Club Puntarena Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Club Puntarena reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Club Puntarena  

Ave. Kawama y Final, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"little bit old but still good"
Posted by: Joshua on Nov 10, 2014
see all reviews

Club Puntarena Reviews
Club Puntarena Pictures and Information
Club Puntarena Varadero Cuba

#11
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.9

Based on 40 reviews

Club Puntarena Information


The nine-storey Puntarena Hotel offers guests an excellent panoramic view of Varadero, its beautiful beach and fabulous sunsets.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Puntarena Reviews

Club Puntarena Review: 3.9 of 5 40 reviews
Excellent
  12
Very good
  18
Average
  5
Poor
  4
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (11)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With Group
21 - 30 of 40

"Wonderful Vacation!"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kristin Ford  on Mar 24, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2008
3495 people found this review helpful

We were at the Puntarena in March 2008, we had a great time!! My only real complaint was that there was only 1 elevator working, but the wait was never that long and you are in Cuba it's nice out, so walking up the stairs was not that bad, they are located outside the building. But otherwise the staff was friendly, drinks were good, beach is nice, pool was nice, food was ok..not great but there was always something to eat! The hotel is the first hotel so if you go on a bus tour you are either first or last to be picked up or dropped off. Overall it was a great and affordable vacation!!
Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"One of the best holidays we've had."

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Terry Collins  on Mar 1, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Mar, 2008
694 people found this review helpful

Please don't be put off by the first few sentences, read the whole review. We visited in June 2007. A long flight but worth it. We arrived at night so didn't see the hotel until the next morning. Our room on the 7th floor overlooked the beach and what a view, just what you expect from the Caribean. the room was clean but like the rest of the hotel showing its age. the first couple of days were surreal, We decided the plane hadn't made it and this was our penance, isolated in limbo in Hotel Paradiso. Not many luxuries to speak of. Plastic glasses, not many people and deserted beaches, not much Entertainment and the food was mediocre. It was about the 4th day before someone told us about the Beach bar and restaurant, we'd been living on cheese toasties up till then!!! But then we got into the swing of things, The Staff are so friendly, helpful and grateful, they can't do enough for you. They all give 100% to entertain you with very little resources at their disposal their efforts are exceptional. We watched the new arrivals as they slowly adjusted to the surroundings the same way we had, and by the second week the hotel was packed. But you could always get a sun lounger by the pool. Still a shortage of glasses but once you make friends with the staff you tend to find you get a glass everytime instead of plastic. The faulty lifts, lack of ping pong balls the strange Ala Carte restaurant and the 70's style decor all add to the infectious charm of the place. If you want 5* luxury go elsewhere, but if like us you want to meet the real Cubans and see the real Cuba you can't beat this place. They have very little in the way of material things but everywhere we went they were all very happy laid back and enjoying themselves. When we did eat out we could not believe the value for money, sometimes we left more tip than the cost of the meal. A beautiful place with beautiful people a fantastic place to go. Soak in the culture or just sunbath on the white sand, go on as many excursions as you can, and definately go to Havana and Club Tropicana. This has to be one of our favourite holidays. We didn't want to leave.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Had a great time!"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Matthew Graham  on Feb 12, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Feb, 2008
4028 people found this review helpful

I stayed at this hotel in dec of 2006 and was allocated the Puntarena upon arrival as it was a last minute booking from London.

Anyway, I was more than pleased with what I saw when I got there, although it was at night. The reception staff were extremely friendly and told us whilst handing over the key that we had a great room. She was not wrong. In the morning I woke to the most spectacular view of the sea! It seemed so close. The hotel is clean, friendly and very airy and open which I liked. The food is nice although not brilliant but the utmost effort is put into the food including the presentation etc.

The staff are the best thing about the hotel and their really is a family atmosphere. Please please please leave a tip when you leave to the chamber maids as they are amazing! Everyday they made swans and other animals out of our towels and left them on the bed. I would love to go back some day. Cubans are the nicest people on earth. A must-have vacation.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great place, Horrible Disco"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Eros  on Jan 23, 2008  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2008
323 people found this review helpful

I have to start by thanking the Staff of the hotel, it was fun, it was neat, they were friendly and overall I had a great time. Everyone I talked to while there was having a great time, but the one comment kept coming up, the place was fun but for night entertainment we had to go elsewhere. The disco that played only hip hop and disco was terrible. Asking the DJ to play Salsa and Merengue, really, the reason why we were there, was pointless. He will always make a gesture as to mean that it was coming but it never did. We talked to Alex, the Nolitour representative, and explained the situation. It seemed to have worked at first but then the DJ went back to his old routine so we gave up on the Disco and went to other hotels for fun. Also, and please note, if you are gay and ask for a drink in the Disco's bar, you'll get half the serving other people usually do. I didn't want to believe it at first when my friend told me about it, but I tested his findings only to realize that he was right. Not very significant when you come to think about it because we can drink all we want, so we could have gone as many times as we wanted, but as tips go, if you are gay you'll spend double or triple to drink the same amount other guests are served and that is just not fair! The Disco situation was very uncomfortable, the music terrible, the bartender obnoxious and we tried to make the best of it, but at the end he was who decided. My advise to the hotel operators: Get rid of them! My advise to you, Playa Caleta's entertainment was MUCH better! Our rooms were spotless, and the food was ok. TRY the catamaran activity, it is worth every dollar, but take it on Friday or Monday, when the Sunset trip is included. So, Great place for a family or straight couples, not a place for gay vacationists to visit.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Beautiful Cuba"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jon Di ego  on Nov 28, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2007
4700 people found this review helpful

16/11/07 to 23/11/07.
- nice hotel
- employees made you really feel at home.
- no pizza
- some gaps for the bar and food available.
- can`t beat the weather
- no pizza
- food was great especially the fish.
- very clean hotel
- not really suitable for a single person.
- a la carte restaurant Italian was a disappointment.
- no pizza
- bar tenders made a mean Pina coloda, and Tom Collins.
- had the best Lobster I ever tasted.
- entertainment not up to par.


Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"PUNTARENA"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Hannes Blaser  on Jul 13, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) SWITZERLAND
Visited on: Jul, 2007
5370 people found this review helpful

Puntarena was the best hotel in all of Cuba, the staff are friendly,nice n caring of all your needs, the drinks are not watered down at all the rooms are clean and the maids are always sweet!

The elavator was der major downfall because it takes very long to get up and get back down but besides that I recommend Puntarena to anyone who wants to have a GOOD TIME at a wonderful Beach, to someone who wants a clean and safe environment for a very good Price!

Puntarena ROCKS

Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"We liked it!"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kristin Lorentzen  on Apr 21, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) NORWAY
Visited on: Apr, 2007
5635 people found this review helpful

We stayed at the hotel from the 1st to 16th April 07 and had a good time. For the price this is a good choice, however do take the ocean view, it's worth the money.

The hotel / ground layout is actually fairly good. The beach is close, pool very clean and the nightly shows are fun.

The working (or not) elevators are part of this hotel's character, waiting for them gives you a chance to chat. If you take the time to get a little closer to the staff you will find the people make the difference, everybody is very friendly.

The Cuban food is not the reason to visit but you also will not starve. There are going be good and bad days and they will try their best with custom grillings, omlets, pizza etc.

You can go to the indoor / outdoor bars for fries, sandwiches, hot dogs or icecream. We would go back without hesitation, close to 4 stars. Finally, going to Cuba without a Havana tour is not having been there.

Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Just got back from a two week stay."

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Michael Lucas  on Mar 13, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Mar, 2007
5237 people found this review helpful

My husband and I just got back from a two week stay. We stayed at this same hotel last year for one week and decided we would come back for two weeks this year.

We just wanted to say thank you to all the staff, everyone was very nice and made our whole group feel welcome.

We can't remember all the names of everyone but from Arturo at the front desk (and all the ladies as well) to the bartenders, cleaning staff and restaurant staff, especially Ariande and Miguel).

We will definitly try to come again next year. The only thing negative would be the students from Spain that we encountered, most of them were quite rude to us as well as to the hotel staff and we feel that the price should go up for them so that they will stay somewhere else. Thanks again for the good holiday.

Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Just got back"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 3.00 of 5

Posted by:  Maxi Maier  on Mar 8, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) AUSTRIA
Visited on: Mar, 2007
4568 people found this review helpful

just returned on march 6th 2007, great beach, rooms are fine, excellent service and staff.

Breakfast excellent, lunch at buffet average, lunch at beach excellent, supper at buffet was below average.

We got very lucky and had 8 meals at the asian a la carte and 3 at the italian we had lobster 4 times at asian a la carte. We have been to cuba 4 times now and will be going back next year but not to club puntarena.

First week there the resort was full as it was study week for the schools in canada this was not a problem as the kids where great, the second week the resort was at about 40% full so there was a big difference. The second week only 1 elevator was working but you still didn't wait long for it, get a ocean view as it is worth the extra money

Never had to worry about chairs at the pool or ocean. If you have small kids the ocean gets very deep once you go out approx.5 feet

The hotel does need work as it is starting to get run down not a 3 and a half star but a 3 star at best. The town of varadero is about a 35 minute walk which is nice and you can get back by cabbie or other means also took a day trip tp Melia Varadero resort.

this resort is at least a 4 star if not more the meals are the best i have had anywhere in cuba.

The only down fall is it has a very small beach as any holiday you make it what you want and my wife and i had a great time, and like I said book as my a la cartes as you can as you will be very disappointed with supper. you will not starve as there is enough of something to fill you even if it is just bread which is excellent.

Original Review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Puntarena was amazing!!!!"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alessio Taciti  on Feb 12, 2007  >  1 contribution(s) ITALY
Visited on: Feb, 2007
4718 people found this review helpful

We just returned from Cuba (Feb 1 - 8th, 2007) and loved every minute of it! The hotel staff was like one huge family, and they made us feel so welcome. Our rooms were very clean thanks to Arelys! The food was great. For breakfast we enjoyed omlettes, french toast, pancakes, fried eggs, fresh bread made daily, delicious cheese, sausages, ham.....you name it! We usually ate so much for breakfast that we ate a lighter lunch on the beach or at the grill. You could always get a great hamburger, hotdog, or sandwich with fries anytime. The pizza was great at the Italian a la carte, the Asian was a little bland.

By far, the best bartender was Alex at the beach!!! He made the BEST Pina Coladas and Mojitos....and he was so sweet on top of that! We absolutely loved the Cuban people, they are very intelligent and interesting to talk to. I cannot wait to go back, and we will definetly go back to the Puntarena!

Take ball caps, t shirts, good razors & shave cream for the men, any makeup or body washes for the women, pantyhose, feminine products, etc., as tips for the staff. They really appreciate it!

The only suggestion would be to get the elevators fixed....they made for some interesting rides!

Original review

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube