Club Puntarena Reviews

Home page > Cuba > Varadero > Varadero Hotel Index > Club Puntarena reviews

loading...

Find and Compare Deals

Varadero Hotels with Similar Ranking

Iberostar Tainos

4.6 based on 18 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 11, 2014

Blau Varadero

4.5 based on 23 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 20, 2014

Be Live Las Morlas

4.3 based on 17 reviews
Last reviewed Oct 19, 2014

BelleVue Palma Real

4.3 based on 46 reviews
Last reviewed Nov 16, 2015

Sol Elite Palmeras

4.3 based on 11 reviews
Last reviewed Jul 22, 2014

Melia Las Antillas

4.2 based on 36 reviews
Last reviewed Aug 2, 2015

Club Puntarena  

Ave. Kawama y Final, Varadero, Matanzas, Cuba
(Varadero Maps)

"little bit old but still good"
Posted by: Joshua on Nov 10, 2014
see all reviews

Club Puntarena Reviews
Club Puntarena Pictures and Information
Club Puntarena Varadero Cuba

#11
of 51 Hotels in Varadero

User rating 3.9

Based on 40 reviews

Club Puntarena Information


The nine-storey Puntarena Hotel offers guests an excellent panoramic view of Varadero, its beautiful beach and fabulous sunsets.

Share your experiences with others. Don't forget to send your review to Debbie by using an easy form.


loading...

Best Deals

Club Puntarena Reviews

Club Puntarena Review: 3.9 of 5 40 reviews
Excellent
  12
Very good
  18
Average
  5
Poor
  4
Terrible
  1
By Occasion...
Business (2)
Leisure (11)
Party
Wedding
By Traveler Type...
Family and Kids (3)
Solo Traveller (2)
With friend (1)
With Spouse/Partner (7)
Solo
With Group
21 - 30 of 40

"best vacation"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Debbie from CAN  on Oct 25, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Oct, 2005
3081 people found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed for 1 week in January of 2004 and Puntarena was the most relaxing time we had. The food was great, the staff was very friendly especially our maid. Facilitys were clean. Nightly entertainment was great. The massage that I opted for had to be the best one I have had yet. And the National drink was interesting..one that has to be tried. We will be returning again this january(2006)

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"No Complaints - always a great holiday"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Jerry Lewis  on Apr 14, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Mar, 2011 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
861 people found this review helpful

Room Number:
1715

Arrival:
We have stayed at this resort 5 out of six times and thought we should try a different hotel this trip and picked Sunbeach as it was closer to downtown and all of the great restaurants that Varadero has to offer. We lasted at Sunbeach for 9 days out of a 17 day trip. Switching back to the Puntarena was the best decision we could have made. Thanks to Myelin at the front desk for spending her afternoon with us switching from one hotel to this one. Way above and beyond. Needless to say, check in was a breeze. The staff are top notch at this hotel and make every effort to make your stay enjoyable. When we tried to tip various servers, they kept saying no, you are a friend. Our first trip to Cuba, we were told, first year you are a tourist, after that you are a friend and it is true. We received many hugs on our return.

Rooms:
We stayed on the 7th floor in a newly renovated room, there were no problems at all with hot water and we had an amazing view of the ocean. We may have been the first ones to stay in the newly finished room as there were no hangers and no patio furniture. A simple request and it was done immediately, the next day we came back to our room to find a complimentary bottle of rum thanking us for returning to the hotel.

Restaurants and Bars:
There have been a lot of changes at this hotel, some for the better. The food is the same at a five star hotel as it is at this one, just more of the same food. Breakfast was omelettes, waffles or fried eggs.
The Italian a la carte was under renovation so there was only one available but they switched every night from Chinese to Italian. Food was great there and if you go, Ricco, Ariadne and Swani will make sure you have a great time. There are three bars and the disco, we did not go to the disco as it usually is pretty quiet unless there are a lot of young people staying at the hotel. The bartenders range from very outgoing to some quite shy, not one of them are rude.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Grounds are well kept, the beach is clean. Recommend a room with an ocean view. The pool is fairly new and the only draw back is that the public washrooms are in need of repair. We visited other hotels on this trip and it was the same at other hotels.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Great Time and Reccomend Puntarena"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  John & Nadine  on Apr 23, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2006
2704 people found this review helpful

We had an awesome time (april 2006) and would return to this resort again. The staff was super friendly and went out of their way to serve. The resort and rooms were super clean. The food, realizing we were no longer in Canada, was good and had some variety. The beach was beautiful and only one day red flag. The sand was a bit more course, but was good when it was windy .... didn't blow the sand around. Pool was great as well. Resort shutting down for 2 month for repairs and new elevators which will make this even a better resort to return to!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Puntarena, good hotel!"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  john oconnor  on Oct 3, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Oct, 2005
3127 people found this review helpful

good hotel,but a little out of town for convenience.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"little bit old but still good"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Joshua  on Nov 10, 2014  >  2 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Nov, 2014 | Leisure | With Spouse/Partner
538 people found this review helpful

The Club Puntarena is a great hotel in Varadero. I was traveling together with my husband to get some private time and have fun at Cuba. We had no idea how the hotel looks like or what its condition, but since this is our 5th time in Cuba we knew how to deal if there is any issue. It seems that we didn’t make mistakes by booking a room exactly at this hotel because it is a nice place to stay. We don’t regret for picking Club Puntarena hotel.
The trip to Cuba was a bit long because of the small delay that we had here in Canada, but all in all it wasn’t so bad. There is a short period of time to get from the city to the hotel, but that is not such a huge problem. The arrival at the rooms was also after a few minutes spent in the hotel lobby waiting. So far so good. But the real issue was that we get room that it is not renovated yet. We could see that there is some renovation in process, but unfortunately our room was old. We ask if it is possible to get another room, but the answer was that they are already booked. That was a bit strange situation. But this room was not so bad because everything was functional, including the air-conditioning and there was hot water all the time.
All the facilities are in great condition and they are clean so there is no complaints about that. The food is also great and the drinks are with reasonable price and excellent quality. The personal is something that they should work a little bit on but generally they were polite and there to help you.
All in all me and my husband had a great vacation at the Club Puntarena hotel and I would recommend it for all the people. Just pay attention when you book a room, to get some of the rooms that are in the renovated part.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wonderful Vacation!!!!"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Kristine  on Apr 30, 2011  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2011 | Leisure | Family and Kids
782 people found this review helpful

Great resort for relaxing and meeting people.

Room Number:
1532/1534

Arrival:
Arrival was great. We were late arriving due to bad weather from departing city.
Once we arrived at the hotel, the check-in took only a few minutes. Front desk staff were great.

Rooms:
The rooms were fine, clean and no bugs! The decor was bright.
I don't go to a resort for a fancy room as i only shower and sleep there.
We had adjoing rooms as our 2 children were traveeling with us.

Restaurants and Bars:
The buffet was great. There was enough of a selection for all, however a bit more would have been nice.
Breakfast was always good. A fresh omelette made for you if you wanted, toast, cereal, fruit, waffles.....

The International a La Carte was very good. Everyone cleaned their plate!

The bars and bar staff were great. Always somewhere to sit and enjoy a drink! The bartenders were wonderful (Louis(Stephen Segal as he called himself), Jose, Angel at the Lobby bar were fantastic, Pablo at the beach bar is a must see. He is hillarious and a kind person. Alberto at the Disco is a charmer. Get him to smile for you!!!!
All of the bartenders were willing to make what you wanted. At times they might be out of something but that happens no matter where you go.

Beach/Pools/Grounds:
Beach was great, sand was a bit rough.
There could be a few more shade shelters built.

The pool was large, clean and warm. There were activities happening in the morning, lots of music, dance lessons, games. It was fun!

The grounds were well kept. It's difficult to keep up to guests throwing their cups on the ground (I guess they could not wait to find a garbage can!). That bothers me in general that people do that.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Wedded Bliss"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Mrs. Clarke  on Jun 27, 2005  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jun, 2005
3412 people found this review helpful

My sweeheart and I were married at the Puntarena in April 2001. We communicated with the wedding planner by email and everything went smoothly. It was a wonderful vacation spent with our friends and family and a beautiful ceremony. The only thing negitive my group said was about the food. Some of them found it bland/ uncreative, however I feel they did a good job considering they are carering to a diverse hotel client base (Canada, Britian, Europe). All things considered I loved my stay at Puntarena.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"Cuba Puntarena"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 4.00 of 5

Posted by:  Tara Whipp  on Jan 28, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Jan, 2006
2650 people found this review helpful

Second time @ Puntarena first time the two towers were all one hotel, which was nice because the pool was bigger now it is split in the middle. I must say now only the one tower was just fine, I went with my husband and a friend of ours. We had a great time. Just keep in mind you are travelling to Cuba don't expect the Ritz Carlton. The food isn't the best but who goes for the food the beach bar grill was, the beach was huge and nice. The pool was nice too! We are playing to travel again in April 2006 and we are considering going back to Puntarena, for the buck it's worth it!! A solid 31/2 - 4 star!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"AMAZING WEEK "

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  Alana  on Apr 14, 2006  >  3 contribution(s) Canada
Visited on: Apr, 2006
2698 people found this review helpful

I stayed at the Puntarena during my sping break in February 2006 and I had an amazing time. The staff was amazing, so kind and helpful and the resort was beautiful. The beaches were amazing, crystal blue and the weather was perfect. All around I had a fantastic week and i found it hard to leave. I can't wait to go back again next year!!!

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

"FANTASTIC"

Club Puntarena
User Rating:  Club Puntarena Review: 5.00 of 5

Posted by:  shashi patel  on Sep 8, 2006  >  1 contribution(s) United Kingdom
Visited on: Sep, 2006
2804 people found this review helpful

WE WENT ON A LAST MINUTE DEAL DIDN'T KNOW WHICH HOTEL WE WERE STAYING.

WE HAD A FABULOUSE TIME ALL THE STAFF WAS WONDERFULL AND VERY HELPFULL, ENTERPRISING.

YOLAINE THE LADY BEHIND THE CASADA BAR MAKES THE BEST MOJITO AND COFFEE.

BEACH NICE AND CLEAN CRYSTAL BLUE WATER.

ANIMATION TEAM GREAT SHOWS FOR ALL THE FAMILY.

PLEASE DO GO AND HELP THE PEOPLE OF CUBA THEY NEED US.

Was this review helpful?   Yes Thank you for giving us your opinion.

Home Hotels Vacation Packages Destinations Forums Write a Review
About Debbie | Contact Debbie | Advertise | Site Map | More Links | Disclaimer
Facebook Twitter Youtube