.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Inexpensive Vacation - Patience a Must!"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  charlene  on Mar 24, 2013  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
347 people found this review helpful

In April 2012 my spouse and I spent 15 days at this resort. We got different stories about this resort being in the process of being sold. Things seems to get better after a few days. This was our 4th trip to Cuba; we knew what to expect.

We give a 5 star for cleanliness - it was amazing - the cleaning in the lobby was constant, the rooms were spotless. We had ocean view and it's worth the few extra bucks - the smell of petrol on the opposite side was so strong - friends of ours couldn't leave their patio door open.

But if you are patient and don't let those little things bother you - make your own fun. For 2 weeks for both of us it was 1850$ total from Halifax. Can't complain much for that price. I do suggest brining some peanut butter and/or preserves from home if you usually use these at home. Sometimes a little PB&J is all you need to get you through.

Enjoy!!

Room Number:
1217?

Arrival:
Quick to register - showed to are room.

Rooms:
Clean - exactly what we expected. Sheets and towels were changed every 2nd day - all you have to do is ask.

Restaurants and Bars:
One problem would be the food; like I said we knew what to expect but we don't normally leave the resort - this time we went out to eat 3 evenings at a little pizza place no to far from the resort. I recommend the pizza YUMMY! We gave a good tip at the "A La Carte" so they let us in there pretty much any time we wanted. I think we had dinner there 8 or 9 times. Perhaps it's custom to eat potatoes and left over spaghetti from the previous evening and serve this for breakfast but?? Also one evening they had a type of fish - heads on - next day for breakfast heads off.

Also the bar would run out of certain items, no rum, or certain drinks were only at the inside bar.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
The beach is not suitable for a small child or if you are not a good swimmer. The pull when the waves go out is unreal - and the lifeguard is about 300 feet away from the water and with the higher tides it pushed the sand up so much they wouldn't have notice if someone was in trouble or not. Of course this isn't something that can be altered but just FYI.

First day the water in the pool was greenish but they drained it next day and cleaned it - was great after.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
To go to the markets and stores - for 5 pesos each you can get the complete tour of Varadero on a 2 tier bus - it was long b/c they stop at almost every resort going and coming but you can get on and off all day as you wish; we had lots of laughs and got to see the town for an inexpensive price.

Other Comments:
For 60$ you get 3 massages so you can share with spouse or all for yourself - I think it was 40 minutes each. It's nice especially the day you are leaving if leaving later in the day - helps relax before flying.

Of course there are lots of native Cubans in need of clothing etc. One father told us that shoes, sandals, sneakers, etc are very expensive for them to buy - so if you have some that you don't wear and want to give 'em away - it's a nice gester. The people are so appreciative of anything you can give - some items that are really expensive to buy are: sunglasses, sun tan lotion/oil, so bring lots so you don't run out. You could pay up to 40 - 50 $ for suntan lotion.

I have a reaction to the sun and had to see the nurse at the resort. She had the doctor come in same day to see me and had meds delivered all within 4 hours. She and the nurse were very professional. One tourist brought in band-aids as a gift and I thought the nurse was going to cry; some things we take for granted.

Photos: http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/841/image0077a.jpg/

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had a great time"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  helen dowling  on Oct 3, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Oct, 2006
2910 people found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed at this hotel in May 2006 and although the food is not what we are used to you will always find something to eat and the beach more than makes up for it.

We went on the overnight trip to Havana and booked it in the Hotel and it was excellent value for money, this trip is not to be missed.

Take toothbrushes, soap and anything you think your maids would like, they don't earn much and find it difficult to get things that we take for granted I also took colored pencils and gave them to various workers in the hotel.

We would love to go back to Cuba and would not hesitate to go to this hotel again.

We had a beach views from our room and it was the best view we have ever had on a holiday and we didn't have to pay extra for it.

You can email me at helndowling@hotmail.co.uk if you would like to know anything else about this hotel.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful Cuba"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jon Di ego  on Nov 28, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2007
4700 people found this review helpful

16/11/07 to 23/11/07.
- nice hotel
- employees made you really feel at home.
- no pizza
- some gaps for the bar and food available.
- can`t beat the weather
- no pizza
- food was great especially the fish.
- very clean hotel
- not really suitable for a single person.
- a la carte restaurant Italian was a disappointment.
- no pizza
- bar tenders made a mean Pina coloda, and Tom Collins.
- had the best Lobster I ever tasted.
- entertainment not up to par.


Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Price is right"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Lawrence  on Feb 22, 2012  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Feb, 2012 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
411 people found this review helpful

Go the extra few dollars and get the Ocean View side, floors 5, 6, and 7. These are the recently renovated rooms and they are very nice rooms.
Staff is adequate, not exceptional. The tidy up process in the pool area (and generally) is not great. They are not particularily helpful, and everywhere you go, it is hard to get information.
There is a smell in the air (depending where you are) that is reported to be a sulphur by-product from some facilty close by. My money is on a sewer venting issue because it is localized, a process smell would be everywhere.
No one stacks and stores the beach chairs so the beach never gets raked and cleaned as well as it should. The little machine comes by, but just does a pass or two. The beach is good except for that.
The place does not sparkle. The building dates from the 90s and they left it too long before the first round of painting got done, so the metal is painted but lumpy.
The building has 3 elevators and they work well. They take a little getting used to, as they are not exactly like the ones here.
The snack bar is not 24 hour and usually has ham and cheese, no lavish sea food spreads.
The bar on the second floor is well staffed and very good, and it looks like a 24 hour operation.
The buffet food is adequate, but you don't find yourself looking foreward to the next meal. There are stations where food is cooked in front of you, but the Cuban way is to cook for each person individually, so it takes a long time. There are plenty of drink facilities and there is no issue filling up your own water bottle in the cafeteria.

Room Number:
1615

Arrival:
Sunday night

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Just got back"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Maxi Maier  on Mar 8, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) AUSTRIA
Visited on: Mar, 2007
4569 people found this review helpful

just returned on march 6th 2007, great beach, rooms are fine, excellent service and staff.

Breakfast excellent, lunch at buffet average, lunch at beach excellent, supper at buffet was below average.

We got very lucky and had 8 meals at the asian a la carte and 3 at the italian we had lobster 4 times at asian a la carte. We have been to cuba 4 times now and will be going back next year but not to club puntarena.

First week there the resort was full as it was study week for the schools in canada this was not a problem as the kids where great, the second week the resort was at about 40% full so there was a big difference. The second week only 1 elevator was working but you still didn't wait long for it, get a ocean view as it is worth the extra money

Never had to worry about chairs at the pool or ocean. If you have small kids the ocean gets very deep once you go out approx.5 feet

The hotel does need work as it is starting to get run down not a 3 and a half star but a 3 star at best. The town of varadero is about a 35 minute walk which is nice and you can get back by cabbie or other means also took a day trip tp Melia Varadero resort.

this resort is at least a 4 star if not more the meals are the best i have had anywhere in cuba.

The only down fall is it has a very small beach as any holiday you make it what you want and my wife and i had a great time, and like I said book as my a la cartes as you can as you will be very disappointed with supper. you will not starve as there is enough of something to fill you even if it is just bread which is excellent.

Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube