Club Puntarena Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Club Puntarena reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Club Puntarena  

Ave. Kawama y Final, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"little bit old but still good"
Posted by: Joshua on Nov 10, 2014
see all reviews

Club Puntarena Reviews
Club Puntarena Pictures and Information
Club Puntarena Varadero Cuba

#11
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.9

Based on 40 reviews

Club Puntarena Information


The nine-storey Puntarena Hotel offers guests an excellent panoramic view of Varadero, its beautiful beach and fabulous sunsets.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Puntarena Reviews

Club Puntarena Review: 3.9 of 5 40 reviews
Excellent
  12
Very good
  18
Average
  5
Poor
  4
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (11)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With Group
11 - 20 of 40

"Super Great Vacation"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  C E Fraser  on Nov 12, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2006
3222 people found this review helpful

My husband and I went to Club Puntarena April 2006 on a last minute deal...We got more than what we expected for the price we paid..would do it again in a heartbeat..we meet some great friends down there...the staff were great..We have no complaints what's so ever...we plan another trip to the same hotel in Feb or March..

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Nice place!"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Chelsea & Rylan  on Aug 7, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Aug, 2008
778 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the punterena in April 08 it was great! only problems sometimes had no hot water and no clean towels also the elevators are always breaking down. But the people are so nice there very helpful! and it's beautiful there

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"very nice staff"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  eddie  on Sep 13, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Sep, 2010 | Leisure | With friend
549 people found this review helpful

Restaurants and Bars:
food u pay what u get

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great place, Horrible Disco"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Eros  on Jan 23, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2008
403 people found this review helpful

I have to start by thanking the Staff of the hotel, it was fun, it was neat, they were friendly and overall I had a great time. Everyone I talked to while there was having a great time, but the one comment kept coming up, the place was fun but for night entertainment we had to go elsewhere. The disco that played only hip hop and disco was terrible. Asking the DJ to play Salsa and Merengue, really, the reason why we were there, was pointless. He will always make a gesture as to mean that it was coming but it never did. We talked to Alex, the Nolitour representative, and explained the situation. It seemed to have worked at first but then the DJ went back to his old routine so we gave up on the Disco and went to other hotels for fun. Also, and please note, if you are gay and ask for a drink in the Disco's bar, you'll get half the serving other people usually do. I didn't want to believe it at first when my friend told me about it, but I tested his findings only to realize that he was right. Not very significant when you come to think about it because we can drink all we want, so we could have gone as many times as we wanted, but as tips go, if you are gay you'll spend double or triple to drink the same amount other guests are served and that is just not fair! The Disco situation was very uncomfortable, the music terrible, the bartender obnoxious and we tried to make the best of it, but at the end he was who decided. My advise to the hotel operators: Get rid of them! My advise to you, Playa Caleta's entertainment was MUCH better! Our rooms were spotless, and the food was ok. TRY the catamaran activity, it is worth every dollar, but take it on Friday or Monday, when the Sunset trip is included. So, Great place for a family or straight couples, not a place for gay vacationists to visit.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Happy times"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  John C Huidobro  on Jun 29, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2008
1526 people found this review helpful

Excellent service. Everybody is really nice and friendly and the rooms are very clean and with a beautiful view. I've been there twice and for sure I'll be there again this Winter. I love Cuba and their people. Thanks for a wonderful time in that great Island. Keep up the good and friendly work. John.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful Vacation!"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kristin Ford  on Mar 24, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008
3575 people found this review helpful

We were at the Puntarena in March 2008, we had a great time!! My only real complaint was that there was only 1 elevator working, but the wait was never that long and you are in Cuba it's nice out, so walking up the stairs was not that bad, they are located outside the building. But otherwise the staff was friendly, drinks were good, beach is nice, pool was nice, food was ok..not great but there was always something to eat! The hotel is the first hotel so if you go on a bus tour you are either first or last to be picked up or dropped off. Overall it was a great and affordable vacation!!
Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We liked it!"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kristin Lorentzen  on Apr 21, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) NORWAY
Visited on: Apr, 2007
5719 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the hotel from the 1st to 16th April 07 and had a good time. For the price this is a good choice, however do take the ocean view, it's worth the money.

The hotel / ground layout is actually fairly good. The beach is close, pool very clean and the nightly shows are fun.

The working (or not) elevators are part of this hotel's character, waiting for them gives you a chance to chat. If you take the time to get a little closer to the staff you will find the people make the difference, everybody is very friendly.

The Cuban food is not the reason to visit but you also will not starve. There are going be good and bad days and they will try their best with custom grillings, omlets, pizza etc.

You can go to the indoor / outdoor bars for fries, sandwiches, hot dogs or icecream. We would go back without hesitation, close to 4 stars. Finally, going to Cuba without a Havana tour is not having been there.

Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had a great time"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michael  on Nov 27, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2010 | Leisure | Solo
809 people found this review helpful

Arrival:
I arrived at 9:00am and was in my room by 9:30am even though check in was not until 11:00am. Had a king size bed, lots of covers and comfortable. The room was very clean but showing it's age. The balcony doors were hard to open but otherwise I was very happy with the room, 1619 if I remember correctly.

Rooms:
See above

Restaurants and Bars:
The food in all of the restaurants is much different than what we are used to. It is rather bland but I found breakfast excellent. the girls actually brought it to me every morning. Fresh orange juice,2 waffles with syrup, an omelette and a plate of fresh fruit and 3 hugs. They make their own bread which is excellent and the ice cream is amazing. They have a lot of chicken and fish and salads but as I said the food is bland but very edible. Many people complain about the food but I have stayed at 5 star hotels in Cuba and the is basically the same. We have to remember that this is a third world country and much different than what we are used to.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Varadero beach is beautiful but at this area the water drops off quickly but the sand is great for kids to collect small shells on and just a short walk up the water gets much shallower. There were lots of cots and umbrellas to lie on, but as on any beach anywhere don't leave valuables lying around although I would suspect a tourist of stealing before a Cuban worker on the beach. Cubans are genually friendly and honest people.

Activities on and off the Resort/Hotel:
There was always something going on at the hotel day and night. during the day there is tennis,pool,bingo etc and a show and the disco every night. In town there are a few shopping centers with the main one being Plaza America, lots of flea markets and some small restaurants. At Ranchero restaurant you could get surf and turf for 15 CUC. There are lots of taxis and horse drawn taxis and 3 wheeled taxix but the best deal is the double decker open top buses. For 5 CUC you could ride all day. I took the full route one day and saw a lot of cool things. The stop for the Puntarena is in front of Playa Caleta next door. There are lots of disco places and nightlife downtown as well. If you buy from a flea market or private enterprise, please tip the vendor, people in Cuba make an average salary of 20 pesos a month and are very poor.

Other Comments:
The Cuban people are very diverse and very friendly. Don't be surprised to get hugs and kisses from them. I even had 6 gifts given to me when I left including a package of 25 peso cigars from a flea market vendor which tourists can't buy. Cubans are also very honest people. I could have left and sometimes did leave valuables out in my room, but my maid Madai would never touch anything and she always gave extra towels and soap to me. Please tip the people and take gifts for them. They appreciate everything but things like clothes, sewing kits,batteries, crayons, books for kids, shampoo or anything. Medical supplies like band aids, antiseptic aspirin etc and english dictionaries are really appreciated. Please remember how poor these people are and treat them the way you would would like to be treated. One warning>> Do not buy cigars from street vendors. They will be fake and possibly confiscated at the border. Most fakes are made from the shavings off the floor of real cigar factories with sawdust or something else added.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Just got back from a two week stay."

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michael Lucas  on Mar 13, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Mar, 2007
5314 people found this review helpful

My husband and I just got back from a two week stay. We stayed at this same hotel last year for one week and decided we would come back for two weeks this year.

We just wanted to say thank you to all the staff, everyone was very nice and made our whole group feel welcome.

We can't remember all the names of everyone but from Arturo at the front desk (and all the ladies as well) to the bartenders, cleaning staff and restaurant staff, especially Ariande and Miguel).

We will definitly try to come again next year. The only thing negative would be the students from Spain that we encountered, most of them were quite rude to us as well as to the hotel staff and we feel that the price should go up for them so that they will stay somewhere else. Thanks again for the good holiday.

Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"you pay for what you get very good peopel nice staff "

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  truestar65@hotmail.com  on Apr 23, 2010  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2010 | Business | With Spouse/Partner
496 people found this review helpful

Please remember you are in cuba not france or spaine for $900 icluding your plaine ticket food and drink what do you really expec. life is to short enjoy the sun have a lovely time.

Rooms:
our room was very clean we have not any issue with room.

Restaurants and Bars:
Bar was open all night very good staff.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
very good

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube